SECRETARY’S RECORD, NEBRASKA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

BEFORE THE NEBRASKA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In the Matter of the Commission, on its ) RULE AND REGULATION NO. 191
own motion, seeking to amend Title 291, )
Chapter 8 Grain Warehouse Rules and ) ORDER ISSUING AMENDED
Regulations, to update rules regarding ) CERTIFICATE OF ADOPTION
grain warehouses, grain dealers and )

)

)

grain moisture meters. Entered: March 25, 2014

BY THE COMMISSION:
OPINTION A ND FINDTINGS

On July 30, 2013, the Commission, on its own motion, opened this
proceeding seeking to amend Title 291, Chapter 8, Grain Warehouse Rules and
Regulations, to update rules regarding grain warehouses, grain dealers and grain
moisture meters.

On December 3, 2013, the Commission entered an order adopting the first
set of proposed rules and issuing a certificate of adoption. On March 14, 2014,
the Office of the Attorney General returned the rules and required Section
8.002.04 to be amended as follows:

Each license applicant and warehouse licensee shall file the
financial statement prepared in accordance with  accounting
principles generally accepted as prescribed by section 88-528.

A copy of the rules and regulations containing the required change are
attached hereto. as Appendix and incorporated herein by this reference. As the
change reflects stator requirements and does not render the rule substantially
different, no further public hearing is required. The Commission finds that the
rules as modified should be adopted and a certificate of adoption issued.

ORDER

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED by the Nebraska Public Service Commission that the
proposed rules and regulations as amended herein should be adopted and an
amended certificate of adoption issued.

MADE AND ENTERED at Lincoln, Nebraska, this 25th day of March, 2014.

NEBRASKA PUBLIC_S§ERVICE COMMISSION

COMMISSIONERS CONCURRING: /‘L%-
&(‘A OL\-!L)O'*) Chair

P
ATTEST:
5%\/6 /\/\/U\kbﬁl/"
M %ng Executive Director

printed with soy ink on recycled paperé
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APPENDIX

1) Amend section 002.02C as set forth below:

2)

002.02C Safety Requirements: All eligible warehouses must
meet the following minimum requirements:

002.02C1 Tanks to be licensed must meet the following
minimum requirements:

No. of Bins Depth of Eaves Requirements

1 thru 9 20 to 29.9 feet Permanent ladder on
high inclusive each tank or permanent

ladder on one tank
with catwalk to others

Cluster of 20 to 29.9 feet Permanent ladder on one
10 or more high inclusive tank with a catwalk
to others

1 thru 3 30 to 50 feet Permanent ladder on
high inclusive each tank or permanent

ladder on one tank
with catwalk to others

Cluster of 30 650 feet or Permanent ladder on one
4 or more higher #nrelusive I tank with catwalk to

others
1 or more 50 feet or Permanent ladder with a
higher safety cage attached with
catwalk to others or a
manlift

002.02C2 Ladders and catwalks must be constructed with
necessary hand rails when required; and,

002.02C3 Ladders, catwalks and manlifts must be in a
safe state of repair at all times.

Amend section 002.04 as set forth below and renumber sections accord-ingly:

002.04 Financial Requirements: Each license applicant and warehouse
licensee shall file the financial statement presecribed-by statute prepared
in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted as prescribed
by section 88-528. If an applicant for a license is a wholly owned sub-
sidiary of a parent company and such a financial statement is not prepared
for the subsidiary, the parent company shall submit its audited fiscal
year-end Ffinancial statement and shall execute an unconditional guarantee
agreement as prescribed by the Commission. In determining whether an
application should be granted, or a warehouse license renewed or remain in
effect, the applicant or licensee shall meet the following requirements:

002.04A Net Worth: An applicant or licensee shall demonstrate
and maintain an allowable net worth of $.25 per bushel for each
bushel of licensed capacity. A minimum allowable net worth of
$10,000 will be required to obtain or maintain a license. An
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applicant or licensee whose allowable net worth exceeds $10,000,
but fails to meet the net worth requirement of $.25 per bushel of
licensed capacity, shall file deficiency security with the
Commission in an amount equal to the deficiency. Forpurposes—of

as—partof-that reviewprocess- No license shall be issued, nor

allowed to remain in force, for any warehouseman who possesses an

allowable net worth of less than $10,000. An—applicantmay—-also
b I - . I ool I

002.04B Working Capital: Current liabilities to allowable
current assets shall show a working capital ratio of not less than
1 to 1. Applicants whose statements fail to meet this requirement
before a license is granted, or licensees whose financial
condition fails to meet this requirement, shall provide additional
data sufficient to satisfy the Commission that additional
operating capital can be obtained to meet the requirement.

002.04C For purposes of the financial review conducted by the
Commission to determine whether an applicant or licensee meets
financial requirements, the following shall apply unless waived by
the Commission. [In addition to those listed in this section,
assets may be disallowed, in whole or in part, based upon the
individual circumstances of the licensee or applicant:

002.04C1 Physical Assets:

002.04Cla Depreciable assets not covered by
insurance are disallowed.

002.04C1b Personal assets, including but not
limited to residences, household items,
recreational items, restricted retirement
accounts and vehicles, are disallowed, net of
debt on each asset.

002.04C1lc Other assets that are not item-
ized are disallowed.

002.04C1d Appraised valuations of assets not
substantiated by a satisfactory appraisal are
disallowed. An applicant or licensee may
submit a valuation of assets by competent
appraisal to the Commission for inclusion in
computing net worth. If a valuation of assets
is submitted and satisfies Commission
requirements, no more than seventy percent of
appraised value over the book value of the
assets may be used in determining compliance
with net worth requirements. Acceptance of
an appraisal is subject to the following:
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002.04C1d(1) The appraisal must
be prepared by an independent
certified appraiser.

002.04C1d(2): The appraisal must
be prepared on market, income, and
cost approaches.

002.04C1d(3): A one to one
working capital ratio must be
maintained.

002.04C1d(4): Any value claimed
over the insured value will be
disallowed.

002.04C1d(5): Appraisals will
only be allowed for three years
following the date of the
appraisal.

002.04C2 Receivables:

002.04C3

002.04C2a Accounts or notes receivables due
from related parties, affiliates, or employees
are disallowed.

002.04C2b Accounts receivables due after one
year are disallowed.

002.04C2c Accounts or notes receivable under
litigation are disallowed.

002.04C2d Unsecured notes receivables are

disal lowed.

002.04C2e Other receivables that are not

itemized are disallowed.

Other:

002.04C3a Prepaid expenses that are not
itemized are disallowed.

002.04C3b Prepaid taxes are disallowed.

002.04C3c Prepaid loan fees are disallowed.

002.04C3d Returned checks are disallowed.

002.04C3e Organization costs are disallowed.

002.04C3f Stock subscriptions are disallowed.

002.04C3g Intangible assets including but not
limited to goodwill are disallowed.

002.04C3h Refundable and deferred income
taxes are disallowed.
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002.04D 002-04C Filing: Each warehouse licensee shall comply with
the statutory Filing within ninety (90) calendar days after its
fiscal year closes, provided that the Commission may grant, upon
request and reasonable cause shown, one filing extension of thirty
(30) days whereupon the financial report shall be Ffiled with the
Commission not later than one hundred twenty (120) calendar days
after a warehouseman®s fiscal close.

002.04E 062-04B Current Financial Reports: Upon complaint filed
with the Commission, and after hearing, the Commission may require
a warehouse licensee to file current financial reports showing
that the warehouse licensee is maintaining the requirements set
forth in Section 002.04 and the subsections thereunder.

002.04F 002-04E Additional Financial Requirements: In addition to
the reviewed fiscal year-end financial statement required by
section 88-528 and to detect noncompliance with financial
requirements established by the Commission pursuant to section 88-
530, the Commission shall, for good cause shown as deter-mined by
considering the criteria set forth below, require (1) a verified
report of the total grain inventory or (2) an audited financial
statement. A verified report of grain inven-tory or audited
financial statement shall be prepared in accordance with
accounting principles generally accepted in the United States by a
person or firm which holds a permit granted by the Nebraska State
Board of Public Accountancy.

002.04F1 0062-04E1 Verified inventory criteria, any one
of which may be deemed by the Commission to be
sufficient to require a verified inventory:

A) Repeat or consecutive grain shortage within
company owned.

B) Repeat or consecutive losses that do not leave the
licensee below Commission required net worth and
working capital.

6y Oversold grain position.

D) Examination indicating inaccurate grain inventory
being used in financial statement.

E) Failure to maintain an accurate Daily Position
Record.

F) Insufficient funds check found on examination.

G) Grain quality not meeting requirement.

H) Failure to respond to an exception report issued

for shortage or lack of adequate handling or
moisture shrink.

002.04F2 002-04E2 Audit criteria, any one of which may
be deemed by the Commission to be sufficient to require
an audit:
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A) Repeat or consecutive grain shortage not within
company owned.

B) Repeat or consecutive losses that leave the
licensee below Commission net worth or working
capital requirements.

6)) Oversold grain position and collateral warehouse
receipt(s) was outstanding.

D) Repeat failure to maintain an accurate Daily
Position Record.

E) Repeat insufficient fund checks found on
examinations.
) Not paying for grain on demand or as required by

contract terms.

G) Withdrawing capital, paying dividends or making a
Loan that leaves the licensee below the Commission
net worth or working capital requirements.

H) Working capital deficiency and issuance of
collateral warehouse receipts for unpaid grain.

D Repeat or consecutive oversold grain position.

3) Amend sections 002.07L and 002.070 as follows:

002.07L Shipping Ledgers: All grain loaded out of a warehouse by
rail or barge without origin weights must be posted to a shipping
ledger. All other grain loaded out of a warehouse must be weighed
on an approved scale and posted to a scale ticket or sales
invoice. The Commission may waive this requirement based upon the
individual circumstances. Ledger information must include, but is
not limited to, the following:

002.07L1 Rail car or barge identification numbers;

002.07L2 The destination, if known;

002.07L3 The billed weight of the grain; and,

002.07L4 The actual settlement weight of the grain.
002.07M Insurance Reports: A copy of the warehouseman®s stock
insurance report, for reporting policies, must be maintained at
the warehouseman®s place of business. All reports must be filed

with the insurance carrier no later than the 15th day of the month
following the month covered by the report.

002.07N Notice to Depositors, Storers and/or Owners: The ware-
houseman must retain one copy of each notice sent to comply with
Subsection 002.12B.
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002.070 Retention: The warehouseman shall, unless otherwise
authorized by the Commission, retain the required records for not
less thatn five (5) years.

002.07P A post-direct delivery storage position may not be
created at any time the warehouse licensee does not have
sufficient warehouse owned grain.

4) Amend section 003.03J as set forth below adding new language and renum-
bering accordingly:

003.03H Net Worth: Each grain dealer or applicant shall
demonstrate and maintain a minimum allowable net worth of $10,000
to obtain and maintain a license.

003.031 Working Capital: Each grain dealer or applicant shall
demonstrate and maintain a working capital ratio (current
liabilities to allowable current assets) of not less than 1 to 1.
Applicants or licensees who fail to meet this requirement shall
provide additional data sufficient to satisfy the Commission that
additional operating capital can be obtained to meet the
requirement.

003.03J For purposes of determining whether an applicant or
grain dealer meets financial requirements, the following shall
apply unless waived by the Commission. In addition to those
listed in this section, items may be disallowed, in whole or in
part, depending upon the individual circumstances of the grain
dealer or applicant:

003.03J1 Physical Assets:

003.03J1a Depreciable assets not covered by
insurance are disallowed.

003.03J1b Personal assets, including but not
limited to residences, household items,
recreational items, restricted retirement
accounts and vehicles, are disallowed, net of
debt on each asset.

003.03J1c Other assets that are not itemized
are disallowed.

003.03J1d Appraised valuations of assets not
substantiated by a satisfactory appraisal are
disallowed. An applicant or licensee may
submit a valuation of assets by competent
appraisal to the Commission for inclusion in
computing net worth. |If a valuation of
assets is submitted and satisfies Commission
requirements, no more than seventy percent of
appraised value over book value of the assets
may be used in determining compliance with
net worth requirements. Acceptance of an
appraisal is subject to the following:
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003.03J1d(1) The appraisal must
be prepared by an independent
certified appraiser.

003.03J1d(2) The appraisal must
be prepared on market, income, and
cost approaches.

003.03J1d(3) A one to one working
capital ratio must be maintained.

003.03J1d(4) Any value claimed
over the insured value will be
disallowed.

003.03H1d(5) Appraisals will only
be allowed for three years
following the date of the
appraisal.

003.03J2 Receivables:

003.03J33

003.03J2a Accounts or notes receivables due
from related parties, affiliates, or employees
are disallowed.

003.03J2b Accounts receivables due after one
year are disallowed.

003.03J2c Accounts or notes receivable under
litigation are disallowed.

003.03J2d Unsecured notes receivables are
disallowed.

003.03J2e Other receivables that are not
itemized are disallowed.

Other:

003.03J3a Prepaid expenses that are not
itemized are disallowed.

003.03J3b Prepaid taxes are disallowed.

003.03J3c Prepaid loan fees are disallowed.

003.03J3d Returned checks are disallowed.

003.03J3e Organization costs are disallowed.

003.03J3F Stock subscriptions are disallowed.

003.03J3g Intangible assets including but not
limited to goodwill are disallowed.

003.03J3h Refundable and deferred income
taxes are disallowed.
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003.03K 003033 Filing: Each grain dealer shall file a financial

statement

within ninety (90) calendar days following the close of

the licensee®s fiscal year, except that, the Com-mission may
grant, upon request and reasonable cause shown, one filing

extension

5) Amend sections 003.0

of thirty (30) calendar days.

6 and renumber accordingly:

003.06 Records Requirements: Each grain dealer shall maintain, at its

place of business,

accounts of each transaction conducted under its

license. The records shall be subject to inspection by the Commission and
must include, but are not limited to, the following:

003.06A Receipts: Each grain dealer er—an—-agent, upon taking

possession of grain from a seller, shall issue a writing, in the

form of a

receipt, contract, bill of lading or other written

communication(s) to the seller, or its agent, that includes, but
is not necessarily limited to, the following:

003.06A1 The date and-time—of -day the grain dealer or
its agent took possession of the seller™s grain.

003.06A2 The name and address of the buyer.
003.06A3 The name of the seller.

003.06A4 The name of the agent of the buyer.

003.06A5 003-06A6 The kind of grain delivered to the
buyer.

003.06A6 003-06A7 The approximate quantity of grain
delivered to the buyer.

003.06A7 003-06A8 The following provisions shall be
printed on the face of a receipt in eight point type or
larger:

"WARNING TO SELLER: You will have no recourse to the
grain dealer®"s security posted with the Nebraska Public
Service Commission (NPSC) unless you (1) demand payment
from the grain dealer within thirty (30) days after the
date of the last shipment of any contract; and, (2) cash
any check or draft issued as payment for your grain
within thirty (30) days after its issuance; and, (3)
notify the Nebraska Public Service Commission, PO Box
94927, Lincoln, NE 68509-4927, within thirty (30) days
if a check or draft is returned unpaid. You will have
no recourse to the grain warehouseman’s security posted
with the NPSC unless you have secured a post-direct
delivery storage position within thirty (30) days after
the last shipment of any contract. Direct delivery of
grain may affect the eligibility of the grain for
participation in federal price support programs.”
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003.06A8 All receipts, contracts, bills of lading or
other written communications shall be pre-numbered and
copies shall be maintained In numeric order.

003.06B Checks issued as payment for grain.

003.06C Contracts issued for grain purchases or sales in

Nebraska.

003.06D Retention: Each grain dealer shall, unless otherwise

authorized by the Commission, maintain the required records for
not less than five (6)year(s).

6) Delete section 003.07 and renumber sections accordingly.

7) Amend the section 004.0l1E as set forth below:

004.01E Grounds for Rejecting Tested Grain Moisture Measuring

Devices:
reasons:

Devices may be rejected for any of the following

004.01E1 The moisture device tested is found to be out
of tolerance with the standard meter used by the
inspector by more than one-half of one percent on grain
up to and including twenty-twe percent (202%) moisture
content or eight-tenths of one percent on grain over
twenty percent (20%) up to and including twenty-two
percent (22%);

004.01E2 The owner or user of the device does not have
available the latest charts for the type of device
being used;

004.01E3 The owner or user of the device does not have
available the proper scale, or scales, and the
thermometers for use with the type of device being used;
or,

004.01E4 The grain moisture measuring device is not
free from excessive dirt or cracked glass, or is not
kept in good operational condition at all times.
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