
S T A T E  O F N E B R A S K A  
D e p a r t m e n t  o f  B a n k i n g  & F i n a n c e  

IN THE MATTER OF: ) 

Great Plains Specialty Finance, Inc., 1 
d/b/a Check ‘n Go, ) 

Lincoln, Lancaster County, Nebraska 1 

) FINDINGS OF FACT 
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

AND 
4640 Champlain Drive, Suite 1 17, 1 CONSENT AGREEMENT 

THIS MATTER comes before the Nebraska Department of Banking and Finance 

(“DEPARTMENT”), by and through its Director, pursuant to its authority under the 

Delayed Deposit Services Licensing Act, Neb. Rev. Stat. $6 45-901 to 45-929 (Reissue 

2004; Cum. Supp. 2006) (“the Act”). Pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. 8 45-920 (Reissue 

2004), the DEPARTMENT has examined the books, accounts, and records of Great 

Plains Specialty Finance, Inc., d/b/a Check ‘n Go, 4640 Champlain Drive, Suite 1 17, 

Lincoln, Lancaster County, Nebraska (“CHECK ‘N GO’). As a result of such 

examination, and being duly advised and informed in the matter, the Director and 

CHECK ‘N GO enter into the following Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and 

Consent Agreement. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. CHECK ‘N GO holds a delayed deposit services business license under the 

Act. License #1841 was originally granted March 10, 1998, to Check ‘n Go of Nebraska, 

Inc., d/b/a Check ‘n Go. In October 2005, the licensee changed its name to that shown 

above. The license has been renewed annually on May 1 st since March 10, 1998 pursuant 

to Neb. Rev. Stat. $ 45-910 (Cum. Supp. 2006). 



2. On February 15,2005, the DEPARTMENT commenced an examination of 

CHECK ‘N GO pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. 6 45-920 (Reissue 2004). This examination 

included an on-site visitation of CHECK ‘N GO’s Lincoln, Lancaster County, Nebraska 

location. 

3. The February 15,2005 Report of Examination (“Report”) was forwarded to 

CHECK ‘N GO on March 14,2005. The Report noted a number of violations of the Act. 

CHECK ‘N GO submitted responses received by the DEPARTMENT on April 25,2005, 

September 6,2005, and September 19,2005. 

4. References in this Consent Agreement to customers of CHECK ‘N GO will be 

by way of initials, in order to protect the privacy of such customers. CHECK ‘N GO 

knows or should know the identity of these customers. If CHECK ‘N GO is unable to 

ascertain the identity of these customers, the DEPARTMENT will provide a list of these 

customers upon receipt of a written request. 

5.  The Report noted that CHECK ‘N GO’s previous manager had been terminated 

for allowing   roll over^'^ on checks being held. A “rollover” transaction occurs when a 

licensee allows a customer with an outstanding check to pay only a service fee and the 

licensee agrees to hold a check for an additional time period. A licensee violates Neb. Rev. 

w. 5 45-91 8 (Reissue 2004) by allowing customers to pay an additional fee in order for 

checks to be held for an additional period of time when those customers have already been 

charged the maximum statutory allowable fee in association with the original transaction, 

and Neb. Rev. Stat. 5 45-919(1)(c) (Cum. Supp. 2006) by holding the checks for more than 

thirty-one (3 1) days. 
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6. With its April 25,2005 and September 19,2005 responses, CHECK ‘N GO 

provided additional information concerning the previous manager’s actions. While 

CHECK ‘N GO did have corporate policies and safeguards in place prohibiting such 

activity, the previous manager still appears to have managed to allow a minimum of thirty- 

one (3 1) customers to engage in “rollover” transactions on multiple occasions. CHECK ‘N 

GO’S September 19,2005 response noted: 

The Licensee apologizes for not notifyrng the Department of this incident. 
Going forward, notification of this kind will be prompt in order to comply 
with Section 45-912. Again, please consider that the Licensee has an 
internal control within it’s (sic) operating system because it is 
programmed to not allow cash agains (extensionsh-ollovers), that the only 
possible exception to this programming internal control is to conduct 
rollovers fraudulently, and that this is considered an isolated incident. 

7. Allowing thirty-one (31) customers to pay an additional fee in order for checks 

to be held an additional period of time when those customers previously had been charged 

the maximum statutory fee associated with those transactions on multiple occasions 

represents multiple violations of Neb. Rev. Stat. 6 45-91 8 (Reissue 2004), and multiple 

violations of Neb. Rev. Stat. 6 45-919 (l)(c) (Cum. Supp. 2006), as the maximum 

allowable statutory time period for holding these customers’ checks was exceeded. 

8. In correspondence dated August 21,2006, CHECK ‘N GO notified the 

DEPARTMENT of steps that had been implemented to prevent a repeat occurrence of the 

incident found in Findings of Fact #’s 5-7, including that: 

Licensee has undertaken additional training of it’s (sic) Nebraska 
employees regarding the prohibition of rollovers in Nebraska. The 
District Director of Operations (“DDO”) has conducted this training, and 
obtains annual certifications from employees that they are aware of the 
policy prohibiting rollovers and will not violate this policy. 
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9. The Report revealed two instances where more than two checks from the same 

maker were held for customers RH and JC. 

10. CHECK ‘N GO’s holding of more than two checks from the same maker at 

the same time for customers RH and JC represents two separate violations of Neb. Rev. 

m. 6 45-919(1)(a) (Cum. Supp. 2006). 

1 1. The Report revealed two instances where checks in an aggregate face amount 

of more than five hundred dollars were held for customers RH and JC. 

12. CHECK ‘N GO’s holding of checks in an aggregate face amount of more than 

five hundred dollars from customers RH and JC represents two separate violations of 

Neb. Rev. Stat. 0 45-919(1)(b) (Cum. Supp. 2006). 

13. With respect to the violations noted in Findings of Fact #s 8- 1 1 above, CHECK 

‘N GO’S April 25,2005 response indicated that: 

The Licensee agrees and the operating system details that the Licensee 
was holding three checks belonging to consumer [RH] with an aggregate 
face amount of more than $500.00 at one time. These transactions were 
conductedapproved by former Store Manager, [ SD], who was terminated 
for conducting illegal rollovers. As the attached State-Specific Operations 
Policies read, extensions are not permitted. Also attached is evidence that 
it is policy that new extensions are not to be granted until the employee 
verifies that the previously deposited check has cleared the bank and will 
not be returned. Former Manager, [SD] did not do this. [customer and 
former store manager’s full names redacted] 

14. The DEPARTMENT could conclude that the actions of CHECK ‘N GO 

warrant the commencement of administrative proceedings to determine whether it should 

impose an administrative fine in an amount up to five thousand dollars per violation, plus 

investigation costs, pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. 0 45-925 (Com. Supp. 2006). 

15. The DEPARTMENT incurred a minimum of five hundred dollars in 

investigation costs in this matter. 
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

1. Neb. Rev. Stat. 0 45-908 (Reissue 2004) provides that in order to issue a 

delayed deposit services business license, the Director must determine that the character 

and general fitness of the applicant and its officers, directors, and shareholders are such 

as to warrant a belief that the business will be operated honestly, fairly, efficiently, and in 

accordance with the Act. To operate efficiently, a licensee must ensure that transactions 

with customers are conducted accurately and that the records concerning those 

transactions are not only accurately kept but also securely maintained if those records 

contain sensitive customer information. 

2. Neb. Rev. Stat. 0 45-91 8 (Reissue 2004) provides that no licensee may charge 

a fee in excess of fifteen dollars per one hundred dollars advanced. 

3. Neb. Rev. Stat. 6 45-919(1) (Cum. Supp. 2006) sets forth acts which are 

prohibited to a licensee. These acts include (a) holding more than two checks from one 

maker, (b) holding checks in an aggregate amount of more than five hundred dollars, and 

(c) holding checks for a time period greater than thirty-one days, if the transaction 

occurred prior to July 14,2006. 

4. Neb. Rev. Stat. 6 45-925 (Cum. Supp. 2006) provides that if the Director 

finds, after notice and opportunity for hearing, that any person has violated the Act, the 

Director may order such person to pay an administrative fine of not more than five 

thousand dollars for each separate violation and the costs of an investigation. 

5. The facts listed in the above Findings of Fact constitute a sufficient basis for 

the Director to have determined that CHECK ‘N GO has violated the Act, and that an 

administrative fine in an amount of not more than five thousand dollars for each separate 
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violation plus costs of investigation should be imposed in accordance with Neb. Rev. 

m. 0 45-925 (Cum. Supp. 2006). 

6. Under the Act’s statutory framework, the Director has the legal and equitable 

authority to fashion significant remedies. 

7. It is in the best interest of CHECK ‘N GO, and it is in the best interest of the 

public, for CHECK ‘N GO and the DEPARTMENT to resolve the issues included herein. 

CONSENT AGREEMENT 

The DEPARTMENT and CHECK ‘N GO agree as follows: 

Stipulations: In connection with this Consent Agreement, CHECE 

Director stipulate to the following: 

1. The DEPARTMENT has jurisdiction as to all matters herein. 

‘N GO and the 

2. This Consent Agreement shall resolve all matters raised by the DEPARTMENT’S 

February 15,2005 examination of CHECK ‘N GO. Should future circumstances warrant, the 

facts from this matter may be considered in a future administrative action by the 

DEPARTMENT. 

3. This Consent Agreement shall be in lieu of all other proceedings available to 

the DEPARTMENT, except as specifically referenced in this Consent Agreement. 

CHECK ‘N GO further represents as follows: 

1. CHECK ‘N GO is aware of its right to a hearing on these matters at which it 

may be represented by counsel, present evidence, and cross examine witnesses. The right 

to such a hearing, and any related appeal, is irrevocably waived. 

2. CHECK ‘N GO is acting free from any duress or coercion of any kind or 

nature. 
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3. This Consent Agreement is executed to avoid further proceedings and 

constitutes an admission of violations of the Act solely for the purpose of this Consent 

Agreement and for no other purpose. 

IT IS, THEREFORE AGREED as follows: 

1. Within ten (10) days after the effective date of this Consent Agreement, 

CHECK ‘N GO shall pay a fine of three hundred dollars ($300.00) for each of the thirty- 

one (31) violations of Neb. Rev. Stat. § 45-918 and Neb. Rev. Stat. § 45-919(l)(c),where 

CHECK ‘N GO’S former manager allowed thirty-one customers to rollover their checks 

by paying an additional fee in order for checks to be held an additional period of time 

when those customers previously had been charged the maximum statutory fee associated 

with those transactions on multiple occasions, and the maximum statutory time period for 

holding their checks was exceeded. 

2. Within ten (1 0) days after the effective date of this Consent Agreement, 

CHECK ‘N GO shall pay a fine of one hundred dollars ($100.00) for each of the two 

violations of Neb. Rev. Stat. 8 45-919(1)(a), where CHECK ‘N GO held more than two 

checks from one maker at one time. 

3. Within ten (1 0) days after the effective date of this Consent Agreement, 

CHECK ‘N GO shall pay a fine of one hundred dollars ($100.00) for each of the two 

violations of Neb. Rev. Stat. 8 45-919(1)(b), where checks in an aggregate amount of 

more than five hundred dollars were held from one maker. 

4. Within ten (1 0) days after the effective date of this Consent Agreement, 

CHECK ‘N GO shall pay the DEPARTMENT’S investigation costs in the amount of five 

hundred dollars ($5 00.00). 
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5. The total amount of the fine, nine thousand seven hundred dollars ($9,700.00), 

plus the total amount of investigation costs, five hundred dollars ($500.00), shall be 

payable in one check or money order in the amount of ten thousand two hundred dollars 

($10,200.00) to the DEPARTMENT. 

6. In the event CHECK 'N GO fails to comply with any of the provisions of this 

Consent Agreement, the DEPARTMENT may commence such action regarding CHECK 

'N GO as it deems necessary and appropriate in the public interest. 

7. If, at any time, the DEPARTMENT determines CHECK 'N GO has committed 

any other violations of the Act, the DEPARTMENT may take any action available to it 

under the Act. 

8. The effective date of this Consent Agreement will be the date of the Director's 

signature. 

Great Plains Specialty Finance, Inc. 
d/b/a Check 'n Go 

Secretary and General Counsel 

4640 Charnplain Drive, Suite 1 17 
Lincoln, Nebraska 68521 
(402) 477-9900 
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-& 
DATED this 5 day of flL+, 2007. 

STATE OF NEBRASKA 
DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND FINANCE 

erce Court, Suite 400 

9 


