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TITLE 172   PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSURE 
 
CHAPTER 162 RESPIRATORY CARE PRACTITIONERS       
 
001.  SCOPE AND AUTHORITY. These regulations govern the licensure of respiratory care 
practitioners under Nebraska Revised Statute (Neb. Rev. Stat.) §§ 38-3201 to 38-3216 of the 
Respiratory Care Practice Act and the Uniform Credentialing Act (UCA).  
 
002.  DEFINITIONS. Definitions are set out in the Respiratory Care Practice Act, the Uniform 
Credentialing Act, Title 172 Nebraska Administrative Code (NAC) 10, and this chapter. 
 

002.01  APPROVED TRAINING PROGRAM. A respiratory therapy education program which 
is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Respiratory Care. 
 
002.02  CONTINUING EDUCATION. The offering of instruction or information to license 
holders for the purpose of maintaining skills necessary to the safe and competent practice of 
respiratory care.  Continuing education may be offered under such names as scientific school, 
clinic, forum, lecture, or educational seminar.    
 
002.03  LICENSURE EXAMINATION. The Certified Respiratory Therapist (CRT) examination 
or the Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) examination offered by the National Board for 
Respiratory Care and approved by the Department on the recommendation of the Board. 
 
002.04  PROVIDER. An individual or sponsoring organization that presents continuing 
education programs to license holders. 

 
002.05  SCALED SCORE. A qualitative interpretive score which is a function of performance. 

 
003.  LICENSE REQUIREMENTS. To obtain a license, an individual must submit a complete 
application provided by the Department and provide documentation demonstrating that the 
applicant meets the licensing requirements of Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 38-3209 to §38-3212, 172 NAC 
10, and this chapter.  
 

003.01 DOCUMENTATION. The following documentation must be provided to the 
Department.  

 
003.01(A) EDUCATION. Submit an official transcript directly from the issuing institution, 
verifying completion of an approved training program.  

 
003.01(B) EXAMINATION. Documentation of successful completion of the licensure 
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examination developed by the National Board of Respiratory Care with a minimum score 
of 75 on a scaled score ranging from 1 to 99.  An applicant who, on or before July 17, 
1986, passed the Certified Respiratory Therapy Technician or Registered Respiratory 
Therapist examination administered by the National Board for Respiratory Care or the 
appropriate accrediting agency acceptable to the Board, and meets the requirements as 
listed in 172 NAC 10, will be issued a license to perform respiratory care. 

 
003.01(C)  OTHER PROOF OF COMPETENCY. Applicants who have met the education 
and examination requirements as listed in 172 NAC 162-003.01(A) and (B) who passed 
the examination more than 3 years prior to the time of application and who are not 
practicing at the time of application, must within the 3 years immediately preceding the 
application, present proof of having at least 60 hours of acceptable continuing education 
in accordance with these regulations with a minimum of 15 hours in the each of the 
following categories: 

(i)  Pharmacology; 
(ii) Mechanical ventilation; 
(iii) Non-invasive ventilation support; and 
(iv) Practice of respiratory care. 

 
003.01(D) ACTIVE LICENSE IN ANOTHER JURISDICTION, NOT PRACTICING. 
Applicants who have an active license in another jurisdiction but who are not practicing at 
the time of application must meet the requirements listed in 172 NAC 162-003.01(A) and 
(B) and provide proof of having a minimum of 20 hours of acceptable continuing education 
in accordance with these regulations, obtained within the 3 years immediately preceding 
the date of application. 
 

004.  RENEWAL, WAIVER OF CONTINUING EDUCATION, AND INACTIVE STATUS. The 
applicant must meet the requirements set out in 172 NAC 10.  All respiratory care practitioner 
licenses expire on June 1st of each even-numbered year. 
 
005.  CONTINUING EDUCATION. On or before June 1st of each even-numbered year, individuals 
holding an active license in the State of Nebraska must complete at least 20 hours of acceptable 
continuing education hours during the preceding 24-month period. 

 
005.01  CONTINUING EDUCATION HOUR CALCULATIONS. The following provides the 
hour calculations for acceptable continuing education: 
 

005.01(A)  PROGRAMS AT STATE AND NATIONAL ASSOCIATION MEETINGS.  
Programs presented at state or national association meetings must relate to the theory or 
clinical application of theory pertaining to the practice of respiratory care.  One hour for 
each hour of attendance; 

 
005.01(B)  FORMAL EDUCATION COURSES. Formal continuing education courses must 
be:  

(i)  Formally organized and planned instructional experiences; 
(ii) Have a date, location, and course title, number of contact hours, signed certificate 

of attendance, and be open to all licensees;  
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 (iii) Have objectives that relate to the theory or clinical application of theory pertaining 
to the practice of respiratory care; and  

(iv) Be presented by an instructor that has specialized experience or training to meet 
the objectives of the course. 

 
005.01(C)  ACADEMIC COURSEWORK. Courses related to respiratory care practice 
taken either in person or online for college credit will be accepted for continuing education 
upon submission of a transcript by the college or university from which the course was 
taken.  Continuing education hours will be awarded as follows:  

(i)  1 semester hour of academic credit equals 15 continuing education hours; and 
(ii) 1 quarter hour of academic credit equals 10 continuing education hours. 

 
005.01(D)  HOME STUDY. Home study will be accepted when the content of the home 
study activity relates to the theory or clinical application of theory pertaining to the practice 
of respiratory care, whether the subject is research, treatment, documentation, education, 
or management, for example, videotapes, internet courses, or correspondence courses.  
The program must have a testing mechanism scored by the named study provider.  A 
licensee’s documentation must include a certificate of completion and a program outline 
or objectives.  

 
005.01(E)  MANAGEMENT COURSES. Management courses which relate to the theory 
or clinical application of theory pertaining to the practice of respiratory care will be 
accepted.  A respiratory care practitioner may complete a maximum of 4 hours of 
continuing education utilizing management courses each 24-month renewal period.  A 
licensee’s documentation must include a certificate of attendance and a program outline 
or objectives. 

 
005.01(F)  SPECIALTY CERTIFICATION EXAMINATIONS. A licensee will earn contact 
hours for successful completion of nationally recognized specialty certification 
examinations related to an area of specialty practice in the field of respiratory care each 
24-month renewal period.  A licensee’s documentation must include a copy of the 
certification that shows the date of the examination.  Continuing education hours will be 
awarded as follows:   

(i)  Certified Pulmonary Function Technologist (CPFT), 10 hours;  
(ii) Registered Polysomnographic Technologist (RPSGT), 10 hours; 
(iii) Neonatal Pediatric Specialist (NPS), 10 hours;  
(iv) Registered Pulmonary Function Technologist (RPFT), 10 hours; and 
(v)  Registered Respiratory Therapist (written and clinical simulation examinations), 15 

hours.  
 

005.01(G)  CARDIOPULMONARY RESUCITATION CERTIFICATION. Basic or advanced 
cardiac life support for adults and pediatric or neonatal courses:  

(i)  Maximum of 1 hour credit for the basic cardiac life support course during each 24-
month renewal period; 

(ii) Maximum of 12 hours credit for initial advanced cardiac life support certification 
course or 6 hours credit for re-certification during each 24-month renewal period; 

(iii) Maximum of 8 hours credit for initial neonatal advanced life support certification  
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course or 4 hours credit for re-certification during each 24-month renewal period; 
(iv) Maximum of 12 hours credit for pediatric advanced life support certification course 

or 6 hours credit for re-certification during each 24-month renewal period. 
 

005.01(H)  IN-SERVICES. In-services that meet the requirements for formal education 
that cover:   

(i)  Therapeutic respiratory care procedures; or 
(ii) Respiratory care equipment. 

 
005.01(I)  PRESENTER OR LECTURER. One hour credit will be awarded for each hour 
of scientific presentation by a licensee acting as an essayist or lecturer to licensed 
respiratory care practitioners if the program relates to the theory or clinical application of 
theory pertaining to respiratory care.  A licensee may receive continuing education credit 
for only the initial presentation during a renewal period, with a maximum of 4 hours of 
continuing education for presentations in a 24-month renewal period.  Presenters may not 
receive any more hours of credit for a continuing education activity than an attendee could 
receive for the activity. 
 

005.02  ACCEPTABLE PROGRAMS. The Board does not approve continuing education 
programs.  In order for a continuing education program to be accepted for renewal or 
reinstatement of a license, the activity must include one or a combination of the following topic 
areas related to the practice of respiratory care therapy or clinical application:  

(A)  Research; 
(B) Treatment; 
(C) Documentation; 
(D) Management; or 
(E) Education. 

 
005.03  NON-ACCEPTABLE CONTINUING EDUCATION. Continuing education credit will 
not be awarded for programs that do not relate to the theory or clinical application of theory 
pertaining to the practice of respiratory care including: 

(A)  Business communications and operations; 
(B) Medical terminology and language courses; 
(C) Courses which deal with personal self-improvement, financial gain, or career options; 
(D) Courses designed for lay persons;  
(E) Teaching unlicensed or uncertified persons, conducting research, or publications, or 

any preparation for the same; 
(F) Respiratory care on-the-job training; 
(G) Respiratory care orientation programs or staff meetings, including orientation to new 

policies, non-therapeutic procedures, equipment, forms, responsibilities, or services;  
(H) Presentation made by students; or 
(I) Participation in or attendance at case conferences, grand rounds, or informal 

presentations. 
 
006.  UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT. Unprofessional conduct is set out in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-
179 and this chapter and includes: 

(A)  Providing services for which they are not trained or experienced; 
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(B) Encouraging or promoting respiratory care by untrained or unqualified persons;  
(C) Committing any act which endangers patient safety or welfare; 
(D) Failure to maintain in confidence information obtained from a patient, except in those 

unusual circumstances in which to do so would result in clear danger to the person or to 
others, or where otherwise required by law; 

(E) Failure to safeguard the welfare of patients and maintain appropriate professional 
relationships with patients; 

(F) Improper use of another person for one’s own advantage; 
(G) Failure to decline to carry out respiratory care services that have been requested when 

the services are known to be contraindicated or unjustified; 
(H) Failure to decline to carry out procedures that have been requested when such services 

are known to be outside of the respiratory care practitioner’s scope of practice; 
(I) Verbally or physically abusing patients; 
(J) Falsification or unauthorized destruction of patient records; 
(K) Attempting to provide diagnostic or treatment information to patients that is beyond the 

respiratory care practitioner’s level of training and expertise; 
(L) Delegating to other personnel those patient related services when the clinical skills and 

expertise of a respiratory care practitioner is required.  
(M) Engaging in sexual harassment of patients or co-workers.  Sexual harassment includes 

making unwelcome sexual advances, requesting sexual favors, and engaging in other 
verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature as a condition of: 
(i)  The provision or denial of respiratory care to a patient; 
(ii) The provision or denial of employment or employment advances to a co-worker; 
(iii) For the purpose or effect of creating an intimidating, hostile, or offensive environment 

for the patient or unreasonably interfering with a patient’s ability to recover; or 
(iv) For the purpose or effect of creating an intimidating, hostile, or offensive working 

environment or unreasonably interfering with the co-worker’s ability to perform their 
work. 

(N)  Obtaining any fee for professional services by fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation; 
(O) Violating an assurance of compliance entered into under Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-1,108; 
(P) Failure to follow policies or procedures implemented in the practice situation to safeguard 

patient care; 
(Q) Failure to safeguard the patient's dignity and right to privacy; 
(R) Failure to exercise appropriate supervision over persons who are authorized to practice 

only under the supervision of the licensed professional; 
(S) Failure of a licensee who is the subject of a disciplinary investigation to furnish the 

Department or its investigator with requested information or requested documents.  
 

007.  REINSTATEMENT. The application must meet the requirements set out in 172 NAC 10. 
 
008.  FEES. Fees are set out in 172 NAC 2. 


