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Title 163 - Nebraska Game and Parks Commission 

Chapter 4 - Wildlife Regulations 
 

015 Game Breeding and Controlled Shooting Areas 

The following regulations are prescribed by the Game and Parks
Commission, State of Nebraska in accordance with 37-301, 37-
485 through 37-490, 37-492 through 37-494, R.R.S. 1998, 37-
314, R.R.S. 1999, 37-491, R.R.S. 2002, 37-484, 37-495, 37-496,
R.R.S. 2003  Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 37-301, 37-314, 37-484 through
37-496.  For purposes of these regulations, unless context
otherwise requires, the definitions found in Chapter 37,
sections 202 through 247 of the Game Law, are used. These
regulations are effective following enactment by the
Commission, approval by the Attorney General and Governor, and
when five days have elapsed since filing with the Secretary of
State.

015.01  Documentation: 

015.01A  The applicant must provide proof with the
application that he or she controls, by ownership
or lease, the land upon which the Controlled
Shooting Area will be operated.  If the land is
leased, a copy of the lease must be submitted; the
lease must be valid for a period extending at least
five (5) years beyond the date of original
application for lands included and the lease must
stipulate that the landowner specifically gives
permission to the applicant to operate a Controlled
Shooting Area, and the lease must be accompanied by
documents that verify that the lessor owns the
land.

015.01A1 A commercial game breeding and
controlled shooting area shall be defined as
one which offers goods or services to clients
for a fee or in trade, thereby generating
income and/or profit.

015.01A2 A non-commercial game breeding and
controlled shooting area shall be defined as
one which offers goods or services to family,
friends, or clients free of charge. 
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015.01B  In the event of a change of ownership or a
substantial change in the terms of the lease
authorizing the operation of the Controlled
Shooting Area it shall be unlawful to fail to
notify the Game and Parks Commission in writing of
the change.  Such notification must be made within
60 days of the change. Upon such notification, the
Game and Parks Commission shall delete the affected
land from the permit unless the operator of the
Controlled Shooting Area provides proof as
specified in  015.01A that he or she still controls
the land. 

015.02  Distance Requirements

015.02A  No license shall be issued for any
commercial area whose boundary lies within one
mile of the boundary of any other commercial area
so licensed.

015.02B  No license shall be issued for any
commercial area whose boundary lies within one mile
of a federal game refuge or wildlife management
area.

015.02B1 A commercial game breeding and
controlled shooting area shall be defined as
one which offers goods or services to clients
for a fee or trade, thereby generating income
and/or profit.

015.03  Posting Requirements: 

015.03A  It shall be unlawful to post the
Controlled Shooting Area in any manner other than
as prescribed in sections 015.03A1, 015.03A2 and
015.03A3.

015.03A1  The licensee shall post both sides
of any public road that traverses any part of
the Controlled Shooting Area, all vehicular
entrances, the perimeter of any inholding in
the Controlled Shooting Area that is not a
part of the area, and the entire outside
perimeter of the area at intervals of not more
than 500 1000 feet, with signs as follows:
Signs shall be a minimum of 12 inches wide by
18 inches high.  Lettering shall be all
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capital letters in black on a white
background, with wording as specified.  The
words "CONTROLLED SHOOTING AREA" shall appear
on three lines at the top of the sign in
letters 1 ½ inches high.  The words "PRIVATE
HUNTING" shall appear on two lines in the
middle of the sign in letters two inches high,
and at the bottom of the sign shall appear the
words "LICENSED BY THE NEBRASKA GAME AND PARKS
COMMISSION PERMIT NO. _______" on three lines
in letters ½ inch high.  A facsimile, to
scale, shall be provided to all Controlled
Shooting Area licensees when the permit is
granted. Signs must be made of metal, wood or
rigid plastic. Signs must be replaced whenever
the readability is impaired.  

015.03A2  Where placement of signs interferes
with normal farming practices the signs may be
removed when not in operation.  However, the
licensee shall notify the Game and Parks
Commission in writing of the period of time
the Area will be closed, prior to removal of
the signs.  Signs must be replaced before the
Controlled Shooting Area is reactivated.

015.03A3  Existing Controlled Shooting Areas,
which already have signs in place prior to
enactment of these regulations, shall have two
years to convert their current signs to those
specified in these regulations.  An extension
of this two-year grace period may be granted
by the Game and Parks Commission, provided the
licensee requests such an extension in writing
and demonstrates to the Commission's
satisfaction that existing signs meet the
necessary criteria of properly informing the
public of the area boundaries. 

015.04  Released Birds:

Birds to be released must be listed on the Game Breeding
and Controlled Shooting Area permit.  It shall be
unlawful to release any birds except pheasant, quail,
partridge and mallard.  Birds may be released only in
accord with 37-488, 37-489, 37-492, 015.04 and 015.05.
Pursuit of game birds on Game Breeding and Controlled
Shooting Areas is prohibited except September 1 through
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April 1 of each year., provided that turkeys may be
hunted throughout the open season.

015.04A Pigeons may be released for dog training
purposes but shall not count towards the 500 bird
release requirements stated in 015.05A or 37-489.

015.04B  Acceptable Marking of Released Birds: 

It shall be unlawful to release any bird less than
12 weeks old on the Controlled Shooting Area unless
the bird has been marked prior to release by
removal of the last joint of the hind toe (hallux)
from each one foot or by the attachment of a band
provided by the Game and Parks Commission or by
deformation of the nares, which results when the
bird was raised with an anti-pecking device
inserted into the nares. 

015.04C Acceptable Marking of Transported Birds

Prior to being transported from a controlled
shooting area, any game bird taken on such area
shall be banded with a band provided by the Game
and Parks Commission.

015.05  Standards for Release and Harvest of Birds:  

015.05A  It shall be unlawful for the licensee to
release less than 500 birds between the date of
issuance of the permit and April 1 of the license
year.  For subsequent years, it shall be unlawful
for the licensee to release less than 500 birds
between July 1 and April 1 during the year that the
permit is retained. Bird release must be
substantiated by either submitting to the Game and
Parks Commission proof of purchase of the birds or
by an on-site inspection of the birds by Commission
personnel whenever the birds are raised rather than
purchased. 

015.05B  It shall be unlawful for the licensee to
allow more birds of any given species to be
harvested on the Controlled Shooting Area than the
number of that species released. When harvest
reaches the number released, hunting of that
species must be discontinued until more birds of
the same species are released. Those game bird
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species not specifically listed on the Controlled
Shooting Area permit may only be hunted during the
conventional hunting season in accord with the
current year hunting regulation, i.e. limits
shooting hours, sex restrictions, and the like;
provided that anyone hunting these species must
have either a resident or regular non-resident
hunting license and required stamps - the $11.00
Controlled Shooting Area hunting license does not
apply to species not listed on the Controlled
Shooting Area permit.

015.05C Shooting Hours shall be from 30 minutes
before sunrise to sunset.

015.06  Records and Reports:

It shall be unlawful for the licensee to fail to maintain
records of all releases and birds taken by species and
names, and permit types, and game taken by of all hunters
transporting birds from the area, on record forms
provided for this purpose by the Game and Parks
Commission.  Records may be inspected during normal
business hours by Commission personnel and must be
submitted for the period July 1 through April 1 to the
Commission headquarters in Lincoln, prior to April 30.
A summary report form provided by the Commission must
also accompany the detailed records when the books are
submitted to the Commission. Failure to complete and
submit required paperwork by the specified April 30
deadline will result in suspension, revocation or refusal
to renew the Controlled Shooting Area permit. 

015.07 License; refusal to issue or renew; suspension
or revocation; grounds; notice; hearing.

The Commission may either refuse to issue or refuse to
renew or may suspend or may revoke any Game Breeding and
Controlled Shooting Area license if the Commission finds
that such licensed area or the operator thereof is not
complying or does not comply with or is operated in
violation of sections 37-484 to 37-496 or Section 015, or
in an unlawful or illegal manner.
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015.07A Definitions Permit Suspension

015.07A1 Suspension shall mean the temporary
cancellation of a permit for the time period
equivalent to the amount of time necessary to
correct the problem which resulted in a
violation; suspensions may be lifted upon
correction of the violation, and receipt of
written confirmation by the Secretary of the
Commission or his designee that the problem
has been adequately addressed.

015.07A2 Grounds for Permit Suspension

015.07A2a One (1) written warning/
conviction for failure to submit required
documents within allotted time frames.

015.07A2b One (1) written warning/
conviction for failure to have signs
placed as per 37-487 or 015.03.

015.072c One (1) written warning/
conviction for failure to comply with
regulations concerning the release of
birds as per 37-488, 37-489, 37-492,
015.04 or 015.05.

015.07A3 Procedures for suspension or refusal
to renew:

015.07A3a  The licensee will be given at
least fifteen days notice in writing of
the reasons for the action of the
Commission and an opportunity to appear
in opposition to the action of the
Commission before an Advisory Council of
the Commission, designated by the
Secretary of the Commission.

015.07A3b The Secretary shall designate
an Advisory Council including, but not
limited to, the Deputy Director, the
Division Administrator of Wildlife and
the Division Administrator of Law
Enforcement.



Title 163
Chapter 4

118B

015.07B Permit Revocation

015.07A2 015.07B1 Revocation shall mean the
cancellation of a permit for a specified time
period prescribed by the Secretary of the
Commission not to exceed one year from the
notice of revocation; the Secretary may refuse
to renew a permit until such prescribed time
has elapsed.  The Secretary of the Commission
shall refuse to issue a Game Breeding and
Controlled Shooting Area permit if all the
lawful requirements for application or
operation are not met.

015.07B Grounds for Suspension:

015.07B1 One (1) written warning/conviction
for failure to submit required documents
within allotted time frames.

015.07B2 One (1) written warning/conviction
for failure to have signs placed as per 37-487
or 015.03.

015.07B3 One (1) written warning/conviction
for failure to comply with regulations
concerning the release of birds as per 37-488,
37-489, 37-492, 015.04 or 015.05.

015.07C Grounds for Revocation:

015.07B2 Grounds for Permit Revocation

015.07C1 015.07B2a One (1) written
warning/conviction for failing to verify
hunter’s hunting license and habitat stamp
(37-491) or for violations of operating hunts
or purchasing/distributing birds while under
suspension.

015.07C2 015.07B2b Two (2) written
warnings/convictions for failing to release
the required number of birds as specified in
37-488, 37-489 or 37-492, or for violations
relating to the age of released birds,
appropriate marking of such birds, failing to
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furnish required receipts, etc. as per 37-488,
015.04, or 015.05, within any five (5) year
period.

015.07C3 015.07B2c Two (2) written
warnings/convictions for allowing hunting of
upland game birds or mallard ducks as per 37-
490 or 015.04 within any five (5) year period.

015.07C4 015.07B2d Three (3) written
warnings/convictions for any other regulation
or statutory violation relating to the
operation of a Game Breeding and Controlled
Shooting Area within any ten (10) year period,
except as provided in 015.07C1 015.07B2a
through 015.07C3 015.07B2d.

015.07B3 Procedures for revocation or refusal
to renew:

015.07B3a  The licensee will be given at
least fifteen days notice in writing of
the reasons for the action of the
Commission and an opportunity to appear
in opposition to the action of the
Commission before an Advisory Council of
the Commission, designated by the
Secretary of the Commission.

015.07B3b The Secretary shall designate
an Advisory Council including, but not
limited to, the Deputy Director, the
Division Administrator of Wildlife and
the Division Administrator of Law
Enforcement.

015.07D  Procedures for revocation, suspension or
refusal to renew:

015.07D1  The licensee will be given at least
fifteen days notice in writing of the reasons
for the action of the Commission and an
opportunity to appear in opposition to the
action of the Commission before an Advisory
Council of the Commission, designated by the
Secretary of the Commission.
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015.07D1a The Secretary shall designate
an Advisory Council including, but not
limited to, the Assistant Director for
Fish, Wildlife and Law Enforcement, the
Division Administrator of Wildlife and
the Division Administrator of Law
Enforcement.


