NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

August 16, 2019 10:00 AM Central Time Gold's Building – Room 534 1033 O Street, Lincoln, Nebraska

The purpose of this hearing is to receive comments on proposed changes to Title 471 Chapter 2 of the Nebraska Administrative Code (NAC) - Provider Participation -These regulations govern provider participation under Nebraska's Medicaid Program. The proposed changes set forth provider participation requirements, reasons for sanctions, provider disclosures, and update the screening and enrollment of Medicaid providers to include fingerprint based criminal background checks. The proposed changes also remove duplicate statutory and inconsistent language from the regulations, restructure the regulatory chapter, and ensure compliance with the State Plan, other NAC chapters, federal law, and best practices.

Authority for these regulations is found in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 81-3117(7).

Interested persons may attend the hearing and provide verbal or written comments or mail, fax or email written comments, no later than the day of the hearing to: DHHS Legal Services, PO Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, (402) 742-2382 or dhhs.regulations@nebraska.gov, respectively.

A copy of the proposed changes is available online at http://www.sos.ne.gov, or by contacting DHHS at the mailing address or email above, or by phone at (402) 471-8417. The fiscal impact statement for these proposed changes may be obtained at the office of the Secretary of State, Regulations Division, 1201 N Street, Suite 120, Lincoln, NE 68508, or by calling (402) 471-2385.

Auxiliary aids or reasonable accommodations needed to participate in a hearing can be requested by calling (402) 471-8417. Individuals with hearing impairments may call DHHS at (402) 471-9570 (voice and TDD) or the Nebraska Relay System at 711 or (800) 833-7352 TDD at least 2 weeks prior to the hearing.

FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT

Agency: Department of Health and Human Services		
Title: 471	Prepared by: Erica Brooks	
Chapter: 2	Date prepared: 2-28-19	
Subject: Provider Participation	Telephone: 402-471-1868	

	State Agency	Political Sub.	Regulated Public
No Fiscal Impact	(⊠)	(🗆)	(🗆)
Increased Costs	(🗆)	(🗵)	(🗵)
Decreased Costs	(🗆)	(🗆)	(🗆)
Increased Revenue	(🗆)	(🗆)	(🗆)
Decreased Revenue	(🗆)	(🗆)	(🗆)
Indeterminable	(🗆)	(🗆)	(🗆)

Provide an Estimated Cost & Description of Impact:

State Agency:

Political Subdivision: Certain providers and associated individuals will be required to pay costs associated with fingerprinting and federal criminal background checks. The costs are expected to be approximately \$45.25 per provider/individual.

Regulated Public: Certain providers and associated individuals will be required to pay costs associated with fingerprinting and federal criminal background checks. The costs are expected to be approximately \$45.25 per provider/individual.

If indeterminable, explain why:

TITLE 471 NEBRASKA MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM SERVICES

<u>CHAPTER 2</u> <u>PROVIDER PARTICIPATION</u>

001. SCOPE AND AUTHORITY. These regulations govern services provided under the Medical Assistance Act, Nebraska Revised Statute (Neb. Rev. Stat.) §§ 68-901 to 68-991.

<u>002.</u> <u>DEFINITIONS. The following definitions apply:</u>

002.01 ABUSE. Practices or actions that are inconsistent with sound fiscal, business, or medical practices and result in an unnecessary cost to Medicaid or in reimbursement for services that are not medically necessary or that fail to meet professionally recognized standards for health care. Abuse may include underutilization or overutilization.

<u>002.02 AFFILIATES</u>. Persons having an overt or covert relationship such that any one of them directly or indirectly controls or has the power to control another.

<u>002.03 BILLING. Presenting, or causing to be presented, a claim for payment to the Department, its agents, or assignees.</u>

<u>002.04 BILLING AGENT. An entity that submits or facilitates the submission of claims for payment to the Department.</u>

<u>002.05 CLAIM.</u> A request for payment for services rendered or supplied by a provider to a client.

<u>002.06 CLEARINGHOUSE</u>. An entity that processes or facilitates the processing of information received from another entity in the following formats:

- (A) In a nonstandard format or containing nonstandard data content into a standard transaction; or
- (B) In a standard transaction into nonstandard format or data content.

<u>002.07 CLOSED-END PROVIDER ENROLLMENT.</u> An enrollment that is for a specific period of time.

<u>002.08 EXCLUDED PERSON OR ENTITY.</u> Any individual or entity that is no longer eligible to participate as a provider, owner, managing employee, affiliate, or other individual or entity associated with an enrolled provider in Medicaid due to a sanction.

<u>002.09 EXCLUSION. Prohibition from participating in Medicaid or affiliating with an enrolled provider.</u>

002.10 FRAUD. An intentional deception or misrepresentation made by a person with the knowledge that the deception could result in some unauthorized benefit to himself, herself, or some other person. It includes any act that constitutes fraud under applicable federal or state law.

Fraud includes, but is not limited to, the willful false statement or representation, or impersonation or other device, made by a client, applicant, provider, Department employee, or any other person, for the purpose of obtaining or attempting to obtain, or aiding or abetting any person to obtain:

- (A) An assistance certificate of award to which the individual is not entitled;
- (B) Any commodity, food stuff, food coupon, or payment to which the individual is not entitled or a larger amount of payment than that to which the individual is entitled;
- (C) Any payment made on behalf of a client of medical assistance or social services;
- (D) Any other benefit administered by the State of Nebraska, its agents or assignees; or
- (E) Assistance in violation of any statutory provision relating to programs administered by the Department.
- 002.11 INITIAL ENROLLMENT. A provider's first time enrolling with Medicaid.
- 002.12 MANAGING EMPLOYEE. With respect to an entity, an individual, including a general manager, business manager, administrator, or director, who exercises operational or managerial control over the entity, or who directly or indirectly conducts the day-to-day operations of the entity.
- 002.13 MEDICAID EXCLUDED PROVDERS LIST. List of providers, persons, and entities that have been terminated or excluded from participation with Medicaid.
- 002.14 OPEN-ENDED PROVIDER ENROLLMENT. An enrollment that has no termination date and continues in force as long as the provider satisfies the applicable eligibility criteria.
- <u>002.15 OTHER INDIVIDUALS OR ENTITIES ASSOCIATED WITH THE ENROLLED PROVIDER.</u> Ancillary healthcare professionals or staff who do not see Medicaid patients but <u>are associated with a provider.</u>

002.16 OVERUTILIZATION. Overutilization includes:

- (A) A documented pattern of ordering, performing, or billing tests, examinations, medical visits, surgeries, drugs, or merchandise for which there is no demonstrable need; or
- (B) Inducing, furnishing, or otherwise causing a client to receive services or merchandise not otherwise required by the client, ordered by the attending physician, or deemed appropriate by a utilization review committee.

- <u>002.17 OVERPAYMENT. Any erroneous payment to a provider, whether made due to the result of fraud, waste, abuse, inadvertence, or Department error.</u>
- <u>002.18 PARTICIPATION. Participation in Medicaid includes providing, referring, furnishing, ordering, or prescribing services to a Medicaid client or causing services to be provided, referred, furnished, ordered, or prescribed for a Medicaid client.</u>
- <u>002.19 PAYMENT. Reimbursement or compensation by the Department, its agents, assignees, or managed care plans.</u>
- 002.20 PERSON. Any individual, company, firm, association, corporation, or other legal entity.
- 002.21 PERSON WITH AN OWNERSHIP OR CONTROL INTEREST. A person who:
 - (A) Has directly or indirectly an ownership interest of five percent or more in the entity;
 - (B) Is the owner of a whole or part interest in any mortgage, deed of trust, note, or other obligation secured, in whole or in part, by the entity or any of the property or assets thereof, which whole or part interest is equal to or exceeds five percent of the total property and assets of the entity;
 - (C) Is an officer or director of the entity, if the entity is organized as a corporation; or
 - (D) Is a partner in the entity, if the entity is organized as a partnership.
- <u>002.22 PATIENT WAIVER.</u> An agreement by which the client agrees to release his or her medical records to state or federal authorities accomplished by the client signing the, "Application for Assistance."
- <u>002.23 REACTIVATION.</u> Enrollment of a provider whose previous service provider enrollment was terminated or excluded by the Department, and removal from the Medicaid excluded providers list.
- <u>002.24 RE-ENROLLMENT.</u> Enrollment of a provider whose previous service provider enrollment expired or was voluntarily closed by the provider.
- <u>002.25 REVALIDATION. Process by which the Department confirms a provider's enrollment-related information is valid, updated, and accurate.</u>
- 002.26 TERMINATION FROM PARTICIPATION. An exclusion from participation in Medicaid.
- <u>002.27 TRADING PARTNER AGREEMENT. An agreement related to the electronic exchange of information between the Department and a trading partner.</u>
- <u>002.28 TRADING PARTNER. A health care plan, provider, or clearinghouse that transmits any health information in electronic form.</u>
- <u>002.29 UNDERUTILIZATION.</u> Not furnishing required services, or a lack of treatment or referrals when there is a demonstrable need.
- <u>002.30 USUAL AND CUSTOMARY CHARGE. The provider's charges to the general public for</u> equivalent goods or services.

<u>002.31 WITHHOLDING OF PAYMENTS</u>. An adjustment of the amounts paid to the provider on pending and subsequently submitted claims to offset overpayments previously made to the provider.

003. PROVIDER REQUIREMENTS.

003.01 PROVIDER ELIGILIBITY. To be eligible to participate in Title XIX (Medicaid) and Title XXI Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP), the provider must meet the general standards for all providers in 471 Nebraska Administrative Code (NAC) Chapters 1, 2, and 3, if appropriate, and the standards for participation for each provider type included within:

- (A) Each provider specific chapter of Title 471 NAC;
- (B) Title 480 NAC for Home and Community-Based Waiver Services;
- (C) Title 403 and 404 NAC for Community-Based Services for Individuals with Developmental Disabilities; and
- (D) Title 482 NAC for Managed Care Services.

<u>003.02 PROVIDER ENROLLMENT.</u> The Department will not cover services rendered, ordered, or referred by a provider, or pay a provider for services, when that provider is not enrolled with Medicaid in accordance with 471 NAC 2. Each provider business location where services are rendered must be enrolled.

003.02(A) PROVIDER SCREENING. The Department will, at a minimum, screen all providers as provided in 42 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 455, Subpart E. In accordance with 42 CFR 455.452, the Department may enact additional or more stringent screening methods which will be included within either the NAC or Nebraska state law. The Department will deny or terminate the enrollment of any provider that fails to comply with or meet all applicable screening requirements.

003.02(A)(i) SITE VISITS. A provider must permit the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and the Department to conduct unannounced onsite inspections of any and all provider locations. The Department may deny or terminate the enrollment of a provider who fails to permit a site visit. The Department may also deny or terminate a provider if, based on the site visit, the Department determines the provider location does not match the service provider agreement or does not meet the standards for participation.

003.02(A)(ii) CATEGORICAL RISK LEVELS. All provider types are categorized into one of three risk levels based on a determination by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and the state Medicaid agency of the risk of fraud, waste, and abuse. The risk level of a provider will be raised to high risk, regardless of their provider type risk level, when payments are suspended based on a credible allegation of fraud, the provider has an existing Medicaid overpayment, or the provider has been excluded by the Office of the Inspector General or any state's Medicaid program within the last 10 years. Provider types are subject to screening requirements based on their applicable risk level.

003.02(A)(ii)(1) LOW RISK. Low risk screening includes:

003.02(A)(ii)(1)(a) LICENSE. Verification that the provider's applicable license(s) is not expired and has no current limitations.

003.02(A)(ii)(1)(b) DATABASES. Pre- and post-enrollment database checks to confirm the identity and participation eligibility of the provider, owners, and managing employees.

003.02(A)(ii)(2) MODERATE RISK. Moderate risk screening includes all components of low risk screening as well as pre- and post-enrollment site visits.

003.02(A)(ii)(3) HIGH RISK. High risk screening includes all components of low and moderate risk screening as well as fingerprint based criminal background checks of the provider or any person who owns five percent or more direct or indirect ownership interest in the provider.

003.02(A)(iii) CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS. As a condition of enrollment, providers must consent to criminal background checks including fingerprinting when required to do so under State law or by risk level determined for that category of provider. Failure to consent to criminal background checks will result in the denial or termination of the service provider agreement.

003.02(A)(iv) FINGERPRINT SUBMISSION. Any high risk provider, or any person with a five percent or more ownership interest in a high risk provider, must submit a set of fingerprints, in a form and manner determined by the State Medicaid agency, within 30 days upon request from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) or the State Medicaid agency. Failure of the provider or owner, as applicable, to meet this requirement will result in the denial or termination of the service provider agreement.

003.02(B) SERVICE PROVIDER AGREEMENTS. Each provider must have an approved service provider agreement with the Department. By signing the service provider agreement, a provider agrees to comply with all provisions stated therein. A service provider agreement is not an employment agreement or contract, and enrollment as a Medicaid provider does not constitute employment by or with the Department and does not guarantee referrals. Service provider agreements cannot be transferred to any other person or entity.

003.02(B)(i) REQUIRED FORMS. Providers must complete, sign, and submit to the Department the following forms as appropriate:

- (1) MC-19, "Service Provider Agreement";
- (2) MLTC-62, "Nebraska Ownership/Controlling Interest and Convictions Disclosure";
- (3) All applicable addendum forms;
- (4) "United States Citizenship Attestation form"; and
- (5) MS-84 "State of Nebraska ACH/EFT Enrollment form".

<u>Certain providers of home and community-based services must also complete provider</u> agreement forms as indicated in Title 480 NAC. Certain providers of medical

transportation services must also complete the service provider agreement form as indicated in Titles 473 and 474 NAC.

The Department may require a provider to periodically complete a new service provider agreement to update information or eligibility, and may terminate the enrollment of a provider that fails to comply with this requirement.

003.02(C) APPROVAL AND ENROLLMENT. The Department will review and screen each submitted service provider agreement and upon approval and enrollment will assign an effective date to the provider and a Medicaid provider number to use when billing Medicaid.

003.02(D) ORDERING AND REFERRING PROVIDERS. Ordering and referring physicians or other professionals providing Medicaid services must be enrolled providers and must include their National Provider Identifier (NPI) on any claims for items or services ordered or referred.

003.02(E) REACTIVATION. At the discretion of the Department, providers who have previously been terminated or excluded may or may not be reactivated as providers of Title XIX (Medicaid) and Title XXI Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) services. At the end of a technical or time-limited termination period, the provider may request in writing that the Department reactivate the service provider agreement. The Medicaid Division may approve or deny reactivation of the service provider agreement. The provider may be reactivated conditionally with a closed-end service provider agreement or other restrictions or requirements as deemed to be necessary by the Department.

<u>003.02(F) REVALIDATION.</u> The Department must revalidate the enrollment of all providers at least every five years. Providers who do not complete revalidation will not be eligible past their revalidation due date.

003.02(G) APPLICATION FEE. At initial enrollment, re-enrollment, reactivation, and revalidation providers must submit to the Department an application fee before the Department can execute a service provider agreement. Exempt from this application fee requirement are the following:

- (i) Individual physicians and non-physician practitioners;
- (ii) <u>Providers enrolled in or that have paid an application fee to Medicare or another State's Medicaid or Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP); and</u>
- (iii) Providers or categories of providers that have received an application fee waiver from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).

003.02(H) TEMPORARY MORATORIA. A moratorium imposed under this section lasts for an initial period of six months and if necessary may be extended in six-month increments by the Department. Notice of any moratoria issued by the Department will be provided through a provider bulletin. The Department, in its discretion and under mandate from the Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services enforces temporary moratoria under either of the following conditions:

(i) The Department must impose temporary moratoria on the enrollment of new providers or provider types that pose an increased risk to the Medicaid program as identified by the Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human

- <u>Services unless the Department determines that a temporary moratorium would adversely affect access to medical assistance; and</u>
- (ii) The Department may impose temporary moratoria or place numerical caps or other limits on the enrollment of new providers that it and the Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services have identified as having significant potential for fraud, waste, or abuse unless the Department determines that such action would adversely affect access to medical assistance.

<u>003.03 STANDARDS FOR PARTICIPATION. Providers must meet the following minimum requirements:</u>

- (1) Accept the philosophy of service provision which includes acceptance of, respect for, and a positive attitude toward Medicaid clients and the philosophy of client empowerment;
- (2) Meet any applicable licensure or certification requirements and maintain current licensure or certification;
- (3) Obtain adequate information on the medical and personal needs of each client, if applicable;
- (4) Not discriminate against any client, employee, or applicant for employment because of race, age, color, religion, sex, handicap, or national origin, in accordance with 45 CFR Parts 80, 84, 90, and 41 CFR Part 60;
- (5) Agree to a law enforcement criminal background check and Adult Protective Services and Child Protective Services Central Registry checks;
- (6) Operate a drug-free workplace;
- (7) Attend training on Medicaid as deemed necessary by the Department;
- (8) Provide services within the scope of practice identified in state and federal law, and under all applicable state and federal licensure or certification requirements; and
- (9) Agree to maintain up-to-date and accurate service provider agreement information by submitting any changes, within 35 days of the change, to the Department.

<u>003.03(A) PROVIDER EMPLOYEES.</u> Employees of providers are subject to the same standards.

003.04 DEPARTMENT EMPLOYEES AS PROVIDERS. No employee of the Department and its subdivisions, and Department contractors, except clinical consultants, may serve as providers under Medicaid or as paid consultants to enrolled providers without the express written approval of the Medicaid Director.

003.05 PRINCIPLES OF PROVIDING MEDICAL ASSISTANCE. The amount and type of service required is defined for each case through utilization review. The provider will limit services to essential health care. The plan for providing services within program guidelines through Medicaid is based on the following principles:

- (A) All plans for medical care must provide for essential health services and for integration of treatment with social planning to reduce economic dependency;
- (B) Medical care and services must be coordinated with health services available through existing public and private sources;
- (C) Medical care and services must be provided as economically as is consistent with accepted standards of medical care and fair compensation to providers;

471 NAC 2

- (D) Medical care and services must be within the licensure of the provider giving the care or service; and
- (E) The client must be allowed, within these limitations, to exercise free choice in the selection of a qualified provider.
- 003.06 PROVIDER MATERIALS. The provider is responsible for understanding and complying with all applicable regulations and ensuring that employees, consultants, and contractors are informed about all applicable regulations, including:
 - (A) 471 NAC 1, 2, and 3;
 - (B) Each service specific chapter in Title 403, 404, 471 and 480 NAC that is applicable to services rendered by the provider, and instructions for forms and electronic transactions.
- <u>003.07 PROVIDER BULLETINS.</u> The provider must comply with the information in each provider bulletin when conducting enrollment activities, rendering services and submitting claims for payment.
- <u>003.08 ELECTRONIC INFORMATION EXCHANGE.</u> Any entity that exchanges standard electronic transactions with the Department must have an approved trading partner agreement with the Department.
- <u>003.09 VERIFICATION OF LAWFUL PRESENCE. Individual providers enrolling as a solo practitioner must attest to:</u>
 - (A) United States citizenship; or
 - (B) Status as a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act, including disclosure of the alien number and official immigration documents as needed to verify status and work authorization.
- <u>004.</u> <u>SERVICE PROVIDER REQUIREMENTS.</u> The following provider types have additional participation requirements that must be met in order to enroll and remain enrolled.
 - 004.01 SCHOOL-BASED SERVICES. To participate in Medicaid, the Pay-to Provider must be a recognized public school, Educational Services Unit (ESU), or approved cooperative providing special education and related services. The following provider types are eligible to enroll as service rendering providers for school-based services:
 - (A) Occupational therapist, physical therapist, speech pathology, and audiologist;
 - (B) Mental health services:
 - (i) Physician;
 - (ii) Licensed psychologist;
 - (iii) Provisionally licensed psychologist;
 - (iv) Licensed independent mental health practitioner (LIMHP);
 - (v) Licensed mental health practitioner (LMHP);
 - (vi) Provisionally licensed mental health practitioner (PLMHP);
 - (vii) Licensed alcohol and drug counselor (LADC);
 - (viii) Provisionally licensed alcohol and drug counselor (PLADC);
 - (ix) Board certified behavioral analyst (BCBA);
 - (x) Board certified assistant behavioral analyst; and
 - (xi) Registered behavioral technician;

- (C) Nursing services:
 - (i) Registered nurse (RN);
 - (ii) Licensed practical nurse (LPN);
 - (iii) Health technician; and
 - (iv) Health paraprofessional;
- (D) Personal assistance service providers: Personal assistance service providers must be age 19 or older. Provider personnel must be employed by or under contract with the school district, Educational Services Unit (ESU), or approved cooperatives providing special education and related services. Nebraska school districts, Educational Services Units (ESUs), and approved cooperatives providing special education and related services must be enrolled in Medicaid as the qualified providers of services;
- (E) Specialized transportation services: Provider personnel, driver, or transportation aide must be employed by or under contract with the school district, Educational Service Unit (ESU), or approved cooperatives providing special education and related services; and
- (F) Optometrist services: Must be provided by a currently licensed optometrist in the school attended by the client. Provider personnel must be employed by or under contract with the school district, Educational Service Unit (ESU), or approved cooperatives providing special education and related services.

005. ADMINISTRATIVE SANCTIONS.

<u>005.01 REASONS FOR SANCTIONS.</u> The Department may, in its discretion, deny enrollment or sanction a provider for any of the following reasons:

- (1) Improper billing and claims payment practices including, but not limited to:
 - (i) Presenting, or causing to be presented, any false or fraudulent claim for goods or services or merchandise for payment;
 - (ii) Submitting, or causing to be submitted, false information for the purpose of obtaining greater payment than that to which the provider is legally entitled;
 - (iii) Billing in excess of the usual and customary charges;
 - (iv) Presenting a claim, billing, or causing a claim to be presented for payment for services not rendered, including "no-shows";
 - (v) Submitting duplicate bills, including billing Medicaid twice for the same service, or billing both Medicaid and another insurer or government program;
 - (vi) Billing before the goods or services are provided or dispensed;
 - (vii) Billing for services provided by non-enrolled providers, certain sanctioned providers, or excluded persons;
 - (viii) Billing for services rendered by someone else as though the provider performed the services himself or herself;
 - (ix) Billing for services provided by an individual who is required to be licensed or certified and who did not meet that requirement when the service was provided;
 - (x) Billing for services provided outside the provider's scope of practice;
 - (xi) Upgrading services billed and rendered from those actually ordered; and
 - (xii) Upcoding services billed or billing a higher level of service than those actually provided;
- (2) Altering medical records to obtain a higher classification of the client than is truly warranted;

- (3) Submitting, or causing to be submitted, false information for the purpose of meeting prior authorization approval requirements, or obtaining payments for services rendered prior to the effective date of the service provider agreement or the date that the client has been determined to be Medicaid eligible:
- (4) Failing to disclose or make available to the Department, or its authorized representatives, the following information:
 - (i) Records of services provided to Medicaid clients;
 - (ii) Records of payments by the Department, its agents, and others made for those services; and
 - (iii) Records that have been lost, misplaced, or destroyed prior to expiration of any applicable records retention period;
- (5) Failing to provide and maintain quality, necessary, and appropriate services within accepted medical standards as determined by a body of peers, as documented by repeat deficiencies noted by the survey and certification agency, a peer review committee, medical review teams, or independent professional review teams, or by the determination of the Medicaid Director and consultants, or the Department or its designee, the Department's Quality Assurance Committee, any Department Inspection of Care, or a managed care plan's quality assurance committee;
- (6) Breaching the terms of the Medicaid service provider agreement or submitting false or fraudulent application, including the service provider agreement and any necessary accompanying information, for participation as a Medicaid enrolled provider;
- (7) <u>Violating any provision of the Nebraska laws regarding Medicaid or any rule or</u> regulation of Medicaid:
- (8) Failing to comply with the terms of the provider certification on the Medicaid claim form as to the truth and accuracy of the information contained therein;
- (9) Overutilization. A determination of overutilization may be based on a comparison of treatment practices of a specific provider compared to peers for similar types of clients;
- (10) Underutilization;
- (11) Rebating or accepting a fee or portion of a fee or charge for a Medicaid patient referral. Soliciting, offering, or receiving a kickback, bribe, or rebate;
- (12) <u>Violating any laws, regulations, or code of ethics governing the conduct of occupations or professions or regulated industries;</u>
- (13) Failing to meet any applicable licensure or certification standard required by state or federal law;
- (14) Not accepting Medicaid as the payor of last resort, and billing Medicaid when the provider has, or reasonably should have had, knowledge of a liable third party;
- (15) Not accepting Medicaid payment as payment in full for covered services, and collecting or attempting to collect additional payment from others, the client or responsible person, or collecting a portion of the service fee from the client or the client's family, except for required co-payments;
- (16) Refusing to execute a new service provider agreement at the Department's request, failing to update a service provider agreement if required to do so by State or Federal law or failing to update service provider agreement information when changes have occurred;
- (17) Failing to correct deficiencies in operations or improper billing practices after receiving written notice of these deficiencies or practices from the Department;

- (18) Being formally reprimanded or censured by an association of the provider's peers for unethical practices;
- (19) Being suspended, excluded, or terminated from participation in another governmental program, being convicted for civil or criminal violations of Medicaid, or any other state's Medicaid program; or having sanctions applied by the Department's agents or assignees or any other state's Medicaid program;
- (20) Failing to repay or make arrangements for the repayment of overpayments or otherwise erroneous payments;
- (21) Solicitation, borrowing, procuring, obtaining, accepting, stealing or otherwise appropriating any client's funds and personal property by any means;
- (22) Any action resulting in a reduction or depletion of a nursing facility or intermediate care facility for individuals with developmental disabilities (ICF/DD) Medicaid client's personal allowance funds or reserve account unless specifically authorized in writing by the client, or legal representative;
- (23) Reporting of unallowable cost items on a provider's cost report;
- (24) Violating conditions of an exclusion;
- (25) Violating conditions of probationary or restricted licensure;
- (26) Not having the appropriate Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) license or state drug license;
- (27) Loss, restriction, or lack of hospital privileges;
- (28) Failure or inability to provide and maintain quality, necessary and appropriate services due to physical or mental health conditions of the service provider;
- (29) Endangering health and safety of clients;
- (30) Failure to obtain or maintain required surety bond(s);
- (31) Failure to provide the Department with documentation of authorization for third parties to submit claims for the provider for payment to the Department or failing to update this information when changes have occurred;
- (32) Breaching the terms of a trading partner agreement to exchange information electronically:
- (33) <u>Disclosure of information that must be protected in accordance with 42 CFR Part 431,</u> Subpart F;
- (34) <u>Misusing or failing to use electronic records and claims submission systems when</u> required to do so by the Department.
- (35) The provider does not meet the applicable provider standards for participation in Medicaid as listed in Titles 403, 404, 471, 480, and 482 NAC;
- (36) The provider, owner of the provider, or an employee of the provider has been excluded, sanctioned, or terminated from participation by Medicare or Medicaid or Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) in any state;
- (37) The provider is the respondent of a protection order;
- (38) The provider, or household member(s) (if services are provided in the provider's home), is on the Adult Protective Services Central Registry, the Child Protective Services Central Registry, or the Sex Offender Registry; or
- (39) The provider, or household member(s) (if services are provided in the provider's home), committed a crime:
 - (i) Against a child or vulnerable adult;
 - (ii) Of a nature, duration, or pattern that calls into question his or her regard for the law;
 - (iii) Involving the illegal use, possession, or distribution of a controlled substance; or

(iv) That, if repeated, could injure or harm the Medicaid program or a Medicaid client.

005.01(A) CRIMES. The Department deems a crime to have been committed when a conviction, admission, or substantial evidence of commission exists. In exercising its discretion, the Department considers the severity of the crime(s), the applicability of the crime(s) to the service(s) of the provider, the person's role within the provider entity, and the amount of time that has passed since the commission of the crime(s).

005.01(B) CONVICTION OF INDIVIDUAL WITH AN OWNERSHIP INTEREST IN A PROVIDER. The Department must deny or terminate the enrollment of a provider where any person with a five percent or greater direct or indirect ownership interest in the provider has been convicted of a criminal offense related to that person's involvement with a Medicare, Medicaid or Title XXI program within the last 10 years, unless the Department determines that denial or termination of enrollment is not in the best interest of the Medicaid program.

005.01(C) EXCLUSION OR TERMINATION FROM PARTICIPATION IN MEDICARE OR OTHER STATE MEDICAID OR CHILDREN'S HEALTH INSURANCE PROGRAM (CHIP). The Department must deny or terminate the enrollment of a provider that has been excluded or terminated from participating in Medicare or Medicaid or Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) in any State.

<u>005.02 SANCTIONS.</u> The Department may impose one or more of the following sanctions against a provider or any person employed by or contracted with the provider entity responsible for a violation:

- (1) Termination from participation in the Medicaid program;
- (2) Termination from participation in Managed Care;
- (3) Suspension or withholding of payments;
- (4) Recoupment from future payments;
- (5) Transfer to a closed-end service provider agreement not to exceed 12 months, or the shortening of an already existing closed-end service provider agreement;
- (6) Provider education: or
- (7) Exclusion from participation.

005.02(A) TERMINATION FROM PARTICIPATION IN MEDICAID. When terminated, the provider may be subject to the following types of exclusions:

- (1) Permanent;
- (2) Time-limited, which is an exclusion for a specified period of time;
- (3) Technical, which is based on a provider's failure to meet a standard or requirement and remains in effect until the Department determines the provider meets the standard or requirement; and
- (4) Emergency, which is an immediate exclusion based on the Department's determination that client health and safety may be at risk.

005.02(A)(i) CONDITIONS OF TERMINATION AND EXCLUSION. When a provider is terminated or excluded from Medicaid, Medicaid may not make reimbursement for services, items, or drugs that are rendered, referred, ordered, or prescribed by the terminated provider or caused to be rendered, referred, ordered, or prescribed for a Medicaid client. A terminated or excluded person or entity shall not have an ownership interest in a Medicaid enrolled provider entity.

005.02(A)(i)(1) EXCEPTION. Medicaid may pay claims from a submitting provider until the submitting provider and the client are notified of the termination of the rendering, referring, ordering, or prescribing provider. Medicaid may pay claims for emergency medical services when Medicaid staff or consultants determine that the services were medically necessary.

005.02(A)(i)(2) SUBMISSION OF CLAIMS. Termination or exclusion from participation will preclude a provider from submitting claims for payment, either personally or through any clinic, group, corporation, or other association, to the Department for any services or supplies provided under Medicaid, except for those services or supplies provided before the termination or exclusion.

005.02(A)(ii) EXCLUSION. The Department may impose the sanction of exclusion upon:

- (1) Providers who allow service provider agreements to lapse or expire; and
- (2) Other individuals or entities associated with an enrolled provider or provider whose service provider agreement has lapsed or has been terminated.

005.02(A)(iii) EXCLUDED PERSON OR ENTITY. No clinic, group, corporation, or other association which is a provider of services shall submit claims for payment to the Department for any services or supplies provided by a person within the organization who has been excluded from participation in Medicaid except for those services or supplies provided before the termination. A provider will not submit any claims to Medicaid that contain the costs of services provided by excluded persons or entities. If these provisions are violated by a clinic, group, corporation, or other association, the Department may sanction the organization and any individual person within the organization responsible for the violation.

005.02(B) SUSPENSION OR WITHHOLDING PAYMENTS. To prevent inappropriate Medicaid payments or to avoid further overpayments, the Department may sanction a provider by suspending the provider's payments with an immediate effective date. The Department will notify the provider by letter that its payments have been suspended. The provider may file an appeal regarding this action; however, the suspension of payments will remain in effect until the hearing decision is made. If a provider participates under one or more provider number, or changes numbers, the Department may, within its sole discretion suspend, withhold, or recoup payments from one or all of the provider numbers.

005.02(C) PROVIDER EDUCATION. A provider who has been sanctioned may be required to participate in a provider education program as a condition of participation.

005.03 IMPOSITION OF A SANCTION. The decision on the sanction to be imposed is at the discretion of the Medicaid Director. The following factors are considered in determining the sanctions to be imposed:

- (1) Seriousness of the offenses;
- (2) Extent of violations;
- (3) History of prior violations;
- (4) Prior imposition of sanctions;
- (5) Prior provision of provider education;

- (6) Provider willingness to comply with program rules;
- (7) Whether a lesser sanction will be sufficient to remedy the problem; and
- (8) Actions taken or recommended by peer review groups and licensing boards.

005.03(A) NOTICE TO THE PROVIDER. The Department will notify the provider at least 30 days before the effective date of the sanction, unless extenuating circumstances exist. The Department may impose a sanction on an emergency basis with immediate effect if, in the Department's discretion, the provider's continued enrollment and participation places a client's health or safety at risk. The provider may file an appeal of the sanction; however, the sanction will remain in effect until the hearing decision is made.

005.03(B) NOTICE TO THE PUBLIC. When a sanction is imposed, the Department will give general notice to the public of the restriction, its basis, and its duration.

005.03(C) NOTIFICATION OF OTHER AGENCIES. When a provider has been sanctioned, the Department will notify, as appropriate, the applicable professional society, board of registration or licensure, and federal or state agencies. The notification will include a summary of the findings made and the sanctions imposed.

005.03(D) NOTIFICATION OF LOCAL DEPARTMENT OFFICES. When a provider's participation in Medicaid has been terminated, the Department will notify the local Department offices of the termination.

005.03(E) MEDICAID EXLUDED PROVIDERS LIST. Terminated and excluded persons and entities will be placed on the Medicaid Excluded Providers list for the duration of the prohibition from participation.

005.04 SANCTION OF AFFILIATES AND ASSOCIATES. The Department may sanction all known affiliates of a provider or other persons associated with an enrolled provider. Each decision to sanction an affiliate or other person associated with an enrolled provider is made on a case by case basis after considering all relevant facts and circumstances. The Department may determine the violation, failure, or inadequacy of performance, which resulted in a provider sanction, took place in the course of the affiliate or otherwise associated person's official duty or with the knowledge or approval of the affiliate or associated person.

<u>005.05 REACTIVATION. Persons and entities that have been terminated or excluded may request reactivation in writing once the exclusionary period has passed. Reactivation is at the discretion of the Department.</u>

006. AUDITS. All services for which claims for payment are submitted to the Department are subject to audit. During a review audit, the provider must furnish to the Department, or its authorized representative, pertinent information regarding claims for payment. If an audit reveals that incorrect payments were made or that the provider's records do not support payments that have been made, the provider shall make restitution.

<u>006.01 SAMPLING AND EXTRAPOLATION. The Department's procedure for auditing providers may involve the use of sampling and extrapolation. The provider shall pay to the provider shall pay to the sampling and extrapolation.</u>

<u>Department the entire extrapolated amount of incorrect payments calculated under this procedure after notice and opportunity for hearing.</u>

006.02 HEARINGS. The Department must allow the provider an opportunity to rebut the Department's audit findings. If the findings are based on sampling and extrapolation, in lieu of accepting the Department's sampling and extrapolation, the provider may present an audit of 100 percent of the claims filed and services rendered during the audit period. This audit must be completed by an independent auditor with no affiliation to the provider. Any audit of this type must demonstrate that the provider's records for the unaudited services provided during the audit period were in compliance with the Department's regulations. The provider must be prepared to submit supporting documentation to demonstrate this compliance.

<u>007.</u> <u>APPEAL RIGHTS. Any adverse action under Title 471 NAC may be appealed to the Medicaid Director by the person or entity against whom the action was taken.</u>

007.01 HEARING REQUEST PROCEDURE. The person or entity appealing an adverse action must submit a written hearing request to the Medicaid Director.

- 007.01(A) DEADLINES. The following deadlines apply when submitting an appeal request:
 - (i) Administrative sanctions must be appealed within 30 days of the date of the action;
 - (ii) Refund requests must be appealed within 30 days of the date of the action;
 - (iii) All other actions must be appealed within 90 days of the date of the action.

007.01(B) APPEALING BEFORE EFFECTIVE DATE. A person or entity may appeal a termination or exclusion before the effective date of the proposed termination or exclusion. A termination or exclusion appealed before its effective date will not take effect until the appeal has been decided, unless the termination or exclusion is being imposed pursuant to 42 C.F.R. 455.416(c) or has an immediate effective date because of a threat to client health and safety.

007.02 HEARINGS. Appeal and hearing procedures are governed by 465 NAC 6.

008. DISCLOSURE OF INFORMATION BY PROVIDERS. Under 42 CFR 455, Subpart B, the Department requires providers to disclose the following information:

- (1) Ownership and control;
- (2) Business transactions; and
- (3) The providers' owners and other persons convicted of crimes against Medicare, Medicaid, or Title XX (Social Services Block Grant) programs.

<u>008.01 OWNERSHIP AND CONTROL</u>. For each managing employee, person or entity with an ownership or control interest in the provider, and subcontractor of which the provider owns at least five percent, a provider must disclose the following:

- (1) The name, address including, as applicable, the primary business address, every business location, and P.O. Box address, date of birth or incorporation, and Tax Identification Number or social security number as applicable;
- (2) Whether anyone is related to another as spouse, parent, child, or sibling; and
- (3) The name of any other disclosing entity in which a person named in this chapter has an ownership or controlling interest.

008.01(A) PERIODIC SURVEY AND CERTIFICATION. Any provider that is subject to periodic survey and certification of its compliance with Medicaid standards must supply this information to the Department at the time it is surveyed. Any provider that is not subject to periodic survey and certification must supply the information before entering into a service provider agreement with the Department as a part of the initial enrollment, re-enrollment, reactivation, or revalidation.

008.01(B) DISCLOSURE OF OWNERSHIP. The Department must not approve a service provider agreement, and must terminate an existing service provider agreement, if the provider fails to disclose ownership or control information. The Department shall not pay a provider who fails to disclose ownership or control information.

008.01(C) CHANGE OF INFORMATION. A provider must notify the Department of any changes or updates to the information supplied under 471 NAC 2 not later than 35 days after such changes or updates take effect.

<u>008.02 BUSINESS TRANSACTIONS. Under 42 CFR 455.105(b) when requested, a provider must disclose, within 35 days of the date on the request, the following information:</u>

- (1) The ownership of any subcontractor with whom the provider has had business transactions totaling more than \$25,000 during the 12-month period ending with the date of the request; and
- (2) Any significant business transaction between the provider and any wholly-owned supplier, or between the provider and any sub-contractor, during the five-year period ending on the date of the request.

008.02(A) PAYMENT FOR SERVICES. The Department shall not pay providers who fail to comply with a request for this information, or pay for services provided during the period beginning on the day following the date the information was due to the Department and ending on the day before the date the Department received the information.

<u>008.03 PERSONS CONVICTED OF CRIMES.</u> Before the Department enters into or renews a service provider agreement, or upon request by the Department, the provider must disclose to the Department the identity of any person who:

- (1) Has ownership or control interest in the provider, or is an agent or managing employee of the provider; and
- (2) Has been convicted of a criminal offense related to that person's involvement in any program under Medicare, Medicaid, Title XXI Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP), or the Social Services Block Grant (Title XX) programs.

008.03(A) ENROLLMENT TERMINATION. The Department may refuse to enter into or renew a service provider agreement if any person who has an ownership or control interest in the provider, or who is an agent or managing employee of the provider, has been convicted of a criminal offense related to that person's involvement in any program under Medicare, Medicaid, Title XXI Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP), or the Social Services Block Grant (Title XX). The Department may deny or terminate enrollment if it determines that the provider did not fully and accurately disclose this information.

CHAPTER 2-000 PROVIDER PARTICIPATION

2-001 Provider Eligibility

<u>2-001.01 Provider Definition</u>: A provider is any individual or entity which furnishes Medicaid goods or services under an approved Service Provider Agreement with the Department.

2-001.02 Eligibility: To be eligible to participate in the Nebraska Medical Assistance Program (NMAP), the provider shall meet the general standards for all providers in Chapters 1-000, 2-000, and 3-000 of this title, if appropriate, and the standards for participation for that provider type. The standards for participation are listed in each provider chapter of this title; in Title 480 NAC for home and community-based waiver services; and in Title 482 for managed care services. The Department shall not pay a provider who is required to be licensed and/or certified but who is not licensed and/or certified at the time of service.

2-001.02A Denial or Termination of Enrollment:

<u>2-001.02A1</u> The Department in its discretion may deny or terminate a provider's enrollment for good cause, which includes but is not limited to the following:

- The provider does not meet the applicable provider standards for participation in NMAP as listed in Titles 404, 471, 480, and 482 or
- The provider is the respondent of a protection order; or
- 3. The provider or its owner(s); managing employee(s); affiliates; or household member(s) [if services are provided in the provider's home] committed a crime:
 - a. Against a child or vulnerable adult;
 - b. Involving the illegal use, possession, or distributions of a controlled substance; or
 - c. That, if repeated, could injure or harm the Medicaid program or a Medicaid client.

The Department deems a crime to have been committed when a conviction, admission, or substantial evidence of commission exists. In exercising its discretion, the Department considers the severity of the crime(s), the applicability of the crime(s) to the service(s) of the provider, and the amount of time that has passed since the commission of the crime(s).

<u>2-001.02A2</u> The Department must deny or terminate the enrollment of a provider where any person with a 5% or greater direct or indirect ownership interest in the provider has been convicted of a criminal offense related to that person's involvement with a Medicare, Medicaid or Title XXI program within the last ten years, unless the Department determines that denial or termination of enrollment is not in the best interest of the Medicaid program.

<u>2-001.02A3</u> The Department must deny or terminate the enrollment of a provider that has been excluded or terminated from participating in Medicare or Medicaid or CHIP in any State.

<u>2-001.02B Provider Screening</u>: The Department will screen all providers as provided in 42 C.F.R. Part 455, Subpart E and will deny or terminate the enrollment of any provider that fails to meet all applicable requirements.

<u>2-001.02C Ordering or Referring Providers</u>: Ordering and referring physicians or other professionals must be enrolled providers and must include their National Provider Identifier (NPI) on any claims for items or services ordered or referred.

<u>2-001.02D</u> Revalidation: The Department must revalidate the enrollment of all providers at least every five years.

<u>2-001.02E</u> Application Fee: At initial enrollment, re-enrollment, reactivation, and revalidation providers must submit to the Department an application fee before the Department can execute a Service Provider Agreement, Exempt from this application fee requirement are the following:

1. individual physicians and nonphysician practitioners;

2. providers enrolled in or that have paid an application fee to Medicare or another State's Medicaid or CHIP program; and

3. providers or categories of providers that have received an application fee waiver from CMS.

<u>2-001.02F Site Visits</u>: A provider must permit CMS and the Department to conduct unannounced onsite inspections of any and all provider locations. The Department may terminate the enrollment of a provider who fails to permit a site visit.

2-001.02G Temporary Moratoria:

- The Department must impose temporary moratoria on the enrollment of new providers or provider types that pose an increased risk to the Medicaid program as identified by the Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services unless the Department determines that a temporary moratorium would adversely affect access to medical assistance.
- 2. The Department may impose temporary moratoria or place numerical caps or other limits on the enrollment of new providers that it and/or the Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services have identified as having significant potential for fraud, waste, or abuse unless the Department determines that such action would adversely affect access to medical assistance.

3.	A moratorium imposed under this section lasts for an initial period of six months and if necessary may be extended in six-month increments by the Department.

<u>2-001.03 Service Provider Agreements</u>: Each provider must have an approved Service Provider Agreement with the Department. By signing the Service Provider Agreement, a provider agrees to-

- 1. Fully meet standards established by the federal Department of Health and Human Services, and any applicable state and federal laws governing the provision of their services:
- 2. Provide services according to the regulations and procedures of the Department for NMAP:
- 3. Provide services in compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973:
- 4. Accept as payment in full the amount paid in accordance with the rates established by the Department after all other sources (including third party resources, Medicare, or excess income) have been exhausted. <u>Exception</u>: If a client resides in a nursing facility, a payment to the facility for the client to occupy a single room is not considered income in the client's budget if Medicaid is or will be paying any part of the nursing facility care;
- Submit to the Department charges which do not exceed the provider's charges to the general public for equivalent goods or services;
- 6. Submit claims which are true, accurate, and complete;
- 7. Maintain records for all services provided for which a claim has been made, and furnish, on request, the records to the Department, the federal Department of Health and Human Services, and the federal or state fraud and abuse units and document services rendered in an institutional setting in the client's institutional chart before billing the Department;
- 8. Submit claims electronically, if applicable, under proper signature of the provider or the provider's authorized representative, and follow all other applicable billing requirements;
- Maintain computer software used in the submission of claims and furnish, on request, the documentation to the Department, the federal Department of Health and Human Services and the federal or state fraud and abuse units;
- 10. Follow the submittal procedures, record layout requirements, service verification requirements, and provider and/or authorized representative certification requirements for the electronic submission of claims; and
- 11. Refrain from establishing a policy to automatically waive copayment or deductibles established by the Department.

The Department may terminate the Service Provider Agreement of a provider who fails to meet these requirements.

A Service Provider Agreement is not an employment agreement and enrollment as an NMAP provider does not constitute employment by or with the Department.

<u>2-001.03A Signature Date of Provider Agreement</u>: A provider agreement must be signed and on file with the Department before payment for services is made. Payment may be made for covered services provided before the signature date of the agreement if the agreement is signed and on file with the Department before payment and the provider met all eligibility requirements at the time the service was provided.

<u>2-001.03B</u> Required Forms: Providers must complete, sign, and submit to the Department the following forms as appropriate:

- 1. Form MC-19, "Medical Assistance Provider Agreement"
- 2. Form MLTC-62, "Nebraska Ownership/Controlling Interest and Convictions Disclosure":
- 3. All applicable addendum forms;
- 4. Form "United States Citizenship Attestation form"; and
- 5. Form MS-84 "State of Nebraska ACH/EFT Enrollment Form".

Certain providers of home and community-based services must also complete provider agreement forms as indicated in Title 480. Certain providers of medical transportation services must also complete the provider agreement form as indicated in Titles 473 and 474.

The Department may require a provider to periodically complete a new Service Provider Agreement to update information or eligibility, and may terminate the enrollment of a provider that fails to comply with this requirement.

<u>2-001.03C Approval and Enrollment</u>: The Department will review each submitted Service Provider Agreement and upon approval and enrollment will assign to the provider a Medicaid provider number to use to bill Medicaid.

2-001.04 Standards for Participation: Providers shall meet the following minimum standards:

- 1. Accept the philosophy of service provision which includes acceptance of, respect for, and a positive attitude toward Medicaid clients and the philosophy of client empowerment;
- 2. Meet any applicable licensure or certification requirements and maintain current licensure or certification:
- Obtain adequate information on the medical and personal needs of each client, if applicable;
- 4. Not discriminate against any client, employee, or applicant for employment because of race, age, color, religion, sex, handicap, or national origin, in accordance with 45 CFR Parts 80, 84, 90, and 41 CFR Part 60;

- 5. Agree to a law enforcement check and Adult Protective Services and Child Protective Services Central Registry checks;
- 6. Operate a drug-free workplace;
- 7. Attend training on the NMAP as deemed necessary by the Department;
- 8. Provide services within the scope of practice under applicable licensure or certification requirements; and
- 9. Agree to maintain up-to-date and accurate provider agreement information by submitting any changes to the Department.

Employees of providers are subject to the same standards.

<u>2-001.05</u> Employees as Providers: No employee of the Department and its subdivisions, except clinical consultants, may serve as providers of medical services under the Nebraska Medical Assistance Program or as paid consultants to providers under the Nebraska Medical Assistance Program without the express written approval of the Director.

2-001.06 Principles of Providing Medical Assistance: Medical care and services are provided through NMAP to maintain good physical and mental health, to prevent physical disease and disability, to mitigate disease, and to rehabilitate the individual. The amount and type of service required is defined for each case through utilization review. The provider shall limit services to essential health care. The plan for providing services within program guidelines through NMAP is based on the following principles:

- 1. All plans for medical care must provide for essential health services and for integration of treatment with social planning to reduce economic dependency;
- 2. Medical care and services must be coordinated with health services available through existing public and private sources;
- 3. Medical care and services must be provided as economically as is consistent with accepted standards of medical care and fair compensation to providers;
- 4. Medical care and services must be within the licensure of the provider giving the care or service; and
- 5. The client must be allowed, within these limitations, to exercise free choice in the selection of a qualified provider.

<u>2-001.07 Provider Handbooks</u>: The Department issues provider handbooks for specific provider types addressed in this Title. Each provider handbook contains -

- 1. Chapters 1-000, 2-000, and 3-000 of Title 471;
- 2. The appropriate provider chapter; and
- 3. Instructions for forms and electronic transactions.

While the handbooks contain policy related to specific provider groups, they may not contain all rules and regulations of NMAP for all possible circumstances. In these cases, regulations contained in the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services Finance and Support Manual will prevail. The individual provider is responsible for ensuring that s/he has an up-to-date provider handbook, that s/he has all applicable rules and regulations, and that employees, consultants, and contractors are informed about the regulations of this program.

<u>2-001.08 Provider Bulletins</u>: The Medicaid Division may issue provider bulletins to inform providers of regulation interpretations.

<u>2-001.09</u> <u>Electronic Information Exchange</u>: Any entity that exchanges standard electronic transactions with the Department must have an approved trading partner agreement with the Department.

2-002 Administrative Sanctions

2-002.01 Purpose: This section -

- 1. Establishes the basis on which certain claims for NMAP services or merchandise will be determined to be false, fraudulent, abusive, or in violation of NMAP policies, procedures, and regulations;
- 2. Lists the sanctions which may be imposed; and
- 3. Describes the method of imposing the sanctions.

The Program Integrity Unit in the Medicaid Division has responsibility for these functions.

2-002.02 Definitions: The following definitions apply within this section:

<u>Abuse</u>: Provider practices that are inconsistent with sound fiscal, business, or medical practices and result in an unnecessary cost to the Nebraska Medical Assistance Program (NMAP) or in reimbursement for services that are not medically necessary or that fail to meet professionally recognized standards for health care. This may include under-utilization, lack of treatment, or lack of appropriate referrals. Abuse also includes client practices that result in unnecessary cost to NMAP.

Affiliates: Persons having an overt or covert relationship such that any one of them directly or indirectly controls or has the power to control another.

<u>Billing</u>: Presenting, or causing to be presented, a claim for payment to the Department, its agents, or assignees.

<u>Billing Agent</u>: An entity that submits or facilitates the submission of claims for payment to the Department.

Claim: A request for payment for services rendered or supplied by a provider to a client.

<u>Clearinghouse</u>: An entity that processes or facilitates the processing of information received from another entity in a nonstandard format or containing nonstandard data content into a standard transaction, or that receives a standard transaction from another entity and processes or facilitates the processing of that information into nonstandard format or data content for a receiving entity.

<u>Closed-End Provider Agreement</u>: An agreement that is for a specific period of time that must be renewed to allow the provider to continue to participate in NMAP.

<u>Excluded Person or Entity</u>: Any individual or entity that has been formally denied enrollment or continued participation in NMAP or that is on or eligible to be on State or Federal exclusion list(s).

Exclusion: Prohibition from participating in NMAP or associating with an enrolled provider.

<u>Fraud</u>: An intentional deception or misrepresentation made by a person with the knowledge that the deception could result in some unauthorized benefit to himself/herself or some other person. It includes any act that constitutes fraud under applicable federal or state law.

Fraud includes, but is not limited to, the willful false statement or representation, or impersonation or other device, made by a client or applicant, provider, Departmental employee, or any other person, for the purpose of obtaining or attempting to obtain, or aiding or abetting any person to obtain -

- 1. An assistance certificate of award to which s/he is not entitled:
- 2. Any commodity, food stuff, food coupon, or payment to which the individual is not entitled or a larger amount of payment than that to which the individual is entitled:
- 3. Any payment made on behalf of a client of medical assistance or social services;
- 4. Any other benefit administered by the State of Nebraska, its agents or assignees; or
- Assistance in violation of any statutory provision relating to programs administered by the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services Finance and Support.

Initial Enrollment: A provider's first time enrolling with Nebraska Medicaid

NHC: The Nebraska Health Connection (Medicaid managed care).

NMMCP: The Nebraska Medicaid Managed Care Program.

Open-Ended Provider Agreement: An agreement that has no specific termination dates and continues in force as long as it is agreeable to both parties.

Other Individuals or Entities Associated with the Enrolled Provider: Ancillary healthcare professionals or staff who do not see Medicaid patients but are associated with a provider. This includes but is not limited to an owner, managing employee, office staff, and other indirect care staff.

Overutilization: A documented pattern of ordering or performing and billing tests, examinations, medical visits, and/or surgeries, drugs and merchandise for which there is no demonstrable need, when the determination of demonstrable need is made by the Medical Director or consultants.

<u>Participation</u>: Participation in NMAP includes providing, referring, furnishing, ordering, or prescribing services to a Medicaid client or causing services to be provided, referred, furnished, ordered, or prescribed for a Medicaid client.

<u>Payment</u>: Reimbursement or compensation by the Department, its agents, or assignees, e.g., managed care plans.

Person: Any individual, company, firm, association, corporation, or other legal entity.

<u>Provider</u>: Any person which furnishes Medicaid goods or services under an approved provider agreement with the Department.

<u>Proper Patient Waiver</u>: An agreement by which the client or client's legal representative agrees to release his/her medical records to state or federal authorities accomplished by the client signing Form DA-100, "Application for Assistance."

<u>Reactivation</u>: Enrollment of a provider whose previous Service Provider Agreement was terminated by the Department.

<u>Re-enrollment</u>: Enrollment of a provider whose previous Service Provider Agreement expired or was voluntarily closed by the provider.

<u>Revalidation</u>: Process by which the Department confirms a provider's enrollment-related information is valid, updated, and accurate.

<u>Suspension of Payments</u>: Withholding of payments due a provider until the resolution of the matter in dispute between the provider and the Department.

<u>Termination from Participation</u>: An Exclusion from participation in NMAP, which includes the following types:

- 1. Permanent;
- 2. Time-limited, which is an exclusion for a specified period of time;
- Technical, which is based on a provider's failure to meet a standard or requirement and remains in effect until the Department determines the provider meets the standard or requirement; and
- 4. Emergency, which is an immediate exclusion based on the Department's determination that client health and safety may be at risk.

<u>Trading Partner Agreement (TPA)</u>: An agreement related to the electronic exchange of information.

<u>Trading Partner</u>: A health care plan, provider or clearinghouse that transmits any health information in electronic form.

<u>Underutilization</u>: Lack of treatment/referrals when there is a demonstrable need, when the determination of demonstrable need is made by the Medicaid Medical Director or consultants.

Usual and Customary Charge: Charge to the general public.

<u>Withholding of Payments</u>: A reduction or adjustment of the amounts paid to the provider on pending and subsequently submitted claims to offset overpayments previously made to the provider.

<u>2-002.03</u> Reasons for Sanctions: The grounds for the Department to impose sanctions include, but are not limited to, the following:

- 1. Presenting, or causing to be presented, any false or fraudulent claim for goods or services or merchandise for payment;
- 2. Submitting, or causing to be submitted, false information for the purpose of obtaining greater payment than that to which the provider is legally entitled;
- 3. Billing in excess of the usual and customary charges;

- 4. Altering medical records to obtain a higher classification of the client than is truly warranted:
- 5. Submitting, or causing to be submitted, false information for the purpose of meeting prior authorization/approval requirements, or obtaining payments prior to the effective date;
- 6. Failing to disclose or make available to the Department, or its authorized representatives, records of services provided to NMAP clients and records of payments by the Department, its agents and others made for those services, when requested:
- 7. Failing to provide and maintain quality, necessary, and appropriate services within accepted medical standards as determined by a body of peers, as documented by repeat deficiencies noted by the survey and certification agency, a peer review committee, medical review teams, or independent professional review teams, or by the determination of the Medicaid Director and/or consultants, or the Department or its designee, the Department's Quality Assurance Committee, any Department Inspection of Care, or a managed care plan's quality assurance committee;
- 8. Breaching the terms of the Medicaid provider agreement or submitting false or fraudulent application for providing participation;
- Violating any provision of the Nebraska laws regarding NMAP or any rule or regulation of NMAP;
- 10. Failing to comply with the terms of the provider certification on the Medicaid claim form:
- 11. Overutilizing the Medicaid program by inducing, furnishing, or otherwise causing a client to receive services or merchandise not otherwise required by the client, ordered by the attending physician, or deemed appropriate by utilization review committee. Note: A determination of overutilization may be based on a comparison of treatment practices of a specific provider compared to peers for similar types of clients:
- 12. Underutilizing the Medicaid program by not furnishing required services;
- 13. Presenting a claim, billing, or causing a claim to be presented for payment for services not rendered (including "no-shows");
- 14. Rebating or accepting a fee or portion of a fee or charge for a Medicaid patient referral;
- 15. Soliciting, offering, or receiving a kickback, bribe, or rebate;
- 16. Violating any laws, regulations, or code of ethics governing the conduct of occupations or professions or regulated industries;
- 17. Failing to meet standards required by state or federal law for participation (e.g., licensure and/or certification);
- 18. Not accepting Medicaid payment as payment in full for covered services and collecting or attempting to collect additional payment from others, the client or responsible person, or collecting a portion of the service fee from the client or the client's family, except for required co-payments;
- 19. Refusing to execute a new provider agreement at the Department's request, failing to update as required in 471 NAC 20-001.09C, 32-004.03A, and 35-002 or failing to update provider agreement information when changes have occurred;

- 20. Failing to correct deficiencies in operations or improper billing practices after receiving written notice of these deficiencies/practices from the Department or its agent (for example, HHS Regulation and Licensure for home and community-based waivers, managed care plans);
- 21. Being formally reprimanded or censured by an association of the provider's peers for unethical practices;

- 22. Being suspended or terminated from participation in another governmental medical program such as Worker's Compensation, Medically Handicapped Children's Program, Vocational Rehabilitation Services, Medicare, or Medicaid in another state or a Medicaid managed care plan; being convicted for civil or criminal violations of NMAP, or any other state's Medicaid (medical assistance) program; or having sanctions applied by the Department's agents or assignees or any other state's Medicaid program;
- 23. Failing to repay or make arrangements for the repayment of overpayments or otherwise erroneous payments;
- 24. Submitting duplicate bills, including billing NMAP twice for the same service, or billing both NMAP and another insurer or government program;
- 25. Billing before the goods or services are provided or dispensed prior to the date of billing (pre-billing);
- 26. Any action resulting in a reduction or depletion of a nursing facility or ICF/MR Medicaid client's personal allowance funds or reserve account (liquid assets) unless specifically authorized in writing by the client, or legal representative;
- 27. Billing for services provided by non-enrolled providers, sanctioned providers, or excluded persons;
- 28. Billing for services rendered by someone else as though the provider performed the services him/herself;
- 29. Billing for services provided by an individual who is required to be licensed or certified and who did not meet that requirement when the service was provided;
- 30. Billing for services provided outside the provider's scope of practice;
- Upgrading services billed and rendered from those actually ordered;
- 32. Upcoding services billed or billing a higher level of service than those actually provided:
- 33. Reporting of unallowable cost items on a provider's cost report or reporting any item which is obviously unallowable except when the unallowable entry was included in the cost report only to establish a basis for appeal;
- 34. Violating conditions of an exclusion;
- 35. Violating conditions of probationary or restricted licensure;
- 36. Not having the appropriate Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) license or state drug license;
- 37. Loss, restriction, or lack or hospital privileges;
- 38. Failure or inability to provide and maintain quality, necessary and appropriate services due to physical or mental health conditions of the service provider;
- 39. Endangering health and safety of clients;
- 40. Failure to obtain or maintain required surety bond(s);
- 41. Failure to provide Department with documentation of authorization for third party to submit claims for the provider for payment to the Department or failing to update this information when changes have occurred; or
- 42. Breaching the terms of a Trading Partner Agreement to exchange information electronically.

REV. DECEMBER 5, 2015 NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAID SERVICES MANUAL LETTER #59-2015 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 471 NAC 2-002.04

2-002.04 Sanctions

<u>2-002.04A</u> The Department may impose one or more of the following sanctions against a provider:

- 1. Termination from participation in the Medicaid program;
- Termination from participation in the NMMCP (NHC);
- 3. Suspension or withholding of payments;
- 4. Recoupment from future payments;
- 5. Transfer to a closed-end service provider agreement not to exceed 12 months, or the shortening of an already existing closed-end provider agreement; or
- 6. Provider education.

<u>2-002.04B</u> The Department may impose the sanction of exclusion upon other individuals or entities associated with an enrolled provider.

<u>2-002.05</u> Imposition of a Sanction: The decision on the sanction to be imposed is at the discretion of the Director. The following factors are considered in determining the sanctions to be imposed:

- Seriousness of the offenses:
- 2. Extent of violations:
- 3. History of prior violations;
- Prior imposition of sanctions;
- Prior provision of provider education;
- 6. Provider willingness to comply with program rules;
- 7. Whether a lesser sanction will be sufficient to remedy the problem; and
- 8. Actions taken or recommended by peer review groups and licensing boards.

The Department must notify the provider at least 30 days before the effective date of the sanction, unless extenuating circumstances exist. The Department shall give the provider an opportunity to submit additional information or to appeal the sanction. The provider must file the appeal within 30 days of the date of the notice of the sanction. When the clients' health and safety is threatened, appropriate administrative sanctions may be taken without a full evidentiary hearing. The provider may file an appeal regarding this action; however, the sanction will remain in effect until the hearing decision is made. When a sanction is imposed, the Department shall give general notice to the public of the restriction, its basis, and its duration.

To prevent inappropriate Medicaid payments or to avoid further overpayments, the Department may sanction a provider by suspending the provider's payments with an immediate effective date. The Department will notify the provider by letter that its payments have been suspended. The provider may file an appeal regarding this action; however, the suspension of payments will remain in effect until the hearing decision is made.

If a provider participates under one or more provider number, or changes numbers, payments can be suspended, withheld or recouped from one or all of the provider numbers.

<u>2-002.05A Conditions of Termination</u>: When a provider is terminated from NMAP, NMAP may not make reimbursement for services, items, or drugs that are provided, referred, furnished, or prescribed by the terminated provider or caused to be provided, referred, furnished, ordered, or prescribed for a Medicaid client.

A Medicaid client may not be billed for any services provided, referred, furnished, ordered, or prescribed by an excluded provider.

Exception: NMAP may pay claims from a submitting provider, such as a pharmacy, until the submitting provider and the client are notified of the termination of the prescribing/attending provider. NMAP may pay claims for emergency medical services when Medicaid Division staff or consultants determine that the services were medically necessary.

2-002.05B Sanction of Affiliates: The Department may sanction all known affiliates of a provider when each decision to include an affiliate is made on a case by case basis after considering all relevant facts and circumstances. The Department may determine the affiliate's violation, failure, or inadequacy of performance when the provider's action which resulted in a sanction took place in the course of the affiliate's official duty or with the knowledge or approval of the affiliate.

<u>2-002.05C Claims</u>: Termination or exclusion from participation shall preclude a provider from submitting claims for payment, either personally or through any clinic, group, corporation, or other association, to the Department for any services or supplies provided under NMAP, except for those services or supplies provided before the termination or exclusion.

<u>2-002.05D Excluded Person or Entity</u>: No clinic, group, corporation, or other association which is a provider of services shall submit claims for payment to the Department for any services or supplies provided by a person within the organization which has been excluded from participation in NMAP except for those services or supplies provided before the termination. If these provisions are violated by a clinic, group, corporation, or other association, the Department may terminate the organization and/or any individual person within the organization responsible for the violation.

A provider shall not submit any claims to NMAP that contain the costs of services provided by excluded persons or entities.

<u>2-002.05E</u> Notification of Other Agencies: When a provider has been sanctioned, the Department shall notify, as appropriate, the applicable professional society, board of registration or licensure, and federal or state agencies of the findings made and the sanctions imposed.

<u>2-002.05F</u> Notification of Local HHS Offices: When a provider's participation in NMAP has been terminated, the Department will notify the local HHS offices of the termination.

<u>2-002.05G Provider Education</u>: A provider who has been sanctioned may be required to participate in a provider education program as a condition of continued participation. Provider education programs may include -

- 1. Telephone and written instructions;
- 2. Provider manuals and workshops;
- 3. Instruction in claim form completion;
- 4. Instruction in the use and format of provider manuals;
- 5. Instruction in the use of procedure codes;
- 6. Key provisions of the Medicaid program;
- 7. Instructions on reimbursement rates; and
- 8. Instructions on how to inquire about coding or billing problems.

<u>2-002.05H Denial of Enrollment</u>: At the discretion of the Department, providers who have previously been terminated may or may not be reactivated as providers of Title XIX (Medicaid) services.

<u>2-002.05J Reactivation</u>: At the end of the termination period, the provider may request in writing that the Department reactivate the Service Provider Agreement. The Medicaid Division may approve or deny reactivation of the provider agreement. The provider may be reactivated conditionally with a closed-end provider agreement or other restrictions or requirements.

<u>2-002.06</u> Audits: All services for which claims for payment are submitted to the Department are subject to audit. During a review audit, the provider must furnish to the Department, or its authorized representative, pertinent information regarding claims for payment. If an audit reveals that incorrect payments were made or that the provider's records do not support payments that have been made, the provider shall make restitution.

2-002.06A Sampling and Extrapolation: The Department's procedure for auditing providers may involve the use of sampling and extrapolation. Under this procedure, the Department selects a statistically valid sample of the services for which the provider received payment for the audit period in question and audits the provider's records for these services. All incorrect payments determined by an audit of the services in the sample are totaled and extrapolated to the entire universe of services for which the provider has been paid during the audit period. The provider shall pay to the Department the entire extrapolated amount of incorrect payments calculated under this procedure after notice and opportunity for hearing under 471 NAC 2-002.05 and 2-003.

<u>2-002.06B Hearings</u>: The Department must allow the provider an opportunity to rebut the Department's audit findings. If the findings are based on sampling and extrapolation, the provider may present an independent 100% audit of his/her Medicaid payments during the audit period in lieu of accepting the Department's sampling and extrapolation. Any audit of this type must demonstrate that the provider's records for the unaudited services provided during the audit period were in compliance with the Department's regulations. The provider must be prepared to submit supporting documentation to demonstrate this compliance.

REV. DECEMBER 5, 2015	— NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF —	MEDICAID SERVICES
MANUAL LETTER #59-2015	HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	471 NAC 2-003

<u>2-003 Appeal Rights</u>: Any adverse action under this Title may be appealed to the Medicaid Director by the person or entity against whom the action was taken.

<u>2-003.01 Hearing Request Procedure</u>: The person or entity appealing an adverse action must submit a written hearing request to the Department.

2-003.01A Deadlines:

- (i) Administrative sanctions must be appealed within 30 days of the date of the action.
- (ii) Refund requests must be appealed within 30 days of the date of the action indicated either on the Refund Request Report or the notice of action letter.
- (iii) All other actions must be appealed within 90 days of the date of the action.

<u>2-003.01B</u> Appealing before effective date: A person or entity may appeal a termination or exclusion before the effective date of the proposed termination or exclusion. A termination or exclusion appealed before its effective date will not take effect until the appeal has been decided, unless the termination or exclusion is being imposed pursuant to 42 C.F.R. 455.416(c) or has an immediate effective date because of a threat to client health and safety.

2-003.02 Hearings: Appeal and hearing procedures are governed by Title 465, Chapter 6.

2-003.03 (RESERVED)

2-003.04 (RESERVED)

2-003.05 (RESERVED)

2-003.06 Long Term Care Facilities Appeals Process

2-003.06A Appeal of Denial, Termination, or Non-Renewal of Certification: Any nursing facility or intermediate care facility for the intellectually disabled (ICF/ID) whose Medicaid certification has been denied, terminated, or not renewed may appeal to the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services Regulation and Licensure (HHS Regulation and Licensure), which will conduct the hearings under Rule 56 of the Rules of Practice and Procedure adopted by HHS Regulation and Licensure.

2-003.06B Skilled Nursing Facility (SNF) Medicare/Medicaid Participation: If an SNF is participating, or seeking to participate, in both Medicare and Medicaid, and if the basis for the Department's denial, termination, or non-renewal of participation in Medicaid is also a basis for denial, termination, or non-renewal in Medicare, the facility is entitled to the review procedures specified for Medicare facilities under 42 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 405 Subpart O. The final decision entered under the Medicare review procedures will be binding for purposes of Medicaid NF participation. If the SNF is also certified for Medicaid NF participation, a separate appeal must be made to HHS Regulation and Licensure.

<u>2-003.06C</u> Appeal of Denial, Termination, or Non-Renewal of Medicaid Provider Agreements: Any NF or ICF/ID whose Medicaid provider agreement has been denied, terminated, or not renewed may appeal to the Director for a hearing under this section.

2-004 Client Lock-In

: The Department investigates clients who through utilization review, provider referral, or local office referral are identified as misutilizing medical assistance services. If the investigation establishes that the client has abused or overutilized services provided through the Nebraska Medical Assistance Program, the client may be locked-in. The Department's Utilization Review Committee makes the decision to lock-in a client.

2-004.01 Definition of Lock-In: Lock-in is a method used by the Department to ensure appropriate utilization of medical services by a client who has been determined to be abusing or overutilizing services provided by NMAP without infringing on the client's free choice of a provider.

2-004.02 Lock-In Categories: The client may be locked-in to one of the following categories: Note: Payment for medical emergencies and referrals to other physicians may be covered under 471 NAC 2-004.04.

2-004.02A Category 1: One pharmacy. The client chooses one pharmacy. The Department will approve payment for prescriptions only from that pharmacy. Other covered services are not restricted.

2-004.02B Category 2: One primary physician and one pharmacy. The client chooses one primary physician and one pharmacy.

2-004.02C Category 3: One primary physician, one pharmacy, and one hospital. The client chooses one primary physician, one pharmacy, and one hospital for outpatient services. Inpatient hospital admissions are exempt.

2-004.02D Category 4: One prescribing physician and one pharmacy. The client chooses one prescribing physician and one pharmacy. Only prescriptions authorized by the prescribing physician and dispensed by the pharmacy will be approved for payment. This category allows the client to visit other physicians without restriction.

2-004.02E Category 9: All types of service. The client must choose only one provider for each type of service s/he wishes to receive.

2-004.03 Choice of Lock-In Provider(s): The client is allowed to choose the provider(s). The primary physician or the prescribing physician must be an individual, as opposed to a partnership, clinic, teaching institution, or hospital staff.

A client in the lock-in program who is enrolled in the Nebraska Health Connection is allowed to choose his/her provider. The provider chosen as the lock-in provider must be the provider who is the client's primary care physician (PCP) under NHC.

<u>2-004.03A Change of Primary Provider</u>: The choice of provider(s) may be changed at any time upon demonstration by the client of good cause, which is determined by the Utilization Review Committee. The client is allowed to change the provider(s) every three months without demonstration of good cause. All requests for change must be submitted to the Utilization Review Committee through the local office by submitting a revised Form MC-66, "Recipient Choice of Provider Agreement."

<u>2-004.04 Services by Other Providers</u>: Claims for services provided to a lock-in client by other than the chosen provider(s) will not be approved, with the following exceptions:

<u>2-004.04A</u> Medical Emergencies: Emergency care is defined as medically necessary services provided to an individual who requires immediate medical attention to sustain life or to prevent any condition which could cause permanent disability to body functions. The provider shall document in writing any emergency situation. The documentation must be attached to any claim submitted to the Department.

<u>2-004.04B</u> Primary Physician Referrals: A primary physician may make a written referral of a lock-in client to another physician, dentist, osteopath, or podiatrist. Claims submitted may be approved for payment if a copy of the written referral from the primary physician is attached to the claim. Lock-in referrals may be approved for a reasonable amount of time for the condition being treated. If this time is exceeded, the Department may require a new referral letter from the primary physician.

<u>2-004.04C</u> Other Medical Services: Services by providers other than physicians, osteopaths, dentists, and podiatrists do not require a written referral from the primary physician.

<u>2-004.05 Lock-In Notification</u>: The Utilization Review Committee notifies the client, the client's local office, and Nebraska Health Connection (NHC) if the client is participating in NHC (or current enrollment broker for managed care) of the lock-in restriction through Form MC-38 at least ten days before imposing lock-in. Form MC-38:

- 1. Explains the lock-in restriction, stating that the restriction does not apply to emergency services furnished to the client;
- Provides reasons for the lock-in;
- Provides appropriate manual references;
- 4. Informs the client and local office of the client's right to an appeal hearing; and
- Explains that the client has 90 days to request a hearing in writing, and that if the client requests a hearing in writing within 10 days, the Lock-In will be delayed until a hearing decision is rendered.

<u>2-004.05A Client Appeal Rights</u>: The lock-in client has the right to appeal for a hearing. The client or the client's representative has 90 days following the date of notification to request a hearing in writing. If a hearing is requested in writing within ten days following the date of notification, the lock-in restriction will be delayed until a hearing decision is rendered.

2-004.06 Lock-In Agreement: Within ten working days following the date of the lock-in notification, the local office, NHC or client shall submit Form MC-66, "Recipient Choice of Provider Agreement," (see 471-000-93) to the Utilization Review Committee. The client and witness shall sign the agreement. The agreement identifies the provider(s) chosen by the client and states that the chosen provider(s) will be the only provider(s) of service.

<u>2-004.06A Failure to Provide Agreement</u>: Failure by the lock-in client or the local office to provide the agreement will result in the Department designating the provider(s) for the client or restricting the eligibility of the client to "emergency services only" (see 471 NAC 2-004.07).

<u>2-004.06B</u> Effective Date of Lock-In Agreement: The effective date of the lock-in agreement is either: 1) The first day of the month following the month in which the client signed the agreement; or 2) The date the agreement is signed, if requested by the lock-in client, caseworker or NHC and approved by the state; or 3) Another date, if requested by the lock-in client, caseworker or NHC and approved by the state.

2-004.07 Eligibility Information: Lock-in status may be verified by accessing the Department Internet

Access for Enrolled Providers (http://dhhs.ne.gov/medicaid/Pages/med_internetaccess.aspx); the Nebraska Medicaid Eligibility System (NMES) at 800-642-6092 (in Lincoln, 471-9580) (see 471-000-124); the Medicaid Inquiry Line at 877-255-3092 (in Lincoln 471-9128), or electronically by using the standard Health Care Eligibility Benefit Inquiry and Response transaction (ASC X12N 270/271).

If "emergency services only" is indicated, the provider may render only emergency services. The provider shall document in writing any emergency situation and the documentation must accompany any claim submitted to the Department for payment.

2-004.07A Provider Determination of Lock-In Status: The provider shall determine the client's lock-in status by accessing the Department Internet Access for Enrolled Providers (http://dhhs.ne.gov/medicaid/Pages/med_internetaccess.aspx_); the Nebraska Medicaid Eligibility System (NMES) at 800-642-6092 (in Lincoln, 471-9580); the Medicaid Inquiry Line at 877-255-3092 (in Lincoln 471-9128); or electronically by using the standard Health Care Eligibility Benefit Inquiry and Response transaction (ASC X12N 270/271). NMES will allow the provider to obtain current eligibility information (including lock-in status) and is operational 24 hours per day, seven days per week. (See 471-000-124 for instructions on using NMES.)

When a client initially becomes eligible for medical assistance, s/he may not have a Medicaid Identification Card at the time of the appointment. The provider shall verify the eligibility of the client(s) by contacting one of the eligibility verification systems listed above or the local office, or by using the standard electronic transaction.

<u>2-004.08 Pharmacy Claims</u>: Pharmacy claims submitted for prescriptions dispensed to a lock-in client by providers other than those designated on the Nebraska Medicaid Eligibility System may not be paid except in a bona fide emergency. The pharmacy shall document in writing the emergency situation.

Due to the circumstances necessitating the lock-in, the Department will approve for payment only prescriptions authorized by the primary or prescribing physician. Prescriptions by other practitioners (dentist, podiatrist, referral physician, etc.) will not be approved unless the primary or prescribing physician authorized them.

<u>2-004.09 Client's Lock-In File</u>: The Utilization Review Committee maintains a complete case file for each lock-in client at the Central Office. The client or the client's representative may request in writing a copy of all information contained within this file.

<u>2-004.10 Review of Lock-In Status</u>: The Utilization Review Committee, or its designee, will review the client's lock-in status every 24 months on the continued appropriateness of the lock-in-

At least 10 days before lock-in is extended, the Utilization Review Committee notifies the client, the client's local office, and Nebraska Health Connection if the client is participating in NHC (or current enrollment broker for managed care) of the review of the client's lock-in status. The notice:

- 1. Explains the outcome(s) of the review, which may include continuing lock-in status for another 24 months, changing lock-in category (see 471 NAC 2-004.02), or removing lock-in status;
- 2. Provides reasons for the outcome(s), according to the criteria listed in 471 NAC 2-004.10A:
- 3. Provides appropriate manual references;
- 4. Informs the client, local office and NHC of the client's right to an appeal hearing; and
- Explains that the client has 90 days to request a hearing in writing, and that if the client requests a hearing in writing within 10 days, no change will be made until a hearing decision is rendered.

<u>2-004.10A</u>: The client's lock-in status may be continued, changed or removed following the review of lock-in status based on the following reasons:

- 1. Use of controlled substances, carisoprodol, tramadol or other drug(s) with abuse potential; or
- 2. Early prescription refills, as defined in the drug claim processing system; or
- Use of drugs which are known to interact with other drugs, diseases, conditions or foods; or
- 4. Use of medications indicating multiple medical conditions with complex medication regimens; or
- 5. Patient safety, including use of medication(s) with narrow therapeutic index;
- 6. Abuse or overuse of medical services; or
- 7. History of drug abuse, medication-seeking behavior, non-compliance, emergency room overuse or abuse; or
- 8. Coverage by Medicaid of services from non-lock-in providers in nonemergency situations; or
- 9. Report(s) of obtaining Medicaid coverable drugs by paying cash; or
- 10. Other similar reasons.

In addition to the biennial review, the client or the client's primary physician may request a review of the client's lock-in status. Any request for review must contain a statement from the client's primary physician indicating that the client's medical history and/or treatment plan has been completely reviewed and stating the change in lock-in status being recommended, along with reasons supporting this recommendation. The Utilization Review Committee will notify the lock-in client, local office and NHC, if the client is participating in NHC, of its decision within ten days from the date the request is received. Requests for review of lo

ck-in status will be limited to once per year, unless the client can demonstrate good cause. Good cause will be determined by the Utilization Review Committee.

<u>2-005</u> Advance Directives: An advance directive is a written instruction, such as a living will or durable power of attorney for health care, recognized under state law (statutory or as recognized by the courts of the state) that relates to the provision of medical care if the individual becomes incapacitated.

All Medicaid-participating hospitals, nursing facilities, providers of home health care or personal care services, hospice programs, health maintenance organizations, and health insuring organizations shall comply with this section. They shall -

- 1. Maintain written policies, procedures, and materials concerning advance directives;
- 2. Provide written information (see 471-000-304) to all adult (as defined by state law) individuals receiving medical care by or through the provider or organization concerning their rights under state law to
 - a. Make decisions concerning their medical care;
 - b. Accept or refuse medical or surgical treatment; and
 - c. Formulate advance directives, such as living wills or durable power of attorney for health care:
- 3. Provide written information to all adult individuals on the provider's policies concerning implementation of these rights;
- 4. Document in the individual's medical record whether the individual has executed an advance directive;
- 5. Not condition the provision of care or otherwise discriminate against an individual based on whether that individual has executed an advance directive;
- 6. Ensure compliance with requirements of state law (whether statutory or as recognized by the courts of the state) concerning advance directives; and
- 7. Provide for educating staff and the community on advance directives.

2-005.01 When Providers Give Information Concerning Advance Directives: Providers shall give information concerning advance directives to each adult patient as follows:

- 1. A hospital shall give information at the time of the individual's admission as an inpatient:
- 2. A nursing facility shall give information at the time of the individual's admission as a resident:
- 3. A provider of home health care or personal care services shall give information to the individual in advance of the individual's coming under the care of the provider;
- 4. A hospice program shall give information at the time of initial receipt of hospice care by the individual; and
- An HMO/HIO shall give information at the time the individual enrolls with the organization, i.e., when the HMO enrolls or re-enrolls the individual. If an HMO has more than one medical record for its enrollees, it must document all medical records.

2-005.02 Information Concerning Advance Directives at the Time an Incapacitated Individual Is Admitted: An individual may be admitted to a facility in a comatose or otherwise incapacitated state and be unable to receive information or articulate whether s/he has executed an advance directive. In this case, to the extent that a facility issues materials about policies and procedures to the families or to the surrogates or other concerned persons of the incapacitated patient in accordance with state law, it shall also include the information concerning advance directives. This does not relieve the facility from its obligation to provide this information to the patient once s/he is no longer incapacitated.

<u>2-005.03 Previously Executed Advance Directives</u>: When the patient or a relative, surrogate, or other concerned or related individual presents the facility with a copy of the individual's advance directive, the facility shall comply with the advance directive to the extent allowed under state law. This does not preclude a facility from objecting as a matter of conscience, if it is permitted to do so under state law.

Absent contrary state law, if no one comes forward with a previously executed advance directive and the patient is incapacitated or otherwise unable to receive information or articulate whether s/he has executed an advance directive, the facility shall note that the individual was not able to receive information and was unable to communicate whether an advance directive existed.

<u>2-006</u> <u>Disclosure of Information by Providers</u>: <u>Under 42 CFR 455, Subpart B, the Department requires providers to disclose the following information:</u>

- 1. Ownership and control;
- 2. Business transactions; and
- 3. The providers' owners and other persons convicted of crimes against Medicare, Medicaid, or Title XX (Social Services Block Grant) programs.

<u>2-006.01 Ownership and Control</u>: For each managing employee, person or entity with an ownership or control interest in the provider, and subcontractor of which the provider owns at least five percent, a provider must disclose the following:

- 1. The name, address (including, as applicable, the primary business address, every business location, and P.O. Box address), date of birth or incorporation, and Tax Identification Number or social security number as applicable;
- 2. Whether any is related to another as spouse, parent, child, or sibling; and
- 3. The name of any other disclosing entity in which a person named in 471 NAC 2-006.01(1) has an ownership or controlling interest.

For purposes of this section, "person with an ownership or control interest" means a person who:

- 1. (a) Has directly or indirectly an ownership interest of five per centum or more in the entity:
 - (b) Is the owner of a whole or part interest in any mortgage, deed of trust, note, or other obligation secured (in whole or in part) by the entity or any of the property or assets thereof, which whole or part interest is equal to or exceeds five per centum of the total property and assets of the entity; or
- 2. Is an officer or director of the entity, if the entity is organized as a corporation; or
- 3. Is a partner in the entity, if the entity is organized as a partnership.

The term "managing employee" means, with respect to an entity, an individual, including a general manager, business manager, administrator, and director, who exercises operational or managerial control over the entity, or who directly or indirectly conducts the day-to-day operations of the entity.

Any provider that is subject to periodic survey and certification of its compliance with Medicaid standards must supply this information to the Department at the time it is surveyed. Any provider that is not subject to periodic survey and certification must supply the information before entering into an agreement with the Department.

The Department must not approve a Service Provider Agreement, and must terminate an existing agreement, if the provider fails to disclose ownership or control information. The Department must not pay a provider who fails to disclose ownership or control information.

A provider shall notify the Department of any changes or updates to the information supplied under 471 NAC 2-006.01 not later than 35 days after such changes or updates take effect.

<u>2-006.02 Business Transactions</u>: Under 42 CFR 455.105(b) when requested, a provider must disclose within 35 days of the date on the request information:

- The ownership of any subcontractor with whom the provider has had business transactions totaling more than \$25,000 during the 12-month period ending with the date of the request; and
- Any significant business transaction between the provider and any wholly-owned supplier, or between the provider and any sub-contractor, during the five-year period ending on the date of the request.

The Department must not pay providers who fail to comply with a request for this information, or pay for services provided during the period beginning on the day following the date the information was due to the Department and ending on the day before the date the Department received the information.

<u>2-006.03 Persons Convicted of Crimes</u>: Before the Department enters into or renews a Service Provider Agreement, or upon request by the Department, the provider must disclose to the Department the identity of any person who -

- 1. Has ownership or control interest in the provider, or is an agent or managing employee of the provider; and
- 2. Has been convicted of a criminal offense related to that person's involvement in any problem under Medicare, Medicaid, CHIP (Title XXI), or the Social Services Block Grant (Title XX) programs since the inception of those programs.

The Department may refuse to enter into or renew a provider agreement if any person who has an ownership or control interest in the provider, or who is an agent or managing employee of the provider, has been convicted of a criminal offense related to that person's involvement in any program under Medicare, Medicaid, CHIP (Title XXI), or the Social Services Block Grant (Title XX). The Department may deny or terminate enrollment if it determines that the provider did not fully and accurately disclose this information.