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BY THE COMMISSION: 
 
 On July 30, 2013, the Commission, on its own motion, opened this 
proceeding seeking to amend Title 291, Chapter 8, Grain Warehouse 
Rules and Regulations, to update rules regarding grain warehouses, 
grain dealers and grain moisture meters. 
 
 The Commission proposed to amend Title 291, Chapter 8, Grain 
Warehouse Rules and Regulations, as set forth in the attached 
Appendix, incorporated herein by this reference.  The proposed rules 
modify provisions related to grain warehouse shipping ledgers and 
grain dealer receipts, incorporate existing standards regarding the 
calculation of net worth and working capital, modify the range of 
tolerances for grain moisture meters, and correct typographical 
errors. 
 

Written comments in support of the proposed changes were filed on 
behalf of the Nebraska Grain and Feed Association and the Nebraska 
Cooperative Council. Hearing on the proposed rules was held on 
November 13, 2013.  Attorney Angela Melton appeared on behalf of the 
Commission staff.   
 

E V I D E N C E  
 
Mr. John Fecht, director of the Grain Warehouse Department 

testified regarding the proposed changes and indicated that with 
respect to the changes related to the review of financial statements 
the proposed rules merely codify existing practice.  Additionally, Mr. 
Fecht stated that the changes to the grain moisture meter standards 
were necessary to accommodate changes in technology.   

 
Mr. Robert Andersen of the Nebraska Cooperative Council testified 

in support of the Department’s recommendation.  Copies of the comments 
received were entered into the record. 

 
O P I N I O N   A N D   F I N D I N G S 

 
Based upon the evidence received, the Commission finds that the 

proposed rules attached hereto as Appendix and incorporated herein by 
this reference should be adopted.  
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APPENDIX 
 
1)  Amend section 002.02C as set forth below: 
 

002.02C  Safety Requirements:  All eligible warehouses must 
meet the following minimum requirements: 

 
002.02C1  Tanks to be licensed must meet the following 
minimum requirements: 
 

   No. of Bins Depth of Eaves  _____Requirements_____ 
            
   1 thru 9 20 to 29.9 feet Permanent ladder on 
    high inclusive each tank or permanent 
     ladder on one tank 
     with catwalk to others 
 
   Cluster of 20 to 29.9 feet Permanent ladder on one 
   10 or more high inclusive tank with a catwalk 
     to others 
 
   1 thru 3 30 to 50 feet Permanent ladder on 
    high inclusive each tank or permanent 
     ladder on one  tank 
     with catwalk to others 
 
   Cluster of 30 to 50 feet or Permanent ladder on one 
   4 or more higher inclusive 1 tank with catwalk to 

others 
 
   1 or more 50 feet or Permanent ladder with a  

higher safety cage attached 
with catwalk to others 
or a manlift 

 
002.02C2  Ladders and catwalks must be constructed 
with necessary hand rails when required; and, 

 
002.02C3  Ladders, catwalks and manlifts must be in a 
safe state of repair at all times. 

 
 
2) Amend section 002.04 as set forth below and renumber sections 
accordingly: 
 

002.04  Financial Requirements:  Each license applicant and warehouse 
licensee shall file the financial statement prescribed by statute 
prepared in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in 
the United States.  If an applicant for a license is a wholly owned 
subsidiary of a parent company and such a financial statement is not 
prepared for the subsidiary, the parent company shall submit its audited 
fiscal year-end financial statement and shall execute an unconditional 
guarantee agreement as prescribed by the Commission.  In determining 
whether an application should be granted, or a warehouse license renewed 
or remain in effect, the applicant or licensee shall meet the following 
requirements: 
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002.04A  Net Worth:  An applicant or licensee shall demonstrate 
and maintain an allowable net worth of $.25 per bushel for each 
bushel of licensed capacity.  A minimum allowable net worth of 
$10,000 will be required to obtain or maintain a license.  An 
applicant or licensee whose allowable net worth exceeds 
$10,000, but fails to meet the net worth requirement of $.25 
per bushel of licensed capacity, shall file deficiency security 
with the Commission in an amount equal to the deficiency.  For 
purposes of the financial review conducted by the Commission to 
determine whether the applicant or licensee meets net worth 
requirements, certificates of deposit filed as security will 
not be disallowed as part of that review process.  No license 
shall be issued, nor allowed to remain in force, for any 
warehouseman who possesses an allowable net worth of less than 
$10,000.  An applicant may also submit a valuation of assets by 
competent appraisal to the Commission for inclusion in 
computing net worth for the purpose of meeting any net worth 
requirements imposed by the act or rules and regulations of the 
Commission.  If a valuation of assets is submitted, no more 
than seventy percent of appraised value shall be used in 
determining compliance with net worth requirements.   
 
002.04B  Working Capital:   Current liabilities to allowable 
current assets shall show a working capital ratio of not less 
than 1 to 1.  Applicants whose statements fail to meet this 
requirement before a license is granted, or licensees whose 
financial condition fails to meet this requirement, shall 
provide additional data sufficient to satisfy the Commission 
that additional operating capital can be obtained to meet the 
requirement. 
 
002.04C  For purposes of the financial review conducted by the 
Commission to determine whether an applicant or licensee meets 
financial requirements, the following shall apply unless waived 
by the Commission.  In addition to those listed in this 
section, assets may be disallowed, in whole or in part, based 
upon the individual circumstances of the licensee or applicant: 
 

002.04C1  Physical Assets 
 

002.04C1a  Depreciable assets not covered 
by insurance are disallowed. 
 
002.04C1b  Personal assets, including but 
not limited to residences, household 
items, recreational items, restricted 
retirement accounts and vehicles, are 
disallowed, net of debt on each asset. 
 
002.04C1c  Other assets that are not item-
ized are disallowed. 

 
002.04C1d  Appraised valuations of assets 
not substantiated by a satisfactory 
appraisal are disallowed.  An applicant or 
licensee may submit a valuation of assets 
by competent appraisal to the Commission 
for inclusion in computing net worth. If a 
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valuation of assets is submitted and 
satisfies Commission requirements, no more 
than seventy percent of appraised value 
over the book value of the assets may be 
used in determining compliance with net 
worth requirements.  Acceptance of an 
appraisal is subject to the following: 

 
002.04C1d(1)  The appraisal 
must be prepared by an 
independent certified 
appraiser. 
 
002.04C1d(2):  The appraisal 
must be prepared on market, 
income, and cost approaches. 
 
002.04C1d(3):  A one to one 
working capital ratio must be 
maintained. 
 
002.04C1d(4):  Any value 
claimed over the insured value 
will be disallowed. 
 
002.04C1d(5):  Appraisals will 
only be allowed for three 
years following the date of 
the appraisal. 

 
002.04C2  Receivables: 
 

002.04C2a  Accounts or notes receivables due 
from related parties, affiliates, or 
employees are disallowed. 
 
002.04C2b  Accounts receivables due after 
one year are disallowed. 
 
002.04C2c  Accounts or notes receivable 
under litigation are disallowed. 
 
002.04C2d  Unsecured notes receivables are 
disallowed. 
 
002.04C2e  Other receivables that are not 
itemized are disallowed. 

 
002.04C3  Other: 
 

002.04C3a  Prepaid expenses that are not 
itemized are disallowed. 
 
002.04C3b  Prepaid taxes are disallowed. 
 
002.04C3c  Prepaid loan fees are 
disallowed. 
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002.04C3d  Returned checks are disallowed. 
 
002.04C3e  Organization costs are 
disallowed. 
 
002.04C3f  Stock subscriptions are 
disallowed. 
 
002.04C3g  Intangible assets including but 
not limited to goodwill are disallowed. 
 
002.04C3h  Refundable and deferred income 
taxes are disallowed. 
 

002.04D 002.04C Filing:  Each warehouse licensee shall comply 
with the statutory filing within ninety (90) calendar days 
after its fiscal year closes, provided that the Commission may 
grant, upon request and reasonable cause shown, one filing 
extension of thirty (30) days whereupon the financial report 
shall be filed with the Commission not later than one hundred 
twenty (120) calendar days after a warehouseman's fiscal close. 
  
002.04E 002.04D Current Financial Reports:  Upon complaint 
filed with the Commission, and after hearing, the Commission 
may require a warehouse licensee to file current financial 
reports showing that the warehouse licensee is maintaining the 
requirements set forth in Section 002.04 and the subsections 
thereunder. 
 
002.04F 002.04E Additional Financial Requirements: In addition 
to the reviewed fiscal year-end financial statement required by 
section 88-528 and to detect noncompliance with financial 
requirements established by the Commission pursuant to section 
88-530, the Commission shall, for good cause shown as deter-
mined by considering the criteria set forth below, require (1) 
a verified report of the total grain inventory or (2) an 
audited financial statement.  A verified report of grain inven-
tory or audited financial statement shall be prepared in 
accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the 
United States by a person or firm which holds a permit granted 
by the Nebraska State Board of Public Accountancy. 
 

002.04F1  002.04E1 Verified inventory criteria, any 
one of which may be deemed by the Commission to be 
sufficient to require a verified inventory: 
 
A) Repeat or consecutive grain shortage within 

company owned. 
 
B) Repeat or consecutive losses that do not leave 

the licensee below Commission required net 
worth and working capital. 

 
C) Oversold grain position. 
 
D) Examination indicating inaccurate grain 

inventory being used in financial statement. 
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E) Failure to maintain an accurate Daily Position 
Record. 

 
F) Insufficient funds check found on examination. 
 
G) Grain quality not meeting requirement. 
 
H) Failure to respond to an exception report 

issued for shortage or lack of adequate 
handling or moisture shrink.   

 
002.04F2 002.04E2  Audit criteria, any one of which 
may be deemed by the Commission to be sufficient to 
require an audit: 
 
A) Repeat or consecutive grain shortage not within 

company owned. 
 
B) Repeat or consecutive losses that leave the 

licensee below Commission net worth or working 
capital requirements. 

 
C) Oversold grain position and collateral 

warehouse receipt(s) was outstanding. 
 
D) Repeat failure to maintain an accurate Daily 

Position Record. 
 
E) Repeat insufficient fund checks found on 

examinations. 
 
F) Not paying for grain on demand or as required 

by contract terms. 
 
G) Withdrawing capital, paying dividends or making 

a Loan that leaves the licensee below the 
Commission net worth or working capital 
requirements. 

 
H) Working capital deficiency and issuance of 

collateral warehouse receipts for unpaid grain. 
 
I) Repeat or consecutive oversold grain position. 
 

 
3)  Amend sections 002.07L and 002.07O as follows: 
 

002.07L  Shipping Ledgers:  All grain loaded out of a warehouse 
by rail or barge without origin weights must be posted to a 
shipping ledger.  All other grain loaded out of a warehouse 
must be weighed on an approved scale and posted to a scale 
ticket or sales invoice.  The Commission may waive this 
requirement based upon the individual circumstances.  Ledger 
information must include, but is not limited to, the following: 

 
002.07L1  Rail car or barge identification numbers; 

 
002.07L2  The destination, if known; 
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002.07L3  The billed weight of the grain; and, 
 
002.07L4  The actual settlement weight of the grain. 

 
002.07M Insurance Reports:  A copy of the warehouseman's 
stock insurance report, for reporting policies, must be 
maintained at the warehouseman's place of business.  All 
reports must be filed with the insurance carrier no later than 
the 15th day of the month following the month covered by the 
report. 

 
002.07N  Notice to Depositors, Storers and/or Owners:  The 
ware-houseman must retain one copy of each notice sent to 
comply with Subsection 002.12B. 

 
002.07O  Retention:  The warehouseman shall, unless otherwise 
authorized by the Commission, retain the required records for 
not less thatn five (5) years. 
 
002.07P  A post-direct delivery storage position may not be 
created at any time the warehouse licensee does not have 
sufficient warehouse owned grain. 
 

 
4)  Amend section 003.03J as set forth below adding new language and renum- 
 bering accordingly: 
 

003.03H  Net Worth:  Each grain dealer or applicant shall 
demonstrate and maintain a minimum allowable net worth of 
$10,000 to obtain and maintain a license.  
 
003.03I  Working Capital:  Each grain dealer or applicant shall 
demonstrate and maintain a working capital ratio (current 
liabilities to allowable current assets) of not less than 1 to 
1.  Applicants or licensees who fail to meet this requirement 
shall provide additional data sufficient to satisfy the 
Commission that additional operating capital can be obtained to 
meet the requirement.  
 
003.03J For purposes of determining whether an applicant or 
grain dealer meets financial requirements, the following shall 
apply unless waived by the Commission.  In addition to those 
listed in this section, items may be disallowed, in whole or in 
part, depending upon the individual circumstances of the grain 
dealer or applicant: 

 
003.03J1  Physical Assets 
 

003.03J1a  Depreciable assets not covered 
by insurance are disallowed. 
 
003.03J1b  Personal assets, including but 
not limited to residences, household 
items, recreational items, restricted 
retirement accounts and vehicles, are 
disallowed, net of debt on each asset. 
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003.03J1c  Other assets that are not 
itemized are disallowed. 
 
003.03J1d  Appraised valuations of assets 
not substantiated by a satisfactory 
appraisal are disallowed.  An applicant or 
licensee may submit a valuation of assets 
by competent appraisal to the Commission 
for inclusion in computing net worth.  If 
a valuation of assets is submitted and 
satisfies Commission requirements, no more 
than seventy percent of appraised value 
over book value of the assets may be used 
in determining compliance with net worth 
requirements.  Acceptance of an appraisal 
is subject to the following: 
 

003.03J1d(1)  The appraisal 
must be prepared by an 
independent certified 
appraiser. 
 
003.03J1d(2)  The appraisal 
must be prepared on market, 
income, and cost approaches. 
 
003.03J1d(3)  A one to one 
working capital ratio must be 
maintained. 
 
003.03J1d(4)  Any value 
claimed over the insured value 
will be disallowed. 
 
003.03H1d(5)  Appraisals will 
only be allowed for three 
years following the date of 
the appraisal. 

 
003.03J2  Receivables: 
 

003.03J2a  Accounts or notes receivables 
due from related parties, affiliates, or 
employees are disallowed. 
 
003.03J2b  Accounts receivables due after 
one year are disallowed. 
 
003.03J2c  Accounts or notes receivable 
under litigation are disallowed. 
 
003.03J2d  Unsecured notes receivables are 
disallowed. 
 
003.03J2e  Other receivables that are not 
itemized are disallowed. 
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003.03J3  Other: 
 

003.03J3a  Prepaid expenses that are not 
itemized are disallowed. 
 
003.03J3b  Prepaid taxes are disallowed. 
 
003.03J3c  Prepaid loan fees are 
disallowed. 
 
003.03J3d   Returned checks are disallowed. 
 
003.03J3e  Organization costs are 
disallowed. 
 
003.03J3f  Stock subscriptions are 
disallowed. 
 
003.03J3g  Intangible assets including but 
not limited to goodwill are disallowed. 
 
003.03J3h  Refundable and deferred income 
taxes are disallowed. 
 

003.03K  003.03J Filing:  Each grain dealer shall file a 
financial statement within ninety (90) calendar days following 
the close of the licensee's fiscal year, except that, the Com-
mission may grant, upon request and reasonable cause shown, one 
filing extension of thirty (30) calendar days.  

 
 

5)  Amend sections 003.06 and renumber accordingly: 
 

003.06  Records Requirements:  Each grain dealer shall maintain, at  its 
place of business, accounts of each transaction conducted under its 
license.  The records shall be subject to inspection by the Commission 
and must include, but are not limited to, the following: 

 
003.06A  Receipts:  Each grain dealer or an agent, upon taking 
possession of grain from a seller, shall issue a writing, in 
the form of a receipt, contract, bill of lading or other 
written communication(s) to the seller, or its agent, that 
includes, but is not necessarily limited to, the following:   

 
003.06A1  The date and time of day the grain dealer 
or its agent took possession of the seller's grain. 

 
003.06A2  The name and address of the buyer. 
 
003.06A3  The name of the seller. 

 
003.06A4  The name of the agent of the buyer. 

 
003.06A5  The motor vehicle license plate number of 
any vehicle used by the grain dealer or its agent in 
taking possession of the grain. 
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003.06A5 003.06A6  The kind of grain delivered to the 
buyer. 

 
003.06A6  003.06A7  The approximate quantity of grain 
delivered to the buyer. 
 
003.06A7  003.06A8  The following provisions shall be 
printed on the face of a receipt in eight point type 
or larger: 

 
"WARNING TO SELLER:  You will have no recourse to the 
grain dealer's security posted with the Nebraska 
Public Service Commission (NPSC) unless you (1) 
demand payment from the grain dealer within thirty 
(30) days after the date of the last shipment of any 
contract; and, (2) cash any check or draft issued as 
payment for your grain within thirty (30) days after 
its issuance; and, (3) notify the Nebraska Public 
Service Commission, PO Box 94927, Lincoln, NE 68509-
4927, within thirty (30) days if a check or draft is 
returned unpaid.  You will have no recourse to the 
grain warehouseman’s security posted with the NPSC 
unless you have secured a post-direct delivery 
storage position within thirty (30) days after the 
last shipment of any contract.  Direct delivery of 
grain may affect the eligibility of the grain for 
participation in federal price support programs.” 
 
003.06A8  All receipts, contracts, bills of lading or 
other written communications shall be pre-numbered 
and copies shall be maintained in numeric order. 

 
003.06B  Checks issued as payment for grain. 

 
  003.06C  Contracts issued for grain purchases or sales in 
  Nebraska. 
 

003.06D  Retention:  Each grain dealer shall, unless otherwise 
authorized by the Commission, maintain the required records for 
not less than five (5)year(s). 

 
 
6)  Delete section 003.07 and renumber sections accordingly. 
 

003.07  Grain Dealer's or Hauler's Proof of Ownership:  Each grain 
hauler, whether dealer or hired truck, shall have available at all times 
on the truck proof of ownership of the grain being transported thereon, 
the point at which the grain was loaded, and its destination.  Failure 
to present such proof upon demand of any law enforcement officer or 
Commission representative may be deemed to be cause for revocation of 
the grain dealer's license. 

 
 
7)  Amend the section 004.01E as set forth below: 
 

004.01E  Grounds for Rejecting Tested Grain Moisture Measuring 
Devices:  Devices may be rejected for any of the following 
reasons:  
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004.01E1  The moisture device tested is found to be 
out of tolerance with the standard meter used by the 
inspector by more than one-half of one percent on 
grain up to and including twenty-two percent (202%) 
moisture content or eight-tenths of one percent on 
grain over twenty percent (20%) up to and including 
twenty-two percent (22%);  

 
004.01E2  The owner or user of the device does not 
have available the latest charts for the type of  
device being used;  

 
004.01E3  The owner or user of the device does not 
have available the proper scale, or scales, and the 
thermometers for use with the type of device being 
used; or,  

 
004.01E4  The grain moisture measuring device is not 
free from excessive dirt or cracked glass, or is not 
kept in good operational condition at all times.   
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