#### NEBRASKA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

# Last Approved Date:

Title 163 - Nebraska Game and Parks Commission

Chapter 4 - Wildlife Regulations

# 037 Mountain Lions

The following regulations are prescribed by the Game and Parks Commission, State of Nebraska in accordance with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 37-301, 37-304, 37-308, 37-308.01, 37-314, 37-228, 37-404, 37-405, 37-411, 37-426, 37-452, 37-473, 37-613. For purposes of these regulations, unless context otherwise requires, the definitions found in Chapter 37, sections 202 through 247 of the Game Law, are used. These regulations are effective following enactment by the Commission, approval by the Attorney General and Governor, and when five days have elapsed since filing with the Secretary of State.

#### 037.01 Open Season:

Period 1: Open January 1 through February 9, except the season shall immediately close if either the annual harvest quota or female sub-quota (037.02) is reached prior to February 9.

Period 2: February 15 through March 31, except the season shall immediately close if either the annual harvest quota or female sub-quota (037.02) is reached prior to March 31. The season shall be closed during Period 2 if the annual harvest quota or female sub-quota has been reached during Period 1.

037.02 Annual Harvest Quota: Three (3) mountain lions, with a sub-quota of one (1) female.

037.03 Permits: The Commission shall issue one hundred (100) permits by lottery and one (1) permit by auction. No person shall be issued more than one (1) permit per calendar year. All lottery permits shall be issued to Nebraska residents only.

037.04 Permit Bag Limit: One (1) mountain lion of either sex.

037.05 Shooting Hours: 30 minutes before sunrise to 30 minutes after sunset.

037.06 Area Open: Those parts of Box Butte, Dawes, Sheridan, and Sioux counties north of the Niobrara River and west of NE Highway 27.

O37.07 Application Period: Applications for lottery permits shall be accepted from 1:00 p.m. CST on the first Monday in August through the fourth Friday in August prior to each open season. Mail applications must be received in the Commission's Lincoln headquarters office by 5 p.m. CST, and internet applications must be received by 11:59 p.m. CST. All valid applications accompanied by the required fee (Administration Regulations, Chapter 1, Section 006) shall be considered equally in a random drawing. It shall be unlawful to submit more than one application per calendar year for a mountain lion permit. If more than one such application is submitted by or for any person, all of that person's applications shall be excluded from the drawing and the accompanying fees shall be forfeited.

037.08 Checking: Any mountain lion harvested must be reported to the Commission within 8 hours of recovering the animal using a phone number or website specified by the Commission, or in person at the Alliance district office during normal business hours. The entire unfrozen carcass must be presented to a Commission representative within 24 hours of the time it is killed to allow for inspection and attachment of an official harvest seal, unless the Commission has been notified and arrangements are made for a later check. The permitee shall furnish the Commission with the date and location of kill prior to the attachment of the harvest seal. The harvest seal must remain attached to the mountain lion until the pelt is tanned, mounted or otherwise preserved. The Commission shall collect two premolar teeth to allow determination of age and a tissue sample from each mountain lion harvested.

037.09 Weapons Allowed: Firearms and archery equipment as specified in 001.01B2.

### 037.10 It shall be unlawful to:

037.10A harvest or attempt to harvest a mountain lion with a spotted coat (kitten) or any mountain lion accompanying another mountain lion.

037.10B hunt mountain lions without first confirming that the season is open each day by checking the Commission-provided toll-free number or season status website.

037.10C hunt mountain lions with the aid of bait (001.01B9), traps or dogs, except that the auction permittee and the first four (4) permittees drawn in the lottery may hunt with the aid of dogs during Period 2 until the close of the season.

037.10D fail to check or report any mountain lion taken as prescribed in 037.08.

037.10E falsely check or report the harvest of any mountain lion.