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Original action. Judgment of public reprimand.

Heavican, C.J., Wright, Connolly, Miller-Lerman, Cassel, 
Stacy, and Kelch, JJ.

Per Curiam.
INTRODUCTION

This case is before the court on the conditional admis-
sion filed by Maynard H. Weinberg, respondent, on May 17, 
2016. The court accepts respondent’s conditional admission 
and enters an order of public reprimand.

FACTS
Respondent was admitted to the practice of law in the State 

of Nebraska on June 24, 1966. At all relevant times, he was 
engaged in the practice of law in Omaha, Nebraska.

On March 9, 2016, the Counsel for Discipline of the 
Nebraska Supreme Court filed formal charges against respond-
ent. The formal charges consist of one count against respond-
ent. With respect to the one count, the formal charges state 
that in July 2012, respondent was retained by a client in 
an employment matter. Respondent and the client mutually 
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agreed to a fee of $100 per hour, and this rate was never rene-
gotiated during the pendency of the matter.

In late September 2012, the matter was transferred to 
another attorney for primary representation (the primary attor-
ney), but respondent continued to provide some legal services 
to the client, and respondent billed the client for his individual 
services. Between July 2012 and December 2013, respondent 
billed the client for 147.5 hours of work at $100 per hour and 
$209.20 in expenses. The client timely paid all of the billing, 
in the amount of $14,959.70.

In December 2013, a hearing was held in the client’s case 
in the district court for Lancaster County, and attorney fees 
were addressed. On February 7, 2014, the district court issued 
an order which awarded attorney fees for respondent in the 
amount of 20.25 hours of work at $175 per hour and 4 hours of 
work at $100 per hour, which, according to the formal charges, 
totaled $3,943.74. These attorney fees were awarded to the 
client as partial reimbursement of the fees that the client had 
previously paid to respondent.

Between February 2014 and February 2015, respondent 
billed the client for 84 hours of work at $100 per hour for 
appellate work in the client’s case. The client timely paid all 
of the billing, in the amount of $8,400.

On March 20, 2015, an opinion issued by this court awarded 
attorney fees to the client in the amount of $7,938. The award 
of attorney fees in the amount of $7,938 was for both of the 
client’s attorneys, respondent and the primary attorney. This 
court remanded the matter to the district court with directions 
to divide the $7,938 between the two attorneys.

The defendant from the client’s case issued two separate 
checks in the amounts of $3,943.74 and $7,938, and both 
checks were issued in the name of respondent and the pri-
mary attorney. The primary attorney waived any additional 
payment out of either of the two checks, because he had 
been paid in full by the client for all billed legal services. 
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The primary attorney endorsed the two checks and remitted 
them to respondent. Respondent deposited both checks in his 
trust account.

On March 20, 2015, respondent sent a letter to the client, 
asking permission to receive the additional funds of $3,943.74 
and $7,938, totaling $11,881.74, to reimburse respondent for 
the difference between the $100 per hour charged to the client 
and the $175 per hour he would normally charge for that type 
of work. The client declined respondent’s request to renegotiate 
their fee arrangement. Despite repeated requests from the cli-
ent, respondent did not disburse the fees to the client.

On May 15, 2015, the client filed a grievance against 
respond ent, alleging that respondent was improperly with-
holding the client’s funds in an attempt to force him to accept 
a renegotiated fee for services previously rendered. In his 
response to the grievance, respondent asserted that he was enti-
tled to the full amount of $11,881.74 because the courts had 
awarded these amounts as attorney fees. On February 10, 2016, 
after investigation by the Counsel for Discipline, respond ent 
paid the full amount of $11,881.74 to the client.

The formal charges allege that by his actions, respondent 
violated his oath of office as an attorney, Neb. Rev. Stat. 
§ 7-104 (Reissue 2012), and Neb. Ct. R. of Prof. Cond. 
§§ 3-501.5(a) and (b) (fees), 3-501.15(d) (safekeeping prop-
erty), and 3-508.4(a) (misconduct).

On May 17, 2016, respondent filed a conditional admis-
sion pursuant to Neb. Ct. R. § 3-313 of the disciplinary 
rules, in which he conditionally admitted that he violated his 
oath of office as an attorney and professional conduct rules 
§§ 3-501.5(a) and (b), 3-501.15(d), and 3-508.4(a). In the con-
ditional admission, respondent knowingly does not challenge 
or contest the truth of the matters conditionally asserted and 
waived all proceedings against him in exchange for a pub-
lic reprimand.
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The proposed conditional admission included a declara-
tion by the Counsel for Discipline, stating that respondent’s 
proposed discipline is appropriate and consistent with sanc-
tions imposed in other disciplinary cases with similar acts 
of misconduct.

ANALYSIS
Section 3-313, which is a component of our rules governing 

procedures regarding attorney discipline, provides in perti-
nent part:

(B) At any time after the Clerk has entered a Formal 
Charge against a Respondent on the docket of the Court, 
the Respondent may file with the Clerk a conditional 
admission of the Formal Charge in exchange for a stated 
form of consent judgment of discipline as to all or 
part of the Formal Charge pending against him or her 
as determined to be appropriate by the Counsel for 
Discipline or any member appointed to prosecute on 
behalf of the Counsel for Discipline; such conditional 
admission is subject to approval by the Court. The con-
ditional admission shall include a written statement that 
the Respondent knowingly admits or knowingly does 
not challenge or contest the truth of the matter or mat-
ters conditionally admitted and waives all proceedings 
against him or her in connection therewith. If a tendered 
conditional admission is not finally approved as above 
provided, it may not be used as evidence against the 
Respondent in any way.

Pursuant to § 3-313, and given the conditional admission, 
we find that respondent knowingly does not challenge or 
contest the matters conditionally admitted. We further deter-
mine that by his conduct, respondent violated conduct rules 
§§ 3-501.5(a) and (b), 3-501.15(d), and 3-508.4(a) and his oath 
of office as an attorney licensed to practice law in the State of 
Nebraska. Respondent has waived all additional proceedings 
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against him in connection herewith. Upon due consideration, 
the court approves the conditional admission and enters the 
orders as indicated below.

CONCLUSION
Respondent is publically reprimanded. Respondent is 

directed to pay costs and expenses in accordance with and 
Neb. Ct. R. §§ 3-310(P) (rev. 2014) and 3-323 of the disci-
plinary rules within 60 days after an order imposing costs and 
expenses, if any, is entered by the court.

Judgment of public reprimand.


