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For publication on Thursday, July 15, 2021. Text for public notice (Notice of Hearing):

NEBRASKA REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER BOARD NOTICE OF HEARING FOR CHANGES TO TITLE 298 OF THE
NEBRASKA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Board will hold a public hearing at 11:00 a.m. on Thursday, August 19,
2021 in the Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Board Office on the 1st Floor of the Nebraska State Office Building
at 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, Nebraska for proposed changes to Title 298 of the Nebraska
Administrative Code. Draft copies of all rules and regulations to be adopted, amended, or repealed are available
for examination at the Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Board office, Monday through Friday, between 8:00
a.m. and 5:00 p.m., and on the Nebraska Secretary of State’s website at www.sos.ne.gov. The proposed changes
to Title 298 reduce unnecessary regulatory burden and remove barriers to entry into the real property appraiser
profession, include general updates for better clarification and administration, and harmonize Title 298 with the
changes made to the Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Act through LB808 in 2020 and LB23 in 2021. The
proposed changes to Title 298 will have no fiscal impact on credential/registration holders, the public, or other
political subdivisions, but does include an administrative fee of $50.00 for the preliminary history record review
application as authorized by Neb. Rev. Stat. § 84-947(7). A description of the fiscal impact may be inspected at
the Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Board office, Monday through Friday, between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. All
interested persons are invited to attend and testify orally or by written submission at the hearing. Interested
persons may also submit written comments prior to hearing, which will be made part of the hearing record at
the time of hearing if received by the Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Board on or before August 18, 2021. If
auxiliary aids or reasonable accommodations are needed to participate in the hearing, or if hearing impaired,
please contact the Board's office at 402-471-9015 by no later than Tuesday, August 17, 2021.
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Nebraska Real Properey Appraiser Board
Title 298 August 19, 2021 Public Hearing
Proposed Change to Title 298 Fiscal Impact Statement

The Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Board will hold a public hearing at 11:00 a.m. on Thursday, August 19, 2021
in the Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Board Office on the 1™ Floor of the Nebraska State Office Building at 301
Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, Nebraska for proposed changes to Title 298 of the Nebraska Administrative Code.
The proposed changes to Title 298 reduce unnecessary regulatory burden and remove barriers to entry into the real
property appraiser profession, include general updates for better clarification and administration, and harmonize Title
298 with the changes made to the Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Act through LB808 in 2020 and LB23 in 2021.

The proposed changes to Title 298 will have no fiscal impact on credential/registration holders, the public, or other
political subdivisions, but does include an administrative fee of $50.00 for the preliminary history record review
application as authorized by Neb. Rev. Stat. § 84-947(7). The preliminary history record review application fee is
expected to generate no expenditures or revenues.




DRAFT/FINAL FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT

Agency: Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Board

Title: 298

Prepared by: Tyler Kohtz

Chapter: 1-8

Date prepared: July 13, 2021

Subject: Changes to Title 298

Telephone: 402-471-9015

Type of Fiscal Impact:
State Agency Political Sub. Regulated Public

No Fiscal Impact ( X) ( X) ( X)
Increased Costs () () ()
Decreased Costs () () )
Increased Revenue () () )
Decreased Revenue () () )
Indeterminable () {) ()

Provide an Estimated Cost & a Description of Impact:

See attached document titled “Title 298 August 19, 2021 Public Hearing Proposed Change to
Title 298 Fiscal Impact Statement.”

State Agency:

Political
Subdivision:

Regulated
Public:

If indeterminable, explain why:
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Summary of Proposed Changes to Title 298 of the

Nebraska Administrative Code August 19, 2021 Hearing

The Board proposes changes to chapters one through eight of Title 298 of the Nebraska
Administrative Code. Title 298 includes the rules and regulations for administration and
enforcement of the Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Act (Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 76-2201 — 76-
2250) and the Appraisal Management Company Registration Act (Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 76-3201 —~
76-3222). Title 298 clarifies and defines the requirements and processes for real property
appraiser credentialing, real property appraiser credential renewal, real property appraiser
qualifying and continuing education activities, appraisal management company registration and
renewal, and investigations. The Board’s intent to amend Title 298 is due to the following:

It is the Board’s priority to reduce unnecessary regulatory burden and remove barriers to
entry into the real property appraiser profession. Changes in Title 298 address this very issue.
The word “Bachelor’s” is stricken to allow that any degree in real estate from an accredited
awarding college or university that has had all or part of its curriculum approved by the
Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation as required core curriculum, or
the equivalent as determined by the AQB, be used in place of class hours in real property
appraiser qualifying education. The review and approval procedures are updated to allow the
Board’s director to approve new applications for trainee real property appraisers, supervisory
real property appraisers, reciprocal licensed and certified real property appraisers, education
activities and instructors, and appraisal management company registrations when minimum
requirements are met and no extenuating circumstances exists requiring Board expertise.
Finally, the Board implemented procedures for the preliminary criminal history review as
required by Neb. Rev. Stat. § 84-947.

LB808, approved by Governor Ricketts on August 15, 2020, updated the Nebraska Real
Property Appraiser Act for compliance with Title XI of the federal Financial Institutions
Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989 (“Title XI”), the Uniform Standards of
Professional Appraisal Practice (“USPAP”), and the Policy Statements of the Appraisal
Subcommittee of the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (“ASC Policy
Statements”). The proposed changes to Title 298 harmonize the language in Title 298 with
the changes made to the Real Property Appraiser Act through LB808. Specifically, a new
defined term “real property appraisal practice,” replaces all variations of substantially similar
language for clarification and consistency; references to real property appraisers are updated
to use the defined term “real property appraiser” for consistency; “Valuation™ is added before
“services” to clarify the nature of such service being performed by a real property appraiser;
“Appraisal” or “appraisal review” are replaced by “assignment results” to utilize the
definition of “assignment results” for clarity and consistency when referring to “report”
where appropriate; and “valid” is stricken before “credential” for clarity and consistency as
the stricken term is unnecessary.




¢ [B23, approved by Governor Ricketts on March 17, 2021, updated the Nebraska Real
Property Appraiser Act to implement the Real Property Appraiser Qualifications Criteria
(2020 Criteria”) adopted by The Appraisal Foundation’s Appraiser Qualifications Board,
effective on January 1, 2020 and May 15, 2020; and to maintain compliance with Title XI.
The proposed changes to Title 298 harmonize the language in Title 298 with the changes
made to the Real Property Appraiser Act through LB23. Specifically, the word “Bachelor’s”
is stricken to allow that any degree in real estate from an accredited awarding college or
university that has had all or part of its curriculum approved by the Appraiser Qualifications
Board of The Appraisal Foundation as required core curriculum, or the equivalent as
determined by the AQB, be used in place of class hours in real property appraiser qualifying
education.

e During the drafting of the proposed changes, emphasis was placed on the effectiveness of
regulations in place, the clarity and applicability of the language in Title 298, and the
public’s rights and welfare. Language is updated to reflect this emphasis.

e The proposed changes to Title 298 will have no fiscal impact on credential/registration
holders and other political subdivisions, but does include an administrative fee of $50.00 for
the preliminary history record review application as authorized by Neb. Rev. Stat. § 84-
947(7). The preliminary history record review application fee is expected to generate no
expenditures or revenues.

More detail regarding the specifics of these changes can be found below:;

The defined term “real property appraisal practice” replaces any such terms and phrases:
“appraisal practice,” “real property appraisal activity,” “appraisal practice or real property
appraisal activity,” “a valuation assignment, evaluation assignment, or appraisal review
assignment,” “an assignment not limited to value for an appraisal assignment, and not
limited to an opinion about the quality of another appraiser’s work for an appraisal
review assignment,” “appraising,” “the appraisal of, and review of appraisal of,” “the
appraisal of,” “appraise,” “real property appraisal activities or other related activities,”
“the making of an appraisal,” “practice,” “perform or performs real property appraisal
activity" throughout Title 298. Utilization of the defined term “real property appraisal
practice” harmonizes Title 298 with the language in the Real Property Appraiser Act for
changes made by LB80S.

“Real property appraisal practice™ is added before “assignments,” “experience,” and
“assistance” to clarify the nature of such assignment, or the type of experience or
assistance; and “assignment,” “experience,” and “assistance” is added after “real property
appraisal practice” throughout Title 298 where applicable for clarity and consistency.
Utilization of the defined term “real property appraisal practice” harmonizes Title 298
with the language in the Real Property Appraiser Act for changes made by LB808,

“Real property” is added before the word “appraiser” where only “appraiser” exists
throughout Title 298. Utilization of the defined term “real property appraiser” harmonizes
Title 298 with the language in the Real Property Appraiser Act for changes made by
1.B808.




Non-substantive language changes made for clarification, consistency, or to correct
spelling and grammar errors; and section reference updates are not listed individually in
this summary.

“Valuation” is added before “services” to clarify the nature of such service being
performed by a real property appraiser to harmonize Title 298 with the language in the
Real Property Appraiser Act for changes made by LB808 in Chapter 1, § 009 (page 3);
Chapter 1, § 010 (page 3); and Chapter 8, § 003.05A.1 (page 66).

“AMC?” is added before “Appraiser” to utilized the defined term “AMC Appraiser” in
Chapter 1, § 009 (page 1) and Chapter 8, § 003.05A.1 (page 66).

Chapter 1, § 013 is added to establish application procedures and requirements for the
preliminary criminal history review as required by Neb. Rev. Stat. § 84-947 (page 3).

“Bachelor’s” is stricken to allow that any degree in real estate from an accredited
awarding college or university that has had all or part of its curriculum approved by the
Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation as required core curriculum,
or the equivalent as determined by the AQB, be used in place of class hours in real
property appraiser qualifying education to harmonize Title 298 with the language in the
Real Property Appraiser Act for changes made by LB808 in Chapter 2, § 001.01A.2
(page 5); Chapter 2, § 001.02A.2 (page 7); Chapter 2, § 001.02B.1 (page 7); Chapter 2, §
001.03A.2 (page 8); Chapter 2, § 001.03D.2 (page 8); Chapter 2 § 001.03E.2 (page 9);
Chapter 2, § 001.04A.2 (page 10); Chapter 2, § 001.04B.1 (page 10); Chapter 2, §
001.04B.2 (page 11); Chapter 2, § 001.04B.3 (page 11); Chapter 2, § 001.05B (page 12);
and Chapter 6, § 002.01A (page 34).

“Credentialed” is stricken before “real property appraiser” and “trainee real property
appraiser” for consistency and clarity as a real property appraiser is a credential holder to
harmonize Title 298 with the language in the Real Property Appraiser Act for changes
made by LB808 in Chapter 2, § 001.02B (page 7); Chapter 2, § 001.04B (page 10);
Chapter 2, § 004.01D (page 17); Chapter 2, § 004.02H (page 22); Chapter 3, § 001.08
(page 25); Chapter 4, § 003.06 (page 30); and Chapter 6, § 004.02B (page 45).

“Appraisal” or “appraisal review” is replaced by “assignment results” to utilize the
definition of “assignment results” where appropriate for clarity and consistency when
referring to “report” to harmonize Title 298 with the language in the Real Property
Appraiser Act for changes made by LB808 in Chapter 2, § 002.03A (page 13); Chapter 2,
§ 002.04 (page 13); Chapter 2, § 002.06 (page 13); and Chapter 2, § 002.09 (page 14);

Chapter 2 § 002.09(9) is amended to add “or non-traditional client” after “traditional
client” to clarify that verification on the experience log must indicate that the client is
traditional or non-traditional (page 14).

Chapter 2 § 004.01C is amended to allow the Board’s director to approve new
applications for trainee real property appraisers when the minimum requirements are met
and no extenuating circumstances exist requiring Board expertise. Any applicant that may
not meet one or more requirements for credentialing as a trainee real property appraiser
will be placed before the Board for consideration at its next meeting (page 19).




Chapter 2 § 004.01K is amended to allow the Board’s director to approve new
applications for supervisory real property appraisers when the minimum requirements are
met and no extenuating circumstances exist requiring Board expertise. Any applicant that
may not meet one or more requirements for approval as a supervisory real property
appraiser will be placed before the Board for consideration at its next meeting (page 20).

Chapter 2 § 004.01P is amended to change the designation that may be used by a
supervisory real property appraiser to “S.R.P.A.” to include “Real Property,” consistent
with the changes made throughout Title 298 for harmonization with the language in the
Real Property Appraiser Act for changes made by LB808 (page 21).

“Credential” is stricken after “real property appraiser” and “trainee real property
appraiser” for consistency and clarity as a real property appraiser is a credential holder.
This change is to harmonize Title 298 with the language in the Real Property Appraiser
Act for changes made by LB808 in Chapter 2, § 001.02B (page 7); Chapter 2, § 001.04B
(page 10); Chapter 2, § 004.01D (page 17); Chapter 2, § 004.02H (page 22); Chapter 3, §
001.08 (page 25); Chapter 4, § 003.06 (page 30); and Chapter 6, § 004.02B (page 45).

Chapter 3 §§ 001.03 through 001.06 are amended to allow the Board’s director to
approve new applications for licensed and certified real property appraisers by reciprocity
when the minimum requirements are met and no extenuating circumstances exist
requiring Board expertise. Any applicant that may not meet one or more requirements for
approval as a real property appraiser by reciprocity will be placed before the Board for
consideration at its next meeting (page 24).

Chapter 3 § 002.03 is amended to clarify that any applicant that may not meet one or
more requirements for approval as a temporary real property appraiser will be placed
before the Board for consideration at its next meeting (page 26).

Chapter 4 § 001.11C is amended to strike “valid” before “credential.” The stricken
language is unnecessary, and this change harmonizes Title 298 with the language in the
Real Property Appraiser Act for changes made by LB808 (page 29).

Chapter 4 § 003.04 is amended to clarify that any applicant for renewal of a real property
appraiser credential that may not meet one or more requirements for approval will be
placed before the Board for consideration at its next meeting (page 30).

Chapter 6 § 001.07B is amended to add “applicants” to clarify that this section applies to
online or correspondence activities for both applicants and credential holders (page 33).




Language is amended to strike “is certified by the International Distance Education
Certification Center” and add “meets the requirements of Section 001.07A of this
Chapter” to specify that an IDECC certificate must be submitted, or the activity must be
conducted by an accredited college, community college, or university that offers distance
education programs and is approved or accredited by the Commission on Colleges, a
regional or national accreditation association, or by an accrediting agency that is
recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education, that awards academic credit for the
distance education courses. This change recognizes that the education submission may
include either option, not just the IDECC certificate in Chapter 6 § 002.02A.5 (page 36);
Chapter 6 § 003.02A.5 (page 41); Chapter 6 § 004.04A.5 (page 49). The intent of this
change is to better align Title 298 with the Real Property Appraiser Qualifications
Criteria language.

Chapter 6 §§ 002.02A.2j (page 36), 003.02A .2k (page 41), 004.04A.2j (page 49) is
added to ensure that an online or correspondence activity conducted by an accredited
college, community college, or university provides interaction in a reciprocal
environment where the student has verbal or written communication with the instructor.
Colleges, community colleges, or universities are not required to hold IDECC
certification for online or correspondence education activities. For all activities that are
IDECC approved, interaction in a reciprocal environment where the student has verbal or
written communication with the instructor is a condition for approval. The intent of this
change is to better align Title 298 with the Real Property Appraiser Qualifications
Criteria language.

Language is amended to strike “certified by the International Distance Education
Certification Center” and add, “the qualification for online or correspondence delivery
specified in Section 001.07A of this Chapter™ to the reasons for resubmission of, or
rescinding, an approved qualifying education activity, continuing education activity, or
supervisory real property appraiser and trainee course. This amendment includes
activities conducted by accredited colleges, community colleges, or universities that
offers distance education programs and are approved or accredited by the Commission on
Colleges, a regional or national accreditation association, or by an accrediting agency that
is recognized by the 1.8, Secretary of Education, that awards academic credit for the
distance education courses in Chapter 6 § 002.03A (page 37); Chapter 6 § 002.04A (page
37); Chapter 6 § 003.03A (page 42); Chapter 6 § 003.04B (page 43); Chapter 6 §
004.05A (page 50); Chapter 6 § 004.06A (page 50).

Chapter 6 §§ 002.02C and 002.02D are amended to allow the Board’s director to approve
new applications for qualifying education activities when the minimum requirements are
met by the education provider and the activity, and no extenuating circumstances exist
requiring Board expertise. Any application for an education provider and activity that
may not meet one or more requirements for approval as a qualifying education activity
will be placed before the Board for consideration at its next meeting (page 37). Language
is amended throughout Section 002 in Chapter 6 to strike any references to being
approved “by the board” for harmonization with this change.




Chapter 6 § 003.02A.2j is added to clarify that written evidence must be included with a
continuing education submission indicating that an appropriate mechanism is in place to
ensure that the credential holder demonstrates knowledge of subject matter for an online
or correspondence activity (page 41). This Real Property Appraiser Qualifications
Criteria is met for qualifying education and the supervisory real property appraiser and
trainee course by examination.

Chapter 6 §§ 003.02C and 003.02D are amended to allow the Board’s director to approve
new applications for continuing education activities when the minimum requirements are
met by the education provider and the activity, and no extenuating circumstances exist
requiring Board expertise. Any application for an education provider and activity that
may not meet one or more requirements for approval as a continuing education activity
will be placed before the Board for consideration at its next meeting (page 42). Language
is amended throughout Section 003 in Chapter 6 to strike any references to being
approved “by the board” for harmonization with this change.

Chapter 6 §§ 004.04C and 004.04D are amended to allow the Board’s director to approve
new applications for supervisory real property appraiser and trainee courses when the
minimum requirements are met by the education provider and the activity, and no
extenuating circumstances exist requiring Board expertise. Any application for an
education provider and activity that may not meet one or more requirements for approval
as a supervisory real property appraiser and trainee course will be placed before the
Board for consideration at its next meeting (page 50). Language is amended throughout
Section 004 in Chapter 6 to strike any references to being approved “by the board” for
harmonization with this change.

Chapter 6 §§ 005.02C and 005.02D are amended to allow the Board’s director to approve
new applications for instructors of an education activities when the minimum
requirements are met by the applicant, and no extenuating circumstances exist requiring
Board expertise. Any applicant that may not meet one or more requirements for approval
as an education activity instructor will be placed before the Board for consideration at its
next meeting (page 54). Language is amended throughout Section 005 in Chapter 6 to
strike any references to being approved “by the board” for harmonization with this
change.

Chapter 6 § 005.01E is amended to strike 005.01E.1 through 005.01E.4 and clarify that
being an AQB Certified USPAP Instructor is the only qualification for approval as an
instructor of the qualifying education fifteen-hour National Uniform Standards of
Professional Appraisal Practice Course, the continuing education seven-hour National
Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice Update Course, and/or the
supervisory real property appraiser and trainee course. 005.01E.1 through 005.01E.4 are
already requirements for approval as an AQB Certified USPAP Instructor, and are
therefore moot as a separate requirement in Title 298 (page 53).

Chapter 7 §§ 001.03 and 001.04 are amended to allow the Board’s director to approve
new applications for registration as an appraisal management company when the
minimum requirements are met by the applicant, and no extenuating circumstances exist
requiring Board expertise. Any applicant that may not meet one or more requirements for
approval as an appraisal management company will be placed before the Board for
consideration at its next meeting (page 56).




¢ Chapter 7 § 002.03 is amended to clarify that any applicant for renewal of an appraisal
management company registration that may not meet one or more requirements for
approval will be placed before the Board for consideration at its next meeting (page 58).
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CHAPTER 1
GENERAL PROVISIONS

Definitions of terms used in this Title, unless the context otherwise requires, are stated in the Real Property
Appraiser Act, NEB. REV. STAT. § 76-2201 et. seq, (hereinafter referred to as “the Act™), the Appraisal
Management Company Registration Act, NEB. REV. STAT. § 76-3201 et. seq. (hereinafter referred to as “the
AMC Act”), and/or the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice, and the definitions as follows:

001.01
001.02

001.03

001.04

001.05

001.06

001.07

001.08

IlPage

Activity means any real property appraiser related education offering.

Automated Valuation Model means any computer software program that analyzes data using an
automated process. The program may use regression, adaptive estimation, neural networking,
expert reasoning, and/or artificial intelligence.

001.02A An automated valuation model is a tool that delivers an estimation or
calculation, and is not in itself an appraisal under NEB. REV. STAT. § 76-2204,
or by itself a report under NEB. REV. STAT. § 76-2216.02. If the output from
an automated valuation model is communicated as an analysis, conclusion, or
opinion of value concerning identified real estate or identified real property that
implies the exercise of judgment to the client, intended user, or the public by any
person not exempt under NEB. REV, STAT. § 76-2221, the analysis,
conclusion, or opinion of value is an appraisal under NEB. REV. STAT. § 76-
2204 and communication of the analysis, conclusion, or opinion of value is a
report under NEB. REV. STAT. § 76-2216.02.

Broker’s price opinion means an analysis, opinion, or conclusion prepared by a person

licensed under the Nebraska Real Estate License Act in the ordinary course of his or her business
relating to the price of specified interests in or aspects of identified real estate or identified real
property for the purpose of (&) listing, purchase, or sale; (b) originating, extending, renewing, or
modifying a loan in a transaction other than a federally related transaction; or (c) real property tax
appeals.

Classroom education means any activity delivered in a setting where there is no geographical
separation between the instructor(s) and attendee(s).

Conference means a formal or informal scheduled gathering in which many people discuss
problems or ideas related to a particular topic.

Continuing education means any real property appraisal practice related activity creditable
towards the renewal of a credential issued under the Act.

Core curriculum means those qualifying education courses, except for appraisal subject matter
electives, adopted in the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation as required core curriculum for credentialing as
a real property appraiser.

Correspondence education means (1) any activity delivered by technology, including

but not limited to, the internet, sateilite, or other telecommunications device, that requires a person
to be engaged at a specific time, simultaneously tied to a live, active, verbal presentation by an
instriuctor; or (2} any activity in which a person receives lessons and/or homework by mail, email,
or the internet, and completes and returns the homework in order to receive a grade.
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001.09 Course means a qualifying education activity, continuing education activity, or supervisory
real property appraiser and trainee activity that includes student material, instructor material,
learning objectives, a timed outline, a matrix if applicable, and a final exam if applicable.

001.10 Online education means any activity delivered over the internet that does not require a person to
be engaged at a specific time,

001.1} Qualifying education means any real property appraisal practice related education activity
creditable towards obtaining a credential as a real property appraiser,

001.12 Secondary provider means any education provider that purchases rights to, or otherwise lawfully
acquires from another education provider, activity materials to deliver.

001.13 True copy of report and workfile means any report and/or workfile submitted to the Board is an
exact duplicate of the report submitted to the client, as well as the exact duplicate of the workfile
associated with such report, including the quality and clarity of the print, charts, graphs, examples,
photos, and any information referenced by this Title, and including organization and presentation
of materials.

This Title applies to all persons engaged in real property appraisal aetivity-or-appraisal-practice in the State of
Nebraska, and all persons conducting business as an appraisal management company in the State of Nebraska.

The current edition of the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice is adopted as the minimum
standards governing prefessienalreal property appraisal practice in the State of Nebraska. A copy of such
standards will be supplied with the issuance of each new real property appraiser credential, and with renewal of
each real property appraiser credential. A copy of the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice is
on file and available for public inspection in the office of the Real Property Appraiser Board and may be
examined in the office of the Secretary of State.

Each credential holder is required to notify the Board in writing within ten (10) days of any change of his or her
place of business, which includes business name, address, phone number, and electronic mail address.

No advertisement by a credential holder in the State of Nebraska may use a name of a credential holder,
classification of credentialing, credential holder identification number, other than as stated on the real property
appraiser’s credentialing card issued by the Board; and any advertisement stating an address is required to state
the principal place of business as provided by the real property appraiser to the Board.

A certified real property appraiser who is approved by the Board as a supervisory real property appraiser, and is
currently acting in a supervisory capacity for one or more trainee real property appraiser(s), may advertise him
or herself as a supervisory real property appraiser, and may include the name of any trainee real property
appraiser(s) that he or she is overseeing in a supervisory capacity, as long as the advertisement clearly identifies
such person as a trainee real property appraiser. Trainee real property appraisers may not otherwise advertise.

Specialized knowledge means an advanced level of expertise obtained through education and experience with
respect to a specific subject matter that includes an advanced understanding of the principles, practices,
procedures and methods applicable to the subject matter, as well as the ability to apply such expertise to a
problem requiring an expertise that a real property appraiser could only obtain through equivalent education and
experience.

Salaried employee means any individual who is employed to perform services on behalf of an employer and
whose compensation for the services is in the form of salary, or its equivalent, paid by the employer, Employee
does not include an independent coniractor.
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Each appraisal management company shall maintain a detailed record of appraisal management services
provided under its registration. The detailed record includes, at minimum, the following information as
applicable:

(n Copy of contract or agreement, which includes date of agreement with AMC appraiser to provide the
valuation services,

(2) Name of client and intended user(s),

(3} Name and credential number of AMC appraiser,

(4) Documentation verifying AMC appraiser’s standing at the time of agreement,

(5) Address of the property(ies) that is/are the subject of the appraisal management services,

(6) Fees paid to the AMC appraiser,

(7} Date of service completion,

(8) Date payment-in-full was made to the AMC appraiser,

(9) Copy of all communication between AMC appraiser and appraisal management company,
(10) Proof that appraisal management company requires AMC appraiser to comply with USPAP,
(11) AMC appraiser’s signed consent to any subsequent, specified report modifications made by the

appraisal management company,
(12) Record of quality control or USPAP compliance, and
(13) All original or revised copies of subject report as submitted.

Any person who alleges damage by a violation of the AMC Act may file a claim against a surety bond held by
an appraisal management company registered in Nebraska. Such request will be in writing, and address the
following items:

(1 Name and contact information of requester,

(2} Name, contact information, and Nebraska registration number of appraisal management company,
(3) Address of property subject of request,

(4 Date real property appraisal practice assignment was offered,

(5) Date report was submitted,

(6) Amount owed for valuation services rendered, and

(7} Description of attempts to rectify the matter.

Any documentation in support of the request may be submitted along with the written request,

Each appraisal management company shall furnish to the board, at the time of making application, a surety
bond in the amount of twenty-five thousand dollars. The surety bond is required to be maintained until one year
afier the date that the appraisal management company ceases operation in this state, which is the date on which
the registration expires or the date on which the appraisal management company’s request to surrender its
registration is formally accepted,

ADMINISTRATIVE FEES

012.01 The fee for a Certificate of Registration required under the Nebraska Professional Corporation Act
is $25.00.
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013 APPLICATION FOR PRELIMINARY CRIMINAL HISTORY REVIEW

013.01

Pursuant to NEB. REV. STAT. § 84-947, a preliminary criminal history review will be performed

013.02

by the Board to determine whether an individual's criminal conviction(s) would disqualify the
individual from obtaining a credential as a Nebraska Real Property Appraiser. or from being a
more than 10% owner of an Appraisal Management Company (AMC)—the Board.

Any applicant for the preliminary criminal history review must submit;

013.03

013.02.A An application on a form approved by the Board;

013.02.B A written statement that details information regarding individuals current

circumstances, including the time since the offense, completion of the criminal
sentence, rehabilitation efforts, employment history. and employment
aspirations;

013.02.C Any documentation in support of individual’s written statement, includine court
records, communication and documentation related to the completion of the
criminal sentence, evidence of rehabilitation, and testimonials; and

013.02.D A non-refundable application fee of $50.00,

Only the information provided by the applicant will be reviewed by the Board. The preliminary

013.04

criminal history review is not a criminal history record check, or an application for credentialing
as a real property appraiser or for registration as an AMC.

A determination will be issued by the Board in writing within ninetv days after receiving an

013.05

application for preliminary criminal history review. If the Board determines that the individual's

criminal conviction{s) would disqualify the individual, the Board may advise the individual of any
action the individual may take to remedy the disgqualification,

If the Board finds that the individual has been convicted of one or more subsequent criminal

4|Page

convictions, the Board may rescind a determination upon finding that the subsequent criminal

conviction(s} would be disqualifying.




TITLE 298 NAC - NEBRASKA REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER BOARD
Aungust 19, 2021 Hearing Draft (Legislative)

CHAPTER 2
REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER CREDENTIAL

001 EDUCATION
To qualify for a credential as a trainee real property appraiser, licensed residential real property appraiser,
certified residential real property appraiser, or certified general real property appraiser, an applicant must
complete post-secondary education and qualifying education requirements established for each classification.

001.01  Trainee real property appraiser/supervisory real property appraiser

001.01A Pursuant to NEB. REV. STAT. § 76-2228.01 (1) (c), an applicant for the
trainee real property appraiser credential must;

001.01A1 Successfully complete 2 minimum of 75 hours in Board
approved courses of study, which includes at least:

8} The 15-hour National Uniform Standards of
Professional Appraisal Practice Course,

{2) 30 hours of basic appraisal principles, and

(3) 30 hours of basic appraisal procedures; or

001.01A.2 Hold a bacheler®s-degree exhigherin real estate from an
accredited degree-awarding college or university that has had
all or part of its curriculum approved by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board as meeting qualifying education
requirements, or the equivalent as determined by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board. If said degree or equivalent does not
satisfy all required qualifying education for credentialing, the
remaining hours shall be completed in board-approved
qualifying education.

001.01B An applicant for the trainee real property appraiser credential must provide a
completion document evidencing that a board-approved supervisory real
property appraiser and trainee course has been successfully completed within
one year inmediately preceding the date of application.

001.01C An applicant for approval as a supervisory real property appraiser must provide
a completion document evidencing that a board-approved supervisory real
property appraiser and trainee course has been successfully completed at the
time the applicant was a certified real property appraiser, A certified real
property appraiser disciplined by the Board or any other appraiser regulatory
agency in another jurisdiction, which may or may not have limited the real
propetty appraiser’s legal eligibility to engage in real property appraisal
practicesetivity, is required to provide a completion document evidencing that a
board-approved supervisory real property appraiser and trainee course was
successfully completed after the successful completion of the most recent
disciplinary action. The board-approved supervisory real property appraiser and
trainee course may be completed as a student or as an instructor.
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001.01D Supervisory Real Property Appraiser and Trainee Course
Completed in Another Jurisdiction

001.01D.1 Except for an online or correspondence activity, the Board
may accept a supervisory real property appraiser and trainee
course completed in another jurisdiction if:

001.01D.1a  The course was approved as a supervisory
real property appraiser and trainee course by
the jurisdiction in which it was completed at
the time the course was completed; and

001.01D.1b  The supervisory real property appraiser and
trainee course meets or exceeds the
requirements for approval as a supervisory
real property appraiser and traince course
outlined in Chapter 6 of this Title.

001.01D.2 The Board may accept an online or correspondence
supervisory real property appraiser and trainee course
completed in another jurisdiction ift

001.01D.2a  The activity was approved as a supervisory
real property appraiser and trainee course by
the jurisdiction in which the applicant or
credential holder was a legal resident at the
time the course was completed; and

001.011.2b  The supervisory real property appraiser and
trainee course meets or exceeds the
requirements for approval as a supervisory
real property appraiser and trainee course
outlined in Chapter 6 of this Titie.

001.01E If a trainee real property appraiser applicant, or a supervisory real property
appraiser applicant, submits a supervisory real property appraiser and trainee
course completed in another jurisdiction for consideration of acceptance by the
Board, the applicant is required to meet the requirements specified in Section
001.01B or 001.01C of this Chapter.

G6|Page
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001.02  Licensed Residential Real Property Appraiser

001.02A Pursuant to NEB, REV. STAT. § 76-2230 (1) (c), an applicant for the licensed
residential real property appraiser credential must:

001.02A.1 Successfully complete a minimum of 150 hours in board-
approved courses of study, which includes at least:

(H The 15-hour National Uniform Standards of
Professional Appraisal Practice Course,

(2) 30 hours of basic appraisal principles,

3) 30 hours of basic appraisal procedures,

4 15 hours of market analysis and highest
and best use,

{5) 15 hours of appraiser site valuation and
cost approach,

{6) 30 hours of sales comparison and income
approaches, and

N 15 hours of report writing and case
studies; or

001.02A.2 Hold a bachelor’s-degree erhisher-in real estate from an
accredited degree-awarding college or university that has had
all or part of its curriculum approved by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board as meeting qualifying education
requirements, or the equivalent as determined by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board. If said degree or equivalent does not
satisfy all required qualifying education for credentialing, the
remaining hours shall be completed in board-approved
qualifying education.

001.028B A eredentialed-real property appraiser may upgrade to the licensed residential
real property appraiser credential by satisfying the appropriate qualifying
education for the classification below;

001.02B.1 Pursuant to NEB, REV., STAT. § 76-2228.01 (4) {a), a trainee
real property appraiser must successfully complete a minimum
of 75 hours in the following board-approved courses of study,
or hold a bacheler’s-degree er-higher-in real estate from an
accredited degree-awarding college or university that has had
all or part of its curriculum approved as meeting qualifying
education requirements or the equivalent as determined by the
Appraiser Qualifications Board. If said degree or equivalent
does not satisfy all required qualifying education for
credentialing, the remaining hours shall be completed in
board-approved qualifying education:

(1) 15 hours of market analysis and highest
and best use,

(2) 15 hours of appraiser site valuation and
cost approach,

(3) 30 hours of sales comparison and income
approaches, and

{4y 15 hours of report writing and case
studies.
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001.03  Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser

001.03A

601.03B

001.03C

001.03D

$3iPage

Pursuant to NEB. REV. STAT. § 76-2231.01 (1) (d), an applicant for the
certified residential real property appraiser credential must:

001.03A.1

001.03A.2

Successfully complete a minimum of 200 hours in board-
approved courses of study, which includes at least:

1)) The 15-hour National Uniform Standards of
Professional Appraisal Practice Course,
2) 30 hours of basic appraisal principles,

3) 30 hours of basic appraisal procedures,

4) 15 hours of market analysis and highest and best use,

(5) 15 hours of appraiser site valuation and cost
approach,

(6) 30 hours of sales comparison and income approaches,

)] 15 hours of report writing and case studies,

®) 15 hours of statistics, modeling, and finance,

9 15 hours of advanced applications and case studies,
and

(10 20 hours of appraisal subject matter electives; or

Hold a bachelor’s-degree erhizherin real estate from an
accredited degree-awarding college or university that has had
all or part of its curriculum approved as meeting qualifying
education requirements or the equivalent as determined by the
Appraiser Qualifications Board. If said degree or equivalent
does not satisfy all required qualifying education for
credentialing, the remaining hours shall be completed in
board-approved qualifying education.

One quarter hour credit is equivalent to .67 semester credit hours for college-
level courses taken in a quarterly system versus a semester system.

Pursuant to NEB. REV. STAT. § 76-2231.01 (1) (b), in order to assist the Board
with its evaluation of the applicant’s college-level courses, the applicant may be
required to submit copies of course related materials.

A trainee real property appraiser may upgrade to the certified residential real
property appraiser credential by:

001.03D.1

001.03D.2

Satisfying the post-secondary education requirements in NEB.
REV. STAT. § 76-2231.01 (1) (b), or (1) (b) and {c) if
applicable; and

Pursuant to NEB. REV. STAT. § 76-2228.01 (5) (b),
successfully completing a minimom of 125 hours in the
following board-approved courses of study, or holding a
bachelor’s-degree ex-higher-in real estate from an accredited
degree-awarding college or university that has had all or part
of its curriculum approved as meeting qualifying education
requirements or the equivalent as determined by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board. If said degree or equivalent does not
satisfy all required qualifying education for credentialing, the
remaining hours shall be completed in board-approved
qualifying education:
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001.03E

(1) 15 hours of market analysis and highest and best use,

(2) 15 hours of appraiser site valuation and cost
approach,

(3) 30 hours of sales comparison and income
Approaches,

4 15 hours of report writing and case studies,

(5) 15 hours of statistics, modeling, and finance,

(6) 15 hours of advanced applications and case studies,
and

€))] 20 hours of appraisal subject matter clectives.

A licensed real property appraiser may upgrade to the certified residential real

property appraiser credential by:

001.03E.1

001.03E.2

Satisfying one of the following:
001.03E.1a  Having held a credential as a licensed real
property appraiser for a minimum of five
years, and having not been subject to a
nonappealable disciplinary action by the
Board or any other jurisdiction as specified
in NEB. REV. STAT. § 76-2230 (3) (a) (ii)
(B); or

001.03E.1b  The post-secondary education requirements
in NEB. REV. STAT. § 76-2231.01 (1) (b),
or (1) (b) and (c} if applicable; and

Pursuant to NEB. REV. STAT. § 76-2230 (3) (b),
successfully completing a minimum of 50 hours in the
following board-approved courses of study, or holding a
bachelor’s-degree or-higher-in real estate from an accredited
degree-awarding college or university that has had all or part
of its curriculum approved as meeting qualifying education
requirements or the equivalent as determined by the
Appraiser Qualifications Board. IT said degree or equivalent
does not satisfy all required qualifying education for
credentialing, the remaining hours shall be completed in
board-approved qualifying education:

) 15 hours of statistics, modeling, and finance;

(2) 15 hours of advanced applications and case studies;
and

(3) 20 hours of appraisal subject matter electives.

| Page
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001.04  Certified General Real Property Appraiser

001.04A Pursuant to NEB. REV. STAT. § 76-2232 (1) (d), an applicant for the certified
general real property appraiser credential must:

001.04A.1 Successfully complete 2 minimum of 300 hours in board-
approved courses of study, which includes at least:

)] The 15-hour National Uniform Standards of
Professional Appraisal Practice Course,

2) 30 hours of basic appraisal principles,

(3) 30 hours of basic appraisal procedures,

“ 30 hours of general appraiser market analysis and
highest and best use,

(%) 30 hours of general appraiser site valuation and cost
approach,

(6) 30 hours of general appraiser sales comparison
approach,

N 60 hours of general appraiser income approach,

8 30 hours of general appraiser report writing and case
studies,

(9) 15 hours of statistics, modeling, and finance, and

(10) 30 hours of appraisal subject matter electives; or

001.04A.2 Hold a bacheloris-degree or-hicher-in real estate from an
accredited degree-awarding college or university that has had
all or part of its curriculum approved by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board as meeting qualifying education
requirements, or the equivalent as determined by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board. If said degree or equivalent does not
satisfy all required qualifying education for credentialing, the
remaining hours shall be completed in board-approved
qualifying education,

001.04B A eredentialed-real property appraiser may upgrade to the certified general real
property appraiser credential by satisfying the post-secondary education
requirements in NEB. REV. STAT. § 76-2232 (1) (b), or (1) (b) and (¢) if
applicable, and the appropriate qualifying education for the classification below:

001.04B.1 Pursuant to NEB. REV. STAT. § 76-2228.01 () (b), a trainee
real property appraiser must successfully complete a minimum
of 225 hours in the following board-approved courses of
study, or hold a bachelor’s-degree er-higherin real estate from
an aceredited degree-awarding college or university that has
had all or part of its curriculum approved as meeting
qualifying education requirements or the equivalent as
determined by the Appraiser Qualifications Board. If said
degree or equivalent does not satisfy all required qualifying
education for credentialing, the remaining hours shall be
completed in board-approved qualifying education:

§))] 30 hours of general appraiser market analysis and
highest and best use,

2) 30 hours of general appraiser site valuation and cost
approach,

MiPage



TITLE 298 NAC - NEBRASKA REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER BOARD
August 19, 2621 Hearing Draft (Legislative)

001.04B.2

001.04B.3

IN1Page

{3) 30 hours of general appraiser sales comparison
approach,

{4) 60 hours of general appraiser income approach,

{5) 30 hours of general appraiser report writing and case
studies,

{6) 15 hours of statistics, modeling, and finance, and

{7 30 hours of appraisal subject matter electives.

Pursuant to NEB. REV, STAT, § 76-2230 (4) (b), a licensed
residential real property appraiser must successfully complete
a minimum of 150 hours in the following board-approved
courses of study, or hold a bachelor’s-degree or-higher-in real
estate from an accredited degree-awarding college or
university that has had all or part of its curriculum approved as
meeting qualifying education requirements or the equivalent
as determined by the Appraiser Qualifications Board. If said
degree or equivalent does not satisfy all required qualifying
education for credentialing, the remaining hours shall be
completed in board-approved qualifying education:

(H 15 hours of general appraiser market analysis and
highest and best use,

(2) 15 hours of general appraiser site valuation and cost
approach,

(3) 15 hours of general appraiser sales comparison
approach,

4 45 hours of general appraiser income approach,

(5) 15 hours of general appraiser report writing and case
studies,

(6) 15 hours of statistics, modeling, and finance, and

(N 30 hours of appraisal subject matter electives,

Pursuant to NEB. REV, STAT, § 76-2231.01 (3} (b), a
certified residential real property appraiser must successfully
complete a minimum of 100 hours in the following board-
approved courses of study, or hold a bachelor’s-degree er
highesin real estate from an accredited degree-awarding
college or university that has had all or part of its curriculum
approved as meeting qualifying education requirements or the
equivalent as determined by the Appraiser Qualifications
Board. if said degree or equivalent does not satisfy all required
qualifying education for credentialing, the remaining hours
shall be completed in board-approved qualifying education:

(1) 15 hours of general appraiser market analysis and
highest and best use,

(2) 15 hours of general appraiser site valuation and cost
approach,

3 15 hours of general appraiser sales comparison
approach,

(%) 45 hours of general appraiser income approach, and

(5) 10 hours of general appraiser report writing and case
studies.
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An applicant for the trainee, licensed residential, certified residential, or certified general real
property appraiser credential must provide evidence that the required qualifying education has
been successfully completed. Each applicant will be required to furnish:

001.05A A document of completion for each qualifying education course; and/or

001.05B An official transeript from the university or college at which the applicant
obtained a bachelor’s-degree er-higher-in real estate that has had all or part of
its curriculum approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board as meeting
qualifying education requirements, or the equivalent as determined by the
Appraiser Qualifications Board. Transcripts may be submitied in paper, or
electronically through a secure site if the transcript is marked as official and the
Board is provided access directions directly from the school.

Qualifying Education Completed in Another Jurisdiction

001.06A Except for an online or correspondence activity, the Board may accept a
qualifying education activity completed in another
jurisdiction if:

001.06A.1 The activity was approved as qualifying education by the
jurisdiction in which it was completed at the time the activity
was completed; and

001.06A.2 The qualifying education activity meets or exceeds the
requirements for approval as a qualifying education activity
outlined in Chapter 6 of this Title,

001.06B The Board may accept an online or correspondence qualifying education activity
completed in another jurisdiction if:

001.06B.1 The activity was approved as qualifying education by the
Jjurisdiction in which the credential holder was a legal resident
at the time the activity was completed; and

001.06B.2 The qualifying education activity meets or exceeds the
requirements for approval as qualifying education activity
outlined in Chapter 6 of this Title.

001.06C If the applicant submits a quatifying education activity completed in another
jurisdiction for consideration of acceptance by the Board, the applicant will
furnish a document of completion for the activity.

An applicant for the certified residential or certified general real property appraiser credential shafl
furnish an official transcript from the university, college, or community college as proof that the
post-secondary education requirements have been met. Transcripts may be submitted in paper, or
electronically through a secure site if the transcript is marked as official and the Board is provided
access directions directly from the school.
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EXPERIENCE

002.01

002.02

002.03

02.04

002.05

002.06

002.07
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After January 1, 2014, real property appraisal practice experience obtained within the State of
Nebraska, or as a resident of the State of Nebraska, for credentialing as a licensed residential,
certified residential, or certified general real property appraiser must be acquired as a trainee real
property appraiser, registered real property appraiser, licensed residential real property appraiser,
or certified residential real properiy appraiser.

At the Board’s discretion, up io 50% of the real property appraisal practice experience required for
credentialing as a licensed residential, certified residential, or certified general real property
appraiser may be obtained in another jurisdiction. This real property appraisal practice experience
may be accepted by the Board if the real property appraisal practice experience is compliant with
the laws of the jurisdiction in which it was obtained,

An applicant’s hours of real property appraisal practice experience submitted to the Board for
review and determination of acceptability by the Board shall:

002.03A Demonstrate the applicant’s progressive responsibility in the development and
reporting of assignment resultsn-appraisal, which includes analyzing factors that
affect value, defining the problem, gathering and analyzing data, applying the
appropriate analysis and methodology, arriving at an opinion, and correctly
reporting the opinion; and

002.03B Be completed in compliance with the Uniform Standards of Professional
Appraisal Practice.

An applicant must provide significant real property appraisal practice assistance for real property
appraisal practice experience credit to be awarded by the Board. An applicant may apply his or her
signature, along with the supervisory real property appraiser’s signature if applicable, to the
appraisal certification; or the applicant must be given attribution in the assignment resultsappraisal
report, which wilkincludes a description of the applicant’s significant real property appraisal
practice assistance.

Real property appraisal practice eExperience hours obtained in any manner considered exempt
from the Real Property Appraiser Act per NEB. REV. STAT. § 76-2221 will not be credited to the
applicant, unless the applicant and/or supervisory real property appraiser verifies that said real
property appraisal practice experience is compliant with the Uniform Standards of Professional
Appraisal Practice,

There need not be a client in a traditional sense (i.e. a client hiring ar real property appraiser for a
business purpose) in order for an assignment resultsappraisal report to qualify for real property
appraisal practice experience, but real property appraisal practice experience gained for work
without a traditional client cannot exceed 50% of the total real property appraisal practice
experience requirement.

Real property Aappraisal practice experience submitted to the Board for review and determination
of acceptability by the Board may include no more than an aggregate maximum of 25% of the
total number of real property appraisal practice experience hours in the following areas or a
combination from the following areas;

) mass appraisal,

2) highest and best use analysis,
3 ad valorem tax appraisal,

(4) feasibility analysis or study,
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(5) appraisal review,

(6) practicum courses of study adhering to AQB guidelines,
N appraisal analysis, or

(8 restricted appraisal reports,

Real property appraisal practice eExperience hours obtained in the areas specified above are
considered to be work without a fraditional client, and are applied to the 50% real property
appraisal practice experience allocation in Section 002.06 of this Chapter.

With the exception of Section 002.06 and Section 002.07 of this Chapter, the Board may accept
areas of experience upon demonstration by the applicant that such experience directly relates to

training and improvement of skills used in the-aetual praetice-ofreal property appraisal practice,

Each applicant for the licensed residential, certified residential, or certified general real property
appraiser credential will furnish a log of his or her most recent real property appraisal practice
experience claimed on a form approved by the Board. The real property appraisal practice
experience must be in chronological order on the log, and include an applicant signature, and the
supervisory real property appraiser signature if applicable, on each page. At a minimum, the real
propetty appraisal practice experience log shall identify the following:

(n The date the assignment resulisppraisat report was signed,
2) Name of client and property identification, which includes a legal description or address,

(3) Description of real property appraisal practicewesl as performed by the applicant,

4 Scope of supervisory real property appraiser review if applicable,

(5) Type of property,

(6) Type of report,

) Approaches to value utilized,

(8 Verification that assignment results arcappraisal-work-is compliant with the Uniform
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice,

{9) Verification that the assignment resultsppraisal report was for a traditional client or non-
traditional client, and

(10)  Number of hours worked by the applicant and supervisory real property appraiser if
applicable.

The real property appraisal practice experience log format in effect at the time application is made
to the Board will be accepted, as well as any previously approved experience log formats in effect
at the time the real property appraisal practice experience was obtained and recorded. Al real

property appraisal practice experience requirements in place at the time application is made to the

Board are applicable regardless of the real property appraisal practice experience log format
submitted.

A separate real property appraisal practice log shall be maintained by a trainee real property
appraiser for each of his/her Board designated supervisory real property appraisers. It is the
responsibility of both the supervisory real property appraiser and the trainee real property
appraiser to ensure the log is accurate, current, and complies with the requirements of the Act and
this Title. When the trainee real property appraiser is under the direct supervision of more than one
supervisory real property appraiser while engaged in real property appraisal practiceaetivity for an
single-appraisal-assignment, each log shall reflect the specific number of hours and descraptlon of
work performed in that real property appraisal practice assignment with each supervisory real

property appraiser.

A trainee real property appraiser is entitled to obtain copies of reports he or she has prepared and
workfiles for those reports, The supervisory real property appraiser shall keep copies of reports for
a period of five years, or at least two years after the final disposition of any judicial proceedings in
which the real property appraiser provided testimony related to the real property appraisal practice
assignment, whichever period expires last.
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Pursuant to NEB, REV. STAT. §§ 76-2230 (1)(d), 76-2231.01 (1)}{e), and 76-2232 (1)(e), the
Board will consider the aggregate number of real property appraisal practice experience hours
reporied on each real property appraisal practice experience log submitted by the applicant
beginning on the experience-log entry indicating the earliest date on which real property appraisal
practice experiencess-appraisal_was obtainedsisied and ending on the date the application for
credentialing as a licensed residential, certified residential, or certified general real property
appraiser eredential-was signed by the applicant.

A representative sampling of real property appraisal practice experience submitted by the
applicant on his or her real property appraisal practice experience log will be evaluated to
determine if the real property appraisal practice experience meefs the requirements of the Act and
this Chapter, If the real property appraisal practice experience log submitted by the applicant is
accepled, the Board’s staff will select a minimum of three reports from the real property appraisal
practice experience log for the Board’s review to qualify the real property appraisal practice
experience. The following additional criteria are applied to the report selection for each level of
credential:

002.14A To qualify the real property appraisal practice experience of an applicant for the
licensed residential real property appraiser credential, a minimum of three
reports related to residential property will be selected.

002.148 To qualify the real property appraisal practice experience of an applicant for the
certified residential real property appraiser credential, @ minimum of one report
related to a two-to-four unit residential property, one report related to a
residential property 0 to 20 years old, and one report refated to a residential
property 20 years or older will be selected by the Board’s staff. Two selected
reports will include at least two approaches to value.

002.14C To qualify the real property appraisal practice experience of an applicant for the
certified general real property appraiser credential, a minimum of three reports
related to income producing properties will be selected by the Board’s staff.
Two selected reports will include all three approaches to value.

The applicant will be notified of the selected reports in writing, and will have 10 business days
from the date of receipt of the notification to submit a true and accurate copy of each report to the
Board’s office.

To assist the Board with its evaluation of the applicant’s real property appraisal practice
experience, at least one of the three requested reports will be, at a minimum, reviewed for
conformity with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice. The Board may enter
into a contract with a qualified disinterested third party certified real property appraiser for-
completion of an appraisal review assignment on any of the requested reports at no cost to the
applicant. The Board may require the applicant to submit additional details or to submit additional
reports or file memoranda prepared by the applicant.

Verification of the applicant’s real property appraisal practice experience may be obtained from
other persons as needed.

If the Board determines an applicant may not meet the applicable real property appraisal practice
experience requirements, it will notify the applicant in writing. The Board may, at its discretion,
request a written response from the applicant to the Board’s findings as to the applicant’s real
property appraisal practice experience and/or invite the applicant to meet to discuss any
deficiencies found in the report(s). Upon conclusion of the meeting, the Board may re-evaluate the

applicant’s real property appraisal practice experience.




TITLE 298 NAC - NEBRASKA REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER BOARD
August 19, 2021 Hearing Draft (Legislative)

l6|Page

002.18A

If the applicant’s real property appraisal practice experience is not acceptable to
the Board, the Board may, at its own discretion, require the applicant to obtain
additional education, and/or submit one or more supplemental reat property

appraisal practice experience logs with additional hours of real property
appraisal practice experience, and/or submit one or more additional reports.

002.18A.1

002.18A.2

002.18A.3

If the Board requires the completion of additional education,
the applicant will be notified of the conditions for the
additional education in writing,

If the Board requires the submission of one or more
supplemental real property appraisal practice experience logs,
the applicant will be notified of the conditions for the
supplemental log(s) in writing. The Board may select a
representative sampling of one or more additional report(s) for
review from any supplemental-experience log requested by the
Board to qualify the real property appraisal practice
experience. If the Board selects any additional report(s) from a
supplemental-experience log;

002.18A.2a  The applicant will be notified of the Board
selected report(s) in writing, and will have
10 business days from the date of receipt of
the notification to submit a true copy of each
report to the Board’s office. The Board may
require the applicant to submit additional
details or to submit additional reports or file
memoranda prepared by the applicant.

002.18A.2b  Each additional report requested by the
Board will be, at a minimum, reviewed for
conformity with the Uniform Standards of
Professional Appraisal Practice. At the
Board’s discretion, the Board may enter into
a contract with a qualified disinterested third
party certified real property appraiser for
completion of an appraisal review
assignment on any of the requested reports
to assist the Board with its review. The
applicant is responsible for any costs
incurred by the Board for such review,

If the Board requires submission of one or more additional
reports, the applicant will be notified of the conditions for the
additional report(s) in writing:

002.18A.3a  Upon receipt of the requested report(s), the
Board may require the applicant to submit
additional details or to submit additional
reports or file memoranda prepared by the
applicant.
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002.18A.3b  Each additional report requested by the
Board will be, at a minimum, reviewed for
conformity with the Uniform Standards of
Professional Appraisal Practice. At the
Board’s discretion, the Board may enter into
a contract with a qualified disinterested third
party certified real property appraiser for
completion of an appraisal review
assignment on any of the requested reports
to assist the Board with its review. The
apphicant is responsible for any costs
incurred by the Board for such review.

002.18B If the applicant’s real property appraisal practice experience is not acceptable
upon review of the additional education, supplemental real property appraisal
practice experience log(s), and/or additional report(s), the Board may deny the
application.

When making a determination that an applicant may or may not meet the applicable real property
appraisal_practice experience requirements, the Board will consider all information received,
including buf not limited to real property appraisal practice experience logs, appraisal review
reports, reports submitted by the applicant, any written responses received, any other details or file
memoranda, any subsequent education requested by the Board to be completed by the applicant,
and any information obtained during an informal meeting between the Board or its
representative(s) and the applicant. An appraisal review report completed to assist the Board with
its evaluation of the applicant’s experience is not the sole factor in the Board’s decision, but a tood
utilized by the Board to assist with its decision.

EXAMINATION

Each applicant for the licensed residential, certified residential, and certified general real property appraiser
credential shall pass the National Uniform Licensing and Certification Examination, as developed and approved
by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation, prior to being issued a credential by the

Board.

003.01

003.02

003.03
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The Board may enter into contract with one or more Appraiser Qualifications Board-approved
administrators for the National Uniform Licensing and Certification Examination, The format,
content, method of administration of examinations, and passing standards, are determined by the
Board. The date, time, and location for examinations are established by the test administrators.

Any applicant for the licensed residential, certified residential, or certified general real property
appraiser credential may sit for the National Uniform Licensing and Certification Examination, as
developed and approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation, in
another jurisdiction if the applicant is approved by the Board to sit for examination, the
examination is administered by a test administrator approved by the Appraiser Qualifications
Board of The Appraisal Foundation, and the examination is administered and scored in accordance
with the laws of that jurisdiction.

Upon approval of a processed application for credentialing as a licensed residential, certified
residential, or certified general real property appraiser; approval of qualifying education; and
approval and qualification of real property appraisal practice experience, an applicant may be
approved by the Board to sit for examination. The applicant will be notified in writing or by
electronic communication of the procedure for enrolling for the examination and examination site,
The applicant will submit the required examination fee to the test administrator.
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An applicant may have up to three attempts to successfully pass the National Uniform Licensing

and Certification Examination within twelve months from the date the applicant was approved by
the Board to sit for examination. If an applicant fails to pass the examination on the first or second
attempt, he or she may notify the Board for approval to retake the examination. An applicant who
does not pass the examination may submit any required fees to the test administrator for retesting.

Amn applicant who has successfully passed the National Uniform Licensing and Certification
Examination may provide an official copy of the test results to the Board’s office within twelve
months from the date the applicant was approved by the Board to sit for examination.

Each applicant shalil follow the rules imposed by the administrator of the examination, No
applicant may receive or give any assistance during an examination. Violation of these rules may
be reason for denial of a credential.

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable accommodation will be
provided to all applicants; and the Board may authorize an examination to be administered to an
individual orally or by other technique.

APPLICATION

004.01

I8iPage

Trainee Real Property Appraiser and Supervisory Real Property Appraiser
Requirements

004.01A Any applicant for the traince real property appraiser credential must:

004.01A.1 Submit an application and required documentation on forms
approved by the Board showing compliance by the applicant
with all credentialing requirements established by the Act or
by this Title;

004.01A.2 Pay a non-refundable application fee of $150.00; and

004.01A.3 Pay a non-refundable criminal history record check fee of
$45.25.

004.01B Any application received at the Board’s office considered to be incomplete will
not be processed, and may be returned to the applicant as incomplete., Any
application not considered to be incomplete will be processed.

004.01C If an-application-is-processedand-the Board’s director finds that the applicant

meets the general and education requirements in the Act and this Title, the
application will be considered a completed application and a credential may be
issued to the applicant. If the Board’s director finds that the applicant may not
meet one or more of the requirements in the Act and this Title, the application
shall be placed before the Board for consideration. If the Board finds that the
applicant meets the general and education requirements in the Act and this Title,
the application will be considered a completed application and a credential may
be issued to the applicant.

004.01D Upon the approval as a trainee real property appraiser, the applicant will be
issued:
(1) A letter notifying him or her of his or her status as a Nebraska

eredentialed-trainee real property appraiser,
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() A wall certificate on a form approved by the Board, and
3) Instructions to access his or her credentialing card.

The Board may deny an application at any time during the process if the Board
finds that the applicant fails to meet the requirements in the Act and/or this
Title that pertain to credentialing. Before submitting a new application, the
Applicant may be required by the Board to:

004.01E.1 Complete additional education; and/or

004.01KE.2 Not reapply for the trainee real property appraiser
classification for an amount of time to be determined by the
Board.

If the Board denies an application for any reason excluding the national criminal
history record check, the applicant may file a new application, and if so, meet
the requirements in place at the time a new application is submitted to the
Board.

If the fingerprint-based national criminal history record check result is the basis
for denial, the applicant is entitled to a copy of his or her national criminal
history record, and an opportunity to dispute the result.

004.01G.1 In order to receive a copy of such record, the applicant shall;

004.01G.1a  in person, complete a form approved by the
Board that relieves the Board from any
liability related to the release of the national
criminal history record; and

004.01G.1b  Present a passport, driver’s license, or other
government-issued identification card with a
photograph to be copied by the Board.

004.01G.2 If the applicant provides evidence acceptable to the Board that
the fingerprint-based national criminal history record check
result that was the basis for denial is incorrect, the Board may
reconsider the application.

A trainee real property appraiser may request approval for a supervisory

real property appraiser at any time after he or she is issued a credential as a
trainee real property appraiser by the Board provided the credential is current
and active. The trainee real property appraiser is not required to submit an
additional application for approval as a trainee real property appraiser, or pay
any additional fees. Each request made by a trainee real property appraiser for
approval of a supervisory real property appraiser will be submitted to the Board
on a form approved by the Board.

Any applicant for approval as a supervisory real property appraiser must apply
his or her signature on the application submitted by a trainee real property
appraiser showing compliance by the applicant with all supervisory real property
appraiser requirements established by the Act or by this Title. Along with the
application, the trainee real property appraiser must submit any documentation
required for supervisory real property appraiser approval,
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Any application for approval as a supervisory real property appraiser received at
the Board’s office considered to be incomplete will not be processed, and may
be returned to the trainee real property appraiser as incomplete._Any application
for approval as a supervisory real property appraiser not considered to be
incomplete will be processed.

A 2130
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i : ~If the Board’s director finds that the applicant
meets the requirements in the Act and this Title, and the certified real property
appraiser is in good standing, the application will be considered a completed
application and the applicant may be approved as a supervisory real property
appraiser. If the Board’s director finds that the applicant may not meet one or
more of the requirements in the Act and this Title, the application shall be
placed before the Board for consideration. If the Board finds that the applicant
meets the requirements in the Act and this Title, and the ceitified real property
appraiser is in good standing. the application will be considered a completed
application and the applicant may be approved as a supervisory real property
appraiser.

Upon approval of a supervisory real property appraiser, the supervisory real
property appraiser and the trainee real property appraiser will each be issued a
letter notifying them of the supervisory real property appraiser’s approval.

The Board may deny an application for approval as a supervisory real property
appraiser at any time during the process if the Board finds that the supervisory
real property appraiser applicant, or the trainee real property appraiser, fails to
nieet the requirements in the Act and/or this Title that pertain to approval as a
trainee real property appraiser and/or approval as a supervisory real property
appraiser. Before submitting a new application, the supervisory real property
appraiser applicant and/or the trainee real property appraiser may be required by
the Board to:

004.01M.1  Complete additional education; and/or

004.01M.2  Not reapply for the trainee real property appraiser
classification, and/or approval as a supervisory real property
appraiser, for an amount of time to be determined by the
Board.

If the Board denies an application for approval as a supervisory real property
appraiser, the trainee real property appraiser may file a new application for the
supervisory real property appraiser applicant. The supervisory real property
appraiser applicant must meet the requirements pertaining to approval as a
supervisory real property appraiser in place at the time a new application is
submitted to the Board.

If disciplinary action is taken against a supervisory real property appraiser by the
Board, or any other appraiser regulatory agency in any other jurisdiction, the
supervisory real property appraiser’s approval will be revoked as of the date of
action by the Board or other jurisdiction.




TITLE 298 NAC - NEBRASKA REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER BOARD

004.02

2I|Page

004.01P

August 19, 2021 Hearing Draft (Legislative)

Any certified real property appraiser that has been approved by the Board as a
supervisory real property appraiser, and is currently acting in a supervisory
capacity for one or more trainee real property appraisers, may use the title
supervisory real property appraiser or designation “S.R.P.A.” in conjunction
with his or her name.

Licensed Residential, Certified Residential, and Certified General Real
Property Appraiser Credentialing

004.02A

004.02B

004.02C

004.02D

004.02E

004.02F

004.02G

Any applicant for the licensed residential, certified residential, and certified
general real property appraiser credential must:

004.02A.1 Submit an application and required documentation for the
appropriate classification on forms approved by the Board
showing compliance by the applicant with all credentialing
requirements established by the Act or by this Title;

004.02A.2 Pay a non-refundable application fee of $150.00; and

004.02A.3 Pay a non-refundable criminal history record check fee of
$45.25.

Any application received at the Board’s office considered to be incomplete will
not be processed, and may be returned to the applicant as incomplete. Any
application not considered to be incomplete will be processed.,

If an-applieation-is-processed;-and-the Board finds that the applicant meets the

general, education, and experience requirements in the Act and this Title, the
Board may approve the applicant to sit for examination.

If an official copy of the test results is provided within twelve months from the
date the applicant was approved by the Board to sit for examination showing
that he or she has successfully passed the National Uniform Licensing and
Certification Examination, the application will be considered a completed
application and a credential may be issued to the applicant.

Within thirty days of approval by the Board that the applicant may be issued a
credential as aferthe licensed residential, certified residential, or certified
general real property appraiser-eredential, an applicant shall pay a non-
refundable credentialing fee of $300.00 before the applicant is authorized to act
as a real property appraiser within the applied for classification in this State.

Within thirty days of approval by the Board that the applicant may be issued a
credential as afor-the licensed residential, certified residential, or certified
general real property appraiser-eredential, an applicant that does not hold a
current licensed residential, certified residential, or certified general real
property appraiser credential issued by the Board shall pay an annual National
Registry fee of $40.00 before the applicant is authorized to act as a real property
appraiser in this State.

If an applicant fails to provide the required fees as specified in Section 004,02E
and Section 004.02F of this Chapter, the application will be placed before the
Board for reconsideration.
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Upon receipt of the required fees at the Board’s office, the applicant will be
issued:

(1) A letter notifying him or her of his or her status as a Nebraska
eredentialed-real property appraiser, and that his or her credential will
be entered into the Appraisal Subcommittee’s National Registry,

{2) A wall certificate on a form approved by the Board, and

3) Instructions to access his or her credentialing card,

The Board may deny an application at any time during the process if the
applicant fails to meet the requirements in the Act and/or this Title that pertain
to credentialing, Before submitting a new application, the applicant may be
required by the Board to:

004.021.1 Complete additional education;

004.021.2 Obtain additional real property appraisal practice experience;
and/or

004.021.3 Not reapply for the same classification of credentialing for an
amount of time to be determined by the Board,

If the Board denies an application for any reason excluding the national criminal
history record check, the applicant may file a new application, and if so, meet
the requirements in place at the time a new application is submitted to the
Board. If a new application for credentialing in the same classification is
received within one year of the Board’s denial of a previous application by the
applicant, and one or more reports were reviewed for conformity with the
Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice by a qualified
disinterested third party certified real property appraiser to assist the Board with
evaluation of the applicant’s experience for that previous application, the
applicant shall pay any cost(s) associated with any report(s) reviewed in
accordance with Section 002 of this Chapter,

if the fingerprint-based national criminal history record check result is the basis
for denial, the applicant is entitled to a copy of his or her national criminal
history record, and an opportunity to dispute the result,

004.02K.1  Inorder to receive a copy of such record, the applicant shall:

004.02K.1a  In person, complete a form approved by the
Board that relieves the Board from any
liability related to the release of the national
criminal history record; and

004.02K.1b  Present a passport, driver’s license, or other
government-issued identification card with a
photograph to be copied by the Board,

004.02K.2  If the applicant provides evidence acceptable to the Board that
the fingerprint-based national criminal history record check
result that was the basis for denial is incorrect, the Board may
reconsider the application.
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CHAPTER 3
RECIPROCITY AND TEMPORARY REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER
CREDENTIAL

RECIPROCITY

This Section applies to individuals currently credentialed in another jurisdiction who wish to obtain a non-
temporary Nebraska credential. To qualify for a credential as a licensed residential real property appraiser, a
certified residential real property appraiser, or a certified general real property appraiser through reciprocity, an
applicant must be currently credentialed to appraise real estate and real property under the laws of another
Jjurisdiction, and must comply with all of the provisions of the Real Property Appraiser Act and this Title
relating to the appropriate classification of credentialing,

001.01 Any applicant for the licensed residential, certified residential, and certified general real property
appraiser credential through reciprocity must:

001.01A Submit an application and required documentation for the appropriate
classification on forms approved by the Board showing compliance by the
applicant with all credentialing requirements established by the Act or by this

Title;
001.01B Pay a non-refundable application fee of $150.00; and
001.01C Pay a non-refundable criminal history record check fee of $45.25.

001.02 Any application received at the Board’s office considered to be incomplete will not be processed,
and may be returned to the applicant as incomplete. Any application not considered to be
incomplete will be processed.

001.03 Tthe application will be considered a completed application and a credential may be issued to the
applicant, if tand-the Board’s director finds that the applicant;

001,03A Mmeets the requirements in the Act and this Title;-and

001.038 Tthe requirements of the applicant’s jurisdiction of practice meets or exceeds the
minimum requirements of the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria as
adopted and promulgated by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The
Appraisal Foundation;; and

001.03C -Tthe regulatory program of the applicant’s jurisdiction of practice specified in
an application for credentialing is determined to be effective in accordance with
Title XI of the Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of
1989 by the Appraisal Subcommittee of the Federal Financial Institutions
Examination Council. Aan Appraisal Subcommittee finding of poor does not
satisfy the reguirement that the applicant’s jurisdiction of practice is effective in
accordance with Title XI of the Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery. and
Enforcement Act of 1989,
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=If the Board’s director finds that the applicant may not meet one or more of the

requirements specified in Section 001.04A, 001.04B, or 001.04C of this Chapter, the application
shall be placed before the Board for consideration. If the Board finds that the applicant meets the
requirements specified in Section 001.04A, 001.04B, or 01.04C of this Chapter, the application
will be considered a completed application and a credential may be issued to the applicant. Fer-the
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Within thirty days of approval by-the-Beard-that the applicant may be issued a credential as afor
the licensed residential, certified residential, or certified general real property appraiser-credential,
an applicant shall pay a non-refundable credentialing fee of $300.00 before the applicant is
authorized to act as a real property appraiser within the applied for classification in this State.

Within thirty days of approval by-the-Beard-that the applicant may be issued a credential as a for
the-licensed residential, certified residential, or certified general real property appraiser-eredential,
an applicant that does not hold a current licensed residential, certified residential, or certified
general real property appraiser credential issued by the Board shall pay an annual National
Registry fee of $40.00 before the applicant is authorized to act as a real property appraiser in this
State.

If an applicant fails to provide the required fees as specified in Section 001.05 and Section 001.06
of this Chapter, the application will be placed before the Board for reconsideration.

Upon receipt of the required fees at the Board’s office, the applicant will be issued:

(0 A letter notifying him or her of his or her status as a Nebraska credentialedreal property
appraiser, and that his or her credential will be entered into the Appraisal Subcommittee’s

National Registry,
2) A wall certificate on a form approved by the Board, and
3) Instructions to access his or her credentialing card.

The Board may deny an application at any time during the process if the applicant fails to meet the
requirements in the Act and/or this Title that pertain to credentialing. Before submitting a new
application, the applicant may be required by the Board to:

001.09A Complete additional education;
001.098B Obtain additional real property appraisal practice experience; and/or
001.09C Not reapply for the same classification of credentialing for an amount of time to

be determined by the Board.

If the Board denies an application for any reason excluding the national criminal history record
check, the applicant may file a new application, and if so, meet the requirements in place at the
time a new application is submitted to the Board.

If the fingerprint-based national criminal history record check result is the basis for denial, the
applicant is entitled to a copy of his or her national criminal history record, and an opportunity to
dispute the result,

001.11A In oder to receive a copy of such record, the applicant shall:
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001.11A.1 In person, complete a form approved by the Board that
relieves the Board from any liability related to the release of
the national criminal history record; and

001.11A.2 Present a passport, driver’s license, or other government-
issued identification card with a photograph to be copied by
the Board.

001.11B If the applicant provides evidence acceptable to the Board that the fingerprint-
based national criminal history record check result that was the basis for denial
is incorrect, the Board may reconsider the application,

TEMPORARY CREDENTIAL

For & nonresident to qualify for a temporary credential as a licensed residential real property appraiser, a
certified residential real property appraiser, or a certified general real property appraiser, an applicant must be
currently credentialed to appraisereal-estate-and-engaee in real property appraisal practice under the laws of
another jurisdiction, and must comply with all of the provisions of the Act and this Title relating to temporary
credentialing.

002.01 Any applicant for a temporary licensed residential, certified residential, or certified general real
Property appraiser credential must:

002.01A Submit an application and required documentation for the appropriate
classification on forms approved by the Board showing compliance by the
applicant with all temporary credentialing requirements established by the Act

or by this Title;
002.01B Submit a letter of engagement or contract indicating the location(s) and property
types of the real property appraisal practice assignment and completion date;
002.01C Pay a non-refundable temporary credential application fee of $100,00; and
302.01D Pay a non-refundable temporary credentialing fee of $50.00.

002,02 Any application received at the Board’s office considered to be incomplete will not be processed,
and may be returned to the applicant as incomplete. Any application not considered to be
incomplete will be processed.

002.03 If the applicant meets the requirements in the Act and this Title, the application will be considered
a completed application and athe temporary credential may be issued to the applicant by Board
staff. If the Board’s director finds that the applicant may not meet one or more of the requirements
in the Act and this Title, the application shall be placed before the Board for consideration, If the
Board finds that the applicant meets the requirements in the Act and this Title, the application will
be considered a completed application and a temporary credential may be issued to the applicant.

002.04 Upon approval of the application, the applicant will be issued:

002.04A A letter notifying him or her of their approval as a temporary credentiat holder,
along with the terms of the temporary credential;

002.04B A credentialing card in a form approved by the Board; and

002.04C Instructions to access his or her credentialing card if needed.
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An application may be denied at any time during the process if the applicant is found to not meet
the requirements in the Act and this Title that pertain to temporary credentialing.

Any request for one additional six-month approval of a temporary credential shall be made to the
Board on forms approved by the Board. The request will be denied if the reason for the request of
the additional six-month approval is not directly related to the initial approval granted by the
Board. Notice of the decision will be provided to the requestor in writing.

CHAPTER 4
RENEWAL OF REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER CREDENTIAL

CONTINUING EDUCATION

Every credential holder other than a temporary credential holder must satisfactorily complete no fewer than
twenty-eight hours of approved continuing education activities in each two-year continuing education period.
The basic requirements for continuing education are found in NEB.REV .STAT. § 76-2236. Except for the
seven-hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice Update course, hours may be
completed at any time during the two-year continuing education period.

001.01

001.02

001.03

001.04

001.05

001.06
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The seven-hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice Update course or
the seven-hour Instructor Recertification course must be completed at least once every two
calendar years. The two-year period for this course begins one day after the course was last
completed, or one day afier a new credential is issued by the Board, A document certifying
completion of the seven-hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice
Update course, or evidence of instructor certification by the Appraiser Qualifications Board, shall
be submitted prior to December 31 of the year in which the course is required.

Except for the seven-hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice Update
course, evidence of continuing education completion may be submitted to the Board’s office at
any time during credential holder’s two-year continuing education period.

Except for the seven-hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice Update
course, and any activity approved by the Board on an annual basis in which the content changes on
an annual basis, any education activity of the same content, or in the opinion of the Board
indistinguishable in content, cannot be used towards meeting the continuing education
requirements within the same two-year continuing education period,

Evidence of participation as a student in each board-approved education activity submitted for
continuing education credit includes a document of completion from the education provider that
affirms successful completion of each activity.

Evidence of attendance at an education activity sponsored or conducted by the Board submitted
for continuing education credit includes a document of completion from the Board that affirms
attendance of such activity. The document is required to include the name of credential holder,
name of activity, location of activity, activity attendance date(s), number of hours completed, and
signature of the Board’s director,

Evidence of participation, other than as a student, in real property appraisal practice education
processes and programs includes a written description of the process or program and the credential
holder’s participation, along with any documents supporting the credential holder’s participation.
Evidence may include, but is not limited to, documentation showing hours of instruction and
evidence of activity offering, program documents developed by the credential holder with
evidence supporting credential holder’s participation, and/or credit awarded for authorship or
participation in publication.
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Any education activity successfully completed to make up a deficiency of the continuing
education requirements in a two-year continuing education period may not be used toward the
continuing education requiremnents in the subsequent continuing education period.

Any education activity successfully completed as a result of disciplinary action taken by the Board
may not be used toward the continuing education requirements.

Individual Program of Continuing Education

001.09A

001.09B

001.09C

The Board may adopt an individual program of continuing education for a
credential holder, that is compliant with Appraiser Qualifications Board criteria
for continuing education, upon receipt of a written request from the credential
holder explaining:

(n The circumstances resulting in the request,

2) Why an exception should be made,

(3) How an individual program of continuing education would benefit the
credential holder, and

4 The requested duration of such individual program of continuing
education,

If an individual program of continuing education is adopted by the Board, the
credential holder will be notified of the individual program adopted for him or
her in writing. The written notice will contain all details, requirements,
expectations, and the duration for which the individual program is in effect,

If anindividual program of continuing education is denied by the Board, the
credential holder will be notified of the decision in writing.

Continuing Education Completed in Another Jurisdiction

001.10A

001.10B

Except for an online or correspondence activity, the Board may accept a
continuing education activity completed in another jurisdiction if?

001.10A.1 The activity was approved as continuing education by the
Jjurisdiction in which it was completed at the time the activity
was completed; and

001,10A.2 The continuing education activity meels or exceeds the
requirements for approval as continuing education activity
outlined in Chapter 6 of this Title.

The Board may accept an online or correspondence continuing education
activity completed in another
Jjurisdiction if:

001.10B.1 The activity was approved as continuing education by the
jurisdiction in which the credential holder was a legal resident
at the time the activity was completed; and

001.10B.2 The continuing education activity meets or exceeds the
requirements for approval as continuing education activity
outlined in Chapter 6 of this Title.
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001.10C If the applicant submits a continuing education activity completed in another
jurisdiction for consideration of acceptance by the Board, the applicant will
furnish a document of completion for the course that affirms successful
completion of the activity,

001.11 Supervisory Real Property Appraiser Status

001.11A The supervisory real property appraiser status for any credential holder that fails
to meet the requirements for renewal by December 31 of his or her designated
year is immediately revoked as the credential holder no longer meets the
requirements as a supervisory real property appraiser. Any trainee real property
appraiser under the supervisory real property appraiser’s supervision will be
notified in writing that the supervisory real property appraiser is no longer

eligible to engage in real property appraisal activity-er-appraisal-practice.

001.11B If the credential holder successfully completes the requirements for renewal prior
to July 1, his or her supervisory real property appraiser status is reinstated, Both
the supervisory real property appraiser and the trainee real property appraiser will
be notified in writing of the reinstatement and of the period of time in which the
trainee real property appraiser’s experience is not acceptable for experience credit
for credentialing as a real property appraiser,

001.11C If the credential holder fails to successfully complete the requirements for
renewal prior to July 1, the trainee real property appraiser may submit a new
application for the approval of the credential holder if he or she obtains a »alid
credential as a real property appraiser issued under the Real Property Appraiser
Act after July 1.

CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD CHECK

002.01 Any credential holder randomly selected to submit, along with the application for renewal, two
copies of legible ink-rolied fingerprint cards or equivalent efectronic fingerprint submissions to the
Board will be notified by certified mail no later than August 31 of the year in which the credential
holder was selected for the criminal history record check.

APPLICATION

A credential issued under the Real Property Appraiser Act other than a temporary credential remains in effect
until December 31 of the designated year unless surrendered, revoked, suspended, or canceled prior to such
date. A credential, other than a trainee real property appraiser credential, may be renewed for one or two years;
the traince real property appraiser credential remains in effect until December 31 of the second year of the two-
year continuing education period. The entire two-year continuing education period must be satisfactorily
completed prior to renewing a credential for a two-year period.

003.01 Any applicant for renewal of a trainee real property appraiser credential must:

003.01A Submit an application and required documentation on forms approved by the
Board showing compliance by the applicant with all renewal and continuing
education requirements established by the Act and by this Title; and

003.01B Pay a non-refundable criminal history record check fee of $5.00 for each year of
renewal for maintenance of the random fingerprint audit program.
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Except for the trainee real property appraiser credential and temporary credential, any applicant
for renewal of a credential issued by the Board must:

003.02A Submit an application and required documentation for the appropriate
classification on Torms approved by the Board showing compliance by the
applicant with all renewal and continuing education requirements established by

the Act and by this Title;
003.02B Pay a non-refundable credentialing fee of $275.00 for each year of renewal;
003.02C Pay an annual National Registry fee of $40.00 for each year of renewal; and
003.02D Pay a non-refundable criminal history record check fee of $5.00 for each year of

renewal for maintenance of the random fingerprint audit program.

Any application received at the Board’s office considered to be incomplete will not be processed
and may be returned to the applicant as incomplete. Aty application not considered to

ppHentt ; i ; d=Any renewal application post-
marked before Novembel 30 w1ll be rev1ewed by the Board’s stalland-anyappheaton-post-
ma*keé—a%e%&ember%@w#bw%wed—b&the%&md If a credential holder meets alf renewal
requirements in the Act and this Title, the application will be considered a completed application
and the applicant’s credential may be renewed. I the Board’s director finds that the applicant may
not meet one or more of the renewal requirements in the Act and this Title, or the application is
post-marked after November 30, the application shall be placed before the Board for
consideration, If the Board finds that the applicant meets the renewal requirements in the Act and
this Title, the application will be considered a completed application and the applicant’s credential

may be renewed,

If a criminal history record check report has not been returned to the Board’s office by the State
Patrol prior to December 31, and all other requirements for renewal in the Act and this Title are
met prior to November 30, a credential may be renewed contingent upon the results of the criminal
history record check report.

Upoen renewal the credential holder will be issued:

(1) A notification informing him or her of their status as a Nebraska eredentisled-real
property appraiser, and
(2) Instructions to access his or her credentialing card.

The renewal application may be denied at any time during the process if the applicant fails to meet
the requirements in the Act and this Title that pertain to renewal of a credential, If a renewal
application is denied for any reason excluding the national criminal history record check, the
applicant may file a new application for credentialing, and if so, meet the credentialing
requirements in place at the time the new application is submitted to the Board,

If the fingerprint-based national criminal history record check result is the basis for denial, the
credential holder is entitled to a copy of his or her national criminal history record, and an
opportunity to dispute the result.

003.08A In order to receive a copy of such record, the credential holder shall:
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003.08A.1 In person, complete a form approved by the Board that
relieves the Board from any liability related to the release of
the national criminal history record; and

003.08A.2 Present a passport, driver’s license, or other government-
issued identification card with a photograph to be copied by
the Board.

003.08B If the credential holder provides evidence acceptable to the Board that the
fingerprint-based national criminal history record check result that was the basis
for denial is incorrect, the Board may reconsider the application.
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CHAPTER 5
REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER INACTIVE STATUS

Every credential holder other than a holder of & temporary credential may request that his or her credential be
placed on inactive status for a period not to exceed two years, If granted, the inactive status period begins on the
date application was made to the Board. If the credential holder’s credential expires during the inactive period,
and the credential holder fails to reinstate his or her credential prior to the completion of the two year period,
the credential holder may reapply for credentialing, and if so, meet the current requirements in place at the time
of application.

INACTIVE STATUS APPLICATION

002.01

002.02

002.03

002.04

002.05

Any credential holder making a request for a credential to be placed on inactive status must:

002.01A Submit an application on a form approved by the Board showing compliance by
the applicant with all inactive status requirements established by the Actand by
this Title;

002.01B Pay a non-refundable inactive credential application fee of $100.00; and

002.01C Pay a non-refundable inactive credentialing fee of $300.00.

Any application received at the Board’s office considered to be incomplete will not be processed
and may be returned to the applicant as incomplete. Any application not considered fo be
incomplete will be processed.

If the applicant meets the requirements in the Act and this Title for inactive status, his or her
credential may be placed on inactive status.

Upon being placed on inactive status, the credential holder will be issued a letter notifying him or
her of the inactive status, along with the requirements and instructions for reinstatement of his or
her credential.

An application for inactive status may be denied at any time during the process if the applicant
fails to meet the requirements in the Act and/or this Title that pertain to the placement of a
credential on inactive status.

REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION

003.01

003.02
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Any credential holder making a request for a credential to be reinstated to active status must:

003.01A Submit an application on a form approved by the Board and documentation
showing compliance by the applicant with all reinstatement requirements
established by the Act and by this Title; and

003.018 Pay a non-refundable inactive credential application fee of $100.00,

Any application received at the Board’s office considered to be incomplete will not be processed
and may be returned to the applicant as incomplete. Any application not considered to be
incomplete will be processed.
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003.03 I the applicant meets the requirements in the Act and this Title for reinstatement of his or her
credential, his or her credential may be removed from inactive status.

003.04 Upon credential being reinstated to active status, the credential holder will be issued a Ietter
notifying him or her of reinstatement.

003.05 An application for reinstatement of a credential to active status may be denied at any time during
the process if the applicant fails to meet the requirements in the Act and/or this Title that pertains
to reinstatement of a credential to active status.
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CHAPTER 6
EDUCATION PROVIDER ACTIVITY REQUIRMENTS

GENERAL

001.01

001.02

001.03

001.04

001.05

001.06

001.07
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The Board may at any time conduct an audit of any approved education activity to verify that
activity is being conducted in accordance with the Act and this Title as approved-by-the-Board,

The Board may at any time review activity and instructor materials approved by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course Approval Program to verify
that activity and/or instructor{s) meet the requirements of the Act and this Title as approved by-the
Board.

Beard-Aapproval of activities does not transfer from one education provider to another, unless one
education provider obtains the legal rights to all activities of another education provider.

Education providers and instructors will comply with the Nebraska Private Postsecondary Career
Schools Act, NEB. REV. STAT § 85-1601, et seq. as applicable.

Nothing in this Chapter may be construed to preclude education activities sponsored or conducted
by the Board from being accepted as qualifying education or continuing education.

The Board maintains a schedule of education activities on its website as a tool to notify future
applicants and current credential holders of upcoming education activities. Although education
providers may provide notice to the Board of upcoming gualifying education activities, continuing
education activities, and supervisory real property appraiser and trainee courses for inclusion on
the schedule, the education provider is responsible for scheduling and notifying future applicants
and current credential holders of upcoming education activities offered by the education provider.

Online and Correspondence Activities

001.07A Each online education and correspondence education activity shall be certified
by the International Distance Education Certification Center, or conducted by an
aceredited college, community college, or university that offers distance
education programs and is approved or accredited by the Commission on
Colleges, a regional or national accreditation association, or by an accrediting
agency that is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education, that awards
academic credit for the distance education courses.

001.078 Each online education and correspondence education activity shall have an
appropriate mechanism to ensure that the applicant or credential holder
demonstrates knowledge of subject matter,

001.07C Each online education and correspondence education activity must provide
interaction in a reciprocal environment where the student has verbal or written
communication with the instructor.
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Electronic access is required to be provided to the Board for any online
education activity, or for any correspondence education activity offered by
electronic means, during evaluation and at any time the activity is offered to the
public for completion, without having to complete the activity in sequential
order, or without having to complete quizzes or examinations to proceed with
the activity.

All website links will be valid and active for online education and
correspondence education activities at the time such activity is offered to the
public for completion.

Al the Board’s request, a transcript of the online or correspondence activity shatl
be provided to the Board.

002 QUALIFYING EDUCATION

002.01

M| Page

Requirements

002.01A

002.01B

002.01C

002.01D

002.01E

002.01F

002.01G

All core curriculum courses shall be approved as qualifying education by the
Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course
Approval Program, or be included as curriculum in a bachelor’s-degree ertrigher
program of an accredited college or university that has had all or part of its
curriculum approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal
Foundation.

Any appraisal subject matter elective qualifying education activity must
contribute to an attendee’s development of real property appraiser related
competency in any one or more of the following subjects:

(H Real property Aappraisal practice,

{2) Valuation methodology and/or techniques,

3 Market fundamentals, characteristics, conditions, and analysis,
{4) Real property concepts, characteristics, and analysis,

(5 Communication,

®) Computation, and/or

(7N Legal considerations.

All qualifying education activities shall contain current material, theory, and
methodologies,

All qualifying education activities shall be conducted in conformance with the
materials, presentation methodologies, and policies as approved by-the-Beard.

Each qualifying education activity shall be at least 15 hours in length, not to
exceed eight hours per day. At least a one-half hour break shall be given to
attendee(s) by no later than the end of four hours of class in any day.

Education providers shall require that attendee(s) successfully complete a
proctored closed-book examination.

Fifty minutes engaged in instruction equals one hour for a qualifying education
activity,
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One semester credit hour received from an accredited college or university
equals fifteen classroom hours of instruction.

A document certifying completion will be issued to each attendee upon
completion of any qualifying education activity. The document may be
transmitted to the attendee in person, by mail, by email, or by any other
electronic means that are secure. The document is required to include the name
of education provider, signature of education provider and/or instructor, name of
activity as approved-by-the-Board, location at which activity was conducted or
presentation method, date(s) the-activity was conducted, number of hours, pass
or fail statement, and name of attendee, or be an official transcript from a
university or college that includes the name of activity as approved by-the
Beard, the number of credit hours awarded, and the name of the attendee.

Education providers shall maintain a record of attendance for each qualifying
education activity for a period of at least five years.

No qualifying education activity may rely upon a textbook as the primary
instructional material. Textbooks are permitted to be used as a background
reference for an activity; however, textbooks will not be reviewed as the
activity. All qualifying education activities must contain sufficient stand-alone
instructional materials supporting the specific activity learning objectives.

Secondary providers shall obtain written evidence that the rights to a qualifying
education activity have been purchased or lawfully acquired from the education
provider that owns rights to activity materials.

Initiak Application

002.02A

Any education provider applying for approval of a qualifying education activity
must:

002.02A.1 Submit an application for the activity on forms approved by
the Board showing compliance by the education provider and
the activity with all requirements established by the Act or by
this Title;

002.02A.2 Submit evidence that activity is approved by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its
Course Approval Program for qualifying education, or submit
the following:

002.62A.2a  An activity description that clearly describes
the content of the activity;

002.02A.2b  An activity matrix reflecting hours of credit
per topic;

002.02A.2¢ A timed outline that accounts for the general
flow and recommended time spent on topics
contained within the activity;
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002.02A.2d  Written learning objectives that include the

002.02A.2¢

002.02A.2f

002.02A.2¢g

following:

Q) The specific knowledge and/or
skills attendee(s) are expected to
acquire,

(2) An explanation of how learning
objectives are consistent with the
activity description,

3 An explanation of how leaming
objectives are consistent with
instructional materials, and

(4) An explanation of how learning

objectives are reasonably
achievable within the number of
hours allotted for the activity;

Student and instructor materials used for the

activity that:

) Cover the subject matter in
sufficient depth to achieve the
stated learning objectives,

(2) Provide appropriately balanced
coverage of the subject matter in
view of the stated learning
objectives,

(3) Reflect current knowledge and
practice, and

4 Do not contain significant

errors and/or deficiencies;

A proctored closed-book final examination

that:

(1

@)

()

Contains a sufficient number of
questions to adequately test the
subject matter covered,

Contains clear and unambiguous
questions that are individually and
collectively appropriate to measure
student achievement of stated
learning objectives, and

Utilizes The Appraisal Foundation
USPAP final examination for the
fifteen-hour Uniform Standards of
Professional Appraisal Practice
course;

A written instructor policy that requires the
use of instructors who meet the requirements
of the Act and this Title;
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002.02A.2h A written attendance policy that requires
attendance to be verified in accordance with
the Act and this Title; and

002.02A.2i A written record retention policy; and

002.02A.2]  If applicable, for an activity conducted by an
accredited college, community college, or
university, submit written evidence that
online or correspondence activity provides
inferaction in a reciprocal environment
where the student has verbal or written
convnunication with the instructor;

002.02A.3 Pay a non-refundable qualifying education activity application
fee of $50.00;

002.02A.4 Submit a copy of the completion document;

002.02A.5 If applicable, submit evidence that online or correspondence
activity meets the requirements of Section 001.07A of this
Chapteris

Fed by-the tnternational-Di Pducation Cestifioat
Center, and

002.02A.6 If applicable, submit written evidence that the rights to the
activity have been purchased or lawfully acquired from the
education provider that owns rights to activity materials.

An application received at the Board’s office considered to be incomplete will
not be processed and may be returned to the education provider as incomplete.
Any application not considered to be incomplete will be processed,

Ay-applicationnot-consideredto-be-dncompletewill be-processed-and-reviewed
by-the Board-If the Beard-findsthatthe Board’s director finds that the education
provider and submitted activity meet the requirements in the Act and this Titie,
the application will be considered a completed application and the Board-may
appreve-the qualifying education activity may be approved by the director. If the
Board’s director {inds that the education provider and submitted activity may
not meet one or more of the requirements in the Act and this Title, the
application shall be placed before the Board for consideration. If the Board finds
that the education provider and submitted activity applicant-meets the
requirements in the Act and this Title, the application will be considered a
completed application and the qualifving education activity may be approved.
The education provider will receive a written notification of approval that
outlines the details, including the number of hours for which the activity is
approved.
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The application may be denied by the Board at any time during the process if the
education provider, submitted activity, or instructor(s) for the submitted activity
fail to meet the requirements in the Act and this Title. If an application is denied,
the Board will provide written notice of denial to the education provider that
includes a description of the deficiencies found by the Board. The education
provider has 60 days from the date of denial to rectify the deficiencies. If the
deficiencies are not rectified within 60 days, the education provider may file a
new application for approval of qualifying education activity, and if so, meet the
requirements in place at the time a new application is submitted to the Board.

Resubmission of Approved Activity

602.03A An education provider shall resubmit a qualifying education activity for
approval if:

(1) There is a change in the status of approval by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course
Approval Program,

2) There is a change in the status of- the qualification for online or
correspondence delivery specified in Section 601,07A of this
Chaptereestifiention-by-the International- Distance Education
Gertifleation-Center,

(3) There is a substantial change to the materials, presentation, or policies,

4 There is a change in the qualifications as specified in Section 005.01 of
this Chapter under which an instructor was approved-by-the-Beard,

(5) One or more instructors are added or removed by the education
provider,

(6) The materials, theories, and/or methodologies are no longer cutrent,

(M The activity content and/or policies are no longer communicated to the
attendee(s) as presented-to-the Beardforapprovedal, or

(8) There is a change to a secondary provider’s rights to the activity.

002,038 The process and requirements for resubmission of a qualifying education

activity are the same as specified in Section 002.02 of this Chapter. If a

qualifying education activity is not approved by the Appraiser Qualifications

Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course Approval Program, only

the requirements under Section 002.02A.2 of this Chapter that have changed

since approval was granted by-the-Beard-must be included for resubmission.

002.03C Any education provider resubmitting a qualifying education activity must
provide a written explanation detailing what changes have been made to the
activity since approval was granted-by-the-Board.

Rescinding Approval

002.04A The Board may rescind approval of any qualifying education activity if the

Board finds:

(N Falsification of information submitted for activity approval,

(2) A change in approval by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The
Appraisal Foundation through its Course Approval Program,

3) A change in the status of the qualification for online or correspondence
delivery specified in Section 001.07A of this Chapter,

E ntionbythenternational Di Edueation Certificati
Center;
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(4 Substantial errors and/or deficiencies in the materials or presentation,

(5 The materials, theories, and/or methodologies are not current and/or
practical,

(6) The activity has not been offered for a period of at least five years from

the last date of completion submittedto-the Beoard-or the approval date
if activity has not been offered,

N A change in the qualifications as specified in Section 005.01 of this
Chapter under which an instructor was approved-by-the Beard,

(8) The instructor(s) responsible for the activity content and presentation
are not approved d,
(9) The activity content and/or policies are not communicated to the

attendee(s) as presented-to-the-Board-for-approvedal,

am A material violation of the Act or this Title by the education provider or
instructor for the activity, or

(1) A change fo a secondary provider’s rights to the activity.

If the Board finds reason to rescind its approval of an activity, the Board will
provide written notice to the education provider that includes a description of the
reason(s) for rescinding approval found by the Board. The education provider
has 60 days from the date of notice to provide a written response to the Board’s
notice. If the response is satisfactory to the Board, the Board will not rescind its
approval. If the response is not satisfactory to the Board, the Board may rescind
approval of the activity. If approval is rescinded, the education provider may file
a new application for approval of the qualifying education activity, and if so,
meet the requirements in place at the time a new application is submitted to the
Board.

003 CONTINUING EDUCATION

003.01
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Requirements

003.01A

003.01B

003.01C

003.01D

003.01E

Any continuing education activity must contribute to a credential holder’s
development of real property appraiser related skill, knowledge, and
competency in any one or more of the following subjects:

(1) Real property Arappraisal practice,

2) Valuation methodology and/or techniques,

H Market fundamentals, characteristics, conditions, and analysis,
(4) Real property concepts, characteristics, and analysis,

(5) Communication,

&) Computation, and/or

(7 Legal considerations.

All continuing education activities shall contain current material, theory, and
methodologies,

All continuing education activities shall be conducted in conformance with the
materials, presentation methodologies, and policies as approved-by-the Board.

Each continuing education activity shall be at least two hours in length, not to
exceed eight hours per day. At least a one-half hour break shall be given to
credential holder(s) by no later than the end of four hours of class in any day.

Examination hours are not included in the number of hours approved bythe
Board-for continuing education activities.
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Fifty minutes engaged in instruction equals one hour for a continuing education
activity.

One semester credit hour received from an accredited college or university
equals fifteen classroom hours of instruction.

A document certifying completion will be issued to each attendee upon
completion of any continuing education activity. The document may be
transmitted to the attendee in person, by mail, by emaii, or by any other
electronic means that are secure, The document is required to include the name
of education provider, signature of education provider and/or instructor, name of
activity as approved-by-the-Beard, location at which activity was conducted or
presentation method, date(s)-the activity was conducted, number of hours, pass
or fail statement, and name of credential holder, or be an official transcript from
a university or college that includes the name of activity as approved by-the
Beard, the number of credit hours awarded, and the name of the attendee.

Education providers shall maintain a record of attendance for each continuing
education activity for a period of at least five years,

The seven-hour Uniform Standards of Professional Practice Update course shall
be approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation
through its Course Approval Program, or meet the Appraiser Qualifications
Board’s requirentents for approval of an equivalent seven-hour Uniform
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice Update course.

An activity in which the primary purpose is fraining in the use of a specific
software, and not utilization of a software to improve competency in real
property appraisal practice; valuation methodology and/or techniques; market
fundamentals, characteristics, conditions, and analysis; real property concepts,
characteristics, and analysis; communication; computation; and/or legal
considerations, does not meet the requirements for approval as a continuing
education activity.

Secondary providers shall obtain written evidence that the rights to a continuing
education activity have been purchased or lawfully acquired from the education
provider that owns rights to activity materials.

Initial Application

003.02A

Any education provider applying for approval of a continuing education activity
must;

003.02A.1 Submit an application for the activity on forms approved by
the Board showing compliance by the education provider and
the activity with all requirements established by the Act or by
this Title;
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003.02A.2 Submit evidence that the activity is approved by The
Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation
through its Course Approval Program for continuing
education, or submit the following:

003.02A.2a

003.02A.2b

003.02A.2¢

003.02A.24

003.02A.2¢e

003.02A.2f

003.02A.2g

4l|Page

An activity description, which clearly
describes the content of the activity;

An activity matrix reflecting hours of credit
per topic;

A timed outline that accounts for the general
flow and recommended time spent on topics
contained within the activity;

Written learning objectives that include the
following:

{n The specific knowledge and/or
skills credential holders(s) are
expected to acquire,

(2) An explanation of how learning
objectives are consistent with the
activity description,

3) . An explanation of how learning
objectives are consistent with
instructional materials, and

4) An explanation of how learning
objectives are reasonably
achievable within the number of
hours allotted for the activity;

Student and instructor materials used for the
activity that:

() Cover the subject matter in
sufficient depth to achieve the
stated learning objectives,

(2) Provide appropriately balanced
coverage of the subject matter in
view of the stated learning
objectives,

3) Reflect current knowledge and
practice, and

)] Do not contain significant
errors and/or deficiencies;

A written instructor policy that requires the
use of instructors who meet the requirements
of the Act and this Title;

A written aftendance policy that requires
attendance to be verified in accordance with
the Act and this Title;
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003.02A.2h A written record retention policy; and

003.02A.2i A completed 7-Hour USPAP Course
Checklist for AQB Equivalency Approval as
developed and published by The Appraisal
Foundation for any seven-hour Uniform
Standards of Appraisal Practice Update
course not approved by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board of The Appraisal
Foundation;

003.02A.2]  Ifapplicable, submit written evidence that
an appropriate mechanism is in place to
ensure that the credential holder
demonstrates knowledge of subject matter
for online or correspondence activity; and

003.02A.2k  If applicable, for an activity conducted by an
accredited college. community college, or
university, submit written evidence that
online or correspondence activity provides
interaction in a reciprocal environment
where the student has verbal or written
communication with the instructor;

003.02A.3 Submit a copy of the completion document;

003.02A.4 If applicable, submit written evidence that the rights to the
activity have been purchased or lawfully acquired from the
education provider that owns rights to activity materials;

003.02A.5 If applicable, submit evidence that online or correspondence
activity meets the requirements of Section 001.07A of this

Chapteronline-activity-is-certified-by-the-International
Bistanee Edueation-Certification-Center; and

003.02A.6 Pay a non-refundable continuing education activity application
fee of $25.00.

003.02B An application received at the Board’s office considered to be incomplete will
not be processed and may be returned to the education provider as incomplete.
Any application not considered to be incomplete will be processed.
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003.02C

by-the-Beard-If -the Board’s director finds that the education provider and
submitted activity meets the requirements in the Act and this Title, the
application will be considered a completed application and the-Board-may
approve-the continuing education activity may be approved by the director, If

the Board’s director finds that the education provider and submitted activity may
not meet one or more of the requirements in the Act and this Title, the
application shall be placed before the Board for consideration. If the Board finds
that the education provider and submitted activity meets the requirements in the
Act and this Title, the application will be considered a completed application
and the continuing education activity may be approved. The education provider
will receive a written notification of approval, which outlines the details,
including the number of hours for which the activity is approved.

003.02D The application may be denied by the Board at any time during the process if the
education provider, submitted activity, or instructor(s) for the submitted activity
fails to meet the requirements in the Act and this Title. If an application is
denied, the Board will provide written notice of denial to the education provider
that includes a description of the deficiencies found by the Board. The education
provider has 60 days from the date of denial to rectify the deficiencies, If the
deficiencies are not rectified within 60 days, the education provider may file a
new application for approval of continuing education activity, and if so, meet the
requirements in place at the time a new application is submitted to the Board.

003.03 Resubmission of Approved Activity

003.03A An education provider shall resubmit a continuing education activity for
approval if:

(1) There is a change in the status of approval by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course
Approval Program,

) There is a change in the status of- the qualification for online or
correspondence delivery specified in Section 001.07A of this Chapter,

eaﬂﬁeaﬂeﬂ—by—ﬂ%}ﬂtem&heﬂ&FDﬁ%aﬂee—béﬁeaaeﬁ-Gemﬁeﬂﬁeﬂ

(3) There is a substantial change to the materials, presentation, or policies,
4 There is a change in the qualifications as specified in Section 005.0 of
this Chapter under which an instructor was approved-by-the-Board,

{5) One or more instructors are added or removed by the education
provider,
(6) The materials, theories, and/or methodologies are no longer current,
N The activity content and/or policies are no longer communicated to the
credential holder(s) as presented-to-the Board-for-approvedat, or
(8) There is a change to a secondary provider’s rights to the activity.
003.038 The process and requirements for resubmission of a continuing education

activity are the same as specified in Section 003.02 of this Chapter. If a
continuing education activity is not approved by the Appraiser Qualifications
Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course Approval Program, only
the requirements under Section 003.02A.2 of this Chapter that have changed
since approval was granted by-the Beard-must be included for resubmission.
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Any education provider resubmitting a continuing education activity will
provide a written explanation detailing what changes have been made to the

activity since approval was granted-by-the Board.

Expiration and Rescinding Approval

003.04A

003.04B

003.04C

Except for the seven-hour Uniform Standards of Professional Practive Update
course, which expires on the date on which the approval by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board expires, a continuing education activity expires on the date
five years after the date of approval-by-the Board, An education provider may
renew a continuing education activity not required to be resubmitted as specified
in Section 003.03A of this Chapter by:

003.04A.1 Submitting an application for the activity on forms approved
by the Board showing compliance by the education provider
and the activity with all requirements established by the Act or
by this Title; and

003.04A.2 Paying a non-refundable continuing education activity
application renewal fee of $10.00.

The Board may rescind approval of a continuing education activity if the Board
finds:

(D Falsification of information submitted for activity approval,
()] A change in approval by Appraiser Qualifications Board of The
Appraisal Foundation through its Course Approval Program,

3 A change in status of the qualification for online or correspondence
delivery specified in Section 001,07A of this Chapter,
3 Geation by-thel el Di Eduention Certifioati

Ceantery
4 Substantial errors and/or deficiencies in the materials or presentation,
(5) The materials, theories, and/or methodologies are not current and/or
practical,

(6} A change in the qualifications as specified in Section 005.01 of this
Chapter under which an instructor was approved-by-the Board,

N The instructor(s) responsible for the activity content and presentation
are not approved-by-the-Beard,
(8) The activity content and/or policies are not communicated to the

credential holder(s} as-presented-to-the Board-for approvedal,

(9) A material violation of the Act or this Title by the education provider or
instructor for the activity, or
{10) A change in the secondary provider’s rights to the activity.

If the Board finds reason to rescind its approval of an activity, the Board will
provide written notice to the education provider that includes a description of the
reasons for rescinding approval found by the Board. The education provider has
60 days from the date of notice to provide a written response to the Board’s
notice. If the response is satisfactory to the Board, the Board will not rescind its
prior approval. If the response is not satisfactory to the Board, the Board may
rescind approval of the activity. If approval is rescinded, the education provider
may file a new application for approval of the continuing education activity, and
if so, meet the requirements in place at the time a new application is submitted
to the Board.
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004 SUPERVISORY REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER AND TRAINEE COURSE

004.01

004.02

45|Page

Requirements

004.01A

004.01B

004.01C

004.01D

004.01E

004.01F

004.01G

004.01H

All #rainee-and-supervisory real properly appraiser and trainee courses shall
contain current material, theory, and methodologies.

All {rainee-nad-supervisory real property appraiser and trainee courses shall be
conducted in conformity with the materials, presentation methodologies, and
policies as approved Fek.,

Each trainee-and-supervisory real property appraiser and trainee course shall be
at least two hours in length, not to exceed eight hours per day. At least a one-
half hour break shall be given to attendee(s) by no later than the end of four
hours of class in any day.

Education providers shall require that attendee(s) successfully complete a
closed-book examination by answering a minimum of 70% of exam questions
correctly.

Fifty minutes engaged in instruction equals one hour for a frainee-and
supervisory real property appraiser and trainee course.

A document certifying completion will be issued to each attendee upon
completion of a-trainee-and supervisory real property appraiser_and trainee
course. The document may be transmitted to the attendee in person, by mail, by
email, or by any other electronic means that are secure, The document is
required to include the name of education provider, signature of education
provider and/or instructor, name of course as approved-by-the Bosard, location at
which course was conducted or presentation method, date(s) the course was
conducted, number of hours, pass or fail statement, and name of attendee.

Education providers shall maintain a record of attendance for each traines-and
supervisory real property appraiser and trainee course for a period of at least five
years,

Secondary providers shall obtain written evidence that the rights to a trainee-and
supervisory real property appraiser and trainee course hayves been purchased or
lawfully acquired from the education provider that owns rights to activity
materials.

Course Objectives

004.02A

The course must provide adequate information to ensure the supervisory
real property appraiser understands the qualifications and responsibilities of that
role. Specifically, that the attendee(s) understand:

(1) Minimum qualifications for becoming and remaining a supervisory real
property appraiser,
(2) Jurisdictional credentialing requirements for both supervisory real

property appraisers and trainee real property appraisers,
{3) Expectations and responsibilities of being a supervisory real propeity
appraiser,
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004.02B

(4)
(5)

(6)

Basics of the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice,
Responsibilities and requirements of a supervisory real property
appraiser in maintaining and signing all appropriate trainee real
property appraiser experience logs, and

Expectations and responsibilities of the trainee real property appraiser.

The course must provide adequate information to ensure that a frainee real
property appraiser understands the qualifications and responsibilities of that role.
Specifically, that the attendee(s) understand;

(1)
@)
&)
S
(5
(6)
(7

(®)

Course Content

004.03A

004.03B

004.03C

Minimum qualifications for becoming and remaining a trainee real
property appraiser,

Jurisdictional credentialing requirements for trainee real property
appraisers,

Minimum qualifications for becoming and remaining a supervisory real
property appraiser,

Processes and roles of the entities involved in establishing
gualifications for eredentinted-real property appraisers,

Expectations and responsibilities of the trainee real property appraiser,
Qualifications to become a sredentialed-real property appraiser,
Basics of the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice,
and

Responsibilities and requirements of a trainee real property appraiser’s
role in maintaining and signing all appropriate frainee real property
appraiser experience logs.

The course must provide adequate information pertaining to qualification and
credentialing entities, Specifically, the following shall be included:

(1)
@

()
“4)

The role of The Appraisal Foundation,

The role of the Appraiser Qualifications Board in establishing
qualifications for real property appraisers,

The jurisdiction’s role in issuing real property appraiser credentials and
disciplining real property appraisers,

The typical structure of real property appraiser regulating bodies, and
overview of the role of professional real property appraiser
orpanizations.

The course must provide adequate information pertaining to qualifications for
real property appraiser credentials. Specifically, the following shall be included:

(1)
)

3)

Minimum qualifications for each real property appraiser classification,
Education, experience, and examination requirements for trainee,
licensed residential, certified residential, and certified general real
property appraiser credential, and

Supervisory real property appraiser qualifications.

The course must provide an overview of the Uniform Standards of Professional
Appraisal Practice relevant to trainee real property appraisers, which shall
include the following topics:

(h
(2)
3

Ethics Rule,
Competency Rule,
Scope of Work Rule,
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(4) Record Keeping Rule, and
(5) Standard 1 {Development) and Standard 2 (Reporting).

The course must provide adequate information pertaining to the requirements,
expectations, and responsibilities of a supervisory real property appraiser, and at
a minimum, include and discuss the following topics:

(1) The expectations and responsibilities of the supervisory real property
appraiser to provide the trainee real property appraiser with a basic
understanding of the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal
Practice,

(2) The expectations and responsibilities of the supervisory real property
appraiser to understand the minimum requirements of both the
supervisory real property appraiser and trainee real property appraiser,

{3) The expectations and responsibilities of the supervisory real property
appraiser to provide proper guidance to the trainee real property
appraiser when he or she selects a specific credentialing path (i.e.,
licensed residential, certified residential, or certified general),

)] The expectations and responsibilities of the supervisory real property
appraiser to monitor the trainee real property appraiser’s progress in
satisfying both the education and experience requirements necessary to
achieve his or her selected credentialing path,

(5) The expectations and responsibilities of the supervisory real property
appraiser to verify that the supervisory real property appraiser and
trainee real property appraiser are properly documenting atl appropriate
experience logs,

(6) The expectations and respensibilities of the supervisory real property
appraiser fo accompany the trainee real property appraiser on all
inspections until the trainee real property appraiser is competent to
conduct inspections independently,

(N The expectations and responsibilities of the supervisory real property
appraiser to monitor and provide assignments and duties that ensure the
trainee real property appraiser is developing an understanding and
progression of knowledge and experience of valuation methodologies
and approaches to value applicable to the level of credential to be
obtained,

%) The expectations and responsibilities of the supervisory real property
appraiser to verify that the trainee real property appraiser is properly
identified and acknowledged in the report in compliance with the
Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice, and

(9) The expectations and responsibilities of the supervisory real property
appraiser to immediately notify the trainee real property appraiser if the
supervisory real property appraiser is no longer qualified to supervise
and/or sign the trainee real property appraiser’s experience log.

The course must provide adequate information pertaining to the requirements,
expectations, and responsibilities of a trainee real property appraiser, and at a
minimum, include and discuss the following topics:

§))] The expectations and responsibilities of the trainee real property
appraiser to have a basic understanding of the minimum requirements
to become a trainee real property appraiser,

(2) The expectations and responsibilities of the trainee real property
appraiser to have an understanding about the importance of selecting an
appropriate supervisory real property appraiser. Points covered shall
include:
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004.03F

(3)

4)

&)

(6)

(7

a) Description of the supervisory real property appraiser-trainee
real property appraiser relationship as a long-term
commitment by both parties,

b) Information indicating that the supervisory real property
appraiser-trainee real property appraiser relationship is
inherently connected to the “good standing™ of the supervisory
real property appraiser,

c) Information regarding the importance of selecting a
supervisory real property appraiser with the experience and
competency that best matches the trainee real property
appraiser’s selected credentialing path, and

d) Options for a trainee real property appraiser if a supervisory
real property appraiser is no longer qualified to serve as a

supervisory real property appraiser.

The expectations and responsibilities of the trainee real property
appraiser to have an understanding of how to determine if an real
property appraiser is qualified and in good standing to be a supervisory
real property appraiser by searching the Appraisal Subcommittee
National Registry and/or jurisdictional websites,

The expectations and responsibilities of the trainee real property
appraiser to understand it is the supervisory real property appraiser’s
responsibility to monitor the progression of the trainee real property
appraiser’s education and experience necessary to achieve the trainee
real property appraiser’s selected credentialing path,

The expectations and responsibilities of the trainee real property
appraiser to understand it is the supervisory real property appraiser’s
responsibility to provide assignments and duties that ensure the trainee
real property appraiser is developing an understanding and progression
of knowledge and experience of valuation methodologies and
approaches to value applicable to the level of credential to be obtained,
The expectations and responsibilities of the {rainee real property
appraiser to understand the responsibilities of both the trainee real
property appraiser and the supervisory real property appraiser in
properly documenting all appropriate trainee real property appraiser’s
experience logs, and

The expectations and responsibilities of the trainee real property
appraiser to understand the supervisory real property appraiser must
accompany the trainee real property appraiser on all inspections until
he or she is competent to conduct inspections independently.

The course shall include elective real property appraiser education as determined
by the education provider. Education providers are strongly encouraged to
address State law and regulations, and the effect of those laws and regulations
on supervisory real property appraisers and trainee real property appraisers. This
section may include the following topics:

()
2)

Overview of state laws, regulations, and policies pertaining to real
property appraisal practice,

Overview of the investigation process, including how it pertains to the
following:

a) A grievance against a trainee real property appraiser,
b) A grievance against supervisory real property appraiser,
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c) Acts or omissions considered grounds for disciplinary action
or denial of an application, and
d) Formal complaints, formal hearings, and administrative law.
004.04  Initial Application
004.04A Any education provider applying for approval of a supervisory real property

appraiser and trainee course must;

004.04A.1 Submit an application for the course on forms approved by the
Board showing compliance by the education provider and the
course with all requirements established by the Act or by this
Title;

004.04A.2 Submit the following:

004.04A.2a A course description that clearly describes
the content of the course, and meets the
requirements specified in Section 004.03 of
this Chapter;

004.04A.2b A course matrix reflecting hours of credit
per topic;

004.04A.2¢ A timed outline that accounts for the general
flow and recommended time spent on topics
contained within the course;

004.04A.2d  Written learning objectives that meet the
requirements specified in Section 004.02 of
this Chapter, and include the following:

(1) The specific knowledge and/or
skills attendec(s) are expected to
acquire,

2) An explanation of how learning
objectives are consistent with the
course description,

3) An explanation of how learning
objectives are consistent with
instructional materials, and

“4) An explanation of how learning
objectives are reasonably
achievable within the number of
hours allotted for the course;

004.04A.2¢  Student and instructor materials used for the
course that:

(1) Cover the subject matter in
sufficient depth to achieve the
stated learning objectives,
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004.04B

004.04A.3

004.04A.4

004.04A.5

004.04A.6

004.04A.2f

004.04A.2g

004.04A.2h

004.04A.2i

004.04A.2j

(2) Provide appropriately balanced
coverage of the subject matter in
view of the stated learning

objectives,

(3) Reflect current knowledge and
practice, and

4) Do net contain significant

errors and/or deficiencies;
A closed-book final examination that:

1)) Contains a sufficient number of
questions to adequately test the
subject matter covered,

2) Contains clear and unambiguous
questions that are individually and
collectively appropriate to measure
attendee’s achievement of stated
fearning objectives;

A written instructor policy that requires the
use of instructors who meet the requirements
of the Act and this Title;

A written attendance policy that requires
attendance to be verified in accordance with
the Act and this Title; and

A written record retention policy; and

If applicable, for an activity conducted by an

accredited college, community college, or
unjversity, submit written evidence that
online or corvespondence activity provides
interaction in a reciprocal environment
where the student has verbal or written
communication with the instructor;

Pay a non-refundable new supervisory real property appraiser
and trainee course application fee of $25.00;

Submit a copy of the completion document;

If applicable, submit evidence that online or correspondence

activity meets the requirements of Section 001.07A of this

Chapteronline activity-is-certified-by the Intemnational
Distance Education-CertifieationCenter; and

If applicable, submit written evidence that the rights to the
activity have been purchased or lawfully acquired from the
education provider that owns rights to activity materials,

An application received at the Board’s office considered to be incomplete will
not be processed and may_be returned to the education provider as incomplete.
Any application not considered to be incomplete will be processed.
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by-the Board-f the Board’s_director finds that the education provider and
subrmitted course meets the requirements in the Act and this Title, the
application will be considered a completed application and the-Board-may-
approve-the -supervisory real property appraiser and trainee course may be
approved by the director. If the Board’s director finds that the education
provider and submitted course may not meet one or more of the requirements in
the Act and this Title, the application shall be placed before the Board for
consideration. If the Board finds that the education provider and submitted
course meets the requirements in the Act and this Title, the application will be
considered a completed application and the supervisory real property appraiser
and trainee course may be approved. The education provider will receive a
written notification of approval, which outlines the-details- details, including the
number of hours for which the course is approvedefapproval,

The application may be denied by the Board at any time during the process if the
education provider, submitted course, or instructor(s) for the submitted course
fail to meet the requirements in the Act and this Title. If an application is denied,
the Board will provide written notice of denial to the education provider that
includes a description of the deficiencies found by the Board. The education
provider has 60 days from the date of denial to rectify the deficiencies, If the
deficiencies are not rectified within 60 days, the education provider may file a
new application for approval of a supervisory real property appraiser and trainee
course, and if so, meet the requirements in place at the time a new application is
submitted to the Board,

Resubmission of Approved Supervisory Real Property Appraiser and
Trainee Course

004.05A

004.05B

An education provider shall resubmit a supervisory real property appraiser and
trainee course for approval if:

1 There are substantial change to the matetials, presentation, or policies,
(2) There is a change in the qualifications as specified in Section 005.01 of
this Chapter under which an instructor was approved-by-the-Beard,

3) One or more instructors are added or removed by the education
provider,

(4) The materials, theories, and/or methodologies are no longer current,

{5) The course content and/or policies are no longer communicated to the
attendes(s) as approvedpresented-io-the Bourdforapproval,

(6) There is a change in the status of the qualification for online or

correspondence delivery specified in Section 801.07A of this
ChapterThere-is-achange-inthestatusof certification-by-the
International Distance-Eduecation-Certiication-Center, or

N There is a change to a secondary provider’s rights to the activity.

The process and requirements for resubmission of a supervisory real property
appraiser and trainee course are the same as specified in Section 004.04 of this
Chapter. Only the requirements under Section 004.04A.2 of this Chapter that
have changed since approval was granted by-the-Board-must be included for
resubmission.
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004.05C Any education provider resubmitting a supervisory real property appraiser and
trainee course will prov:de a written explanation detailing what changes have

been made to the course since approval was granted-by-the Board.

004.06  Rescinding of Approval

004.06A The Board may rescind approval of a supervisory real property appraiser and
trainee course if the Board finds:
) Falsification of information submitted for activity approval,
(2) Substantial errors and/or deficiencies in the materials or presentation,
€)] The materials, theories, and/or methodologies are not current and/or
practical,

(4) A change in the qualifications as specified in Section 005.01 of this
Chapter under which an instructor was approved-by-the Board,

(5) The instructor(s) responsible for the activity content and presentation
are not approved-by-the Board,
(6) The activity has not been offered for a period of at least five years from

the last date of completion submitted to the Board or the approval date
if activity has not been offered,

)] The course content and/or policies are not communicated to the
attendee(s) as approvedpresented-to-the Boardforapproval,

(8) A material violation of the Act or this Title by the education provider or
instructor for the activity,

(9) A change in the status of the qualification for online or correspondence

delivery specified in Section 001.07A of this ChapterA-change in-the

sttus-ofeertifloationby-the International-Distanee-Education
Gertification-Center, or
(10} A change to a secondary provider’s rights to the activity.

004.06B If the Board finds reason to rescind its approval of a course, the Board will
provide written notice to the education provider that includes a description of the
reasons for rescinding approval found by the Board, The education provider has
60 days from the date of notice to provide a written response to the Board’s
notice. I the response is satisfactory to the Board, the Board will not rescind its
prior approval. If the response is not satisfactory to the Board, the Board may
rescind approval of the supervisory real property appraiser and trainee course. If
approval is rescinded, the education provider may file a new application for
approval of a supervismy real property appraiser and trainee course, and if so,
meet the requirements in place at the time a new application is submitted to the
Board.

005 INSTRUCTORS
An insfructor is an individual who is responsible for ensuring that the activity content is communicated to the
activity’s audience as presented to the Board for approval, and that the activity contributes to the quality of
valuation services provided to the public. An individual who communicates assigned materials or a portion of
activity content under the authorization of the education provider, but is not responsible for the activity content,
is not an instructor,

005.01  Requirements

005.01A An instructor for any qualifying education activity, continuing education
activity, or supervisory real property appraiser and trainee course, must satisfy at
least one of the following qualifications:
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005.01A.1 Hold a bachelor’s degree in any field and have at least three
years of experience directly related to the subject matter to be
taught;

005.01A.2 Hold a master’s degree or higher in any field and have at least
one year of experience directly related to the subject matter to
be taught;

005.01A.3 Hold a master’s degree or higher in a ficld that is directly
related to the subject matter to be taught;

005.01A.4 Have five years of real property appraisal practice teaching
experience directly related to the subject matter to be taught;
or

005.01A.5 Have seven years of real property appraisal practice
experience directly related to the subject matter to be taught.

An instructor for any qualifying education activity, continuing education
activity, or supervisory real property appraiser and trainee course, must meet
qualifications established pursuant to any other applicable law,

An instructor for any qualifying education activity, continuing education
activity, or supervisory real property appraiser and trainee course, may not have
a conviction, including a conviction based upon a plea of guilty or nolo
contendere, of any felony unless his or her civil rights have been restored.

An instructor for any qualifying education activity, continuing education
activity, or supervisory real property appraiser and trainee course, who holds a
credential as a real property appraiser in Nebraska or any other jurisdiction shalk:

005.01D.1 Maintain cach credential in good standing in accordance with
the laws of the jurisdiction in which each credential is held;

805.01D.2 Not have had a credential revoked, suspended, or have
surrendered a credential in lieu of disciplinary action within
three years; and

005.01D.3 Not have had disciplinary action taken against his or her
credential that may constitute a violation of NEB. REV.
STAT. § 76-2238 within three years.

Any instructor of the qualifying education fifteen-hour National Uniform
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice Course, the continuing education
seven-hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice
Update Course, and/or the supervisory real property appraiser and trainee
course, must:

005.01E.1 Be an AQB Certified USPAP Instructor by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation;

003.01E.2 Be a state-certified real property appraiser in good standing;
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005.01E.3 Have an instructional background in real property appraisal
practice education; and

005.01E.4 Have a minimum of five years of real property appraisal
practice experience.

Temporary approval of an instructor may be granted in an emergency situation
upon written request to the Board,

005.02  Initial Application

005.02A

005.02B

005.02C

54|Page

An education provider applying for approval of an instructor for any qualifying
education activity, continuing education activity, or supervisory real property
appraiser and trainee course, must;

005.02A.1 Submit an application for each activity on forms approved by
the Board showing compliance by the instructor applicant with
all requirements established by the Act or by this Title;

005.02A.2 Submit written evidence of the instructor applicant’s
qualifications related to the activity for which approval is
requested; and

005.02A.3 Submit evidence of the instructor applicant’s approval as an
AQB Certified USPAP Instructor by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation for
approval as an instructor of any qualifying education fifteen-
hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal
Practice Course, continuing education seven-hour National
Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice Update
Course, and/or supervisory real property appraiser and trainee
course,

An application received at the Board’s office considered to be incomplete will
not be processed and may be returned to the education provider as incomplete.
Any application not considered to be incomplete will be processed.

by-the-Beard—If the Board’s director finds that the instructor applicant meets the
requirements in the Act and this Title, the application will be considered a

completed application and the-Beard-may-approve-the instructor applicant may
be approved for a specific activity. If the Board's director finds that the

instructor applicant may not meet one or more of the requirements in the Act
and this Title, the application shall be placed before the Board for consideration.
If the Board finds that the instructor applicant meets the requirements in the Act
and this Title, the application will be considered a completed application and the
instructor applicant may be approved. The education provider will receive a
written notification of approval, which outlines the details of approval.
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The application may be denied by the Board at any time during the process if the
education provider, the activity for which application for instructor approval is
made, or the instructor applicant fails to meet the requirements in the Act and
this Title. If an application is denied, the Board will provide written notice of
denial to the education provider that includes a description of the deficiencies
found by the Board. The education provider has 60 days from the date of denial
to rectify the deficiencies. If the deficiencies are not rectified within 60 days, the
education provider may file a new application for instructor approval, and if so

meet the requirements in place at the time a new application is submitted to the
Board.

Resubmission of Instructor Approval

005.03A

005.03B8

An education provider shall resubmit an instructor for approval if:

1) There is a change in the status of instructor’s certification as an AQB
Certified USPAP Instructor by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of
The Appraisal Foundation if certification is required for instructor
approval,

{2) There is a change in the instructor’s qualifications as specified in
Section 005,01 of this Chapter under which he or she was approved by
the-Beard-as an instructor for an activity,

{3) There is a change in the status of approval of the activity by the
Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through
its Course Approval Program,

(4) There are substantial changes to the activity materials, presentation, or
policies,

(5) The activity materials, theories, and/or methodologies are no longer
current,

(6) The activity content and/or policies are no longer communicated to the
attendee(s) as presented-to-the-Board-fer-approvedal, or

N There is a change to a secondary provider’s rights to the activity.

The process and requirements for resubmission of an instructor are the same as
specified in Section 005.02 of this Chapter.

Expiration and Rescinding of Instructor Approval

005.04A

005.04B

Approval as an instructor for an activity expires on the same date the activity is
no longer approved,

The Board may rescind approval of an instructor for an activity if the Board
finds:

(1) Falsification of information submitted for activity and/or instructor
approval,
(2) A change in the status of instructor’s certification as an AQB Certified

USPAP Instructor by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The
Appraisal Foundation if certification is required for instructor approval,

{3) A change in the instructor’s qualifications, as specified in Section
005.01 of this Chapter, under which he or she was approved by-the
Beard-as an instructor for an activity,

{4) A change in the status of approval of the activity by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course
Approval Program,
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(5)
©
™
(®)
)

Substantial errors and/or deficiencies in the materials or presentation of
activity,

The materials, theories, and/or methodologies of activity are not current
and/or practical,

The activity content and/or policies are not communicated as presented

te-the-Beard-fer-approvedal,

A material violation of the Act or this Title by the education provider or
instructor, or

A change to a secondary provider’s rights to the activity.

If the Board finds reason to rescind its prior approval of an instructor, the Board
will provide written notice to the education provider that includes a description
of reasons for rescinding approval found by the Board. The education provider
has 60 days from the date of notice to provide a written response to the Board’s
notice. If the response is satisfactory to the Board, the Board will not rescind its
prior approval. If the response is not satisfactory to the Board, the Board may
rescind approval of the instructor, If approval is rescinded, the education
provider may file a new application for instructor approval, and if so, meet the
requirements in place at the time a new application is submitted to the Board.
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CHAPTER 7
APPRAISAL MANAGEMENT COMPANY REGISTRATION

APPLICATION

To qualify for registration as an appraisal management company, an applicant must comply with ali of the
provisions of the AMC Act and this Title relating to registration.

001.01 Any applicant for registration as an appraisal management company must:

001.01A Submit an application and required documentation on forms approved by the
Board showing compliance by the applicant with all registration requirements
established by the AMC Act or by this Title; and

001.01B Pay a non-refundable application fee of $350.00.

001.02  Any application received at the Board’s office considered to be incomplete will not be processed
and may be returned to the applicant as incomplete. Any application not considered to be
incomplete wilt be processed.

001.03

the Board’s director finds that the apphcant meets the general requlrernents in the AMC Act and
this Title, the application will be considered a completed application, and the Board-may-approve
ssuance-ofaregishationto-the apphicantapplicant may be issued a registration as an appraisal

management company._If the Board’s director finds that the applicant may not meet one ot more
of the requivements in the AMC Act and this Title, the application shall be placed before the Board

for consideration. If the Board finds that the applicant meets the general requirements in the AMC
Act and this Title, the application will be considered a completed application and registration as an
appraisal management company may be issued to the applicant,

001.04 Within sixty days of approval, by-the-Beard-that-the applicant may be issued registration as an
appraisal management company, and before the applicant is authorized to conduct business as an
appraisal management company in this State, the applicant shall:

001.04A Pay a non-refundable initial registration fee of $2000.00;

001.04B On a form approved by the Board, submit the following information for any
AMC appraiser who has performed an appraisal of real property or real estate
for the applicant in connection with a covered transaction in the State of
Nebraska during the twelve-month period ending ninety days prior to the date on
which the-board-approved-issuance of a registration to the applicant was
approved. This requirement does not apply to appraisal management services
provided by the applicant exempt under N.R.8. § 76-3204:

(1) First and last name,
2) Credential number,
&) Number of appraisals performed,
(4 Earliest appraisal submission date, and
(3) Latest appraisal submission date; and
001.04C Pay an annual AMC National Registry fee in the amount of $25.00 for each

AMC Appraiser reported pursuant to Section 004.01B of this Chapter.

001.05 If an applicant fails to provide the required fees as specified in Section 001.04 of this Chapter, the
application will be placed before the Board for reconsideration.
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001.06 Upon receipt of the required fees at the Board’s office, the applicant will be issued:

001.06A

001.06B

A letter notifying the organization of their status as a Nebraska registered
appraisal management company; and

A wall certificate on a form approved by the Board.

001.07  The Board may deny an application at any time during the process if the Board finds that the
applicant fails to meet the requirements in the AMC Act and/or this Title that pertain to
registration. If the Board denies an application for any reason excluding the criminal history
record check, the applicant may file a new application, and if so, meet the requirements in place at
the time a new application is submitted to the Board.

001.08 If the fingerprint-based national criminal history record check result is the basis for denial, the
individual is entitled to a copy of his or her national criminal history record, and an opportunity to

dispute the result.

001.08A

001.08B

In order to receive a copy of such record, the individual shall:

001.08A1 In person, complete a form approved by the Board that
relieves the Board from any liability related to the release of
the national criminal history record; and

001.08A.2 Present a passport, driver’s license, or other government-
issued identification card with a photograph to be copied by
the Board.

If the individual provides evidence acceptable to the Board that the fingerprint-
based national criminal history record check result that was the basis for denial
is incorrect, the Board may reconsider the application.

001.09 Every Appraisal Management Company registered in the State of Nebraska shall keep the Board
informed of the organization’s principal place of doing business and notify the Board in writing
within ten (10) calendar days of any change of such address or telephone number.

RENEWAL

An applicant for renewal of an appraisal management company registration must comply with ali of the
provisions of the AMC Act and this Title relating to registration,

002.01 Any applicant for renewal of a registration as an appraisal management company must, no later
than sixty days prior to the expiration of the current registration:

002.01A
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Submit an application and required documentation on forms approved by the
Board showing compliance by the applicant with all registration and renewal
requirements established by the AMC Act and by this Title, which includes the
following information for any AMC appraiser who has performed an appraisal
of real property or real estate for the applicant in connection with a covered
transaction in the State of Nebraska during the twelve-month period ending
ninety days prior to the expiration date of the current registration:

(1) First and last name,
2) Credential number,
3 Number of appraisals performed,
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(4) Earliest appraisal submission date, and
(5 Latest appraisal submission date;
002.01B Pay a non-refundable renewal registration fee of $1500.00; and
002.01C Pay an annual AMC National Registry fee in the amount of $25.00 for each

AMC Appraiser reported pursuant to Section 002.01A of this Chapter.

Any application received at the Board’s office considered to be incomplete will not be processed
and may be returned to the applicant as incomplete. Any application not considered to be
incomplete will be processed.,

: 3 d-laredH the applicant meets the
general requirements in the AMC Act and this Title, the application will be considered a
completed application, and the registration may be renewed by board staff. If the Board’s director
finds that the applicant may not meet one or more of the requirements in the AMC Act and this
Title, the application shall be placed before the Board for consideration. If the Board finds that the
applicant meets the general requirements in the AMC Act and this Title, the application will be
considered a completed application and the reeistration may be renewed. Upon approval, the
appraisal management company will receive a letfer notifying the organization of their status as a
Nebraska registered appraisal management company,

The Board may deny an application at any time during the process if the Board finds that the
applicant fails to meet the requirements in the AMC Act and/or this Title that pertain to
registration or renewal. If the Board denies renewal of a registration for any basis excluding the
criminal history record check, the applicant may file a new application, and if so, meet the
requirements in place at the time a new application is submitted to the Board.

If the fingerprint-based national criminal history record check result is the basis for denial, the
individual is-be entitled 1o a copy of his or her national criminal history record, and an opportunity
to dispute the result.

002.05A In order to receive a copy of such record, the individual shail:

002.05A.1 In person, complete a form approved by the Board that
relieves the Board from any liability related to the release of
the national criminal history record, and

002.05A.2 Present a passport, driver’s license, or other government-
issued identification card with a photograph to be copied by
the Board.

002.058B If the individual provides evidence acceptable to the Board that the fingerprint-
based national criminal history record check result that was the basis for denial
is incorrect, the Board may reconsider the application.

Any appraisal management company who fails to meet the renewal application requirements
specified in Section 002.01 of this Chapter may be eligible for renewal of a registration if, within
six months of the registration expiration date, the requirements specified in Section 002.01A
through Section 002.01C of this Chapter are met and a late processing fee of $25.00 for each
month or portion of a month the renewal application requirements are not met is received at the
Board’s office.
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Any appraisal management company who fails to meet the requirements in the AMC Act and this
Title pertaining to the renewal of a registration is not eligible for renewal and may submit an
application for a new registration.

Any person who continues to perform as an appraisal management company or related activities
subject to the AMC Act following the date of expiration of a registration is in violation of the
AMC Act and of this Title. Such person will be subject to any restrictions and penalties provided
by the AMC Act or by this Title, and any application by such person for a registration shall be
subject to all requirements for issuance of a new registration.

FEDERALLY REGULATED APPRAISAL MANAGEMENT COMPANIES

A federally regulated appraisal management company must report all information required to be submitted to
the Appraisal Subcommittee pursuant to Title X1 of the Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and
Enforcement Act of 1989, the AMC final rule, and any policy or rule established by the Appraisal
Subcommittee related to its operation in this state, including, but not limited to, the collection of information
related to ownership.

003.01

003.02

003.03
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Any federally regulated appraisal management company that does not hold a registration as an
appraisal management company issued by the Board must submit the information required for the
AMC National Registry on a form approved by the Board, which includes the following
information for any AMC appraiser who has performed an appraisal of real property or real estate
for the federally regulated appraisal management company in connection with a covered
transaction in the State of Nebraska during the twelve-month period as requested on the form
approved by the Board:

() First and last name,

(2) Credential number,

3 Number of appraisals performed,

4) Earliest appraisal submission date, and
(5) Latest appraisal submission date;

Pay an annual AMC Registry fee in the amount of $25.00 for each AMC Appraiser reported
pursuant to Section 003.01 of this Chapter; and

Pay a non-refundable application fee of $350.00.
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CHAPTER 8
INVESTIGATIONS AND DISCIPLINARY PROCEEDINGS

GENERAL

001.01 The Board will not enter into disputes that solely concern the valuation of any property.

001.02 Except for those filed by the Board, all grievances shall be in writing and signed, setting forth in
clear and concise language the alleged violations of the Act, AMC Act, and/or the Rules and
Regulations of the Board. Any documentation in support of the alleged violations shall be
included with the grievance.

001.03 Nothing in this Chapter limits or precludes the Board in the performance of its investigatory duties
under the Act or AMC Act.

001.04 All disciplinary hearings for any violation of the Act, AMC Act, and/or this Title will be governed
by the Administrative Procedures Act and 297 NAC 4.

001.05 All investigations or disciplinary actions that are not formally dismissed are published on the

Board’s website for a period of ten years from the date of execution of a consent agreement or the
date of order resulting in disciplinary action, and reported to the Appraisal Subcommittee of the
Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council as required.

VIOLATION OF REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER ACT

002.01

002.02

002.03
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Any person in the State of Nebraska is subject to the procedures established by this Chapter for
any alleged violations of the Act, the standards established by this Title, or of this Title. Such
procedure shall not suspend or preclude any other proceedings otherwise allowed by the Act or by
other law.

If technical assistance is required o assist with the investigation and/or hearing, the Board may
confract with or use a qualified person. A member of the Board may participate in the
investigation; however, no board member may vote on any matter in which he or she is appointed
by his or her fellow board members to participate in an investigation. Any person in contract with
the Board to provide technical assistance for an investigation reports his or her findings to the
Board’s investigator as requested.

Upon receipt of a grievance not filed by the Board, the following steps are generally followed:

002,03A If applicable, the aggrieved person will be notified in writing that the grievance
has been received, and provided the investigation number assigned to the
grievance; and directions to follow the matter through the minutes of the Board
meefings in which the grievance is discussed.

002.03B The person against whom the grievance is filed will be notified in writing of the
grievance and the allegations, and may be requested to:

002.03B.1 Submit true copies of report(s) and workfile(s), within an
appropriate period of time as determined by the investigator;
and/or
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002.03B.2 Answer the allegations in writing, electronically, or verbally
as determined by the investigator.

The Board’s investigator evaluates the grievance, along with any information
obtained pursuant to Section 002.03B of this Chapter, to determine jurisdiction
and make a preliminary determination as to whether any violations of the Act or
this Title have been alleged. Upon conclusion of the evaluation, the investigator
will make a presentation to the Board as to whether sufficient evidence exists to
proceed with an investigation.

The Board reviews the evidence provided by the investigator and determines
whether the allegation(s) should be dismissed, or whether the allegation(s)
should be investigated.

002.03D.1 If the Board determines that the allegations(s) should be
investigated, the person under investigation will be notified of
the investigation and any alleged violations of the Act or this
Title in writing; or

002.03D.2 If the Board determines that the allegation(s) should be
dismissed, the person under investigation will be notified of
dismissal in writing.

For a grievance filed by the Board, the following steps are generally followed:

002.04A

002.048

002.04C

The person against whom the Board is considering filing a grievance will be
notified in writing of the Board’s concerns, and may be requested to submit true
copies of repori(s) and workfile(s), along with other information, within an
appropriate period of time as determined by the investigator.

The Board’s investigator evaluates the matter, along with any information
obtained pursuant to Section 002.04A of this Chapter, to determine jurisdiction
and make a preliminary determination as to whether any violations of the Act or
this Title have been alleged. Upon conclusion of the evaluation, the investigator
will make a presentation to the Board as to whether sufficient evidence exists to
proceed with an investigation,

The Board reviews the evidence provided by the investigator and determines
whether the matter should be investigated.

002.04C.1 1f the Board determines that the matter should be investigated,
the Board files a grievance and notifies the person under
investigation of grievance, including any alleged violations of
the Act or this Title in writing; or

002.04C.2 1f the Board determines that the matter should not be
investigated, notice of such determination is provided to the
person against whom the Board was considering filing a
grievance.
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If the Board determines to proceed with an investigation, the following steps are generally

followed:

002.05A

002.05B

002.05C

002.05D

002.05E

In conducting an investigation, and prior to filing a formal complaint on the
grievance, the person who is under investigation may be requested to:

002.05A.1 Submit additional documentation within an appropriate period
of time as determined by the investigator; and/or

002.05A.2 Provide a response to the results of one or more technical
reviews, and/or provide any other information concerning the
investigation, in writing, electronically, or verbally as
determined by the investigator.

In conducting an investigation, the aggrieved person may be requested to:
002.05B.1 Submit documentation and other information as requested;

002.05B.2 Respond to any request for information in writing,
electronically, or verbally as determined by the investigator;
and/or,

002.05B.3 Discuss the allegations with the investigator.

In conducting an investigation, the investigator may interview or request
information in writing, electronically, or verbaily as determined by the
investigator, from any other person.

Upon the conclusion of an investigation, the Board’s investigator may prepare
an investigative report. The report includes documentation that supports the
findings as needed to dismiss the allegation(s), or:

002.05D.1 In the case of a credential holder, file a formal complaint.

002.05D.2 In the case of a person not holding a credential under the Act,
issue a cease and desist order or refer the investigation to the
appropriate county attorney for the consideration of formal
charges.

The Board may offer the person an opportunity to informally discuss the alleged
violation(s} before the Board or with representative(s) of the Board, request
further investigation, dismiss the allegation{s), or:

002.05E.1 In the case of a credential holder, file a formal complaint.

002.05E.2 In the case of a person not holding a credential under the Act,
issue a cease and desist order or refer the investigation to the
appropriate county attorney for the consideration of formal
charges.
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002.05F If the investigation reveals that there is not good cause to believe that the person
under investigation has violated the Act or this Title, or the violation(s) is/are
minor in nature as determined by the Board, the matter will be dismissed, and no
formal complaint will be initiated by the Board, or cease and desist order issued
by the Board. Upon dismissal, the Board may issue an advisory opinion,
recommend a specific education activity, request to meet with the person under
investigation to discuss the matter, or make any other recommendation that the
Board deems beneficial to the person under investigation.

002.05G If the investigation discloses evidence that the actions of the person under
investigation constitute a violation of the Act or this Title:

002.05G.1 A formal complaint is prepared by the Board and served upon
the credential holder under investigation.

002.05G.2 A cease and desist order may be prepared by the Board and
served upon the non-credential holder under investigation.

The Board may enter into a consent agreement or negotiated settlement at any time during an
investigation, any time before a cease and desist order is issued in the case of a person not holding
a credential under the Act, or any time after filing a formal complaint for any person credentialed
under the Act. Voluntary surrender or nonrenewal of a credential or education activity to avoid or
expedite enforcement or disciplinary action does not preclude any enforcement action or sanction
for any alleged violation. In addition, voluntary surrender or nonrenewal of a credential will
prohibit the credential holder from applying for subsequent reinstatement or credentialing,

Disciplinary action taken by the Board may include but is not limited to:

(H Revocation of a credential or education activity,

(2) Suspension of a credential or education activity,

3) Denial of any application,

(4} Probation,

(5) Admonishment,

(6) Censure,

(7) Reprimand,

(8) Advisement,

(9 Education,

(10) Examination,

(1 Real property aAppraisal practice eExperience,

(12)  Limit or limitations on a credential holder or applicant, and/or upon the right to engage in
real property appraisal practiceaetivity and trainee real property appraiser supervision,

(13) Cease and desist order, and

(14 Costs associated with investigation.

Pursuant to NEB. REV. STAT. § 76-2248.01, at any time during or upon completion of an
investigation, whenever in the judgement of the Board, any person has engaged or is about to
engage in any acts or practices which constitute or will constitute a violation of the Act or this
Title, the Board may request that Attorney General maintain an action in the name of the State of
Nebraska to abate and temporarily and permanently enjoin such acts and practices and to enforce
compliance with the Act or this Title,
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Supervisory Real Property Appraiser

002.09A

402098

002.09C

002.09D

1f any report submitted to the Board by a trainee real property appraiser for
verification of experience as an applicant for credentialing is found to contain
Uniform Standard of Professional Appraisal Practice deficiencies, the
supervisory real property appraiser is notified of the Board’s concerns, and is
provided a redacted copy of any technical review of the subject report completed
at the request of the Board.

The supervisory real property appraiser may be requested fo:

002.09B.1 Submit documentation, including but not limited to, report(s)
and workfile(s);

002.09B.2 Answer the results of a technical review in writing; and/or

002.09B.3 Voluntarily and informally discuss the results of a technical
review with one or more board members,

If the Board finds that there is not good cause to believe that the supervisory
real property appraiser has violated the Act or the Rules and Regulations
promulgated by the Board, no consideration will be given to the certified real
property appraiser’s future activity as a supervisory real property appraiser.

If the Board finds a probability that the actions of the supervisory real property
appraiser constitute a violation of the Act or the Rules and Regulations, a written
advisement may be issued, which may or may not include a recommendation for
the supervisory real property appraiser to take additional action; or the Board
may upon its own motion cause an investigation to be made, If the Board
determines to proceed with an investigation, the steps in Section 002.05 of this
Chapter are generally followed.

Education Provider

002.10A

002.10B

002.10C

002.10D

If the actions of an education provider constitute an alleged violation of the Act
or this Title, the education provider is notified of the Board’s concerns in
writing.

The education provider may be requested to answer the allegations in writing,
subrmit documentation as requested, and/or voluntarily and informally discuss
the alleged violations with the Board or its investigator,

If the Board finds that there is not good cause to believe that the education
provider has violated the Act or this Title, the education provider will be notified
in writing, which may or may not inciude advisement.

If the Board finds a probability that the actions of the education provider
constitute a violation of the Act or this Title, the Board may upon its own
motion, cause an investigation fo be made. If the Board determines to proceed
with an investigation, the steps in Section 002.05 of this Chapter are generally
followed. If applicable, the education provider is notified of the Board’s intent to
rescind approval of an activity and any actions that may mitigate the Board’s
concems,
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VIOLATION OF THE AMC REGISTRATION ACT

003.01

003.02

003.03
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All registered appraisal management companies and all applicants for a registration in the State of
Nebraska are subject to the complaint procedures established by this Chapter for any alleged
violations of the AMC Act, the standards established by this Title, or of this Title, Such procedure
shall not suspend or preciude any other proceedings otherwise allowed by the AMC Act or by
other law.

If technical assistance is required o assist with the investigation and/or hearing, the Board may
contract with or use qualified individuals or companies, A member of the Board may participate in
the investigation; however, no board member may vote on any matter in which he or she was
appointed by his or her fellow board members to participate in an investigation. Any person under
contract with the Board to provide technical assistance for an investigation reports his or her
findings to the Board’s investigator as requested.

Upon receipt of a grievance not filed by the Board, the following steps are generally followed:

003.03A If applicable, the aggrieved person is notified in writing that the grievance has
been received, and provided the investigation number assigned to the grievance;
and directions to follow the matter through the minutes of the Board meetings in
which the grievance is discussed,

003.03B The person against whom the grievance is filed is notified in writing of the
grievance and the allegations, and may be requested to answer the allegations in
writing, electronically, or verbally within an appropriate period of time as
determined by the investigator.

003.03C The Board’s investigator evaluates the grievance, along with any information
obtained pursuant to Section 003.03B of this Chapter, to determine jurisdiction
and to make a preliminary determination as to whether any violations of the
AMC Act or this Title have been alleged. Upon conclusion of the evaluation, the
investigator will make a presentation to the Board as to whether sufficient
evidence exists to proceed with an investigation,

003.03D The Board reviews the evidence provided by the investigator and determines
whether the allegation(s) should be dismissed, or whether the allegation(s)
should be investigated.

003.03D.1 If the Board determines that the allegations(s) should be
investigated, the person under investigation is notified of the
investigation and any alleged violations of the AMC Act or
this Title in writing; or

003.03D.2 If the Board determines that the allegation(s) should be
dismissed, the person under investigation is notified of
dismissal in writing.




TITLE 298 NAC - NEBRASKA REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER BOARD

003.04

003.05

67|Page

August 19, 2021 Heaving Draft (Legislative)

For a grievance filed by the Board, the following steps are generally followed:

003.04A

003.04B

003.04C

The person against whom the Board is considering filing a grievance againstis
notified in writing of the Board’s concerns, and may be requested to submit
information within an appropriate period of time as determined by the
investigator.

The Board’s investigator evaluates the matter, along with any information
obtained pursuant to Section 003.04A of this Chapter, to determine jurisdiction
and make a preliminary determination as to whether any violations of the AMC
Act or this Title have been alleged. Upon conclusion of the evaluation, the
investigator will make a presentation to the Board as to whether sufficient
evidence exists to proceed with an investigation.

The Board reviews the evidence provided by the investigator and determines
whether the matter should be investigated.

003.04C.1 If the Board determines that the matter should be investigated,
the Board files a grievance and notifies the person under
investigation of grievance, including any alleged violations of
the AMC Act or this Title in writing; or

003.04C.2 If the Board determines that the matter should not be
investigated, notice of such determination is provided to the
person against whom the Board was considering filing a
grievance,

1f the Board determines to proceed with an investigation, the following steps are generally

followed:

003.05A

003.05B

In conducting an investigation, and prior to filing a formal complaint on the
grievance, the person who is under investigation may be requested fo:

003.05A.1 Submit documentation, including but not limited to, report(s)
and workﬁle(s) aud-appraisal review report(s)-and-worlfiles,
AMC appraiser panel information, Uniform Standards of
Professional Appraisal Practice compliance, AMC appraiser
fees, and record of appraisel-AMC appraiser valuation services
within an appropriate period of time as determined by the
investigator; and/or

003.05A.2 Provide any other information concerning the investigation, in
writing, electronically, or verbally as determined by the
investigator,

In conducting an investigation, the aggrieved person may be requested to:
003.05B.1 Submit documentation as requested;

003.05B.2 Respond to any request for information in writing,
electronically, or verbally as determined by the investigator;
andfor,
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003.06

003.07

003.08
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003.05B.3 Discuss the allegations with the investigator.

003.05C In conducting an investigation, the investigator may interview or request
information in writing, electronically, or verbally as determined by the
investigator, from any other person.

003.05D Upon the conclusion of an investigation, the Board’s investigator may prepare
an investigative report. The report includes documentation that supports the
findings as needed to dismiss the allegation(s) or file a formal complaint.

003.05E If the investigation reveals that there is not good cause to believe that the person
under investigation has violated the AMC Act or this Title, or the violation(s)
is/are minor in nature as determined by the Board, the matter will be dismissed
and no formal complaint will be initiated by the Board. Upon dismissal, the
Board may issue an advisory opinion, or recommend a specific action that the
Board deems beneficial to the person under investigation,

003.05F If the investigation discloses evidence that the actions of the person under
investigation constitute a violation of the AMC Act or this Title, a formal
complaint may be prepared by the Board,

The Board may enter into a consent agreement or negotiated settlement at any time before or after
filing a formal complaint. Voluntary surrender or nonrenewal of a registration to avoid or expedite
enforcement or disciplinary action does not preclude any enforcement action or sanction for any
alleged violation and will prohibit the person under investigation from applying for subsequent
reinstatement or registration.

Disciplinary action taken by the Board may include but is not limited to:

(1) Conditional or unconditional revocation,
{2) Conditional or unconditional suspension,
(3) Fine,

()] Censure,

(5) Admonishment,

(6) Civil penalty not to exceed five thousand dollars for a first offense and; not to exceed ten
thousand dollars for a second or subsequent offenses,

(7 Advisement,

(%) Cease and desist order, and/or

9 Costs associated with investigation.

Pursuant to NEB. REV. 8TAT. § 76-3222, at any time during or upon completion of an
investigation, whenever in the judgement of the Board, any person has engaged or is about to
engage in any acts or practices which constitute or will constitute a violation of the AMC Act or
this Title, the Board may request that Attorney General maintain an action in the name of the State
of Nebraska to abate and temporarily and permanently enjoin such acts and practices and to
enforce compliance with the AMC Act or this Title.




