BEFORE THE NEBRASKA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
In the Matter of the Commission, on ) RULE AND REGULATION NO. 182
its own motion, seeking to amend )
Title 291, Chapter 3, Motor Carrier ) ORDER RELEASING FIFTH SET OF
Rules and Regulations, to rewrite ) PROPOSED RULES FOR COMMENTS
the chapter in its entirety. )} AND SCHEDULING HEARING
)
)

Entered: July 21, 2015
BY THE COMMISSION:
OPINION AND FINDINGS

By its own motion, the Nebraska Public Service Commission (Commission)
seeks to amend Title 291, Chapter 3, Motor Carrier Rules and Regulations, to
rewrite the chapter in its entirety. Since the last codification of the
Commission®"s Motor Carrier Rules and Regulations, several changes in state and
federal law and policy have occurred. A number of areas previously regulated by
the Commission were deregulated while the jurisdiction over other areas
previously regulated has been shifted to other Nebraska state agencies. The
Commission, therefore, seeks to rewrite the entire chapter to remove portions of
the rules which are no longer regulated by the Commission and to add amendments
to Commission rules to conform with current state law and Commission practice.

A copy of the first set of proposed rules was released for comment June 1,
2011. A workshop was held on June 29, 2011. The Commission received testimony
and written comments on the proposed rules at the workshop. The Commission also
received written comments from various entities on the proposed rules.

The second set of proposed rules was released January 7, 2014 and a public
hearing held on February 19, 2014 in the Commission Hearing Room, Lincoln. Based
on comments received, the Commission released a third set of proposed rules for
comment and scheduled an additional public hearing.

The third set of proposed rules was released August 5, 2014 and a public
hearing held on September 25, 2014 in the Commission Hearing Room, Lincoln.
Based on comments received, the Commission released a fourth set of proposed
rules for comment and scheduled an additional public hearing.

The fourth set of proposed rules was released November 13, 2014 and a
public hearing held on December 16, 2014 in the Commission Hearing Room, Lincoln.
Based on comments received, the Commission is releasing a fifth set of proposed
rules for comment and scheduling an additional public hearing.

The changes as proposed from the fourth set of rules include the following:

003.01D Open class service shall consist of all of the following
elements: (1) the business of carrying passengers for hire by a vehicle
(2) along the most direct route between the points of origin and
destination or along a route under the control of the person who hired the
vehicle and not over a defined regular route (3) at a mileage based, or
per trip fare, or an hourly rate.

006.02 In addition to the requirements for minimum insurance as provided
in Rule 003.03, all carriers of passengers shall also carry uninsured and
underinsured motorist coverage purstant—to—the Uninsured—and-Underinsured
Motoerist Insurance—Coverage—Act with a minimum limit of one hundred
thousand ($100,000) per person, three hundred ($300,000) aggregate per
accident coverage.




SECRETARY’S RECORD, NEBRASKA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

RULE AND REGULATION #182 PAGE 2

Therefore, the fifth set of proposed rules, attached hereto and incor-
porated herein by this reference, are released for comment. Comments on the
proposed amendments shall be filed by interested parties on or before 3:00 p.m.
on August 21, 2015, Parties filing comments should file one (1) original, five
(5) paper copies and one (1) electronic copy in Word format emailed to
kathy.lahman@nebraska.gov and mark.breiner@nebraska.gov.

A hearing on the fifth set of proposed rules is scheduled for September 1,
2015, at 1:30 p.m. in the Commission Hearing Room, 300 The Atrium, 1200 N Street,
Linceln.

If auxiliary aids or reasonable accommodations are needed for attendance at
the meeting, please 'call the Commission at (402) 471-3101. For people with
hearing/speech impairments, please call the Commission at (402) 471-0213 {(TDD) or
the Nebraska Relay System at {(800) 833-7352 {(TDD) or (800) 833-0920 (Voice). .
Advance notice of at least seven days is needed when requesting an interpreter.

ORDER

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED. by the Nebraska Public Service Commissicn that the
fifth set of proposed Rules and Regulations te Title 291, Chapter 3, Motor
Carrier Rules and Regulations, should be, and are hereby, cpen for public
comment . '

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that comments on the fifth set of proposed rules and
regulations shall be filed by interested parties on or before 3:00 p.m. on August
21, 2015. Parties filing comments shall file one (1) original, five (5) paper
copies and one (1) electronic copy in  Word format emailed to
kathy.lahman@nebraska.gov or mark.breiner@nebraska.gov.

IT IS FINALLY ORDERED that a hearing on the £ifth get of proposed rules and
regulations is scheduled for September 1, 2015 at 1:30 p.m. in the Commission
Hearing Room, 300 The Atrium, 1200 ‘N’ Street, Lincoln, Nebraska.

MADE AND ENTERED in Lincoln, Nebraska on this 21st day of July, 2015.

NEBRASKA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
COMMISSIONERS CONCURRING:

Gt A/
. | Vice Chairman
"//s//Rod Johnson : '

//s//Frank E. Landis

//s//Cxystal A. Rhoades ATTEST:

| MSLP

Executive Director

éif%primed with 5oy Ink on recycled paparé
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APPENDIX

001 GENERAL:

The definitioﬁs found in Neb. Rev. Stat. §75—302’(Cum. Supp.- 20005 apply
to these rules. 1In addition to those definitions, the following apply
to this chapter, unless the context otherwise requires:

001.01A i i
Commission: The Nebraska Public Service Commission.

001.01B Commission—means—the NebraskaPublic-Service
Commisston= Driver: Any person who operates a motor vehicle.

~ Limousine: A vehicle

used to provide limousine service.

001.01D NPSC Plate: A license plate which is issued by the
Commission to holders of Commission authority.

001.01E Premium Fare: A rate based on an hourly rental of not
less than one (1) hour at a scheduled rate which shall be set,
and periodically reviewed, by the Commission and which shall
include a minimum rental of not less than one hour. A mileage
charge may be assessed for the transportation of the vehicle
only for such time before and after the transportation is
provided and only in addition to the minimum hourly charged as
provided by this definition.
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001.02 Matter to Be Set For Hearing: All matters that require a hearing
shall be set for hearing at the earliest practicable date and in no event,
except for good cause shown, shall the time fixed for hearing be more than
six (6) months after the date of the filing of the petition. Any
application that is not set for hearing as set forth above shall be
dismissed.

001.03 Requirements for an Effective Authority:

001.03A The following requirements must be fulfilled no later
than forty-five (45) days following the date an author-
ity is granted by the Commission:

001.03A1 Filing of proposed rates or subscribing to
the Household Goods Mover Tariff;

001.03A2 Filing of Commission required insurance docu-
ments; and

001.03A3 Payment of Annual Fees
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001.03B An authority issued by the Commission is not effective
until the requirements of subsection 001.03A have been ful-
fulfilled.

001.03C If after forty-five (45) days an applicant has not
fulfilled the requirements of subsection 001.03A above, the
Commission’s grant of authority shall be considered null and
void.

002 OPERATIONS RULES:

002.01 Unauthorized Operations: Unless specifically exempted by
statute, a regulated motor common or contract carrier of

passengers or household goods shall not operate any motor vehicle for
the—transpertation—of property—orpassengers—for—-hire on any public
highway in this state except in accordance with state law Chapter75;
articles 1 -and 3 of the Nebraska statutes;—as—amended; and with—the
provisions—of these rules. A motor common or contract carrier of
property household goods or passengers shall not operate upon any public
highway without first having obtained from the Commission a certificate
or permit of authority and shall not operate except in compliance with
the terms and conditions and restrictions of the authority or permit. A
motor common or contract carrier does not avoid the jurisdiction of the
Commission by engaging in a leases—unless—so—provided—Ffor by Commission
rule-008. No carrier, without First obtaining written Commission
approval, shall:

002.01A Fail to operate over its entire certificated route.

002.01B Discontinue, in any part, service authorized.

002.01C Serve any part of its certificated route by interline
agreement with another carrier.

002.01D Fail to confine its operations to those authorized
under its certificate or permit.

002.02 Rates: Each regulated motor carrier shall charge and collect
rates, issue and deliver freight bills, and obtain receipts showing
delivery of shipments carried, as prescribed by the Commission in its
effective Motor Vehicle Tariffs, schedule of charges, reselutions; and
supplements thereto.

002.03 Deviations from Routes: A carrier which has received authority
from the Commission to operate only along a designated route may not
deviate from their authorized route unless such route has been redesig-
nated, relocated or temporarily closed, when such route has been
obstructed by any natural or other cause over which the regulated motor
carrier has no control, or when a detour has been designated by the
Department of Roads, Iaw enforcement, or an authorized agency of a

polltlcal subd|V|S|on of the state- Motor—carriers—onlbyunder—the
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002.04 Schedules: Schedules containing the actual rates or charges of
such carrier for the transportation of passengers or household goods
property In intra-state commerce shall be filed with and approved by the
Commission, published and kept open for public inspection. In the event
that such rates are changed after a permit is issued, the carrier shall
file a new schedule with the Commission ten (10) days before the
effective date of such rates or charges.

003 CLASSIFICATIONS: Pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. 875-304 (Reissue 1996), the
Commission determines that the following classifications of motor carriers are
necessary or desirable in the public interest. All certificates and permits
issued by the Commission shall be construed and interpreted, and the opera-
ions authorized shall be tested and determined in accordance with these
classifications.

003.01 Service Classifications: Every applicant for common or contract
transportation shall designate the type of transportation service re-
quested from the classifications found in this section and shall further
designate whether (1) such service as requested shall be provided as a
common carrier or as a contract carrier and, if a contract carrier, the
persons or entities contracted with; (2) the service, if granted, shall
be provided over (a) a regular route which route shall be described in
the application or (b) an irregular route which territory the applicant
seeks to provide transportation which shall be described, and (3) any
other restrictions shall be applicable. An applicant who desires to
transport railroad train crews and their baggage or clients of the
Nebraska State Department of Health and Human Services or any con-
tractors of the Department shall make specific application for such
authority.
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003.01A Bus service shall consist of the following elements:
(1) the business of carrying passengers and their baggage (2) by
bus or van (3) either by charter or regular route (4) either
prearranged or scheduled service (5) at a fare approved and on
file with the Commission. Bus service may be hired on a charter
or special party basis.
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003.01A1 Scheduled service means service by any
regulated motor carrier who undertakes to transport
passengers and their baggage in intrastate commerce by
motor vehicle for compensation between fixed termini
and over a specific highway or highways upon an
established or fixed schedule.

003.01A2 Charter service means transportation of
groups of seven or more persons who collectively
contract for transportation on a particular trip paying
one lump sum.

003.01A3 Special party service means the
transportation of a group or groups of one or more
persons who individually contract for transportation to
a common destination with each person paying an
individual sum.

003.01B Household goods moving service shall consist of all of
the following elements: (1) the business of carrying personal
effects and property used, or to be used, In a dwelling when the
transportation of such effects or property is (2) arranged and
paid for (3) by any party and (4) includes transportation of
property from a factory, manufacturer, or store when the
property i1s purchased with the intent to use such property in a
dwelling.

003.01C Limousine service shall consist of all of the following
elements: (1) the business of carrying passengers for hire by a
vehicle (2) along a route under the control of the person who
hired the vehicle and not over a defined regular route (3) on
prearranged and not on a demand basis (4) at a premium fare.
PREVIOUSLY NUMBERED AS 010.01C

003.01D Open class service shall consist of all of the
following elements: (1) the business of carrying passengers for
hire by a vehicle (2) along the most direct route between the
points of origin and destination or along a route under the
control of the person who hired the vehicle and not over a
defined regular route (3) at a mileage based, per trip fare, or
an hourly rate. PREVIOUSLY NUMBERED AS 010.01D

003.01D1 In calculating charges for transportation, a
carrier charging a mileage based fare may use only the
actual loaded mileage traveled by the vehicle to
transport such passengers. Mileage based charges may
not be augmented or enhanced through any calculation
that does not reflect actual mileage traveled.

003.01E Taxicab service shall consist of all of the following
elements: (1) the business of carrying passengers for hire by a
vehicle, subject to the provisions of Rule 010.02 (2) along the
most direct route between the points of origin and destination
or a route under the control of the person who hired the vehicle
and not over a defined regular route (3) on a prearranged or
demand basis (4) at a metered mileage based or per trip fare
according to the provisions of Rule 010.02H (56) commencing
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within and/or restricted to a defined geographic area.
PREVIOUSLY NUMBERED AS 010.01E

Restrictions: 1In addition to the other applicable Motor Carrier Rules

in this chapter, the following provisions apply to all classes of
service unless otherwise specifically provided in these rules:

003.02A The Commission, based on the record before it in an
application proceeding, restrict the transportation of passen-
gers by type of vehicle, geographic territory, commencement
point or termination point, or any other lawful factor which the
Commission may determine is necessary or reasonable and in the
public interest. Covenants not to compete or similar agreements
that restrict the proposed service or the geographic territory
of a proposed service that the Commission finds are not iIn the
public interest will not be considered lawful and will not be
approved in an application proceeding. PREVIOUSLY NUMBERED AS
010.02A

003.02B No carrier shall transport railroad crews or their
baggage absent a special designation from the Commission giving
such carrier the authority to transport such crews and their
baggage. PREVIOUSLY NUMBERED AS 010.02B

003.02C No carrier shall transport passengers under contract
with the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or any
subcontractors of the Department of Health and Human Services
absent specific authorization from the Commission. In order to
receive such authorization, the applying carrier must demon-
strate that such authorization is or shall be required by the
present or future convenience and necessity separate and apart
from the present or future convenience and necessity demon-
strated on the underlying certificate of authority. Authoriza-
tion to transport HHS clientele shall not be available or
granted to carriers that only have limousine service authority.
PREVIOUSLY NUMBERED AS 010.02C

003.03 TypeoF Carrier-— The first-divisionon—the chart identifies
Ffour—types—of carriers: Classifications for Purposes of Required
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Insurance: The following classifications are established for the
purpose of determining insurance requirements for vehicles operated
under authority from the Commission. Operators of motor vehicles are

required to carry the minimum levels of financial responsibility as
prescribed. Operators shall also comply with all applicable insurance
regulations as found in Rule 006 of this chapter.

003.03A Common—carrier—of persons—or-property; Regulated
carriers of household goods are required to carry liability
insurance of not less than seven hundred and fifty thousand
dollars ($750,000.00) plus cargo insurance of not less than five
thousand dollars ($5,000.00) of coverage.

003.03B Contract-carrier—of persons—orproperty; Carriers of
passengers in vehicles with a rated seating capacity of sixteen
(16) passengers or more as originally manufactured or as
currently modified are required to carry liability insurance of
not less than five million dollars ($5,000,000.00) of coverage.

003.03C Exempt—carrier;—and Carriers of passengers in vehicles
with a rated seating capacity of fifteen (15) passengers or less

are required to carry liability insurance of not less than one
million, five hundred thousand dollars ($1,500,000.00) of
coverage.

003.03D TFransportation—Cooperative- Regulated motor carrier

of passengers by taxicab are required to carry liability
insurance of not less than five hundred thousand dollars
($500,000.00) of coverage.
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004

I Lti sded_in_ _ | .
322-02 R-R-S-—1943;as—amended—For—operating—as—a—common—or

contract-carrier—withoutacertificateor permit-

FEES AND IDENTIFICATION:

004.01 Application Fee: An application fee approved annually by the
Commission shall be payable by the applicant at the time of filing an
application. This application fee shall not apply to any person who
contracts for transportation services with the Nebraska Department of
Health and Human Services or any agency organized under the Nebraska
Community Aging Services Act who is not required to hold a certificate
from the Commission pursuant to the provisions of Neb. Rev. Stat.
sections 75-303.01 and 75-303.02 (Cum. Supp. 2000).

PREVIOUS SECTIONS 004.01 THROUGH 004.04 RENUMBERED AS 004.02 THROUGH
004 .05:

004.02 Annual Fees: An annual fee i approved
annually by the Commission shall be remitted for each motor vehicle
operated by each regulated motor carrier. oer—Fforty dollars A fee
approved annually by the Commission shall be remitted by each regulated
motor carrier for each truck-trailer or tractor-trailer combination
operated. asprovided-by Seection—75-305,—R-R-S5-—1943,isdue—and payable
By every - b _ o 2 ricdicts I i | .

Jandary—each—year;—and—is—deHnguent-on—theFirst-dayof March—each
year- Such annual fees are due and payable by every regulated motor
carrier on the first day of January of each year, and is delinquent on
the first day of March of that year. If the initial certificate or
permit is issued to a motor carrier on or after July 1, the fee shall be

fifty percent of the annual fee.

004.03 Identification Cards: The following provisions concerning
identification cards apply to all motor carriers:

004.03A Issuance: The Commission shall issue annually, without
additional charge, an identification card for each motor
vehicle, upon payment of an annual fee, and upon compliance with
all statutory requirements and rules and regulations of the
Commission. The card wiH shall contain the certificate or
permit number issued by the Commission, the name and address of
the holder, and other information as the Commission may require.
Upon replacement or addition of any vehicle, a new identifica-
tion card wiH shall be obtained by the regulated motor carrier
by application to the Commission and the previously issued
identification card wiHH shall be surrendered to the Commission.

004.03B Display: No motor vehicle subject to Commission
jurisdiction wiH shall be operated without an identification
card, protected from defacement, in the driver®s cab.

004.04 PSC Plates: The following provisions concerning PSC plates
shall apply to all regulated motor carriers:

004.04A Issuance: The Commission shall issue PSC plates to
motor carriers who have complied with all statutory requirements
and rules and regulations of the Commission, and who have
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004.05

completed and filed a copy eepies of the forms furnished by the
Commission #n—duplicate to provide a detailed description for
each unit for which a PSC plate is required.

004.04B Display: No vehicle wiH shall be operated without the
secure attachment of its PSC plate in the following manner:

004.04B1 On passenger carrying units, at the rear of
the vehicle, and easily legible from the rear.

004.04B2 On power units on any portion of the front
part, preferably to the regular vehicle license so as
to be easily read from the front.

004.04B3 On straight trucks and vehicles with no more
than two axles on either the front or rear so as to be
easily legible.

004.04C Transfer: A transferee or lessee of a certificate or
permit may use the PSC plates of the transferor or lessor for
the remainder of the calendar year, without payment of an
additional fee for use of the plates, upon approval in writing
by the Commission after the transferee or lessee has applied to
the Commission for the approval, and has given the Commission a
full, written description of the equipment or vehicle to which
the PSC plates are to be transferred and any other relevant
information requested by the Commission. The plates wiH shall
be used only on the specific equipment or vehicle to which they
are assigned.

004.04D Loss: |If a plate is lost or destroyed, such loss or
destruction wiHH shall be reported to the Commission within
forty-eight (48) hours after the discovery of such loss or
destruction. A substitute plate may be obtained upon making
request therefor; for such plate, upon filing an affidavit with
the Commission setting forth the time, place and circumstances
surrounding the loss or destruction, and upon payment of a fee
approved annually by the Commission $1-00.

004.04E Revocation Return of Plates: Upon suspension,
cancellation, or revocation of a certificate or permit, or upon
sale, transfer, or other disposition of equipment or vehicles to
which a PSC plate has been assigned, the plates wiH shall be
returned to the Commission within ten 16-days, except as

provided—in—Section—004-03C if such plate has been transferred

to a transferee or lessee in accordance with these rules.

Door Displays: The following provisions concerning door

displays shall apply to all regulated motor carriers subject—to—the
jurisdictionof the Commission:

= except to those carriers providing

limousine service.

004.05A Contents: The name, or trade name, of the carrier
under whose authority the vehicle is being operated, and the
Commission application number assigned to the operating
authority, excluding supplement numbers, wiHH shall be displayed
on both doors or sides of each powered vehicle. If the name of
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005

any person other than the operating carrier appears on a
vehicle, the name of the operating carrier wiH shall be
followed by the information required in this section and be
preceded by the words "operated by'". Additional identification
may be displayed if it is consistent with the above require-
ments.

004.05B Size and Color: Each door display wiH shall be
legible at all times. The application number wilH-beatleast
3~ incheshigh shall be readily legible, during daylight hours,
from a distance of 50 feet (15.24 meters) while the vehicle is
stationary. The color scheme of the display wiH shall be in
distinct contrast to the background color of the eab-doer
vehicle.

004.05C Removal: Any numeral or letter painted on equipment
in accordance with this section wiH shall be removed by the

carrier when possession or ownership
changes, or when a different carrier operates such equipment.

SAFETY REGULATIONS:

Minimum Qualifications: Each person driving a motor vehicle

subject to the Commission jurisdiction shall possess the following
minimum qualifications;—except-as—provided—in—Section005-19=-

005.01A Sound physical and mental condition with no mental,
nervous, organic, or functional disease or structural defect or
limitation likely to interfere with safe driving.

005.01B Adequate sight which shall include vision with visual
acuity of at least 20/40 (Snellen) in each eye either without
corrective lenses, or visual acuity separately corrected to
20/40 (Snellen) or better with corrective lenses, distant
binocular acuity of at least 20/40 (Snellen) 1in both _eyes with
or without corrective lenses,
glasses;—form field of vision of at least 70 degrees in the
horizontal meridian in each eye, #a—the-horizontal-meridian——of
;+ and the ability to
recognize the colors of traffic signals and devices showing

standard red, green and amber d+st+ngH+sh—eelers—ef—red——green—

Persons Who reqU|re correctlve Ienses to meet the minimum S|ght
requirement must wear such lenses while operating the motor
vehicle.

005.01C Adequate hearing which includes hearing of not less
than 10720 in the better ear for conversational tone without a
hearing aid.

005:01D Ne—addietien—te Freedom from the use of nareotics or
or—Higuors illegal drugs.

005.01D1 Pre-employment drug and alcohol testing shall
be required of all drivers transporting railroad
personnel. The testing shall be done for alcohol and
controlled substances as provided by 49 CFR Parts 40
and 382 as such regulations existed on January 1, 2013.
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005.01D2 A driver shall be qualified to drive if the
alcohol test results indicate an alcohol concentration
of zero (0) and the controlled substance test results
indicate a verified negative result.

005.01D3 A driver shall be disqualified to drive if
the alcohol and controlled substance test results are
not in compliance with 49 CFR Parts 40 and 383; or if
the driver refuses to provide a specimen for testing;
or 1f the driver submits an adulterated, diluted or
substituted sample for the tests to be performed.

005.01E Net—less—than Eighteen 18 years of age. s—execeptas

005.01F Obtatnr—andbe—i#n Possession of a valid operator”s
license appropriate for the vehicle being operated.

005.01G Ability to read, speak and understand the English lan-
guage.

005.02 Medical Certificate: Each motor carrier shall have #hr—#ts on
files a certificate of physical examination signed by a licensed
physician or a licensed physician’s assistant for every driver in its
employment, attesting that the physician or licensed physician’s
assistant has examined the driver and—Found—him to meet the requirements
in 005.01 ofthis—-article. Such certificate—wiH certification shall be
renewed at—lteast no less than every two four years. Physical
certificates obtained pursuant to federal regulations ef—the lnterstate
Commerce—Commission shall meet the requirements of this section.

005.03 Background Check: Each operator of a motor vehicle subject to
the Commission®™s jurisdiction shall be subject to a criminal background
check submitted to the Commission.

005.034 Impaired Alertness: No driver person shall drive operate a
motor vehicle while his—eor-her such operator®s alertness is impaired

through by Tatigue, illness, or any other causes.

- No motor carrier shall permlt or reqU|re
any driver employed by such motor carrier to drive nor shall any such
driver drive (1) more than ten (10) hours following eight (8) consecu-
tive hours off duty or (2) for any period after having been on duty
Ffifteen (15) hours following eight (8) consecutive hours off duty.

005.06 Ferm= A logbook, #r—the (Form MCS-59), as required by the

United States Department of Transportation in Section 395.8 of the
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, wilHk shall be maintained by
each driver traveling more than one hundred (100) air road miles from
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the garage or terminus at which he—er-she such driver reports for work.

005.07 Filing: The original copy of each day®"s logbook sheet for each
over-the-road driver wiH shall be kept on record at the home office or
base of operations of each motor carrier in the State of Nebraska for
not less than one year. The copies wilHlk shall be filed according to the

Comm|SS|on.

005.08 Malntenance By -Driver:—Fach-over-the-road-driver-shall-
Inspection of Vehicles: The Commission may at any time, but at least
annually, inspect or cause to be inspected any vehicle subject to its
jurisdiction. The inspections may be conducted at any place except that
inspections of passenger carrying vehicles shall not impede or delay the
schedule upon which the vehicle is operating. The Commission may at any
time enter the operating premises of the carrier or into such vehicles
as may be operated by the carrier to ascertain whether any statute,
rule, or regulation has been violated.

amendments—thereto- Minor Defects in Equipment: Minor defects in
equipment that are not likely to endanger life or property may be
corrected by maintenance staff of the carrier. When the defects have
been corrected, the carrier, or its agent, shall notify the Commission
that corrections have been made.

005.10 Major Defects: If the Commission finds that a motor vehicle under
its jurisdiction is unsafe or poses a significant risk to public safety,
it may order the carrier to take the vehicle out of service and marked
as out of service until repairs have been made and the vehicle had been
re-inspected by the Commission erGarrierEnforecement personnel.
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005.151 Appeal By Carrier: A carrier, when notified by a—cemmissioners
i the Commission that a motor vehicle
has been declared and marked "Out OFf Service" under the provisions of
subsection 805-13 005.10 may, before the close of the first business day
following the date of such notice, appeal by telegraph—to—the
Commisstons sending notice, by faCS|m|Ie or in person to the Commission.
anhd Upon receipt of such appeal notice, the Director of the Motoer
Transportation Department of the Commission shall arrange for the
assignment of an inspector to reexamine—and—inspect-saild re-inspect or
cause to have re-inspected such vehicle within twenty-four (24) hours
from date of receipt of the appeal which shall include only those normal
hours of operation for the Commission. If upon reexamination re-
inspection, the motor vehicle is found in serviceable safe condition and
to pose no significant risk to public safety, the Commission shall
notify the carriers
by telephone or facsimile that the vehicle is no longer out of serV|ce
and that the whereupon the motor vehicle may be put iInto service without
further delay. If the reexamination, upon re-inspection, the vehicle is
found to be in an unsafe condition or that the vehicle still poses a
significant risk to public safety, the Commission and—inspection—of-the
motor—vehicle sustains—the decistonof the commissioners—examiner—or
Hnaspector;—the Director shall at-onee notify the carrier ewning—or
oeperating who owns and operates the vehicle that the appeal Ffrom—the
of the finding placing the vehicle
out of service is dismissed. The vehicle may not be placed back into
service until and-upen—receipt-of-the notice—the—ecarrier—shat
the necessary repairs have been made and an inspection
finds that the vehicle is no longer unsafe or poses a significant risk
to public safety and the Commission certifies in writing that the

vehicle can be placed back into service. as—to—warrant—removal-ofthe
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place,—whotenders—the regular fare to-any regular stopping
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006 LHHABH-IFY¥ INSURANCE COVERAGE:

006.01 Minimum Amounts of Coverage: Unless otherwise provided in a
certificate of public convenience and necessity or permit issued by the
Commission, each motor carrier shall have liability coverage at any time
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for any one accident, by insurance, surety bond, self insurance, or a

combination thereof, in the minimum amounts—shewn—+n—the—felleW+ng
table;—except;—only—common——carriers—shall-be regquired—to—carry—cargo

HAsyrance: as,required by Rule 003.03.

A1 <5 00000000 <5 00000
lar PO IIIF UUTI I PO III I
A2g——— - 5.000,000.00—————————5,000.00
ADh 1_ 000000 00 5 00000
Iar—= S EER~A~A-E R-A-A~aa i) IS R~A~A~a~ A
Groun 2 75000000 5 00000
SFoUpP—= LIRS ASA R ~A~A~ o n ) S ER~A~A~ T a A
Group—3 75000000 5 000-00
oHoUp—o IRSASER~A~A~ e a A~ SER-A-A~aa~a~)
Group 4
D1 5 000 00000 5 000-00
1=~ S R-A-A~ER-AA~ra A~ SER-A-A-aa~a~)
p2 100000000 5 00000
1~ = E T R-A-A-E R-A-A—ara i) OS5 YU IY
D3 75000000 5 00000
=4~ LIS AS A R~A~A~an ) IS R~A~A~aa A
Groun &5 500000 00 a)
SFoUpP— SAArR~A~A~aa A~/ A~
Group—6 50000000 5 00000
SHoUpP—o SSASASERSASA~ A a A~ SER-A-A-aa~a~)
Ed - ? -
Groun—8 50000000 5 00000
SHoupP—o ISA-A-rR~A~A~ara A~ IS R~A~A~a~ A
Groun-9O 500000 00 5 00000
SFoUp— SAArR~A~A~aa A~/ S ER~A~A~aa A
Groun—10 5 00000000 5 00000
SHoUp—=v SSAR-A-A~ER~AA~ra A~ SER-A-A-aa~a~)
1 1_ 500000 00 a)
AT E S ReA-A-E R-A-A~ T a i) A~
2 5 000 00000 a)
v S B A-A~Ar BA~A~aa~A~ A~
Groupn—12 50000000 a)
SHoUp——== SSASASERSATA~ AR~ \~4
Ed - ? -
Groun—14 750 _000-_00* 5 00000
SHouUp—a4 LIS AS A R~A~A~an ) IS R~A~A~aa A
Groun—15 *%* a)
SHoUpPp—=o A~

006.02 In addition to the requirements for minimum insurance as provided
in Rule 003.03, all carriers of passengers shall also carry uninsured and
underinsured motorist coverage with a minimum limit of one hundred
thousand ($100,000) per person, three hundred ($300,000) aggregate per
accident coverage.

PREVIOUS SECTIONS 006.02 THROUGH 006.13 RENUMBERED AS 006.03 THROUGH
006.14 AS WELL AS ALL SUBSECTIONS:

006.03 TFype—oFtnsurance: All motor carrier insurance required to be
filed with the Commission wiH shall be continuous in nature, subject to
cancellation by the insurer or the insured within thirty (30) days
written notice to the Commission. |Insurance for a specified term (e.g.-
six months or one year) wiH shall not be acceptable to meet the motor
carrier insurance filing requirements of these Commission Rules.

006.04 insurance—and-Surety Bonds:—Proofof coverage- Proof of
adequate coverage by insurance or bond as—regiHred—by-006-6% wiH shall
be made by filings,—#n—tripHeates a uniform motor carrier insurance
filing or a uniform motor carrier surety bond filing in lieu of the
policy of insurance or surety bond. Such filing may be made
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electronically in a manner designated by the Director of Transportation
of the Commission. Upon receipt by the Commissions

coptes—wiHH-be-stampedReceived™; of a paper flllng, which shall be in
triplicate, one copy wiH shall be returned to the home office of the
insurance or surety company, one copy wiH shall be forwarded to the
insured, and the original will remain—in—the Commission—Files be retained
by the Commission.

006.05 Types of Filings: |Insurance filings shall be made on the
following designated forms unless the Director of Transportation shall
specifically authorize another type of filing: PREVIOUSLY 006.03A

006.05A All liability insurance filings wiHk shall be either Form
E, entitled: Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and Property
Damage Liability Certificate of Insurance. PREVIOUSLY 006.03A1

006.05B AIll liability surety bond filings wilk shall be Form G,
entitled: Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and Property
Damage Liability Surety Bond. PREVIOUSLY 006.03A2

006.05C All cargo insurance filings wilHk shall be Form H,
entitled: Uniform Motor Carrier Cargo Certificate of Insurance.
PREVIOUSLY 006.03A3

006.05D All cargo surety bond filings wiH shall be Form J,
entitled: Uniform Motor Carrier Cargo Surety Bond. PREVIOUSLY
006.03A4

006.05E All insurance cancellation filings wiH shall be Form
K, entitled: Uniform Notice of Cancellation of Motor Carrier
Insurance Policies. PREVIOUSLY 006.03A5

006.05F AIll surety bond cancellations filings wiH shall be
Form L, entitled: Uniform Notice of Cancellation of Motor
Carrier Surety Bonds. PREVIOUSLY 006.03A6

006.06 Name—oF Insured: Each insurance policy or bond wilk shall be
written in the full and correct name of the individual, partnership,
corporation, limited liability company or other person as shown on the
insured"s certificate or permit. All partners in a partnership wiH
shall be named in the policy or bond.

006.07 Liability of lnasurance Company: Motor carrier insurance required
under this—article—wiH these rules shall provide:

006.07A The liability of the insurance company wiH shall
extend only to the insured named in the policy and his its
employees or lessees notwithstanding any clause in the policy
providing for additional insured. PREVIOUSLY 006.05A

006.07B The liability of the insurance company wilk shall not be
affected by any provision in the policy or the endorsement
thereon or violation thereof by the insured, or by the financial
condition of the insured. PREVIOUSLY 006.05B

006.07C The insurance company wiH shall be liable whether the
loss, damage, injury or death occurs on the route or in the
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territory authorized to be served by the insured or elsewhere in
Nebraska the state. PREVIOUSLY 006.035C

006.07D The insurance company wiHH shall be liable within the
limits of liability as set out in section 806-0% 003.03 and its
subsections of these rules, regardless of whether the motor
vehicles or termini, warehouses or other facilities used in
connection with the transportation of the cargo are specifically
described in the policy or not. PREVIOUSLY 006.05D

006.07E The insurance company wiH shall pay, within the limits
of liability set out in 806-0% section 003.03 and its subsections
of these rules, any final judgment recovered against the insured
for bodily injury to, or death of, any person, {except employees
of insured while engaged in the course of their employment), or
loss or damage to property of others, €except property leased or
rented by the insured), which results from negligent operation,

maintenance, or use of motor vehicles under the certificates of
public convenience and necessity, or permit issued to the insured
by the Commission. PREVIOUSLY 006.05E

006.07F The liability of the insurance company on each vehicle
wiH shall be a continuing one notwithstanding any recovery under
the schedule of limits set out in section 066-061 006.05.
PREVIOUSLY 006.05F

006.07G No provision contained in the policy or endorsement
thereon, or violation thereof by the insured, wiH shall affect
in any way the right of any shipper or consignee to relieve the
insurance company from liability for the payment of any claim for
which the insured may be held legally liable to compensate
shippers or consignees, irrespective of the financial condition
of the insured. PREVIOUSLY 006.05G

006.08 Endersement: Each policy of insurance or surety bond issued
pursuant to these regulations wiH shall be endorsed by authorized
personnel of such company.

006.09 CanceHlation: Policies of iInsurance, surety bonds, and the
certificates and endorsements thereof wiH shall not be eancelled
canceled and liability wiH shall not cease until after thirty (30) days
written notice by the insurer has been given to the Commission. Such
thirty (30) day period wiH shall commence on the date the cancellation
filing, as set out In section 006-03A5 006.05 i1s received by the
Commission.

stock-

006.10 Authorized Companies: No insurance policy or surety bond wiH
shall be accepted by the Commission unless written by a company which has
been granted a certificate of authority by the Department of Insurance of
the State of Nebraska; or which is a properly registered risk retention
group as authorized under the federal Liability Risk Retention Act and
the state"s Risk Retention Act, —S-C~ -

5 - - - — prOV|ded that when a
carrier is, after diligent effort, unable to obtain an insurance policy
or surety bond from an authorized company, i
groups such carrier may obtain a policy or bond from a non-admitted

company within—the provisions—of Neb-—Rev.—Stat-—8844-139 to-44-147
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R-R-S——1943- pursuant to the Surplus Insurance Act.

006.11 Self-lInsurance;—Qualification: A carrier may apply to qualify
as a self-insurer dpen by furnishing the Commission a true and accurate
statement of its financial condition and any other evidence required by
the Commission which wiH shall establish to the Commission®s
satisftaction, the ability of the carrier to meet the requirements #mpesed
by of section 0066-061 003.03 and its subsections without adversely
affecting the carrier®s financial stability. Such self-insurance shall
become effective only upon the written approval of the Commission and
shall be subject to review at the Commission®s discretion.

006.12 Depositof -Securities: The Commission may require any carrier
qualifying as a self-insurer to deposit securities, in any amount up to
the requirements ef set by section 003.03 and its subsections, 006-01
with any financial institution within this state.

006.13 Withdrawal:- Any carrier may withdraw its qualifications as self-
insurer, upon written notice to the Commission and compliance with the
provisions of 006-03- section 006.04.

006.14 CommissionRevocation: The Commission may revoke its approval of
any insurance policy, surety bond, or qualification as a self-insurer,
if, In its judgment, such security no longer complies with these
regulations, or fails to provide satisfactory or adequate protection for
the public.

007.01 Business Records Retention and Inspection: Each carrier shall, for
a period of one (1) year, maintain copies of records related to the
movement of passengers or household goods. All such records shall be

007.02 Notification of change of address or contact information: All
carriers shall inform the Commission of changes iIn address or contact

007 ACCOUNTING AND STATISTICAL INFORMATION:
available to the Commission for inspection.
information.

008 LEASING AND INTERCHANGE OF EQUIPMENT:
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008.01 Scope: Common or contract carriers may engage in leasing only as
provided by these rules.

-~ Failure to observe the provisions
of a lease and/for its preparation shall be a violation of these rules.
Leases filed with the Commission pursuant—to—the provisions—oF 008 in
accordance with these rules shall be retained by the Commission, the
Lessor, and the Lessee for not less than three years after cancellatlon

of such Iease and—then—d+sea¥ded—

008.02 Leasing Equipment: Common or contract carriers may lease equip-
ment which they do not own to augment their existing equipment, other
than that exchanged between motor carriers in interchange service, only
under the following conditions:

008.02A Each lease for the use of equipment shall:
008.02A1 Be made between the lessor and lessee.

008.02A2 Be in writing and signed by the parties there-
to, or their duly authorized agents.

008.02A3 Specify the time period for which the lease
applies and the time, date, or circumstance on which the
lease begins and ends, the duration of which wilk shall
coincide with the time for giving receipts for the
equipment or the vehicles as required by 008-02B; these
rules.

008.02A4 Specify the compensation to be paid by the
lessee for the equipment or vehicle.

008.02A5 Provide for the exclusive possession, control,
and use of the equipment or vehicle, and for the com-
plete assumption of responsibility in respect thereto by
the lessee for the duration of the lease, or otherwise
may be assigned by the lessee, in writing, to an inde-
pendent contractor who shall operate equipment under the
lessee’s authority .

008.02A%6 Provide that the lessee shall be responsible
for carrying the insurance required by the NRSC
Commission not withstanding any agreement between the
parties that the lessor shall hold the lessee harmless
and provide certain insurance covering the lessee.

008.02A87 Be approved by the Commission.

008.02A98 Be executed in quadruplicate, with all copies
filed with the Commission to be stamped for approval.
One copy wiH shall be retained by the Commission and
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the other three returned to the lessee of which the
lessee shall retain one, copy—for—itself, carry one copy
on the equipment or vehlcle and send the remaining copy
to the lessor for retention.

008.02B Notwithstanding the provision of rule 008.02E, a common
or contract carrier lessee of equipment or vehicles may
subsequently lease that leased equipment or vehicle to another
common or contract carrier without being in violation of these
rules it the subsequent lease also conforms to the provisions of
this section.

PREVIOUS SECTIONS 008.02B THROUGH 008.02F RENUMBERED AS 008.02C
THROUGH 008.02G:

008.02C When possession of equipment is taken by lessee, the
lessee shall give to the lessor a receipt specifically
identifying the equipment and stating the date and time of day
possession thereof is taken. When the possession by the lessee

ends, the lessee shall obtain from the lessor a receipt
specifically identifying the equipment and stating the date and
time of day possession thereof is taken.

008.02D It will shall be the duty of the lessee before taking
possession of equipment or vehicle, to inspect the same in order
to #nsure ensure that sakd the equipment complies with 6065 the
safety regulations of section 005 of these rules. The person
making the inspection wiHH shall certify the results thereof in a
report which shall be retained by the lessee for the duration of
the lease. When equipment other than a power unit is leased, any
form of report applicable to such equipment or vehicle may be
used. If the inspection discloses that the equipment or vehicle
does not comply with the requirements of section 005 of these
rules, possession thereofFwiH shall not be taken. In all
instances in which th#s inspection is made, the lessee shall
certify on the report that the person making the inspection is
competent and qualified to make such inspection as a representa-
tive of the lessee.

008.02E The lessee shall identify the leased equipment or
vehicle during the duration of the lease in—accerdancewith004.
Before relinquishing possession of the equipment or vehicle to
the lessor, the lessee shall remove any legend; PSC plates or
other signs displayed on such equipment or vehicle showing it as
the operating carrier.

- When a power
unit owned by a lessor holdlng operatlng authority from the
Commission is leased, the PSC plates and the cab card belonging
to the lessor may remain onZor in the power unit.

008.02F Before any person other than a regular employee of the
lessee is assigned to drive the equipment or vehicle operated
under these rules, the lessee shall make certain that the driver
is familiar with, and that employment does not result in any
violation of the—prev+s+eﬂs—ef section 005 of these rules. The
driver shall furnish to the lessee a certificate of physical
examination in accordance with section 005-02 005.03 of these
rules.
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008.02G Each lessee who utiHzes uses equipment or vehicle under
these rules shall prepare and retain for one year, a document
covering each trip for which the equipment or vehicle iIs used.
This document wilk shall contain the name and address of the
lessor, the point of origin, the commodity carried, if any, the
time and date of departure, the point of final destination, and
the lessee"s certificate or permit number which has been affixed
to the equipment or vehicle. Bills of lading, way-bills,
freight-bills, manifests, or other paper identifying the lading
wiH shall be carried on the equipment or vehicle during use.

+s—under—lessee s responsibility- Copies of these documents wiH
shall be kept by the lessee for not less than three (3) years.

002.08H The use of leased equipment shall not change operations
or the relations of the parties involved as they relate to the
jJjurisdiction and control of the Commission. The lessee shall
continue to remain responsible to the Commission and shall answer
to the Commission for the performance of its common or contract

carrier’s responsibilities and for the conduct of any of the
drivers with whom it has a lease.

008.03 Interchange of Equipment: For the purposes of this section, the
common or contract carrier leasing the equipment to another common or
contract carrier is referred to as the transferor, and the common or con-
tract carrier which takes possession of the equipment #n—the—interchange
4s shall be referred to as the transferee. Common or contract carriers
may iInterchange equipment with one or more ether common or contract
carriers only under the following conditions:

008.03A Written Agreement: The written contract, lease or other
arrangement providing for interchange, hereinafter, referred—teo
as the written agreement, shall specify in a readily apparent
manner that it is an interchange agreement and shall:

008.03A1 Describe specifically the equipment to be
interchanged and specify the point or points at which

the interchange is to—take-place; to occur.

008.03A2 Specify the use to be made of the equipment
and the consideration for the use.

008.03A3 Be signed by the parties to the written agree-
ment or their duly authorized agents. and

008.03A4 Be executed in quadruplicate, with all copies
filed with the Commission to be stamped for approval.
One copy wiH shall be retained by the Commission and
the other three returned to the transferee. The
transferee shall retain one copy for itself, carry one
copy on the equipment and send the remaining copy to the
transferor for retention.

008.03B In order to engage in the interchange of equipment, the
certificates or permits held by transferee and transferor must
authorize the transportation of the commodities proposed to be
transported #n—the-movements and must authorize service from and
to the point where the physical interchange occurs.
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008.03C Traffic transported under interchange service wiHH shall
move by means of through bills of lading issued by the
originating carrier, and the rates charged and revenues collected
must be accounted for in the same manner as if there had been no
interchange of equipment. Charges for the use of the equipment
wiH shall be kept separate and distinct from the divisions of
the joint rates or the proportions thereof accruing to the
carriers.

008.03D The transferee shall have the equipment inspected in the
manner provided for in section 008.02D of these rules. Equipment
which does not comply with the safety regulations wilk shall not
be operated until the defects have been corrected.

008.03E A common or contract carrier which operates a power unit
in interchange service as the transferee shall identify such
equipment in accordance with 604 these rules. Upon completion of
the interchange agreement, the transferee shall remove any PSC
plate, legend, or signs showing the transferee as the operating
carrier before relinquishing possession of the equipment.

008.03F A PSC plate need not be purchased by the transferee if
the PSC plate purchased for the power unit by the transferor
remains on the power unit.

008.03G The transferee of equipment on a through movement
involving two or more carriers wiH shall be considered the owner

of the equipment for the purpose of leasing the equipment for
movement to destination or return to the originating carrier.
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009 BUSES: The following provisions pertain only to carriers providing bus
service as defined i1n rule 003.01A et seq.:

009.01 Refusal to Carry: No driver of any vehicle which transports
passengers shall refuse to carry any person offering himself or herself
for carriage at any time at any regular stopping place who tenders the
regular fare to any regular stopping place on the route of such carrier,
or between the termini of the route, unless at the same time of such
offer the vehicle is fully occupied or unless the person tendering such
fare i1s iIntoxicated or acting in a disorderly manner.

009.02 Trailers: \Unless specifically authorized in writing by the
Commission, no carrier shall transport passengers in a vehicle with any
trailer or other vehicle attached, except In a case where a vehicle has
become disabled while on a trip and is unable to run on its own power,
such disabled vehicle may be towed to a point where repair facilities are
available.
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009.03 Aisles: Drivers shall at all times keep the aisles from front to
rear of their buses free from obstructions of any kind, and shall not
permit passengers to ride on any other part of the vehicle other than the
seats while the vehicle is In motion except in an emergency. Passengers
shall not be allowed in front of a two inch (2') wide white line which
shall be painted on the floor of each vehicle immediately behind the
driver®"s seat. Each vehicle shall have a notice visible at the front of
the vehicle that passengers must remain behind the white line.

009.04 Heat: Vehicles used to transport passengers shall be equipped
with a heating system sufficient to keep the vehicle comfortable for its

passengers.

009.05 Lighting: Vehicles shall be equipped with lights of not less
than two candle power within the vehicle and so arranged as to light up
the whole of the interior except that portion occupied by the driver.

009.06 Emergency Exit Doors: All vehicles with a seating capacity of
eight (8) or more passengers shall have emergency exits either in the
form of push out windows, or a door on the opposite side of the vehicle
entry or at the rear of the vehicle. The door shall be equipped with a
latch which may be readily operated in an emergency. There shall be no
obstructions, either inside or outside, which would prevent the door from
being opened. The exits shall be easily accessible to passengers.

009.07 Timetables: Each carrier who transports passengers in regular
scheduled service shall file with the Commission prior to commencing
operations, a timetable or schedule showing the time of arrival or
departure of its vehicles at each point of the route and the number of
trips made daily. When any change is made in the table or schedule, a
new table or schedule shall be filed with the Commission. All time
schedules and revisions shall be filed with the Commission not less than
ten (10) days prior to the proposed effective date unless otherwise
authorized by the Commission. No time schedule or revision shall be
effective until approved by the Commission.

009.08 Charter Service and Special Party Service: The following
provisions apply only to charter service and special party service as
designated.

009.08A No charter or special party service shall be conducted
between the same points or over the same route so frequently as
to be construed as a regular or scheduled service.

009.08B Special party service shall not be conducted between
points on the route of another route so frequently as to be
construed as a regular or scheduled service.

009.08C Carriers holding certificates restricted to charter
service or sightseeing operations shall be prohibited from
conducting special party operations.

009.08D Each vehicle used in charter or special party service
shall be so designated by a sign on the front of the vehicle used
for such service.

009.08E Each carrier conducting charter or special party service
shall file with the Commission a tariff of rates for the
transportation of parties and charges for dead head mileage which
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shall be approved by the Commission prior to implementation. The
tariff shall also indicate at which points the carrier has
equipment available for charter party service. No equipment
shall be held out as available at any non-authorized point.

010 FAXICABSANDLIMOUSINES PROVISIONS APPLICABLE TO TRANSPORTATION OF
PASSENGERS: The following provisions shall be applicable to the
transportation of passengers as designhated within this section.

010.01 Provisions applicable to all classifications of passenger
transportation: In addition to the other applicable Motor Carrier rules
in this chapter, the following provisions shall be applicable to all
classifications of service for the transportation of passengers:

THIS RULE NOW NUMBERED AS 003.02A.
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avthority- THIS RULE NOW NUMBERED AS 003.02C.

010.01A 0610-02B Vehicle Title: All taxicabs—andHwmousines
vehicles shall be owned by, and registered in, the name of the
certificate holder, except that the certificate holder may engage
in equipment leasing as provided by these rules. 008-02-

010.01B ©610-02E If a person applies for carriage and is willing
and able to tender the fare, each operator shall convey such
person to his—er-her the person"s destinations unless:

010.01B1 6106-02E2 The passenger is in such condition of
health-—or uncleanliness that carriage in such the
vehicle would be a violation of any law.

010.01B2 616-02E3 The sobriety—or behavior of the
passenger is such that he—or-she the person poses a
safety risk to the operator, other passengers, or the
vehicle 1s in danger of being damageds;—ef.

010.01B3 610-62E4 The point of origin or destination or
immediate approach therete is impassable or dangerous.

010.01C ©10-02F Operators—may—solHcit-passengers—onlyatecity

- In addition to complying with
the minimum qualifications for driving a motor vehicle subject to
Commission jurisdiction, all operators shall:

010.01C1 Be competent to conduct the applicable
transportation service safely and courteously.

010.01C2 Not smoke inside the vehicle.

010.01C3 Shall be within the ages of twenty-one (21)
and seventy (70) except that the Commission may waive
the maximum age limit for an operator who Is over
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seventy (70) if the carrier desiring to employ the
operator can show that the operator is insurable, has no
medical or other disability which prevents him or her
from safely operating the vehicle and has a satisfactory
driving record. Any such waiver shall be in writing and
renewed annually. Any application for waiver or renewal
shall be accompanied by a medical certificate required
by rule 005.02.

010.01D 010-02K Lost articles: Each taxicab—andlmousine

carrier shall retain articles left in vehicles by passengers for
not less than thirty (30) days. Upon request from any passenger,
the carrier shall make a reasonable search for any article
believed to have been left in a vehicle.
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010.01E ©610-020 Trip Log: Limeusine All carriers shall maintain

a trip log= which shall contain the information prescribed in
this section. Such log shall be completed following the delivery
of the passenger to his or her destination and signed by the
driver. The Commission may, upon application and written

approval, allow for electronic filing and storing of the
information required in this section provided that all of the
information herein prescribed i1s iIncluded except that the full
name of the driver may be filed in place of the signature. All
records required by this section shall be retained by the carrier
for a period of two (2) years from the date of the transportation
of the passenger.

010.01E1 640-6201a The name of the individual
engaging the—Hmeousine or hiring the vehicle
and his or her address.

010.01E2 0610-0201b The address of the point
where the passenger was picked up i

and the point of destination and the times
they occurred.

010-0201c—The hours—of servicecontracted
for—and

010.01E3 0610-0201d The amount charged and
collected.
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010.01F Receipt: Upon demand of any passenger, a receipt for
services shall be given at the time of payment. Such receipt
shall contain the name of the company, the name of the operator,
the vehicle fleet number, the total amount paid, and the date of

payment.

010.01G Complaints: Every vehicle shall have a notice posted,
clearly legible and visible from the passenger compartment, which
reads:

"DIRECT COMPLAINTS REGARDING THE OPERATION
OF THIS VEHICLE TO:

The Nebraska Public Service Commission
300 The Atrium, 1200 N Street
Lincoln, Nebraska 68508
1-800-526-0017 (Nebraska)
1-402-471-3101 (Lincoln)”

010.02 Provisions Applicable Only to Those Carriers Providing Taxicab
Service: The following provisions apply only to those carriers who are
authorized to provide taxicab service:

010.02A If a person applies for carriage and is willing and able
to tender the fare, the operator shall convey such person to his
or her destination subject to rule 010.01B, or unless the vehicle
is already engaged.

010.02B Operators may solicit passengers only at taxicab stands
established by the city, while seated iIn the driver"s seat, or
while standing beside the vehicle. Passengers shall not be
solicited by outcries or hawking.

010.02C Carriers shall comply with all applicable municipal
ordinances relating to the qualification of taxicab operators
which are not in conflict with these rules.

010.02D The number of passengers carried by a vehicle shall not
exceed seven persons, including the driver, or the rated capacity
of such vehicle as prescribed by the maker of the vehicle,
whichever i1s smaller. Whenever any vehicle i1s occupied by a
fare-paying passenger, the operator shall not permit any other
person to occupy the vehicle except with the consent of the fare-
paying passenger. Passengers shall be informed of this provision
by a card, posted inside the vehicle, stating the schedule of
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rates and charges for the vicinity in which the vehicle is
operated and in the following form:

"FOR YOUR PROTECTION:

You, as the Ffirst passenger in this taxicab, are the one to
decide who wiH shall ride with you. Unless it is at your
request or with your consent, this cab driver is prohibited by
law from accepting additional passengers. Schedule of rates
authorized for taxicabs operating in (Name of Town) is (Copy from
commission order setting rates for that vicinity).

(Name of Company)**

041-01B 010.02E Each vehicle wiH shall be operated over the
most direct and-—reasonable route from point of pickup—of
passengers passenger pickup to the point of destination of
passengers.

011016 010.02F 04
taxikeab Each carrier shall have its full or trade name and
assigned “B“ application number permanently placed on each side
of the taxieab vehicle in letters at least two inches (2') high.
The word ""taxicab®™ shall also appear conspicuously on the sides
of the vehicle unless the word ''cab'", “taxi” or 'taxicab" is
included within the name of the carrier. The fleet number of
each vehicle shall be displayed in figures not less than two
inches (2") high in the forward part of the passenger compartment
and also on the sides and rear of each vehicle. None of the
markings described in this subdivision rule shall be placed on
any glass or on the bumper of the taxiecab vehicle.

011-01E 010.02G Each vehicle shall be equipped with:

011-01E1 010.02G1 A dome light within the passenger
compartment of the vehicle capable of being turned on or
off by passengers, or controlled by operation of the
doorss—and.

011-01E2 010.02G2 An identity light attached to the top
of the vehicle. The light shall be in one unit
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consisting of an illuminated plate or cylinder upon
which is printed the word "taxicab"™, "taxi', "cab", "for
hire"”, or the owner®s trade name. The size of such
light shall not exceed eight inches (8') in height nor
twenty-three inches (23") in length. Leading Loaded or
bug lights may be attached to the upper portion of a
vehicle. 1f used, such lights shall be smaller than the
identity light and shall be illuminated when the vehicle
is engaged.

011-01F 010.02H A carrier which operates in municipalities of
fifteen thousand (15,000) persons or more, as determined by the
official U.S. Census, or between municipalities not more than
five (5) miles apart, whose aggregate population exceeds fifteen
thousand (15,000) persons, shall equip i1ts vehicles with
taximeters satisfactoryto—the Commisston. The Commission may,
at any time, require any carrier operating in any community of
less than flfteen thousand (15,000) persons pepulation to equip
its vehicles with taximeters. Taximeters are subject to the
following specifications:

041-01F1 010.02H1 No taximeter shall be operated

without Ffirst having been inspected, tested, approved
and sealed by a—FepFeseﬂtat+ve—ef—the—eemm+ss+en the
Commission or a duly authorized representative of the

taxicab company.

041-01F2 010.02H2 Each meter shall be sealed during the
time the vehicle is in the service of the taxicab
carrier. Each meter shall be sealed with either a wire
and lead seal bearing the letters "NPSC," or, at the
discretion of the Commission representative, with a
sticker bearing the letters "NPSC." This seal wiH
shall be affixed only by a person duly authorized by the
Commission.

011-01F3 010.02H3 Taximeters shall be mounted and
connected to the transmission or speedometer In an
approved manner. JMtn—case—ofF-dashboard-mountings Where
mounted on the dashboard of a vehicle, the meter shall
be located so as not to obstruct the view of the
operator or cause undue hazard to passengers. All
taximeters shall be placed so that the dial or faceplate
showing the amount charged is well lighted and readily
visible to passengers riding in the vehicle.

011-01F4 010.02H4 Periodic tests of meters shall be
made by representat+ves—ef the Commission. A meter with
an error iIn registration not exceeding three percent
(3%) of the distance covered by each meter drop shall be
considered correct and accurate. Otherwise, the
requirements for approval of, and methods for testing
the taximeters wiH shall conform to !Spee+f+eat+eﬁs—and
Tolerances—of Taximeters' as—set—out—in specifications
established by the National Bureau of Standards.
Handbook;—H445 2nd-Ed-—5—1955;—as—amended.

011-01F5 010.02H5 After a meter has been tested,
approved and sealed, a different tire size shall not be
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affixed to the vehicle without re-testing the meter.

011-01F6 010.021 Each #axi#ecab vehicle shall be equipped with a
device or—devices: visible to the public from the outside of the
vehicle which indicates whether it is in service or for hire and
a device visible to a passenger inside which indicates whether
the taximeter is in position to record a fare.

010.02J Each operator shall be identified by a card, displayed
in full view of the passengers, bearing the name and photograph
of the operator and the taxicab carrier"s address.

010.02K No vehicle shall be equipped with shades, curtains, or
window-tinting which shields the occupants or the operator from
observation.

010.03 Provisions That Apply to the Transportation Contractors of the
Department of Health and Human Services and Like Agencies: A contractor
of the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, hereinafter, the
Department, or any of the agencies contracting with the Department, or
for any agency organized under the Nebraska Community Aging Services Act,
who is not certificated or permitted by the Commission providing
transportation for the Department or such agencies shall certify on a
form provided by the Commission that the provider meets the minimum
operator standards, insurance requirements and equipment standards
prescribed by the Commission in these rules.

010.03A Driver requirements: A Department transportation
provider must certify that:

010.03A1 The person is the individual who shall
personally drive the vehicle in question.

010.03A2 The person is at least nineteen (19) years of
age or an emancipated minor.

010.03A3 The person possesses a current operator”"s
permit issued by any state.

010.03A4 The person has knowledge of Nebraska state and
local traffic rules and the rules of the road.

010.03A5 The person has no more than three (3) points
assigned against their driver”s license.

010.03A6 The person shall not smoke in the vehicle.

010.03A7 The person is competent to conduct the service
carefully and dependably.
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010.03A8 The person does not use illegal drugs.

010.03A9 The person is not aware of any mental or
physical limitation which would impose a threat to the
health or well-being of the passengers.

010.03B Insurance: A Department provider must maintain the
minimum automobile liability insurance coverage as required by
these rules and state law.

010.03C Equipment Standards: A Department transportation
provider must certify that:

010.03C1 The person has current and valid plates and
registration.

010.03C2 The person shall ensure that each vehicle
shall, at all times, be kept in proper physical and
mechanical condition including, but not limited to,
operable seat belts, turn signals, lights and horn,
child passenger restraint devices as required by law,
and comfortable temperature and ventilation conditions.

010.03D Self-Certification: All such self-certification filings
shall be made with the Commission and filed for record and be
available for public inspection during the regular business hours
of the Commission. Such filings shall be continuous in nature
unless canceled by the Department.

010.03E The Commission shall, upon application of any
certificated motor carrier or the Department, hear any dispute
between the same with regard to the contested ability of the
motor carrier to provide a specific service in a given case. The
parties may agree to an informal conference between the carrier,
the Department, and the Commission to facilitate a mutually
agreeable resolution. |If the parties cannot come to an
agreement, either party may file a formal complaint with the
Commission in a manner provided for in the rules of Commission
procedure.

011 VOLUNTARY SUSPENSIONS: Certificated motor carriers seeking to suspend
service pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §75-316, must apply for and obtain
Commission approval of such suspension. The certificated motor carrier must
provide the Commission with an application identifying the certificate of
public convenience and necessity held by said motor carrier and setting forth
the length of time the carrier wishes to place i1ts authority under voluntary
suspension. The Commission may approve the carrier®s request for the time
period requested for a period not exceeding a twelve (12) month increment. In
no event shall the carrier®s authority be suspended for more than twenty-four
(24) consecutive months.
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