Last issue date: December 27, 2007

Title 234 - Nebraska State Board of Examiners for Land Surveyors

Chapter - 1 - Classes of Applicants

002. Class 2 shall include all applicants, who are <u>residents or</u> nonresidents of the State of Nebraska applying for registration as a land surveyor under Section 81-8,120, R.R.S., who <u>may be are</u> registered in another state, which maintains standards equal to or greater than those required by the State of Nebraska. Sec. 81-8,120

Last issue date: December 27, 2007

Title 234 - Nebraska State Board of Examiners for Land Surveyors

Chapter - 2 - Application for Registration

002. Applications must be received by <u>filed with</u> the Secretary ninety days in advance of the examination date. Applications and must be typed or neatly lettered in ink on forms prescribed and furnished by the Board. To be acceptable they must be filled out completely and in the detail required. Sec. 81-8,114

003. Prior to January, 2008 no application for registration as a land surveyor will be accepted unless it is accompanied by a check, draft or money order in the amount of \$140.00 made payable to the Secretary of the Board of Examiners for Land Surveyors. Effective January 12, 2008 no No application for registration as a land surveyor will be accepted unless it is accompanied by a check, draft or money order in the amount of \$40.00 made payable to the Secretary of the Board of Examiners for Land Surveyors. The fee shall be considered an application fee and shall not be returned to applicants who are unsuccessful for any reason. Sec. 81-8,118

004. Prior to January, 2008 no application for registration as a surveyor in training will be accepted unless it is accompanied by a check, draft or money order in the amount of \$100.00 made payable to the Secretary of the Board of Examiners for Land Surveyors. Effective January 12, 2008 no No application for registration as a surveyor-in-training will be accepted unless it is accompanied by a check, draft or money order in the amount of \$40.00 made payable to the Secretary of the Board of Examiners for Land Surveyors. The fee shall be considered an application fee and shall not be returned to applicants who are unsuccessful for any reason. Sec. 81-8,109

Last issue date: December 27, 2007

Title 234 - Nebraska State Board of Examiners for Land Surveyors

Chapter - 3 - Examinations

002. The application for registration is a part of the examination. Each applicant must show to the satisfaction of the Board that he or she meets at least the minimum requirements set forth is Sections 81-8,109 to 81-8,127, R.R.S., 1943, as amended, before he or she will be admitted to any examination. Failure to meet the minimum requirements of these sections of the act shall be interpreted as if it were a failure in the examination with retention of the application fee. However, the Board may continue consideration of an application for one year wherein the applicant has an experience deficiency of less than one year, or other valid reason, and without causing forfeiture of the application fee. Any applicant which has been denied registration as a land surveyor or surveyor in training in Nebraska due to failure of the written examination must show proof of completion of fifteen (15) hours of professional development as defined in Rule 10, paragraph 002, subparagraphs 002.06 and 002.08 before any new application shall be approved. Sec. 81-8,109 through 81-8,123

003. Upon receipt of an application and the application fee, the Secretary shall acknowledge the application and advise the applicant that the routine of making the necessary investigations will be followed and that he or she will be notified no later than twenty (20) days before the written examination whether he or she will be admitted to it. Sec. 81-8,110.08

005. The written examination for registration as a land surveyor shall be on the professional practice of land surveying. The examination shall be of eight hours duration. Sec. 81-8,115

006. The written examination for surveyor-in-training shall be on the fundamentals of land surveying. The examination shall be eight hours duration. Sec. 81-8,110.08

009. The applicant must pass the written examination to qualify for registration. The examination grade must be certified by the National Council of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors (NCEES) and/or the Secretary of the Board. The Secretary of the Board will report to the Board the results of the examination. Upon receipt of the Secretary of the Board's report the Board will determine which applicants have passed the examination. The applicant, the Secretary or any Member of the Board may request that the grade on an examination be reviewed by the Board at a regular meeting. Such request must be delivered in writing to the Secretary of the Board within 90 days of notification of the grades.

Last issue date: December 27, 2007

Title 234 - Nebraska State Board of Examiners for Land Surveyors

The Board may on its own motion require a re-grading of any examination question by the NCEES. If such re-grading has been requested by the applicant then he or she shall reimburse the Board for all costs of re-grading. This cost shall be 150% of the amount charged by NCEES. The decision of the Board in such reviews will be final. Sec. 81-8,110.08

010. If an applicant fails to qualify for registration due to failure of the examination he or she may be reexamined once at the discretion of the Board without submitting a new application. Fees shall be the same as a new applicant of the same class. Sec. 81-8,118

011. Effective January 12, 2008, upon Upon notification by the Board that a land surveyor applicant has passed the examination he or she shall submit a registration fee not to exceed one hundred dollars (\$100.00) in the form of a check, draft or money order made payable to the Secretary of the Board of Examiners for Land Surveyors. Effective January 12, 2008, upon Upon notification by the Board that a surveyor-in-training applicant has passed the examination he or she shall submit a registration fee not to exceed twenty dollars (\$20.00) in the form of a check, draft or money order made payable to the Secretary of the Board of Examiners for Land Surveyors. Sec. 81-8,118

014. Holders of an inactive registration applying for active registration shall be required to successfully complete the same written examination as a surveyor-in-training applying for registration as a land surveyor. Provided, the board shall waive the written portion of the examination if the applicant elects to demonstrate proficiency by providing proof of professional development. Proof of professional development shall mean completing professional development hours as defined in Chapter 10 of these rules. The applicant shall be required to complete forty-five (45) PDHs. All PDHs required must be obtained during the time the applicant's registration has been inactive. The PDHs required shall be reported on the form provided by the Board and the applicant shall provide supporting documentation. Any professional development hours which are used to apply for active registration shall be used for that purpose exclusively and shall not count in any other requirements in these rules. Sec.81-8,119.01

Last issue date: December 27, 2007

Title 234 - Nebraska State Board of Examiners for Land Surveyors

Chapter - 7 - Biennial Renewal

002. <u>Prior to January, 2014</u>, <u>Uupon receipt of the renewal fee in the amount of twenty dollars (\$20.00)</u>, compliance with all applicable rules and approval of the Board, the Secretary of the Board shall renew the registration of each surveyor-in-training. Such renewal shall be for the next biennium unless canceled or revoked by the Board. The biennial fee shall be considered an application fee and shall not be returned to applicants who are unsuccessful for any reason. <u>Effective January 1, 2014, biennial renewal requirement of the registration of each surveyor-in-training will expire.</u> Sec. 81-8,110.08