NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
NOTICE OF SECOND PUBLIC HEARING

January 10, 2023
1:00 p.m. Central Time
Nebraska State Office Building — Lower Level A
301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, Nebraska
Phone call information: 888-820-1398; Participant code: 3213662#

The purpose of this hearing is to receive additional comments on proposed changes to
Title 180, Chapter 11 of the Nebraska Administrative Code (NAC) — Requirements for
Radon and Radon Progeny Measurement and Mitigation Services. The proposed
changes remove duplicate statutory, unnecessary, and inconsistent language from the
regulations; update definitions and terminology; update operating requirements; specify
examination and course provider requirements; establish mitigation installation standards
and requirements; remove directions to agency staff, update formatting; correct
punctuation; and restructure the regulatory chapter. Additional proposed changes include
removing special exemption requiring testing to 48 hours from 26 hours; updating
electrical, fan, HVAC system, and measurement specialists’ requirements; updating
notifications to the Department, and primary label requirements; and adding clarification
language.

Authority for these regulations is found in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 81-3117(7).

To encourage participation in this public hearing, a phone conference line will be set up
for any member of the public to call in and provide oral comments. Interested persons
may provide verbal comments in person or by participating via phone conference line by
calling 888-820-1398; Participant code: 3213662#.

Interested persons may attend the hearing and provide verbal or written comments, or
mail, fax or email written comments, no later than the day of the hearing to: DHHS Legal
Services, PO Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, (402) 742-2382 or
dhhs.regulations@nebraska.gov, respectively.

A copy of the proposed changes is available online at http://www.sos.ne.gov, or by
contacting DHHS at the mailing address or email above, or by phone at (402) 471-8417.
The fiscal impact statement for these proposed changes may be obtained at the office of
the Secretary of State, Regulations Division, 1201 N Street, Suite 120, Lincoln, NE 68508,
or by calling (402) 471-2385.

Auxiliary aids or reasonable accommodations needed to participate in a hearing can be
requested by calling (402) 471-8417. Individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing may
call DHHS via the Nebraska Relay System at 711 or (800) 833-7352 TDD at least 2 weeks
prior to the hearing.



FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT

Agency: Department of Health and Human Services

Title: 180 Prepared by: Ellen Zoeller

Chapter: 11 Date prepared: September 1, 2022

Subject: Requirements for Radon and Radon | Telephone: 402-471-0783
Progeny Measurement and Mitigation Services

Type of Fiscal Impact:

State Agency Political Sub. Regulated Public
No Fiscal Impact (0) (X)) (

Increased Costs
Decreased Costs
Increased Revenue
Decreased Revenue
Indeterminable
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X|O|OO|Oid

Provide an Estimated Cost & Description of Impact:
State Agency: Increase - Undetermined

The amount by which State Agency revenue will increase is undetermined. The outlined
changes clarify the reporting and fee remittance requirements for converting passive
radon mitigation systems to active radon mitigation systems pursuant to LB 130 (2019)
the Radon Resistant New Construction Act. No new fee is created, but the regulation
updates will assist the Department in the collection of existing fees. Because mitigation
system conversions are self-reported, the fiscal impact of this update is undetermined at
this time.

Political Subdivision: N/A.
Regulated Public: Indeterminable

Fiscal impact to the regulated public is indeterminable, as the cost of individuals and
companies adjusting to complying with the newly incorporated ANSI/AARST standards
will mean lowered training costs for some who are already familiar with the national
standards and increased educational costs for others who are not familiar with the
standards.
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TITLE 180 CONTROL OF RADIATION
CHAPTER 11 REQUIREMENTS FOR RADON AND RADON PROGENY

MEASUREMENT AND MITIGATION SERVICES

14-001. SCOPE AND AUTHORITY. 44-004.011480-NAC44 This chapter provides for the
licensure of radon measurement specialists, radon measurement businesses, radon mitigation
specialists, and radon mitigation businesses. The regulations are authorized by and implement
the Nebraska Radiation Control Act, the Uniform Credentialing Act (HdCA); and the Administrative
Procedure Act. —and-184-NAC1. 11-004-02 In addition to the requirements of 480-NAC-11 this
chapter, all licensees are subject to 180 NAC 1, 4, and 10; ard-4-~.

44-002. DEFINITIONS. Definitions set out in the Nebraska Radiation Control Act, the Uniform
Credentialing Act, the Radon Resistant New Construction Act, American National Standards
Institute - American Association of Radon Scientists and Technologists Protocols for Measuring
Radon and Radon Decay Products in Homes (MAH-2019), American National Standards Institute
- American Association of Radon Scientists and Technologists Soil Gas Mitigation Standards for
Existing Homes (SGM-SF-2017), American National Standards Institute - American Association
of Radon Scientists and Technologists Radon Mitigation Standards for Schools and Large
Buildings (RMS-LB 2018), American National Standards Institute - American Association of
Radon Scientists and Technologists Radon Mitigation Standards for Multifamily Buildings (RMS-
MF 2018), American National Standards Institute - American Association of Radon Scientists and
Technologists Protocol for Conducting Radon and Radon Decay Product Measurements in
Multifamily Buildings (MAMF-2017), American National Standards Institute - American
Association of Radon Scientists and Technologists Protocols for Measuring Radon and Radon
Decay Products in Schools and Large Buildings (MALB 2014), and the following apply to this
chapter. Copies of all documents, guidelines, and similar items referenced in this chapter are
available for viewing at the Nebraska Radon Program, Department of Health and Human
Services, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-5026.

002.01 ATTEST and ATTESTATION. Attest/Attestation-means-thatthe-individual-declares A

declaration that all statements on the application/petition are true and complete.
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002.02 COMPLETE APPLICATION. A-Complete—application—means aAn application that

contains all of the information requested on the application, with attestation to its truth and
completeness, and that is submitted with the required fees and all-required documentation.
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002.03 RADON MEASUREMENT BUSINESS. Radon-Measurement-Business-means aA

person, including a laboratory, who analyzes or tests for and measures radon or radon
progeny concentrations and which employs one or more radon measurement specialist.

002.04 RADON MEASUREMENT SPECIALIST. Radon-Measurement-Specialist-means-an

individual A person who performs radon or radon progeny measurements for a radon
measurement business; or provides professional advice on radon or radon progeny
measurements, health risks, radon-related exposure, raden—entry—+outes, or other radon-
related activities.

002.05 RADON MITIGATION BUSINESS. Radon-Mitigation Business-means aA person who
designs or installs systems in existing buildings to mitigate radon or radon progeny and which
employs one or more radon mitigation specialist.

002.06 RADON MITIGATION SPECIALIST. Raden-Mitigation-Specialistmeans-anindividual

A person who designs mitigation systems, or an individual who performs and evaluates
diagnostic tests to determine appropriate radon or radon progeny mitigation

3
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systems for a radon mitigation business.

002.07 RADON RESISTANT NEW CONSTRUCTION (RRNC). Radon—resistant—hnew
construction{(RRNC)-means {The established standards and techniques for control of radon
by using a passive new construction system, as defined deseribed in Nebraska Revised

Statute (Neb Rev Stat ) § 76- 3503 the#anahenal—Readenﬂat—Gede—éH?vG)—ﬁeFQne—and

002.08 RELEVANT POST-SECONDARY EDUCATION. A curriculum in_ architecture,
engineering, building construction, physical sciences, or related disciplines. One year of post-
secondary education consists of a minimum of 24 semester hours, of which at least ten hours
must be in the above subject areas, or 36 quarter hours, of which at least 15 hours must be
in the above subject areas.

002.09 RELEVANT WORK EXPERIENCE. The design, construction and renovation of
buildings, or associated heating, ventilation, and air conditioning systems.




DRAFT NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF
09-09-2022 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 180 NAC 11

14-003. GENERAL PROVISIONS. The following general provisions must be met.

44-003.01 LICENSE REQUIRED. No person may provide services for the measurement or
mitigation of radon in the State of Nebraska unless such person has been Ilcensed as prowded
in 180 NAC 11 Way ,

e 0 D s Eemblens: theliecnsurerecuirements—e 80 MAC A4 do
EXEMPTIONS. The requirement to have a license does not apply to:
+A)(i)Individuals measuring or mitigating the premises in which they reside.
2-Bj(ii)Federal, state, county and local health departments and their employees who
provide professional advice on radon measurement or mitigation activities or perform
radon screening services without charge to the recipient of the service in the course
of their assigned duties.
3AE)(ii)An individual, business entity or government entity acting in compliance with

the reqwrements of Neb Rev Stat. § 76- 3506 u&ng—mden—re&stant—new

414-004. OPERATING REQUIREMENTS:. Fhe-fellowing-conditions-mustbe-metto-keep-aradon
license-inthe-Stateof Nebraska- Licensees under this chapter must meet the requirements of

this section.

44—004 01 GpeFahne—Reqmrements—fePa—I:reensed—LHdMéaaL LICENSED INDIVIDUAL.

4.004.01(A) ACTIVITIES. The-licensee—must eConduct histher activities as deseribed
permitted in the approved license and in accordance with provisions of the Radiation
Control Act, all sections of these regulations, and all other related municipal, county, state,
and federal laws and regulations.
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3-:004.01(B) CONTINUING EDUCATION. Complete continuing education requirements

specified in this chapter 480-NAC44-008.

4.004.01(C) AUDIT COMPLIANCE. Fhelicensee-must aAllow authorized representatives
of the Department to have access to histher the licensee’s facilities, offices and files for
inspection and examination of radon-related records and test procedures. The licensee
must also allow authorized representatives of the Department to accompany himther the
licensee while performing any radon measurement or mrtrgatron actrvrtres for the purpose
of inspecting these activities; w app A
property-such-activity-is-being-performed. Fallure to cooperate with an audlt or mspectlon
is grounds for disciplinary action againstthe-license.

5.004.01(D) RADON MEASUREMENT SPECIALIST Additional-responsibilities-specific

- In_addition to following the operating
requirements in 004.01(A)-(C), a radon measurement specialist is responsible for:

a-(i) Conducting all radon testing; including—post-mitigation—testing on behalf of the
radon_measurement business. This includes the initial placement and final
retrieval of all measurement devices-, along with verification of measurement
results:

(1) Al tTestrng of srnqle famlly residences must be conducted according to

s the reqwrements
descrlbed in American Natronal Standards Instltute Amerlcan Association
of Radon Scientists and Technologists Protocol for Conducting
Measurements of Radon and Radon Decay Products in Homes (MAH-2019)

mcorporated herein by this reference and—avattabte—fer—wevwng—at—the

(2) Testing of multifamily buildings must comply with the requirements described
in American National Standards Institute - American Association of Radon
Scientists and Technologists Protocol for Conducting Radon and Radon
Decay Product Measurements in Multifamily Buildings (MAME-2017)
incorporated herein by this reference.

(3) All testing of schools and large buildings must comply with the requirements
described in American National Standards Institute - American Association
of Radon Scientists and Technologists Protocol for Conducting
Measurements of Radon and Radon Decay Products in Schools and Large
Buildings (MALB-2014) incorporated herein by this reference
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Measurement Specialists conducting testing in schools or non-residential
buildings larger than 2,000 square feet must have completed a training
course from an approved training provider for radon measurements in
schools and large buildings.

(4) EXCEPTIONS. The following are exceptions to the requirements described
in American National Standards Institute - American Association of Radon
Scientists and Technologists Protocol for Conducting Measurements of
Radon and Radon Decay Products in Homes (MAH-2019), American
National Standards Institute - American Association of Radon Scientists and
Technologists Protocol for Conducting Radon and Radon Decay Product
Measurements in Multifamily Buildings (MAFM-2017), and American
National Standards Institute - American Association of Radon Scientists and
Technologists Protocol for Conducting Measurements of Radon and Radon
Decay Products in Schools and Larqe Bundlnqs (MALB 2014)

{bY(a)A signed homeowner noninterference agreement is not required.

b.(ii)Ensuring that all radon measurement devices are approved by the National Radon
Proficiency Program (NRPP), the National Radon Safety Board (NRSB), or a
national proficiency program approved by the Department;

&(iii)Ensuring that all radon measurement devices are calibrated annually. Calibration
must be conducted by either the manufacturer, or a chamber approved by the
National Radon Proficiency Program (NRPP), the National Radon Safety Board
(NRSB), or a national proficiency program approved by the Department;

&-(iv)Directing measurement activities for the licensed business to include Fe-wewnc\gL
approvihg;-sighingand-submitting directing the submission of
reports to the Department containing the information specified in 180 NAC 11-
e

e-(v)Informing clients of radon levels in accordance with the provisions of 180 NAC 11-
o400z,

f(vi)Assessing Following quality assurance and quality control measures, and
adhering to an approved quality assurance plan, as regquired specified in 180
NAC 11 666-048; and

g-(vii)Evaluating operating procedures; and ensuring compliance with state and
federal regulations.; and

h_Bei tari neduled visits by the L _

6-004.01(E) RADON MITIGATION SPECIALIST. In addition to following the operating
requirements in 004 01(A)-(C), a radon mlthatlon specialist i is responS|bIe for

a-(i)Directing mltlgatlon activities for the licensed business to mclude Fewewmg
approving;-sighing,—and directing the submission of submitting menthly-reports to
the Department containing the information specified in 180 NAC 11-040.04;

b-(ii)Evaluating operating procedures and ensuring compliance with state and federal
regulations;
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&-(iii)Supervising radon mitigation installations, assuring systems are installed
according to 180 NAC 11-009 Mitigation—System—Installations—Requirements
MITIGATION SYSTEM INSTALLATION REQUIREMENTS, and adhering to

information submitted to the Department as required in 180 NAC 11; and 606-02B-

d-fiv)Evaluating diagnostic tests in of a building and designing mitigation systems to
be in compliance with 180 NAC 11-009 Mitigation System Installation
Requwements and

RADON
MEASUREMENT BUSINESS A radon measurement busmess must meet the requlrements
in this section.

4.004.02(A) ACTIVITIES. Radon—Measurement—Businesses—must eEnsure that all
employed or contracted Radon Measurement professionals conduct activities as

descrlbed |n the approved Ilcense and as required by tests—accerding—to—standards

asrequ#ed+n489—l¥AG4—’t—996£)4A prowsmns of the Radlatlon ControI Act thls chapter,

all-sections-of theseregulations; and all other related municipal, county, state, and federal

laws and regulations.

2:004.02(B) REQUIRED STAFF. Fhe-radon-measurement-business-must mMaintain on
staff or retain as a consultant a radon measurement specialist. If a radon measurement
business loses its radon measurement specialist, the radon measurement business must
notlfy the Department in writing within five busmess days Ihe—raden—measerement

measurement—speerahst The radon measurement busmess must not eperate conduct

measurements without a radon measurement specialist.

3-:004.02(C) RECORDS. Theradonmeasurementbusinessmust mMaintain the following
records for five six years:
a- (i)Records of all radon tests performed, including client name, test date, address,
and test results;

b-(ii)Records of instrument calibrations and other quality control samples;
¢ (iii)Records of completing continuing education courses specified in 480—NAC11-

998 thls Chapter

e(_)Coples of Ilcenses for radon measurement speC|aI|sts employed or used as
consultants.

4.004.02(D) CHANGES. Submit aAny changes in the information provided in the original
or renewal application, including changes in licensed personnel or to the quality assurance
documents; must-be-submitted as an amendment request to the Department for approval
prior to implementation of such change.
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004.02(E) DEVICE APPROVAL. Ensure that all radon measurement devices are
approved by the National Radon Proficiency Program (NRPP), the National Radon Safety
Board (NRSB), or a national proficiency program approved by the Department.

004.02(F) LICENSE NOT TRANSFERABLE. Each measurement business license issued
is nontransferable.

aeeeFdanee—wﬁh Ensure that aII employed or contracted radon mitigation professmnals
conduct activities as described in the approved license and as required by provisions of

the Radiation Control Act, this chapter, all-sections—of-these—regulations; and all other
related municipal, county, state, and federal laws and regulations.

4-004.03(B) REQUIRED STAFF. Theradon-mitigation-business-must mMaintain on staff

or retain as a consultant a radon mitigation specialist. If a radon mitigation business loses
its radon mitigation specialist, the radon mitigation business must notify the Department

in wr|t|ng W|th|n five busmess days Ihe#aden—wﬂgahen—busawnust—ebtam—anether

errademncu%lgammspeeta#sk The radon mlthatlon busmess must not conduct mlthatlons
operate without a radon mitigation specialist.

4. 004.03(C) RECORDS. Fhe-radon-mitigation-business-must mMaintain ata-minimum

the following records for five six years:

a-(i) Records of all mitigation work performed, including client name, address,
diaghostictestresults; a description of each mitigation system and materials
installed, copies of building and electrical permits, pre-mitigation and post-
mitigation measurements including method of measurement and all pertinent

dates.

b.(ii) Records of mitigation plans developed and signed by a radon mitigation
specialist.

&-(iii) Records of all instrument calibrations, contracts, and warranties on equipment
installed.

e-(iv) Records of completing continuing education courses specified in 480—NAC41-
008 this Aet chapter.

e-(v) Records of employee exposure to radon during employment.

9
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£ (vi) Copies of the licenses for radon mitigation specialists employed or used as
consultants.

5-004.03(D) CHANGES. Submit aAny changes in the information provided in the original
or renewal application, including changes in licensed personnel or the quality assurance
documents, must-be-submitted as an amendment request to the Department for approval
prior to implementation of such change.

004.03(E) LICENSE NOT TRANSFERABLE. Each mitigation business license issued is
nontransferable.

11-005. INITIAL LICENSE FOR AN INDIVIDUAL — QUALIFICATIONS INITIAL
QUALIFICATIONS FOR AN INDIVIDUAL LICENSE.

11-005.01 Qualifications—foraRadonMeasurement-Specialist: RADON MEASUREMENT
SPECIALIST. To receive a license to practice Raden—Measurement perform radon

measurement, an individual must submit a complete application; pay-the-appropriatefeeand
meet all statutory requirements, and the following gualifications:

3—Education: 005 01(A) EDUCATION. Within four two years prior to application, the

individual must have successfully completed a training course and passed an examination
on radon measurements approved by the Department under the requirements specified
in 180 NAC 11 00%, and furnish proof of successful completion.

10
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005.01(B) EXAMINATION. The individual must achieve or exceed the minimum passing
score-on the national examination provided by the National Radon Proficiency Program
(NRPP) or the National Radon Safety Board (NRSB).

41-005.02 Qualifications—for—a—Radon—Mitigation—Specialist RADON MITIGATION
SPECIALIST. To receive a license to practice-Radeon-Mitigation perform radon mitigation, an

individual must submit a complete application; pay-the-appropriate-fee,and meet all statutory
requirements, and the following qualifications:

Z—=duention: 005 02(A) EDUCATION. Within feur-two years prior to application, the

individual must have successfully completed a training course and passed an examination
on radon mitigation approved by the Department under the requirements specified in 180
NAC 11 004, and furnish proof of successful completion.

4-Experience: 005.02(B) EXPERIENCE. The applicant must possess any combination of
two years of relevant post-secondary education or relevant work experience as defined in

this chapter.

005.032(C) EXAMINATION. The individual must achieve or exceed the minimum passing
score on the national examination provided by the National Radon Proficiency Program
(NRPP) or the National Radon Safety Board (NRSB).

44—005 03 Reem#eert% RECIPROCITY A person who has a valld Ilcense or certlflcatlon from

a state which licenses or certifies persons who measure or mitigate radon in a certification or
licensing program with requirements determined by the Department as comparable with the
provisions of this 4860-NAC 11 chapter may be licensed by the Department upon submission

of an complete application as-specified-in180-NAC11-005-and-11-006, with and a copy of

the certification or license from the other state—along-with-the fee-specified-in180-NAC1H1-
014

14-005.04 DeniedorWithdrawn-Applications- WITHDRAWN APPLICATIONS. A request to
withdraw an application will be granted:
(A) When the application is incomplete; or

11
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(B) When the request for withdrawal is received within five business days of the receipt
of a complete application. The fee will be returned to the applicant except for a $25
administrative fee.

44-006. INITIAL LICENSE FOR A BUSINESS ORLABORATORY. The following applies for an
initial license for a business.

114-006.01 Measurement Business: RADON MEASUREMENT BUSINESS. To apply for a
radon measurement business license, the applicant must submit a complete application.
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44-006.02 Mitigation—Business RADON MITIGATION BUSINESS. 14-006.02A Mitigation
Business-Application: To apply for a business-license-to-practiceradon-—mitigation radon

mlthatlon busmess Ilcense the appllcant must submlt a complete appllcatlon eemplete




DRAFT NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF
09-09-2022 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 180 NAC 11

11-006.03 Radon-Laberatories RADON LABORATORIES. 11-006.03A Radon-Laboratory
Application: To apply for a business license to operate as a radon laboratory, the applicant
must submit a complete Measurement Business application, at least one completed
measurement specialist application form as specified in this chapter or verification of an
existing Nebraska radon measurement specialist license, and meet the requirements as set
out in thls chapter for_a Radon Measurement Busmess Ilcense the—f-e\lle»wng—te—the
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14-007. APPROVED RADON TRAINING COURSES. To be approved as a radon training course,
the course must meet the following requirements:

44-007.01 Approval-of Radon-Measurement Training-Courses: APPROVAL OF RADON
MEASUREMENT TRAINING COURSES. To be approved as a radon measurement training
course, a course must meet and maintain approval by the National Radon Proficiency
Program (NRPP) or National Radon Safety Board (NRSB) as an entry level or initial radon
measurement course and must meet for a minimum of 16 hours or apply for approval as an
alternative measurement course.

4 007.01(A) COURSE PROVIDER. The course provider must submit: a complete
application provided by the Department, documentation of current approval from the
National Radon Proficiency Program (NRPP) or the National Radon Safety Board (NRSB)
for the level of the course, a copy of the certificate to be issued to individuals upon
completion of the course.
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2:007.01(B) ALTERNATIVE MEASUREMENT COURSE. To apply for approval as an
alternative measurement course, a course provider must submit a complete application
provided by the Department and meet the following requirements:

ar(_) DOCUMENTATION. Sabmrt—an—appheanen—eenféaﬁﬁng—the—eewse—prewdeps

meet for a minimum of 16 hours W|th mstructlon on the following topics:

(21) radioactivity, radon, and radon’s health effects;
(32) radon entry and behavior;
(43) radon measurement devices, techniques, and protocols;
(54) quality assurance and quality control;
(85) worker health and safety;
(#6) measuring radon in water; and
(87) an overview of radon mitigation techniques.
e(ii) EVALUATION. Submit documentation that course participants had the
opportunity to Provide-an-opportunity-forcourseparticipantsto evaluate the course
instructor(s) and materials.
e-(iii) CERTIFICATE. Submit a copy of the certificate issued upon completion of the
course.

44-007.02 Approvalof Radon—Mitigation—Training—GCourses: APPROVAL OF RADON
MITIGATION COURSES. To be approved as a radon mitigation training course, a course
must meet and maintain approval by the National Radon Proficiency Program (NRPP) or
National Radon Safety Board (NRSB) as an entry level or initial radon mitigation course and
must meet for a minimum of 20 hours or apply for approval as an alternative mitigation course.

4 007.02(A) COURSE PROVIDER. The course provider must submit: a complete
application provided by the Department, documentation showing approval from the NRPP
or NRSB as an entry level or initial radon mitigation course, and a copy of the certificate
to be issued upon completion of the course.

2- 007.02(B) ALTERNATIVE MITIGATION COURSE: To apply for approval as an alternative
mitigation course, a course provider must submit a complete application provided by the
Department and meet the following requirements:

b-() DOCUMENTATION. Submit documentation that the course will meet for a
minimum of 20 hours with instruction on the following topics:

1 biectives:
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(21) radon mitigation system design, diagnostics, and installation;
(32) radon in water mitigation; and
(43) radon-resistant new construction.

&(ii) EVALUATION. Provide—an—opportunity—for—course—participants Submit
documentation that course participants had the opportunity to evaluate the course
instructor(s) and materials.

e(iii) CERTIFICATE. Submit a copy of the certificate issued upon completion of the

course.

44-008. CONTINUING COMPETENCY:. Each person holding an active license within the state
must, on or before the date of expiration of the license, comply with the continuing competency
requirements for histher their profession, unless the requirements are waived in accordance with
180 NAC 11 -044-04-and—11-014-05. Each eredentialed licensed individual is responsible for
maintaining certificates or records of continuing competency activities.

44-008.01 RegquirementsforContinuing Competency: REQUIREMENTS FOR CONTINUING
COMPETENCY. To maintain a license, an individual must meet the following requirements:

4- 008.01(A) CONTINUING EDUCATION. Alicensed-individual-must-cComplete at least
six hours of radon courses, seminars, or meetings offered or approved by the Department
by the expiration date of the license.

2-008.01(B) INSTRUCTORS. Instructors of radon-related courses or seminars may apply
to the Department for continuing education credit, which will be determined by the
Department. To receive continuing education credit for instruction, the person requesting
credit must submit te-the-Department the following information:

a-(i) Name, address, and telephone number of the instructor;

b-(ii) Biography or credentials of instructor;

e(iii) Type of course, frequency of course offerings, total hours of supervised
instruction, and an agenda outlining the hours of instruction, describing the subject
matter to be included; and

e-(iv) A copy of the certificate issued upon completion of the course.

18
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3- 008.01(C) VALIDITY. Continuing education credit will only be valid for the licensing
period in which it was received. Credit will not be granted for attendance of a duplicate
course during the licensing period.

4. 008.01(D) EXEMPTION. Exemptien: If an individual holds a measurement license and
a mitigation license, a minimum of eleven total hours of continuing education must be
completed by the expiration date of the licenses.

008.01(E) MILITARY WAIVERS. The Department may waive continuing competency
requirements if a licensee has served in the reqgular armed forces of the U.S. during part
of the credentialing period immediately preceding the renewal date.

14-008.02 Approvalof Continuing—Competency—GCourses APPROVAL OF CONTINUING
COMPETENCY COURSES. The requirements for approval of continuing competency
courses are as follows:

4. 008.02(A) DEPARTMENT COURSES. A course, workshop, or seminar about radon
offered or sponsored by the Department will be accepted for the number of credits listed
by the Department.

2- 008.02(B) NATIONAL RADON PROFICIENCY PROGRAM OR NATIONAL RADON
SAFETY BOARD COURSES. A course, workshop, or seminar about radon offered or
approved by the National Radon Proficiency Program or the National Radon Safety Board
will be accepted for the number of credits listed by the respective organization.

3. 008.02(C) OTHER COURSES. A course, workshop, or seminar about radon, not
meeting the requirements of 180 NAC 11-008.02 item-4-or2(A) or (B), that is attended or
taught by the licensee will may be accepted tewards as one hour of continuing education
per hour of instruction and must apply for credit by submitting the following:

a- (i) Name, address, and telephone number of applicant;

b- (ii) Biography or credentials of instructor;

e (iii) Type of course, frequency of course offerings, total hours of supervised
instruction, and an agenda outlining the hours of instruction, describing the subject
matter to be included; and

- (iv) A copy of the certificate issued upon completion of the course.

14-009. MITIGATION SYSTEM INSTALLATION REQUIREMENTS. Radon mitigation systems
must meet the following installation requirements:

14-009.02 009.01 RESPONSIBILITY FOR COMPLIANCE. Radon mitigation specialists are
responsible for all radon mitigation systems installed by their firm or its subcontractors to
ensure compliance with the requirements of 180 NAC 11-009.
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009.02 SINGLE FAMILY RESIDENCES. All installations of radon mitigation systems in
single-family residences must be conducted according to the requirements described in
American National Standards Institute - American Association of Radon Scientists and
Technologists Soil Gas Mitigation Standards for Existing Homes (SGM-SF 2017) incorporated
herein by this reference.

009.03 MULTIFAMILY BUILDINGS. All installations of radon mitigation systems in multifamily
buildings must be conducted according to the requirements described in American National
Standards Institute - American Association of Radon Scientists and Technologists Radon
Mitigation Standards for Multifamily Buildings (RMS-MF 2018) incorporated herein by this
reference. Mitigation Specialists supervising the installation of radon mitigation systems in
multifamily buildings must have completed a training course from an approved training
provider for radon mitigation in multifamily buildings.

009.04 SCHOOLS AND LARGE BUILDINGS. All installations of radon mitigation systems in
schools and large buildings must be conducted according to the requirements described in
American National Standards Institute - American Association of Radon Scientists and
Technologists Radon Mitigation Standards for Schools and Large Buildings (RMS-LB 2018)
incorporated herein by this reference. Mitigation Specialists supervising the installation of
radon mitigation systems in schools or non-residential buildings larger than 2,000 square feet
must have completed a training course from an approved training provider for radon mitigation
in schools and large buildings.

009.05 EXCEPTIONS. The following are exceptions to the requirements described in
American National Standards Institute - American Association of Radon Scientists and
Technologists Soil Gas Mitigation Standards for Existing Homes (SGM-SF 2017), American
National Standards Institute - American Association of Radon Scientists and Technologists
Radon Mitigation Standards for Multifamily Buildings (RMS-MF 2018), and American National
Standards Institute - American Association of Radon Scientists and Technologists Radon
Mitigation Standards for Schools and Large Buildings (RMS-LB 2018):

(A) INFORMATION PACKAGE. For single family residences, where references to the
required information package allow for the informational package to be otherwise
provided to the Client, it must instead be securely attached to the system in a visible
location or installed in the livable space, as prescribed.

(B) ACTIVE NOTIFICATION MONITORS. No active notification monitors are required.

(C) INSULATION. No insulation for duct plplnq orfansi |s reqwred
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009.06 CONVERSION OF A PASSIVE RADON MITIGATION SYSTEM TO AN ACTIVE
RADON MITIGATION SYSTEM. In order to convert a passive radon mitigation system to an
active radon mitigation system, a person must:

(A) By the 15th day of each month, submit a report of all conversions completed during
the previous month. This data is to be entered in the Department’s online reporting
system. Mitigation reports must include all of the information requested in the
required fields on the online reporting forms-;

(B) By the 15th day of each month, submit to the Department the mitigation fee per
installation for all of the conversions completed during the previous month in
accordance with 180 NAC 11 014.03;;

(C) Label each radon mitigation system in accordance with 180 NAC 11 009.05(A),
009.05(D), and in accordance with Section 10.1 Radon Documentation Essential
Information from American National Standards Institute - American Association of
Radon_Scientists and Technologists Soil Gas Mitigation Standards for Existing
Homes (SGM-SF 2017):;

(D) Follow electrical requirements in accordance with 180 NAC 11 009.07-;

(E) Install a system monitor in accordance with the following requirements:

(i) All active mitigations systems must include a mechanism to monitor system
performance and warn of system failure. The mechanism must be simple to read
or interpret and be located where it is easily seen or heard by building occupants
and protected from damage or destruction; and

(ii) Mechanical radon mitigation system monitors, such as manometer type pressure
gauges, must be clearly marked to indicate the range or zone of pressure readings
that existed when the system was initially activated:; and

(F) Install each radon vent fan in accordance with the following requirements:

(i) Ment fFans used in radon mitigation systems must be designed specifically for
radon removal applications and must be designed or otherwise sealed to reduce
the potential for leakage of soil gas from the fan housing-; and

(ii) Radon—ventfFans must be sized to provide the pressure difference and air flow
characteristics necessary to achieve the radon reduction goals established for the
specific mitigation project:; and

(iii)Raden-ventfFans must not be installed:

(1) Below grade;

(2) In the conditioned (heated/cooled) space of a building; or

(3) In_any basement, crawlspace, or other interior location directly beneath the
conditioned spaces of a building-;

(V&) Acceptable locations for raden—vent fans include: Aattics not suitable for
occupancy (including attics over living spaces and garages): and Ggarages that
are not beneath conditioned spaces; and

(v) 41 Radoen-ventfFans must be installed vertically plumb and level with the outlet
pointing up to avoid condensation buildup in the fan housing. Fans must be
installed in vertical runs of the vent pipe; and

(vi) £2) Raden-ventfFans must be mounted and secured in a manner that minimizes
transfer of vibration to the structural framing of the building; and

(vii) (3) To facilitate maintenance and future replacement, raden—vent fans must be
installed in the vent pipe using removable couplings or flexible connections that
can be tightly secured to both the fan and the vent pipe.: and
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009.07 ADDITIONAL ELECTRICAL REQUIREMENTS. All electrical work must comply with
current Electrical Code as adopted by the State Electrical Division. The following
requirements apply to all installations that require the use of electricity; including—the

installationof low voltage fans.

. lation-duct berhoati ling.d m

009.07E3(A) RATING. If the rated electricity requirements of a radon mitigation system
fan _exceed 50% of the circuit capacity into which it will be connected, or if the total
connected load on the circuit, including the radon vent fan, exceeds 80% of the circuit's
rated capacity, a separate, dedicated circuit must be installed to power the fan.

009.07{&)(B) CIRCUIT BREAKER. The circuit breakers controlling the circuits on which

the radon vent fan operates must be labeled "Radon Reduction System."

009.07(C) FANS WITH PLUGGED CORDS. Fans with plugged cords must be installed in
accordance with the following requirements:
(i) All electrical wiring and electrical components must:

(1) Be labeled “Radon Fan” every 10 feet, if they are 10 feet or longer.

(2) If longer than 6 feet, be fastened to a permanent building component at least
every 3 feet with cable staples, cable ties, cable clips, or other fasteners that
adequately secure the material.

(3) Be firmly secured in place and supported by the building structure such that
they are not damaged by normal building use.

(4) Not be fastened to other electrical wiring, conduit, or plumbing components.

(i) Exposed wiring and live parts operating at 50 volts or more shall be guarded
against_electrical shock from accidental contact by means of enclosure or by
elevation of 8 feet or more above the floor. Converter boxes must only be secured
to non-combustible building material.

(iii) Plugged receptacle outlet connections located within habitable space or garages
shall be provided a safety cover that inhibits accidental disconnection. Upon
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completion of installation and maintenance services, safety covers shall be locked
or clasped. This safety cover shall be labeled “Radon Fan- Do Not Unplug”. For
outlet connections not located within habitable space or garages, the outlet shall
be labeled “Radon Fan- Do Not Unplug’.

(iv) No plugged disconnects are permitted outdoors.

(v) Any plugged cord used to supply power to a 110-volt radon vent fan must be no
longer than six feet in total length.

(vi) No plugged flexible cord may penetrate a wall or be concealed within a wall.
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009.408 NOTIFICATION TO DEPARTMENT. Before installing a radon mitigation system,
radon mitigation businesses must submit to the Department via email at
DHHS.HealthHazardsIndoorAir@nebraska.gov, a notification of each upcoming installation,
including: business name, installation site address, date, and time of scheduled installation.;
and—a Within 24 hours of installing a radon mitigation system, radon mitigation businesses
must submit to the Department via email at DHHS.HealthHazardsIndoorAir@nebraska.gov, a
copy of the system design.

14-009.03 Limitations 009.4409 LIMITATIONS. The following limitations apply to this Act.

4. 009.4409(A) DISCREPANCIES. Where discrepancies exist between provisions of 180
NAC 11 and local codes or regulations, such as local plumbing, heating and cooling or
electrical codes, the stricter code will apply unless there is an adverse impact on the radon
reduction function for which the system was originally designed, as determined by the
Department. Where conflicts exist between the provisions of 488-NAG-41 this chapter and
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the documents referenced in this chapter the specific provision of 489-NAC-14 this chapter

governs.

3- 009.4109(B) PRIOR INSTALLATION. The requirements specified in 480-NAC44-009
this chapter WI|| not apply to radon mltlgatlon systems mstalled prlor to Aprll 6, 2003.

. as -1fa mlthatlon
specialist finds that a radon mlthatlon system does not comply with current standards, the

specialist must recommend in writing to the client that the system be upgraded or altered
to meet current standards. The licensee must obtain prior approval from the client before
implementing any of the licensee’s written recommendations.
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14-010. REPORTING REQUIREMENTS. Licensees must make reports to the Department and
to clients.

44-010.01 MONTHLY REPORT REQUIRED BY RADON MEASUREMENT BUSINESSES.
A radon measurement business or approved—anahytical laboratory must submit to the
Department, by the 15th day of each month, the results of all radon measurements performed
in the State of Nebraska during the previous month. The absence of radon measurements
must be reported by the 15" day of each month te-the-Department. Measurement reports
must include all of the information in the required fields on the online reporting form.
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44-010.02 WRITTEN REPORTS TO CLIENTS. Radon measurement businesses and radon
mitigation businesses must report test results for radon in writing to the client as required in
American National Standards Institute - American Association of Radon Scientists and
Technologists Protocols for Measuring Radon and Radon Decay Products in Homes (MAH-
2019), American National Standards Institute - American Association of Radon Scientists and
Technologists Protocol for Conducting Radon and Radon Decay Product Measurements in
Multifamily Buildings (MAMFE-2017), or American National Standards Institute - American
Association of Radon Scientists and Technologists Protocols for Measuring Radon and Radon
Decay Products in Schools and Larqe Buﬂqus (MALB 2014) as appllcable Seeh—repeFts

414-010.03 NOTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR RADON MEASUREMENT

BUSINESSES. -addition;-the rRadon measurement businesses must notify the client by

telephone and maitin writing within two business days of any measurement with results equal
to or greater than 100 pCi/l or 0.5 working levels (WL) and advise the client to contact the
Department at 1-800-334-9491 or at other telephone numbers provided by the Department.
The results of this measurement must also be provided to the Department by phone and
mailed to Nebraska Radon Program, PO Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026 or emailed to
DHHS.HealthHazardsIndoorAir@Nebraska.gov within the same two-business day period.

44-010.04 MONTHLY REPORT REQUIRED BY RADON MITIGATION BUSINESS. Fhe By
the 15th day of each month, radon mitigation businesses must submit to-the-Department; by

the45tkkdas,'—ef—eaelq—ucnemtlor a report on aII mitigation work completed durlng the prewous

month,

medmeat}ensef—e*tstmg—systeme and the mltlgatlon fee{s) (per mstallatlon) as—speemed—m
180 NAC 11-014.03. The absence of mitigation work must be reported by the 15" day of each

month menthlyto-the Department. Mitigation reports must include all of the information
requested in the required fields on the online reporting form.
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010.05 ADDRESS INFORMATION. Each license holder must notify the Department of any
change to the address of record within 30 days of changing the address of record.
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414-011. LICENSE RENEWAL:. An individual or business wishing to renew a radon measurement
or mitigation license must prierto-the-expiration-date; file an complete application for renewal
provided by the Department and-pay-the-fee prior to the expiration date of the license. Individuals
must demonstrate compliance with continuing competency requirements as-stated-in—14-008 of
this chapter. All radon measurement or mitigation licenses issued by the Department will expire
on March 31 of each odd-numbered year, {unless renewed as provided below.} No radon
measurement or mitigation activity will may be conducted after the expiration of the term of the
license.
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14-012. DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS. Licensees may be subject to discipline.

14-012.021 Unprefes&enal—@enduet UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT Unprefes&ena#

deeew&epde#aud%pﬁbh&epr&d%menh%%pabhc—m{emsb Unprofesswnal conduct
includes but is not limited to the acts set out in Neb. Rev. Stat. Neb—Rev-Stat. § 38-179 and

the following:

4 (A) Failure to exercise technical competence based on the profession for which the
individual is licensed;

2. (B) Refusal to cooperate or failure to furnish requested information during a licensing
or discipline investigation or inspection by the Department; or

3- (C) Refusing to provide professional service to a person because of such person’s race,
creed, color, sex, religion, marital status, familial status, ancestry, or national origin.;

012.02 VOLUNTARY SURRENDER. The voluntary surrender of a license may be unrelated
to disciplinary matters, or may be done to resolve a pending disciplinary matter, in lieu of
disciplinary action, or in response to a notice of disciplinary action.

44-013. REINSTATEMENT:. This section applies to businesses previously licensed in Nebraska
whe which seek the authority to return to practice inNebraska—with-a—valid-Nebraska-license.
Businesses may apply for reinstatement as follows:

4-(A)A business license which has expired, been placed on inactive status, voluntarily
surrendered for an indefinite period of time, or suspended or limited for disciplinary
reasons, may apply for reinstatement at any time.

2-(B)A business license which has been voluntarily surrendered for a definite period of
time may apply for reinstatement after that period of time has elapsed.

44-014. FEES. Fees are {Nnonrefundable, except as provided by law).

14-014.01 initial-and Renewal Fees forIndividual Licenses INDIVIDUAL LICENSES. Initial
and renewal fees for individual licenses are:

4+ (A) Radon Measurement Specialist $46.00 (annually)

2. (B) Radon Mitigation Specialist $46.00 (annually)
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44-014.02 initialand Renewal FeesforBusinessLicenses BUSINESS LICENSES. Initial and
renewal fees for business licenses are:

4 (A) Radon Measurement Business $100.00 (annually)

2. (B) Radon Mitigation Business $250.00 (annually)

14-014.03 MitigationSystem-Installation Fees MITIGATION SYSTEM INSTALLATION. The
fee is:

(A) Mitigation System Fee-perinstallation $50.00 (per installation)

(B) For fee calculation purposes, one mitigation system installation is considered to be
the installation of an interconnected system that contains one or more fans installed
on a single riser, one or more suction points, and one or more exhausts. Systems
with single or multiple fans installed on separate risers and installed in separate
locations, each riser constitutes a separate installation.

14-014.04 Prorated Fee: PRORATED FEE SCHEDULE. Fees may be prorated according to
a schedule.

4.014.04(A) When a Specialist license will expire within 180 days after its initial issuance
date and the initial licensing fee is $25 or more, the Department will collect $25 or one-
fourth of the initial licensing fee, whichever is greater, for the initial license, and the license
will be valid until the next subsequent renewal date. Fees below are for a license issued
for a two year period.

Proration-Schedule
Year One (odd-numbered year)
Jan | Feb | March | April | May | June | July | August | Sept | Oct | Nov | Dec
$25 | $25 | $25 $92 | $92 | $92 | $92 | $92 $92 | $92 | $92 | $92

Year Two (even-numbered year)

Jan | Feb | March | April | May | June | July | August | Sept | Oct | Nov | Dec

$92 | $92 | $92 $92 | $92 [ $92 |$92 | $92 $92 $25 | $25 | $25

2- 014.04(B) When a Radon Measurement Business license will expire within 180 days
after its initial issuance date, the Department will collect a fee of $50. Fees below are for
a license issued for a two year period.

Premlicnsehaduls
Year One (odd-numbered year)

Jan | Feb | March | April | May | June | July | August | Sept | Oct | Nov | Dec
$50 | $50 | $50 $200 | $200 | $200 | $200 | $200 $200 | $200 | $200 | $200

¥Year Two (even-numbered year)

Jan | Feb | March | April | May | June | July | August | Sept | Oct | Nov | Dec

$200 | $200 | $200 | $200 | $200 | $200 | $200 | $200 | $200 | $50 | $50 | $50
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3-:014.04(C) When a Radon Mitigation Business license will expire within 180 days after
its initial issuance date, the Department will collect a fee of $125.00. Fees below are for

a license issued for a two year period.
Premlicnsehaduls

Year One (odd-numbered year)

Jan | Feb | March | April | May | June | July | August | Sept | Oct | Nov | Dec

$125 | $125 | $125 | $500 | $500 | $500 | $500 | $500 | $500 | $500 | $500 | $500

Year Two (even-numbered year)

Jan | Feb [ March | April | May | June | July | August | Sept | Oct [ Nov | Dec

$500 | $500 | $500 | $500 | $500 | $500 | $500 | $500 [ $500 [ $125 [ $125 [ $125

114-014.05 OtherFees: OTHER FEES. Fees charged to businesses for other services are:

4-014.05(A) Gertification-of License-Fee: CERTIFICATION OF LICENSE. The fee is $25
for certifying the issuance of a license. Ferissuance-ofacertification-of-alicensethefee
of-$25. The certification includes information regarding the basis on which a license was
issued, the date of issuance, whether disciplinary action has been taken against the
license, and the current status of the license.

2 014.05(B) Verificationof LicenseFee: The fee is $5 for verification of a license. Fer
issuance—of a—verification—of-alicense—the fee—of-$5. The verification includes written
confirmation as to whether a license was valid at-the-time-therequest-was-made.

3. 014.05(C) DuplicateLicense—Fee: DUPLICATE LICENSE. The fee is $10 fFor a
duplicate of original license document or reissued license, the-fee-of-$40.

4-014.05(D) Administrative Fee: ADMINISTRATIVE. An administrative fee of $25 will be
retained by the Department fFor a denied license or a withdrawn application, the

inistative.foo.of $25.wil o by tho. L |

5.014.05(E) ReinstatementFee: REINSTATEMENT. For areinstated license asprovided
forin180-NAC 11-013a feeof the fee is $35 in addition to the renewal fee specified in
180 NAC 11-014.

These amended rules and regulations replace Title 180 NAC 11 Requirements for Radon and
Radon Progeny Measurement and Mitigation Services, effective May-45,2040 July 5, 2015.
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