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TITLE 172   PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSURE 
 
CHAPTER 37   COSMETOLOGY, ESTHETIC, AND NAIL TECHNOLOGY SCHOOLS,   
 SATELLITE CLASSROOMS, AND APPRENTICE SALONS  
 
001.  SCOPE AND AUTHORITY. This chapter governs the licensing of schools of cosmetology, 
esthetics, nail technology, satellite classrooms, and apprentice salons set out in Nebraska 
Revised Statute (Neb. Rev. Stat.) §§ 38-1001 to 38-10,171 of the Cosmetology, Electrology, 
Esthetics, Nail Technology, and Body Art Practice Act and the Uniform Credentialing Act. 
 
002.  DEFINITIONS. Definitions are set out in the Cosmetology, Electrology, Esthetic, Nail 
Technology, and Body Art Practice Act, the Uniform Credentialing Act, 172 Nebraska 
Administrative Code (NAC) 9, and this chapter.   
 

002.01   SCHOOL. School is an apprentice salon, satellite classroom, school of cosmetology, 
school of esthetics, or nail technology school and is a post-secondary educational institution. 
 

003.  INITIAL SCHOOL LICENSE. To obtain a license, an individual must submit a complete 
application provided by the Department and  provide documentation demonstrating that the 
applicant meets the license requirements of Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 38-130, 38-1097 through 38-
10,108 for cosmetology and esthetics, § 38-10,111 for satellite classrooms, § 38-10,113 through 
§ 38-10,114 for apprentice salons, § 38-10,150 for nail technology, §§ 4-108 through 4-111, and 
this chapter. Applicants must submit the following: 
 

003.01  SELF-INSPECTION. A completed self-accreditation and operation inspection 
verifying compliance with172 NAC 34, and 172 NAC 37-010 of this chapter. 

 
004.  CHANGE IN LICENSE FOR EXISTING SCHOOLS.  Any school may apply for a change to 
its license, due to a change in ownership, change in name, or a change in county of location.  An 
application must be approved by the Department before a school may reopen. 
 

004.01  CHANGE IN OWNERSHIP OR COUNTY OF LOCATION. For a change in ownership 
or county of location, the applicant must apply to the Department for and obtain another 
credential as specified in 172 NAC 37-003 at least 30 days prior to the change.   
 
004.02  CHANGE IN SCHOOL NAME. To change the name of the school, the applicant must 
submit a request for a change in the school name at least 30 days prior to the change and 
submit the required fee for a reissued license.  
 

005.  COSMETOLOGY PROGRAM OF STUDY. All Nebraska licensed cosmetology schools 
providing a cosmetology program must provide the required program of studies.  Schools must 
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not pay direct compensation to any of its students.  All theory and practical hours must be obtained 
in the school, except that the unassigned hours may be obtained outside of the school area.   

 
005.01  COSMETOLOGY PROGRAM. The program of study must include at least 1800 
hours. The program must include freshman training and advanced training as follows: 

(A) Freshman theory and related theory that includes at least 200 hours and at the 
completion of the freshman training, there must be an evaluation. 

(B)  Advanced theory that includes at least 200 hours and may be gained through lecture, 
video, demonstration, observation, or other similar methods of training. 

(C) Advanced clinical that includes at least 1,165 hours practice on mannequins, 
classroom models, students or the public.   

(D)  The school may elect to provide 100 hours of optional hours in the advanced training.  
These hours may be earned outside of the school and are limited to activities set out 
in the training curriculum.  In order for hours to be gained outside of the school, there 
must be a pre-arranged agreement setting out the duties of the student and the name 
of the supervisor. This agreement must be on file in the school and be signed by the 
school representative or owner and the supervisor.  The student cannot receive any 
compensation for services.  

(E)  The school may elect to use 135 flexible hours in subject areas related to cosmetology 
in either the freshman or advanced classes or 235 if not using optional hours.   

(F)  As a condition of graduation, completion of a final practical and written examination 
that covers all the subject areas listed in the curriculum. 

(G)  Schools must provide the following training: 
 

FRESHMAN COSMETOLOGY THEORY AND PRACTICAL  
200 HOURS MINIMUM  
Training must include, but is not limited to, the following subjects: 
1. Chemical texturizing 6. General sciences 

a. Permanent waving a. Infection control 
b. Relaxers b. Diseases and disorders 
c. Curl re-forming  

2. Haircutting 7. Facials and body services 
a. Tools, including shears, razors and 

clippers 
a. Massage 

b. Basic haircuts b. Treatment 
 c. Conturing and custom blending 
 d. Contraindications 
 e. Infection control practices 

3. Hairstyling 8. Hair removal 
a. Wet styling a. Tweezing 
b. Thermal styling b. Waxing 
 c. Contraindications 
 d. Infection control practices 

4. Hair coloring 9. Nail services 
a. Depositing a. Anatomy 
b. Lightening b. Infection control 
 c. Diseases and disorders 

5. Shampoos, conditioners, and scalp 
treatments 

10. Nebraska statues, rules and regulations 
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ADVANCED COSMETOLOGY THEORY  
200 HOURS MINIMUM 
Training must include the following subjects: 
1. Chemical texturizing 6. General sciences 

a. Permanent waving a. Infection control 
b. Relaxers b. Human anatomy 
c. Curl re-forming c. Chemistry 
 d. Diseases and disorders 
 e. Applied electricity 

2. Haircutting 7. Facials and body services 
a. Tools, including shears, razors and 

clippers         
a. Massage 

b. Advanced haircutting techniques b. Treatment 
 c. Conturing and custom blending 
 d. Contraindications 
 e. Infection control practices 

3. Hairstyling 8. Hair removal 
a. Wet styling a. Tweezing 
b. Thermal styling b. Waxing 
c. Wiggery c. Contraindications 
  d. Infection control practices 

4. Hair coloring 9. Nail services 
a. Depositing a. Anatomy 
b. Lightening b. Infection control practices 
c. Corrections c. Diseases and disorders 
 d. Nail enhancements 

5. Shampoos, conditioners, and scalp 
treatments 

10. Nebraska statutes, rules and regulations, and 
salon management and business                     

 
 ADVANCED CLINICAL 
 1165 HOURS MINIMUM 
 All services performed on models, students or the public must be performed following infection control 
methods.  Hours required in each subject area are listed below: 
 

 

1. Chemical texturizing                                           200 6. Facials and body services                             60 
2. Haircutting                                                          300 7. Hair removal                                                  30 
3. Hairstyling                                                          200 8. Nail services                                                  50 
4. Hair coloring                                                       300 9. Infection control                                             20                           
5. Shampoos, conditioners, and scalp treatments     5  

 
OPTIONAL HOURS 
100 HOURS MAXIMUM   
The school may elect to provide 100 hours of ‘optional hours’ in the advanced classes.  These hours may 
be earned outside of the school and are limited to the following: 
1.  Licensed salon or Department licensed facility.  Direct supervision is required by a licensed instructor, 

student instructor or licensed cosmetologist and the student may only observe services The student 
cannot perform any services on a person. 

2.  Theatrical presentation, fashion or style show, charitable event, photo shoots, career show, or similar 
activities.  Direct supervision is required by a licensed instructor, student instructor or licensed 
cosmetologist and the student may provide the following services: make-up; nail polishing; or 
hairstyling. 
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3.  Continuing competency programs and distance learning.  A licensed instructor is responsible for 
overseeing the activity, but is not required to be on-site. 

 
 

FLEXIBLE HOURS 
135 HOURS MAXIMUM   
The school may use flexible hours in either the freshman or advanced classes.  

 
006.  ESTHETICS PROGRAM OF STUDY. All Nebraska licensed cosmetology schools or 
esthetic schools providing an esthetic program must provide the required program of study.  
Schools must not pay direct compensation to any of its students.  All theory and practical hours 
must be obtained in the school, except that the unassigned hours may be obtained outside of the 
school area.   

 
006.01  ESTHETICS PROGRAM. The program of study must include at least 600 hours as 
follows:  

(A) Freshman theory and related theory that includes at least 140 hours and at the 
completion of the freshman training, there must be an evaluation. 

(B)   Advanced theory and clinical that includes at least 60 hours and may be gained 
through lecture, video, demonstration, observation, or other similar methods of 
training.  Practical hours include practice on mannequins, classroom models, 
students or the public.   

(C)  The school may elect to provide 40 hours of optional hours in the advanced training.  
These hours may be earned outside of the school and are limited to activities set out 
in the training curriculum. In order for hours to be gained outside of the school, there 
must be a pre-arranged agreement setting out the duties of the student and the name 
of the supervisor. This agreement must be on file in the school and be signed by the 
school representative or owner and the supervisor.  The student cannot receive any 
compensation for services.  

(D)  The school may elect to use 40 flexible hours in subject areas related to cosmetology 
in either the freshman or advanced classes.   

(E) As a condition of graduation, completion of a final practical and written examination 
that covers all the subject areas listed in the curriculum. 

(F) Schools must provide the following training: 
 

FRESHMAN ESTHETIC THEORY AND PRACTICAL CURRICULUM 
140 HOURS MINIMUM 
Training must include, but is not limited to, the following subjects: 
1. Basic facial 6. Skin sciences 

a. Skin care a. Physiology or  histology 
b. Massage b. Skin diseases 
c. Benefits or contraindications c. Skin disorders 
d. Skin types  
e. Treatments  or  contraindications  
f. Infection control practices  

2. Skin analysis 7. Anatomy 
a. Skin types or  skin conditions a. Cell 
b. Contraindications b. Tissues 
c. Infection control practices c. Organs and body systems 

3. Hair removal 8. General sciences 
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 a. Tweezing  a. Infection control practices 
b. Waxing b. Microbiology 
c. Contraindications c. First Aid 
d. Infection control practices  

4. Body treatments 9. Chemistry 
a. Body scrubs or  wraps a. Understanding the power of hydrogen 

(PH) 
b. Water therapy treatments b. Cosmetic products 
c. Contraindications c. Cosmetic ingredients 
d. Infection control practices d. Cosmetic regulations 

5. Exfoliants 10. Nebraska statues, rules and regulations 
a. Manual, mechanical, chemical  
b. Contraindications  
c. Infection control practices    

 
 

ADVANCED ESTHETIC THEORY AND PRACTICAL CURRICULUM  
60 HOURS MINIMUM 
Training must include, but is not limited to, the following subjects: 
1. Facials 6. Electricity 

a. Skin analysis a. Basic principles 
b. Massage advanced techniques b. Electrotherapy in esthetics 
c. Treatments c. Electrical equipment in the treatment  

room d. Contraindications 
e. Infection control practices d. Contraindications 
 e. Infection control practices 

2. Hair removal 7. General sciences 
a. Tweezing a. Infection control practices 
b. Waxing and advanced body waxing b. Human anatomy 
c. Contraindications c. Diseases and disorders 
d. Infection control practices d. Chemistry 

3. Contouring and custom blending 8. Advanced topics 
a. Facial shapes and features a. Nutrition for the skin 
b. Products and techniques b. Cosmetic surgery information 
c. Contraindications c. Esthetics in the medical field 
d. Infection control practices   

4. Body treatments 9. Advanced contouring and custom blending 
a. Aromatherapy and botanicals a. Custom blending 
b. Advanced body treatments b. Corrective and camouflaged 
c. Contraindications c. Lash and brow services 
d. Infection control practices d. Infection control practices                         

5. Exfoliants 10. Nebraska statues, rules and regulations,  
and salon management and business a. Manual, mechanical, and chemical 

b. Contraindications  
c. Infection control practices    

 
ADVANCED CLINICAL 
320 HOURS MINIMUM 
All services performed on models, students or the public must be performed following infection control 
methods.  Hours required in each subject area are listed below: 
 

 

1. Facial treatments                                                   145 5.  Hair removal  or  tweezing or  waxing       50    
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2. Chemical  or  manual exfoliation                             40 6.  Makeup applications                                  20   
3. Machine aided exfoliation                                        40 7.  Infection control practices                          10 
4. Body treatments with skin analysis                          15  
 
OPTIONAL HOURS 
40 HOURS MAXIMUM   
The school may elect to provide 40 hours of ‘optional hours’ in the advanced classes. The hours earned 
outside of the school area are limited to the following: 
1.  Licensed salon or Department licensed facility. Direct supervision is required by a licensed instructor, 

student instructor or licensed cosmetologist or esthetician and the student may only observe services. 
The student cannot perform any services on a person. 

2.  Theatrical presentation, fashion or style show, charitable event, photo shoots, career show, or similar 
activities.  Direct supervision is required by a licensed instructor, student instructor or licensed 
cosmetologist or esthetician and the student may provide the following: make-up, nail polishing, or 
lash and brow services.  

3.  Continuing competency programs and distance learning. A licensed instructor is responsible for 
overseeing the activity, but is not required to be on-site. 

 
 

FLEXIBLE HOURS 
40 HOURS MAXIMUM   
The school may use flexible hours in either the freshman or advanced classes.  
 
007.  NAIL TECHNOLOGY PROGRAM OF STUDY. All Nebraska licensed schools providing a 
nail technology program must provide the required program of studies.  Schools must not pay 
direct compensation to any of its students.  All theory and clinical hours must be obtained in the 
school, except that the unassigned hours may be obtained outside of the school area.   

 
007.01  NAIL TECHNOLOGY PROGRAM. The program of study must include at least 300 
hours as follows:  

(A)  Theory hours that includes at least 75 hours.  A maximum of 18 hours and 45 minutes 
may be presented using video tapes, electronic media, or self-study. 

(B) Clinical hours that includes at least 225 hours as follows:   
(i) 100 hours of practice on an artificial nail or hand or live person; and 
(ii) 125 hours of practice on a live person or through demonstration. 

(C)  The school may use 50 hours in additional subject areas in the practical curriculum 
to equal a total of 225 hours of practical training hours.   

(D) As a condition of graduation, completion of a final practical and written examination 
that covers all the subject areas listed in the curriculum. 

(E) Schools must provide the following training: 
 
NAIL TECHNOLOGY THEORY  
75 HOURS MINIMUM Up to 18 hours and 45 minutes may be presented using video tapes, electronic medial 
or self-study.  Training must include the following subjects: 
1. Client consultation 

a. Client intake form, professionalism, communications 
2. Infection control and disinfection 

a. Methods 
b. Sterilization 
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 c. Sanitation, cleaning, storage and Nebraska regulations 

d. Disinfection 
e. Supplies and implements 

3. Safety in salon, including chemicals, following infection control methods 
a. Safety Data Sheets (SDS) 
b. Nail product chemistry 
c. Chemical hazards 
d. Personal and client safety 

4. Basic first aid 
5. Bacteria and other infectious agents following infection control methods 
 a. Bacteria 

b. Parasites 
c. Viruses 
d. Fungus 
e. Infections 
f. Immunity and communicable diseases 

6. Anatomy and physiology 
a. Nail composition 
b. Skin of the hands and feet 
c. Structure of the hands and feet 

7. Nail and skin disorders and diseases following infection control methods and Nebraska regulations 
a. Client services that can be done 
b. Client services that cannot be done 
c. Implement disinfection and storage, pedicure throne disinfection following infection contro  

methods 
8. Chemistry and Electricity 

a. Nail product chemistry 
b. Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) standards 

9. Manicures following infection control methods 
a. Supplies 
b. Check for disease and disorders 
c. Pre-service, service, post service 
d. Filing the natural nails 
e. Hand massage techniques 

10. Pedicures following infection control methods 
a. Checking for disease and disorders 
b. Pre-service, service, post service 
c. Filing the toe nails 
d. Foot massage techniques 
e. Diabetic pedicures and pregnancy pedicures 

11. Application, repair, maintenance and removal of nail enhancements following infection control methods 
a. Wraps, including fabric 
b. Acrylic, including tip overlay, natural overlay, and sculpt or forms 
c. Gels, including hard or soft or forms 
d. Dipped 

12. Filing techniques following infection control methods 
a. Hand file 
b. Electric file 

13. Nail salon business 
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 a. Professional image or ethics 

b. Building a clientele, rebooking, referrals, retailing, social media 
c. Salon management and business 

 
 

NAIL TECHNOLOGY PRACTICAL  
225 HOURS MINIMUM 
1. 100 hours of practice on an artificial nail or hand or live person; 
2. 125 hours of practice on a live person or through demonstration  
Training must include the following subjects: 
1. Nail enhancement application following infection control methods:  Total 55 hours 

a. Wraps, including fabric:  5 hours 
 b. Acrylic including tip overlay, natural overlay, and sculpt:  25 hours 
 c. Gels, including hard, soft:  20 hours 
 d. Dipped nail:  5 hours 
2. Filing techniques following infection control methods:  Total 15 hours 

a. Manual filing: 1 hour 
b. Electric filing:  14 hours 

3. Repair, maintenance, and removal following infection control methods:  Total 40 hours 
a. Wrap fill:  5 hours 
b. Acrylic fill including two tone and forms:  15 hours 
c. Gel fill:  15 hours 
d. Dipped nail:  5 hours 

4. Manicure or pedicure following infection control methods:  Total 15 hours 
 a. Manicure:  5 hours 

b. Pedicure:  10 hours 
 

PRACTICAL FLEXIBLE HOURS 
50 HOURS MAXIMUM   
The school may use 50 hours in additional subject areas in the practical curriculum to equal a total of 225 hours 
of practical training hours.  
 
008.  INSTRUCTOR PROGRAM OF STUDY. All Nebraska licensed schools, except an 
apprentice salon, may provide an instructor program.  The program must include the following:   

(A)   For a cosmetology instructor program, at least 600 hours of instructor training in a school 
of cosmetology. 

(B) For an esthetic instructor program, at least 300 hours of instructor training in a school of 
cosmetology or school of esthetics. 

(C) For a nail technology instructor program, at least 300 hours of instructor training in a 
school of cosmetology or nail technology. 

(D) As a condition of graduation, completion of a final practical and written examination that 
covers all the subject areas listed in the curriculum. 

(E) Schools must provide the following training: 
 
STUDENT INSTRUCTOR CURRICULUM 
300 HOURS MINIMUM 
Training must include the following subjects: 
1. Student instructor orientation 

a. Introduction to faculty, staff, student body 
b. School policy 
c. Overview of the student instructor training program 
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2. Nebraska statutes and regulations 

a. Teaching techniques and educational tools 
b. Student and instructor relations or counseling 

3. Preparation of a cosmetology program 
a. Overview of student curriculum as required by state and school  
b. Detailed course outline including chapters 
c. Detailed subject layout or daily lessons 

4. Theory and practical techniques, including freshman and advanced student training experiences 
a. Classroom observations 

1) Assist with  
a)  Presentations  or  lectures  
b)  Teaching basic skills 
c)   Practical activities 

b. Practical observations 
c. Supervision of services 
d. Student or client relationships 
e. Practical activities 

1) Supervision of procedures or demonstrations 
2) Practice teaching or basic skills 

5. The student instructor learns to evaluate student progress and basic evaluation techniques, including 
written, observation, and oral 

6. Administrative techniques  
a. Office management  

1) Student folder 
2) Recording student hours 
3) Entrance notification 
4) Graduate records 

b. Office records 
1) State rules and regulations  
2) Nail technology schools 
3) Enrollment procedures 
4) Maintaining student records 

c. School management and business 
1) Client and student scheduling 
2) Record keeping procedures 
3) Receptionist responsibilities 
4) Inventory control, purchasing, retailing 

 
009.  METHOD OF INSTRUCTION. Each instructor must teach from long range lesson plans, 
including subject outlines with daily lesson plans, for a complete course of training as defined in 
172 NAC 37-005 for cosmetology, 172 NAC 37-006 for estheticians, 172 NAC 37-007 for nail 
technology and, 172 NAC 37-008 for instructors.   
 
010.  ACCREDITATION INSPECTION CRITERIA. Accreditation inspections will be conducted as 
set out in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-10,169.  Schools must comply with the following requirements: 
 

010.01  RECORDS AND DOCUMENTATION. Schools must retain all student and training 
records for at least 5 years after the student has completed or has officially dropped.  Records 
include the following:  
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010.01(A)  STUDENT RECORDS. The student records must include: 
(i)  Record for every student enrolled; 
(ii) Daily records of student attendance; 
(iii) Student grading system in place; 
(iv) Examinations and grades; 
(v) Student progress reports; 
(vi) Evidence that each student is 17 years old on or before enrollment; 
(vii) Evidence of a high school diploma or equivalent for each student; 
(viii) Evidence of final examination grade, both practical and written, for each student 

and apprentice; and 
(ix) If special study students or apprentices are enrolled, the following must also be 

documented: 
(1) Evidence of at least 10th grade completion; and 
(2) Evidence that students are continuing high school on a full-time basis. 

(x)  Daily records of each student’s practical and theory hours. 
     
 010.02  DOCUMENTS POSTED OR AVAILABLE. The following documents must be posted  
 or available in the designated area of the school as specified below. 
 

010.02(A)  DISPENSARY. The following documents must be in the dispensary: 
(i) Sanitation regulations, 172 NAC 34, must be available; and 
(ii) Emergency evacuation plan must be posted. 

   
010.02(B)  EACH CLASSROOM. Emergency evacuation plan must be posted in each 
classroom. 

   
010.02(C)  PRACTICAL AREA. The following documents must be in the practical area: 

(i)  Sanitation regulations, 172 NAC 34, must be available; 
(ii) Emergency evacuation plan must be posted; and 
(iii) A sign posted for viewing by the public, which reads: “All services in this school 

are performed by students who are in training.” 
   

010.02(D)  SCHOOL ENTRANCE. The name of school must be posted at the entrance to 
the school. 

   
010.02(E)  PUBLIC AREA. The following documents must be in the public area: 

(i) Each instructor’s current license card or verification of licensure must be posted; 
and 

(ii) The latest inspection report must be posted. 
   

010.02(F)  RESOURCE AREA. The following documents must be assessable to students 
or apprentices during the school’s operating hours:  

(i)  If teaching a cosmetology program, a copy of the latest printing of the 
cosmetology references published on the National-Interstate Council of State 
Boards of Cosmetology Examination Candidate Information Bulletin;  

(ii) If teaching a separate esthetic program, a copy of the latest printing of the 
esthetics references published on the National-Interstate Council of State Boards 
of Cosmetology Examination Candidate Information Bulletin; 
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(iii) If teaching a nail technology program, a copy of the latest printing of the nail 
technology references published on the National-Interstate Council of State 
Boards of Cosmetology Examination Candidate Information Bulletin; 

(iv) If teaching an instructor program, a copy of the latest printing of the references 
published on the National-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology 
Examination Instructor Candidate Information Bulletin; 

(v) Standard dictionary of the English language; 
(vi) A copy of the current school rules; 
(vii) A copy of the latest printing of the Cosmetology, Electrology, Esthetics, Nail 

Technology and Body Art Practice Act; and 
(viii) A copy of latest printing of the regulations relating to cosmetology, esthetics, and 

nail technology, including 172 NAC 34, 36, and 37. 
 

010.03  COSMETOLOGY EQUIPMENT. The following cosmetology equipment is required:  
   

010.03(A)  STUDENT OR APPRENTICE EQUIPMENT. Each cosmetology student must 
receive a kit which includes: 

(i) Blow dryer; 
(ii) Brushes; 
(iii) Cape; 
(iv) Clips; 
(v) Combs; 
(vi) Cuticle pusher;  
(vii) Hair iron; 
(viii) Make-up applicators; 
(ix) Mannequin and clamp; 
(x) Nail clipper; 
(xi) Nail files; 
(xii) Razor; 
(xiii) Shears; 
(xiv) Textbook or training materials; and 
(xv) Tweezers; 

 
0010.03(B)  SCHOOL EQUIPMENT. The school must have the following cosmetology 
equipment: 

(i)  Blow dryer; 
(ii) Clipper; 
(iii) Disinfectant containers; 
(iv) Chair or table used for esthetic services; 
(v) First aid kit; 
(vi) Hair dryers; 
(vii) Hair irons, including flat and curling; 
(viii) Nail table with chairs; 
(ix) Pedicure tubs or spas; 
(x) Products, supplies and equipment for cosmetology services; 
(xi) Products, supplies and equipment for facial services, waxing services and make-

up application; 
(xii) Products, supplies and equipment for manicuring, pedicuring and nail technology  
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services; 
(xiii) Shampoo bowls and chairs; 
(xiv) Station or work area with mirror and chair for each student assigned to the clinic 

floor; 
(xv) Work area for each student attending theory and practical class; and 
(xvi) Textbook or training materials. 

 
010.04  ESTHETIC EQUIPMENT. The following esthetic equipment is required 

 
010.04(A)  STUDENT OR APPRENTICE EQUIPMENT. Each esthetic student must 
receive a kit which includes: 

(i)  Facial and body treatment brushes; 
(ii) Mixing jars and bowls; 
(iii) Cleansing gauze; 
(iv) Spa gown wrap and headbands; 
(v) Non-latex makeup sponge wedges; 
(vi) Cosmetic makeup brush kit; 
(vii) Makeup mirror and cape cover-up; 
(viii) Makeup pencil sharpener; 
(ix) Box of vinyl gloves; 
(x) Wax warmer; 
(xi) Waxing applicators, large, medium and small; 
(xii) Tweezers, including slanted and splinter; 
(xiii) Eyebrow scissors; 
(xiv) Sanitizing and disinfecting spray; and 
(xv) Textbooks or training materials. 

 
010.04(B)  SCHOOL EQUIPMENT. The school must have the following esthetic 
equipment: 

(i)  Facial table and stool;    
(ii) Hot towel heating cabinet; 
(iii) Facial steamer and multifunctional machine; 
(iv) Magnifying lamp; 
(v) Ultra violet (UV) sterilizer; 
(vi) First aid kit; 
(vii) Disinfectant containers; 
(viii) Wax warmer; 
(ix) Products, supplies and equipment for esthetic services, facial and body services, 

waxing services, and makeup services; 
(x) Station or work area with facial table and stool for each student assigned to the 

clinic floor; 
(xi) Work area for each student attending theory and practical class; and 
(xii) Textbooks or training material. 

  
010.05  NAIL TECHNOLOGY EQUIPMENT. The following nail technology equipment is 
required: 

   
010.05(A)  STUDENT EQUIPMENT. Each student must receive a kit which includes: 
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(i) Nail and foot files; 
(ii) Acrylic nail brush; 
(iii) Cuticle pusher; 
(iv) Nail clipper and nail nipper; and 
(v) Textbook or training information. 

 
010.05(B)  SCHOOL EQUIPMENT. The school must have the following nail technology 
equipment: 

(i) Disinfectant containers; 
(ii) Electric file; 
(iii) Electric file bits; 
(iv) First aid kit; 
(v) Gel light; 
(vi) Nail tables with chairs; 
(vii) Practice finger or hand; 
(viii) Suitable work area for each student attending theory and clinical class; 
(ix) Supplies, products, and equipment necessary to comply with the curriculum;  
(x) Nail technology supplies, for providing the following services: 

(1) Liquid and powder; 
(2) Gels; and 
(3) Wraps.  

 
011.  INSPECTIONS. All schools will receive an initial and routine inspection.  School owners 
must ensure that all licensees comply with 172 NAC 34, and this chapter. The criteria for 
inspections required by the Department and the Board is specified below: 
 

011.01  INITIAL SELF-INSPECTION. Pursuant to 172 NAC 37- 003, the applicant must 
conduct a self-evaluation inspection prior to the proposed opening date of the school.    

 
011.02  INITIAL ON-SITE INSPECTION. The Department will immediately conduct an on-site 
announced inspection upon approval of the application.  

 
011.03  RENEWAL INSPECTION. The Department may conduct an on-site or paper 
accreditation inspection within the six months immediately prior to the date of license renewal. 
 
011.04  INSPECTIONS. The Department may conduct an unannounced inspection of a 
school at any time it deems necessary. 

 
012.  CLOSING A SCHOOL. When any school is permanently closed, the holder of the license 
must notify the Department in writing at least 30 days prior to closure.   
 
013.  RENEWAL. To renew a school or apprentice salon license, a licensee must, prior to the 
expiration date of December 31 of odd-numbered years, complete an application for renewal, 
provide evidence of insurance coverage, pay the fee, and comply with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 38-143, 
4-108 through 4-111, 172 NAC 9, and the following: 

(A)  Schools of cosmetology and esthetics must also comply with Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-10,109;  
(B)  Apprentice salons must also comply with Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-10,116; and 
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(C)  Nail technology schools must also comply with Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-10,157. 
 
014.  RE-APPLICATION. The re-application process is set out in 172 NAC 9. 
 
015.  FEES. Fees are set out in 172 NAC 2. 
 


