Frequently Asked Questions
How do I know this online service is safe?
The Nebraska DMV online services are provided by a third party working in partnership with the State of Nebraska. These services are official State of Nebraska services and can be identified by the "www.Nebraska.gov" in the URL. There are other ".org" and ".com" websites that claim to provide the same online services that are NOT official government websites. www.ClickDMV.ne.gov and all services provided on ClickDMV are Official Nebraska Government Websites.
What are the other reasons I may not be eligible to obtain a permit or renew my license or State ID Card online?
You may be excluded for the following reasons:
- You must be less than 72 years old to renew online.
- You are restricted to wearing bioptic or telescopic lenses.
- You are attempting to renew electronically more than one time every ten years (individuals 21 years of age and older).
- You do not have a digital license or signature on file at the DMV.
- You have an invalid status: surrendered, suspended, revoked, cancelled, etc.
- You want to change personal data: gender, height, weight, eye color, hair color or race.
- You want to change your name.
- You have one or more of the following restrictions: G -- daylight driving only, V -- geographical restriction or X -- speed restriction.
- You have an exam record pending (you recently appeared at a driver licensing office and did not complete the process).
- You are required to appear at a driver licensing office as a result of a reexamination request.
- You are required to submit medical or vision information to the DMV.
- You are not a U.S. citizen; additional record checks are required which require that you make application at any driver licensing office in Nebraska.
- State laws restrict Nebraskans from having both a valid license/permit as well as a State ID Card. If you currently do, you are not eligible to use this online service.
How early can I renew my driver license online?
You are able to renew your driver license online 90 days (if 21 or over) and 10 days (if under 21) prior to the expiration.
Why can't I change my name via the online process?
State law requires that one form of proof of U.S. identification be presented when changing your name. It is not possible for you to present these documents via the online process; nor would it be possible for DMV to verify that you are the person making the change to your name.
What happens if I don't receive my document within 20 business days?
Complete an online driver license inquiry form and the Department of Motor Vehicles will research the status of your order and respond. Please do not call your local driver licensing office -- they will not be able to research this information for you.
Can I update the photo used on my license when renewing online?
The photo from your previous permit, license or State ID Card will be used. The online option can only be done once in a 10 year period, a new photo and description will be used the next time you need to visit a licensing station to renew your License or ID Card.
Renew your Driver License online.
How do I obtain a replacement Nebraska Permit, Driver License or State Identification Card (ID) Online?
In Nebraska, if your Permit, Driver License or State ID Card has been lost or stolen, you are not required to report it to the police. You can order a replacement to replace your lost card online and the DMV will mail you a new one within 20 days. You may obtain a 30-day temporary card at no cost at any County Treasurer's Office. For County Treasurer's office hours, visit: http://www.dmv.ne.gov/examining/map.html. Ordering your replacement online can save you the wait time often encountered at DMV offices.
If you have a change in address or name or your card has been mutilated and needs to be replaced, you will need to visit a driver licensing office to provide the appropriate documentation to order a replacement.
Order a replacement license online.
How do I apply for, or find out if I'm eligible for a Provisional Operators Permit (POP)?
You may be eligible to get or renew your POP online.
You can find out if you are eligible to obtain a POP by entering your information into the online application. For specific information regarding qualification requirements, read more about the Nebraska Provisional Operator's Permit on the Nebraska DMV website.
How do I apply for, or find out if I'm eligible for a School Permit (SCP)?
You can find out if you are eligible to obtain a SCP by entering your information into the online application. For specific information regarding qualification requirements, read more about the Nebraska School Permit on the Nebraska DMV website.
How do I apply for, or find out if I'm eligible for a Driver License (Car)?
You can find out if you are eligible to obtain a Nebraska Driver License by entering your information into the online application. For specific information regarding qualification requirements, read more about the Nebraska Driver License on the Nebraska DMV website.
Can I renew my Commercial Driver License online?
Commercial Driver Licenses (CDL) are not eligible to be renewed online.
Can I renew my motorcycle license online?
Yes, motorcycle licenses (Class M) can be renewed online. Read more about Nebraska License Renewals on the Nebraska DMV website.
Renew your Driver License online
How can I obtain a copy of my driver record online?
You are able to get a copy of your driver record online through the Nebraska DMV’s ClickDMV online services.
My license is suspended or revoked, how do I find out what I need to do before I can reinstate my license?
You can find out more about License Suspensions and Revocations on the Nebraska DMV website.
How do I get my Ignition Interlock Permit (IIP)?
You can find out if you are eligible to order your IIP online by entering your information into the online application. For specific information regarding qualification requirements, read more about the Ignition Interlock Permit on the Nebraska DMV website.
What other online services does the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles provide?
The DMV hosts many online services for Nebraskans including all the driver license services, Checking your Driver License Points Total, Reinstating your Driver License, Purchasing a Driver Record, Renewing your Vehicle Registration, Estimating your Vehicle Taxes, Ordering Specialty License Plates, and more. Visit www.ClickDMV.ne.gov to access the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles Online Services Portal.