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Title 350 – Nebraska Department of Revenue, Property Assessment Division  
Chapter 12 – State Sales File Regulations 
 

 
REG-12-001  PURPOSE 

 
001.01  The purpose of these regulations is to define terms and establish procedures for the sales file. The 

sales file is a data base of sales of real property, including arm’s length transactions, in the State of Nebraska. The 
sales file is required to be developed by the Property Tax Administrator in compliance with professionally accepted 
mass appraisal methodology.  

 
001.02  The data gathered and compiled to develop the sales file serves to provide statistical information 

regarding the measure of central tendency as one of many possible indicators of the level of value and quality of 
assessment by county and school district for any class or subclass of real property. The sales file information is 
provided to the assessors, the Nebraska Tax Equalization and Review Commission, and the county boards of 
equalization, for use in valuing and equalizing real property. The information is also used by the Department of 
Revenue, Property Assessment Division to assist in determining the level of value for statewide equalization 
purposes, and to assist in determining the assessable valuation of real property for each school district in Nebraska. 
(See School Adjusted Valuation Regulation, Chapter 80). 
 

001.03  The data gathered and compiled to develop the sales file is available for use by assessors as a base 
of sales to use as similar properties, and for the development of assessment strategies. 
 

(Neb. Rev. Stat. Section 77-1377, R.R.S. 2003 and Neb. Rev. Stat. Sections 77-702 77-1327 R.S. Supp. 
2007.) 
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REG-12-001 PURPOSE 
 

001.01 The purpose of these regulations is to define terms and establish procedures for the state sales file. 
The state sales file is a database of sales of real property in the State of Nebraska developed by the Property Tax 
Administrator in compliance with professionally accepted mass appraisal methodology pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 
77-1327. 

 
001.02  Pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-1327(1), “it is the intent of the Legislature that accurate and 

comprehensive information be developed by the Property Tax Administrator and made accessible to the taxing 
officials and property owners in order to ensure the uniformity and proportionality of the assessments of real 
property valuations in the state in accordance with law…” Subsection (2) of § 77-1327 provides that all transactions 
of real property for which a real estate transfer statement is required will be available for the development of a state 
sales file by the Property Tax Administrator. All transactions with a stated consideration of more than $100, or when 
more than $2.25 in documentary stamp taxes are paid, will be considered sales. All sales will be considered arm’s-
length transactions unless determined not to be, using professionally-accepted mass appraisal techniques. 

 
001.03 Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-1327(3) requires the Property Tax Administrator to develop comprehensive 

ratio studies from the state sales file. The assessment/sales ratio studies are used by the Property Tax Administrator 
to assist the Tax Equalization and Review Commission in measuring the level of value and quality of assessment for 
statewide equalization purposes, and to assist in establishing local system or school district adjusted valuations 
under Neb. Rev. Stat. § 79-1016. The assessment/sales ratio studies may also be used by county assessors and 
county boards of equalization for determining assessment actions in the county. To comply with statutory 
requirements, a state sales file database has been built, consisting of a complete record of all reported real property 
sales for a stated time frame. The Property Tax Administrator provides the county assessors with access to the state 
sales file for purposes of viewing sale rosters, assessment/sales ratio study reports, and finding comparable sales for 
hard-to-assess properties. Upon request, the Property Tax Administrator will make the state sales file database 
available to any party for use in the appraisal, assessment or equalization of property. 
 

Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 77-702, 77-1327, 77-1371, 77-1377, 77-5027, and 79-1016._____. 
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REG-12-002  DEFINITIONS 
 

002.01 Weighted Mean ratio, is a ratio determined by adding the assessed value of each parcel in a ratio 
study and dividing that number by the sum of the total selling prices of all the parcels in the study.  The weighted 
mean gives weight to each dollar value for the parcels included in the ratio study. 
 

002.02 Assessment shall mean the act of listing the description of all real property, determining its 
taxability, determining its taxable value, and placing it on the assessment roll. 
 

002.03  Level of value shall mean the most probable overall opinion of the relationship of assessed value to 
actual value for a political subdivision based upon an analysis of all information available to the Property Tax 
Administrator including, but not limited to, the assessment/sales ratio and assessment practices study for each 
county for the various classes of real property. 
 

002.04  Assessment/sales ratio shall mean the ratio of assessed value divided by the selling price of a sold 
parcel of real property. 
 

002.05  Assessment statistics shall mean computed measures of central tendency and dispersion used in 
determining the degree of assessment uniformity, proportionality, and compliance. 

 
002.06  Benchmark sale shall mean a similar property that has sold in a similar area which may be used to 

assist in determining the level of value in an assessment/sales ratio study for a jurisdiction with insufficient sales.  
 
002.07  Actual value shall mean the market value of real property in the ordinary course of trade.  It is the 

most probable price expressed in terms of money that a property will bring if exposed for sale in the open market or 
in an arm's-length transaction between a willing seller and a willing buyer, both of whom are knowledgeable 
concerning all the uses to which the real property is adapted and for which it is capable of being used.  In analyzing 
the uses and restrictions, the analysis shall include a consideration of the full description of the physical 
characteristics of the property and the property rights being valued.  Actual value may be determined using 
professionally accepted mass appraisal methods, including, but not limited to, the (1) sales comparison approach, (2) 
income approach, and (3) cost approach.   
 

002.08  Mean ratio shall mean the arithmetic mean ratio or the total of all assessment/sales ratios divided 
by the number of ratios. 
 

002.09  Median ratio shall mean the middle ratio of the sorted or arrayed assessment/sales ratios.  If there is 
an even number of ratios, the median shall be the average of the two middle ratios. 
 

002.10  Non-qualified sale shall mean a sale which has been identified through the sales verification 
process as a non-arm's length transaction, or where the property as assessed is substantially different in its 
characteristics then from the property as it was when sold.   
 

002.11  Qualified sale shall mean a sale which is an arm's-length transaction included in the sales file as 
determined by the assessor or verification process of the Department. 
 

002.12  Professionally accepted mass appraisal techniques shall include standards recognized in the 
appraisal industry contained in publications of the International Association of Assessing Officers and Standard 6 of 
the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice. The publications referred to are available to the public 
and maintained at the Department’s office in Lincoln, Nebraska, for viewing during normal business hours.  
Additionally, practices or techniques may be developed from sources within the appraisal industry as professionally 
accepted mass appraisal techniques, even if not contained within IAAO publications or USPAP if information can 
be developed regarding the use of such practices or techniques to show that they are reliable, can be tested, are not in 
conflict with existing professionally mass appraisal techniques and do not conflict with the statutory or regulatory 
provisions dealing with the subject matter of those practices or techniques. 
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002.13  Sale shall mean the transfer of property or an interest in property in exchange for consideration of 
more than one hundred dollars or upon which more than two dollars and twenty-five cents ($2.25) in documentary 
stamp taxes are paid.  For the purposes of this definition, consideration shall mean money or its equivalent. 

 
002.14  Adjustment shall mean the determination that there are necessary changes to the stated selling price 

of a parcel for time, atypical financing or personal property, involved in the transaction which represents the actual 
value paid for atypical financing or personal property.  
 

002.15  Valuation is the act or process of estimating actual value of real property.  (See, Assessment 
Process Regulations, Chapter 50.) 
 

002.16  Transfer shall mean the conveyance of title or any interest in real property by a deed which is 
recorded with the register of deeds and requiring the filing of a Real Estate Transfer Statement, Form 521. 

 
002.17  Supplemental information shall mean additional information which relates to sold real property as 

of the date of sale. 
 
002.18  Sale verification shall mean the confirmation or authentication of all of the data relating to a given 

transaction with the buyer or the seller, or the authorized agent of either.  This data includes, but is not limited to, 
data relating to the sale price, date of sale, terms of sale, terms of financing, and other motivating factors. 

 
002.19  Qualified sales roster shall mean a listing of all sold properties that are not disqualified as non-

arm’s length transaction by the Department, or that are not disqualified as non-arm’s length transactions by the 
assessor. 

 
002.20  Non-qualified sales roster shall mean a listing of all sold properties from the total sales roster which 

have been identified through the sales verification process as non-arm’s length transactions. 
 

002.21  Arm’s length transaction shall mean a sale between two or more parties, each seeking to maximize 
their positions from the transaction. 

 
002.22  Representative sample shall mean a sample of observations drawn from the entire population of 

observations such that statistics calculated from the sample can be expected to proportionately represent the 
characteristics of the population being studied. 

 
002.23  Dispersion shall mean the degree to which data are distributed either tightly or loosely around a 

measurement of central tendency.  Measures of dispersion include the range, average deviation, standard deviation, 
coefficient of dispersion and coefficient of variation and price related differential. 

 
002.24  Measures of central tendency shall mean descriptive measures that indicate the center of a set of 

values, for example, mean and median. 
 
002.25  Coefficient of dispersion shall mean the extent to which a set of ratios is clustered either tightly or 

loosely around the median, arithmetic mean or weighted mean ratio and expressed as a percentage of that measure. 
 
002.26  Price related differential is found by dividing the mean ratio by the weighted mean ratio and then 

multiply by one hundred (100) to obtain the percentage relationship.  A percentage more than one hundred (100) 
indicates that higher priced properties are assessed at lower ratios than lower priced properties.  A percentage of less 
than one hundred (100) indicates that lower priced properties are assessed at lower ratios than higher priced 
properties. 

 
002.27  Class or subclass of real property shall mean a collection of properties that share one or more 

common characteristics that are not found in other properties outside the class or subclass.   
 

002.27A  For agricultural or horticultural land, class or subclass shall include, but not be limited 
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to, irrigated cropland, dry cropland, grassland, wasteland, nurseries, feedlots, orchards, location, geographic 
characteristics and market characteristics that are appropriate for the valuation of a class or subclass of 
agricultural or horticultural land at seventy-five (75) percent of its market value.  In the case of agricultural 
or horticultural land subject to special valuation assessment, seventy-five (75) percent of its special value as 
if the land were available only for agricultural or horticultural purposes or uses without regard to any other 
purpose or use that could be applied to the land.   

 
002.27B  For all other real property, class or subclass shall include, but not be limited to status, 

parcel type, zoning, location, city size, parcel size, geographic characteristics or market characteristics that 
are appropriate for the valuation of a class or subclass of real property at one hundred (100) percent of its 
market value.  For the purposes of this regulation market characteristics shall mean the social and economic 
factors in the market that affect the value of real property. Geographic characteristics shall mean the 
physical characteristics of the earth, land, region, or site that may have an effect on value. 

 
(Neb. Rev. Stat. Sections 77-112, 77-117, 77-126 and 77-1360.01, R.R.S. 2003 and Neb. Rev. Stat. 

Sections 77-702, 77-705, 77-1327 and 79-1016, R.S. Supp. 2007.) 
 
REG-12-002 DEFINITIONS 
 

002.01 Actual value means the market value of real property in the ordinary course of trade.  It is the 
typical amount the property will sell for, either when on sale in the open market or in an arm's-length transaction 
between a willing seller and a willing buyer, both of whom are knowledgeable about the property and its current and 
possible uses.  Actual value may be determined using professionally accepted mass appraisal methods, including, 
but not limited to the (1) sales comparison approach, (2) income approach, and (3) cost approach. 

 
002.02 Agricultural or horticultural sale means a sale of real property with a property parcel type code of 5, 

as listed on the property record card. See, Title 350 Neb. Admin. Code, Chapter 10. 
 
002.03 Arm’s-length transaction means a sale between two or more parties, each seeking to maximize their 

positions from the transaction. 
 
002.04 Assessment means listing the description of all real property, determining whether it is exempt, 

determining its taxable value, and placing it on the assessment roll pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-126. 
 
002.05 Assessment/sales ratio means the ratio calculated by dividing the assessed value of the parcel of real 

property by the selling price of that parcel. Studies utilizing the assessment/sales ratio are collectively called 
assessment/sales ratio studies. 

 
002.06 Class or subclass of real property means a collection of properties that share one or more common 

characteristics that affect value, and that are typically not found in other properties outside the class or subclass. The 
characteristics that will determine a class or subclass include, but are not limited to: improvement status; parcel type; 
zoning; location; city size; parcel size; geographic characteristics; or market characteristics that are appropriate for 
the valuation of a class or subclass of real property pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-103.01. 

 
002.06A For agricultural or horticultural land, class or subclass includes, but is not limited to: 

irrigated cropland; dry cropland; grassland; wasteland; nurseries; feedlots; and orchards.  
 
002.06B Geographic characteristics are the physical characteristics of the earth, land, region, or 

site that may have an effect on value. 
 
002.06C Market characteristics are the social and economic factors in the market that affect the 

value of real property. 
 

002.07 Commercial sale means a sale of real property with a property parcel type code of 2, 3, or 4, as 
listed on the property record card. See, Title 350 Neb. Admin. Code, Chapter 10. 
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002.08 Division means the Nebraska Department of Revenue, Property Assessment Division. 
 
002.09 Full actual consideration means the price paid or to be paid for the real property sold, whether paid 

in money or by any other thing of value, including, but not limited to: liens or mortgages assumed, or to be assumed; 
satisfaction of debt; and other property transferred or to be transferred as part of the selling price. Full actual 
consideration will be a reasonable approximation of the current market value of the real property. If significantly 
less than a reasonable approximation of current market value, the consideration will be treated as nominal. The 
amount of consideration and whether there is full actual consideration is to be determined as of the date stated on the 
deed. 

 
002.10 Level of value means the best estimate of the relationship of assessed value to actual value for a 

group of properties based upon an analysis of all information available to the Property Tax Administrator including, 
but not limited to, the assessment/sales ratio and the assessment practices study for each county for the various 
classes of real property. 

 
002.11 Non-qualified sale means a sale which has been identified through the sales verification process as a 

non-arm’s-length transaction, or sales where the assessed value is affected by substantial change to the property 
since the sale. 

 
002.12 Professionally-accepted mass appraisal techniques include standards recognized in the appraisal 

industry contained in publications of the International Association of Assessing Officers (IAAO) and Standard 6 of 
the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP). The publications referred to are available to the 
public for viewing during normal business hours, and are maintained at the Property Assessment Division’s office in 
Lincoln, Nebraska. Additionally, practices or techniques may be developed from sources outside of IAAO or 
USPAP if these practices or techniques can be demonstrated as reliable, can be tested, and are not in conflict with 
existing professionally-accepted mass appraisal techniques or applicable statutory or regulatory provisions. 

 
002.13 Property Tax Administrator will be abbreviated to PTA throughout this regulation. 

002.14 Qualified sale means a sale which is an arm’s-length transaction included in the sales file as 
determined by the county assessor or verification process of the Property Assessment Division. 

 
002.15 Residential sale means a sale of real property with a property parcel type code of 1, 6, or 7, as listed 

on the property record card. See, Title 350 Neb. Admin. Code, Chapter 10. 
 
002.16 Sale means the transfer of property or an interest in property, in exchange for consideration of more 

than $100, or upon which more than $2.25 in documentary stamp taxes are paid. For the purposes of this definition, 
consideration means money or its equivalent. 

 
002.17 Sales roster means a listing of all sales that are in the state sales file for a specific time period. 
 
002.18 Sales verification means the process of collecting, confirming, screening and documenting any non-

qualification or an adjustment made to a sale relying on professional verification standards.  See, Assessment 
Process Regulations, Chapter 50. 

 
002.19 Transfer means the conveyance of title or any interest in real property by a deed which requires 

filing a Real Estate Transfer Statement, Form 521 with the register of deeds. 
 
002.20 Valuation means the act or process of estimating actual value of real property, pursuant to Title 350 

Neb. Admin. Code, Chapter 50. 
 
002.21 Valuation grouping means a grouping of parcels with similar characteristics that affect market 

value. 
 

Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 77-103.01, 77-112, 77-117, 77-126, 77-702, 77-705, 77-1327, and 79-1016._____. 



Nebraska Department of Revenue                                                                                                                          Title 350, Chapter 12, Rev. 3/15/09 
Property Assessment Division                                                                                                                                                     Sales File Regulations 

8 
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REG-12-003  PROCEDURES  
 

003.01  The Department of Revenue receives all Real Estate Transfer Statements, Forms 521, filed each 
month by each county register of deeds. 

 
003.02  The sales file data base shall contain the name of the county and school district where the parcel is 

located, the property class and subclass, and selected information reported on the real estate transfer statement or 
and supplemental data required by the Property Tax Administrator for the parcel. 

 
003.03  The assessor shall provide to the Department of Revenue, Property Assessment Division 

supplemental data required by the Property Assessment Division in the form of a sales worksheet or a previously 
approved electronic transfer of said data for each Real Estate Transfer Statement with the required stated 
consideration or documentary stamp tax paid.   

 
003.03A  The assessor shall forward a copy of the Real Estate Transfer Statement and the 

supplemental data to the Department of Revenue, Property Assessment Division on or before the fifteenth 
of the second month following the month the deed was recorded.  The data shall be included by deed book 
and page number and date of sale with the Real Estate Transfer Statement in the sales file database.  Failure 
on the part of the assessor to comply with the requirements of REG-12-003.03 may result in corrective 
action being taken by the Property Tax Administrator, pursuant to Proceedings Instituted by the 
Department of Revenue Regulations, Chapter 91. 
 

003.03B  All data incorporated into the sales file database by the assessor or Property Assessment 
Division shall be available for further verification by the assessor or the Department of Revenue, Property 
Assessment Division. 

 
003.03C  The assessor shall indicate numerically on the sales worksheet their opinion as to 

whether the sale is qualified or non-qualified for inclusion in the sales file as an arm’s length transaction.  If 
the assessor determines a sale to be non-qualified, a numeric code and explanation as defined by the 
Property Tax Administrator shall be indicated on the sales worksheet. 

 
003.083D  The Property Tax Administrator may verify any transaction with the county assessor 

that may be questionable for inclusion or exclusion from the sales file.  The verification of these 
transactions may include, but not be limited to: 

 
 (1)  Interview with the assessor to gather information regarding the sales transaction and 

the assessment information for the property.  Such interviews may be conducted by Department of 
Revenue, Property Assessment Division personnel by telephone. 
 

 (2)  Interview with a primary party to the sale or knowledgeable third person, for the 
purpose of gathering information regarding the sales transaction.  Such interviews may be 
conducted by Department of Revenue, Property Assessment Division personnel by telephone.  
 

 (3)  The Property Assessment Division shall determine from all information gathered if 
any adjustments to selling price are warranted. 
 

(4)  The Property Assessment Division shall provide a narrative explanation of the 
determination made regarding the qualification of the sale.  Such explanation shall be based on the 
information gathered by the Property Assessment Division and entered in the data base 
contemporaneously in time with the gathering of the data. 

 
003.04  In the verification of sales by the Property Assessment Division, the assessor’s opinion with respect 

to the inclusion, exclusion or adjustment of a sale shall be presumed correct.  The Property Assessment Division 
may treat a sale in a manner different from that recommended by the assessor when the information accumulated 
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through the Property Assessment Division’s verification process indicates that the opinion of the assessor regarding 
the inclusion, exclusion or adjustment of the transaction is incorrect. 

 
003.04A  If the county assessor fails to provide a reason for adjusting the sales price or for 

disqualifying the sale, the Property Assessment Division may include the sale in the sales file, without 
adjustment.   

 
003.04B  If the county assessor has indicated a reason for the adjustment of a sale or the 

disqualification of a sale, and the reason is not in compliance with professionally accepted mass appraisal 
techniques, the Property Assessment Division may include the sale in the sales file, without adjustment.  

 
003.04C  If the county assessor has indicated a reason for the adjustment of a sale, or the 

disqualification of a sale, and the reason is in compliance with professionally accepted mass appraisal 
techniques, including but not limited to, Appendix A Sections A.4.1 and  A.4.2 of the Standard on Ratio 
Studies of the International Association of Assessing Officers, the Property Assessment Division shall 
include or exclude the sale in or from the sales file only after the Property Assessment Division has 
completed a verification of the sale, and the Property Assessment Division does not agree with the decision 
of the county assessor. 

 
003.04D  If the Property Assessment Division determines that it does not agree with the decision 

of the county assessor, the Property Assessment Division shall, within seven (7) days of such 
determination, notify the county assessor in writing that the sale will not be included in or excluded from 
the sales file, or that the adjustment amount to the sale is changed.   

 
003.04E  If the county assessor disagrees with the Property Assessment Division’s  determination, 

the county assessor, using the sales file protest form, may file a written protest of the Property Assessment 
Division’s determination within thirty (30) days from the mailing of the Property Assessment Division 
notification, with the Tax Commissioner.  Any such protest shall be filed pursuant REG 12-004, below. 
 
003.05  Rosters of the sales file database shall be provided by the Department of Revenue, Property 

Assessment Division twice per year to assessors.  The assessor may request in writing additional rosters for use in 
the assessment process. 

 
003.05A  All rosters shall show the county, school district, class or subclass of real property, and 

all other necessary information contained in the data base as specified by the Property Tax Administrator. 
 
003.05B  The additional rosters requested by the assessor may include additional data, if available, 

as specified in the written request of the assessor. 
 

003.06  The Property Tax Administrator shall test the sales data provided by the assessor to ensure that the 
sales reporting and processing procedures are being followed uniformly as set forth in REG-12-003.01 through 
REG-12-003.05.  The test shall include both qualified and non-qualified sales. 
 

003.07  The Property Tax Administrator shall calculate the measures of central tendency and other 
statistical indicators of the quality of assessment, such as the coefficient of dispersion and price related differential, 
of all of a class or subclass of property. 

 
003. 07A  The study period for each major class of property shall be as follows: 
 

003.07A(1)  For residential property, from July 1 to June 30 for the two (2) years ending 
on June 30 of the year prior to the issuance of the Report and Opinion. 

 
003.07A(2)  For commercial property, from July 1 to June 30 for the three (3) years 

ending on June 30 of the year prior to the issuance of the Report and Opinion. 
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003.07A(3)  For agricultural and horticultural land, from July 1 to June 30 for the three 
(3) years ending on June 30 for the year prior to the issuance of the Report and Opinion. 

 
003.07A(4) The Department of Revenue, Property Assessment Division may use a longer 

or shorter study period where the data developed for the above described periods does not, based 
on all of the data available to the Department of Revenue, Property Assessment Division 
accurately reflect the level of value for a county and where the change to the length of the study 
period will enhance the Department’s ability to determine a county’s level of value.  The adoption 
of a longer or shorter time period may be done by the Department of Revenue, Property 
Assessment Division based on its own information or information provided by a county pursuant 
to a request to adopt a longer or shorter study period.  Such a request shall be in writing and set 
forth the reasons the county is seeking a different study period.  To the extent possible, sales 
outside the established time period will be adjusted to the mid-point of the established time period. 

 
003.08  Upon request, the Property Tax Administrator shall make the sales file database available to the 

assessors, the county boards of equalization, and the Tax Equalization and Review Commission for use in the 
assessment and equalization of property pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. 77-1377 and 77-5027. 

 
(Neb. Rev. Stat. Sections 77-1371 and 77-1377, R.R.S. 2003, and Neb. Rev. Stat. Sections 77-702, 77-

1327, 77-5027 and 79-1016, R.S. Supp., 2007.) 
 
REG-12-003 PROCEDURES 
 

003.01 Whenever there is conveyance of title or any interest in real property by a deed that must be 
recorded with the register of deeds, a Real Estate Transfer Statement, Form 521 must be filed.  The register of deeds 
will process the Form 521 according to the instructions of the PTA as set forth in Title 350, Neb. Admin. Code, 
Chapter 52 and will immediately forward the Form 521 to the county assessor.  

 
003.02 Once the county assessor receives the Form 521 from the register of deeds, the property record file 

will be updated to reflect new ownership, transfer information, and changes to any other information contained 
within the property record file. 

 
003.03 The county assessor will forward the completed Form 521 to the Division within 45 days after the 

deed was recorded.  
 
003.04 The county assessor will electronically transfer the sale and property characteristic information to 

the Division by means of electronic data files or direct entry of information into the state sales file. The transfer must 
occur within 45 days following the date the deed was recorded with the register of deeds.  

 
003.04A Any electronic transfer of data files containing sale and property characteristic 

information must follow the format prescribed by the Division.   
 

003.04A(1) The formatting requirements include the order, structure, file type, and 
naming convention of every field and file name.   

 
003.04A(2) Specific formatting requirements are available at the Division upon request. 
 
003.04A(3) It is the responsibility of the county assessor to ensure that the specific data 

format is implemented by any Computer Assisted Mass Appraisal (CAMA) vendor that is used by 
the county. 

 
003.04B Information about the sale of property must contain data from the Form 521 including 

the:  
 

003.04B(1) County number alphabetically assigned; 
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003.04B(2) Date of sale recorded on the Form 521 unless information obtained suggests 
possessory interest passed on a different date; 
 
003.04B(3) Date the deed was recorded; 
 
003.04B(4) Grantor’s and grantee’s name, street address, city, state, zip code, and 
telephone number if available; 
 
003.04B(5) Type of deed; 
 
003.04B(6) Like-kind exchange purchase under section 1031 of the Internal Revenue 
Code; 
 
003.04B(7) Address of property; 
 
003.04B (8) Legal description of property; 
 
003.04B(9) Total purchase price including any liabilities assumed; 
 
003.04B(10) Non-real property amount included in purchase; 
 
003.04B(11) Adjusted purchase price for real estate; 
 
003.04B(12) Documentary stamp tax amount or exemption code number, if exempt; and 
 
003.04B(13) Recording data, including date, book, and page number.  
 

003.04C Information about the property that sold and its characteristics must include the: 
 
003.04C(1) Assessor location;  
 
003.04C(2) Assessed value of land, improvements, and total assessed value on date of 
sale; 
 
003.04C(3) County assessor comments; 
 
003.04C(4) County assessor adjustment to sale price; 
 
003.04C(5)  Location identification, also referred to as parcel identification; 
 
003.04C(6) Local system or school district code as prescribed by the Division; 
 
003.04C(7) Parcel number(s), geocode, township, range, section, quarter, subdivision, 

area, and block; 
 
003.04C(8) Property classification code, including property type, zoning, location, city, 

status, and parcel size;  
 
003.04C(9) Sale usability code determination of the county assessor; and 
 
003.04C(10) Date of last inspection recorded on the property record card. 
 

003.04D Sales of agricultural or horticultural land must include the:  
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003.04D(1) Agricultural land capability grouping total acres;  
 

003.04D(2) Assessed value and acres of non-agricultural land and improvements 
including but not limited to home site, farm site,  

 
003.04D(3) Assessed value for dwellings and outbuildings;    
 
003.04D(4) Other agricultural land acres such as shelterbelt, accretion, waste, roads, and 

other; 
 
003.04D(5) Non-agricultural land other acres and value not included in any other 

category; 
 
003.04D(6) Total agricultural land acres and value;  
 
003.04D(7) Total non-agricultural land in acres and value; 
 
003.04D(8) Total recreation in acres and value; and 
 
003.04D(9) Total wetland in acres and value. 
 

003.04E Sales of residential parcels must include the: 
 

003.04E(1) Number of improvements; 
 

003.04E(2) Quality of construction, and the condition of the property;  
 
003.04E(3) Square footage of primary structure; and  
 
003.04E(4) Year built, building cost new, and style of residence (single family, 

townhouse, or duplex). 
 

003.04F Sales of commercial parcels must include the: 
 

003.04F(1) Square footage of primary structure, condition of property, construction class 
type, date of construction, building cost new, and cost rank of construction quality;     

 
003.04F(2) Occupancy code(s); and 
 
003.04F(3) Number of improvements. 

 
003.04G When the need arises to update or change the data that is collected for the sales file the 

PTA may issue a Directive.  
 

003.05 Upon electronic receipt of the sale and property characteristic data, the Division will import the data 
into the state sales file. The Division will ensure complete filings by periodically comparing the Forms 521 received 
from the county to those included in the state sales file. 

 
003.06 The county assessor will maintain current characteristic information on all sales in the state sales 

file and update any changes as they are discovered. 
 
003.07 The Division may include additional codes or narrative comments to individual sales to aid in 

identification or analysis, such as valuation grouping codes, or comments to identify unique properties. 
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003.08 The county assessor may request a deviation from specific requirement of the electronic submission 
of sales information.  The request must be in writing to the PTA, state the reasons for the deviation and be filed 
before a submission is sent.  The PTA will grant or deny the request for deviation in writing stating the reasons for 
the action. 

 
Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 77-702, 77-1327, 77-1371, 77-1377, 77-5027, and 79-1016._____. 
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REG-12-004 SALES FILE PROTEST PROCEDURES 
 
004.01  After receiving the qualified and nonqualified sales roster from the Department of Revenue, 

Property Assessment Division, an assessor may protest the inclusion , exclusion , or the adjustment or failure to 
make an adjustment to a sale, in the following manner: 

 
004.01A  The protest shall be in writing on the sales file protest form supplied by the Property 

Assessment Division and shall set forth the reasons for the protest as well as the requested action the 
assessor wishes the Property Tax Administrator to take with respect to treatment of the sale in the sales file; 
 

004.01B  The protest shall be accompanied by supplementary written materials that question 
whether the transaction is arm’s-length or whether the selling price should be adjusted for time, personal 
property or atypical financing to more accurately reflect the price paid for the real property. 
 

004.01B(1)  Issues regarding the improper classification of the sold property must be  
dealt with using a sales file correction form or the actual value update (AVU).  Property that is the 
subject of an arm’s-length transaction but has been reclassified, shall be a qualified sale in the 
sales roster under its corrected classification.  This corrected classification should reflect the 
typical assessment practices of the assessor. 

 
004.01C  The protest shall be mailed to the main office of the Department of Revenue, Property 

Assessment Division within thirty (30) days of the date on the certificate of mailing on the qualified and 
nonqualified semi annual sales roster sent by the Property Tax Administrator to the assessor. 

 
004.01D  The assessor shall be entitled to a hearing on the merits of the protest before the Tax 

Commissioner.  Such hearings shall be governed by the Department’s Practice and Procedure Regulations, 
Nebraska Administrative Code, Title 350, Chapter 90.   

 
004.01D(1)  The assessor may waive the hearing before the Tax Commissioner.  The 

waiver of hearing shall be in writing and shall be done in conjunction with the filing of the protest 
or at any time prior to a scheduled hearing. 

 
004.01D(2)  In the event that the assessor agrees to waive the hearing on the protest, the 

matter shall be submitted for determination by the Tax Commissioner based on the information 
provided by the assessor accompanying the protest and the information developed by the Property 
Assessment Division through the verification process. 

 
004.02  Burden of Proof.  The burden of proof to alter the contents of the qualified sales roster after the 

verification process shall be on the assessor filing the protest to provide evidence to the Tax Commissioner to show, 
by more than a mere difference of opinion, that the property should be treated in the manner advocated by the 
assessor who filed the protest. 
 

004.03  Review of Protests.  In ruling on protests following the hearing or in making a determination of 
protests for which the hearing was waived the Tax Commissioner or his or her designee shall apply the following 
standards: 
 

004.03A  All sales shall be deemed to be arm’s-length transactions unless determined to be 
otherwise under professionally accepted mass appraisal techniques. 

 
004.03B  The determination of the Department of Revenue, Property Assessment Division 

regarding the treatment of the sale will stand in the absence of additional evidence provided by the assessor 
accompanying the protest; 
 

004.03C  Assertions by the assessor without additional information accompanying the protest shall 
be insufficient to change the treatment of the sale for roster purposes; 
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004.03D  Supplemental information provided by the assessor accompanying the protest such as 

additional contact with the buyer or seller or other information affecting the sale may result in the Tax 
Commissioner ruling in favor of the assessor and treating the sale in the manner requested in the protest.  
Such information must be relevant to the question of whether the transaction is arm’s-length in nature or 
whether an adjustment to the selling price recognized under professionally accepted mass appraisal 
techniques is appropriate.  The information provided with the protest may also relate to errors in the 
classification or subclassification of a parcel.  If a protest results in the reclassification of a parcel, that 
transaction shall become part of the sales file for its new classification.  Reclassification or data correction 
may be handled by the liaison without the necessity of a written protest. 

 
004.03E  The fact that a sale has an assessment/sales ratio above or below the acceptable range for 

equalization, as set forth in Neb. Rev. Stat. Section § 77-5023, standing alone, shall not be grounds for the 
exclusion or adjustment of the sale.  

  
004.04  Ruling on Protest.  The Tax Commissioner shall review the protests filed regarding the sales file 

and the Tax Commissioner shall issue a written ruling on the protest within thirty (30) days of the hearing, or, if the 
hearing has been waived within thirty (30) days from receipt of the protest by the Property Assessment Division.  
Such ruling in writing shall set forth the reasons for grant or denial of the action requested in the protest and shall be 
sent to the assessor by regular U.S. mail, within seven (7) days after the date of the ruling. 
 

004.05  Appeal.  Any assessor whose protest has been denied may appeal within thirty (30) days after the 
date of the written ruling of the Tax Commissioner to the Tax Equalization and Review Commission in accordance 
with Neb. Rev. Stat. Section 77-5013.  
 

(Neb. Rev. Stat. Sections 84-901, 84-913 and 84-914, R.R.S. 1994, Neb. Rev. Stat. Section 77-5013, R.S. 
Supp., 2006 and 77-702 and 77-5023, R.S. Supp., 2007.) 
 
REG-12-004 SALE QUALIFICATION PROCEDURES 
 

004.01 All sales are considered qualified sales unless sufficient information is available to prove otherwise. 
Non-qualified sales and adjustments to sales may not be recorded unless the sale has been verified pursuant to 
professionally-accepted mass appraisal techniques and determined to be non-qualified or necessary to adjust.  
Sufficient and compelling information must accompany the qualification code in the state sales file. 

 
004.02 Sale prices may be adjusted to reflect the full actual consideration paid for real property only after 

the sale has been verified pursuant to professionally accepted mass appraisal techniques and information suggests an 
adjustment is necessary; 

 
004.03 The following usability codes must be used by the county to classify sales as qualified or non-

qualified in the state sales file.   
 

004.03A Usability code (1) means the sale is considered an arm’s-length transaction between two 
or more parties, both of whom sought to maximize their position from the sale.  These sales are qualified 
for use in the assessment/sales ratio study. 

 
004.03B Usability code (2) means the sale is an arm’s-length transaction in which sale price 

adjustments are necessary to reflect the actual value paid for the real property.  The reason for the 
adjustment must be noted in the county assessor comments section of the sales file.  These sales, as 
adjusted, are qualified for use in the assessment/sales ratio study.  Caution should be exercised to ensure the 
amount adjusted for personal property reflects its value contribution to the sale. 

 
004.03C Usability code (3) means an arm’s-length transaction of property that has substantially 

changed physically, legally, or economically after the sale.  This change substantially affects the market 
value of the parcel, so the parcel as assessed no longer represents the characteristics of the parcel when 
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sold.  A description of the change to the parcel must be noted in the county assessor comment section of the 
state sales file.  Sales of substantially changed property will not be used in the assessment/sales ratio study 
unless an insufficient sample exists and a value can be developed to represent the parcel as it existed when 
sold. 

 
004.03D Usability code (4) means the sale is not considered an arm’s-length transaction. The 

reason for the sale being considered a non-arm’s length transaction and excluded from the assessment/sales 
ratio study must be noted in the county assessor comment section of the state sales file. These sales are not 
qualified for use in the assessment/sales ratio study. 

 
004.03E Usability code (5) means the sale is considered an arm’s-length transaction but will not 

be used in the assessment/sales ratio study because the parcel has unique characteristics that make the 
parcel invalid for comparison to similarly classified parcels. 

 
004.03F Usability codes of blank or zero means the sale will be considered a qualified sale. 
 

004.04 The Division may make a different determination from that of the county assessor regarding the 
qualification of a sale or an adjustment to the selling price for use in the sales ratio study.  If a different 
determination is made the county assessor will be contacted to discuss the determination prior to issuance of the 
Report and Opinion. 

 
004.05 The county assessor must provide accurate and up-to-date information in the state sales file on or 

before December 1. 
 
Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 77-702, 77-1327, 77-1371 and 77-5023._____. 


