NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

August 28, 2018 10:00 a.m. Central Time Nebraska State Office Building – Lower Level A 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, Nebraska

The purpose of this hearing is to receive additional comments on proposed changes to Title 172 Chapter 128 – *Practice of Pharmacy* and to Title 175 Chapter 8 – *Pharmacies* of the Nebraska Administrative Code (NAC). Revisions of these existing regulations include updates based on the passage of LB 37 (2015) which made changes to the Pharmacy Practice Act, and previous updates to the Uniform Credentialing Act. The revisions also reflect simplification in format for licensure regulations including eliminating duplicate language that is found in existing stature(s) or licensure application forms.

Authority for these regulations is found in <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> § 81-3117(7).

Interested persons may attend the hearing and provide verbal or written comments or mail, fax or email written comments, no later than the day of the hearing to: DHHS Legal Services, PO Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, (402) 742-2382 or dhhs.regulations@nebraska.gov, respectively.

A copy of the proposed changes is available online at http://www.sos.ne.gov, or by contacting DHHS at the mailing address or email above, or by phone at (402) 471-8223. The fiscal impact statement for these proposed changes may be obtained at the office of the Secretary of State, Regulations Division, 1201 N Street, Suite 120, Lincoln, NE 68508, or by calling (402) 471-2385.

Auxiliary aids or reasonable accommodations needed to participate in a hearing can be requested by calling (402) 471-8223. Individuals with hearing impairments may call DHHS at (402) 471-9570 (voice and TDD) or the Nebraska Relay System at 711 or (800) 833-7352 TDD at least 2 weeks prior to the hearing.

FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT

Agency: Department of Health and Human Services	
Title: 172 and 175	Prepared by: K. Lueke based on Fiscal
	Impact statement associated with LB0680
	(2016)
Chapter: 128 (172) and 8 (175)	Date prepared: 1-7-16, revised
Subject: Pharmacy Practice Act/LB37	Telephone: 402-471-4915
(2015), LB680 (2016), LB947 (2016)	

Type of Fiscal Impact:

Please check all that apply

	State Agency	Political Sub.	Regulated Public
No Fiscal Impact	(🗆)	(🗆)	(🗆)
Increased Costs	(🛛)	(🗆)	(🛛)
Decreased Costs	(🗆)	(🗆)	(🗆)
Increased Revenue	(🗆)	(🛛)	(🗆)
Decreased Revenue	(🗆)	(🗆)	(🗆)
Indeterminable	(🗆)	(🗆)	(□)

Provide an Estimated Cost & Description of Impact:

State Agency: \$23,177.00 (FY 2016-2017)

Political Subdivision: Community colleges/university in Nebraska offering the certification and periodic renewal certification will receive payments for tuitions/fees by the regulated public.

Regulated Public: Cost of certification for the registered Pharmacy Technicians to become and remain certified. Pharmacy facilities opting to assist Pharmacy Technicians with the cost of tuition/fees for completing required certification will be impacted by increased costs for payment of fees/tuition to external provider organizations issuing the certification.

If indeterminable, explain why:

TITLE 172 PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSURE

CHAPTER 128 PRACTICE OF PHARMACY

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

001. SCOPE AND AUTHORITY	1
002. DEFINITIONS	1
003. INITIAL CREDENTIAL	2
004. DENIED OR WITHDRAWN APPLICATIONS	6
005. RENEWAL	7
006. ACCEPTABLE CONTINUING COMPETENCY FOR PHARMACISTS	8
007. IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR PHARMACIST, PHARMACIST INTERN, AND PHARMACY TECHICIAN	10
008. SUPERVISION OF PHARMACIST INTERN	10
009. REQUIREMENTS FOR PRACTICE AGREEMENTS	10
010. DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS	11
011. VOLUNTARY SURRENDER OR LIMITATION	13
012. REINSTATEMENT	14
013. DENIED OR WITHDRAWN APPLICATIONS FOR REINSTATEMENT	<u>16</u>
014. ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY	16
015. FEES	17

DRAFTNEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF05-16-2017HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES1

TITLE 172 PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSURE

CHAPTER 128 PRACTICE OF PHARMACY BY CREDENTIALED PHARMACY PERSONNEL

001. SCOPE AND AUTHORITY. These regulations govern the credentialing of pharmacists, pharmacist interns, pharmacy technicians, and the practice of pharmacy under the Uniform Controlled Substances Act, Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 28-401 et seq.; the Pharmacy Practice Act, Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 38-2801 et seq.; the Prescription Drug Safety Act, Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 71-2477 et seq.; and the Uniform Credentialing Act (UCA), Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 38-101 et seq.

<u>002.</u> <u>DEFINITIONS.</u> For purposes of these regulations, definitions in the Uniform Credentialing Act, the Uniform Controlled Substances Act, the Pharmacy Practice Act, the Prescription Drug Safety Act, and the following definitions are hereby adopted.

<u>002.01</u> ATTEST OR ATTESTATION. The individual declares that all statements on the application are true and complete.

<u>002.02</u> <u>COMPLETE APPLICATION</u>. An application that contains all of the information requested on the application with attestation to its truth and completeness, that is submitted with the required fees and all required documentation.

002.03 CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION. Information protected as privileged under applicable law. Social security numbers obtained under these regulations are not public information but may be shared by the department for administrative purposes if necessary and only under appropriate circumstances to ensure against any unauthorized access to this information.

<u>002.04</u> CONVICTION. A plea or verdict of guilty or a conviction following a plea of nolo contendere or non vult contendere made to a formal criminal charge, or a judicial finding of guilt irrespective of the pronouncement of judgment or the suspension thereof, and includes instances in which the imposition or the execution of sentence is suspended following a judicial finding of guilt and the defendant is placed on probation.

002.05 CREDENTIAL. A license, certificate, or registration.

002.06 CREDENTIALED IN ANOTHER JURISDICTION. Holding a credential that authorizes the individual to engage in the profession of Pharmacist, Pharmacist Intern, or Pharmacy Technician which would otherwise be unlawful, from the District of Columbia or any state, territory, or possession of the United States of America, or any province of Canada.

<u>002.07 DEPARTMENT. The Division of Public Health Licensure of the Nebraska Department</u> of Health and Human Services.

002.08 MILITARY SERVICE. Full-time duty in the active military service of the United States, a National Guard call to active service for more than 30 consecutive days or active service as a Commissioned Officer of the Public Health Service or the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. Military service may also include any period during which a service member is absent from duty on account of sickness, wounds, leave, or other lawful cause. (From the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, 50 U.S.C. App. 501 et seq., as it existed in 2016)

<u>002.09</u> PRACTICE AGREEMENT. A document signed by a pharmacist and a practitioner with independent prescribing authority, wherein the pharmacist agrees to design, implement, and monitor a therapeutic plan based on a written protocol.

<u>002.10</u> WRITTEN PROTOCOL. A written template agreed to by a pharmacist(s) and a practitioner(s) with independent prescribing authority, working in concert, which directs how the pharmacist(s) will implement and monitor a specified therapeutic plan.

003. INITIAL CREDENTIAL. An applicant for a credential must submit an application and documentation to the department that he or she meets the licensure or registration requirements. To receive a credential to practice as a Pharmacist, Pharmacist Intern, or Pharmacy Technician, an individual must submit a complete application, pay the appropriate fee, and meet the following:

003.01 REQUIREMENTS.

003.01(A) AGE AND GOOD CHARACTER. Pharmacists and Pharmacist Interns must be at least 19 years old and of good character. Pharmacy Technicians must be at least 18 years old and of good character.

003.01(B) CITIZENSHIP OR LAWFUL PRESENCE. Meet the requirements set out in Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-129 and §§ 4-108 through 4-111.

<u>003.01(C)</u> <u>EDUCATION AND EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS.</u> Applicants for a credential as a Pharmacist. Pharmacist Intern, or Pharmacy Technician must meet additional requirements as specified:

003.01(C)(i) PHARMACIST LICENSURE.

003.01(C)(i)(1) EDUCATION.

003.01(C)(i)(1)(a) Have graduated from an accredited pharmacy program; or

<u>003.01(C)(i)(1)(b)</u> <u>Have graduated from a pharmacy program located outside</u> <u>the United States which is not accredited and have obtained the Foreign</u> <u>Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee (FPGEC) Certification given by</u> <u>the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP).</u>

<u>003.01(C)(i)(2)</u> EXAMINATION.

003.01(C)(i)(2)(a) Pass the North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination

(NAPLEX) or its predecessor exam given by the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) with a score of 75 or above; and

<u>003.01(C)(i)(2)(b)</u> Pass the Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination (MPJE) that relates to federal law and the Nebraska statutes and regulations that govern the practice of pharmacy given by the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) with a score of 75 or above; and

003.01(C)(i)(2)(c) Have scores and results from the North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination (NAPLEX) and the Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination (MPJE) sent directly to the department from the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP).

<u>003.01(C)(i)(3)</u> <u>CURRENT COMPETENCY</u>. Present proof of having met one of the following requirements to demonstrate his or her current competency:

003.01(C)(i)(3)(a) Has passed the North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination (NAPLEX) given by the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) within the last three years;

<u>003.01(C)(i)(3)(b)</u> Has been in the active practice of the profession of pharmacy in another state, territory, or the District of Columbia for at least one year within the three years immediately preceding the application for licensure;

<u>003.01(C)(i)(3)(c)</u> Has become board certified in a specialty recognized by the Board of Pharmacy Specialties or its successor within the seven years immediately preceding the application for licensure;

<u>003.01(C)(i)(3)(d)</u> Is licensed as a pharmacist in some other state, territory, or the District of Columbia in which, under like conditions, licensure as a pharmacist is granted in this state; or

<u>003.01(C)(i)(3)(e)</u> <u>Has completed continuing competency in pharmacy that is approved by the Board of Pharmacy.</u>

003.01(C)(ii) PHARMACIST INTERN REGISTRATION.

003.01(C)(ii)(1) EDUCATION.

<u>003.01(C)(ii)(1)(a)</u> Be a student currently enrolled in an accredited pharmacy program;

003.01(C)(ii)(1)(b) Be a graduate of an accredited pharmacy program; or

003.01(C)(ii)(1)(c) Be a graduate of a pharmacy program located outside the United States which is not accredited and have obtained the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee (FPGEC) Certification given by National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP).

003.01(C)(iii) PHARMACY TECHNICIAN REGISTRATION.

003.01(C)(iii)(1) EDUCATION.

003.01(C)(iii)(1)(a) Have graduated from high school; or

<u>003.01(C)(iii)(1)(b)</u> Posses an equivalent degree of education as recognized by the State Department of Education.

<u>003.01(D)</u> <u>MILITARY SERVICE.</u> Upon presentation of satisfactory evidence that the education, training, or service completed by an applicant for a credential while a member of the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National Guard of any state, the military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state is substantially similar to the education required for the credential, the department, with the recommendation of the appropriate board, will accept such education, training, or service toward the minimum standards for the credential.

<u>003.02</u> <u>APPLICATION.</u> The application must contain all of the information and documentation required by Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-129, §38-130, §38-131 and §4-111 and these regulations, including:

003.02(A) INFORMATION.

<u>003.02(A)(i)</u> The legal name of the applicant and any other names by which the applicant is known;

003.02(A)(ii) Mailing address (street, rural route, or post office address; and city, state, and zip code or country information); and

003.02(A)(iii) The applicant's:

003.02(A)(iii)(1) Social security number (SSN); or

003.02(A)(iii)(2) Alien registration number (A#);

Certain applicants may have both a social security number (SSN) and an alien registration number (A#), and if so, must report both.

NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

<u>003.02(B)</u> EDUCATION. An official transcript from an accredited program showing the graduation date must be sent directly to the department by the originating program or institution.

<u>003.02(B)(i)</u> Applicants for the practice of a Pharmacist or Pharmacy Intern must demonstrate graduation by submitting an official transcript from an accredited pharmacy program, or be a graduate of a pharmacy program located outside the United States which is not accredited and have obtained the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee (FPGEC) Certification given by National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP).

<u>003.02(B)(ii)</u> Applicants for the practice of a Pharmacy Technician must demonstrate graduation from high school or an equivalent degree of education as recognized by the State Department of Education.

<u>003.02(C)</u> <u>CREDENTIALED IN ANOTHER JURISDICTION INFORMATION. An applicant</u> <u>must report any credential held or previously held by the applicant to provide health</u> <u>services, health related services, or environmental services in Nebraska or in any other</u> <u>jurisdiction. Such information must include:</u>

003.02(C)(i) The jurisdiction where each credential was issued;

<u>003.02(C)(ii)</u> <u>The credential number;</u>

003.02(C)(iii) The type of credential; and

003.02(C)(iv) The date of issuance and the expiration date of each credential, if any. The applicant must have a certification of each credential submitted to the department by the issuing agency or through an acceptable primary source verification.

<u>003.02(D)</u> <u>ADVERSE ACTIONS. An applicant must report all disciplinary actions, adverse actions, denials, denial of the right to take a credentialing examination, or other actions against a credential in any state or jurisdiction, including, but not limited to:</u>

003.02(D)(i) Voluntary surrenders or voluntary limitations;

003.02(D)(ii) Prior refusals to issue or to renew a credential;

003.02(D)(iii) Any disciplinary actions or denials of a credential; and

003.02(D)(iv) An explanation for an adverse action or denial.

<u>003.02(E)</u> <u>CONVICTIONS.</u> If the applicant has been convicted of any misdemeanor or felony, the following information and documentation must be submitted to the department:

NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

003.02(E)(i) A list of any misdemeanor or felony convictions;

<u>003.02(E)(ii)</u> A copy of the court records, if the convictions occurred in a state other than Nebraska, which includes charges and disposition;

<u>003.02(E)(iii)</u> Explanation from the applicant of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions the applicant has taken to address the behaviors or actions related to the convictions;

<u>003.02(E)(iv)</u> A current addiction or mental health evaluation, if the conviction involved a drug or alcohol related offense which occurred within the last 5 years or if the conviction involved an alcohol related offense within the last 3 years;

<u>003.02(E)(v)</u> <u>A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions</u> and current status, if the applicant is currently on probation; and

<u>003.02(E)(vi)</u> The applicant may be requested to submit additional documentation such as police reports and additional court record information.

<u>003.02(F)</u> <u>CITIZEN, ALIEN OR NON-IMMIGRANT.</u> Documentation that the applicant meets the requirements set out in Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-129 and §§ 4-108 through 4-111.

<u>003.02(G)</u> <u>CURRENT COMPETENCY</u>. Documentation that the applicant meets the requirements set out in 172 Nebraska Administrative Code (NAC) 128-003.01(C)(i)(3).

003.02(H) PRACTICE STATEMENT. A statement that the applicant has not practiced as a Pharmacist, Pharmacist Intern, or Pharmacy Technician in Nebraska before submitting the application; or if the applicant has practiced as a Pharmacist, Pharmacist Intern, or Pharmacy Technician in Nebraska before submitting the application a statement of the number of days practiced and the name and location of practice.

003.03 NON-ENGLISH DOCUMENTS. Any documents written in a language other than English must be accompanied by a complete translation into the English language. The translation must be an original document and contain the notarized or equivalent signature of the translator. An individual may not translate his or her own documents.

004. DENIED OR WITHDRAWN APPLICATIONS.

004.01 DENIED APPLICATIONS. An applicant for a Pharmacist, Pharmacist Intern, or Pharmacy Technician credential whose application is denied by the department will be allowed the return of his or her fee, except for a \$25 administrative fee to be retained by the department.

004.02 WITHDRAWN APPLICATIONS. A request to withdraw an application will be granted:

004.02(A) When the application is incomplete; or

<u>004.02(B)</u> When the request for withdrawal is received within five business days of the receipt of a complete application.

If a request to withdraw an application is granted, the applicant will be allowed the return of his or her fee, except for a \$25 administrative fee to be retained by the department.

005. RENEWAL. An individual who wants to renew his or her credential must, prior to the expiration date, file an application for renewal, pay the fee, and demonstrate compliance with applicable continuing competency requirements and Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-129 and §§ 4-108 through 4-111.

005.01 CREDENTIAL EXPIRATION DATES.

<u>005.01(A)</u> All pharmacist licenses issued by the department will expire on January 1 of each even-numbered year.

<u>005.01(B)</u> <u>All pharmacist intern registrations issued by the department cannot be renewed</u> <u>after their respective expiration date.</u>

<u>005.01(C)</u> <u>All pharmacy technician registrations issued by the department will expire on</u> <u>January 1 of each odd-numbered year.</u>

005.02 RENEWAL APPLICATION. The applicant must provide the following information:

005.02(A) The legal name of the applicant and any other names by which the applicant is known;

<u>005.02(B)</u> <u>Mailing address (street, rural route, or post office address; and city, state, and zip code, or country information); and</u>

005.02(C) The applicant's:

005.02(C)(i) Social security number (SSN);

<u>005.02(C)(i)</u> <u>Alien registration number (A#);</u>

Certain applicants may have both a social security number (SSN) and an alien registration number (A#) or I-94 number, and if so, must report both.

<u>005.03</u> <u>DOCUMENTATION</u>. The applicant must submit the following documentation and information with the application:

<u>005.03(A)</u> <u>ALIEN OR NON-IMMIGRANT</u>. Documentation that the applicant meets the requirements set out in Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-129 and §§ 4-108 through 4-111;

172 NAC 128

<u>005.03(B)</u> <u>OTHER CREDENTIAL INFORMATION.</u> If the applicant holds a credential to provide health services, health-related services, or environmental services in Nebraska or in another jurisdiction, the applicant must submit the name of the state, credential number, type of credential, date issued, and expiration date of each credential where the applicant has been or is currently credentialed;

<u>005.03(C)</u> <u>DISCIPLINARY ACTION.</u> A list of any disciplinary actions taken against the applicant's credential and a copy of the disciplinary action(s), including charges and disposition;

<u>005.03(D)</u> <u>DENIAL. If the applicant was denied a credential or denied the right to take a credentialing examination, an explanation of the basis for the denial and a copy of the denial documentation; and</u>

<u>005.03(E)</u> <u>CONVICTION INFORMATION.</u> If the applicant has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor since his or her last renewal or during the time period since initial credentialing if such occurred within the previous two years, the applicant must submit to the department:

<u>005.03(E)(i)</u> <u>A list of any misdemeanor or felony convictions;</u>

<u>005.03(E)(ii)</u> <u>A copy of the court records, if the convictions occurred in a state other than Nebraska, which includes charges and disposition;</u>

<u>005.03(E)(iii)</u> Explanation from the applicant of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions the applicant has taken to address the behaviors or actions related to the convictions;

<u>005.03(E)(iv)</u> A current addiction or mental health evaluation, if the conviction involved a drug related offense which occurred within the last 5 years or if the conviction involved an alcohol related offense within the last 3 years;

<u>0050.03(E)(v)</u> A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if the applicant is currently on probation; and

<u>005.03(E)(vi)</u> The applicant may be requested to submit additional documentation such as police reports and additional court record information.

006. ACCEPTABLE CONTINUING COMPETENCY FOR PHARMACISTS.

<u>006.01</u> <u>CONTINUING EDUCATION. On or before the license expiration date, the pharmacist</u> <u>must complete 30 hours of continuing education during the preceding 24-month period. The</u> <u>pharmacist must complete the 30 hours of continuing education by completing education</u> <u>offered by an approved continuing education provider.</u> <u>006.01(A)</u> <u>APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDERS.</u> The following are <u>approved continuing education providers:</u>

006.01(A)(i) The Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE);

006.01(A)(ii) The Nebraska Council for Continuing Pharmacy Education (NCCPE);

<u>006.01(A)(iii)</u> <u>The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME)</u> Category 1 continuing education; or

<u>006.01(A)(iv)</u> Other providers demonstrating the same quality continuing education standards as those established in the Criteria for Quality of Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) and approved by the board.

<u>006.01(B)</u> <u>PHARMACY SPECIALTY CERTIFICATION.</u> In lieu of the 30 hour continuing education requirement, the pharmacist may have achieved or maintained certification through the Board of Pharmacy Specialties.

<u>006-01(C)</u> <u>DIABETES EDUCATOR CERTIFICATION</u>. In lieu of the 30 hour continuing education requirement, the pharmacist may have achieved or maintained certification through the National Certification Board of Diabetes Educators (NCBDE).

006.02 AUDIT OF CONTINUING COMPETENCY REQUIREMENTS. The department or the board may biennially select, in a random manner, a sample of the renewal applications for audit of continuing competency requirements. Each credential holder selected for audit must produce documentation of the continuing competency activities or military service within 30 days.

006.03 ELIGIBILITY FOR WAIVER UPON RENEWAL OF A CREDENTIAL.

<u>006.03(A) MILITARY SERVICE. The department waives requirements for continuing competency and renewal fee payment if a credential holder has served in the regular armed forces of the U.S. during part of the credentialing period immediately preceding the renewal date.</u>

<u>006.03(A)(i)</u> The department or the board may conduct an audit of military status. Each credential holder selected for audit must produce documentation of military service within 30 days.

<u>006.03(B)</u> FIRST LICENSED. The department waives continuing education requirements for individuals who were first credentialed within the 24-month period immediately preceding the renewal date.</u>

<u>006.04</u> INACTIVE STATUS. When an individual wants to have his or her license to practice Pharmacy placed on inactive status, he or she must submit a request in writing to the department. There is no fee to have a credential placed on inactive status and continuing competency is not required. The department will notify the credential holder in writing of the acceptance or denial of the request. To reinstate a license from inactive status, see 172 NAC 128-012.

007. IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR PHARMACIST, PHARMACIST INTERN, AND PHARMACY TECHNICIAN.

<u>007.01</u> PHARMACIST. Each pharmacist must be identified as a pharmacist while performing the duties of a pharmacist within a facility licensed under the Health Care Facility Licensure Act.

<u>007.02</u> <u>PHARMACIST INTERN. Each pharmacist intern must be identified as a pharmacist intern while performing the duties of a pharmacist intern.</u>

<u>007.03</u> <u>PHARMACY TECHNICIAN.</u> Each pharmacy technician must be identified as a pharmacy technician while performing the duties of a pharmacy technician.

008. SUPERVISION OF PHARMACIST INTERN. A pharmacist intern must be supervised at all times while performing the functions of a pharmacist intern, which may include all aspects of the practice of pharmacy, unless otherwise restricted. This supervision must be provided by a pharmacist who possesses a Nebraska pharmacist's license which is free from disciplinary measures at the time of supervision. This requirement for pharmacist supervision does not apply to pharmacist interns who are receiving experiential training directed by the accredited program in which he or she is enrolled.

<u>008.01</u> <u>ONE OR MORE SUPERVISORS</u>. Nothing in these regulations will be construed to prohibit one pharmacist intern or one pharmacy technician from being supervised by more than one pharmacist at any time.

008.02 PHARMACIST INTERN. A pharmacist intern must not supervise another pharmacist intern nor a pharmacy technician.

<u>008.03</u> <u>COMPLIANCE</u>. In the case of a pharmacist intern, the result of failure to comply with any of these standards may be loss of accumulated pharmacy internship hours and revocation of any credential issued on the basis of such pharmacy internship.

009. REQUIREMENTS FOR PRACTICE AGREEMENTS.

<u>009.01</u> WRITTEN PROTOCOL. A pharmacist may enter into a practice agreement with a practitioner with independent prescribing authority to provide pharmaceutical care according to written protocols.

<u>009.02</u> <u>NOTIFICATION.</u> The pharmacist must notify the board of any practice agreement. Such notice must be given to both the Board of Pharmacy and the licensed health practitioner's professional board. Such notice must contain the names of the pharmacist(s) and the practitioner(s) with independent prescribing authority and a description of the therapy being monitored or initiated.

<u>009.02(A)</u> A copy of the practice agreement and written protocols must be available for review by any representative of the department.

<u>009.02(B)</u> A copy of the practice agreement or written protocols must be sent to the board upon request.

<u>009.02(C)</u> Written notice must be given to the board at initiation and at any time there is a change in parties or written protocols.

010. DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS.

<u>010.01</u> <u>GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINE.</u> A pharmacist license or a pharmacist intern registration may be denied, refused renewal, or have other disciplinary measures taken against it for grounds specified in Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 38-178, or for unprofessional conduct.

010.02 UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT. Unprofessional conduct means any departure from or failure to conform to the standards of acceptable and prevailing practice of pharmacy or the ethics of the profession, regardless of whether a person, patient, or entity is injured, but does not include a single act of ordinary negligence. Unprofessional conduct also means conduct that is likely to deceive or defraud the public or is detrimental to the public interest. Unprofessional conduct includes but is not limited to the acts set out in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-179 and the following:

<u>010.02(A)</u> <u>Refusal to cooperate or failure to furnish requested information during a licensing or discipline investigation by the department;</u>

<u>010.02(B)</u> Any departure from or failure to conform to the ethics of the pharmacy profession, which ethics were adopted by the membership of the American Pharmacists Association on October 27, 1994;

<u>010.02(C)</u> <u>Misrepresenting one's credentials in an application submitted to a healthcare</u> <u>facility, insurance company, or prospective employer;</u>

<u>010.02(D)</u> <u>Refusal to provide professional service to a person because of such person's</u> race, color, religion, sex, or national origin;

<u>010.02(E)</u> <u>Refusal to undergo an examination defining competency as required by the board:</u>

<u>010.02(F)</u> Failure to ensure a verbal offer to counsel is made, unless specifically exempt as provided in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-2869;</u>

<u>010.02(G)</u> <u>Willfully or negligently violating the confidentiality between a pharmacist and a patient, except as allowed by law;</u>

<u>010.02(H)</u> Except as otherwise permitted by law, dispensing, selling, administering, distributing, ordering, or giving to a person, known by the pharmacist to be an addict or any person previously drug dependent, any drug legally classified as a controlled substance;

<u>010.02(I)</u> Exercising influence on the patient in such a manner as to exploit the patient for the financial gain of the pharmacist or of a third party, which includes, but is not limited to, the promotion or sale of services, goods, drugs, devices, or biologicals;

<u>010.02(J)</u> Refusal to allow access to the records appropriate to practice pharmacy in a facility and required to be kept pursuant to 175 NAC 8;

<u>010.02(K)</u> <u>Return of dispensed drugs or devices to saleable stock, unless specifically</u> <u>allowed by law;</u>

<u>010.02(L)</u> <u>Dispensing, selling, or administering anabolic steroids to a person for other</u> <u>than therapeutic purposes:</u>

010.02(M) Practicing pharmacy under a false or assumed name;

<u>010.02(N)</u> <u>Allowing a pharmacy technician, knowingly or unknowingly, to perform</u> <u>functions requiring professional judgment and licensure as a pharmacist;</u>

<u>010.02(O)</u> Lack of appropriate direction, collaboration, or direct supervision of any person employed by, supervised by or assigned to the pharmacist;

<u>010.02(P)</u> <u>Claiming credit for any continuing competency activities not actually</u> participated in and earned:

010.02(Q) Any false or misleading statement on a pharmacy self-inspection form;

<u>010.02(R)</u> Advertisement for health care services that does not provide accurate information on the type of credential(s) held or includes deceptive or misleading information pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-124; or

<u>010.02(S)</u> <u>Refusal to cooperate or failure to furnish requested information during a</u> <u>licensing or discipline investigation by the department.</u> <u>010.03</u> <u>PHARMACY TECHNICIANS.</u> A pharmacy technician registration may be denied, refused renewal, or suspended or have other disciplinary measures taken against it pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-2894, or for unprofessional conduct.

011. VOLUNTARY SURRENDER OR LIMITATION. A credential holder may offer to voluntarily surrender or limit a credential issued by the department. The credential holder must make the offer in writing on a form provided by the department or constructed by the credential holder, which must include the following information:

011.01 PERSONAL INFORMATION.

011.01(A) First, middle, and last name;

<u>011.01(B)</u> <u>Mailing address (street, rural route, or post office address), city, state, and zip code;</u>

011.01(C) Telephone number; and

011.01(D) Fax number, if any.

011.02 INFORMATION REGARDING THE CREDENTIAL BEING OFFERED FOR SURRENDER OR LIMITATION.

011.02(A) List credential(s) and credential number(s) that would be surrendered or limited;

011.02(B) Indicate the desired time frame for offered surrender or limitation;

011.02(B)(i) Permanently;

011.02(B)(ii) Indefinitely; or

011.02(B)(iii) Definite period of time (specify);

011.02(C) Specify reason for offered surrender or limit of credential; and

<u>011.02(D)</u> Specify any terms and conditions that the credential holder wishes to have the department consider and apply to the offer.

011.03 ATTESTATION. The credential holder must:

011.03(A) Attest that all the information on the offer is true and complete; and

011.03(B) Provide the credential holder's signature and date.

012. <u>REINSTATEMENT</u>. This section applies to an individual previously credentialed in Nebraska who seeks the authority to return to practice in Nebraska with a valid Nebraska credential.

012.01 ELIGIBILITY. An individual may apply for reinstatement as follows:

<u>012.01(A)</u> <u>An individual whose credential has expired, been placed on inactive status,</u> voluntarily surrendered for an indefinite period of time, or suspended or limited for disciplinary reasons, may apply for reinstatement at any time.

<u>012.01(B)</u> An individual whose credential has been voluntarily surrendered for a definite period of time may apply for reinstatement after that period of time has elapsed.

<u>012.01(C)</u> An individual whose credential has been revoked may apply for reinstatement only after a period of two years has elapsed from the date of revocation.

<u>012.02</u> INELIGIBILITY. An individual whose credential has been permanently voluntarily surrendered is not eligible for reinstatement and may not reapply for a new credential of the same credential type.

<u>012.03</u> <u>APPLICATION.</u> To reinstate a credential, an individual must submit a complete application, have met the continuing competency requirements, pay the renewal fee and reinstatement fee (if applicable), meet the requirements set out in Neb. Rev. Stat.§38-129 and

<u>§§ 4-108 through 4-111 and provide the following on his or her application:</u>

012.03(A) INFORMATION.

<u>012.03(A)(i)</u> The legal name of the applicant and any other names by which the applicant it known;

<u>012.03(A)(ii)</u> <u>Mailing address (street, rural route, or post office address; and city, state, and zip code or country information);</u>

012.03(A)(iii) The applicant's:

012.03(A)(iii)(1) Social security number (SSN); or

012.03(A)(iii)2) Alien registration number (A#);

Certain applicants may have both a social security number (SSN) and an alien registration number (A#), and if so, must report both.

<u>012.03(A)(iv)</u> If the applicant holds a professional credential in another jurisdiction; and

<u>012.03(A)(v)</u> If making application following voluntary surrender or disciplinary action, information relating to what actions he or she has taken to address the reasons that caused the action.

012.03(B) ATTESTATION. The applicant must attest that he or she:

012.03(B)(i) Is of good character;

<u>012.03(B)(ii)</u> Has met the continuing competency requirements specified in 172 NAC 128-006 within the 24 months immediately preceding submission of the application (or other requirements as specified by the practice act):

<u>012.03(B)(iii)</u> Has not practiced in Nebraska since he or she last held an active credential, or if the applicant has practiced in Nebraska since he or she last held an active credential, the actual number of days practiced; and

012.03(B)(iv) Has not committed any act which would be grounds for action against a credential as specified in 172 NAC 128-010 since the last renewal or issuance of the credential (whichever is later), or if an act(s) was committed, provide an explanation of all such acts.

<u>012.03(C)</u> <u>DOCUMENTATION. The applicant must submit the following documentation</u> <u>with the application:</u>

012.03(C)(i) ALIEN OR NON-IMMIGRANT. Documentation that the applicant meets the requirements set out in Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-129 and §§ 4-108 through 4-111;

<u>012.03(C)(ii)</u> <u>OTHER CREDENTIAL INFORMATION. If the applicant holds a</u> <u>credential to provide health services, health-related services, or environmental</u> <u>services in Nebraska or in another jurisdiction, the applicant must submit the name of</u> <u>the state, credential number, type of credential, date issued, and expiration date of</u> <u>each credential where the applicant has been or is currently credentialed;</u>

<u>012.03(C)(iii)</u> <u>DISCIPLINARY ACTION.</u> A list of any disciplinary actions taken against the applicant's credential and a copy of the disciplinary action(s), including charges and disposition;

<u>012.03(C)(iv)</u> <u>DENIAL</u>. If the applicant was denied a credential or denied the right to take a credentialing examination, an explanation of the basis for the denial and a copy of the denial documentation;

012.03(C)(v) CONVICTION INFORMATION. If the applicant has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor since his or her last renewal or during the time period since initial credentialing if such occurred within the previous two years, the applicant must submit to the department:

NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

012.03(C)(v)(1) A list of any misdemeanor or felony convictions;

<u>012.03(C)(v)(2)</u> A copy of the court records, if the convictions occurred in a state other than Nebraska, which includes charges and disposition;

<u>012.03(C)(v)(3)</u> Explanation from the applicant of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions the applicant has taken to address the behaviors or actions related to the convictions;

<u>012.03(C)(v)(4)</u> A current addiction or mental health evaluation, if the conviction involved a drug related offense within the last 5 years or if the conviction involved an alcohol related offense within the last 3 years;</u>

012.03(C)(v)(5) A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if the applicant is currently on probation; and

<u>012.03(C)(v)(6)</u> The applicant may be requested to submit additional documentation such as police reports and additional court record information.

013. DENIED OR WITHDRAWN APPLICATIONS FOR REINSTATEMENT.

013.01 DENIED APPLICATIONS. An applicant for reinstatement whose application is denied by the department will be allowed the return of his or her fee, except for a \$25 administrative fee to be retained by the department.

013.02 WITHDRAWN APPLICATIONS. An applicant for reinstatement may request to withdraw the application. A request to withdraw an application will be granted:

013.02(A) When the application is incomplete; or

<u>013.02(B)</u> When the request for withdrawal is received within five business days of the receipt of a completed application.

If a request to withdraw an application is granted, the applicant will be allowed the return of his or her fee, except for a \$25 administrative fee to be retained by the department.

<u>014.</u> <u>ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY.</u> The department may assess an administrative penalty when evidence exists of practice without a credential to practice a profession or operate a business. Practice without a credential for the purpose of this regulation means practice:

014.01 Prior to the issuance of a credential;

014.02 Following the expiration of a credential; or

014.03 Prior to the reinstatement of a credential.

<u>015.</u> <u>FEES. Fees referred to in these regulations are set out in 172 NAC 2, unless otherwise specified.</u>

<u>015.01</u> <u>PRORATED FEE. When an application for credential that will expire within 180 days</u> after its issuance date and the credentialing fee is \$25 or more, the department will collect \$25 or one-fourth of the credentialing fee, whichever is greater, for the initial, renewal or reinstatement credential, and the credential will be valid until the next subsequent renewal date.

EFFECTIVE DATE NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES November 1, 2005 REGULATION AND LICENSURE

172 NAC 128

TITLE 172 PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSURE

CHAPTER 128 PRACTICE OF PHARMACY

TABLE OF CONTENTS

		PAGE
<u> 128-001</u>	SCOPE AND AUTHORITY	1
<u> 128-002</u>	DEFINITIONS	1
<u>128-003</u>	PHARMACIST LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS	<u> </u>
<u>128-004</u>	PROCEDURES FOR RENEWAL OF A LICENSE	7
<u>128-005</u>	CREDENTIAL REVOCATION FOR FAILURE TO MEET RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS	
<u> 128-006</u>	CONTINUING COMPETENCY	11
<u>128-007</u>	GROUNDS ON WHICH THE DEPARTMENT MAY DENY, REFUSE RENEWAL OF, OR DISCIPLINE A LICENSE	12
<u>128-008</u>	RE-CREDENTIALING	14
<u>128-009</u>	UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT	
<u>128-010</u>	TEMPORARY EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS	32
<u>128-011</u>	PHARMACIST INTERN REQUIREMENTS	
<u>128-012</u>	PHARMACIST INTERN & PHARMACY TECHNICIAN SUPERVISIO	4
<u> 128-013</u>	PHARMACEUTICAL CARE REQUIREMENTS	
<u>128-014</u>	DISPENSING REQUIREMENTS	41
<u>128-015</u>	PATIENT COUNSELING	43
<u>128-016</u>	MAIL SERVICE PHARMACY LICENSE REQUIREMENTS	
<u>128-017</u>	SCHEDULE OF FEES	
<u>128-018</u>	ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY	47

Copies of the attached Code of Ethics for Pharmacists are available at <u>http://www.aphanet.org/pharmcare/ethics.html</u> <u>NOTE:</u> This is same information that was copied from the website on 07/27/2005, which was filed with the Secretary of State on October 27, 2005.

EFECTIVE DATE NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES November 1, 2005 REGULATION AND LICENSURE 172 NAC 128

TITLE 172 PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSURE

CHAPTER 128 PRACTICE OF PHARMACY

<u>128-001 SCOPE AND AUTHORITY</u>: These regulations govern the practice of pharmacy pursuant to the Uniform Controlled Substances Act, <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> §§ 28-1437 to 28-1439.01; 71-1,142 to 71-1,151; 71-2401 to 71-2405; the Mail Service Pharmacy Licensure Act; the Nebraska Drug Product Selection Act; and the Uniform Licensing Law.

Any application required by 172 NAC 128 may be submitted on a form provided by the Department or in an alternate format.

<u>128-002 DEFINITIONS:</u> In addition to the definitions found in <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> §§ 28-401 and 71-1,142, the following definitions apply to 172 NAC 128:

<u>Accredited or approved program</u> means a pharmacy program which maintains accreditation approved by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) or other accrediting agencies and is approved by the Department upon recommendation of the Board.

<u>Attest/Attestation</u> means that the individual declares that all statements on the application/petition are true and complete.

<u>Chart order</u> means an order for a drug or device issued by a practitioner for a patient who is in the hospital where the chart is stored or for a patient receiving detoxification treatment or maintenance treatment pursuant to <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> § 28-412. Chart order does not include a prescription.

<u>D.E.A.</u> means the Drug Enforcement Administration of the United States Department of Justice.

Department means the Department of Health and Human Services Regulation and Licensure.

<u>Director</u> means the Director of Regulation and Licensure or the Chief Medical Officer if one has been appointed pursuant to <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> § 81-3201, for performance of the duties set out in that statute.

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE	172 NAC 128

<u>NAC</u> means the Nebraska Administrative Code, the system for classifying State agency rules and regulations. These regulations are 172 NAC 128.

Pharmacist means any person who is licensed by the State of Nebraska to practice pharmacy.

<u>Pharmacist Intern</u> means a person who meets the requirements of <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> § 71-1,144 and these regulations.

<u>Pharmacy internship</u> means a period of training, in the practice of pharmacy, of the pharmacist intern under the direction of a pharmacist or experiential training in an accredited pharmacy program approved by the Board of Pharmacy as a requirement for licensure to practice pharmacy in the State of Nebraska.

<u>Practice agreement means a document signed by a pharmacist and a medical practitioner, wherein the pharmacist agrees to implement and monitor a therapeutic plan based on a written protocol.</u>

<u>Prescription</u> means an order for a drug or device issued by a practitioner for a specific patient, for emergency use, or for use in immunizations. Prescription does not include a chart order.

<u>Reciprocity</u> means an applicant for pharmacist licensure who has requested to transfer the pharmacists license through National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) Transfer of Pharmaceutic Licensure Program.

<u>Score Transfer</u> means an applicant for pharmacist licensure who has requested to participate in the score transfer program offered by the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP).

<u>Supervision of a pharmacist intern</u> means the presence of and the responsible and immediate personal guidance and direction by a pharmacist.

<u>Written protocol</u> means a written template, agreed to by a pharmacist and a medical practitioner, working in concert, which directs how the pharmacist will implement and monitor a therapeutic plan.

128-003 PHARMACIST LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS

<u>128-003.01 An applicant for licensure as a pharmacist on the basis of examination or score</u> transfer must:

- 1. Have graduated from an accredited pharmacy program;
- 2. Have satisfactorily completed not less the 1500 hours of pharmacy internship experience;
- 3. Pass the North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination (NAPLEX) given by NABP with a score of 75 or above;
- 4. Pass the Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination (MPJE) that relates to federal law and the Nebraska statutes and regulations that govern the practice of pharmacy given by NABP with a score of 75 or above;
- 5. Be of good moral character and have attained at least the age of 21; and

EFECTIVE DATE NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES November 1, 2005 REGULATION AND LICENSURE 172 NAC 128

6. Submit to the Department:

- a. An application for licensure as a pharmacist, that must include the following information:
 - (1) Legal name;
 - (2) Place and date of birth;
 - (3) Social Security Number;
 - (4) Mailing address;
 - (5) Telephone number (optional)
 - (6) E-mail address/fax number (optional)
 - (7) Permanent address;
 - (8) Name and location of accredited pharmacy program attended by the applicant;
 - (9) Date of graduation from accredited pharmacy program;
 - (10) Whether the applicant is applying by examination, by score transfer or by reciprocity;
 - (11) Answer the following questions either yes or no; if answered yes, explain the circumstances and the outcome:
 - (a) Has any state or territory of the U.S. ever taken any of the following actions against your license?
 - Denied Limited Restricted Revoked Suspended
 - (b) Has any licensing or disciplinary authority ever taken any of the following actions against your license?
 - Denied Limited Restricted Revoked Suspended
 (c) Has any licensing or disciplinary authority placed your license
 - on probation?
 - (d) Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a license issued to you by a licensing or disciplinary authority?
 - (e) Have you ever voluntarily limited in any way a license issued to you by a licensing or disciplinary authority?
 - (f) Have you ever been requested to appear before any licensing agency?
 - (g) Have you ever been notified of any charges or complaints filed against you by any licensing or disciplinary authority or criminal prosecution authority?
 - (h) Have you ever been addicted to, dependent upon or chronically impaired by alcohol, narcotics, barbiturates, or other drugs which may cause physical and/or psychological dependence?
- (i) Have you ever been treated for alcohol or substance abuse? (j) During the past ten years, have you voluntarily entered or been involuntarily admitted to an institution or health care facility for
- treatment of a mental or emotional disorder/condition? (k) Have you been diagnosed with or treated for bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, or any psychotic disorder?
 - 3

EFECTIVE DATE November 1, 2005	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES REGULATION AND LICENSURE 172 NAC 128
	 (I) Have you ever been convicted of a felony? (m) Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor? (n) Have you ever been called before any licensing agency or lawful authority concerned with DEA controlled substances? (o) Have you ever been notified of any malpractice claim against you?
	(12) Have you ever been licensed as a pharmacist in another state/jurisdiction?
	(a) If yes, list all the states/jurisdiction where you have been or are currently licensed, including license number, issuance date and expiration date;
	(13) A statement from the applicant that s/he is of good moral character and that the statements on the application are true and complete.
b.	Official documentation of successful completion of a pharmacy degree program of an accredited pharmacy program;
	 Official documentation of passing the NAPLEX with a score of 75 or above, sent directly to the Department by NABP;
d	Official documentation of passing the MPJE for Nebraska with a score of 75 or above, sent directly to the Department by NABP;
	Official documentation of satisfactory completion of not less than 1500 hours of pharmacy internship experience, sent directly to the Department from the accredited pharmacy program or another state Board of Pharmacy;
f.	Certification of licensure (if applicable) which reflects the status of licensure, how license was obtained, date of issuance, expiration date; and any disciplinary information (if applicable), sent directly to the Department, from the state Board of Pharmacy;
g h	 The required licensure fee pursuant to 172 NAC 128-017; and A copy of the applicant's birth certificate, marriage license, driver's license, or other valid verification of age.
<u>128-003.02</u> An another state/jui	applicant for licensure as a pharmacist on the basis of reciprocity from risdiction must:
cone	duly licensed/registered by examination in another state in which, under like ditions, reciprocal licensure/registration as a pharmacist, without examination, capted to pharmacists duly licensed by examination in Nebraska:

- is granted to pharmacists duly licensed by examination in Nebraska; 2. Have graduated from an accredited pharmacy program;
- 3. Pass the Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination (MPJE) that relates to federal law and the Nebraska statutes and regulations that govern the practice of pharmacy given by NABP with a score of 75 or above;
- 4. Be of good moral character and have attained at least the age of 21; and

5. Submit to the Department;

- (a) An application pursuant to 172 NAC 128-003.01 item 6.a.(1) through (13);
- (b) Official documentation of successful completion of a pharmacy degree program of an accredited pharmacy program;
- (c) Official documentation of passing the MPJE for Nebraska with a score of 75 or above, sent directly to the Department by NABP;
- (d) Official Application for Transfer of Pharmaceutic Licensure issued by NABP;
- (e) The required licensure fee pursuant to 172 NAC 128-017; and
- (f) A copy of the applicant's birth certificate, marriage license, driver's license, or other valid verification of age.

<u>128-003.03</u> A foreign trained applicant for licensure as a pharmacist on the basis of examination or score transfer must:

- Have graduated from a foreign pharmacy program;
- 2. Have obtained the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee (FPGEC) Certification given by NABP;
- Have satisfactorily completed not less the 1500 hours of pharmacy internship experience;
- Pass the North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination (NAPLEX) given by NABP with a score of 75 or above;
- 5. Pass the Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination (MPJE) that relates to federal law and the Nebraska statutes and regulations that govern the practice of pharmacy given by NABP with a score of 75 or above;
- 6. Have good moral character and have attained at least the age of 21; and
- 7. Submit to the Department:
 - (a) An application pursuant to 172 NAC 128-003.01 item 6.a.(1) through (13);
 - (b) Official translated documentation of successful completion of a pharmacy degree from a foreign pharmacy program;
 - (c) A copy of his/her certificate from the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee (FPGEC) Certification Program of NABP;
 - (d) Official documentation of passing the NAPLEX with a score of 75 or above, sent directly to the Department by NABP;
 - (e) Official documentation of passing the MPJE for Nebraska with a score of 75 or above, sent directly to the Department by NABP;
 - (f) Official documentation of satisfactory completion of not less than 1500 hours of pharmacy internship experience, sent directly to the Department from another state Board of Pharmacy;
 - (g) Certification of licensure (if applicable) which reflects the status of licensure, how license was obtained, date of issuance, expiration date; and any disciplinary information (if applicable), sent directly to the Department, from the state Board of Pharmacy;
 - (h) The required licensure fee pursuant to 172 NAC 128-017; and

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE	<u>172 NAC 128</u>

(i) A copy of the applicant's birth certificate, marriage license, driver's license, or other valid verification of age.

<u>128-003.04</u> A foreign trained applicant for licensure as a pharmacist on the basis of reciprocity from another state/jurisdiction must:

- 1. Be duly licensed/registered by examination in another state/jurisdiction in which, under like conditions, reciprocal licensure/registration as a pharmacist, without examination, is granted to pharmacists duly licensed by examination in Nebraska;
- 2. Have graduated from a foreign pharmacy program;
- Have obtained the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee (FPGEC) Certification given by NABP;
- Pass the Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination (MPJE) that relates to federal law and the Nebraska statutes and regulations that govern the practice of pharmacy given by NABP with a score of 75 or above;
- 5. Be of good moral character and have attained at least the age of 21; and
- Submit to the Department;
 - (a) An application pursuant to 172 NAC 128-003.01 item 6.a.(1) through (13);
 - (b) Official documentation of successful completion of a pharmacy degree from a foreign pharmacy program;
 - (c) A copy of his/her certificate from the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee (FPGEC) Certification Program of NABP;
 - (d) Official documentation of passing the MPJE for Nebraska with a score of 75 or above, sent directly to the Department by NABP;
 - (e) Official Application for Transfer of Pharmaceutic Licensure issued by NABP;
 - (f) The required licensure fee pursuant to 172 NAC 128-017; and
 - (g) A copy of the applicant's birth certificate, marriage license, driver's license, or other valid verification of age.

<u>128-003.05</u> The Department will act within 150 days upon all completed applications for licensure.

<u>128-003.06</u> A pharmacist may use the identifying terms or designations such as: pharmacist, registered pharmacist, R.P., R.Ph., pharmacist-in-charge, or licensed pharmacist that indicates a pharmacist with an active license to practice pharmacy in Nebraska.

<u>128-003.07</u> No one, other than a duly licensed pharmacist, is allowed to use the following terms or designations or any other terms, designations, or letters implying licensure as a pharmacist in this state or in any other jurisdiction:

- - 2. registered pharmacist, R.P., or R.Ph.,
- <u>3. pharmacist-in-charge,</u>

EFECTIVE DATE	NERRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	
November 1, 2005	RECHLATION AND LICENSURE	<u>172 NAC 128</u>

4. licensed pharmacist, or

5. natural pharmacist, herbal pharmacist.

<u>128-004 PROCEDURES FOR RENEWAL OF A LICENSE:</u> All licenses issued by the Department under the Act and 172 NAC 128 expire on January 1 of each even-numbered year.

<u>128-004.01 Renewal process: Any licensee who wishes to renew his/her license must:</u>

- 1. Meet the continuing competency requirements pursuant to 172 NAC 128-006;
 - Pay the renewal fee pursuant to 172 NAC 128-017;
 - 3. Respond to the following questions:
- a. Has your license in any profession in another state been revoked, suspended, limited or disciplined in any manner?
 - b. Have you been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?
 - These questions relate to the time period since the last renewal of the license or during the time period since initial licensure in Nebraska if such occurred within the two years prior to the license expiration date.
- 4. Cause to be submitted to the Department:
 - a. The renewal notice;
- b. The renewal fee;
 - c. Attestation of completing 30 hours of continuing education earned within 24 months of the date of expiration or an application for waiver of continuing competency. Attestation to meeting continuing competency requirements satisfies the submission of documentation requirement of <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> § 71-110;
- d. If any disciplinary action was taken against the applicant's license by another state, an official copy of the disciplinary action, including charges and disposition;
 - e. If the licensee has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor:

(1)	Official Court Record, which includes charges and disposition;
(2)	- Copies of arrest records;
(3)	A letter from the licensee explaining the nature of the conviction;
(\mathbf{C})	All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the
(+)	conviction involved a drug and/or alcohol related offense and if
	treatment was obtained and/or required; and
(5)	- A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions

and current status, if the applicant is currently on probation.

<u>128-004.02</u> First Notice: At least 30 days before January 1 of each even-numbered year, the Department will send a renewal notice by means of regular mail to each licensee at the licensee's last place of residence as noted in the records of the Department. It is the

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE	172 NAC 128

responsibility of the licensee prior to the renewal period to notify the Department of any name and/or address changes.

1. The name of the licensee; 2. The licensee's last known address of record; 3. The license number; 4. The expiration date of the license; 5. The renewal fee pursuant to 172 NAC 128-017; 6. The number of continuing education hours or type of continued competency required for renewal; and 7. The option to place the license on either inactive or lapsed status. 128 004.02B The licensee must apply for renewal by submitting to the Department: 1. The renewal notice; 2. The licensee's social security number; 3. The licensee's social security number; 4. Attestation of completing 30 hours of continuing education earned within 24 months of the date of expiration or an application for waiver of continuing competency; and 5. Decumentation relating to misdemeanor or folony conviction(s) or licensure revocation, suspension, limitation or disciplinary action since the last renewal (if applicable). 128 004.02C If the licensee wishes to place his/her license on either inactive or lapsed status e/he must: 1. Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. 1. Request that his/her licensee de placed on lap	<u>128-004.02A</u> The renewal notice must specify:
2. The licensee's last known address of record; 3. The licensee number; 4. The expiration date of the license; 5. The number of continuing education hours or type of continued competency required for renewal; and 7. The option to place the license on either inactive or lapsed status. 128 004.02B The licensee must apply for renewal by submitting to the Department: 1. The renewal notice; 2. The renewal fee; 3. The licensee's social security number; 4. Attestation of completing 30 hours of continuing education earned within 24 months of the date of expiration or an application for waiver of continuing competency; and 5. Documentation relating to misdemeanor or felony conviction(s) or licensure revocation, suspension, limitation or disciplinary action since the last renewal (if applicable). 128 004.02C If the licensee wishes to place his/her license on either inactive or lapsed status s/he must: 1. Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department: 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the	1 The name of the licensee:
3. The license number; 4. The expiration date of the license; 5. The renewal fee pursuant to 172 NAC 128-017; 6. The number of continuing education hours or type of continued competency required for renewal; and 7. The option to place the license on either inactive or lapsed status. <u>128-004.02B</u> The licensee must apply for renewal by submitting to the Department: 1. The renewal notice; 2. The renewal fee; 3. The licensee's social security number; 4. Attestation of completing 30 hours of continuing education earned within 24 months of the date of expiration or an application for waiver of continuing competency; and 5. Documentation relating to misdemeanor or felony conviction(s) or licensure revocation, suspension, limitation or disciplinary action since the last renewal (if applicable). <u>128-004.02C</u> If the licensee wishes to place his/her license on either inactive or lapsed status s/he must: 1. Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. 1. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. 2. <td></td>	
4. The expiration date of the license; 5. The renewal fee pursuant to 172 NAC 128-017; 6. The number of continuing education hours or type of continued competency required for renewal; and 7. The option to place the license on either inactive or lapsed status. 128 004.028 The licensee must apply for renewal by submitting to the Department: 1. The renewal notice; 2. The renewal fee; 3. The licensee's social security number; 4. Attestation of completing 30 hours of continuing education earned within 24 months of the date of expiration or an application for waiver of continuing competency; and 5. Documentation relating to misdomeanor or felony conviction(s) or licensure revocation, suspension, limitation or disciplinary action since the last renewal (if applicable). 1. Request that hic/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department. 2. Request that hic/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department. 3. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. 1. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department. 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department. 3. The renewal notice with a check in the box m	
5. The renewal fee pursuant to 172 NAC 128-017; 6. The number of continuing education hours or type of continued competency required for renewal; and 7. The option to place the license on either inactive or lapsed status. 128-004.02B The licensee must apply for renewal by submitting to the Department: 1. The renewal notice; 2. The renewal fee; 3. The licensee's social security number; 4. Attestation of completing 30 hours of continuing education earned within 24 months of the date of expiration or an application for waiver of continuing competency; and 5. Documentation relating to misdemeanor or felony conviction(s) or licensure revocation, suspension, limitation or disciplinary action since the last renewal (if applicable). 128-004.02C If the licensee wishes to place his/her license on either inactive or lapsed status s/he must: 1. Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or 2. 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed.	
6. The number of continuing education hours or type of continued competency required for renewal; and 7. The option to place the license on either inactive or lapsed status. <u>128-004.02B</u> The licensee must apply for renewal by submitting to the Department: 1. The renewal notice; 2. The renewal fee; 3. The licensee's social security number; 4. Attestation of completing 30 hours of continuing education earned within 24 months of the date of expiration or an application for waiver of continuing competency; and 5. Documentation relating to misdemeanor or felony conviction(s) or licensure revocation, suspension, limitation or disciplinary action since the last renewal (if applicable). <u>128-004.02C</u> If the licensee wishes to place his/her license on either inactive or lapsed status s/he must: 1. Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. 128-004.02D The Department will notify the licensee in writing of the acceptance or	
required for renewal; and 7. The option to place the license on either inactive or lapsed status. 128 004.02B The licensee must apply for renewal by submitting to the Department: 1. The renewal notice; 2. The renewal fee; 3. The licensee's social security number; 4. Attestation of completing 30 hours of continuing education earned within 24 months of the date of expiration or an application for waiver of continuing competency; and 5. Documentation relating to misdemeanor or felony conviction(s) or licensure revocation, suspension, limitation or disciplinary action since the last renewal (if applicable). 128-004.02C If the licensee wishes to place his/her license on either inactive or lapsed status s/he must: 1. Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The fee of \$25; or 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. 128.004.02D The Department will notify the licensee in writing of the acceptance or	
7. The option to place the license on either inactive or lapsed status. 128-004.02B The licensee must apply for renewal by submitting to the Department. 1. The renewal notice; 2. The renewal fee; 3. The licensee's social security number; 4. Attestation of completing 30 hours of continuing education earned within 24 months of the date of expiration or an application for waiver of continuing competency; and 5. Documentation relating to misdemeanor or felony conviction(s) or licensure revocation, suspension, limitation or disciplinary action since the last renewal (if applicable). 128-004.02C If the licensee wishes to place his/her license on either inactive or lapsed status s/he must: 1. Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department: a. The fee of \$25; or 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. 3. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. 3. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. <	
128-004.02B The licensee must apply for renewal by submitting to the Department: 1. The renewal notice; 2. The renewal fee; 3. The licensee's social security number; 4. Attestation of completing 30 hours of continuing education earned within 24 months of the date of expiration or an application for waiver of continuing competency; and 5. Documentation relating to misdemeanor or felony conviction(s) or licensure revocation, suspension, limitation or disciplinary action since the last renewal (if applicable). <u>128-004.02C</u> If the licensee wishes to place his/her license on either inactive or lapsed status s/he must: 1. Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or 2. 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed.	
1. The renewal notice; 2. The renewal fee; 3. The licensee's social security number; 4. Attestation of completing 30 hours of continuing education earned within 24 months of the date of expiration or an application for waiver of continuing competency; and 5. Documentation relating to misdemeanor or felony conviction(s) or licensure revocation, suspension, limitation or disciplinary action since the last renewal (if applicable). <u>128 004.02C</u> If the licensee wishes to place his/her license on either inactive or lapsed status s/he must: 1. Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department: a. The fee of \$25; or 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. 128-004.02D The Department will notify the licensee in writing of the acceptance or	
2. The renewal fee; 3. The licensee's social security number; 4. Attestation of completing 30 hours of continuing education earned within 24 months of the date of expiration or an application for waiver of continuing competency; and 5. Documentation relating to misdemeanor or felony conviction(s) or licensure revocation, suspension, limitation or disciplinary action since the last renewal (if applicable). <u>128-004.02C</u> If the licensee wishes to place his/her license on either inactive or lapsed status s/he must: 1. Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. 128-004.02D The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed.	<u>128-004.02B</u> The licensee must apply for renewal by submitting to the Department:
3. The licensee's social security number; 4. Attestation of completing 30 hours of continuing education earned within 24 months of the date of expiration or an application for waiver of continuing competency; and 5. Decumentation relating to misdemeanor or felony conviction(s) or licensure revocation, suspension, limitation or disciplinary action since the last renewal (if applicable). <u>128-004.02C</u> If the licensee wishes to place his/her license on either inactive or lapsed status s/he must: 1. Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department: a. The fee of \$25; or 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department:	
4. Attestation of completing 30 hours of continuing education earned within 24 months of the date of expiration or an application for waiver of continuing competency; and 5. Documentation relating to misdemeanor or felony conviction(s) or licensure revocation, suspension, limitation or disciplinary action since the last renewal (if applicable). <u>128-004.02C</u> If the licensee wishes to place his/her license on either inactive or lapsed status s/he must: 1. Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed.	
months of the date of expiration or an application for waiver of continuing competency; and 5. Documentation relating to misdemeanor or felony conviction(s) or licensure revocation, suspension, limitation or disciplinary action since the last renewal (if applicable). <u>128-004.02C</u> If the licensee wishes to place his/her license on either inactive or lapsed status s/he must: 1. Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. 128-004.02D The Department will notify the licensee in writing of the acceptance or	
months of the date of expiration or an application for waiver of continuing competency; and 5. Documentation relating to misdemeanor or felony conviction(s) or licensure revocation, suspension, limitation or disciplinary action since the last renewal (if applicable). <u>128-004.02C</u> If the licensee wishes to place his/her license on either inactive or lapsed status s/he must: 1. Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. 128-004.02D The Department will notify the licensee in writing of the acceptance or	4. Attestation of completing 30 hours of continuing education earned within 24
5. Documentation relating to misdemeanor or felony conviction(s) or licensure revocation, suspension, limitation or disciplinary action since the last renewal (if applicable). <u>128-004.02C</u> If the licensee wishes to place his/her license on either inactive or lapsed status s/he must: 1. Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. The Department:	months of the date of expiration or an application for waiver of continuing
revocation, suspension, limitation or disciplinary action since the last renewal (if applicable). <u>128-004.02C</u> If the licensee wishes to place his/her license on either inactive or lapsed status s/he must: 1. Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or The fee of \$25; or a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. The Department:	competency; and
renewal (if applicable). <u>128-004.02C</u> If the licensee wishes to place his/her license on either inactive or lapsed status s/he must: 1. Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. 128-004.02D The Department will notify the licensee in writing of the acceptance or	5. Documentation relating to misdemeanor or felony conviction(s) or licensure
128-004.02C If the licensee wishes to place his/her license on either inactive or lapsed status s/he must: 1. Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or The Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. 128-004.02D The Department will notify the licensee in writing of the acceptance or	revocation, suspension, limitation or disciplinary action since the last
status s/he must: 1. Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed.	renewal (if applicable).
status s/he must: 1. Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed.	120,004,020. If the licenses wishes to place his /her license, on either insetive or lenged
1. Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or The fee of the Department licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. 128-004.02D The Department will notify the licensee in writing of the acceptance or	
the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. 128-004.02D The Department will notify the licensee in writing of the acceptance or	Status s/ne must:
the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. 128-004.02D The Department will notify the licensee in writing of the acceptance or	1 Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to
a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and b. The fee of \$25; or 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. 128-004.02D The Department will notify the licensee in writing of the acceptance or	
b. The fee of \$25; or 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. <u>128-004.02D</u> The Department will notify the licensee in writing of the acceptance or	
b. The fee of \$25; or 2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. <u>128-004.02D</u> The Department will notify the licensee in writing of the acceptance or	
2. Request that his/her licensed be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. <u>128-004.02D</u> The Department will notify the licensee in writing of the acceptance or	,
the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. <u>128-004.02D</u> The Department will notify the licensee in writing of the acceptance or	
the Department: a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed. <u>128-004.02D</u> The Department will notify the licensee in writing of the acceptance or	
<u>128-004.02D</u> The Department will notify the licensee in writing of the acceptance or	
<u>128-004.02D</u> The Department will notify the licensee in writing of the acceptance or	
	 The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed.
	400,004,000. The Department will notify the lineness in writing of the presentance on
	uental of the request to allow the license to be placed on lapsed of inactive status.
<u>128-004.03 Second Notice:</u> The Department will send to each licensee who fails to renew	128-004-03 Second Notice: The Department will send to each licensee who fails to renew
his/her license or place the license on inactive or lapsed status in response to the first notice,	
a second notice of renewal pursuant to 172 NAC 128-004.01 that specify:	

November 1, 20	05 REGULATION AND LICENSURE 172 NAC 128
1	That the licensee failed to pay the renewal fee;
2.	
	That the licensee is subject to an administrative penalty pursuant to 172 NAC
0.	128-
	- 018 if s/he practices after the expiration date;
Λ	
4.	
	and documentation of continuing competency hours within that time, no order of
-	revocation will be entered; and
	That upon failure to receive \$25 in addition to the regular renewal fee, and
	documentation of continuing competency hours, the license will be revoked pursuant to 172 NAC 128-005.
<u> </u>	-004.03A The licensee must apply for renewal by submitting to the Department:
	1. The renewal notice:
	2. The renewal fee and the additional late fee of \$25;
	3. The licensee's social security number;
	4. Attestation by the licensee:
	a. That s/he has not practiced in Nebraska since the expiration of
	his/her license; or
	b. To the actual number of days practiced in Nebraska since the
	expiration of his/her license;
	5. Attestation of completing 30 hours of continuing education earned within 24
	months of the date of expiration or an application for waiver of continuing
	competency; and
	 6. Documentation relating to misdemeanor or felony conviction(s) or licensure
	revocation, suspension, limitation or disciplinary action since the last
	renewal (if applicable).
	renewal (il applicable).
128	-004.03B If the licensee wishes to place his/her license on either inactive or lapsed
Side	us s/he must:
	1 Deguast that his/her license he placed on inactive status by submitting to
	 Request that his/her license be placed on inactive status by submitting to the Department.
	the Department:
	a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked inactive; and
	b. The fee of \$25; or
	2. Request that his/her license be placed on lapsed status by submitting to the
	Department:
	a. The renewal notice with a check in the box marked lapsed.

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE	172 NAC 128

denial of the request to allow the license to be placed on lapsed or inactive status.

<u>128-004.04</u> When any licensee fails, within 30 days of expiration of a license, to pay the renewal fee, to submit documentation of continuing competency, and/or to pay an additional late fee of \$25, the Department will automatically revoke the license without further notice of hearing and makes proper record of the revocation.

<u>128-004.05</u> Failure to meet the continuing competency requirement for renewal within 30 days of expiration of his/her license will constitute non-renewal of a license, unless a waiver of continuing competency is granted or the license is placed on inactive or lapsed status. When any licensee fails, within 30 days of expiration of a license, to meet the continuing competency requirements for renewal, and pay an additional late fee of \$25, the Department revokes the license after notice and opportunity for hearing. Hearings held before the Department will be conducted pursuant to <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> §§ 84-901 to 84-920, Administrative Procedure Act and 184 NAC 1, Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Department.

<u>128-004.06</u> When the licensee has given notification to the Department that s/he desires to have the license lapse or be placed on inactive status upon expiration, 172 NAC 004.04 and 004.05 will not apply.

<u>128-004.07</u> The Department may refuse to renew a license for falsification of any information submitted for renewal of a license. The refusal must be made pursuant to <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> §§ 71-149 to 71-155 and 184 NAC 1, Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Department.

<u>128-004.08</u> An individual who practices after the expiration of his/her credential, is subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty pursuant to 172 NAC 128-018, or such other action as provided in the statutes and regulations governing the credential.

<u>128-005 CREDENTIAL REVOCATION FOR FAILURE TO MEET RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS:</u> The Department will revoke a credential when the credential holder fails to meet the renewal requirements.

<u>128-005.01</u> Revocation for Nonpayment of Renewal Fee or Late fee, or Failure to Submit Documentation of Continuing Competency within 30 Days of Expiration of the Credential.

<u>128-005.01A</u> When a credential holder fails to pay the required renewal fee, to submit documentation of continuing competency, and/or to pay a late fee of \$25 and fails to request that his/her credential be placed on either inactive or lapsed status within 30 days of its expiration, the Department automatically revokes the credential without further notice or hearing.

<u>128-005.01A1</u> A post revocation notice will be sent which will specify that:

- The credential holder was given a first and final notice of renewal requirements and the respective dates for these notices;
- 2. The credential failed to renew the credential or to request that his/her credential be placed on inactive or lapsed status;

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE	172 NAC 128

3. Department has revoked the credential; and

4. The credential holder has a right to request reinstatement of the credential.

128-005.02 Revocation for Failure to Meet Continuing Competency Requirements.

<u>128-005.02A</u> When a credential holder fails within 30 days of the expiration of his/her credential to meet the continuing competency requirement, the Department revokes his/her credential after notice and opportunity for a hearing.

<u>128-005.02A1</u> The revocation notice for failure to meet continuing competency requirements specifies that:

- The credential holder was given a first and second notice of failure to meet the continuing competency requirement and the respective dates of each notice;
- 2. The credential holder failed to meet continuing competency renewal requirements or to have his/her credential timely placed on inactive or lapsed status;
- 3. The credential has been revoked for failure to meet continuing competency requirements within 30 days after expiration of the credential and that the revocation will become final unless a request for hearing is filed by the credential holder with the Department within 30 days of date of receipt of the notice; and
- The credential holder has a right to request reinstatement of the credential after revocation.

128-006 CONTINUING COMPETENCY

<u>128-006.01</u> General Requirements for Licensee: On or before January 1 of each evennumbered year, every Pharmacist who is licensed in the State of Nebraska must as a condition for renewal of his/her license:

<u>128-006.01A</u> Complete 30 hours of acceptable continued education during the preceding 24 month period, no more hours than the total number of acceptable hours offered in Nebraska will be required during this period.

<u>128-006.01A1</u> The Board of Pharmacy has approved the following providers of continuing education:

1. The Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE);

2. The Nebraska Council on Continuing Pharmaceutical Education; or
 3. Other providers demonstrating the same quality standards as those

established in the Criteria for Quality of ACPE.

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE	172 NAC 128

<u>128-006.01B</u> Be responsible for maintaining in his/her personal files certificates or records of credit from acceptable continuing education activities attended.

<u>128-006.02</u> Wavier of Continuing Competency: The Department, on recommendation of the Board, may waive the continuing competency requirements, in whole or in part, for any two year license or for the period of time when a licensee submits documentation that circumstances beyond his/her control prevented the completion of such requirements.

<u>128-006.02A</u> Such circumstances will include situations in which the licensee:

- Holds a Nebraska pharmacist license but has not practiced in Nebraska during the 24 months immediately preceding the license renewal date; or
 Has been in the service of regular armed forces of the United States during any part of the 24 months immediately preceding the license renewal date;
 - or 3. Has been suffering from a serious or disabling illness or physical disability which prevented completion of the required number of continuing education hours during the 24 months immediately preceding the license renewal date: or
 - Has been first licensed in Nebraska within 24 months immediately preceding the renewal date.

<u>128-006.02B</u> Application for Wavier of Continuing Competency: Any licensee who seeks wavier of continuing competency requirements, in part or in total, for any two year licensing period must apply to the Department. The Department, on the recommendation of the Board, may waive continuing competency requirements in part or in total for any two year period.

<u>128-006.03</u> Audit of Continuing Competency: The Board may biennially select, in a random manner, a sample of the licensee renewal applications for audit of continuing competency. Licensees selected for audit are required to produce documentation of his/her continuing education activities listed on his/her renewal application.

<u>128-006.03A</u> The Department will send to each licensee selected for audit a notice of audit.

- <u>128-006.03B</u> When selected for audit the licensee must provide satisfactory documentation of attendance at or participation in the acceptable continuing education activities listed on the licensees attestation of continuing competency of his/her renewal application.</u>
- <u>128-006.03C</u> Failure to comply with the audit may be grounds for non-renewal of the license.

<u>128-007 GROUNDS ON WHICH THE DEPARTMENT MAY DENY, REFUSE RENEWAL OF, OR</u> <u>DISCIPLINE A LICENSE</u>

128-007.01 The Department will deny an application for a license when the applicant fails to

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE	172 NAC 128

meet the requirements for licensure pursuant to 172 NAC 128-003 or is found to be in violation of any of the provisions of 172 NAC 128.

<u>128-007.02</u> The Department will refuse renewal of a license if the licensee fails to meet the requirements pursuant to 172 NAC 128-004, 128-006.03C, or 128-007.03.

<u>128-007.03</u> The Department may deny, refuse renewal of, limit, suspend, or revoke licenses for any of the following grounds:

- Fraud, forgery, or misrepresentation of material facts, in procuring or attempting to procure a license or certificate;
 - Grossly immoral or dishonorable conduct evidencing unfitness or lack of proficiency sufficient to meet the standards required for practice of the profession in this state;
 - Habitual intoxication or dependence or failure to comply with a treatment program or an aftercare program entered into under the Licensee Assistance Program (LAP) established pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-172.01;
- 4. Conviction of a misdemeanor or felony under state law, federal law, or the law of another jurisdiction and which, if committed within this state, would have constituted a misdemeanor or felony under state law and which has a rational connection with the applicant's, or licensee's fitness or capacity to practice the profession;
 - 5. Practice of the profession (a) fraudulently, (b) beyond its authorized scope, (c) with manifest incapacity, (d) with gross incompetence or gross negligence, or (e) in a pattern of negligent conduct. Pattern of negligent conduct means continued course of negligent conduct in performing the duties of the profession;
- 6. Practice of the profession while the ability to practice is impaired by alcohol, controlled substances, narcotic drugs, physical disability, mental disability, or emotional disability;
 - 7. Physical or mental incapacity to practice the profession as evidenced by a legal adjudication or a determination thereof by other lawful means;
 - 8. Permitting, aiding, or abetting the practice of a profession or the performance of activities requiring a license/certificate/registration/permit by a person not licensed/certified/registered/permitted to do so;
- 9. Having had his/her license, certificate, registration, or permit denied, refused renewal, limited, suspended, or revoked or having had such license, certificate, or registration disciplined in any other manner in accordance with <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> § 71-155 by another state or jurisdiction to practice the particular profession involved, based upon acts by the applicant, licensee, certificate holder, registrant, or permit holder similar to acts described in this section. A certified copy of the record of denial, refusal of renewal, limitation, suspension, or revocation of a license, certificate, registration, or permit or the taking of other disciplinary measures against it by another state or jurisdiction will be conclusive evidence;
 - 10. Unprofessional conduct, which term includes all acts pursuant to <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> § 71-148 and such other acts as may be defined in rules and regulations adopted and promulgated by the Board with the approval of the Department;
 - 11. Use of untruthful or improbable statements, or flamboyant, exaggerated, or extravagant claims concerning such licensee's/certificate

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE	172 NAC 128

holder's/registrant's/permit holder's professional excellence or abilities, in advertisements;

- 12. Conviction of fraudulent or misleading advertising or conviction of a violation of the Uniform Deceptive Trade Practices Act;
- 13. Distribution of intoxicating liquors, controlled substances or drugs for any other than lawful purposes;
- 14. Willful or repeated violations of the Uniform Licensing Law or these rules and regulations;
- 15. Unlawful invasion of the field of practice of any profession mentioned in the Uniform Licensing Law which the licensee is not licensed or certified to practice;
 - 16. Practicing the profession of Pharmacy while his/her license is suspended or in contravention of any limitation placed upon his/her license;
- 17. Physical or mental illness or physical or mental deterioration or disability which would render the applicant or licensee unqualified to practice Pharmacy;
 - 18. Refusal of an applicant for a license or of a licensee to submit to a physical or mental examination request by the Board, pursuant to <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> §§ 71-161.12 thru 71-161.16 to determine his/her qualifications to practice or to continue in the practice of Pharmacy;
- 19. Violation of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act or any rules and regulations adopted pursuant to the Act; and
- 20. Failure to file a report pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-168.

<u>128-008</u> RE-CREDENTIALING: This section applies to individuals previously issued a Nebraska credential who have lost the legal authority to practice in total or in part and who seek the authority to return to practice in Nebraska with a valid Nebraska credential.

128-008.01 Eligibility

<u>128-008.01A</u> An individual whose credential has been previously:

- 1. Placed on lapsed status;
- 2. Placed on inactive status;
 - Revoked for failure to meet the renewal requirements;
- Suspended or limited for disciplinary reasons; or
- 5. Voluntarily surrendered or voluntarily limited for an indefinite period of time;
- may request, at any time, to be re-credentialed and re-authorized to practice under the credential, in accord with these regulations.
 - <u>128-008.01B</u> An individual whose credential has been revoked for disciplinary reasons may apply for reinstatement only after a period of two years has elapsed from the date of revocation.</u>

<u>128-008.01C</u> An individual who practices prior to re-credentialing, is subject to:

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE	172 NAC 128
1	 Assessment of an Administrative Penalty pursuant t 	:0 172 NAC 128-018 ,
2.	and Limitation or other sanction on the credential, or deni	ial of the request to be
Ĺ.	re-credentialed and re-authorized to practice under	•
	referral for prosecution for uncredentialed practice	
	statutes and regulations governing the credential.	
<u>128-008.02 Re</u>	equirements for Restoration from Lapsed Status: A per	r son whose credential
has been place	ed on lapsed status may have their credential restored	from lapsed to active
status by the D	Department upon proof to the Department that they m	eet the requirements
pursuant to 172	2 NAC 128-003.	
100.000 (024. If the Department has ovidened that an applicat	at has prestiged while
	02A If the Department has evidence that an applicar edential was lapsed, the Department may:	it has practiced while
	edential was lapsed, the Department may.	
<u> </u>	Assess an Administrative Penalty pursuant to 172 N	AC 128-018:
2.	Initiate disciplinary action against the lapsed creden	
3		
4	Restore the credential to active status and impose	
	sanctions on the credential.	
	<u>02B</u> If the Department has evidence that an applicar	•
	ation of the statutes and regulations governing the crede	ential, the Department
may:		
1	Initiate disciplinary action against the lapsed creden	utial:
1. 2	Deny the request to restore the credential from laps	
	Restore the credential to active status and impose	
	sanctions on the credential.	
<u> </u>	<u>02C</u> The Department will act within 150 days on all co	mpleted applications.
400.000	00D. The englisher twill be may ideal with metice and the	an a suto os itos famílio a suis su
<u>128-008.(</u>	<u>02D</u> The applicant will be provided with notice and the c	pportunity for nearing
	with the Department's Rules of Practice and Procedur	
	1 to 84-920 before any of the actions pursuant to 172 N 02B are final.	IAC 120-000.02A and
+20=000.0		
	equirements to Move a Credential from Inactive to Act	tive Status: A person
	al has been placed on inactive status may have his/her	
inactive to acti	tive status upon proof to the Department that they	/ meet the following
requirements:		-
4 14		
1. Mee	et renewal requirements, including:	
(2)	The continuing competency requirements;	
	Paying the renewal fee and any other applicable fee	2S:

EFECTIVE DATE NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES November 1, 2005 REGULATION AND LICENSURE 172 NAC 128

2. Attest:

- (a) That s/he has not practiced in Nebraska since s/he last held an active credential; or
- (b) To the actual number of days practiced if the applicant has practiced in Nebraska since s/he last held an active credential.

<u>128-008.04 Procedures for Moving from Inactive to Active Status:</u> To move a credential from inactive status to active status, the applicant must submit the following to the Department:

- 1. A written application which contains the following information about the applicant:
 - a. Name;

b. Address;

c. Social security number;

- d. If the applicant holds a professional credential in another state, a list of the state(s) and type of credential; and
- e. A statement describing all:

 (1) Felony or misdemeanor convictions during the time period since the credential was active;

(a) If the applicant has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, provide copies of:

- [1] Official Court Record, which includes charges and disposition;
 - [2] Arrest records;
 - [3] A letter from the applicant explaining the nature
 - of the conviction;

[4] All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or alcohol related offense and if treatment was obtained and/or required; and [5] A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if the applicant is currently on probation.

> (2) Revocations, suspensions, or other disciplinary actions against any professional credential held by the applicant during the time period since the credential was active;

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRAS	KA HEALTH /	ND HUMAN SI	ERVICES	
November 1, 2005	RI	EGULATION /	ND LICENSUF	RE	172 NAC 128
	(3) Disc i	credential by disciplinary a	y another state action, including	, submit an charges and	ainst_the_applicant's _official_copy_of_the d disposition; and sional credential held
f	Attestation been met;	that the conti	nuing competen	cy requireme	ents for renewal have
	renewal fee station by ap	•	applicable fees).	
a.	That s/he credential;	•	iced in Nebrasł	a since s/he	e last held an active
b			days practiced held an active		cant has practiced in
<u>128-008.04</u> Departmer		plicant has pr	acticed while hi	s/her creden	tial was inactive, the
3.	Initiate disc Deny the re Move the	ciplinary actior	active status a	dential; from inactiv	AC 128-018; e to active status; or limitation(s) or other
			ommitted any o the Departmen		of the statutes and
	Deny the re- Move the c	equest to mov	ctive status and	from inactiv	e to active status; or ation(s) or other
			ant to 172 NAC g will be given t		A or 128-008.04B, a int.
<u>128-008.04</u>	<u>4D</u> The Dep	partment will a	ct within 150 da	ys on all cor	npleted applications.
Failure to Meet the	he Renewal	Requirements	: An applicant	for reinstater	wing Revocation for ment who applies not quirements must:
1. Meet	t the renewa	I requirement	s, including:		
a. b.			ncy requiremen the late fee of \$		other applicable fees;

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE	- 172 NAC 128

2.	- Attest:
	a. That s/he has not practiced in Nebraska since s/he last held an active credential, or
	 b. To the actual number of days practiced if the applicant has practiced in Nebraska since s/he last held an active credential.
	6 Procedures for Reinstatement Within One Year Following Revocation for Failure
ollowing r	<u>ne Renewal Requirements:</u> To reinstate a credential not more than one year evocation for failure to meet renewal requirements, the applicant must submit the o the Department:
1	- A written application which contains the following information about the applicant:
	a. Name;
	b. Address;
	 - C. Social security number; - If the applicant holds a professional credential in another state, a list of the
	state(s) and type of credential; and
	e. A statement describing all:
	(1) Follow or mindomooner convictions during the time period since the
	(1) Felony or misdemeanor convictions during the time period since the credential was active;
	(a) If the applicant has been convicted of a felony or
	misdemeanor, provide copies of:
	[1] Official Court Record, which includes charges and
	disposition;
	[2] Arrest records; [3] A letter from the applicant explaining the nature of the
	conviction;
	[4] All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of
	treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or alcohol
	related offense and if treatment was obtained and/or
	required; and
	[5] A letter from the probation officer addressing
	probationary conditions and current status, if the
	applicant is currently on probation.
	(2) Revocations, suspensions, or other disciplinary actions against any
	professional credential held by the applicant during the time period

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE 172 NAC 128
	since the credential was revoked;
	(a) If any disciplinary action was taken against the applicant's credential by another state, submit an official copy of the disciplinary action, including charges and disposition; and
	(3) Disciplinary charges pending against any professional credential held by the applicant.
f.	Attestation that the continuing competency requirements for renewal have been met;
	renewal fee, the late fee of \$35 and any other applicable fees. estation by the applicant:
a	That s/he has not practiced in Nebraska since s/he last held an active credential; or
b	To the actual number of days practiced if the applicant has practiced in Nebraska since s/he last held an active credential.
	(1) If an applicant has practiced after his/her credential was revoked the Department may assess an Administrative Penalty pursuant to 172 NAC 128-018 in which case a notice and opportunity for hearing will be sent to the applicant.
	(2) If an applicant has practiced after his/her credential was revoked, or has committed any other violation of the statutes and regulations governing the credential, other action may be taken pursuant to 172 NAC 128-008.06B below.
The Departmen <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u>	t will forward the application to the Board for its recommendation pursuant to § 71-110 (5).
<u> 128-008.0</u>	<u>06A</u> The Board's recommendation to the Department may be to:
<u> </u>	Reinstate the credential;
2.	Reinstate the credential with terms, conditions or restrictions; or
	Deny reinstatement.
128-008 0	<u>D6B</u> Upon receipt of the Board's recommendation, the Department will, within
	send to the applicant a written notice of the Department's response. The
Departme	
1	Reinstate the credential. An Administrative Penalty may be assessed pursuant to 172 NAC 128-018 if warranted;
<u> </u>	If the Department determines that the applicant has committed acts or offenses prohibited by <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> §§ 71-147 or 71-148, the

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE	172 NAC 128

Department may:

- a. Reinstate the credential with terms, conditions or restrictions. In such case the applicant will be provided notice and the opportunity for hearing before the Department pursuant to the Department's Rules of Practice and Procedure and <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> §§ 84-901 to 84-920. An Administrative Penalty may be assessed pursuant to to172 NAC 128-018 if warranted; or
 - b. Deny reinstatement. In such case the applicant will be provided notice and the opportunity for hearing before the Department pursuant to the Department's Rules of Practice and Procedure and <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> §§ 84-901 to 84-920.

<u>128-008.07</u> Requirements for Reinstatement More Than One Year Following Revocation for Failure to Meet the Renewal Requirements: An applicant for reinstatement who applies more than one year after revocation for failure to meet the renewal requirements must:

- 1. Petition the Board for reinstatement as prescribed in <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> § 71-161.05. The petition for reinstatement must be accompanied by:
 - a. Verified recommendations from at least two credentialed practitioners of the same profession as the petitioner each having personal knowledge of the activities of the petitioner since the credential was revoked; and
 - b. Verified recommendations from at least two citizens each having personal knowledge of the activities of the petitioner since the credential was revoked.
- 2. Meet the renewal requirements, including:

The continuing competency requirements; and

b. Paying the renewal fee, the late fee of \$75 and any other applicable fees.

- - a. That s/he has not practiced in Nebraska since s/he last held an active credential; or
 - b. To the actual number of days practiced if the petitioner has practiced in Nebraska since s/he last held an active credential.

<u>128-008.08</u> Procedures for Reinstatement More Than One Year Following Revocation for Failure to Meet Renewal Requirements: An applicant for reinstatement more than one year following revocation for failure to meet renewal requirements must submit to the Board:

1. A petition for reinstatement:

a. Stating the reason the petitioner believes his/her credential should be

EFECTIVE DATE November 1, 2005	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES REGULATION AND LICENSURE 172 NAC 128
b	reinstated; Accompanied by verified recommendations from at least two credentialed practitioners of the same profession as the petitioner each having persona knowledge of the activities of the petitioner since the credential was revoked; and verified recommendations from at least two citizens each having personal knowledge of the activities of the petitioner since the credential was revoked. Containing the following information about the petitioner:
	 (1) Name; (2) Address; (3) Social security number; and (4) If the petitioner holds a professional credential in another state, a lis of the state(s) and type of credential; (5) A statement describing all:
	(a) Felony or misdemeanor convictions during the time period
	[1] If the petitioner has been convicted of a felony o misdemeanor, provide copies of:
	[a] Official Court Record, which includes charges and disposition; [b] Arrest records; [c] A letter from the petitioner explaining the nature of the conviction; [d] All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug
	and/or alcohol related offense and if treatment wa obtained and/or required; and [e] A letter from the probation officer addressing
	probationary conditions and current status, if the petitioner is currently on probation.
	(b) Revocations, suspensions, or other disciplinary actions agains any professional credential held by the petitioner during the time period since the credential was revoked;
	[1] If any disciplinary action was taken against th petitioner's credential by another state, submit an officia copy of the disciplinary action, including charges an disposition; and
	(c) Disciplinary charges pending against any professiona credential held by the petitioner.

EFECTIVE DATE November 1, 2005	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES REGULATION AND LICENSURE 172 NAC 128
	(6) Attestation that the continuing competency requirements for renewal have been met.
<u>2 The</u>	renewal fee, the late fee of \$75 and any other applicable fees.
	station by the petitioner:
- 0. Auto	Autor by the petitioner.
a.—	That s/he has not practiced in Nebraska since s/he last held an active credential; or
b.	
5.	Nebraska since s/he last held an active credential.
	(1) If a petitioner has practiced after his/her credential was revoked the Department may assess an Administrative Penalty pursuant to 172 NAC 128-018 in which case a notice and opportunity for hearing will be sent to the petitioner.
	(2) If a petitioner has practiced after his/her credential was revoked, or has committed any other violation of the statutes and regulations governing the credential, other action may be taken pursuant to 172 NAC 128-008.08F below.
128-008.0	A The petition to recommend reinstatement will be considered at the next
	the Board that is held, but not earlier than 30 days after the petition is filed.
meeting of	the board that is new, but not earlier than 50 days after the petition is med.
conclusive	<u>8B</u> Any petition to recommend reinstatement of a credential will be by acted upon by the Board within 180 days after the filing of a properly petition and the necessary accompanying documents with the Board.
	<u>8C</u> If the Board recommends reinstatement of the credential, no public bed be held on the petition.
credential,	<u>8D</u> Prior to any recommendation by the Board against reinstatement of the an opportunity for a formal public hearing on the petition will be granted by if formally requested by the petitioner.
	<u>008.08D1</u> The petitioner's request for a formal hearing must be submitted n 30 days of the Board's notification of an opportunity for a formal public ing.
otherwise by sending at his/her k records of	<u>8E</u> If the petitioner formally requests a formal public hearing or if the Board holds such a hearing, the petitioner will be given at least 30 days prior notice to the petitioner a copy of the notice of hearing by certified or registered mail ast known residence or business post office address as shown by the files or the Department or as otherwise known. Notice may be given to the petitioner al service. The hearing will be conducted pursuant to 172 NAC 1.
	<u>8F</u> The Board will review the petition to recommend reinstatement and the any hearing held, and submits its recommendation regarding reinstatement

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE	172 NAC 128

and the record on which such recommendation is made to the Department within 180 days of receipt of the petition to recommend reinstatement.

<u>128-008.08F1</u> If the Board recommends reinstatement of the credential, the Department may:

- 1. Accept the Board's recommendation and grant reinstatement of the credential.
- 2. If the Department determines that the Board's recommendation is: in excess of statutory authority; made upon unlawful procedure; unsupported by competent, material, and substantial evidence; or arbitrary or capricious, the department may not accept the Board's recommendation and either:

a. Deny reinstatement of the credential, or
 b. Grant reinstatement with terms, conditions, or restrictions.

<u>128-008.08F2</u> If the Board recommends denial of reinstatement, the Board will send to the petitioner a written notice of the Board's recommendation. The petitioner may appeal the Board's decision to the District Court of Lancaster County pursuant to <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> §§ 84-901 to 84-920.

 <u>128-008.08F3</u> If the Board recommends reinstatement with terms, conditions, or restrictions, the Department may:

- Accept the Board's recommendation and grant reinstatement with
 terms, conditions, or restrictions; or
 - 2. Not accept the Board's recommendation and either:

a. Deny reinstatement of the credential; or b. Grant reinstatement of the credential.

> <u>128-008.08F4</u> The Department will, within 150 days of receipt of the Board's recommendation, send to the petitioner a written notice of the Department's reinstatement with or without terms, conditions, or restrictions or denial of reinstatement of the credential.

> <u>128-008.08F5</u> The petitioner may appeal the Department's decision to the District Court of Lancaster County pursuant to <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> §§ 84-901 to 84-920.

<u>128-008.09</u> Requirements to Reinstate a Credential Following Suspension, Limitation, or <u>Revocation for Disciplinary Reasons</u>: An applicant for reinstatement following suspension, limitation, or revocation for disciplinary reasons must meet the following requirements:

1. Petition the Board for reinstatement;

EFECTIVE DATENEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICESNovember 1, 2005REGULATION AND LICENSURE172 NAC 128

	a.	The petition for reinstatement must be accompanied by verified recommendations from at least two credentialed practitioners of the same profession as the petitioner each having personal knowledge of the activities of the petitioner since the credential was suspended, limited, or revoked; and
	b.	Verified recommendations from at least two citizens each having personal knowledge of the activities of the petitioner since the credential was suspended, limited, or revoked.
2.		the reinstatement fee of \$75, and other profession-specific requirements if essly set by law;
3.	If the	e credential was revoked or suspended, attest:
	a. b.	That s/he has not practiced in Nebraska since s/he last held an active credential; or To the actual number of days practiced if the petitioner has practiced in Nebraska since s/he last held an active credential.
128-008.1	0 Pro	cedures for Reinstatement Following Suspension, Limitation, or Revocation
for Discipli	nary F	Reasons: An applicant for reinstatement following suspension, limitation, or sciplinary reasons must submit to the Board:
1.	A pe	tition for reinstatement:

- a. Stating the reason the petitioner believes his/her credential should be reinstated;
 - b. Accompanied by verified recommendations from at least two credentialed practitioners of the same profession as the petitioner each having personal knowledge of the activities of the petitioner since the credential was suspended, limited, or revoked; and verified recommendations from at least two citizens each having personal knowledge of the activities of the petitioner since the credential was suspended, limited, or revoked.

a. Containing the following information about the petitioner:

(1) (2) (3) (4)	Name; Address; Social security number; If the petitioner holds a professional credential in another state, a list of the state(a) and type of gredential; and
(5)	of the state(s) and type of credential; and A statement describing all: - (a) Felony or misdemeanor convictions during the time period since the credential was suspended, limited, or revoked;

EFECTIVE DATE November 1, 2005	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES REGULATION AND LICENSURE 172 NAC 128
	[1] If the petitioner has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, provide copies of:
	[a] Official Court Record, which includes charges and disposition;
	[b] Arrest records; [c] A letter from the petitioner explaining the nature of the conviction; [d] All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof
	of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or alcohol related offense and if treatment was obtained and/or required; and [e] A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if the petitioner is currently on probation.
	(b) Revocations, suspensions, or other disciplinary actions against any professional credential held by the petitioner during the time period since the credential was suspended, limited, or revoked;
	[1] If any disciplinary action was taken against the petitioner's credential by another state, submit an official copy of the disciplinary action, including charges and disposition; and
	(c) Disciplinary charges pending against any professional credential held by the petitioner;
	(6) Any continuing competency activities.
	reinstatement fee of \$75. station by the petitioner, if the credential was revoked or suspended:
a	That s/he has not practiced in Nebraska since s/he last held an active credential; or To the actual number of days practiced if the petitioner has practiced in Nebraska since s/he last held an active credential.
	 If a petitioner has practiced after his/her credential was revoked the Department may assess an Administrative Penalty pursuant to 172 NAC 128-018 in which case a separate notice and opportunity for hearing will be sent to the petitioner.
	(2) If a petitioner has practiced after his/her credential was revoked, or has committed any other violation of the statutes and regulations

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	
November 1, 2005	RECHLATION AND LICENSURE	172 NAC 128
	REGULATION AND LIGENOOKE	HZ NAC 120

governing the credential, other action may be taken pursuant to 172 NAC 128-008.10G below.

<u>128-008.10A</u> The Board will make a recommendation to the Director regarding reinstatement following disciplinary action. In determining whether reinstatement should be recommended, the Board may:

- 1. Request the Department investigate all activities of the petitioner since the disciplinary action was taken against him/her, including activities prohibited by Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 71-147 and 71-148.
- 2. Require the petitioner to submit to a complete diagnostic examination by one or more physicians appointed by the Board, the petitioner being free also to consult a physician or physicians of his/her own choice for a complete diagnostic examination and make available a report or reports thereof to the Board;
- 3. Require the petitioner to pass a written, oral, or practical examination or any combination of such examinations; or
- 4. Require the petitioner to complete additional education.

<u>128-008.10B</u> The petition to recommend reinstatement will be considered at the next meeting of the Board that is held, but not earlier than 30 days after the petition is filed.

<u>128-008.10C</u> Any petition to recommend reinstatement of a credential will be conclusively acted upon by the Board within 180 days after the filing of a properly prepared petition and the necessary accompanying documents with the Board.

<u>128-008.10D</u> If the Board recommends reinstatement of the credential, no public hearing need be held on the petition.

- <u>128-008.10E</u> Prior to any recommendation by the Board against reinstatement of the credential, an opportunity for a formal public hearing on the petition must be granted by the Board, if formally requested by the petitioner.
 - <u>128-008.10E1</u> The petitioner's request for a formal hearing must be submitted within 30 days of the Board's notification of an opportunity for a formal public hearing.
 - <u>128-008.10E2</u> If the petitioner had a hearing or an opportunity for a hearing on a prior petition to recommend reinstatement filed pursuant to <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> § 71-161.04 within a period of two years immediately preceding the filing of the current petition, the Board may grant or deny, without a hearing, the current petition to recommend reinstatement filed pursuant to <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> § 71-161.04.

<u>128-008.10F</u> If the petitioner formally requests a formal public hearing or if the Board otherwise holds such a hearing, the petitioner will be given at least 30 days prior notice by sending to the petitioner a copy of the notice of hearing by certified or registered mail

EFECTIVE DATE NE	BRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE 172 NAC 128
records of the De	own residence or business post office address as shown by the files or epartment or as otherwise known. Notice may be given to the petitioner
by personal serv	ice. The hearing will be conducted pursuant to 172 NAC 1.
examination or ir Board will submi	The Board reviews the petition to recommend reinstatement, any restigatory information and the record of hearing, if one was held. The t its recommendation to the Director within 180 days of receipt of the
petition to recorr	mend reinstatement.
<u> </u>	<u>0G1</u> If the Board recommends reinstatement of the credential:
	The Board will send its recommendation to the petitioner by certified mail along with notification that the petitioner must file an application for reinstatement with the Director.
2.	The petitioner must submit, to the Department, an application for reinstatement by the Director within 30 days of receipt of the Board's recommendation.
	a. The application must include:
	 (1) Name of the petitioner; and (2) Signed statement that the petitioner requests the Director to issue the credential in accordance with the Board's recommendation for reinstatement.
	Upon receipt of the application for reinstatement from the petitioner, the Department will submit the following to the Director:
	— —a. — The application; —b. — The written recommendation of the Board, including any finding of fact or order of the Board;
	 c. The petition submitted to the Board; d. The record of hearing, if any; e. Any pleadings, motions, requests, preliminary or intermediate rulings and orders, and similar correspondence to or from the Board and the petitioner.
4	The Director will issue a decision regarding reinstatement within 150 days of receipt of the petitioner's application for reinstatement. The Director's decision will be based upon a review of the record of the proceedings before the Board. The Director will not hold a second hearing. The Director may affirm, reverse or modify the Board's recommendation. A decision by the Director to reverse or modify the Board's recommendation will be based on finding that the Board's
	recommendation is: in excess of statutory authority, made upon unlawful procedure, unsupported by competent, material, and substantial evidence in view of the entire record, or arbitrary or

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE 172 NAC 128
	capricious.
	a. When the Director affirms, modifies or reverses the Board's recommendation for reinstatement, the Director will enter an Order setting forth the decision regarding reinstatement of the
	petitioner's credential. The order will be sent by certified mail to the petitioner; b. If the petitioner does not accept the Director's decision, s/he may appeal such decision to the District Court of Lancaster County pursuant to <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> §§ 84-901 to 84-920.
	008.10G2 If the Board recommends reinstatement of the credential with c, conditions, or restrictions:
	1. The Board will send its recommendation to the petitioner by certified mail along with notification that the petitioner must file an application for reinstatement with the Director.
	2. The petitioner must submit, to the Department, an application for reinstatement by the Director within 30 days of receipt of the Board's recommendation.
	a. The application must include:
	(1) Name of the petitioner; and (2) Signed statement that the petitioner requests the Director to issue the credential in accordance with the Board's recommendation for reinstatement.
	3. Upon receipt of the application for reinstatement from the petitioner, the Department will submit the following to the Director:
	 a. The application; b. The written recommendation of the Board, including any finding of fact or order of the Board; c. The petition submitted to the Board; d. The record of hearing, if any; e. Any pleadings, motions, requests, preliminary or intermediate rulings and orders, and similar correspondence to or from the Board and the petitioner.
	4. The Director will issue a decision regarding reinstatement within 150 days of receipt of the petitioner's application for reinstatement. The Director's decision will be based upon a review of the record of the proceedings before the Board. The Director will not hold a second

EFECTIVE DATE NEE November 1, 2005	BRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES REGULATION AND LICENSURE 172 NAC 128
	hearing. The Director may affirm, reverse or modify the Board's recommendation. A decision by the Director to reverse or modify the Board's recommendation will be based on finding that the Board's recommendation is: in excess of statutory authority, made upon unlawful procedure, unsupported by competent, material, and substantial evidence in view of the entire record, or arbitrary or capricious.
	a. When the Director affirms, modifies or reverses the Board's recommendation for reinstatement, the Director will enter an Order setting forth the decision regarding reinstatement of the petitioner's credential. The order will be sent by certified mail to the petitioner;
	b. If the petitioner does not accept the Director's decision, s/he
	may appeal such decision to the District Court of Lancaster County pursuant to <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> §§ 84-901 to 84-920.
petitioner a The petitio	<u>DG3</u> If the Board denies reinstatement, the Board will send to the written notice of the Board's recommendation to deny reinstatement. Ther may appeal the Board's decision to the District Court of Lancaster results to <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> §§ 84-901 to 84-920.
128 008 11 Brooduro	s for Restoration of Credentials Voluntarily Surrendered or Limited for
an Indefinite Period of	
	edentials voluntarily surrendered or limited for an indefinite period of <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> § 71-161.11 may be restored at the discretion of the
138,008,1	1.4.1 An applicant for restaration of a gradential that was valuatarily
	<u>1A1</u> An applicant for restoration of a credential that was voluntarily don't find for an indefinite period of time must submit to the
Departmer	n t:
1	A written application which contains the following information about the applicant:
	a. Name;
	b. Address; - c. Social security number;
	d. If the applicant holds a professional credential in another state,
	a list of the state(s) and type of credential; and e. A statement describing all:
	(1) Felony or misdemeanor convictions during the time
	period since the credential was active;
	(a) If the applicant has been convicted of a felony or

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE 172 NAC 128
	misdemeanor, provide copies of:
	[1] Official Court Record, which includes charges
·	and disposition;
	[2] Arrest records;
	[3] A letter from the applicant explaining the
	nature of the conviction;
	[4] All addiction/mental health evaluations and
	proof of treatment, if the conviction
	involved a drug and/or alcohol related offense
	and if treatment was obtained and/or
	required; and [5] A letter from the probation officer addressing
	probationary conditions and current status, if
	the applicant is currently on probation.
	(2) Revocations, suspensions, or other disciplinary actions
	against any professional credential held by the applicant
	during the time period since the credential was active;
	(a) If any disciplinary action was taken against the
	applicant's credential by another state, submit an
	official copy of the disciplinary action, including
	charges and disposition; and
	(3) Disciplinary charges pending against any professional
	credential held by the applicant.
	f. Any continuing competency activities.
	g. Attest:
	C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C
	(1) That s/he has not practiced in Nebraska prior to the
	voluntary surrender of his/her credential; or
	(2) To the actual number of days practiced if the applicant
	has practiced in Nebraska prior to the voluntary
	surrender of his/her credential.
128	3-008.11A2 If an applicant has practiced while his/her credential was
	untarily surrendered, the Department may:
	1. Assess an Administrative Penalty pursuant to 172 NAC 128-018;
	 Initiate disciplinary action against the credential; Deput the request to restore the credential;
	3. Deny the request to restore the credential; or
	 Restore the credential to active status and impose limitation(s) or other sanctions on the credential.
	Viner summing on the oreactilian.

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE	172 NAC 128

<u>128-008.11A3</u> If an applicant has committed any other violation of the statutes and regulations governing the credential while his/her credential was voluntarily surrendered or limited, the Department may:

Initiate disciplinary action against the credential;

2. Deny the request for restoration of the credential; or

 Restore the credential to active status and impose limitation(s) or other sanctions on the credential.

<u>128-008.11A4</u> In either event pursuant to <u>172</u> NAC <u>128-008.11A2</u> or <u>128-008.11A3</u>, a notice and the opportunity for hearing will be given to the applicant.

<u>128-008.11A5</u> The Department will act within 150 days on all completed applications.

<u>128-008.12</u> Procedures for Restoration of Credentials Voluntarily Surrendered or Limited for <u>a Specific and Definite Period of Time.</u>

<u>128-008.12A</u> Credentials voluntarily surrendered or limited for a specific and definite period of time as agreed to between the holder and Department pursuant to <u>Neb. Rev.</u> <u>Stat.</u> § 71-161.11, will be automatically restored at the expiration of that period of time.

<u>128-008.12B</u> If an individual has practiced while his/her credential was voluntarily surrendered for a specific and definite period of time, the Department may assess an Administrative Penalty pursuant to 172 NAC 128-018.

<u>128-008.13 Credentials Voluntarily Surrendered or Limited Permanently.</u>

<u>128-008.13A</u> Credentials that are voluntarily surrendered or limited permanently pursuant to <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> § 71-161.11 will not be restored.

<u>128-009 UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT</u>: In addition to the unlawful or unprofessional acts listed in <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> §§ 71-147 through 71-148, the following conduct will be considered unprofessional acts as defined by the Board per <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> § 71-147(10):

- Return of dispensed drugs or devices to saleable stock, unless specifically allowed by law;
- 2. Failure to conduct patient/client counseling, unless specifically exempt as provided in <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> §71-1,147.35;
- 3. Claiming credit for any continuing education activities not actually participated in and earned;
- Willfully or negligently violating the confidentiality between a pharmacist and a patient, except as allowed by law;
- 5. Any false or misleading statement on a pharmacy self inspection form;

EFECTIVE DATENEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICESNovember 1, 2005REGULATION AND LICENSURE172 NAC 128

- 6. Practicing pharmacy under a false or assumed name;
- 7. Except as otherwise permitted by law, dispensing, selling, administering, distributing, ordering, or giving to a person, known by the pharmacist to be an addict or any person previously drug dependent, any drug legally classified as a controlled substance;
- 8. Refusal to allow access to the records required to be kept pursuant to 175 NAC 8-006.03;
- 9. Refusal to cooperate or furnish evidentiary information, legally requested in writing, in an investigation by the Department or law enforcement of any alleged violation;
- 10. Violation of any provision(s) of the Pharmacy Practice Act, or the Uniform Controlled Substances Act, or the rules and regulations of the Department or of an action, stipulation, or agreement of the Board or Department;
- 11. Any violation of the federal Controlled Substances Act;
- 12. Exercising influence on the patient in such a manner as to exploit the patient for the financial gain of the pharmacist or of a third party, which includes, but is not limited to, the promotion or sale of services, goods, drugs, devices, or biologicals;
- 13. Refusal to provide professional service to a person because of such person's race, creed, color, or national origin;
 - 14. Dispensing, selling, or administering anabolic steroids to a person for other than therapeutic purposes;
 - 15. Lack of or inappropriate direction, collaboration or direct supervision of any person employed by, supervised by or assigned to the pharmacist;
- 16. Any violation of the Medicare / Medicaid anti-kickback statute, 42 United States Code Chapter 7 Section 1320a-7b(b), which prohibits illegal remuneration, including but not limited to any kick-back or bribe;
- 17. Any violation of the federal Resource Conservation and Recovery Act;
 - 18. Any violation of the federal Prescription Drug Marketing Act of 1987;
 - 19. Any violation of the federal Poison Prevention Packaging Act of 1970;
 - 20. Any violation of the Cancer Drug Repository Program Act;
 - 21. Any departure from or failure to conform to the ethics of the pharmacy profession, which ethics were adopted by the membership of the American Pharmacists Association on October 27, 1994, and are attached to these regulations and incorporated by this reference;
 - 22. Misrepresentation of material facts in applying for or procuring a renewal of a license/certification/registration/permit;
 - 23. Misrepresenting one's credentials in an application submitted to a healthcare facility, insurance company, or prospective employer; or
 - 24. The use of false or deceptive statements in any advertisement.

128-010 TEMPORARY EDUCATIONAL PERMIT

<u>128-010.01 Permit Requirements:</u> An applicant for a temporary educational permit must:

- 1. Have graduated from an accredited pharmacy program;
- 2. Be of good moral character and attained the age of 21;
- 3. Have been requested by an accredited hospital or clinic or an accredited pharmacy program in the State of Nebraska to serve as a graduate student in its approved program; and

4. Submit to the Department:

- a. An application pursuant to 172 NAC 128-003.01 item 6.a.(1) through (8) and (11) through (13);
- b. Name and location of the accredited hospital or clinic or the accredited pharmacy program where the applicant will be serving in a supervised educational program or the approved graduate pharmacy education program, which should include dates of service;
- c. A signed statement from the applicant requesting that a temporary educational permit be issued and verifying that all information in the application is true and correct.
- d. Official documentation that an accredited hospital or clinic or an accredited pharmacy program in the State of Nebraska has requested that the applicant will be serving as a graduate student in its approved program for a set period of time;
- e. The required temporary educational permit fee pursuant to 172 NAC 128-017; and
- f. A copy of a birth certificate, marriage license, driver's license, or other valid verification of age.

<u>128-010.02</u> The Department will act within 150 days upon all completed applications for licensure.

<u>128-010.03</u> Procedures for Renewal of Temporary Educational Permit: A temporary educational permit issued by the Department under the Act and these Regulations will expire one year from the date of issuance. The permit may be renewed for no more than five one-year periods.

<u>128-010.03A Renewal Process:</u> A temporary educational permit holder who wishes to renew his/her temporary educational permit must:

- 1. Provide documentation that s/he is currently enrolled in an supervised educational program or the approved graduate pharmacy education program;
- 2. Respond to the following questions:
 - a. Has your license/permit in any profession in another state been revoked, suspended, limited or disciplined in any manner?
 - b. Have you been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?

These questions relate to the time period since the last renewal of the permit or during the time period since the permit was issued.

3. Submit to the Department:

a. The renewal notice;

EFECTIVE DATE November 1, 2005

- b. Documentation that s/he is currently enrolled in a supervised educational program or the approved graduate pharmacy education program;
- c. If any disciplinary action was taken against the applicant's license by another state, an official copy of the disciplinary action including charges and disposition;
- d. If the licensee has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor:
 - (1) Official Court Record, which includes charges and disposition;
 - (2) Copies of arrest records;
 - (3) A letter from the licensee explaining the nature of the conviction;
 - (4) All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or alcohol related offense and if treatment was obtained and/or required; and
 - (5) A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status; if the applicant is currently on probation.

<u>128-010.03B First Notice</u>: At least 30 days before the temporary educational permit is due to expire, the Department will send a renewal notice by means of regular mail to each temporary educational permit holder at his/her last place of residence as noted in the records of the Department. It is the responsibility of the temporary educational permit holder, prior to the renewal period, to notify the Department of any name and/or address changes.

<u>128-010.03B1</u> The renewal notice will specify:

- The name of the temporary educational permit holder;
- The temporary educational permit holder's last known address of record;
- 3. The temporary educational permit number;
- 4. The expiration date of the temporary educational permit;
- 5. Answer the following questions either yes or no; if you answer yes, explain the circumstances and the outcome:
 - a. Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or a felony?
 - b. Have you ever been denied a license or the right to take an examination?
 - c. Have a current license in another state or jurisdiction?

(1) List all the other states/jurisdictions where you have been licensed or are currently licensed, including license number and expiration date.

EFECTIVE DATE	<u> </u>	
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE	172 NAC 128
	d. Has your pharmacist license in any s	state or jurisdiction ever
	been suspended, revoked, or discipl	ined in any manner? (if

applicable)

6. A signed statement from the applicant that he/she is renewing his/her temporary educational permit, is still in supervised educational program or the approved graduate pharmacy education program in the State of Nebraska, he/she is the person referred to in this renewal, and that the statements are true and complete.

<u>128-010.02B2</u> The permit holder must apply for renewal by submitting to the Department:

- 1. The renewal notice;
- 2. The permit holder's social security number;
- Documentation that s/he is currently enrolled in a supervised educational program or the approved graduate pharmacy education program;
- 4. Documentation relating to misdemeanor or felony conviction(s) or licensure revocation, suspension, limitation or disciplinary action (if applicable).

<u>128-010.03C</u> Second Notice: The Department must send to each temporary educational permit holder who fails to renew his/her temporary educational permit in response to the first notice, a second notice of renewal pursuant to 172 NAC 128-010.03B that specifies:

- The temporary educational permit holder failed to renew his/her temporary educational permit;
 - 2. The temporary educational permit has expired;
 - 3. The Department will suspend action for 30 days following the date of expiration;
 - 4. Upon receipt of the renewal notice and documentation of current enrollment, no order of revocation will be entered; and
 - 5. Upon failure to receive the renewal notice and documentation of current enrollment the temporary educational permit will be revoked pursuant to 172 NAC 128-005.

<u>128-010.03C1</u> The temporary educational permit holder must apply for renewal by submitting to the Department:

- 1. The renewal notice;
- 2. The permit holder's social security number;
- Documentation that s/he is currently enrolled in a supervised educational program or the approved graduate pharmacy education program;

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE	172 NAC 128

- 4. Attestation by the licensee:
 - That s/he has not practiced in Nebraska since the expiration of his/her permit; or
 - To the actual number of days practiced in Nebraska since the expiration of his/her license;
- 5. Documentation relating to misdemeanor or felony conviction(s) or licensure revocation, suspension, limitation or disciplinary action (if applicable).

<u>128-010.03D</u> When any permit holder fails, within 30 days of expiration of the permit, to submit documentation that s/he is currently enrolled in a supervised educational program or the approved graduate pharmacy education program, the Department will automatically revoke the permit without further notice of hearing and make proper record of the revocation.

<u>128-010.03E</u> The Department may refuse to renew a temporary educational permit for falsification of any information submitted for renewal of the permit. Such refusal will be made pursuant to <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> §§ 71-149 to 71-155 and 184 NAC 1.

128-011 PHARMACIST INTERN REQUIREMENTS

<u>128-011.01</u> An applicant for registration as a pharmacist intern may apply at any time following enrollment in an accredited pharmacy program, or having graduated from a foreign pharmacy program, or if a pharmacy graduate, not licensed in Nebraska, application may be made at any time prior to licensure as a pharmacist in Nebraska.

<u>128-011.02</u> An applicant for registration as a pharmacist intern on the basis of current enrollment in an accredited pharmacy program must:

- 1. Be currently enrolled in an accredited pharmacy program; and
- 2. Submit to the Department:
 - a. An application for registration as a pharmacist intern, that must include the following information:
 - (1) An application pursuant to 172 NAC 128-003.01 item 6.a.(1) through (8) and (11) through (13);
 - (2) Official documentation of the month and year the applicant enrolled in the pharmacy program and the expected month and year of graduation;
 - (3) A statement that the applicant is aware that s/he must not practice as a pharmacist intern without the immediate personal supervision of a licensed pharmacist; and
 - (4) A signed statement from the applicant verifying that all information in the application is true and correct;

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE	172 NAC 128

- b. The required licensure fee pursuant to 172 NAC 128-017; and
- c. A copy of a birth certificate, marriage license, driver's license, or other valid verification of age.
- <u>128-011.03</u> An applicant for registration as a pharmacist intern on the basis of graduation from a foreign pharmacy program must:
 - Have graduated from a foreign pharmacy program;
 - 2. Have obtained the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee (FPGEC) Certification given by NABP;
 - 3. Submit to the Department:

 An application for registration as a pharmacist intern, that must include the following information:

- (1) An application pursuant to 172 NAC 128-003.01 item 6.a.(1) through (8) and (11) through (13);
- (2) Official documentation of successful completion of a pharmacy degree from a foreign pharmacy program;
- (3) A copy of his/her certificate from the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee (FPGEC) Certification Program of NABP;
- (4) A statement that the applicant is aware that s/he must not practice as a pharmacist intern without the supervision of a licensed pharmacist; and
- (5) A signed statement from the applicant verifying that all information in the application is true and correct;
- (6) The required licensure fee pursuant to 172 NAC 128-017; and
- (7) A copy of a birth certificate, marriage license, driver's license, or other valid verification of age.

<u>128-011.04</u> An applicant for registration as a pharmacist intern on the basis of graduation from an accredited pharmacy program must:

- Have graduated from an accredited pharmacy program;
- 2. Submit to the Department:
 - a. An application for registration as a pharmacist intern, that must include the following information:
 - (1) An application pursuant to 172 NAC 128-003.01 item 6.a.(1) through (8) and (11) through (13);
 - (2) Official documentation of the month and year the applicant graduated from the pharmacy program;
 - (3) A statement that the applicant is aware that s/he must not practice as a pharmacist intern without the supervision of a licensed pharmacist; and

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE	172 NAC 128

- (4) A signed statement from the applicant verifying that all information in the application is true and correct;
- b. The required licensure fee pursuant to 172 NAC 128-017; and

c. A copy of a birth certificate, marriage license, driver's license, or other valid verification of age.

<u>128-011.05</u> The Department will act within 150 days upon all completed applications for licensure.

<u>128-011.06</u> A pharmacist intern must notify the Department of any change in enrollment, address, or name.

<u>128-011.07</u> A pharmacist intern registration based on enrollment in or graduation from an accredited pharmacy program expires not later than 15 months after the date of graduation or at the time of professional licensure, whichever comes first.

<u>128-011.08</u> A pharmacist Intern registration based on graduation from a pharmacy program located outside of the United States which is not accredited expires not later than 15 months after the date of issuance of the registration or at the time of professional licensure, whichever comes first.

<u>128-011.09</u> No person may function as a pharmacist intern until s/he receives a registration card from the Department. A pharmacist intern must have his/her registration card available at all times when functioning as an intern.

<u>128-011.10</u> When a pharmacist intern desires to obtain credit for experience received in a state other than Nebraska, s/he must abide by all the provisions of the internship rules in that state, and must provide evidence of the number of pharmacy internship hours actually participated in by the pharmacist intern from:

- The state Board of Pharmacy were the pharmacy internship hours were earned; or
- 2. The Nebraska-licensed pharmacist who supervised the training.

All pharmacy internship hours submitted to the Department must contain a notarized signature of the supervising Nebraska-licensed pharmacist or be certified by the state Board of Pharmacy.

<u>128-011.11</u> The maximum number of hours which may be accepted from experiential training directed by an accredited pharmacy program are:

- 1. 640 hours, if the applicant for licensure as a pharmacist was awarded a Bachelor's degree in Pharmacy; or
- 2. 1500 hours, if the applicant for licensure as a pharmacist was awarded a Doctor of Pharmacy degree.

<u>128-011.12</u> A pharmacist intern must be supervised at all times while performing the functions of a pharmacist intern, which may include all aspects of the practice of pharmacy, unless otherwise restricted. This supervision must be provided by a pharmacist who possesses a Nebraska pharmacist's license which is free from disciplinary measures at the time of supervision. This requirement for pharmacist supervision does not apply to pharmacist interns who are receiving experiential training directed by the accredited pharmacy program in which s/he is enrolled.

- <u>128-011.13</u> Registration as a pharmacist intern will remain in effect until the pharmacist intern gains licensure as a pharmacist, 15 months following graduation from an accredited pharmacy program, or dismissal or disenrollment from an accredited pharmacy program, whichever occurs first.
- <u>128-011.14</u> Each pharmacist intern must be identified as a pharmacist intern while performing the duties of an intern.
 - <u>128-011.15</u> In the case of a pharmacist intern, the result of failure to comply with any of these standards may be loss of accumulated pharmacy internship hours and revocation of any license issued on the basis of such pharmacy internship.

<u>128-011.16</u> A pharmacist intern must not supervise another pharmacist intern nor a pharmacy technician.

128-012 PHARMACIST INTERN & PHARMACY TECHNICIAN SUPERVISION REQUIREMENTS

- <u>128-012.01</u> A pharmacist may supervise pharmacist interns and pharmacy technicians in the following ratios:
- 1. A pharmacist may supervise up to two pharmacy technicians at any time, unless prohibited by a disciplinary action. (1:2)
 - 2. A pharmacist may supervise up to three pharmacist interns at any time, unless prohibited by a disciplinary action. (1:3)
- 3. A pharmacist may supervise any combination of pharmacy technicians and pharmacist interns at any time up to a total of three people, as long as no more than two are pharmacy technicians. (1:3)
- 4. The supervision ratios of these regulations do not apply to pharmacist interns who are receiving experiential training directed by the accredited pharmacy program in which he or she is enrolled.
- 5. A pharmacy may apply to use more than two pharmacy technicians per pharmacist and the Board may approve such an application under the following guidelines:
 - a. The pharmacy is participating in a scientific study based upon improved patient care or enhanced pharmaceutical care,
 - b. The pharmacy has provided the Board with the following information regarding the patient care study:

EFECTIVE DATE	- NEBRASKA HEALTH AND H	UMAN SERVICES	}
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND L	ICENSURE	<u> 172 NAC 128</u>
·			
	(1) Duration of the study, not	t to exceed 12 mor	nths.
	(2) Duration may be extended	d twice in not grea	ater than six month
	increments,	0	
	Goal of the study or the hypoth	esis being tested,	
d	-Names of the pharmacists part	icipating in the stu	dy,
	Expected date of completion of	f the study,	
<u> </u>	Expected date of study data to	be forwarded to th	ne Board, and
	An affidavit that the pharmacy v		
Ū	Board at the completion of the		-
	·		
	Board may revoke permission to	use more than tw	o pharmacy technicians
per	pharmacist at any time when they	have reason to be	elieve that patient care is
-	being benefitted by the study.		
	Board may grant permission to c	continue the practic	ces used in the study for
	24 months during the promulga		
	ning in these regulations will be co		
	ease in number of technicians pe		
		·	
<u>— 128-012.02</u> No	hing in these regulations will be co	ənstrued to prohibit	t one pharmacist intern or
one pharmacy t	echnician from being supervised	by more than one	pharmacist at any time.
<u>128-012.03</u> All	persons functioning as pharmacy	technicians must r	neet the requirements of
<u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u>	§ 71-1,147.33.		
	ch pharmacy technician must be	-identified as a ph	armacy technician while
performing the	luties of a technician.		
128-013 PHARMACI	UTICAL CARE REQUIREMENT	<u>'S</u>	
	pharmacist may enter into a pra		
practitioner to p	ovide pharmaceutical care accor	ding to written pro	tocols.
<u> <u> </u></u>	pharmacist must assure that the	Board is notified of	fany practice agreement.
	st be given to both the Board of		
	ard. Such notice must contain		
licensed medica	I practitioner(s) and a description	of the therapy beir	ng monitored or initiated.
<u> </u>	ppy of the practice agreement a	nd written protoco	Is must be available for
	ew by any representative of the D		
<u> </u>	py of the practice agreement or v	written protocols m	iust be sent to the Board
	n request from the Board.		
<u> </u>	ten notice must be given to the B	board at initiation a	nd at any time there is a
cha	nge in parties or protocols.		

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE	172 NAC 128

<u>128-013.03</u> Practice agreements and written protocols must be signed by the pharmacist and the medical practitioner and must be reviewed, signed, and dated every 12 months.

<u>128-013.04</u> Practice agreements and written protocols will cease immediately upon:

Loss of license of either the pharmacist or the medical practitioner, or

- 3. Disciplinary action limiting the ability of either the pharmacist or the medical practitioner to enter into practice agreements, or
 - 4. Individual decision or mutual agreement of the pharmacist(s) or medical practitioner(s) to end the agreement.

<u>128-013.05</u> Nothing in these agreements will allow a pharmacist to practice beyond his/her scope of practice.

128-014 DISPENSING REQUIREMENTS

<u>128-014.01</u> A prescription must contain the following information prior to being filled by the pharmacist:

- 2. Name of the drug, device, or biological,
- 3. Strength of the drug or biological, if applicable,
- 4. Dosage form of the drug or biological, if applicable,
- 5. Quantity of drug, device, or biological prescribed,
- a. The quantity for residents of long term care facilities must be 60 days, unless otherwise limited by the prescriber.
- 6. Directions for use,
 - 7. Date of issuance,
 - 8. Prescriber's name and the name of the supervising or collaborating physician, when applicable,
 - a. If the prescription is written, it must contain the prescriber's signature and the name of the prescriber stamped, typed, or clearly handwritten in addition to the signature.
 - 9. Number of authorized refills, and
 - When the refill designation on the prescription is prn or Pro re nata, such designation, unless otherwise limited, means:
 - (1) If a prescription for a controlled substance in Schedules III-V, refill 5 times in the 6 months from the date of issuance, or
 - (2) If a prescription for a non-controlled drug, device or biological, refill for 12 months from the date of issuance.

EFECTIVE DAT		BRASKA HEAL			
November 1, 20)05	REGULATI	ON AND LICEN	SURE	172 NAC 128
	(3)	Controlled Sub	ostances in Sche	edule II can	not be refilled and a
					ontrolled substance
10			has no meaning		
<u> </u>					the following additiona
	Information	i is requirea to c	e on the prescri	iption:	
		ent's address,			
		criber's address	,		
	<u> </u>	criber's D.E.A. r	egistration numl	ber.	
<u> </u>)2 A Chart C	order Must Conta	ain the Following	g Informatio	n:
1	Patient's n				
	 Patient S n Date of the 	,			
		, order, ie drug, device,	or biological		
			logical, if applica	able_	
					he dose to be given, and
	Prescriber			,	
0.	Preschber	S Hame.			
			ion to dianonaia		device or biological the
<u>128-014.(</u>) 3 Prescrip t	t ion Label: Pr i			device or biological, the
<u>—128-014.(</u> pharmaci) <u>3 Prescript</u> st assure th	ion Label: Pri at a legible pri		is affixed	device or biological, the to the container. Such
<u>128-014.(</u> pharmacii prescriptic	03 Prescrip st assure th on label must	tion_Label: Pri at a legible pri contain the foll	escription label owing informatio	is affixed m:	to the container. Such
<u>—128-014.(</u> pharmaci) <u>3 Prescrip</u> st assure th on label must Name, add	tion_Label: Pri at a legible pro contain the follo dress, and telep	escription label owing information ohone number of	is affixed on: of the dispe	
<u>128-014.(</u> pharmacii prescriptic) <u>3 Prescrip</u> st assure th on label must Name, add central fillir	tion Label: Pri at a legible pro contain the follo dress, and telep ng pharmacy, if	escription label owing informatio phone number c central fill is use	is affixed on: of the dispe	to the container. Such
<u>128-014.(</u> pharmacia prescriptic 1. 2.) <u>3 Prescrip</u> i st assure th on label must Name, add central fillir Serial num	tion Label: Pri at a legible pro contain the follo dress, and telep ng pharmacy, if ber of the prese	escription label owing information ohone number c central fill is use pription,	is affixed on: of the dispe	to the container. Such
<u>128-014.(</u> pharmacii prescriptic	<u>)3 Prescript</u> st assure th on label must Name, add central fillir Serial num Name of	tion Label: Pri at a legible pro contain the foll dress, and telep ng pharmacy, if ber of the prese the drug, device	escription label owing information ohone number c central fill is use pription,	is affixed on: of the dispe	to the container. Such
<u>128-014.(</u> pharmacia prescriptic 1	<u>)3 Prescrip</u> st assure th on label must Name, add central fillir Serial num Name of prescriber,	tion Label: Pri at a legible pro contain the foll dress, and telep og pharmacy, if ber of the prese the drug, device	escription label owing information ohone number of central fill is use pription, ce, or biologica	is affixed m: of the dispe d, l, unless ir	to the container. Such
<u>128-014.(</u> pharmacii prescriptic 1	<u>)3 Prescrip</u> st assure th on label must Name, add central fillir Serial num Name of prescriber,	tion Label: Pri at a legible pro contain the follo dress, and telep og pharmacy, if ber of the prese the drug, device f the drug or bio	escription label owing information ohone number c central fill is use pription,	is affixed m: of the dispe d, l, unless ir	to the container. Such
<u>128-014.(</u> pharmacii prescriptic 1	03 Prescrip st assure th on label must Name, add central fillir Serial num Name of prescriber, Strength o Directions	tion Label: Pri at a legible pro- contain the follo dress, and telep g pharmacy, if ber of the prese the drug, devic f the drug or bio for use,	escription label owing information ohone number of central fill is use cription, ce, or biologica logical, if applica	is affixed m: of the dispe d, I, unless ir able,	to the container. Such
<u>128-014.(</u> pharmacii prescriptic 1. 2. 3. 4. 5.	03 Prescrip st assure th on label must Name, add central fillir Serial num Name of prescriber, Strength o Directions	tion Label: Pri at a legible pro- contain the follo dress, and telep ng pharmacy, if ber of the prese the drug, device f the drug or bio for use, f drug, device,	escription label owing information ohone number of central fill is use cription, ce, or biologica logical, if applica	is affixed m: of the dispe d, I, unless ir able,	to the container. Such
<u>128-014.(</u> pharmacic prescription 1. 2. 3. 4. 5.	<u>)3 Prescript</u> st assure th on label must Name, add central fillin Serial num Name of prescriber, Strength o Directions Quantity o containers	tion Label: Pri at a legible pro- contain the follo dress, and telep ng pharmacy, if ber of the prese the drug, device for use, for use, for use,	escription label owing information ohone number of central fill is use cription, ce, or biologica logical, if applica or biological in	is affixed on: of the dispe d, I, unless ir able, the contai	to the container. Such onsing pharmacy and the nstructed to omit by the mer; except for unit-dose
<u>128-014.(</u> pharmacic prescription 1. 2. 3. 4. 5.	<u>)3 Prescrip</u> st assure th on label must Contral fillir Serial num Name of prescriber, Strength o Directions Quantity o containers Any cautio	tion Label: Pri at a legible pro- contain the folle dress, and telep og pharmacy, if ber of the prese the drug, device f the drug or bio for use, f drug, device, , nary statements	escription label owing information ohone number of central fill is use pription, or biological or biological in contained in the	is affixed on: of the dispe d, l, unless ir able, the contai e prescriptic	to the container. Such onsing pharmacy and the nstructed to omit by the mer; except for unit-dose
<u>128-014.(</u> pharmacii prescriptic 1	03 Prescript st assure th on label must Name, add central fillin Serial num Name of prescriber, Strength o Directions Quantity o containers Any cautio Name of th species of	tion Label: Pri at a legible pro- contain the follo dress, and telep og pharmacy, if ber of the prese the drug, device f the drug or bio for use, f drug, device, nary statements the animal,	escription label owing information ohone number of central fill is use pription, or biological or biological in contained in the	is affixed on: of the dispe d, l, unless ir able, the contai e prescriptic	to the container. Such ensing pharmacy and the nstructed to omit by the mer; except for unit-dose on,
<u>128-014.(</u> pharmacii prescriptic 1	03 Prescript st assure th on label must Name, add central fillin Serial num Name of prescriber, Strength o Directions Quantity o containers Any cautio Name of th species of	tion Label: Pri at a legible pro- contain the follo dress, and telep g pharmacy, if ber of the prese the drug, device f the drug or bio for use, f drug, device, nary statements the patient or if the	escription label owing information ohone number of central fill is use pription, or biological or biological in contained in the	is affixed on: of the dispe d, l, unless ir able, the contai e prescriptic	to the container. Such ensing pharmacy and the nstructed to omit by the mer; except for unit-dose on,
<u>128-014.(</u> pharmacia prescriptio 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 8.)3 Prescription st assure that assure the second must operation of the second must operation operations Name of the second must operation operatio operatio operatio operation operatio operation operation operati	tion Label: Pri at a legible pro- contain the follo dress, and telep ng pharmacy, if ber of the prese the drug, device for use, f drug, device, f nary statements ne patient or if the the animal, ne prescriber,	escription label owing information ohone number of central fill is use cription, ce, or biologica logical, if applica or biological in contained in the ne patient is nor	is affixed on: of the dispe d, l, unless ir able, the contain e prescription human, th	to the container. Such ensing pharmacy and the nstructed to omit by the mer; except for unit-dose on,
<u>128-014.(</u> pharmacia prescriptio 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 8.	 <u>D3</u> Prescription st assure the second second	tion Label: Pri at a legible pro- contain the follo dress, and telep g pharmacy, if- ber of the prese the drug, device, f the drug or bio for use, f drug, device, nary statements the animal, he prescriber, oscribed by a p	escription label owing information ohone number of central fill is use cription, ce, or biologica logical, if applica or biological in contained in the ne patient is nor	is affixed m: of the dispe d, I, unless ir able, the contai e prescriptio human, th	to the container. Such ensing pharmacy and the nstructed to omit by the mer; except for unit-dose on, he name of the owner and
<u>128-014.(</u> pharmacia prescriptio 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 8.	D3 Prescription st assure the state of the serial nume of the serial nume of the species of	tion Label: Pri at a legible pro- contain the follo dress, and telep og pharmacy, if- ber of the prese the drug, device f the drug or bio for use, f drug, device, f drug, device, nary statements the animal, the animal, the prescriber, escribed by a p	escription label owing information ohone number of central fill is use cription, ce, or biologica logical, if applica or biological in contained in the ne patient is nor	is affixed on: of the dispe d, l, unless ir able, the contai e prescriptio human, th ant, both th rvising phys	to the container. Such ensing pharmacy and the nstructed to omit by the on; except for unit-dose on, he name of the owner and
<u>128-014.(</u> pharmacia prescriptio 1. 	D3 Prescription st assure the second must of the second must be	tion Label: Pri at a legible pro- contain the follo dress, and telep og pharmacy, if ber of the prese the drug, device for use, f drug, device, f drug, device, f ary statements be patient or if the the animal, be prescriber, escribed by a p stant and the na . (<u>Neb. Rev. Sta</u> rm of the drug o	escription label owing information ohone number of central fill is use cription, ce, or biologica logical, if applica or biological in contained in the he patient is nor	is affixed on: of the dispe d, l, unless ir able, the contain e prescription human, th ant, both th rvising phys	to the container. Such ensing pharmacy and the nstructed to omit by the mer; except for unit-dose on, he name of the owner and he name of the physician

<u>128-014.04</u> Prescription Labels for Multi-Drug Containers: A pharmacist may dispense more than one drug or biological in the same container only when:

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE	172 NAC 128

- 1. Such container is prepackaged by the manufacturer, packager, or distributor and shipped directly to the pharmacy in this manner; or
- 2. Each drug or biological product is individually wrapped or hermetically sealed by either the pharmacist, manufacturer, packager, or distributor; or
- 3. The container does not accommodate greater than a one month supply of compatible dosage units and is labeled so as to identify each drug or biological in the container in addition to all information pursuant to 172 NAC 128-014.03.

<u>128-014.05</u> Prescriber's Employee or Agent: A prescription, chart order, or refill authorization issued by a prescriber may be communicated to a pharmacist or a pharmacist intern by an employee or agent of the prescriber.

128-015 PATIENT COUNSELING

<u>128-015.01</u> Only a pharmacist or a pharmacist intern can provide patient counseling, except as provided in <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> § 71-1,147.53.

<u>128-015.02</u> A verbal offer to counsel must be provided to the:

2. Patient's caregiver.

<u>128-015.03</u> Patient counseling must occur, unless one of the following is documented:

- Drug, device, or biological is being administered by a health care professional credentialed by the Department to a resident of a hospital or a long-term care facility,
 - 2. Patient or caregiver refuses to be counseled,
- 3. Pharmacist, in his/her professional judgement, determines that counseling could harm or injure the patient, or
 - 4. Prescriber designates "contact before counseling" or words of similar import on the prescription. In this instance, the pharmacist must contact the prescriber prior to counseling and may use his/her professional judgement regarding counseling following consultation with the prescriber.
- <u>128-015.04</u> Whenever a pharmacist receives a prescription for a brand name product and chooses to dispense a bioequivalent drug, device or biological, the pharmacist must advise the patient or the patient's caregiver that drug product selection has occurred. The patient or the patient's caregiver the pharmacist that s/he does not desire drug product selection.

<u>128-016 MAIL SERVICE PHARMACY LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:</u> Any person operating a mail service pharmacy outside of the State of Nebraska must obtain a mail service pharmacy license prior to shipping, mailing, or in any manner delivering dispensed prescription drugs as defined in <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> § 71-1,142 into the State of Nebraska.

<u>128-016.01</u> In order for the Board to determine that the requirements and qualifications are

EFECTIVE DATE	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	
November 1, 2005	REGULATION AND LICENSURE	172 NAC 128

substantially equivalent between Nebraska and the state, jurisdiction or territory where the pharmacy is located, and to assure that the Nebraska Secretary of State is designated the Agent of Service of Process in all matters regarding the Mail Service Pharmacy Licensure Act,

the applicant for a Mail Service Pharmacy License must submit the following information and the required fee pursuant to 172 NAC 128-017:

- - <u>2. Pharmacy street address,</u>
 - 3. Pharmacy telephone number,
 - 4. Pharmacy permit or license number and state of issuance,
 - 5. Expiration date of pharmacy permit or license number,
 - 6. Name of a pharmacist, employed by and working in the pharmacy, who has an active Nebraska pharmacist's license,
 - 7. License number of a pharmacist, employed by and working in the pharmacy, who has an active Nebraska pharmacist's license,
 - 8. Expiration date of the Nebraska pharmacist's license,
 - 9. Name of the pharmacist-in-charge,
 - 10. Mailing address of the pharmacist-in-charge,
 - 11. License number of the pharmacist-in-charge and state of issuance,
 - 12. Expiration date of the license of the pharmacist-in-charge,
 - 13. A copy of the most recent state pharmacy inspection from the state in which the pharmacy is located,
 - 14. Acknowledgment whether or not the pharmacy is a Verified Internet Pharmacy Practice Site (V.I.P.P.S.) pharmacy as certified by N.A.B.P., if applicable,
 - 15. A declaration that the Nebraska Secretary of State has been designated the Agent of Service of Process in all matters regarding the Mail Service Pharmacy Licensure Act, and
 - 16. A statement concerning licensure of the pharmacist-in-charge and the permit of the pharmacy in another State, including any history of disciplinary action on a professional credential or pharmacy permit, sent directly to the Department from the State Board or agency that issued the license or permit,
 - 17. An attestation from the applicant verifying that all information in the application is correct.

128-016.02 Renewal Licenses

- <u>128-016.02A Department Responsibilities:</u> The Department will:
- 1. Send a notice of expiration and an application for renewal to the applicant's preferred mailing address no later than 30 days prior to the expiration date. The license renewal notice specifies:
- a. Date of expiration;
- b. Fee for renewal;
 - c. License number;
 - d. Name and address of the pharmacy;

EFECTIVE DATE November 1, 2005	NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES REGULATION AND LICENSURE 172 NAC 128
	e. Name and license number of the designated Nebraska licensed pharmacist who is responsible for compliance with the Nebraska Mail Service Pharmacy Licensure Act;
	 A request for a current copy of the pharmacy credential issued by the State/Jurisdiction/Territory in which pharmacy is located; and A request for documentation pertaining to past disciplinary actions against the pharmacy credential.
2.	Issue a renewal when it determines that the applicant has submitted a completed application;
	Send to each licensee that fails to renew its license a second notice, which is the final notice and specifies that:
	 a. The licensee failed to pay the renewal fee or submit an application or both; b. The license has expired; c. The Department will suspend action for 30 days following the date of expiration;
	 Upon receipt of the renewal fee and completed renewal application, the Department will issue the renewal license; and That upon failure to receive the renewal fee and completed renewal application, the license will be lapsed.
4.	Place the mail service pharmacy license on lapsed status for nonpayment of fees if the licensee fails to renew the license. During this time, the mail service pharmacy may not ship, mail, or in any manner deliver dispensed prescription drugs into the State of Nebraska. The license remains in lapsed status until it is reinstated.
<u></u>	2B Licensee Responsibilities: The licensee must submit:
<u> </u>	The application for renewal; A current copy of the pharmacy credential issued by the
<u>3.</u> 4.	State/Jurisdiction/Territory the pharmacy is located in The name of the pharmacist-in-charge; The name and license number of the Nebraska licensed pharmacist who is responsible for compliance with the Nebraska Mail Service Pharmacy
	responsible for compliance with the Nebraska Mail Service Pharmacy Licensure Act; Documentation pertaining past disciplinary action against pharmacy (if applicable); and
6.	The required renewal fee pursuant to 172 NAC 128-017.17.

6. The required renewal fee pursuant to 172 NAC 128-017.17.

EFECTIVE DATE February 9, 2008

NEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES REGULATION AND LICENSURE

172 NAC 128

128-016.02C Refusal to Renew: The Department may refuse renewal of a mail service pharmacy license that fails to meet the requirements for renewal, including:

Violation of any of the provisions of the Mail Service Pharmacy Licensure Act, or 172 NAC 128-016.

128-016.03 Reinstatement from Lapsed Status: A pharmacy requesting reinstatement of its lapsed license must submit to the Department an application for reinstatement and pay the required license fee pursuant to 172 NAC 128-017.17. The application must conform to the requirements pursuant to 172 NAC 128-016.01.

128-016.03A Refusal to Reinstate: The Department may refuse reinstatement of a pharmacy license that fails to meet the requirements for reinstatement, including:

Violations of any of the provisions of the Mail Service Pharmacy Licensure Act, 172 NAC 128-016.

128-017 SCHEDULE OF FEES: The following fees have been set by the Department:

128-017.01 Initial License by Examination or Score Transfer Fee: By an applicant for a license to practice pharmacy, the fee of \$75 and the Licensee Assistance Program fee of \$1 for each year remaining during the current biennial renewal period.

128-017.02 Proration of Initial License by Examination or Score Transfer Fee: For issuance of a license that will expire within 180 days after its initial issuance date, a fee of \$25 and the Licensee Assistance Program fee of \$1.

- <u>128-017.03</u> Initial License by Reciprocity Fee: By an applicant for a license to practice pharmacy, the fee of \$75 and the Licensee Assistance Program fee of \$1 for each year remaining during the current biennial renewal period.
- 128-017.04 Proration of Initial License by Reciprocity Fee: For issuance of a license that will expire within 180 days after its initial issuance date, a fee of \$25 and the Licensee Assistance Program fee of \$1.
- 128-017.05 Pharmacist License Renewal Fee: By an applicant for renewal on a biennial basis of a license to practice pharmacy, the fee of \$75 and the Licensee Assistance Program fee of \$2.

172 NAC 128

<u>128-017.06 Inactive License Status Fee:</u> By an applicant to have his/her credential placed on inactive status, the fee of \$25.

<u>128-017.07</u> Renewal Late Fee: By an applicant for renewal on a biennial basis of credential, who fails to pay the renewal fee on or before the expiration date of his/her credential, the fee of \$25 in addition to the renewal fee.

<u>128-017.08</u> Certification of License Fee: For issuance of a certification of a credential, the fee of \$25. The certification includes information regarding:

1. The basis on which a credential was issued;

2. The date of issuance;

- 3. Whether disciplinary action has been taken against the credential; and
- 4. The current status of the credential.
- <u>128-017.09 Verification of License Fee:</u> For issuance of a verification of a credential, the fee of \$5. The verification includes written confirmation as to whether a credential was valid at the time the request was made.</u>
 - <u>128-017.10 Duplicate License Fee:</u> For a duplicate of original license document or reissued license, the fee of \$10.
- <u>128-017.11</u> Administrative Fee: For a denied credential or a withdrawn application, the administrative fee of \$25 will be retained by the Department, except if the credentialing fee is less than \$25, the fee will be forfeited and an examination fee will not be returned.
 - <u>128-017.12</u> Reinstatement Late Fee: For reinstatement of a credential for failure to meet renewal requirements:
 - 1. Within one year of revocation, the fee of \$35 in addition to the renewal fee.
 - 2. After one year of revocation, the fee of \$75 in addition to the renewal fee.
- <u>128-017.13 Reinstatement Fee:</u> For reinstatement of a pharmacist credential following suspension, limitation, or revocation for disciplinary reasons, the fee of \$75.
- <u>128-017.14 Fee for Temporary Educational Permit:</u> By a recipient of a temporary educational permit, the annual fee of \$50.
- <u>128-017.15 Fee for Pharmacist Intern Registration:</u> For each registration as a pharmacist intern, the fee of \$50.
 - <u>128-017.16 Initial License Fee for a Mail Service Pharmacy:</u> For each license for a mail service pharmacy, the fee of \$255.

<u>128-017.17 Mail Service Pharmacy License Renewal Fee:</u> By an applicant for a renewal on an annual basis of a mail service pharmacy license, the fee of \$255.00.

<u>128-017.18</u> Initial Registration Fee for Pharmacy Technician: By an applicant for a registration as a pharmacy technician, the fee of \$25 and the Licensee Assistance Program fee of \$1 for each year remaining during the current biennial renewal period.

<u>128-017.19</u> Proration of Initial Registration Fee for Pharmacy Technician: For issuance of a registration that will expire within 180 days after its initial issuance date, a fee of \$25 and the Licensee Assistance Program fee of \$1.

<u>128-017.20 Pharmacy Technician Registration Renewal Fee:</u> By an applicant for renewal on a biennial basis of a registration as a pharmacy technician, the fee of \$25 and the Licensee Assistance Program fee of \$2.

<u>128-018</u> ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY: The Department may assess an administrative penalty when evidence exists that a person or entity practices without a credential. Practice without a credential for the purpose of this regulation means practice:

- 1. Prior to the issuance of a credential;
- 2. Following the expiration of a credential; or
- 3. Prior to the reinstatement of a credential.

<u>128-018.01 Evidence of Practice:</u> The Department will consider any of the following conditions as prima facie evidence of practice without a credential:

- 1. The person admits to engaging in practice;
- Staffing records or other reports from the employer of the person indicate that the person was engaged in practice;
 - 3. Billing or payment records document the provision of service, care, or treatment by the person;
 - 4. Service, care, treatment records document the provision of service, care, or treatment by the person;
 - 5. Appointment records indicate that the person was engaged in practice; and
 - 6. The person or entity opens a business or practice site and announces or advertises that the business or site is open to provide service, care, or treatment.

For purposes of this regulation prima facie evidence means a fact presumed to be true unless disproved by some evidence to the contrary.

<u>128-018.02</u> Penalty: The Department may assess an administrative penalty in the amount of \$10 per day, not to exceed a total of \$1,000 for practice without a credential. To assess such penalty, the Department will:

1. Provide written notice of the assessment to the person. The notice must specify:

a. The total amount of the administrative penalty;

b. The evidence on which the administrative penalty is based;

EFECTIVE DATE November 1, 2005

	С.	That the person may request, in writing, a hearing to contest the assessment of an administrative penalty;
	d.	That the Department will within 30 days following receipt of payment of the administrative penalty, transmit the penalty to the State Treasurer for credit to the Permanent School Fund; and
	e.	That an unpaid administrative penalty constitutes a debt to the State of Nebraska which may be collected in the manner of a lien foreclosure or sued for and recovered in a proper form of action in the name of the state in the District Court of the county in which the violator resides or owns property.
2.	Send	by certified mail, a written notice of the administrative penalty to the last

2. Send by certified mail, a written notice of the administrative penalty to the last known address of the person to whom the penalty is assessed.

<u>128-018.03 Administrative Hearing:</u> When a person contests the administrative penalty and requests a hearing, the Department will hold a hearing pursuant to <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> §§ 84-901 to 84-920 and the Department's rules and regulations adopted pursuant to these statutes.

Code of Ethics for Pharmacists

PREAMBLE

Pharmacists are health professionals who assist individuals in making the best use of medications. This Code, prepared and supported by pharmacists, is intended to state publicly the principles that form the fundamental basis of the roles and responsibilities of pharmacists. These principles, based on moral obligations and virtues, are established to guide pharmacists in relationships with patients, health professionals, and society.

I. A pharmacist respects the covenantal relationship between the patient and pharmacist.

Considering the patient-pharmacist relationship as a covenant means that a pharmacist has moral obligations in response to the gift of trust received from society. In return for this gift, a pharmacist promises to help individuals achieve optimum benefit from their medications, to be committed to their welfare, and to maintain their trust.

II. A pharmacist promotes the good of every patient in a caring, compassionate, and confidential manner.

A pharmacist places concern for the well-being of the patient at the center of professional practice. In doing so, a pharmacist considers needs stated by the patient as well as those defined by health science. A pharmacist is dedicated to protecting the dignity of the patient. With a caring attitude and a compassionate spirit, a pharmacist focuses on serving the patient in a private and confidential manner.

III. A pharmacist respects the autonomy and dignity of each patient.

A pharmacist promotes the right of self-determination and recognizes individual self-worth by encouraging patients to participate in decisions about their health. A pharmacist communicates with patients in terms that are understandable. In all cases, a pharmacist respects personal and cultural differences among patients.

IV. A pharmacist acts with honesty and integrity in professional relationships.

A pharmacist has a duty to tell the truth and to act with conviction of conscience. A pharmacist avoids discriminatory practices, behavior or work conditions that impair professional judgment, and actions that compromise dedication to the best interests of patients.

V. A pharmacist maintains professional competence.

A pharmacist has a duty to maintain knowledge and abilities as new medications, devices, and technologies become available and as health information advances.

VI. A pharmacist respects the values and abilities of colleagues and other health professionals.

EFECTIVE DATENEBRASKA HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICESNovember 1, 2005REGULATION AND LICENSURE172 NAC 128

When appropriate, a pharmacist asks for the consultation of colleagues or other health professionals or refers the patient. A pharmacist acknowledges that colleagues and other health professionals may differ in the beliefs and values they apply to the care of the patient.

VII. A pharmacist serves individual, community, and societal needs.

The primary obligation of a pharmacist is to individual patients. However, the obligations of a pharmacist may at times extend beyond the individual to the community and society. In these situations, the pharmacist recognizes the responsibilities that accompany these obligations and acts accordingly.

VIII. A pharmacist seeks justice in the distribution of health resources.

When health resources are allocated, a pharmacist is fair and equitable, balancing the needs of patients and society.

* adopted by the membership of the American Pharmacists Association October 27, 1994.