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TITLE 172    PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSURE 
 
CHAPTER 114      LICENSURE OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY 
 
001.  SCOPE AND AUTHORITY. These regulations govern the licensure of occupational 
therapists and occupational therapy assistants under Nebraska Revised Statute (Neb. Rev. Stat.) 
§§ 38-2501 to 38-2531 of the Occupational Therapy Practice Act and the Uniform Credentialing 
Act (UCA). 
 
002.  DEFINITIONS. Definitions are set out in the Occupational Therapy Practice Act, the Uniform 
Credentialing Act, 172 Nebraska Administrative Code (NAC) 10, and this chapter. 
 

002.01  ACTIVE LICENSE. The license of a person who is acting, practicing, functioning and 
working in compliance with the requirements of a license. 
 
002.02  APPROVED SUPERVISED FIELD WORK EXPERIENCE. A period of supervised 
field work experience at an educational institution approved by the Department and where the 
occupational therapists or occupational therapy assistant's academic work was successfully 
completed or which was part of a training program approved by the educational institution.  A 
minimum of 6 months of supervised field work experience will be required for an occupational 
therapist and a minimum of 2 months of supervised field work experience is required for an 
occupational therapy assistant. 
 
002.03  ASSOCIATION. A recognized national or state association for occupational therapy. 
 
002.04  BASIC EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM AND EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM:   

(A)  A program for the education of occupational therapists which is recognized by the 
Department and accredited by the Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy 
Education of the American Occupational Therapy Association, the World Federation 
of Occupational Therapists,  or predecessor organizations. 

(B) A program for the education of occupational therapy assistants which is recognized 
by the Department and accredited by the Accreditation Council for Occupational 
Therapy Education of the American Occupational Therapy Association, the World 
Federation of Occupational Therapists or predecessor organizations. 

 
002.05  CERTIFICATION EXAMINATION. The Nebraska Physical Agent Modalities Testing 
Service Examination administered by the Physical Agent Modalities Practitioner Credentialing 
Agency (PAMPCA). 
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002.06  CERTIFIED OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY ASSISTANT. A person who is certified 
pursuant to guidelines established by the National Board for Certification in Occupational 
Therapy (NBCOT). 
 
002.07  CONSULTATION OR IN ASSOCIATION WITH. Providing professional advice. 
 
002.08  CONTINUING EDUCATION. Planned, organized learning activities designed to 
maintain, improve, or expand a licensee’s knowledge and skills in order for the licensee to 
develop new knowledge and skills relevant to the enhancement of practice, education, or 
theory development to improve the safety and welfare of the public. 
 
002.09  CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITY. The various methods in which a licensee can 
obtain the necessary continuing education for license renewal. 
 
002.10  HOUR AS IT RELATES TO CONTINUING EDUCATION. At least 60 minutes of 
participation in an organized learning experience otherwise known as a contact hour. 

(A)  One academic semester hour is equal to 15 contact hours.  An approved three credit 
hour course provides 45 contact hours of continuing education credit. 

(B) One academic quarter hour is equal to 10 contact hours.  An approved 3 credit hour 
course would provide 30 contact hours of continuing education credit. 

 
002.11  LASER. A mechanism for emitting electromagnetic radiation using heat via the 
process of stimulated emission.  This does not include a method where light is applied to 
tissue in order to influence cell or tissue functions with such low light that heating is negligible. 
 
002.12  LICENSURE EXAMINATION. The National Board for Certification in Occupational 
Therapy (NBCOT) Examination administered by the Professional Examination Service. 

 
002.13  NATIONAL ASSOCIATION. The American Occupational Therapy Association or 
equivalent organization. 
 
002.14  OCCUPATIONAL THERAPIST REGISTERED. A person who is registered under 
guidelines established by the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy 
(NBCOT).  
 
002.15  ONSITE. The location where the occupational therapy assistant is providing 
occupational therapy services. 
 
002.16  ONSITE SUPERVISION. The occupational therapist or occupational therapy 
assistant must be physically present at the practice site to direct all actions when occupational 
therapy services are being provided. 
 
002.17  SUPERVISION. The process by which the quantity and quality of work of an 
occupational therapy assistant is monitored.  Supervision means the directing of the 
authorized activities of an occupational therapy assistant by a licensed occupational therapist  
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and will not be construed to require the physical presence of the supervisor when carrying out 
assigned duties. 
 
002.18  TREATMENT PLAN. A written statement setting forth the goals, method of treatment, 
and time frame for goal achievement. 

 
003.  LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS. To obtain a license, an individual must submit a complete 
application provided by the Department and provide documentation demonstrating that the 
applicant meets the licensing requirements of Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 38-2501, 38-2531, 172 NAC 10, 
and this chapter.  
 

003.01  DOCUMENTATION. The following documentation must be provided to the 
Department. 

 
003.01(A)  EDUCATION. An official transcript, sent directly from the issuing institution, 
verifying successful completion of an educational program in occupational therapy for an 
occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant. 

 
003.01(B)  EXAMINATION. Documentation of passing the licensure examination sent 
directly to the Department from the National Board of Certification in Occupational 
Therapy.  An applicant who passed the examination more than 3 years prior to the date 
of application and who is not practicing at the time of application for licensure must provide 
documentation to the Department of obtaining 50 hours of continuing education within the 
3 years immediately preceding the date of application.  The 50 hours of continuing 
education must show 30 hours related to the clinical practice of occupational therapy and 
20 hours related to the practice of occupational therapy. 
 
003.01(C)  FIELD EXPERIENCE. Provide documentation of successful completion of a 
supervised fieldwork experience for an occupational therapy or for an occupational 
therapy assistant. 

 
003.01(D)  OTHER PROOF OF COMPETENCY. An applicant who holds an occupational 
therapy license in another jurisdiction and who is not currently practicing must provide 
documentation to the Department of having obtained 50 hours of continuing education 
within the 3 years immediately preceding the date of application.  The 50 hours of 
continuing education must show 30 hours related to the clinical practice of occupational 
therapy and 20 hours related to the practice of occupational therapy. 

 
003.02  TEMPORARY LICENSE. A temporary license may be issued to an applicant who has 
submitted documentation of meeting the educational and experience requirements for 
licensure under this chapter, except passing or failing the licensure examination. A temporary 
license allows the applicant to practice only in association with a licensed occupational 
therapist and is valid until the date the results of the licensure examination are available to the 
Department.  A temporary license can be extended if the licensee was unable to take the 
licensure examination and can provide proof of good cause.  A temporary license may not be  
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extended beyond 1 year or if the licensee has taken the licensure examination.  
Documentation showing good cause, includes but is not limited to: 

(A) Military Service:  An applicant who has served in the regular armed forces of the 
United States during part of the credentialing period immediately or is actively 
engaged in military service as defined in 172 NAC 114-002. The applicant must 
document their military service by submitting to the Department: 
(i) Military identification proving that they are in active service;  
(ii) Military orders; or  
(iii) A letter from the licensee’s commanding officer indicating that they are on active 

duty; 
(B) Illness: These circumstances may include proof that the credential holder was 

suffering from a serious or disabling illness or physical disability. The applicant must 
document their illness by submitting to the Department a statement from the treating 
physician stating that the individual was injured or ill, the duration of the illness or 
injury and of the recovery period; or 

(C) Other circumstances:  An applicant who suffered from circumstances beyond their 
control must submit documentation of the circumstances. 

 
003.03  REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTIFICATION TO APPLY PHYSICAL AGENT 
MODALITIES. In order to apply physical agent modalities, a licensed occupational therapist 
or licensed occupational therapy assistant must be certified by the Department.  Any person 
who wishes to administer the modalities must obtain certification under Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-
2530.  Physical agent modalities may be used by occupational therapy practitioners when 
used as an adjunct to, or in preparation for purposeful activity to enhance occupational therapy 
performance. Occupational therapy practitioners must have documented evidence of 
possessing the theoretical background and technical skills for safe and competent use.  

 
003.03(A)  SUPERFICIAL THERMAL AGENT MODALITIES DOCUMENTATION. The 
following documentation must be provided to the Department. 

 
003.03(A)(i)  BOARD APPROVED TRAINING. Provide a transcript or certification 
showing successful completion of a minimum of 6 hours of Board approved training or 
its equivalent and passing an end-of-course written or computer-based examination 
approved by the Board which tests competency in the use of superficial thermal agent 
modalities. The training must include the following: 

(1)  Biophysical and bio-physiological changes which occur with cryotherapy; 
(2) Indications, contraindications and precautions for the application of cold 

agents; 
(3) Clinical reasoning involved in the application of cold agents; 
(4) Commonly used types of cold agents; 
(5) Application procedures for each cold modality; 
(6) Definition of the term superficial thermal agent; 
(7) Differentiation between the two commonly used methods of heat transfer:  

conduction and convection; 
(8) The four biophysical effects of heat; 
(9) The physiologic response to tissue secondary to temperature elevation; 
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(10) Differentiation between mild, moderate and vigorous dosages of heat; 
(11) Indications, precautions, and contraindications that should be considered 

when using superficial thermal agents; 
(12) Proper clinical applications for hot packs, paraffin bath, fluidotherapy, 

whirlpool, and contrast bath; 
(13) Guidelines for educating the client and family in the purpose, benefits and 

potential risks of the modality; and 
(14) Universal precautions, sterile techniques, infection control, and the use of 

modalities; or 
 

003.03(A)(ii)  HAND THERAPY CERTIFICATION. Provide documentation of being 
certified as a hand therapist by the Hand Therapy Certification Commission or other 
equivalent entity recognized by the Board.  Any occupational therapist who bases their 
certificate on their hand therapist certification will receive certification for all 3 levels of 
physical agent modalities; or 
 
003.03 (A)(iii)  EXPERIENCE. Provide documentation showing a minimum of 5 years 
of experience in the use of the superficial thermal agent modalities and documentation 
of passing the Nebraska Physical Agent Modalities Testing Service Examination titled 
Superficial Thermal Agents Test sent directly to the Department; or 
 
003.03(A)(iv)  BASIC EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM. Submit an application provided by 
the Department as documentation of successfully completing education during a basic 
educational program which includes demonstration of competencies for application of 
the superficial thermal agent modalities. 

 
003.03(B)  DEEP THERMAL AGENT MODALITIES DOCUMENTATION. The following 
documentation must be provided to the Department. 

 
003.03(B)(i)  BOARD APPROVED TRAINING. Provide a transcript or certification 
showing successful completion of a minimum of 12 hours of Board approved training 
or its equivalent and passing an end-of-course written or computer-based examination 
and a practical examination approved by the Board which tests competency in the use 
of deep thermal agent modalities.  The training must include the following: 

(1)  Theory and rationale for the application of therapeutic ultrasound; 
(2) Differentiation between the parameters for therapeutic ultrasound; 
(3) Current research trends in the utilization of ultrasound; 
(4) Clinical decision making in the determination of the appropriate treatment 

parameters for ultrasound; 
(5) Clinical procedures for the application of ultrasound; 
(6) Safe use of ultrasound, contraindications and precautions for treatment; and 
(7) Methods for maximizing therapeutic effect in the use of phonophoresis as a 

physical agent modality; or 
 

003.03(B)(ii) HAND THERAPY CERTIFICATION. Provide documentation of being 
certified as a hand therapist by the Hand Therapy Certification Commission or other  
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equivalent entity recognized by the Board.  Any occupational therapist who bases their 
certificate on their hand therapist certification will receive certification for all 3 levels of 
physical agent modalities; or 

 
003.03(B)(iii)  EXPERIENCE. Provide documentation showing a minimum of 5 years 
of experience in the use of the deep thermal agent modalities and documentation of 
passing the Nebraska Physical Agent Modalities Testing Service Examination titled 
Deep Thermal Agents sent directly to the Department; or 

 
003.03(B)(iv)  BASIC EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM. Submit an application provided by 
the Department as documentation of successfully completing education during a basic 
educational program which includes demonstration of competencies for application of 
the deep thermal agent modalities. 

 
003.03(C)  ELECTROTHERAPEUTIC AGENT MODALITIES DOCUMENTATION. The 
following documentation must be provided to the Department. 

 
003.03(C)(i)  BOARD APPROVED TRAINING. Provide a transcript or certification 
showing successful completion of a minimum of 22 hours of Board approved training 
or its equivalent and passing an end-of-course written or computer-based examination 
and a practical examination approved by the Board which tests competency in the use 
of electrotherapeutic agent modalities.  The training must include the following: 

(1)  Available parameters of electrical stimulation devices and the principles and 
concepts of electricity; 

(2) Physiological effects of electrical stimulation; 
(3) Therapeutic goals of electrical therapy; 
(4) Physiological events associated with electrical stimulation; 
(5) Distinguishing characteristic and indications and contraindications of electrical 

stimulation; 
(6) Physiological effects of various parameters of electrical stimulation, such as 

voltage, type, dosage, or duty cycle;  
(7) Therapeutic relationship of electrotherapy with other therapeutic procedures; 
(8) Clinical application of electrical stimulation in rehabilitation; 
(9) Clinical reasoning process used to determine selection of Neuromuscular 

Electrical Stimulation (NMES) and appropriate parameters; 
(10) Parameters of therapeutic electrical currents; 
(11) Bio physiological responses to electrical currents; 
(12) Indications and contraindications for neuromuscular electrical stimulation use; 
(13) Appropriate electrode placement for treatment protocols; 
(14) Clinical applications for iontophoresis; 
(15) Definition and differentiation of the clinical application of iontophoresis from 

phonophoresis; 
(16) Bio physiology and mechanism related to transdermal delivery of medication; 
(17) Common medications used in iontophoresis and their pharmacology; 
(18) Clinical decision making regarding iontophoresis, indications and precautions; 
(19) The processes in pharmacokinetics: absorption, distribution, and metabolism; 
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(20) The processes of pharmacodynamics as it pertains to routine drugs used in 
phonophoresis and iontophoresis; 

(21) Effects of physical agents, exercise, and manual techniques on pharmacokinetics;  
(22) The aging process as it relates to pharmacokinetics; and 
(23) Other nationally recognized commercially available technologies; or 

 
003.03(C)(ii)  HAND THERAPY CERTIFICATION. Provide documentation of being 
certified as a hand therapist by the Hand Therapy Certification Commission or other 
equivalent entity recognized by the Board.  Any occupational therapist who bases their 
certificate on their hand therapist certification will receive certification for all 3 levels of 
physical agent modalities; or 

 
003.03(C)(iii)  EXPERIENCE. Provide documentation showing a minimum of 5 years 
of experience in the use of the electrotherapeutic agent modalities and documentation 
of passing the Nebraska Physical Agent Modalities Testing Service Examination titled 
Electrotherapeutic Agents Test sent directly to the Department; or 

 
003.03(C)(iv)  BASIC EDUCATION PROGRAM. Submit an application provided by 
the Department as documentation of successfully completing education during a basic 
educational program which includes demonstration of competencies for application of 
the electrotherapeutic agent modalities. 

 
004.  APPROVAL OF PHYSICAL AGENT MODALITY COURSES. To have a physical agent 
modality training course approved by the Board, an individual must submit a complete application 
provided by the Department and provide documentation demonstrating that the training course 
meets the requirements of Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-2530 and this chapter. 

 
004.01  ACCESS. Approved courses must be open to all licensees.   
 
004.02  AUDIT ACCESS. Providers must allow employees of the Department or its designees, 
to audit classroom course instruction, course materials, instructors’ presentations, course 
records, and records of examination, attendance rosters and other aspects of instruction.  
These auditors must not be hindered, obstructed, delayed, prevented or interfered with while 
conducting or attempting to conduct an audit.  Audits will be conducted with a minimum of 
disruptions.  Providers agree that auditors may attend any Board-approved course offered for 
the purpose of the audit without paying any fee. Providers must grant the Department or its 
designees the right to audit records at the premises of the provider or at the physical location 
of the records. 
 
004.03  RECORD KEEPING. Providers must keep all records of attendance, records of 
examination, course records and requests for duplicate course completion certificates on file 
for 5 years.  These records must be available to the Department upon request. 
 
004.04  REAPPLICATION. Once  approved,  a  course  may  not  be  substantially  altered  
without a  new application being submitted to the Board.  A substantial alteration is any change 
that would modify the content or time allocations would change any of the course topics or a  
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change in instructors.  If there is a change in instructors, the provider must request approval 
of the instructor by submitting a curriculum vitae for the new instructor.  The Board will evaluate 
the curriculum vitae and reaffirm or deny the physical agent modality course approval. 

 
004.05  ADVERTISEMENT. A course  may not  be  advertised  or  otherwise  promoted  as  
appropriate  for Nebraska  physical  agent  modality  certification  until  the course   has  been  
approved  by  the  Board.  Advertising a course as being offered for physical agent modality 
certification before approval of the course is grounds for disqualification of the course. 
 
004.06  APPROVAL REVOCATION. The approval of a physical agent modality course will be 
revoked if a provider of the course is found to have issued a certificate of course completion 
to an individual who did not complete the course.    

 
005.  REQUIREMENTS FOR CONSULTING WITH OR SUPERVISING AN OCCUPATIONAL 
THERAPY ASSISTANT. An occupational therapy assistant may assist in the practice of 
occupational therapy under the supervision of or in consultation with an occupational therapist.  
 

005.01  STANDARDS. An occupational therapist that is supervising or consulting with an 
occupational therapy assistant must meet the following standards:  

(A) Evaluate each patient prior to treatment by the occupational therapy assistant; 
(B) Develop a treatment plan outlining which elements have been delegated to the 

occupational therapy assistant; 
(C) Monitor the patient's progress; 
(D) Approve any change in the occupational therapy treatment plan; 
(E) Ensure that the occupational therapy assistant is assigned only to duties and 

responsibilities for which he or she has been specifically trained and is qualified to 
perform; 

(F) Review all documentation written by the occupational therapy assistant; 
(G) Interpret the results of tests which are administered by the occupational therapy 

assistant; and 
(H) Evaluate the treatment plan and determine termination of treatment.  

 
005.02  REQUIREMENTS. An occupational therapist supervising an occupational therapy 
assistant must meet the following requirements: 

(A)  A minimum of 4 hours per month of on-site supervision if an occupational therapy 
assistant has more than 1 year satisfactory work experience as an occupational 
therapy assistant; or 

(B)  A minimum of 8 hours per month of on-site supervision if an occupational therapy 
assistant has less than 1 year satisfactory work experience as an occupational 
therapy assistant. 

 
006.  SUPERVISION OF AIDES IN OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY. An aide, as used in 
occupational therapy practice, is an individual who provides supportive services to the 
occupational therapist and the occupational therapy assistant.  Aides are not primary service 
providers of occupational therapy in any practice setting.  Aides do not provide skilled 
occupational therapy services.  An aide is trained by an occupational therapist or an occupational  



          
 

 

 
9 

EFFECTIVE                        NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF   
06/20/2020       HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES    172 NAC 114 
 
therapy assistant to perform specifically delegated tasks.  The occupational therapist is 
responsible for the overall use and actions of the aide.  An aide first must demonstrate 
competency to be able to perform the assigned, delegated client and non-client-related tasks. 

(A) The occupational therapist must oversee the development, documentation, and 
implementation of a plan to supervise and routinely assess the ability of the occupational 
therapy aide to carry out client and non-client-related tasks.  The occupational therapy 
assistant may contribute to the development and documentation of this plan. 

(B) The occupational therapy assistant may supervise the aide. 
(C) Non-client-related tasks include clerical and maintenance activities and preparation of 

the work area or equipment. 
(D) Client-related tasks are routine tasks during which the aide may interact with the client 

but does not act as a primary service provider of occupational therapy services.  Onsite 
supervision of an aide is required by an occupational therapist or an occupational therapy 
assistant when an aide is performing all client-related tasks.  Onsite supervision of an 
aide means that the occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant must be 
physically present at the practice site to direct all actions when occupational therapy 
services are being provided. 

 
006.01  DELEGATION FACTORS. The following factors must be present when an 
occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant delegates a selected client-related 
task to the aide:   

(A)  The outcome anticipated for the delegated task is predictable; 
(B) The situation of the client and the environment is stable and will not require that 

judgment, interpretations, or adaptations be made by the aide;  
(C) The aide has demonstrated some previous performance ability in executing the task; 

and 
(D) The task routine and process have been clearly established. 

 
006.02  TRAINING REQUIREMENTS. When performing delegated client-related tasks, the 
supervisor must ensure that the aide: 

(A)  Is trained and able to demonstrate competency in carrying out the selected task and 
using equipment, if appropriate; 

(B) Has been instructed on how to specifically carry out the delegated task with the 
specific client; and 

(C) Knows the precautions, signs, and symptoms for the particular client that would 
indicate the need to seek assistance from the occupational therapist or occupational 
therapy assistant. 

 
006.03  REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION. The supervision of the aide must be documented 
and include:   

(A)  Information about frequency and methods of supervision used; 
(B) The content of the supervision; and 
(C) The names and credential of all persons participating in the supervisory process. 
 

006.04  PROHIBITED TASKS. An occupational therapy aide may not perform evaluation, 
reevaluation, treatment planning or establish treatment goals. 
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007.  RENEWAL WAIVER OF CONTINUING EDUCATION, AND INACTIVE STATUS. The 
applicant must meet the requirements set out in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-2521 and 172 NAC 10.  All 
occupational therapist and occupational therapy assistant licenses expire on August 1st of each 
even-numbered year.  
 
008.  CONTINUING EDUCATION. On or before August 1st of each even-numbered year, 
individuals holding an active license in the State of Nebraska must complete at least 20 hours of 
acceptable continuing education if an occupational therapist and 15 hours of acceptable 
continuing education if an occupational therapy assistant.  Continuing education hours must be 
obtained during the preceding 24-month period.   

 
008.01  CONTINUING EDUCATION HOUR CALCULATIONS. The following provides the 
hour calculations for acceptable continuing education. 

 
008.01(A)  PROGRAMS AT STATE AND NATIONAL ASSOCIATION MEETINGS. 
Includes, but is not limited to, a meeting of the Nebraska or other state occupational 
therapy associations or the American Occupational Therapy Association.  Must relate 
directly to the theory of Occupational Therapy.  Documentation must include a certificate 
of attendance and a program outline or objectives.  One hour for each hour of attendance. 
 
008.01(B)  WORKSHOPS, SEMINARS, WEBINARS AND CONFERENCES. The content 
of the continuing education activity must relate to occupational therapy whether the subject 
is research, treatment, documentation, or education management, and includes monitored 
videotapes, and in-service programs.  Documentation must include a certificate of 
attendance and a program outline or objectives.  One hour for each hour of attendance. 
 
008.01(C)  UNIVERSITY OR COLLEGE SPONSORED COURSES. The content of the 
course must relate to occupational therapy whether the subject is research, treatment, 
documentation, education, or management.  Documentation must include an official 
transcript and a program outline or objectives. 
 
008.01(D)  FORMAL SELF-STUDY. The content of the self-study activity must relate to 
occupational therapy whether the subject is research, treatment, documentation, 
education, or management.  The self-study program must have a testing mechanism.  
Documentation must include a certificate of completion and a program outline or 
objectives.  One hour for each hour of attendance. 
 
008.01(E)  MANAGEMENT COURSES. Must pertain to the practice of occupational 
therapy.  An occupational therapist may complete a maximum of 10 hours of continuing 
education utilizing management courses each 24-month renewal period.  An occupational 
therapy assistant may complete a maximum of 7.5 hours of continuing education utilizing 
management courses each 24-month renewal period.  Documentation must include a 
certificate of attendance and a program outline or objectives.  One hour for each hour of 
attendance. 
 
008.01(F)  SUPERVISION. Student supervision by an occupational therapist or  
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occupational therapy assistant.  One contact hour is earned for being a primary direct 
clinical supervisor for each student’s entire level II fieldwork experience.  Licensee may 
receive a maximum of 2 contact hours of continuing education by supervising a student 
each 24-month renewal period.  Documentation must include a copy of the signature page 
of the completed fieldwork evaluation form for each supervised student. 
 
008.01(G)  RESEARCH. Participation in research or other scholarly activities that result 
in professional publication or acceptance for publication that relate to occupational 
therapy.  Four contact hours will be received for each publication.  Licensees may earn up 
to a maximum of 10 contact hours of continuing education each 24-month renewal period 
for authorship, editorship, co-authorship, co-editorship, or all of these, of a juried 
publication relating to occupational therapy.  Documentation must include a copy of the 
final publication or verification of publication. 
 
008.01(H)  INFORMAL SELF-STUDY. A licensee may earn up to a maximum of 2 contact 
hours of continuing education each 24-month renewal period for completion of the 
following activities or a combination of such activities:   

(1)  Reading related to occupational therapy practice; 
(2) Observing other occupational therapists; 
(3) Viewing videotapes without a supervisor; and  
(4) Quality assurance or peer review studies. 
 
008.01(H)(i)  DOCUMENTATION. Documentation when reading or viewing videotapes 
must include the name of the article, book or videotape and a brief synopsis of what 
was learned.  Documentation, when observing other therapists and participating in 
quality assurance and peer review studies, must include a statement from the licensee 
explaining what was learned.  

 
008.01(I)  NATIONALLY RECOGNIZED SPECIALTY CERTIFICATION EXAMINATIONS. 
A licensee will earn 20 contact hours of continuing education each 24-month renewal 
period for successful completion of a nationally recognized specialty certification 
examination related to an area of advanced practice in the field of occupational therapy.  
Documentation must include a copy of the certification. 
 
008.01(J)  PRESENTATIONS. One hour credit will be awarded for each hour of scientific 
presentation by a licensee at workshops, seminars, in-service training, conferences, or 
guest lectures which relate to the practice of occupational therapy.  A licensee may receive 
continuing education credit for only the initial presentation during a renewal period.  Credit 
will not be given for subsequent presentations of the same program.  A licensee may 
complete a maximum of 4 hours of continuing education credit for presentations in a 24-
month renewal period.  A licensee’s documentation must include the presentation outline, 
course objectives, date, location, time, and type of audience. 
 
008.01(K)  NON-ACCEPTABLE CONTINUING EDUCATION. Continuing education credit 
will not be awarded for programs where the content does not relate to occupational 
therapy whether the subject is research, treatment, documentation, education, or  
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management, including but not limited to:   
(i)  Medical terminology courses; 
(ii) Occupational therapy on-the-job training; 
(iii) Occupational therapy orientation programs, including orientation to new policies, 

procedures, equipment, forms, responsibilities, services, etc.; or 
(iv) Cardiopulmonary resuscitation or other related training.  

 
009.  UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT. Unprofessional conduct is set out in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-
179 and this chapter and includes:   
 

009.01  REPRESENTATION. Failing to accurately represent the licensee’s skills to a patient 
or client; 
 
009.02  DELEGATION. Delegating to other personnel those patient or client related services 
when the clinical skills and expertise of an occupational therapist is required; 
 
009.03  PROVIDE SERVICES. Declining to provide occupational therapy services that have 
been requested when such services are believed to be contraindicated or unjustified; 
 
009.04  SAFETY. Committing any act which endangers patient or client safety or welfare; 
 
009.05  POLICIES AND PROCEDURES. Failing to follow policies or procedures implemented 
in the practice situation to safeguard patient care; 
 
009.06  PATIENT DIGNITY. Failing to safeguard the patient's dignity and right to privacy; 
violating the confidentiality of information or knowledge concerning the patient; 
 
009.07  RECORDS. Failing to accurately record and report information or falsification or 
unauthorized destruction of patient records; 
 
009.08  SUPPLIES. Misappropriating supplies or personal items of a patient or client or 
agency; 
 
009.09  SUPERVISION. Failing to exercise appropriate supervision over persons who are 
authorized to practice only under the supervision of the licensed professional; 
 
009.10  ABUSE. Verbally or physically abusing patients; 
 
009.11  SEXUAL RELATIONSHIP. Engaging in sexual relationships, whether consensual or 
nonconsensual, with any patient while a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant - 
patient relationship exists.   
 
009.12  SEXUAL HARASSMENT. Engaging in sexual harassment of patients. Sexual 
harassment includes making unwelcome sexual advances, requesting sexual favors, and 
engaging in other verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature as a condition of:  The 
provision or denial of occupational therapy to a patient; or 
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(A)  For the purpose or effect of creating an intimidating, hostile, or offensive environment 
for the patient or unreasonably interfering with a patient's ability to recover. 

 
009.13  COMPETENCE. Providing services for which they are not trained or experienced.   
 
009.14  PRACTICE. Practicing the profession of occupational therapy while the license, 
certificate or registration is suspended or is guilty of practicing such profession while their 
license to do so is suspended or is guilty of practicing such profession while violating any 
limitation placed upon their license, certificate, or registration; or   
 
009.15  COMPLY WITH DEPARTMENT INVESTIGATION. Failure of an applicant or 
credential holder who is the subject of a pre-licensure or disciplinary investigation to furnish 
the Board, the Department, or its investigator with requested information or requested 
documents. 

 
010.  REINSTATEMENT. The applicant must meet the requirements set out in 172 NAC 10. 
 
011.  FEES. Fees are set out in 172 NAC 2. 


