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Title 299 - NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 
 
Chapter 7 - CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITIES; REQUIRED HOURS; APPROVAL; 


RESTRICTIONS; DENIAL; REVOCATION; APPEAL PROCESS; RECORD 
KEEPING. 


 
001 Of the twelve hours of continuing education required in Section 81-885.51 of the Nebraska 
Real Estate License Act, (a) six hours in each two-year period shall be taken in continuing 
education activities which are derived from material covering ethical decision-making or federal or 
state laws, rules, or regulations dealing with or pertaining to real estate or real estate transactions, 
and which are approved and designated by the Commission as meeting this six-hour require-
ment, and (b) three hours shall be required in each two year period in a property management 
course or courses approved and designated by the Commission as meeting this requirement for 
all licensees who provide property management services during such two year period, or who 
supervise a licensee or licensees who provide property management services during such two 
year period, and (c) three hours shall be required in courses on teams or team leadership which 
are approved and so designated by the Commission for all team members, team leaders, and 
designated brokers who supervise teams within 180 days after being designated a team member 
or team leader, or in the case of a designated broker within 180 days of the creation of any team 
under the broker’s supervision. Continuing education taken on or after January 1, 2017 may be 
used to meet the requirements of section (c) of this section.  
 


001.01 Continuing education activities approved under this Section are not subject to the 
duplication provision as set forth in Section 0034.07 of this Chapter, except that continuing 
education activities approved under this Section and which are of the same content, or if in 
the opinion of the Commission so similar as to be indistinguishable in content, cannot be 
duplicated within the same two-year continuing education period. 
 
001.02  For purposes of this chapter property management shall mean and include: 
Acting under a written contract as a third party for a landlord or owner of property in the 
collection and or holding of rent, deposits, or other monies from tenants for the benefit of 
the property owner. 
 
001.03   Continuing education activities required under Section 001(c) of this section 
shall meet the education requirements for the two year continuing education period in 
which they are taken and the ensuing two year continuing education period.  Team 
members, team leaders and designated brokers who supervise teams shall complete the 
required team training a minimum of once every four years. 
 


002 The six hours of training required in Section 81-885.51 of the Nebraska Real Estate License 
Act may be fulfilled by satisfactorily completing training activities approved by the licensee’s 
designated broker and recognized by the Commission OR by satisfactorily completing 
Commission approved continuing education activities OR by some combination of both.  
Training activity shall be required to be met and submitted as provided in the License Act and 
these regulations beginning in calendar year 2012. 
 
003 Qualifications for approval of continuing education activities shall be as stated herein. 
 


003.01 A continuing education activity offered in the State of Nebraska shall be qualified 
for approval if the Real Estate Commission determines that:  


 
003.01A The continuing education activity contributes to the maintenance and 
improvement of the quality of real estate services provided by real estate licensees 
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to the public; and 
 


003.01B An in-class continuing education activity must consist of at least three 
in-class clock hours but no more than eight in-class clock hours in any one day of 
instruction. In the case of a continuing education activity delivered in a distance 
education format there must be at least the content equivalent of three in-class 
clock hours, and certification pursuant to 299 NAC 7-002.02. An in-class clock 
hour is defined as 50 minutes in length; and  


 
 
 
003.01C The provider has submitted a complete application as prescribed by the 
Real Estate Commission at least thirty days prior to the beginning of the continuing 
education activity; and 


 
003.01D All instructors have met the qualification standards as established by the 
Real Estate Commission; and 


 
003.01E The provider has met the provisions of all other applicable state laws. 
 
 
 


 
003.02 Continuing education activities offered in a distance education format must be 
certified by the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials, with the exception that 
such certification will not be required of courses in a correspondence study format that 
held the certification by the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials and were in 
good standing as of January 1, 2012, and such courses shall remain exempt from 
Association of License Law Officials certification through January 1, 2017.  A student 
must complete the distance education activity within one year of the date of enrollment. 
Distance education as it is used in this chapter shall mean courses in which instruction 
does not take place in a traditional classroom setting but rather through other media where 
instructor and student are separated by distance and sometimes by time. 
 
003.03 Courses taken by salesperson licensees toward meeting the broker pre-license 
requirements, with the exception of Real Estate Principles and Practices or its equivalent 
courses, may be used toward meeting the continuing education requirement and also as 
meeting the pre-license broker requirement. 
 
003.04 In addition to continuing education activities directly approved by the Real Estate 
Commission, the Commission shall accept: 


 
003.04A Continuing education activities approved to meet the continuing 
education requirements for renewal of a salesperson or broker license in another 
real estate jurisdiction and taken outside the State of Nebraska. 


 
003.04B Instruction by instructors of approved continuing education activities 
toward meeting the continuing education requirement. The same restrictions of 
usage as set forth in Title 299, Chapter 7, Section 003 will apply. 
 
003.04C Reviews of continuing education activities that are provided in a distance 
education format and have been submitted for approval as provided in this 
Chapter when the appointed reviewer, who must meet the same qualification 







 


299/Ch. 7 - 3                                               11/16 


standards established for continuing education instructors, successfully completes 
the activity and provides a report prescribed by the Commission.  
 
003.04D The Commission shall have no obligation to accept a continuing 
education activity otherwise considered acceptable under this subsection if the 
activity has been identified by the Commission as unacceptable according to 
Nebraska continuing education criteria. 
 
003.04E Written affirmation from non-resident licensees that they have met the 
current continuing education requirement in their state of residence. 


 
003.05 Licensees may use appraisal continuing education approved by the Nebraska 
Real Estate Appraiser Board toward their salesperson or broker continuing education 
requirement, when taken during the applicable two-year period for their salesperson or 
broker license. 


 
004 The following activities shall not be approved as continuing education and cannot be used 
toward meeting the continuing education requirement: 
 


004.01 Those which are specifically examination preparation in nature. 
 
004.02 Those which deal with office or business skills, such as typing, speed reading, 
memory improvement, body language, motivation and similar activities. 
004.03 Those which are completed by a challenge examination (testing-out of the 
activity). 


 
004.04 Sales promotion or sales meetings held in conjunction with a brokerage firm's 
general business. 


 
004.05 Orientation courses for licensees held by trade organizations. 


 
004.06 Continuing education activities taken prior to approval date of the continuing 
education activity. 


 
004.07 Continuing education activities of the same content, or if in the opinion of the 
Commission an activity is so similar as to be indistinguishable in content, cannot be used 
for a minimum of four years after the activity was taken to be applied toward meeting the 
continuing education requirement, except that activities meeting the required hours set 
forth in Section 001 of this Chapter may be repeated but not in the same two-year 
continuing education period. 


 
004.08 Broker licensees cannot retake courses taken as part of their pre-license 
requirement and use them toward meeting their continuing education requirement except 
as provided in Title 299, Chapter 7, Section 0034.07. 


 
004.09 Continuing education activities taken to make up a deficiency of the continuing 
education requirement from a previous continuing education period may not be used 
toward the current period's continuing education requirement. 


 
005 Qualifications for recognition of training activities shall be as stated herein. 
 


005.01 A training activity offered in the State of Nebraska shall be recognized by the Real 
Estate Commission pursuant to Section 81-885.51 if the Real Estate Commission deter-
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mines that:  
 


005.01A The training activity directly relates to real estate services provided by 
real estate licensees to the public; and 
 
005.01B The training does not materially misstate elements of the Real Estate 
License Act or other provisions of the law; and  


 
 
 
 
005.01C A training activity must consist of at least one sixty minute hour. In the 
case of a training activity delivered in a distance education format there must be at 
least the content equivalent of one sixty-minute hour; and  


 
005.01D The provider has submitted a complete application as prescribed by the 
Real Estate Commission at least thirty days prior to the beginning of the training 
activity. 
 


005.02 The Commission shall have the authority to require additional information 
regarding training content in order to determine eligibility.  


 
005.03 The Commission may determine that an activity submitted to meet the training 
requirement would more appropriately be recognized as continuing education because 
the level of complexity or legal nature of the training requires a more detailed review of the 
subject matter as provided in these regulations for continuing education.  


 
006 The following activities cannot be used toward meeting the training requirement: 
 


006.01 Those which are specifically examination preparation in nature. 
 
006.02 Those which are completed by a challenge examination (testing-out of the 
activity). 
 
006.03 Orientation courses for licensees held by trade organizations. 


 
006.04 Training activities taken prior to the Commission’s recognition date of the training 
activity. 
 


007 The Commission shall notify applicants in a timely manner, in writing, whether an application 
is approved or denied. If an application is denied, the denial notice shall state the reason(s) for 
denial. This section applies to initial submittals of applications for approval of training activities, 
and providers, activities, and instructors of Nebraska real estate continuing education; 
resubmittals of continuing education activities for reapproval every three years; and resubmittals 
of activities due to substantial changes in the activities. 
 
008 Approved continuing education activities shall be resubmitted by the provider for approval 
and reviewed every three years by the Commission unless substantial changes are made in the 
activity prior to that time.  
 
009 Training activity recognition will expire three years from the date of original recognition. 
 
010 If substantial changes are made, the activity shall be submitted by the provider for review and 
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approval, and may not be offered prior to receiving notice that the altered activity has been 
approved. 
 
011 Decisions of the Real Estate Commission to deny approval of training activities or continuing 
education providers, activities, or instructors may be reviewed by the Commission when such 
review is requested within twenty days of notification of said decision. The Real Estate 
Commission may at any time re-evaluate an approved training activity or continuing education 
provider, activity, or instructor. If a basis for consideration of revocation of approval is found, the 
Commission shall notify said provider by mail at least twenty business days prior to said hearing 
on the revocation. 
 
012 Providers of approved training or continuing education activities shall be governed by the 
provisions of this Section in addition to any other applicable statutes or rules and regulations. 
 


012.01 The provider shall submit to the Commission a notice of the scheduling of an 
approved activity prior to offering the activity. The notice shall be submitted in a form 
prescribed by the Commission. This subsection shall not apply to distance education 
activities offered in an independent study format. 


 
012.02 Successful completion of an approved training or continuing education activity 
requires full-time attendance at the activity. 


 


012.03 A completion certificate, not larger than 8 2 by 11, must be issued to each student 
upon completion of the activity and shall include such information required by the 
Commission. 
 


 


012.04 In the case of students using a pre-license broker course toward both pre-license 
and continuing education as set forth in Title 299, Chapter 7, Section 002.03, upon 
request by the student a separate continuing education completion certificate will be 
issued by the provider upon completion of the course in addition to the pre-license proof of 
completion. 
 


012.05 Records shall be maintained by each provider on each individual student for four 
years. Said records to include: name and real estate license identification number of the 
student; residence or business address of the student; the title of the activity completed in 
full,; the number of training or continuing education hours granted the activity; the date the 
student completed the activity; and, activity content numbers for continuing education 
activities. 


 


012.06 A verification listing of the attendees at an approved training or continuing 
education activity who have met the requirements of completion as established by the 
Commission pursuant to Section 81-885.52 of the Nebraska Real Estate License Act shall 
be submitted to the Commission, in the current format specified by the Commission, within 
ten business days of the conclusion of the activity. 
 


012.07 By January 31st of each year all approved providers shall submit to the 
Commission a chronological list to include the title, number of hours granted, date, 
location, instructor and number of attendees for each training or continuing education 
activity conducted during the preceding year.  


 


013 Nothing in this Chapter shall be construed to preclude training or educational offerings 
sponsored, or conducted, by the Real Estate Commission from being accepted toward meeting 
the continuing education requirement of the Nebraska Real Estate License Act.  
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014 The operative date of the amendments found in sections 001of this chapter shall be July 1, 
2017. 


   
Laws 1973, LB 68, '7; RS 1943, '81-885.07 (5) R. S. Supp., 1974. Effective date 
September 2, 1973. 


 
   
  Laws 1985, LB 101, '10; RS 1943, '81-885.54, R.S. Supp., 1985. Effective date 
  March 7, 1985. 


 
Laws 2016, LB678, §3: RS 1943, §81-885.56 R.S. Cum. Supp., 2016, Effective Date, 
October 1, 2016. 
 
Laws 2016, LB678, §4: RS 1943, §81-885.24 R.S. Cum. Supp., 2016, Effective Date, 
October 1, 2016. 
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Title 299 - NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 
 


Chapter 1 - LICENSES; APPLICATIONS; TERMS, DEFINED; EXAMINATIONS; 
SURRENDER, SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION; RENEWAL; 
CANCELLATION; REINSTATEMENT; TRANSFER OF LICENSE. 


 


001 All applications for real estate broker's or salesperson=s original licenses must be filed in the 
Office of the Real Estate Commission and the applicant approved in accordance with the 
Nebraska Real Estate License Act prior to the date of examination. All applications to re-take an 
examination must be filed in the Office of the Real Estate Commission and the applicant 
re-approved in accordance with the Nebraska Real Estate License Act prior to the date of 
re-examination. 
 


002 An applicant shall forfeit the examination fee when said applicant fails to appear to take the 
examination for which said applicant has been scheduled, unless said applicant has given the 
required cancellation notice as contracted by the Real Estate Commission with the examination 
provider.  
 


003 Each original application for a broker's or salesperson's original license must include the 
Social Security Number of the applicant and be accompanied by a passport-type picture of the 
applicant taken within the past year. 
 


004 Persons desiring to secure a broker's license must first file with the Commission such 
application for a broker's license and pass a written examination. Written examination includes 
examinations completed by paper and pencil and computerized or electronic examinations as 
contracted for by the Real Estate Commission. 
 


004.01 The words "have first served actively for two years," as provided in Subsection (3) of 
Section 81-885.13 of the Nebraska Real Estate License Act, shall mean that the applicant 
must have devoted his or her full-time experience to activities requiring the holding of a 
salesperson's license or, if less than full time, for a period of time equal to two years of 
full-time experience.  


 


004.02 Courses of study provided in Section 81-885.13 of the Nebraska Real Estate License 
Act shall be courses of study approved by the Real Estate Commission and which are 
offered by (1) Nebraska accredited baccalaureate degree granting institutions and Nebraska 
or non-Nebraska institutions offering programs from which credits can be transferred to an 
accredited Nebraska baccalaureate degree granting institution, (2) Nebraska Community 
Colleges, (3) Special Institutes relating to real estate which Institutes are approved by the 
Real Estate Commission and (4) Proprietary Schools as provided in Section 81-885.13(46) 
of the Nebraska Real Estate License Act; Provided, the Real Estate Commission may give 
credit for similar courses taken at similar institutions in other states.  


 


004.03 Courses of study provided for in Section 81-885.13 of the Nebraska Real Estate 
License Act which are offered in a distance education format must be approved by the Real 
Estate Commission and certified by the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials, 
with the exception that such certification will not be required of courses in a correspondence 
study format that held the certification by the Association of Real Estate License Law 
Officials and were in good standing as of January 1, 2012, and such courses shall remain 
exempt from Association of License Law Officials certification through January 1, 2017.   
 
004.04 After January 1, 2017, courses of study provided for in Section 81-885.13 offered in 
correspondence  study  format shall be certified as to delivery method by the Real  Estate  
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Commission.  Such certification shall include: learning objectives stated through 
performance terms, required levels of cognition higher than rudimentary knowledge, 
intellectual interactions with the content, and a combination of purposeful formative 
and summative assessments. 


 
 
004.05 A student must complete the distance education course within one year of the date of 
enrollment. Distance education as used in this subsection shall mean courses in which 
instruction does not take place primarily by means of real time audio and visual interaction 
between teacher and student. 


 
005 All examinations will be given under the supervision of the Director or his or her 
representative. The examination will be given no less than monthly unless otherwise ordered by 
the Commission. The Commission will inform applicants of approval to sit for the examination. In 
conducting the examination, the Commission may utilize professional testing services.  
 
006 The Commission shall pass upon the granting of broker's and salesperson's licenses and 
upon applications for reciprocal and non-resident licenses.  
 
007 An associate broker or salesperson, upon surrendering his or her license or when an order of 
suspension or revocation of his or her license becomes final, shall have their license forwarded by 
the employing broker at once to the Commission. If such license is that of a broker, such broker 
shall forward to the Commission with his or her own broker's license, all salesperson's or 
associate broker's licenses in his or her possession or in his or her office and shall be responsible 
for all missing licenses of his or her salespersons or associate brokers.  
 
008 Failure to make application for the renewal of a license prior to December 1st of the year the 
licensee’s renewal is due as defined by Section 81-885.14 will automatically cancel the license of 
a real estate broker or a real estate  salesperson  as of  December 31st  of that year  and such 
real estate broker or real estate salesperson is prohibited from engaging in the real estate 
business in the State of Nebraska until such license has been renewed in accordance with 
Section 81-885.14 of the Nebraska Real Estate License Act. 
 
009 Any licensee whose license has been canceled for failure to pay the renewal fee when due 
must comply with all requirements of a new applicant and comply with Section 81-885.53 of the 
Nebraska Real Estate License Act, if applicable, in order to secure reinstatement of his or her 
license, except as provided in Section 81-885.14(1) of the Nebraska Real Estate License Act.  
 
010 Any inactive broker or salesperson may renew his or her license by making application, 
before December 1st by submitting the renewal fee, together with the completed renewal 
application on which he or she has noted his or her present "Inactive Status". Any licensee whose 
license has been renewed on such "Inactive Status" shall not be permitted to engage in activities 
which require a real estate license under the Nebraska Real Estate License Act until such time as 
he or she fulfills the requirements for active status. Any license which has been inactive for a 
continuous period of more than three years shall be reinstated only after the licensee sits for and 
passes the applicable licensing examination in use at the time of activating the license and has 
made-up the required continuing education as set forth in Section 81-885.53 of the Nebraska 
Real Estate License Act.  
 
011 All licensees who enter the armed service or are called to active duty after issuance of a real 
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estate license are not required to pay the renewal fee or complete the continuing education 
requirement during the period of service. Upon discharge from said service the license shall be 
reinstated if the date of discharge is within three years of the date of beginning such service. In 
order to be eligible for reinstatement upon discharge from said service, the licensee may make 
application for said reinstatement within six months of the date of discharge as long as the date of 
discharge is within three years of the date of beginning such service. In any case of reinstatement, 
the licensee shall show proof, in the form of a photostatic copy of his or her discharge or papers of 
separation, that his or her discharge was other than dishonorable. If date of discharge is after 
three years from the date of beginning such service, the licensee shall be required to meet all the 
requirements for active status including the successful completion of the current real estate 
examination before the license will be reinstated.  
 
012 When a licensee is transferring his/her license, the licensee shall not be deemed transferred 
until all required documents, fees and information have been received by the Commission. The 
licensee will be considered to be on inactive status from the date employment is terminated until 
the transfer is completed. 
 


Laws 1973, LB 68 '7; RS 1943, '81-885.07(5) R.S. Supp., 1974. Effective date 
September 2, 1973. 
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Title 299 - NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 
 
Chapter 2 - BUSINESS PRACTICES; EMPLOYMENT OF SALESPERSON OR ASSOCIATE 


BROKER; ADVERTISING; SOLICITING LISTINGS OR REPRESENTATION; 
TRANSMISSION OF WRITTEN OFFERS TO OWNER; CLOSING REAL 
ESTATE TRANSACTIONS; GOOD FUNDS; REPRESENTING ANOTHER 
BROKER; RETENTION OF SIGNS; BRANCH OFFICES. 


 
001 It shall be presumed that a duly licensed broker whose principal business is other than that of 
a real estate broker is unable to supervise licensed employees, and said broker shall not be 
allowed to employ a real estate salesperson or an associate broker until such presumption is 
overcome by satisfactory evidence to the contrary.  
 
002 Each broker shall record with the Commission the type of business form under which the 
broker is doing business, i.e., sole proprietorship, general or limited partnership, corporation, 
limited liability company, or any other entity authorized by law under which a broker may be 
operating a real estate business, and the legal name of such entity if it is not a sole proprietorship. 
A broker may operate only under one business entity. In addition, the broker shall record with the 
Commission all names under which the broker will be conducting business. All trade names shall 
be recorded with the Commission only after registration with the Secretary of State's Office. 
 
003 Advertising shall include all forms of identification, representation, promotion, and solicitation 
disseminated in any manner and by any means of communication to the public for any purpose 
related to licensed real estate activity. All advertising shall be under the direct supervision of the 
broker, and in prominently display the name the broker is conducting business as recorded with 
the Commission in a way that is conspicuous, discernible, and easily identifiable by the public. 
Advertising which is contrary to Sections 003 to 006 of these regulations shall constitute 
misleading or inaccurate advertising under Section 81-885.24(2) of the Nebraska Real Estate 
License Act. 
 


003.01 Each broker who is operating as an independent broker or sole proprietorship, 
without being a corporation or limited liability company or filing a trade name, shall advertise 
in his or her name as recorded with the Commission and include the word(s) "Broker" or 
"Real Estate Broker", e.g. Sara Stone, Broker or Sara Stone, Real Estate Broker. 


 
003.02 Each broker, when operating under a franchise, shall clearly set forth in all 
advertising, in addition to the franchise name, the name under which the broker is doing 
business as recorded with the Commission and, if applicable, registered with the Secretary 
of State. 


 
003.03 Each broker who is operating under one or more trade names as registered with the 
Secretary of State and recorded with the Commission will advertise in the trade name(s) as 
recorded. The broker is not required to identify all trade names on each advertisement but 
must advertise, without exception, in the name of one of the trade names as registered with 
the Secretary of State and as recorded with the Commission. This section applies to 
independent brokers, sole proprietorships, franchises, corporations, partnerships, limited 
liability companies, or any other entity authorized by law under which a broker may be 
operating a real estate business. 
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003.04 Each broker who is operating under a corporation will advertise in the name of the 
corporation as registered with the Secretary of State and recorded with the Commission. If 
the corporation also registers one or more trade names with the Secretary of State, such 
trade name(s) shall be recorded with the Commission, and the corporation may advertise in 
either the corporate name or the trade name(s). 


 
003.05 Each broker who is operating under a limited liability company will advertise in the 
name of the limited liability company as registered with the Secretary of State and recorded 
with the Commission. If the limited liability company also registers one or more trade names  
with the Secretary of State, such trade name(s) shall be recorded with the Commission, and 
the limited liability company may advertise in either the limited liability company name or the 
trade name(s). 


 
003.06 If registered and recorded names have in their titles, "Co.", "Inc." or the like, such 
designations may be excluded from advertising, provided that such exclusion is likely to 
neither deceive nor confuse the public with regard to the identity of the real estate business 
being advertised.  
 
003.07 Real estate affiliate and team advertising: 
 
 003.07a Team advertising shall always include the team name as recorded with the 
team’s designated broker.  
 
 003.07b Team advertising shall prominently display the name the broker supervising 
the team conducts business under as recorded with the Commission adjacent to the team 
name and similar or greater in size and visibility than the team name. 
 
 003.07b Advertising featuring the name of an affiliated associate broker or salesperson 
shall prominently display the name the broker supervising the affiliated salesperson or 
associate broker conducts business under as recorded with the Commission adjacent to 
affiliated licensee’s name and similar or greater in size and visibility than the affiliated 
licensee’s name. 
 
003.08 Real estate team names: 
 
 003.08a Must always include the word “team” or “group” as part of the team name. 


 
      003.08b  Real estate team names shall not include the words: 
 


(i) Realtors,  
(ii) Company, 
(iii) Corporation, 
(iv) Corp., 
(v) Inc., 
(vi) LLC, 
(vii) Inc., 
(viii) LP or LLP, 
(ix) LP or LLP, 
(x) or similar words suggesting the team is a separate real estate 


   brokerage or company. 
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  003.08c  Real estate team names may include the words “real estate” or “realty” 
only if such terms are immediately followed by the word “team” or “group” 


 
 


 
004 A broker shall not advertise to sell, buy, exchange, rent, or lease real property in a manner 
indicating that the offer to sell, buy, exchange, rent, or lease such real property is being made by 
a private party not engaged in the real estate business, and no advertisement shall be inserted in 
any publication where only a post office box number, telephone number, or street address 
appears. 
 
005 Every salesperson, associate broker, and broker is prohibited from advertising under his or 
her own name the offering for sale, purchase, or exchange of any real property unless he or she is 
the owner thereof. Every licensee, when advertising his or her own property for sale, purchase, or 
exchange must disclose in such advertising that he or she is a licensed real estate salesperson, 
associate broker, or broker.  
 
006 Every licensee is prohibited from soliciting or attempting to secure listings or to represent a 
purchaser or tenant without first advising the owner or prospective purchaser or tenant that he or 
she is a licensee, and that he or she is engaged in the real estate business. 
 
007 In the event that more than one written offer is made before the owner has accepted an offer 
and closed on that offer, any other written offer presented to the licensee, whether by a 
prospective purchaser, an agent of a prospective purchaser, or a cooperating broker, shall be 
transmitted forthwith to the owner for his or her consideration. 
 
008 A salesperson or associate broker shall not participate in the closing of any real estate 
transaction except under the supervision and with the consent of the broker under whom such 
salesperson or associate broker is licensed. A broker shall not authorize any person who is not 
licensed as a salesperson or associate broker to conduct the closing of a real estate transaction. 
This shall not prevent an unlicensed person, such as a closing secretary, from doing the 
preparatory work for the closing, subject to the approval of the licensee conducting the closing; 
and does not apply to real estate closing agents authorized under Neb. Rev. Stat. 76-2,121 et 
seq.  
 
009 A broker closing a real estate transaction shall be in compliance with Neb. Rev. Stat. Sections 
76-2,121 through 76-2,123. 
 
010 The consent required from the employing broker for an associate broker or salesperson to 
represent another real estate broker or to accept a commission or other valuable consideration 
from anyone other than the employing broker as set forth in Neb. Rev. Stat. 81-885.24(7) and (8), 
respectively, shall be given in writing by the broker in advance of the licensee representing the 
other broker or the acceptance of the commission or other valuable consideration from the other 
party. A copy of the consent shall be maintained by the employing broker for five years following 
the date of such consent. 
 
011 The word "Placing..." as used in 81-885.24(11) of the Nebraska Real Estate License Act shall 
also be construed to mean the retention of such sign. Written authorization is required to place 
and retain a sign, and the sign must be removed within a reasonable period of time after the 
termination of such written authorization. 
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012 A branch office is any location, other than the main office of a real estate business, where: 1) 
one or more licensees spend a substantial amount of time transacting real estate business 
requiring a license; and 2) such licensee(s) advertises that they can be contacted for real estate 
business purposes; and 3) such licensee(s) maintains what would, in the normal business 
context, be considered a business office. Nothing in this Section should be construed to include 
the advertising of a home phone number and address by a licensee in the alphabetical listing of 
subscribers section, or white pages, of the telephone directory to come within the branch office 
definition. A model home utilized as an office on a temporary basis would not be considered a 
branch office. 
 
013 A real estate broker, who is not otherwise involved in the real estate transaction before a 
written agreement has been entered into for the purchase, sale, or exchange of the real estate, 
may close the real estate transaction as long as the broker complies with all provisions of the 
Nebraska Real Estate License Act and Rules of the Commission. 
 


013.01 For the purpose of 013 above, the word "close" refers to services as an independent 
party to perform the ministerial actions necessary to complete the transaction, which may 
include the receipt and disbursement of funds. When providing only the above ministerial 
actions, the broker shall disclose, in writing, to all parties to the transaction, prior to the 
closing of the transaction, that the broker is only providing this ministerial service and is not 
acting as an agent for either party. The disclosure shall be signed by both parties and a copy 
shall be maintained in accordance with 299 NAC 3-001. 


 
013.02 Whenever a broker participates in a real estate transaction before a written 
agreement has been entered into for the purchase, sale, or exchange of real estate, the 
broker must fulfill the applicable obligations of a broker to the seller and the buyer in 
accordance with the provisions of the Nebraska Real Estate License Act and the Rules of the 
Commission. 
 


014 In the event that a team or group leader’s license is suspended or revoked, unless dissolved, 
the team or group must forthwith designate a new leader and provide the name of the new group 
leader to the team’s designated broker. If a team or group member for whom the team or group is 
named has his or her license suspended or revoked the team must forthwith designate a new 
name for the team or group which does not use or incorporate the revoked or suspended 
licensee’s name.  This provision shall not apply to periods when a team or group member for 
whom the team or group is named is serving his or her suspension on probation. 
 
015 The operative date of the amendments found in sections 003 and 014 of this chapter shall be 
July 1, 2017. 
 


Laws 1973, LB 68, '7; RS 1943, '81-885.07 (5) R. S. Supp., 1974. Effective date 
September 2, 1973. 


 
Laws 1994, LB 1275, '3; RS 1943, '76-2,123 R.S. Cum. Supp., 1994. Effective date 
July 16, 1994. 
 
Laws 2016, LB678, §3: RS 1943, §81-885.56 R.S. Cum. Supp., 2016, Effective Date, 
October 1, 2016. 
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Laws 2016, LB678, §4: RS 1943, §81-885.24 R.S. Cum. Supp., 2016, Effective Date, 
October 1, 2016. 
 





