
NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 

 
August 28, 2018 

10:00 a.m. Central Time 
Nebraska State Office Building – Lower Level A 
301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, Nebraska 

 
The purpose of this hearing is to receive additional comments on proposed changes to 
Title 172 Chapter 128 – Practice of Pharmacy and to Title 175 Chapter 8 – Pharmacies 
of the Nebraska Administrative Code (NAC).  Revisions of these existing regulations include 
updates based on the passage of LB 37 (2015) which made changes to the Pharmacy Practice 
Act, and previous updates to the Uniform Credentialing Act. The revisions also reflect 
simplification in format for licensure regulations including eliminating duplicate language that is 
found in existing stature(s) or licensure application forms. 

 
Authority for these regulations is found in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 81-3117(7). 
 
Interested persons may attend the hearing and provide verbal or written comments or 
mail, fax or email written comments, no later than the day of the hearing to:  DHHS Legal 
Services, PO Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, (402) 742-2382 or 
dhhs.regulations@nebraska.gov, respectively. 
 
A copy of the proposed changes is available online at http://www.sos.ne.gov, or by 
contacting DHHS at the mailing address or email above, or by phone at (402) 471-8223. 
The fiscal impact statement for these proposed changes may be obtained at the office of 
the Secretary of State, Regulations Division, 1201 N Street, Suite 120, Lincoln, NE 68508, 
or by calling (402) 471-2385. 
 
Auxiliary aids or reasonable accommodations needed to participate in a hearing can be 
requested by calling (402) 471-8223.  Individuals with hearing impairments may call 
DHHS at (402) 471-9570 (voice and TDD) or the Nebraska Relay System at 711 or (800) 
833-7352 TDD at least 2 weeks prior to the hearing. 
 

 
 
 
 



 

 

 

  

FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT 
 

 
 

Agency: Department of Health and Human Services 

Title:  172 and 175 Prepared by:  K. Lueke based on Fiscal 
Impact statement associated with LB0680 
(2016) 

Chapter:  128 (172) and 8 (175) Date prepared: 1-7-16, revised  

Subject:  Pharmacy Practice Act/LB37 
(2015), LB680 (2016), LB947 (2016) 

Telephone:  402-471-4915 

 
 

Type of Fiscal Impact: 
 

  Please check all that apply 

 State Agency Political Sub. Regulated Public 

No Fiscal Impact (  ☐  ) (  ☐  ) (  ☐  ) 

Increased Costs (  ☒  ) (  ☐  ) (  ☒  ) 

Decreased Costs (  ☐  ) (  ☐  ) (  ☐  ) 

Increased Revenue (  ☐  ) (  ☒  ) (  ☐  ) 

Decreased Revenue (  ☐  ) (  ☐  ) (  ☐  ) 

Indeterminable (  ☐  ) (  ☐  ) (  ☐  ) 

 
 
Provide an Estimated Cost & Description of Impact: 
 
 State Agency:  $23,177.00 (FY 2016-2017) 
 
 Political Subdivision:  Community colleges/university in Nebraska offering the 
certification and periodic renewal certification will receive payments for tuitions/fees by 
the regulated public. 
 
 Regulated Public:  Cost of certification for the registered Pharmacy Technicians to 
become and remain certified.  Pharmacy facilities opting to assist Pharmacy Technicians 
with the cost of tuition/fees for completing required certification will be impacted by 
increased costs for payment of fees/tuition to external provider organizations issuing the 
certification.   
 
 
If indeterminable, explain why:    
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TITLE 175  HEALTH CARE FACILITIES AND SERVICES LICENSURE 
 
CHAPTER 8  PHARMACIES 
 
001.  AUTHORITY.  These regulations govern licensure of Pharmacies.  The regulations are 
authorized by and implement the Health Care Facility Licensure Act, Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 71-401 
to 71-470; the Pharmacy Practice Act, Neb. Rev. Stat. §§38-2801 to 38-28,116; the Uniform 
Credentialing Act, Neb. Rev. Stat. §§38-101 to 38-1,142; and the Prescription Drug Safety Act, 
Neb. Rev. Stat. §§71-2457 to 72-2483.  
 
002.  DEFINITIONS.  For purposes of these regulations, the definitions in the Health Care Facility 
Licensure Act, Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 71-401 to 71-470; the Pharmacy Practice Act, Neb. Rev. Stat. 
§§38-2801 to 38-28,116; the Prescription Drug Safety Act, Neb. Rev. Stat. §§71-2457 to 72-2483; 
the Uniform Credentialing Act, Neb. Rev. Stat. §§38-101 to 38-1,140, the Uniform Controlled 
Substances Act, Neb. Rev. Stat. §§28-401 to 28-456.01 and §§28-458 to 28-471, and the 
following definitions apply:  
 

002.01  APPLICANT. A person who has submitted an application for a pharmacy license. 
 
002.02  CENTRAL FILL. The preparation of a drug, device, or biological pursuant to a medical 
order in a pharmacy other than the pharmacy where dispensing to the patient or caregiver 
occurs. 
 
002.03  COMPLETED APPLICATION means the application that contains all the information 
specified in 175 NAC 8-003 and includes all required attachments and documentation and the 
licensure fee 
 
002.04  D.E.A. means the Drug Enforcement Administration of the United States Department 
of Justice responsible for enforcing the controlled substances laws and regulations of the 
United States.  
 
002.05  DISTRIBUTE.  To deliver a drug or device, other than by administering or dispensing. 
 
002.06  LICENSEE.  The person responsible for the operation of the facility and to whom the 
department has issued a license. 
 
002.07 NAC.  Nebraska Administrative Code (NAC) means the official name for the compiled 
rules and regulations of the state.  
 
002.08 PREMISES. The facility, the facility’s grounds, and each building or grounds on 
contiguous property. 
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003.  LICENSING REQUIREMENTS AND PROCEDURES.  Any individual or entity that intends 
to establish, operate, or maintain a pharmacy must first obtain a license from the department.  To 
receive a license, an applicant for an initial or renewal license must submit a complete application, 
and documentation that the person meets the licensure requirements and that the location for the  
pharmacy meets the operational and physical plant standards contained in 175 NAC 8-007 and 
8-008.   

 
003.01  INITIAL LICENSURE. 
 

003.01(A)  APPLICANT RESPONSIBILITIES.  An applicant for an initial pharmacy license 
must: 
 

003.01(A)(i)  Submit information and attestation regarding the applicant’s ability to 
comply with the applicable standards specified in 175 NAC 8-007 and 8-008 

 
003.01(A)(ii)  Complete and submit an application form in such manner and content 
as required by the Department.   
 

003.01(A)(ii)(1)  Any applicant who is an individual must meet the requirements for 
citizenship or immigration status  as required by Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-129 and §§ 
4-108 through 4-111; and  
 
003.01(A)(ii)(2)  Provide the following information: 
 

003.01(A)(ii)(2)(a)  The legal name of the applicant and any other names by 
which the applicant is known;  
 
003.01(A)(ii)(2)(b)  The individual’s mailing address (street, rural route, or post 
office address; and city, state, and zip code or country information); and 
 
003.01(A)(ii)(2)(c)  The applicant’s social security number (SSN) or alien 
registration number (A#).  Certain applicants may have both a social security 
number (SSN) and an alien registration number (A#), and if so, must report 
both. 
 

003.01(A)(iii)  Submit the required fee as specified in 175 NAC 8-005.09. 
 

003.01(B)  INITIAL LICENSURE.  
 

003.01(B)(i)  PROVISIONAL PHARMACY LICENSE.   
 

003.01(B)(i)(1)  The department may issue a provisional pharmacy license if the 
department based upon review of the application that the applicant has 
substantially complied with the requirements for licensure under the Health Care 
Facility Licensure Act and that the  operation of the pharmacy does not pose an 
imminent danger of death or physical harm to the persons served by the pharmacy. 
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003.01(B)(i)(2)  The department may deny an application if the Department 
determines the applicant does not meet the requirements for licensure in Neb. Rev. 
Stat. §71-437 and these regulations.  

 
003.01(B)(ii) PHARMACY LICENSE.  After issuing a provisional license, the 
department will conduct an announced initial on-site inspection.  

 
003.02  RENEWAL LICENSES.   
 

003.02(A)  LICENSEE RESPONSIBILITIES.  A licensee applying for a renewal pharmacy 
license must submit the following on or before the expiration date: 
 

003.02(A)(i)  Information and attestation regarding the applicant’s ability to comply with 
the applicable standards specified in 175 NAC 8-007 and 8-008;  
 
003.02(A)(ii)   A completed application form in such manner and content as required 
by the Department.   
 

003.02(A)(ii)(1)  Any applicant who is an individual must meet the requirements for 
citizenship or immigration status  as required by Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-129 and §§ 
4-108 through 4-111; and  
 
003.02(A)(ii)(2)  Provide the following information: 
 

003.02(A)(ii)(2)(a)  The legal name of the applicant and any other names by 
which the applicant is known;  
 
003.02(A)(ii)(2)(b)  The individual’s mailing address (street, rural route, or post 
office address; and city, state, and zip code or country information); and 
 
003.02(A)(ii)(2)(c)  The applicant’s social security number (SSN) or alien 
registration number (A#).  Certain applicants may have both a social security 
number (SSN) and an alien registration number (A#), and if so, must report 
both. 

 
003.02(A)(iii)  The required fee as specified in 175 NAC 8-005.09. 

 
003.02(B)  FAILURE TO RENEW.  If a licensee fails to submit an completed renewal 
application and fee to renew on or before the pharmacy license expiration date:  
 

003.02(B)(i)  The pharmacy license will be placed in lapsed status by the department;  
 
003.02(B)(ii)  No provision of services in the pharmacy may occur when the license is 
in lapsed status; and 
 
003.02(B)(iii)  The license for the pharmacy will remain in lapsed status until it is 
reinstated. 
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003.03  REINSTATEMENT FROM LAPSED STATUS.  A licensee of a pharmacy requesting 
reinstatement of its lapsed license must submit to the department an application for 
reinstatement and pay the required license fee specified in 175 NAC 8-005.09.  The 
application must conform to the requirements specified in 175 NAC 8-003.01A.   
 

003.03(A)   APPLICATION. The application for reinstatement will be reviewed by the 
department for completeness and whether an on-site inspection is needed to determine 
compliance with the operational and physical plant standards of 175 NAC 8-007 and 8-
008, and the following factors: 
 

003.03(A)(i)  The length of time that has transpired from the date the license was 
placed on lapsed status to the date of the reinstatement application; and 
 
003.03(A)(ii)  Whether pharmacy services were provided from the site or under a 
license that is different from the lapsed license 

 
003.04  PERMANENTLY CLOSING A PHARMACY. 
 

003.04(A) NOTIFICATION ON DISCONTINUED SERVICES. When a licensee 
discontinues providing pharmacy services, the pharmacist in charge or practitioner of that 
pharmacy must notify the department within 5 days prior to the services being 
discontinued in the pharmacy. 
 
003.04(B)  STIPULATIONS OF NOTICE. The notice must include the following 
information: 
 

003.04(B)(i)  The sale or other disposition of legend drug, device, or biological 
inventory; 

 
003.04(B)(ii)  The sale or other disposition of controlled substances and controlled 
substances invoices and inventory records; and  
 
003.04(B)(iii)  The location of all patient records including prescription files. 

 
003.04(C)  RETURN OF DOCUMENTS AND FORMS. Upon closure of the pharmacy, the 
pharmacist in charge or practitioner must return the following to the department: 
 

003.04(C)(i)  The pharmacy license; 
 
003.04(C)(ii)  The pharmacy’s Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) Registration, if 
any; 
 
003.04(C)(iii)  All unused Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) Forms 222 for the 
pharmacy, if any; and 
 
003.04(C)(iv)  All unused Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) Forms 222a or 222d 
for the pharmacy, if any.  
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003.04(D)  PATIENT NOTIFICATION. When the closing of a pharmacy is anticipated, the 
pharmacist in charge or practitioner is responsible for notifying patients of that pharmacy 
at least 15 days prior to closing that they will need to seek service elsewhere.  The 
notification can be accomplished through: 
 

003.04(D)(i)  Advertisement in a newspaper appropriate to the location of the 
pharmacy; 
 
003.04(D)(ii)  Written notice to patients of the pharmacy; or 
 
003.04(D)(iii)  Other such notice as is appropriate.  

 
004.  DENIAL, REFUSAL TO RENEW, OR DISCIPLINARY ACTION. 
 

004.01  GROUNDS FOR DENIAL, REFUSAL TO RENEW, OR DISCIPLINARY ACTION. 
 

004.01(A)  FAILURE TO MEET REQUIREMENTS. The department may deny or refuse 
to renew a pharmacy license for failure to meet the requirements for licensure, including:   
 

004.01(A(i)  Failing an inspection specified in 175 NAC 8-006; 
 
004.01(A)(ii)  Failing to meet a compliance assessment standard adopted under Neb. 
Rev. Stat. § 71-442 as specified in 175 NAC 8-006; 
 
004.01(A)(iii)  Having had a license revoked within the two-year period preceding an   
application; or 
 
004.01(A)(iv)  Any of the grounds specified in 175 NAC 8-004.01B. 

 
004.01(B)  GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINE. The department may take disciplinary action 
against a provisional pharmacy license or a pharmacy license for the grounds set out in 
Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-448 or any of the following grounds: 
 

004.01(B)(i)  Violation of the Prescription Drug Safety Act;  
 
004.01(B)(ii)  Failure to account for significant, substantial shortages or overages of 
controlled substances; and 
 
004.01(B)(iii)  Loss of prescription inventory or prescription records due to theft or any 
other cause resulting from failure to secure the inventory or records.  

 
004.02 REINSTATEMENT FROM DISCIPLINARY PROBATION, SUSPENSION, OR 
FOLLOWING REVOCATION.   
 

004.03(A)  REINSTATEMENT AT THE END OF SUSPENSION.  A license may be 
reinstated at the end of suspension following:   
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004.03(A)(i)  Submission of an application to the department for renewal that conforms 
to the requirements of 175 NAC 8-003.02; 
 
004.03(A)(ii)  Payment of the renewal fee as specified in 175 NAC 8-005.09; and 
 
004.03(A)(iii)  Successful completion of an inspection, if the department determines 
an inspection is warranted.  

 
The department may reinstate the license when it finds, based on an inspection as 
provided for in 175 NAC 8-006, that the pharmacy is in compliance with the operational 
and physical plant standards of 175 NAC 8-007 and 8-008. 
 
004.03(B) REINSTATEMENT PRIOR TO COMPLETION OF PROBATION OR 
SUSPENSION. 
 

004.03(B)(i)  REINSTATEMENT PRIOR TO THE COMPLETION OF PROBATION.  A 
licensee may request reinstatement prior to the completion of probation and must meet 
the following conditions:   
 

004.03(B)(i)(1)  Submit a petition to the department stating: 
 

004.03(B)(i)(1)(a)  The reasons why the license should be reinstated prior to 
the probation completion date; and 
 
004.03(B)(i)(1)(b)  The corrective action taken to prevent recurrence of the 
violation(s)  that served as the basis of the probation; and 

 
004.03(B)(i)(2)  Successfully complete any inspection that the Ddepartment 
determines necessary.   

 
004.03(B)(ii) REINSTATEMENT PRIOR TO COMPLETION OF SUSPENSION.  A 
licensee may request reinstatement prior to the completion of suspension and must 
meet the following conditions:   
 

004.03(B)(ii)(1)  Submit  petition to the department stating: 
 

004.03(B)(ii)(1)(a)  The reasons why the license should be reinstated prior to 
the suspension completion date; and 
 
004.03(B)(ii)(2)(b)  The corrective action taken to prevent recurrence of the 
violation(s) that served as the basis of the suspension; 

 
004.03(B)(ii)(2)  Submit a written renewal application to the department as 
specified in 175 NAC 8-003.02;   
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004.03(B)(ii)(3)  Pay the renewal fee as specified in 175 NAC 8-005.03; and 
 
004.03(B)(ii)(4)  Successfully complete an inspection. 

 
004.03(B)(iii) REINSTATEMENT FOLLOWING REVOCATION.  A license may be 
reinstated following revocation upon: 
 

004.03(B)(iii)(1)  Submission of an application to the department for renewal that 
conforms to the requirements of 175 NAC 8-003.02; 
 
004.03(B)(iii)(2)  Payment of the renewal fee as specified in 175 NAC 8-005.09; 
and 
 
004.03(B)(iii)(3) Successful completion of an inspection, if the department 
determines an inspection is warranted.  

 
005.  GENERAL REQUIREMENTS. 
 

005.01  EFFECTIVE DATE AND TERM OF LICENSE.  A pharmacy license expires on July 1 
of each year. 
 
005.02  LICENSE NOT TRANSFERABLE.  A license is issued only for the premises and 
persons named in the application and is not transferable or assignable.  Change of ownership 
or change of premises terminates the license.  The owner(s) must apply for a new pharmacy 
license.  If a change of ownership occurs and the pharmacy remains on the same premises, 
the inspection in 175 NAC 8-006.02 is not required.  If there is a change of premises, the new 
owner(s) of the pharmacy must pass the inspection specified in 175 NAC 8-006.02.   
 
005.03  NOTIFICATION.  An applicant or licensee must notify the department of any change 
as set forth in 175 NAC 8-005.04 through 8-005.08.  The following information is required for 
all notifications: 
 
005.04  CHANGE OF PHARMACIST IN CHARGE. The licensee must notify the department  
within one business day when there is a change in the pharmacist in charge. 
 
005.05 CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP OR PREMISES. The licensee must notify the department 
in writing 30 days before a pharmacy is sold, leased, discontinued, or moved to new premises. 
 
005.06  CHANGE OF NAME OF THE PHARMACY. The licensee must notify the department 
in writing within 5 working days when there is a change in the name of the pharmacy. 
 
005.07  CONTINUATION OF A PHARMACY BY THE HEIRS OR ESTATE OF A DECEASED 
LICENSEE. The heirs or executor of the estate must notify the department within 30 days of 
the death of the licensee. 
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005.08  AN ACCIDENT, NATURAL DISASTER, OR INTERRUPTION IN UTILITY 
SERVICES.  The licensee must notify the department in writing by electronic mail, facsimile, 
or postal service within 24 hours after any change in environment which will adversely affect 
the potency, efficacy, safety or security of the drugs, devices, or biologicals in the pharmacy.  
The notification may be made by telephone if the event has affected the licensee’s capacity 
to communicate. 
 
005.09  FEES.  The applicant or licensee must pay fees for licensure as follows: 
 

005.09(A)  The required fees are: 
 

005.09(A)(i)  Initial pharmacy license fee is $625. 
 
005.09(A)(ii)  Annual pharmacy license renewal fee is $625 
 
005.09(A)(iii)  Duplicate license fee is $10. 

 
005.09(B)  Refunds for denied applications.  
 

005.09(B)(i)  If the department did not perform an initial on-site inspection, the license 
fee is refunded except for an administrative fee of $25; or  
 
005.09(B)(ii)  If the department performed an initial on-site inspection, the fee is not 
refunded.  

 
006.  INSPECTIONS.  Each licensee has the responsibility to be in compliance, and to remain in 
compliance, with the regulations set out in this chapter.  For the purpose of assuring compliance, 
each licensee must prepare a Pharmacy Quality Assurance Report (PQAR) and the department 
will conduct inspections as set out below.  The department may conduct an unannounced on-site 
inspection at any time it deems necessary to determine compliance with applicable statutes and 
regulations.  
 

006.01  INITIAL ON-SITE INSPECTION. The pharmacy inspector: 
 

006.01(A)  Verifies the operational and physical plant standards as described on the 
application for a pharmacy license are in place; 
 
006.01(B)  Verifies that an initial controlled substances inventory was taken, if the 
controlled substances will be dispensed from the pharmacy, and that the inventory is on 
file in the pharmacy on the date the pharmacy first engages in the distribution or 
dispensing of prescription drugs; and 

 
006.01(C)  Reviews the Pharmacy Quality Assurance Report (PQAR) as described in 175 
NAC 8-006.02  with the pharmacist-in-charge or practitioner and clarifies and discusses 
any areas that warrant attention.  This is all about what the Department is doing it should 
be about what is required. 
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006.02  PHARMACY QUALITY ASSURANCE REPORT (PQAR).  The Pharmacy Quality 
Assurance Report (PQAR) is due one year from the date of the initial on-site inspection and 
annually thereafter.  All licensees must ensure that the pharmacist in charge or the practitioner 
annually submits a completed Pharmacy Quality Assurance Report (PQAR) on a form made 
available by the department, electronically or upon request, at least 30 days before the due 
date of the report.  The department shall provide notice to licensees of significant changes 
made to the Pharmacy Quality Assurance Report (PQAR) prior to such changes being 
implemented.  
 

006.02(A)  REPORTED INFORMATION. At a minimum the Pharmacy Quality Assurance 
Report (PQAR) must provide information on the following:   
 

006.02(A)(i)  Standards for the Operations of a Pharmacy 
 

006.02(A)(i)(1)  Staffing requirements; 
 
006.02(A)(i)(2)  Storage requirements; 
 
006.02(A)(i)(3)  Record keeping requirements; 
 
006.02(A)(i)(4)  Dispensing requirements; 
 
006.02(A)(i)(5) Controlled substance dispensing requirement for emergency 
situations; and 
 
006.02(A)(i)(6)  Disaster preparedness management 

 
006.02(A)(ii)  Physical Plant Standards 
 

006.02(A)(ii)(1)  Equipment, facilitites, and utilities; 
 
006.02(A)(ii)(2) Shelving, counters, floor, inventory, fixtures, equipment, and 
utensils; and 
 
006.02(A)(ii)(3)  Reference material  

 
006.02(A)(iii)  Sterile Compunding Requirements (if applicable for the facility) 
 
006.02(A)(iv)  Non-sterile compounding requirements (if applicable for the facility)  

 
006.02(B)  VERIFICATION OF THE REPORT. The Pharmacy Quality Assurance Report 
(PQAR) must be accompanied by a signed statement from the pharmacist in charge or 
the practitioner verifying that all information in the Pharmacy Quality Assurance Report 
(PQAR) is accurate, complete, and correct. 
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006.03  ANNUAL INSPECTION. All licensees are required to complete and submit the 
required department form for an annual self-inspection, and may be subject to an on-site to 
verify the pharmacy fully complies with the requirements of 175 NAC 8-007 and 8-008.   
 

006.03(A)  SELF-INSPECTION.  The Pharmacy Quality Assurance Report (PQAR) will 
fulfill the annual inspection requirement when the department determines that the report 
indicates that the licensee of the pharmacy is in full compliance with the Health Care 
Facility Licensure Act, the Controlled Substances Act, the Prescription Drug Safety Act, 
and these regulations.  However, the report will not fulfill the annual inspection requirement 
when: 
 

006.03(A)(i)  The department has determined, based on the review of the Pharmacy 
Quality Assurance Report (PQAR), that the pharmacy is not in compliance with the 
Health Care Facility Licensure Act, the Prescription Drug Safety Act, or these 
regulations; 
 
006.03(A)(ii)  The pharmacy failed to be in full compliance with the Health Care Facility 
Licensure Act, the Prescription Drug Safety Act, and these regulations at the time of 
its last inspection; 
 
006.03(A)(iii)  The licensee failed to submit a Pharmacy Quality Assurance Report 
(PQAR); 
 
006.03(A)(iv) The pharmacy is randomly selected as part of the 25% of licensed 
pharmacies chosen for inspection; 
 
006.03(A)(v)  Five years have elapsed since the pharmacy was subjected to an on-
site inspection; or   
 
006.03(A)(vi)  Any other event that raises concerns about the maintenance, operation, 
or management of the pharmacy.  

 
006.03(B)  ON-SITE INSPECTION.  When the department determines, based upon the 
criteria specified in 175 NAC 8-006.04A, that the Pharmacy Quality Assurance Report 
(PQAR) does not fulfill the annual inspection requirement, a pharmacy inspector will 
conduct an on-site inspection to determine compliance with the Health Care Facility 
Licensure Act, the Controlled Substances Act, the Prescription Drug Safety Act, and these 
regulations. 
 
006.03(C) RESULTS OF ANNUAL INSPECTIONS. The department’s review of the annual 
self-inspection or on-site inspection will be evaluated by the department to determine 
whether the licensee: 
 

006.03(C)(i)  Fully complies with the requirements of 175 NAC 8-007 and 8-008; 
 
 
 



11 
 

DRAFT                                 NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF PHARM   
05-17-2017      HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES     175 NAC 8 

 
 
006.03(C)(ii)  Does not fully comply with the requirements of 175 NAC 8-007 and 8-
008, but the nature of the violation(s) does not create an imminent danger of death or 
physical harm to the clients of the pharmacy and no direct or immediate adverse effect 
to the safety or security of the drugs, devices, and biologicals; or 
 
006.03(C)(iii)  Fails to meet the requirements of 175 NAC 8-007 and 8-008, and the 
nature of the violation(s) would create an imminent danger of death or physical harm.  

 
006.04  RE-INSPECTION.  
 

006.04(A)  The department may conduct re-inspections to determine if full compliance of 
the pharmacy operations have been met and the requirements of 175 NAC 8-007 and 8-
008 have been demonstrated by the licensee.   

 
007.  STANDARDS FOR THE OPERATION OF A PHARMACY. The licensee must comply with 
the Prescription Drug Safety Act, the Pharmacy Practice Act, the Controlled Substances Act, and 
the following requirements:    
 

007.01  STAFFING.  Each licensee must have a pharmacist in charge or practitioner with the 
qualifications, training, and skills necessary to meet the requirements according to these 
regulations. 
 

007.01(A)  LICENSED PHARMACIST. Each licensee must employ a sufficient number of 
pharmacists to meet the needs of individuals seeking services at the pharmacy. 

 
007.01(B)  PHARMACY TECHNICIAN. When a licensee employs pharmacy technicians, 
the licensee must assure each pharmacy technician employed by the licensee is actively 
registered by the department and has been certified by an approved state or national 
certification body by January 1, 2017, for those registered as a Pharmacy Technician as 
of January 1, 2016; or within one year of initial registration for those with initial registration 
dates after January 1, 2016. 

 
007.02  STORAGE REQUIREMENTS. 
 

007.02(A) TEMPERATURE AND LABEL REQUIREMENTS. The licensee of the 
pharmacy must provide equipment for the storage of drugs, devices, and biologicals at the 
proper temperature. 
 

007.02(A)(i) Drugs, devices, or biologicals requiring refrigeration must be stored 
between 36 and 46 degrees Fahrenheit. 
 
007.02(A)(ii)  Drugs, devices, or biologicals requiring a freezer must be stored between 
-4 and 14 degrees Fahrenheit.  
 
007.02(A)(iii)  Drugs, devices, or biologicals requiring storage in a cool place must be 
stored between 46 and 59 degrees Fahrenheit, or under refrigeration, between 36 and 
46 degrees Fahrenheit, unless otherwise specified. 
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007.02(A)(iv) Drugs, devices, or biologicals requiring storage at controlled room 
temperature must be stored between 68 and 77 degrees Fahrenheit. 
 
007.02(A)(v)  Other labeled storage instruction for drugs, devices, or biologicals must 
be followed. 

 
007.02(B)  SEPARATE STORAGE. Drugs, devices, and biologicals stored in a refrigerator 
must be kept in a separate refrigerator from food.   
 
007.02(C)  SECURE RECORDS. The prescription inventory and prescription records of 
the pharmacy must be maintained in a secure location when there is no pharmacist or 
practitioner on the premises.  Loss of prescription inventory or prescription records due to 
theft or any other cause resulting from failure to secure the inventory or records are 
grounds for disciplinary action. 
 
007.02(D)  MISBRANDED OR ADULTERATED DRUG STORAGE.  All drugs which are 
misbranded or adulterated shall not be stored with saleable inventory. 
 
007.02(E)  DISPOSAL OR RECALL. Dispensed drugs that are returned to a pharmacy for 
disposal or in response to a recall, or if a device is defective or malfunctioning, must be 
stored separately from saleable inventory. 

 
007.03  RECORD KEEPING REQUIREMENTS. 
 

007.03(A)  PRESCRIPTION RECORDS.  All licensees must assure the establishment and 
maintenance of record keeping systems in compliance with  to account for the receipt and 
disposition of prescription drugs in a readable format that is readily retrievable, which 
complies with Neb. Rev. Stat. §28-414.02 to 28-414.03, 71-2479  and these regulations. 

 
007.04  DISPENSING REQUIREMENTS. 
 

007.04(A)  RETURN OF CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE. The return to the pharmacy of 
controlled substances, halved tablets, other broken dosage forms, and extemporaneously 
compounded tablets and capsules is prohibited, except for the purpose of disposal. 
 
007.04(B)  QUANTITY FOR LONG TERM CARE. The quantity of a drug indicated in a 
medical order for residents of a long-term care facility shall be 60 days, unless otherwise 
limited by the prescriber.   
 
007.04(C)  PRO RE NATA PRESCRIPTION. When the refill designation on the 
prescription is prn or Pro re nata, such designation, unless otherwise limited, means: 
 

007.04(C)(i)  If a prescription for a controlled substance in Schedules III-V, refill five 
times in the six months from the date of issuance, or 
 
007.04(C)(ii)  If a prescription for a non-controlled drug, refill for 12 months from the 
date of issuance.  



13 
 

DRAFT                                 NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF PHARM   
05-17-2017      HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES     175 NAC 8 

 
 
007.04(C)(iii) Controlled substances in Schedule II cannot be refilled and a refill 
designation on a prescription for a controlled substance in Schedule II is void.  

 
007.04(D)  PRESCRIPTION LABEL FOR CENTRAL FILL.  If central fill is used for 
controlled substances, the prescription label must contain the DEA registration number of 
the central fill pharmacy. 
 
007.04(E)  PRESCRIPTION LABELS FOR MULTI-DRUG CONTAINERS. The licensee 
may allow for the dispensing of more than one drug, device or biological in the same 
container only when:  
 

007.04(E)(i) Such container is prepackaged by the manufacturer, packager, or 
distributor and shipped directly to the pharmacy in this manner; or 
 
007.04(E)(ii)  The container does not accommodate greater than a 31-day supply of 
compatible dosage units and is labeled so as to identify each drug or biological in the 
container in addition to all information required by statues and regulations 

 
007.04(F) CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE DISPENSING REQUIREMENT FOR 
EMERGENCY SITUATIONS. For the purpose of authorizing an emergency oral 
prescription of a controlled substance listed in Schedule II of Neb. Rev. Stat. §28-405, the 
term emergency situation means those situations in which the prescriber determines: 
 

007.04(F)(i)  That immediate administration of the controlled substance is necessary, 
for proper treatment of the intended ultimate user; and 
 
007.04(F)(ii) That no appropriate alternative treatment is available, including 
administration of a drug which is not a controlled substance listed in Schedule II; and 
 
007.04(F)(iii)  That it is not reasonably possible for the prescriber to provide a signed, 
written prescription to be presented to the person dispensing the substance, prior to 
dispensing in compliance with Neb. Rev. Stat. §28-414 (3).  

 
007.05  DISASTER PREPAREDNESS AND MANAGEMENT. The licensee must establish 
and implement disaster preparedness plans and procedures to protect the potency, efficacy, 
safety, and security of the drugs, devices, or biologicals in the pharmacy in instances of natural 
(tornado, flood, etc.) or other disasters, disease outbreaks, interruption of utility services, or 
other similar situations.  Such plans and procedures must address and delineate: 
 

007.05(A)  How the licensee of the pharmacy will provide for the storage of drugs, devices, 
and biologicals at the proper temperature; 
 
007.05(B)  How the licensee of the pharmacy will provide for the disposal of drugs, 
devices, and biologicals if the licensee determines their potency, efficacy, or safety has 
been adversely affected; 
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007.05(C)  How the licensee of the pharmacy will secure the drugs, devices, and 
biologicals from the public; and 
 
007.05(D)  How the licensee of the pharmacy will maintain patient records and inventory 
records.  

 
008.  PHYSICAL PLANT STANDARDS. 
 

008.01  ACCESS BY PHARMACIST. The licensee must provide the pharmacist(s) access to 
all equipment, facilities, and utilities appropriate for the accurate, efficient, and safe provision 
of the clinical services available in that pharmacy. 
 
008.02  CONDITIONS.  The licensee must assure the prescription department, including 
shelving, counters, floor, inventory, fixtures, equipment, and utensils are maintained in a 
clean, orderly, and sanitary manner that supports the scope of pharmacy services provided at 
the site. 
 
008.03  REFERENCE MATERIAL.  The licensee must provide the pharmacist(s) access to all 
reference material necessary for the accurate, efficient, and safe practice of pharmacy or any 
specialty practice of pharmacy in the facility.  These references must be up to date, in either 
printed or electronic form, and available at all times while the pharmacist is practicing for that 
pharmacy 
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TITLE 175  HEALTH CARE FACILITIES AND SERVICES LICENSURE 
 
CHAPTER 8 PHARMACIES 
 
 
8-001  SCOPE AND AUTHORITY:  These regulations govern licensure of Pharmacies.  The 
regulations are authorized by and implement the Health Care Facility Licensure Act, Neb. Rev. 
Stat. §§ 71-401 to 71-459. 
 
8-002  DEFINITIONS   
 
Administer means to directly apply a drug or device by injection, inhalation, ingestion, or other 
means to the body of a patient or research subject. 
 
Administration means the act of: 
 

1. administering; 
2. keeping a record of the activity; and 
3. observing, monitoring, reporting, and otherwise taking appropriate action regarding 

desired effect, side effect, interaction, and contraindication associated with 
administering the drug or device.   

 
Agent means an authorized person who acts on behalf of or at the direction of another person but 
does not include a common or contract carrier, public warehouse keeper, or employee of a carrier 
or warehouse keeper.   
 
Applicant means the individual, government, corporation, partnership, limited liability company or 
other form of business organization who applies for a license. 
 
Biological or biological product means any virus, therapeutic serum, toxin, antitoxin or analogous 
product applicable to the prevention, treatment or cure of disease or injuries of humans. 
 
Board means the Board of Pharmacy. 
 
Caregiver means any person acting as an agent on behalf of a patient or any person aiding and 
assisting a patient. 
 
Central fill means the preparation, other than by compounding, of a drug, device or biological 
pursuant to a medical order where the preparation occurs in a pharmacy other than the pharmacy 
dispensing to the patient or caregiver. 
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Chart order means an order for a drug or device issued by a practitioner for a patient who is in 
the hospital where the chart is stored or for a patient receiving detoxification treatment or 
maintenance treatment pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-412.  Chart order does not include a 
prescription.   
 
Complaint means an expression of a concern or dissatisfaction. 
 
Completed application means the application that contains all the information specified in 175 
NAC 8-003 and includes all required attachments and documentation and the licensure fee. 
 
Compounding means the preparation of components into a drug product. 
 
 (a) As the result of a practitioner’s medical order or initiative occurring in the course of 

practice based upon the relationship between the practitioner, patient, and 
pharmacist; or 

 (b) For the purpose of, or as an incident to, research, teaching, or chemical analysis and 
not for sale or dispensing.  Compounding includes the preparation of drugs or devices 
in anticipation of receiving medical orders based upon routine, regularly observed 
prescribing patterns. 

 
D.E.A. means the Drug Enforcement Administration of the United States Department of Justice. 
 
Department means the Department of Health and Human Services Regulation and Licensure. 
 
Device means an instrument, apparatus, implement, machine, contrivance, implant, in vitro 
reagent, or other similar or related article, including any component, part, or accessory, which is 
prescribed by a practitioner and dispensed by a pharmacist or other person authorized by law to 
do so. 
 
Director means the Director of Regulation and Licensure. 
 
Dispense or dispensing means interpreting, evaluating, and implementing a medical order, 
including preparing and delivering a drug or device to a patient or caregiver in a suitable container 
appropriately labeled for subsequent administration to, or use by, a patient.  Dispensing includes: 
 
 1. Dispensing incident to practice; 
 2. Dispensing pursuant to a delegated dispensing permit; 
 3. Dispensing pursuant to a medical order; and 
 4. Any transfer of a prescription drug or device to a patient or caregiver other than by 

administering.   
 
Distribute means to deliver a drug or device, other than by administering or dispensing. 
 
Drug means substances as defined in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-1,142. 
 
Grievance means a written expression of dissatisfaction, which may or may not be the result of 
an unresolved complaint. 
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Healing arts means a health profession in which a licensed practitioner offers or undertakes to 
diagnose, treat, operate on, or prescribe for any human pain, injury, disease, deformity, or 
physical or mental condition. 
 
Health care practitioner means any individual credentialed under the Uniform Licensing Law or 
other laws of the State of Nebraska. 
 
Labeling means the process of preparing and affixing a label to any drug container or device 
container, exclusive of the labeling by a manufacturer, packer, or distributor of a nonprescription 
drug or commercially packaged legend drug or device.  Any such label must include all information 
required by federal and state law or regulation. 
 
Licensee means the individual, government, corporation, partnership, limited liability company or 
other form of business organization legally responsible for the operation of the facility and to whom 
the Department has issued a license. 
 
Long-term care facility means a nursing facility, skilled nursing facility, intermediate care facility, 
intermediate care facility for persons with mental retardation, or long-term care hospital, but not 
an assisted-living facility.   
 
Medical order means a prescription, or chart order, or an order for pharmaceutical care issued by 
a practitioner.   
 
NAC means Nebraska Administrative Code. 
 
Patient counseling means the verbal communication by a pharmacist, pharmacist intern, or 
practitioner, in a manner reflecting dignity and the right of the patient to a reasonable degree of 
privacy, of information to the patient or caregiver in order to improve therapeutic outcomes by 
maximizing proper use of prescription drugs and devices and also includes the duties set out in 
Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-1,147.35. 
 
Person means an individual, corporation, partnership, limited liability company, association, or 
other legal entity. 
 
Pharmaceutical care means the provision of drug therapy for the purpose of achieving therapeutic 
outcomes that improve a patient’s quality of life.  Such outcomes include: 
 
 1. the cure of disease, 
 2. the elimination or reduction of a patient’s symptomatology, 
 3. the arrest or slowing of a disease process, or 
 4. the prevention of a disease or symptomatology. 
 
Pharmaceutical care includes the process through which the pharmacist works in concert with the 
patient and his/her caregiver, physician, or other professionals in designing, implementing, and 
monitoring a therapeutic plan that will produce specific therapeutic outcomes for the patient. 
 
Pharmacist means any person who is licensed by the State of Nebraska to practice pharmacy.   
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Pharmacist-in-charge means a pharmacist who is designated on a pharmacy license or 
designated by a hospital as being responsible for the practice of pharmacy in the pharmacy for 
which a pharmacy license is issued and who works within the physical confines of the pharmacy 
for a majority of the hours per week that the pharmacy is open for business averaged over a 12-
month period or 30 hours per week, whichever is less. 
 
Pharmacy means a facility where drugs or devices are dispensed. 
 
Pharmacist intern means  
 
 1. A student currently enrolled in an accredited pharmacy program or 
 2. A graduate of an accredited pharmacy program serving his/her internship, the 

internship to expire not later than 15 months after the date of graduation or at the time 
of professional licensure, whichever comes first. 

 
 Such pharmacist intern may compound and dispense drugs or devices and fill prescriptions 

only in the presence of and under the immediate personal supervision of a licensed 
pharmacist.  Such licensed pharmacist must either be: 

 
  a. The person to whom the pharmacy license is issued or a person in the actual 

employ of the pharmacy licensee or 
  b. The delegating pharmacist designated in a delegated dispensing agreement by 

a hospital with a delegated dispensing permit. 
 
Pharmacy technician means an individual at least 18 years of age who is a high school graduate 
or officially recognized by the State Department of Education as possessing the equivalent degree 
of education, who has never been convicted of any drug-related misdemeanor or felony, and who, 
under the written control procedures and guidelines of an employing pharmacy, may perform 
those functions which do not require professional judgment and which are subject to verification 
to assist a pharmacist in the practice of pharmacy. 
 
Practice of Pharmacy means the 
 
 1. Interpretation, evaluation, and implementation of a medical order; 
 2. The dispensing of drugs and devices; 

3. Drug product selection; 
4. The administration of drugs or devices; 
5. Drug utilization review; 
6. Patient counseling; 
7. Provision of pharmaceutical care, and 
8. Responsibility for compounding and labeling of dispensed or repackaged drugs and 

devices, proper and safe storage of drugs and devices, and maintenance of proper 
records. 

 
Practitioner means an advanced practice registered nurse, certified registered nurse anesthetist, 
certified nurse midwife, dentist, optometrist, physician assistant, physician, podiatrist, or 
veterinarian. 
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Premises means a facility, the facility’s grounds and each building or grounds on contiguous 
property used for administering and operating a facility. 
 
Prescription drug or device or legend drug or device means: 
 
 1. A drug or device which is required under federal law, to be labeled with one of the 

following statements prior to being dispensed or delivered: 
 
  a. Caution:  Federal law prohibits dispensing without prescription; or 

b. Caution:  Federal law restricts this drug to use by or on the order of a licensed 
veterinarian; or 

c. Rx Only. 
 
 2. A drug or device which is required by any applicable federal or state law to be 

dispensed pursuant only to a prescription or which is restricted to use by practitioners 
only. 

 
Prescription means an order for a drug or device issued by a practitioner for a specific patient, for 
emergency use, or for use in immunizations.  Prescription does not include a chart order. 
 
Signature means the name, word, or mark of a person written in his/her own hand with the intent 
to authenticate a writing or other form of communication or a digital signature which complies with 
Neb. Rev. Stat. § 86-611 or an electronic signature. 
 
Supervision means the immediate personal guidance and direction by the licensed pharmacist on 
duty in the facility of the performance by a pharmacy technician of authorized activities or functions 
subject to verification by the pharmacist, except that when a pharmacy technician performs 
authorized activities or functions to assist a pharmacist on duty in the facility when the prescribed 
drugs or devices will be administered by a licensed staff member or consultant or by a licensed 
physician assistant to persons who are patients or residents of a facility, the activities or functions 
of the pharmacy technician are only subject to verification by a pharmacist on duty in the facility. 
 
Verification means the confirmation by a supervising pharmacist of the accuracy and 
completeness of the acts, tasks, or functions undertaken by a pharmacy technician to assist the 
pharmacist in the practice of pharmacy. 
 
Written control procedures and guidelines means the document prepared and signed by the 
pharmacist-in-charge and approved by the Board which specifies the manner in which basic levels 
of competency of pharmacy technicians employed by the pharmacy are determined, the manner 
in which supervision is provided, the manner in which the functions of pharmacy technicians are 
verified, the maximum ratio of pharmacy technicians to one pharmacist used in the pharmacy, 
and guidelines governing the use of pharmacy technicians and the functions which they may 
perform. 
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8-003  LICENSING REQUIREMENTS AND PROCEDURES:  Any person, including a practitioner, 
intending to establish, operate, or maintain a pharmacy must first obtain a license from the 
Department.  A pharmacy must not hold itself out as a pharmacy or as providing health care 
services unless licensed under the Health Care Facility Licensure Act.  An applicant for an initial 
or renewal license must demonstrate that the pharmacy meets the operational and physical plant 
standards contained in 175 NAC 8.   
 
 8-003.01  Application Process for Initial Licensure 
  

 8-003.01A  Applicant Responsibilities:  No person may operate a pharmacy until the 
Department has issued either a provisional pharmacy license or a pharmacy license 
for that pharmacy.  An applicant for an initial pharmacy license must: 

 
   1. Intend to provide pharmacy services as stated in the application; 
   2. Comply with the applicable standards specified in 175 NAC 8-006 and 8-

007;  
   3. Submit a signed application verifying that all information in the application 

is correct.  The application must contain the following: 
 
    a. Pharmacy or practitioner name, 
    b. Pharmacy or practitioner street address, 
    c. Pharmacy or practitioner telephone number, 
    d. Name of owner(s), partners, or corporation, 
    e. If a corporation, name of corporate officers, 
    f. Mailing address(es) of owner(s), partners, or corporation, 
    g. Anticipated opening date, 
    h. Anticipated days and hours pharmacy will be open for business, 
    i. Name of pharmacist-in-charge or name of practitioner, 
    j. Nebraska license number of pharmacist-in-charge or Nebraska 

license number of practitioner, 
    k. Expiration date of the license of the pharmacist-in-charge or 

expiration date of practitioner’s license, 
    l. If controlled substances are to be dispensed, the D.E.A. registration 

number or proof that an application is in process,  
    m. A description of how the pharmacy meets the following 

requirements: 
 
     (1) The prescription inventory and prescription records of the 

pharmacy must be maintained in a secure location when 
there is no pharmacist on the premises.   

     (2) The pharmacy must store drugs, devices, and biologicals at 
the proper temperature.   

     (3) The pharmacy must not have in its saleable inventory any 
drug, device, or biological which is misbranded or 
adulterated.   

     (4) The pharmacy must provide the pharmacist access to all 
equipment appropriate for the accurate, efficient, and safe 
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provision of the services available in that pharmacy.  List all 
services intended to be provided by the pharmacy.  

 
      (a) Examples of services which may be provided by a 

pharmacy include, but are not limited to: ambulatory 
dispensing, unit-dose dispensing, sterile compounding, 
non-sterile compounding, and administration of 
vaccinations or injections.  

 
     (5) The pharmacy must provide the pharmacist access to all 

facilities appropriate for the accurate, efficient, and safe 
provision of the services available in that pharmacy.   

     (6) The pharmacy must provide the pharmacist access to all 
utilities appropriate for the accurate, efficient, and safe 
provision of the services available in that pharmacy. 

     (7) The pharmacy must provide the pharmacist access to all 
reference material appropriate for the accurate, efficient, and 
safe provision of the services available in that pharmacy. 
These references must be current, in either printed or 
electronic form, and available at all times while the pharmacist 
is practicing for that pharmacy.  List the references to be used 
in the pharmacy; and 

 
   4. Submit the required fee as specified in 175 NAC 8-004.11. 
 

  8-003.01B  Department Process for Initial Licensure:  The initial license process 
occurs in two stages.  The application is not complete until the Department receives 
the documents specified in 175 NAC 8-003.01A3. 

 
   8-003.01B1  Provisional Pharmacy License:  The first stage consists of the 

Department conducting an opening inspection according to 175 NAC 8-005.01 
to determine the applicant’s ability to comply with the operational and physical 
plant standards contained in 175 NAC 8-006 and 8-007.  The Department will: 

 
1. Review the application for completeness as part of the opening 

inspection in accordance with 175 NAC 8-005.01; 
    2. Provide notification to the applicant of any information needed to 

complete the application;  
    3. Issue a provisional pharmacy license if the Department determines 

that the pharmacy has substantially complied but fails to fully 
comply with the requirements for licensure under the Act and that 
the failure does not pose an imminent danger of death or physical 
harm to the persons served by the pharmacy.  The provisional 
license: 

       
      a. Is valid for up to one year; 
      b. Is not renewable; and 
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      c. May be converted to a regular license upon a showing 
that the pharmacy has fully complied with the 
requirements for licensure; or 

 
    4. Deny the provisional pharmacy license if the Department 

determines that the pharmacy fails to fully comply with the 
requirements for licensure under the Act and that the failure poses 
an imminent danger of death or physical harm to the persons 
served by the pharmacy. 

 
   8-003.01B2  Pharmacy License:  The second stage consists of the 

Department’s initial on-site inspection of the pharmacy in accordance with 175 
NAC 8-005.02.  The Department determines whether or not the applicant for a 
pharmacy license fully meets the standards contained in 175 NAC 8 and the 
Health Care Facility Licensure Act.  The Department will: 

 
1. Conduct an initial on-site inspection in accordance with 175 NAC 8-

005.02 within 60 days after the issuance of the provisional 
pharmacy license; 

2. Provide notification to the applicant of the results of the initial on-
site inspection within 10 days after the completion of the inspection, 
in accordance with 175 NAC 8-005.02; 

3. Issue a pharmacy license based on the results of the initial on-site 
inspection if the Department determines that the pharmacy has fully 
complied with the requirements for licensure under the Act;  

4. Issue a pharmacy license based on the results of the initial on-site 
inspection if the Department determines that the pharmacy has 
substantially complied but fails to fully comply with the requirements 
for licensure under the Act and that the failure does not pose an 
imminent danger of death or physical harm to the persons served 
by the pharmacy; and/or 

    5. Deny the pharmacy license if the Department determines that the 
pharmacy fails to fully comply with the requirements for licensure 
under the Act and that the failure poses an imminent danger of 
death or physical harm to the persons served by the pharmacy. 

 
  8-003.01C  Denial of License:  The Department may deny a pharmacy license when 

an applicant fails to meet the requirements for licensure, including: 
 
   1. Failing an inspection; 
   2. Failing to meet a compliance assessment standard; 
   3. Having had a license revoked within the two-year period preceding 

application; or 
   4. Any of the grounds listed in 175 NAC 8-008.01B. 

 
 8-003.02  Renewal Licenses   
 
  8-003.02A  Department Responsibilities:  The Department will: 
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   1. Send a notice of expiration and an application for renewal to the 

applicant’s preferred mailing address no later than 30 days prior to the 
expiration date.  The license renewal notice specifies: 

 
    a. Date of expiration; 
    b. Fee for renewal; 
    c. License number; and  
    d. Name and address of the pharmacy. 
 
   2. Issue a renewal when it determines that the applicant has submitted a 

completed application;  
 
   3. Send to each licensee that fails to renew its license a second notice, 

which is the final notice and specifies that: 
 
    a. The licensee failed to pay the renewal fee or submit an application 

or both; 
    b. The license has expired; 
    c. The Department will suspend action for 30 days following the date 

of expiration; 
    d. Upon receipt of the renewal fee and completed renewal application, 

the Department will issue the renewal license; and 
    e. That upon failure to receive the renewal fee and completed renewal 

application, the license will be lapsed. 
 
   4. Place the pharmacy license on lapsed status for nonpayment of fees if 

the licensee fails to renew the license.  During this time, the pharmacy 
may not operate.  The license remains in lapsed status until it is 
reinstated.  

 
  8-003.02B  Licensee Responsibilities:   The licensee must submit: 
 
   1. The application for renewal; 
   2. Confirmation as requested by the Department of the pharmacy’s or 

practitioner’s current D.E.A. Registration, if any; 
   3. The name of the pharmacist-in-charge or the practitioner; and 
    4. The required renewal fee as specified in 175 NAC 8-004.11. 
 
  8-003.02C  Refusal to Renew: The Department may refuse renewal of a pharmacy 

license that fails to meet the requirements for renewal, including: 
 

1. Failing an inspection; 
2. Failing to meet a compliance assessment standard; 
3. Having had a license revoked within the two-year period preceding 

application; or 
4. Any of the grounds listed in 175 NAC 8-008.01B. 
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 8-003.03  Reinstatement from Lapsed Status:  A pharmacy requesting reinstatement of its 
lapsed license must submit to the Department an application for reinstatement and pay the 
required license fee specified in 175 NAC 8-004.11.  The application must conform to the 
requirements specified in 175 NAC 8-003.02.   

 
  8-003.03A  The Department will review the application for completeness and will 

decide if an on-site inspection is needed to determine compliance with the operational 
and physical plant standards of 175 NAC 8-006 and 8-007.  The decision is based on 
the following factors: 

 
   1. The length of time that has transpired from the date the license was 

placed on lapsed status to the date of the reinstatement application; and 
   2. Whether the pharmacy has provided pharmacy services from the site 

under a license that is different from the lapsed license. 
 
  8-003.03B  When the Department decides that an on-site reinstatement inspection is 

warranted, it will conduct the inspection in accordance with 175 NAC 8-005.02. 
 
  8-003.03C  When the Department decides that an on-site reinstatement inspection is 

not warranted, it will reinstate the license.  
 
  8-003.03D  Refusal to Reinstate: The Department may refuse reinstatement of a 

pharmacy license that fails to meet the requirements for reinstatement, including: 
 
   1. Failing an on-site inspection; 
   2. Failing to meet a compliance assessment standard; 
   3. Having had a license revoked within the two-year period preceding 

application; or 
   4. Any of the grounds listed in 175 NAC 8-008.01B. 
  
 8-003.04  Permanently Closing a Pharmacy 
 
  8-003.04A  When a pharmacy ceases legal existence, discontinues business or has 

a change of ownership, the pharmacist-in-charge or practitioner of that pharmacy 
must notify the Department within 15 days of closing. 

 
  8-003.04B  The notice must include the following information: 
 
   1. The sale or other disposition of legend drug, device, or biological 

inventory, 
   2. The sale or other disposition of controlled substances and controlled 

substances invoices and inventory records, and 
   3. The location of all patient records including prescription files. 
 
  8-003.04C  The pharmacist-in-charge or practitioner must return the following to the 

Department: 
 
   1. The pharmacy license, 
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   2. The pharmacy’s D.E.A. Registration, if any, 
   3. All unused D.E.A. Forms 222 for the pharmacy, if any, and 
   4. All unused D.E.A. Forms 222a or 222d for the pharmacy, if any. 
 
  8-003.04D  When the closing of a pharmacy is anticipated, the pharmacist-in-charge 

or practitioner is responsible for notifying patients of that pharmacy that they will need 
to seek service elsewhere.  The notification can be accomplished through: 

 
   1. Advertisement in a newspaper appropriate to the location of the 

pharmacy, 
   2. Written notice to patients of the pharmacy, or 
   3. Other such notice as is appropriate. 
 
8-004  GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 
 

8-004.01  License Usage:  The licensee must not provide pharmacy services except those 
set out in their initial application for a pharmacy license or any amendment thereto. 
 
8-004.02  Effective Date and Term of License:  A pharmacy license expires on July 1 of 
each year. 
 
8-004.03  License Not Transferable:  A license is issued only for the premises and persons 
named in the application and is not transferable or assignable.  Change of ownership (sale, 
whether of stock, title, or assets, lease, discontinuance of operations) or change of premises 
terminates the license.  If there is a change of ownership and the pharmacy remains on the 
same premises, the inspection in 175 NAC 8-005 is not required.  The new owner(s) must 
apply for a new pharmacy license.  If there is a change of premises, the owner(s) must apply 
for a new pharmacy license and the pharmacy must pass the inspection specified in 175 
NAC 8-005.   
 
8-004.04  Notification:  An applicant or licensee must notify the Department of any change 
as set forth in 175 NAC 8-004.05 through 8-004.10.  The following information is required 
for all notifications: 
 

  1. Current name and license number of the pharmacy or practitioner; 
  2. Street address of pharmacy or practitioner; 
  3. Name of owner(s), partners, or corporation; 
  4. If a corporation the name of corporate officers; 
  5. Mailing address(es) of owner(s), partners, or corporation; 
  6. Reason for notifying the Department about a change in the existing license; 

7. A signed statement from the applicant or licensee verifying that all information 
is correct; and 

8. The required fee as specified in 175 NAC 8-004.11, if any. 
 

8-004.05  Change of Pharmacist-in-Charge:  The licensee must notify the Department 
immediately when there is a change in the pharmacist-in-charge. 
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8-004.06  Change of Ownership or Premises:  The licensee must notify the Department in 
writing 30 days before a pharmacy is sold, leased, discontinued, or moved to new premises. 
 
 8-004.07  Change of Name of the Pharmacy:  The licensee must notify the Department in 
writing within 5 working days when there is a change in the name of the pharmacy. 
 
8-004.08  Continuation of a Pharmacy by the Heirs or Estate of a Deceased Licensee: The 
heirs or executor of the estate must notify the Department with 30 days of the death of the 
licensee. 
 
8-004.09  Change of Services:  The licensee must notify the Department of any change in 
the type or scope of services provided as listed on the application or amendments thereto. 
 
8-004.10  An Accident, Natural Disaster, or Interruption in Utility Services:  The licensee 
must notify the Department in writing by electronic mail, facsimile, or postal service within 
24 hours of any change in environment which will adversely affect the potency, efficacy, 
safety or security of the drugs, devices or biologicals in the pharmacy.  The notification may 
be made by telephone if the event has affected the licensee’s capacity to communicate.  

 
 8-004.11  Fees:  The licensee must pay fees for licensure as follows: 
 
  8-004.11A  The required fees are: 
 

1. Initial pharmacy license fee is $625. 
2. Annual pharmacy license renewal fee is $625. 
3. Duplicate license fee is $10. 

 
8-004.11B  Refunds for denied applications 
 

1. If the Department did not perform an initial on-site inspection, the license 
fee is refunded except for an administration fee of $25; or 

2. If the Department performed an initial on-site inspection, the fee is not 
refunded. 

 
8-005  INSPECTIONS:  Each pharmacy has the responsibility to be in compliance, and to remain 
in compliance, with the regulations set out in this chapter.  The Department has the responsibility 
to determine that the pharmacies are in compliance at all times.  For the purpose of assuring initial 
and continued compliance, each pharmacy must prepare Pharmacy Quality Assurance Reports 
and the Department will conduct inspections as set out below:   
 
 8-005.01  Opening Inspection:  The Department will conduct an opening inspection by a 

review of the application for a pharmacy license. The answers on this application will be 
reviewed for accuracy, completeness, and correctness by a pharmacy inspector.   Because 
a pharmacy cannot be in full compliance with the operational and physical plant standards 
for a pharmacy as specified in 175 NAC 8-006 and 8-007 prior to the time the pharmacy 
has been in operation, the pharmacy inspector must provide a recommendation to the 
Department as to whether the application indicates substantial compliance with 175 NAC 
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8-003.01A item 3.m. in preparation for its opening, and whether the probability of full 
compliance exists when the pharmacy begins to operate.   

 
  8-005.01A  Department Determination:  The Department will make its determination 

based on the recommendation to issue or deny a pharmacy license. 
 
  8-005.01B  Results of Opening Inspection   
 
   8-005.01B1  When the Department finds that the applicant substantially 

complies with 175 NAC 8-003.01A item 3.m. and that any failure does not pose 
an imminent danger of death or physical harm to the persons served by the 
pharmacy, the Department will issue a provisional pharmacy license.   

 
   8-005.01B2  When the Department finds that the applicant fails to substantially 

comply with 175 NAC 8-003.01A item 3.m., the Department will deny a 
pharmacy license. 

 
 8-005.02  Initial On-site Inspection:  After April 1, 2002, the Department will conduct an 

announced initial on-site inspection within 60 days of the issuance of a provisional 
pharmacy license.  The inspection will determine whether the pharmacy fully complies with 
the requirements for a pharmacy license.  The pharmacist-in-charge must be present for 
the initial on-site inspection.   

 
  8-005.02A  Department Determination:  Such determination will be made when the 

pharmacy inspector: 
 

1. Verifies the operational and physical plant standards as described on the 
application for a pharmacy license are in place; 

2. Verifies whether the written control procedures and guidelines for using 
pharmacy technicians have been submitted to the Department, when the 
pharmacy intends to use pharmacy technicians; 

3. Verifies that an initial controlled substances inventory was taken, if the 
pharmacy intends to dispense controlled substances, and that the 
inventory is on file in the pharmacy on the date the pharmacy first 
engages in the distribution or dispensing of prescription drugs; and 

4. Ensures that the Pharmacy Quality Assurance Report as described in 175 
NAC 8-005.03 is understood by the pharmacist-in-charge and clarifies 
and discusses any areas that warrant attention.   

    
  8-005.02B  Results of Initial On-site Inspection:  The Department will review the 

findings of an initial on-site inspection within 20 working days after the inspection. 
 
   8-005.02B1  When the Department finds that the provisional licensee fully 

complies with the requirements of 175 NAC 8-003.01A item 3.m., 175 NAC 8-
006 and 8-007, the Department will issue a pharmacy license. 

    
  8-005.02B2  When the Department finds that the provisional licensee does not 

fully comply with the requirements of 175 NAC 8-003.01A item 3.m., 175 NAC 
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8-006 and 8-007 but the nature of the violations do not create an imminent 
danger of death or serious physical harm to the patients of the pharmacy and 
no direct or immediate adverse effect to the safety or security of the drugs, 
devices, and biologicals, the Department may send to the pharmacy a letter 
requesting that a statement of compliance be submitted.  The letter will include: 

 
    1. A description of each violation; 
    2. A request that the pharmacy submit a statement of compliance 

within 10 working days; and 
    3. A notice that the Department may take further steps if the statement 

of compliance is not submitted. 
 

  8-005.02B3  The statement of compliance submitted by a pharmacy must 
indicate any steps that have been or will be taken to correct each violation and 
the estimated time to correct each violation.  Based on the statement of 
compliance, the Department will take one of the following actions:   

 
    1. If the pharmacy submits and implements a statement of compliance 

that indicates a good faith effort to correct the violations, the 
Department may: 

   
   a. Allow the pharmacy to continue practice under the provisional 

pharmacy license; or 
   b. Issue a pharmacy license. 

 
    2. If the pharmacy fails to submit and implement a statement of 

compliance that indicates a good faith effort to correct the violations, 
the Department may: 

 
     a. Deny a pharmacy license; and 
     b. Initiate disciplinary action against the provisional pharmacy 

license. 
  
   8-005.02B4  When the Department finds the applicant fails to meet the 

requirements of 175 NAC 8-003.01A item 3.m., 175 NAC 8-006 and 8-007 and 
the failure(s) would create an imminent danger of death or serious physical 
harm, the Department will deny a pharmacy license and revoke the provisional 
pharmacy license. 

 
8-005.03  Pharmacy Quality Assurance Report:  All pharmacies must ensure that the 
pharmacist-in-charge annually submits a completed Pharmacy Quality Assurance Report 
on a form made available by the Department, electronically or upon request, within 30 days 
of the due date of the report, as specified in 175 NAC 8-005.03C. 

 
  8-005.03A  This report must provide information on the following:   
 
   1. Adequate security; 
   2. Proper environmental controls; 
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   3. Appropriate cleanliness and sanitation; 
   4. Reference requirements are met; 
   5. Poison control phone number is posted; 
   6. Required equipment is available; 
   7. A verbal offer to counsel the patient or the patient’s caregiver is being 

made; 
   8. Documentation of refusal of patient counseling exists; 
   9. Only pharmacists or pharmacist interns are providing patient counseling; 
   10. Prospective drug utilization review is being conducted; 
   11. Record keeping requirements have been met; 
   12. Computer back up, if applicable, has been completed; 
   13. Outdated inventory is segregated from stock that is intended to be sold or 

dispensed and is stored in such a manner as to prevent it from being sold 
or dispensed; 

   14. Misbranded or adulterated inventory is segregated from stock that is 
intended to be sold or dispensed and is stored in such a manner as to 
prevent it from being sold or dispensed; 

   15. Unit-dose labels meet requirements, if applicable; 
   16. Controlled substances inventory records are complete and accurate; 
   17. A copy of the biennial inventory and other required inventories was sent 

to the Department, when applicable; 
   18. All D.E.A. Forms 222 are properly completed; 
   19. All controlled substance Schedule II invoices are properly maintained; 
   20. All controlled substance Schedule III-V invoices are properly maintained; 
   21. All controlled substances are properly stored; 
   22. All controlled substance transfers between registrants have been properly 

recorded; 
   23. Date of issuance is recorded on all prescriptions; 
   24. Date of initial filling on all prescriptions; 
   25. All prescriptions bear the name of the patient; 
   26. All controlled substance prescriptions contain the patient’s address; 

  27. All prescriptions contain the name of the prescriber and if written, the 
prescriber’s signature in indelible ink or indelible pencil and contain the 
name of the prescriber either stamped, typed or clearly handwritten; 

   28. All controlled substance prescriptions contain the prescriber’s address, 
   29. All controlled substance prescriptions contain the D.E.A. number of the 

prescriber; 
   30. All prescriptions contain the name, strength and quantity of medication 

dispensed; 
   31. Compliance with refill requirements; 
   32. All prescriptions contain directions for use by the patient or caregiver; 
   33. Partial fillings are properly recorded and dispensed appropriately; 
   34. All dispensed prescriptions for a controlled substance Schedule II are 

signed and dated on the face of the written prescription by the pharmacist 
or pharmacist intern; 

   35. All emergency controlled substance Schedule II authorizations are 
properly recorded; 

   36. Facsimile or electronic transmission requirements are followed; 
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   37. All prescriptions are checked for correct interpretation and filling; 
   38. All prescription containers are properly labeled; 
   39. All inventory labels meet the requirements; 

  40. An original hard copy is on file for all controlled substance Schedule II 
prescriptions, except when otherwise allowed by the Uniform Controlled 
Substances Act; 

   41. Compliance with the Drug Product Selection Act; 
   42. All initial prescription fillings and refills are dated, initialed, and 

documented; 
   43. Proper prescription filing system is used and maintained; 
   44. Proper records for emergency drug boxes are maintained, if applicable, 
   45. Approved written control procedures and guidelines for the use of 

pharmacy technicians are followed; 
   46. Controlled substance Power-of-Attorney forms are complete and 

appropriately filed, if applicable; and 
   47. All information supplied on the application for a pharmacy license 

pursuant to 175 NAC 8-003.01A item 3.m. is complied with. 
 

8-005.03B  This report must be accompanied by a signed statement from the 
pharmacist-in-charge verifying that all information in the Pharmacy Quality Assurance 
Report is accurate, complete, correct, and in compliance with 175 NAC 8-003.01A 
item 3.m., 175 NAC 8-006 and 8-007. 

 
 8-005.03C  The Pharmacy Quality Assurance Report is due one year from the date 

of the initial on-site inspection, and annually thereafter. 
 
  8-005.03D  Department Responsibilities:  The Department will review the Pharmacy 

Quality Assurance Report within 20 working days after the report is submitted to 
determine whether the pharmacy: 

 
   1. Is providing the services and is operating in a manner that is consistent 

with the information provided in the application for a pharmacy license 
and any amendments thereto. 

   2. Is being operated in compliance with the Health Care Facilities Licensure 
Act and these regulations.  

 
8-005.04  Annual Inspection:  After April 1, 2002, all pharmacies are subject to an annual 
inspection to determine whether a pharmacy fully complies with the requirements of 175 
NAC 8-003.01A item 3.m., 175 NAC 8-006 and 8-007.  The inspection may occur by a self-
inspection or by an on-site inspection. 

 
8-005.04A  Self-Inspection:  The Pharmacy Quality Assurance Report will fulfill the 
annual inspection requirement when the Department determines that the report 
indicates that the pharmacy is in full compliance with the Health Care Facilities 
Licensure Act and these regulations.  However, the report will not fulfill the annual 
inspection requirement when: 
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1. The Department has determined, based on the review of the Pharmacy 
Quality Assurance Report, that the pharmacy is not in compliance with 
the Health Care Facilities Licensure Act or these regulations; 

2. The pharmacy failed to be in full compliance with the regulations at the 
time of its last inspection; 

3. The pharmacy failed to submit a Pharmacy Quality Assurance Report; 
4. The pharmacy is randomly selected as part of the 25% of licensed 

pharmacies chosen for inspection; or 
5. Five years have elapsed since the pharmacy was subjected to an on-site 

inspection.   
 
 8-005.04B  On-site Inspection:  When the Department determines, based upon the 

criteria specified in 175 NAC 8-005.04A, that the Pharmacy Quality Assurance Report 
does not fulfill the annual inspection requirement, a pharmacy inspector will conduct 
an on on-site inspection to determine compliance with the Health Care Facilities 
Licensure Act and these regulations.  

 
   8-005.04C  Results of Annual Inspections   
 
   8-005.04C1  When the Department finds that the pharmacy fully complies with 

the requirements of 175 NAC 8-003.01A item 3.m., 175 NAC 8-006 and 8-007, 
the Department will notify the pharmacy of its compliance within 30 days after 
the inspection. 

 
  8-005.04C2  When the Department finds that the licensee does not fully comply 

with the requirements of 175 NAC 8-003.01A item 3.m., 175 NAC 8-006 and 8-
007, but the nature of the violations do not create an imminent danger of death 
or serious physical harm to the clients of the pharmacy and no direct or 
immediate adverse effect to the safety or security of the drugs, devices, and 
biologicals, the Department may send to the pharmacy a letter requesting that 
a statement of compliance be submitted.  The letter will include: 

 
1. A description of each violation; 
2. A request that the pharmacy submit a statement of compliance 

within 10 working days; and 
  3. A notice that the Department may take further steps if the statement 

of compliance is not submitted. 
 

  8-005.04C3  The statement of compliance submitted by a pharmacy must 
indicate any steps that have been or will be taken to correct each violation and 
the estimated time when each correction will be completed.  Based on the 
statement of compliance, the Department will take one of the following actions:   

 
1. If the pharmacy submits and implements a statement of compliance 

that indicates a good faith effort to correct the violations, the 
Department will notify the licensee of the acceptance of the 
statement of compliance; or 
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2. If the pharmacy fails to submit and implement a statement of 
compliance that indicates a good faith effort to correct the violations, 
the Department may initiate disciplinary action against the 
pharmacy license. 

  
   8-005.04C4  When the Department finds that the pharmacy fails to meet the 

requirements of 175 NAC 8-006 and 8-007, and the failure(s) would create an 
imminent danger of death or serious physical harm, the Department will revoke 
the pharmacy license. 

 
 8-005.05  Re-inspections  

 
 8-005.05A  The Department may conduct re-inspections to determine if a pharmacy 

fully complies with the requirements of 175 NAC 8-006 and 8-007.  Re-inspection 
occurs: 

 
1. After the Department has issued a provisional license; 
2. Before a provisional license is converted to a regular license; 
3. Before a disciplinary action is modified or terminated; or 
4. After the Department receives a statement of compliance for cited 

violations. 
 
  8-005.05B  Following a re-inspection, the Department may:  
 

1. Convert a provisional license to a regular license;  
2. Affirm that the provisional license is to remain effective; 
3. Modify a disciplinary action in accordance with 175 NAC 8-008.02; or 
4. Grant full reinstatement of the license. 
 

 8-005.06  Compliance Inspections:  The Department may, following the initial licensure of 
a pharmacy, conduct an unannounced on-site inspection at any time it deems necessary to 
determine compliance with 174 NAC 8-006 and 8-007.  The inspection may occur based on 
random selection or focused selection. 

 
8-005.06A  Random Selection:  Each year the Department may inspect up to 25% of 
the pharmacies based on a random selection of pharmacies. 
 
8-005.06B  Focused Selection:  The Department may inspect a pharmacy when the 
Department is informed of one or more of the following:  
 

1. An accident or natural disaster resulting in damage to the physical plant; 
or interruption of utility services which could result in adverse effects to 
the potency, efficacy, safety or security of the drugs, devices and 
biologicals; 

  2. A complaint alleging violation of the Health Care Facility Licensure Act or 
these regulations; 

  3. A complaint that raises concern about the maintenance, operation, or 
management of the pharmacy; 
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  4. Financial instability of the licensee or of the licensee’s parent company; 
  5. Change of: scope or type of services offered, management or location; 
  6. Failure to submit a Pharmacy Quality Assurance Report within 30 days of 

the due date; 
  7. Submitting incomplete or questionable answers on the Pharmacy Quality 

Assurance Report; 
  8. Any other event that raises concerns about the maintenance, operation, 

or management of the pharmacy. 
 
8-006  STANDARDS FOR THE OPERATION OF A PHARMACY: The pharmacy must operate in 
accordance with the services as specified on the application for a pharmacy license or 
amendments thereto. 
 
 8-006.01  Staffing Requirements:  Each pharmacy must maintain a sufficient number of staff 

with the qualifications, training, and skills necessary to meet patient needs.  The pharmacy 
must ensure that the staff hired meets the following requirements:  

 
  8-006.01A  Pharmacists hired by the pharmacy must have a pharmacist license on 

active status in accordance with 172 NAC 128. 
 
   8-006.01A1  A pharmacy must not coerce or attempt to coerce a pharmacist: 
 
    1. To dispense a prescription drug or device against the professional 

judgment of the pharmacist or as ordered by the prescribing 
practitioner; 

    2. To enter into a delegating dispensing agreement; or 
    3. To supervise any pharmacy technician for any purpose or in any 

manner contrary to the professional judgment of the pharmacist.  
 
  8-006.01B  The pharmacy must have a pharmacist-in-charge and must ensure that 

the pharmacist-in-charge has the qualifications, training, and skills necessary to meet 
the requirements according to these regulations. 

 
  8-006.01C  The pharmacy may employ pharmacist interns who must practice in 

accordance with 172 NAC 128-011. 
 
  8-006.01D  The pharmacy may employ pharmacy technicians.  Prior to the use of 

pharmacy technicians in a pharmacy, a copy of the pharmacy’s written control 
procedures and guidelines must be submitted to the Department and these guidelines 
must be approved by the Board.  The original, approved, written control procedures 
and guidelines and any approved amendments must be retained at the pharmacy.  
The written control procedures and guidelines, for the use of pharmacy technicians 
must contain the following information: 

 
   1. Name, street address, and telephone number of the pharmacy; 
   2. Name and Nebraska license number of the pharmacist-in-charge; 
   3. Means used by the pharmacy to determine that pharmacy technicians are 

at least 18 years of age; 
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   4. Means used by the pharmacy to determine that pharmacy technicians 
have met the educational requirements of a high school diploma or 
G.E.D.;  

   5. Means used by the pharmacy to determine that pharmacy technicians 
have never been convicted of any drug-related misdemeanor or felony; 

   6. Means used by the pharmacy to provide training, on-site in the pharmacy, 
by a pharmacist, within the first month of employment of a pharmacy 
technician, on all components required by law; 

   7. Means used to document training of pharmacy technicians; 
   8. Means used by the pharmacy to confirm that pharmacy technicians have

 achieved a basic level of competency following training; 
   9. Maximum ratio of pharmacy technicians to one pharmacist working in the 

pharmacy at any time; 
   10. Method used by the pharmacy to supervise pharmacy technicians; 
   11. Tasks and functions which pharmacy technicians are allowed to perform 

in the pharmacy; 
   12. Method used by the pharmacy to assure that pharmacy technicians do 

NOT perform any task or function, which requires professional judgment; 
   13. Method of documentation used by the pharmacy to show that all drugs, 

devices, or biologicals dispensed with the assistance of a pharmacy 
technician conform to the order that authorized the drug, device, or 
biological to be dispensed; 

   14. Method of documentation used by the pharmacy to show that all acts, 
tasks and functions performed by pharmacy technicians are verified by a 
pharmacist as being accurate and complete; 

   15. Method used to identify pharmacy technicians while on duty; and 
   16. A notarized, signed statement from the pharmacist-in-charge verifying 

that all information in the application is correct. 
 
 8-006.02  Storage Requirements 
 
  8-006.02A  The pharmacy must provide equipment for the storage of drugs, devices, 

and biologicals at the proper temperature:  
 
   1. Drugs, devices, or biologicals requiring refrigeration must be stored 

between 36 and 46 degrees Fahrenheit. 
   2. Drugs, devices, or biologicals requiring a freezer must be stored between 

-4 and 14 degrees Fahrenheit. 
   3. Drugs, devices, or biologicals requiring storage in a cool place must be 

stored between 46 and 59 degrees Fahrenheit, or under refrigeration, 
between 36 and 46 degrees Fahrenheit, unless otherwise specified. 

   4. Drugs, devices, or biologicals requiring storage at controlled room 
temperature must be stored between 59 and 86 degrees Fahrenheit. 

   5. Other labeled storage instruction for drugs, devices, or biologicals must 
be followed. 

 
  8-006.02B  Drugs, devices, and biologicals stored in a refrigerator must be kept in a 

separate compartment from food.   
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  8-006.02C  The prescription inventory and prescription records of the pharmacy must 

be maintained in a secure location when there is no pharmacist on the premises.  
Loss of prescription inventory or prescription records due to theft or any other cause 
resulting from failure to secure the inventory or records are grounds for disciplinary 
action. 

 
  8-006.02D  The pharmacy must not have in its dispensable inventory any drug, 

device, or biological which is misbranded or adulterated. 
 
 8-006.03  Record Keeping Requirements 
 
  8-006.03A  All pharmacies must maintain the following records: 
 
   1. All pharmacies which use electronic record keeping systems must comply 

with the non-inventory record keeping requirements set out in Title 21 of 
the Code of Federal Regulations, Part 1304 and Part 1306, which are 
attached to these regulations and incorporated by this reference. 

   2. All pharmacies, which use a central record keeping system, must comply 
with all record keeping requirements set out in Title 21 of the Code of 
Federal Regulations, Part 1304, which are attached to these regulations 
and incorporated by this reference. 

   3. All pharmacies, which handle controlled substances, must keep complete 
and accurate records of receipt and disposition of all controlled 
substances accepted into inventory. 

   4. All pharmacies must keep accurate and complete records of dispensed 
drugs, devices, and biologicals returned to the dispensing pharmacy for 
immediate destruction by a pharmacist. 

   5. Both pharmacies involved in central filling must keep complete and 
accurate records of the receipt and disposition of drugs, devices, or 
biologicals, including but not limited to: 

 
    a. Name of the pharmacist filling or refilling the prescription; 
    b. Name of the pharmacy filling or refilling the prescription; and 
    c. Name of the pharmacy that dispensed the prescription. 
 
   6. Any record, which contains privileged and confidential patient information, 

must be stored, secured, and disposed of in a manner that ensures 
confidentiality. 

   7. A copy of the documents used to determine the qualifications of a 
pharmacy technician as required in 175 NAC 8-006.01D items 3-5.   

 
   8-006.03A1  Prescription Files 
 
    1. Original hard copies of all dispensed prescriptions must be filed, in 

numeric order, in a three-file system as follows: 
 
     a One file for controlled substance prescriptions in Schedule II; 
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     b. One file for controlled substance prescriptions in Schedules 
III, IV, and V; and 

     c. One file for all other dispensed prescriptions. 
 
    2. Original hard copies of all dispensed prescriptions must include the 

following information: 
 
     a.  All information required for prescriptions as set forth in 175 

NAC 8-006.04B; 
     b. Prescription serial number; 
     c. Date of initial filling; 
     d. Quantity dispensed; 
     e. If an emergency verbal Schedule II controlled substance 

prescription, “authorization for emergency dispensing” must 
appear on the face of the prescription; and 

     f. If a Schedule II controlled substance prescription, the 
pharmacist or practitioner filling the prescription must write 
the date of filling and his/her own signature on the face of the 
prescription. 

 
    3. Original hard copies of all prescriptions dispensed must be 

maintained by the pharmacy for five years from the date of 
dispensing. 

 
 8-006.04  Dispensing Requirements 
 

 8-006.04A  An automatic or vending machine, as found in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-
1,147.15, is a mechanical device or process which does not have a pharmacist 
verifying the final product prior to presentation to the patient or caregiver.  These 
regulations do not prohibit the use of mechanized counting machines, robotics, or 
other mechanical devices in the process of filling prescriptions.  These regulations 
prohibit the use of these machines when there is no verification by a pharmacist. 

 
   8-006.04A1  When a pharmacy utilizes an automatic counting machine to assist 

a pharmacist in dispensing drugs documentation as to type of equipment, serial 
numbers, and policies and procedures for system operation must be maintained 
on-site in the Pharmacy for review by the Board of Pharmacy.  Systematic 
documentation must be established to assure: 

 
    1. All controlled substances dispensed using this system are                                                        

accounted for; 
    2. Drugs are maintained in a clean and sanitary environment and 

stored in accordance with current USP standards and in 
accordance with manufacturer labeling; 

    3. Drug dispensed are tracked by lot number and expiration date; and 
    4. Cassettes used in the counting machine, if any, are labeled with the 

following: 
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      a. Name of drug; 
     b. Strength of the drug, if applicable; 
     c. Dosage form of the drug; and 
     d. The lesser of manufacturer’s expiration date or expiration 

date of one year from transfer of drug to cassette 
 
   8-006.04A2  Pharmacies must maintain records with complete and accurate 

information of the following: 
 

    1. Date of transfer of the drug from the original container to the 
cassette; 

    2. Drug name, strength, dosage form, and quantity; 
    3. Manufacturer, distributor, or packager name; 
    4. Manufacturer, distributor, or packager lot number; 
    5. Manufacturer, distributor, or packager expiration date; and 
    6. Name and signature of person performing the transfer. 
 
     a. If the person loading the cassette is not a pharmacist, the   

responsible pharmacist must co-sign the records, verifying all 
drug transfer information is complete and accurate; and 

     b. If the drug being transferred is a controlled substance, two 
signatures must appear in the records verifying the transfer. 

 
    7. Verification that the central delivery chute and drug cassettes are 

kept in a clean manner according to manufacturer’s 
recommendations and the method and substances used to clean 
these items; and 

    8. Quarterly documentation, which verifies actual count, by a 
pharmacist, against the machine for controlled substances 
dispensed from the cassettes in the quantity most commonly 
dispensed. 

 
   8-006.04A3  The expiration date for drugs transferred to cassettes must be the 

expiration date as determined by the manufacturer/distributor or a maximum of 
one year from the date of transfer, whichever is shorter.  In the event that a 
cassette holds products containing drugs reflecting different lot numbers and 
expiration dates, the shortest expiration date will apply. 

 
   8-006.04A4  In the event of a FDA or State ordered Class I or Class II recall, all 

affected drugs must be recalled and removed from commerce.  In the event that 
a cassette holds products from multiple lot numbers, all dosage units remaining 
in the container must be removed from commerce. 

 
   8-006.04A5  When specially calibrated cassettes are used, any changes 

occurring in the drug strength, or the drug manufacturer, distributor, or packager 
will require the acquisition of a new calibrated cassette or die from the 
manufacturer or distributor of the automatic counting machine. 
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   8-006.04A6  Schedule II controlled substances cannot be transferred into or 
dispensed from automatic counting machines. 

 
  8-006.04B  A prescription must contain the following information prior to being filled 

at a pharmacy: 
 
   1. Patient’s name or if the patient is non-human, the name of the owner and 

species of the animal; 
   2. Name of the drug, device, or biological; 
   3. Strength of the drug or biological, if applicable; 
   4. Dosage form of the drug or biological, if applicable; 
   5. Quantity of drug, device, or biological prescribed; 
   6. Directions for use; 
   7. Date of issuance; 
   8. Prescriber’s name and the name of the supervising or collaborating 

physician, when applicable; 
   9. Number of authorized refills; and 
 
    a. When the refill designation on the prescription is prn or Pro re nata, 

such designation, unless otherwise limited, means: 
 
     (1) If a prescription for a controlled substance in Schedules III-V, 

refill five times in the six months from the date of issuance, or 
     (2) If a prescription for a non-controlled drug, device or biological, 

refill for 12 months from the date of issuance. 
     (3) Controlled Substances in Schedule II cannot be refilled and a 

refill designation on a prescription for a controlled substance 
in Schedule II has no meaning. 

 
   10. If the prescription is for a controlled substance, the following additional 

information is required to be on the prescription: 
 
    a. Patient’s address, 
    b. Prescriber’s address, and 
    c. Prescriber’s D.E.A. registration number. 
   
  8-006.04C  Unit-Dose is a Packaging System  
 
   1. That contains individual sealed doses of a drug;  
   2. That may or may not attach the sealed doses to each other by placement 

in a card or other container;  
   3. Where the container may not contain doses for a period of greater than 

14 days; and 
   4. That is non-reusable. 
 
  8-006.04D  Unit-Dose Containers:  Unit-dose containers returned to the dispensing 

pharmacy, from a long term care facility, for credit, must have a lot number and 
expiration date/calculated expiration date.   
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   1. The calculated expiration date is used when the drug has been 

repackaged by the pharmacist into a unit-dose packaging system and is 
25% of the remaining time between the date of repackaging and the 
manufacturer’s or distributor’s expiration date or six months from the date 
of packaging, whichever is less.  

   2. Lot number is the lot number assigned by the manufacturer, distributor, 
or packager. 

 
  8-006.04E  In order for a pharmacy to accept the return of tablets or capsules from a 

long term care facility, these tablets and capsules must be packaged in a unit-dose 
container meeting the following requirements: 

 
   1. Unit-dose containers must meet the Class A or Class B guidelines for 

single-unit containers and unit-dose containers for capsules and tablets 
as set forth by the United States Pharmacopoeia. 

 
   2. Manufacturers, distributors or pharmacists wishing to use a unit-dose 

packaging system must present certified, scientific data demonstrating 
compliance with the Class A or Class B guidelines for moisture 
permeability as required by the United States Pharmacopoeia.  

 
   3. A new certificate of moisture impermeability is required when changes are 

made in the product.  These changes may include, but are not limited to 
changes in:  

 
    a. Adhesives;  
    b. Plastics; or  
    c. Cardboard formulation. 
 
   4. Only containers, which meet the following tamper-evident requirements 

and are approved by the Board, are considered to be returnable unit-dose 
containers: 

 
    a. The package has an indicator or barrier to entry which, if breached 

or missing, can reasonably be expected to provide visible evidence 
to the health care practitioner that tampering has occurred. 

    b. To reduce the likelihood of substitution of a tamper-evident feature 
after tampering, the indicator or barrier to entry is required to be 
distinctive by design or by the use of an identifying characteristic. 
“Distinctive by design” means that the packaging cannot be 
duplicated or replaced with readily available materials or through 
commonly available processes. 

    c. A tamper-evident package may involve an immediate-container and 
closure system or a secondary-container or carton system or any 
combination of systems intended to provide a visual indication of 
package integrity. 
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    d. The tamper-evident feature must be designed to be and must 
remain intact when handled in a reasonable manner during 
dispensing to and storage at a long-term care facility. 

    e. The tamper-evident feature is destroyed or rendered useless after 
the container is opened. 

 
   5. The return to the pharmacy of controlled substances, halved tablets, other 

broken dosage forms, and extemporaneously compounded tablets and 
capsules is prohibited. 

 
  8-006.04F  Prescription Label:  The pharmacy must provide equipment that allows for 

a legible prescription label to be affixed to the container prior to dispensing a drug, 
device or biological.  The prescription label must contain the following information: 

 
   1. Name, address, and telephone number of the dispensing pharmacy and 

the central filling pharmacy, if central fill is used;  
   2. Serial number of the prescription; 
   3. Name of the drug, device, or biological, unless instructed to omit by the 

prescriber; 
   4. Strength of the drug or biological, if applicable; 
   5. Directions for use; 
   6. Quantity of drug, device, or biological in the container; except for unit-

dose containers; 
   7. Any cautionary statements contained in the prescription; 
   8. Name of the patient or if the patient is non-human, the name of the owner 

and species of the animal; 
   9. Name of the prescriber, 
 
    a. If prescribed by a physician assistant, both the name of the 

physician assistant and the name of the supervising physician must 
appear on the label. (Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-1,107.30); 

 
   10. Dosage form of the drug or biological if applicable; and 
   11. Date of filling. 
 
  8-006.04G  Prescription Labels for Multi-Drug Containers:  The pharmacy may allow 

for the dispensing of more than one drug, device or biological in the same container 
only when: 

 
   1. Such container is prepackaged by the manufacturer, packager, or 

distributor and shipped directly to the pharmacy in this manner; or 
   2. Each drug or biological product is individually wrapped or hermetically 

sealed by either the pharmacist, dispensing medical practitioner, 
manufacturer, packager, or distributor; or 

   3. The container does not accommodate greater than a 31-day supply of 
compatible dosage units and is labeled so as to identify each drug or 
biological in the container in addition to all information required in 175 
NAC 8-006.04F.   
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  8-006.04H  Patient Counseling:  The pharmacy must provide the necessary resources 

for patient counseling to occur, including but not limited to, sufficient time and space.  
The pharmacy must only allow a pharmacist or a pharmacist intern to provide patient 
counseling, except as provided in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-1,147.35. 

 
   8-006.04H1  A verbal offer to counsel must be provided to the: 
 
    1. Patient, or 
    2. Patient’s caregiver. 
 
   8-006.04H2  Patient counseling must occur, unless one of the following is 

documented: 
 
    1. Drug, device, or biological is being administered by a health care 

professional credentialed by the Department to a resident of a 
hospital or a long term care facility; 

    2. Patient or caregiver refuses to be counseled; 
    3. Pharmacist, in his/her professional judgment, determines that 

counseling could harm or injure the patient; or 
    4. Prescriber designates “contact before counseling” or words of 

similar import on the prescription.  In this instance, the pharmacist 
must contact the prescriber prior to counseling and may use his/her 
professional judgment regarding counseling following consultation 
with the prescriber. 

 

  8-006.04I  Drug Product Selection:  The employer or such employer’s agent may not 
restrict a pharmacist from choosing to dispense, without the duly licensed prescriber’s 
express authorization, a chemically equivalent and bioequivalent drug product in 
place of the drug product ordered or prescribed. 

 
 8-006.05  Controlled Substance Requirements:  A pharmacy that dispenses controlled 

substances must meet the following storage and inventory requirements. 
 
  8-006.05A  Controlled Substance Storage 
 
   8-006.05A1  The pharmacy must store Schedule II, III, IV, and V controlled 

substances: 
 
    1. In a locked cabinet; or 
    2. Distributed throughout the inventory of non-controlled substances 

in a manner, which will obstruct theft or diversion of the controlled 
substances.   

 
   8-006.05A2  The pharmacy must store all Schedule I controlled substances in 

a locked cabinet. 
 
  8-006.05B  Controlled Substance Record Keeping 
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   8-006.05B1  Each pharmacy registered with the D.E.A. to handle controlled 

substances must complete an initial inventory on the date that s/he first engages 
in controlled substances activities.  The information to be included on this 
inventory includes: 

 
    1. Name, address, and D.E.A. registration number of the registrant; 
    2. Date and time the inventory was taken, or last prescription number 

filled prior to taking the inventory to use as a reference point; 
    3. Whether the inventory was conducted at the opening or closing of 

business, when applicable; and 
    4. Signature of the person or persons responsible for taking the 

inventory. 
 
   The original copy of the initial inventory must be maintained in the pharmacy, 

for five years. 
 
  8-006.05C  Controlled Substance Inventory  
 
   8-006.05C1  Each pharmacy registered with the D.E.A. to handle controlled 

substances must complete a biennial inventory in odd numbered years within 
24 months of the previous biennial inventory date.  The information to be 
included on this inventory includes: 

 
    1. Name, address, and D.E.A. registration number of the registrant; 
    2. Date and time or last prescription number filled prior to the inventory 

being taken, for a reference point;  
    3. Whether the inventory was conducted at the opening or closing of 

business, when applicable; and 
    4. Signature of the person or persons responsible for taking the 

inventory. 
  
   The original copy of the biennial inventory must be maintained in the pharmacy 

for five years. 
 
   8-006.05C2  Each pharmacy registered with the D.E.A. to handle controlled 

substances must complete a controlled substances inventory whenever there 
is a change in the pharmacist-in-charge.  Such inventory must contain all 
information required in the biennial inventory and the original copy of this 
inventory must be maintained in the pharmacy for five years. 

 
   8-006.05C3  Each inventory of controlled substances must contain a complete 

and accurate record of all controlled substances on hand on the date the 
inventory is taken. 

 
   8-006.05C4  A copy of the initial controlled substances inventory, biennial 

controlled substances inventory, or a controlled substances inventory taken 
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pursuant to a change in the pharmacist-in-charge must be forwarded to the 
Department, within 30 days after completion.  

 
   8-006.05C5  When taking an inventory of controlled substances: 
 
    1.  An exact count or measurement of all controlled substances listed 

in Schedule I or II must be made; 
    2. An estimated count or measurement of all controlled substances 

listed in Schedules III, IV, or V may be made if the container holds 
1,000 or fewer tablets or capsules; 

    3. An exact count of all controlled substances listed in Schedules III, 
IV, or V must be made if the container holds greater than 1,000 
tablets or capsules; 

    4. All controlled substances, which are damaged, defective, or impure, 
must be included in the inventory; 

    5. All controlled substances awaiting return or destruction must be 
included in the inventory; 

    6. All controlled substances used in compounding must be included in 
the inventory; 

    7. Schedule II controlled substances must be listed separately from 
controlled substances in Schedules III, IV, and V; and 

    8. The inventory must include the name and strength of each 
controlled substance, the finished form of the substance, and the 
number of units or volume of each controlled substance. 

    9. If a drug or device, that has not been previously controlled is placed 
into one of the controlled substance schedules, the drug or device 
must be inventoried as of the effective date of scheduling and this 
inventory should be stored with the biennial inventory records. 

    10. If a drug or device changes schedules or is de-scheduled, the drug 
or device must be inventoried as of the effective date of the change 
and this inventory should be stored with the biennial inventory 
records. 

 
   8-006.05C6  The owner of any stock of controlled substances listed in Neb. 

Rev. Stat. § 28-405, when the need for these substances ceases, may: 
 
    1. When the owner is a registrant: 
 
     a. Transfer controlled substances listed in Schedule I or II to 

another registrant, but only on a D.E.A. Form-222 as required 
by Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-413; 

     b. Transfer controlled substances listed in Schedule III, IV, or V 
to another registrant, but only in accordance with subsection 
(4) of Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-411; 

     c. Maintain the controlled substances separate from inventory 
for destruction by a pharmacy inspector, by a reverse 
distributor, or by the federal D.E.A. to be documented on a 
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D.E.A. Form-41 or on an equivalent form supplied by the 
Department; and 

     d. Comply with the requirements for disposal of controlled 
substances set out in Title 21 of the Code of Federal 
Regulations, Part 1307.21 and Part 1307.22, which are 
attached to these regulations and incorporated by this 
reference. 

 
    2. When the owner is a patient: 
 
     a. Present the controlled substance to a pharmacy for 

immediate destruction by two responsible parties acting on 
behalf of the patient, one of whom must be licensed to 
practice an healing art; 

 b. Who is a resident of a long term care facility or hospital, the 
long term care facility or hospital must assure that these 
controlled substances are destroyed as follows: 

 
 (1) If the controlled substance is listed in Schedule II or III 

of Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-405, the destruction must be 
witnessed by an employee pharmacist or a consultant 
pharmacist and a member of the healing arts; or 

      (2) If the controlled substance is listed in Schedule IV or V 
of Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-405, the destruction must be 
witnessed by an employee pharmacist or a consultant 
pharmacist and another responsible adult.   

 
    3. Complete records of controlled substances destruction must be 

maintained by the pharmacy, hospital, or long term care facility for 
five years from the date of destruction.   

 
  8-006.05D  Controlled Substance Dispensing Requirement for Emergency Situations:  

For the purpose of authorizing an emergency prescription of a controlled substance 
listed in Schedule II of Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-405, the term emergency situation means 
those situations in which the prescriber determines: 

 
   1. That immediate administration of the controlled substance is necessary, 

for proper treatment of the intended ultimate user; and 
   2. That no appropriate alternative treatment is available, including 

administration of a drug which is not a controlled substance listed in 
Schedule II, and 

   3. That it is not reasonably possible for the prescriber to provide a signed, 
written prescription to be presented to the person dispensing the 
substance, prior to dispensing. 

 
 8-006.06  Radiopharmaceutical Requirements 
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  8-006.06A  In addition to the preceding requirements, any pharmacy providing 
radiopharmaceutical services must comply with the regulations set forth in Neb. Rev. 
Stat. §§ 71-3515.01 to 71-3515.02 and the regulations promulgated thereunder. 

 
8-006.07  Disaster Preparedness and Management:  The pharmacy must establish and 
implement disaster preparedness plans and procedures to protect the potency, efficacy, 
safety, and security of the drugs, devices, or biologicals in the pharmacy in instances of 
natural (tornado, flood, etc.) or other disasters, disease outbreaks, interruption of utility 
services, or other similar situations.  Such plans and procedures must address and 
delineate: 
 

1. How the pharmacy will provide for the storage of drugs, devices, and biologicals 
at the proper temperature; 

2. How the pharmacy will provide for the disposal of drugs, devices, and 
biologicals if the pharmacy determines their potency, efficacy, or safety has 
been adversely affected; 

3. How the pharmacy will secure the drugs, devices, and biologicals from the 
public; and 

4. How the pharmacy will maintain patient records and inventory records. 
 
8-007  PHYSICAL PLANT STANDARDS 

 
 8-007.01  The pharmacy must provide the pharmacist access to all equipment, facilities, 

and utilities appropriate for the accurate, efficient, and safe provision of the services 
available in that pharmacy. 

 
 8-007.02  The pharmacy must maintain the prescription department, including shelving, 

counters, floor, inventory, fixtures, equipment, and utensils in a clean, orderly, and sanitary 
manner. 

 
 8-007.03  The pharmacy must provide the pharmacist access to all reference material 

appropriate for the accurate, efficient, and safe practice of pharmacy or any specialty 
practice of pharmacy in the facility.  These references must be up to date, in either printed 
or electronic form, and available at all times while the pharmacist is practicing for that 
pharmacy. 

 
8-008  DENIAL, REFUSAL TO RENEW, OR DISCIPLINARY ACTION 
 
 8-008.01  Grounds for Denial, Refusal to Renew or Disciplinary Action 
 
  8-008.01A  The Department may deny or refuse to renew a pharmacy license for 

failure to meet the requirements for licensure, including: 
 
   1. Failing an inspection specified in 175 NAC 8-005; 
   2. Failing to meet a compliance assessment standard adopted under Neb. 

Rev. Stat. § 71-442 as specified in 175 NAC 8-005.04A; 
   3. Having had a license revoked within the two-year period preceding an 

application; or 
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   4. Any of the grounds specified in 175 NAC 8-008.01B. 
 
  8-008.01B  The Department may take disciplinary action against a provisional 

pharmacy license or a pharmacy license for any of the following grounds: 
 
   1. Violation of any of the provisions of the Health Care Facility Licensure 

Act, or these regulations;  
   2. Committing or permitting, aiding, or abetting the commission of any 

unlawful act; 
   3. Conduct or practices detrimental to the health or safety of a pharmacy 

patient or employee;  
   4. A report from an accreditation body or public agency sanctioning, 

modifying, terminating, or withdrawing the accreditation or certification of 
the health care facility or health care service; 

   5. Failure to allow an agent or employee of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, the Department of Health and Human Services Finance 
and Support, or the Department of Health and Human Services 
Regulation and Licensure access to the pharmacy for the purposes of 
inspection, investigation, or other information collection activities 
necessary to carry out the duties of these departments; 

   6. Discrimination or retaliation against a pharmacy patient or employee who 
has submitted a complaint or information to the Department of Health and 
Human Services, the Department of Health and Human Services Finance 
and Support, or the Department of Health and Human Services 
Regulation and Licensure;  

   7. Discrimination or retaliation against a pharmacy patient or employee who 
has presented a grievance or information to the office of the state long-
term care ombudsman; 

8. Failure to allow a state long-term care ombudsman or an ombudsman 
advocate access to the hospital for the purposes of investigation 
necessary to carry out the duties of the office of the state long-term care 
ombudsman as specified in 15 NAC 3; 

9. Violation of the Emergency Box Drug Act; 
10. Failure to file a report of payment or action taken due to a liability claim 

or an alleged violation, as required by Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-168.02; 
11. Violation of the Medication Aide Act; 
12. Failure to file a report of suspected abuse or neglect as required by Neb. 

Rev. Stat. §§ 28-372 and 28-711; or 
13. Failure to account for significant, substantial shortages or overages of 

controlled substances. 
 
 8-008.02  Procedures for Denial, Refusal to Renew, or Disciplinary Action 
 
  8-008.02A  If the Department determines to deny, refuse renewal of, or take 

disciplinary action against a license, the Department will send a notice to the applicant 
or licensee, by certified mail to the last address shown on its records.  The notice will 
state the determination, including a specific description of the nature of the violation 
and the statute or regulation violated, and the type of disciplinary action  pending. 
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  8-008.02B  The denial, refusal to renew, or disciplinary action will become final 15 

days after the mailing of the notice unless the applicant or licensee, within the 15-day 
period, makes a written request to the Director for an informal conference or an 
administrative hearing. 

 
  8-008.02C  Informal Conference  
 
   1. At the request of the applicant or licensee, the Department will hold an 

informal conference within 30 days of the receipt of the request.  The 
conference will be held in person or by other means, at the request of the 
applicant or licensee.  If the pending action is based on an inspection, the 
Department’s representative at the conference will not be the individual 
who did the inspection. 

   2. Within 20 working days of the conference, the Department representative 
will state in writing the specific reasons for affirming, modifying, or 
dismissing the notice.  The representative will send a copy of the 
statement to the applicant or licensee by certified mail to the last address 
shown in the Department’s records and a copy to the Director.  

   3. If the applicant or licensee successfully demonstrates at the informal 
conference that the deficiencies should not have been cited in the notice, 
the Department will remove the deficiencies from the notice and rescind 
any sanction imposed solely as a result of those cited deficiencies. 

   4. If the applicant or licensee contests the affirmed or modified notice, the 
applicant or licensee must submit a request for hearing in writing within 
five working days after receipt of the statement.   

 
  8-008.02D  Administrative Hearing 
 
   1. When an applicant or a licensee contests the notice and request a 

hearing, the Department will hold a hearing in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act (APA) and the Department’s rules and 
regulations adopted and promulgated under the APA.  Either party may 
subpoena witnesses, who must be allowed fees at the rate prescribed by 
Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 33-139 and 33-139.01.  

   2. On the basis of evidence presented at the hearing, the Director will affirm, 
modify, or set aside the determination.  The Director’s decision will: 

 
    a. Be in writing;  
    b. Be sent by registered or certified mail to the applicant or licensee; 

and 
    c. Become final 30 days after mailing unless the applicant or licensee, 

within the 30-day period, appeals the decision. 
 
   3. An applicant or a licensee’s appeal of the Director’s decision will be in 

accordance with the APA.  
 
 8-008.03  Types of Disciplinary Action 
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  8-008.03A  The Department may impose any one or a combination of the following 

types of disciplinary action against the license of a pharmacy: 
 
   1. A fine not to exceed $10,000 per violation; 
   2. A prohibition on admissions or re-admissions, a limitation on enrollment, 

or a prohibition or limitation on the provision of care or treatment; 
   3. A period of probation not to exceed two years during which the facility or 

service may continue to operate under terms and conditions fixed by the 
order of probation; 

   4. A period of suspension not to exceed three years during which the facility 
or service may not operate; and 

   5. Revocation which is a permanent termination of the license.  The licensee 
may not apply for a license for a minimum of two years after the effective 
date of the revocation. 

 
  8-008.03B  In determining the type of disciplinary action to impose, the Department 

will consider: 
 
   1. The gravity of the violation, including the probability that death or serious 

physical or mental harm will result; 
   2. The severity of the actual or potential harm; 
   3. The extent to which the provisions of applicable statutes, rules, and 

regulations were violated; 
   4. The reasonableness of the diligence exercised by the pharmacy in 

identifying or correcting the violation; 
   5. Any previous violations committed by the pharmacy; and  
   6. The financial benefit to the facility of committing or continuing the 

violation. 
 
  8-008.03C  If the licensee fails to correct a violation or to comply with a particular type 

of disciplinary action, the Department may take additional disciplinary action as 
described in 175 NAC 8-008.03A. 

 
  8-008.03D  Temporary Suspension or Temporary Limitation:  If the Department 

determines that patients of the pharmacy are in imminent danger of death or serious 
physical harm, the Director may: 

 
   1. Temporarily suspend or temporarily limit the pharmacy license, effective 

when the order is served upon the pharmacy.  If the licensee is not 
involved in the daily operation of the pharmacy, the Department will mail 
a copy of the order to the licensee, or if the licensee is a corporation, to 
the corporation’s registered agent; or 

   2. Order the temporary closure of the pharmacy pending further action by 
the Department. 
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  The Department will simultaneously institute proceedings for revocation, suspension, 
or limitation of the license, and will conduct an administrative hearing no later than 
ten days after the date of the temporary suspension or temporary limitation. 

 
1. The Department will conduct the hearing in accordance with the 

Administrative Procedure Act (APA) and the Department’s rules and 
regulations adopted and promulgated under the APA.  Either party may 
subpoena witnesses, who must be allowed fees at the rate prescribed by 
Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 33-139 and 33-139.01.   

 
   2. If a written request for continuance of the hearing is made by the licensee, 

the Department will grant a continuance, which may not exceed 30 days. 
 
   3. On the basis of evidence presented at the hearing, the Director will: 
 
    a. Order the revocation, suspension, or limitation of the license; or 
    b. Set aside the temporary suspension or temporary limitation. 
 
    If the Director does not reach a decision within 90 days of the date of the 

temporary suspension or temporary limitation, the temporary suspension 
or temporary limitation will expire. 

 
   4. Any appeal of the Department’s decision after hearing must be in 

accordance with the APA. 
 
 8-008.04  Reinstatement from Disciplinary Probation, Suspension, and Re-licensure 

Following Revocation   
 
  8-008.04A  Reinstatement at the End of Probation or Suspension   
 
   8-008.04A1  Reinstatement at the End of Probation: A license may be reinstated 

at the end of probation after the successful completion of an inspection, if the 
Department determines an inspection is warranted.   

 
   8-008.04A2  Reinstatement at the End of Suspension: A license may be 

reinstated at the end of suspension following:   
 
   1. Submission of an application to the Department for renewal that conforms 

to the requirements of 175 NAC 8-003.02; 
   2. Payment of the renewal fee as specified in 175 NAC 8-004.11; and 
   3. Successful completion of an inspection. 
 
  The Department will reinstate the license when it finds, based on an inspection as 

provided for in 175 NAC 8-005, that the pharmacy is in compliance with the 
operational and physical plant standards of 175 NAC 8-006 and 8-007. 

 
  8-008.04B  Reinstatement Prior to Completion of Probation or Suspension   
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   8-008.04B1  Reinstatement Prior to the Completion of Probation: A licensee 
may request reinstatement prior to the completion of probation and must meet 
the following conditions:   

 
    1. Submit a petition to the Department stating: 
      
     a. The reasons why the license should be reinstated prior to the 

probation completion date; and 
 b. The corrective action taken to prevent recurrence of the 

violation(s)  that served as the basis of the probation; and 
 

    2. Successfully complete any inspection that the Department 
determines necessary.   

 
   8-008.04B2  Reinstatement Prior to Completion of Suspension: A licensee may 

request reinstatement prior to the completion of suspension and must meet the 
following conditions:   

 
1. Submit a petition to the Department stating: 

     a. The reasons why the license should be reinstated prior to the 
suspension completion date; and 

b. The corrective action taken to prevent recurrence of the 
violation(s) that served as the basis of the suspension; 

 
2. Submit a written renewal application to the Department as specified 

in 175 NAC 8-003.02;   
3. Pay the renewal fee as specified in 175 NAC 8-004.11; and 
4. Successfully complete an inspection.   

 
   8-008.04B3  The Director will consider the petition submitted and the results of 

any inspection or investigation conducted by the Department and: 
 
    a. Grant full reinstatement of the license; 
    b. Modify the probation or suspension; or 
    c. Deny the petition for reinstatement. 
 

   8-008.04B4  The Director’s decision is final 30 days after mailing the decision 
to the licensee unless the licensee requests a hearing within the 30-day period.  
The requested hearing  will be held according to rules and regulations of the 
Department for administrative hearings in contested cases. 

 
  8-008.04C  Re-Licensure after Revocation:  A pharmacy license that has been 

revoked is not eligible for re-licensure until two years after the date of revocation. 
 

   8-008.04C1  A pharmacy seeking re-licensure must apply for an initial pharmacy 
license and meet the requirements for licensure in 175 NAC 8-003.01. 
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   8-008.04C2  The Department will process the application for re-licensure in the 
same manner as specified in 175 NAC 8-003.01. 

 
 

Approved by the Attorney General:  April 18, 2007 
Approved by the Governor:   April 24, 2007 
Filed by the Secretary of State:  April 24, 2007 
Effective Date:      April 29, 2007 
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