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INTRODUCTION

This case is before the court on the conditional admission 
filed by Thomas G. Sundvold, respondent, on April 15, 2015. 
Prior to the filing of the conditional admission at issue in this 
case, this court filed an opinion on April 4, 2014, in case No. 
S-13-002, in which we suspended respondent for a period of 3 
years followed by 2 years’ monitored probation upon reinstate-
ment. See State ex rel. Counsel for Dis. v. Sundvold, 287 Neb. 
818, 844 N.W.2d 771 (2014). Accordingly, respondent was sus-
pended at the time he filed the present conditional admission. 
We accept respondent’s conditional admission and order that 
respondent be suspended from the practice of law for a period 
of 6 months, which suspension shall commence immediately 
consecutive to respondent’s current 3-year suspension followed 
by 2 years’ monitored probation upon reinstatement.

FACTS
Respondent was admitted to the practice of law in the State 

of Nebraska on September 25, 2003. At all relevant times, 
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he was engaged in the private practice of law in Lincoln, 
Nebraska.

As stated above, prior to the filing of the conditional admis-
sion at issue in this case, in case No. S-13-002, the Counsel 
for Discipline of the Nebraska Supreme Court filed formal 
charges against respondent on January 3, 2013, and it filed 
amended formal charges on February 15. The amended formal 
charges contained two counts against respondent and generally 
alleged that respondent had violated his oath of office as an 
attorney, Neb. Rev. Stat. § 7-104 (Reissue 2012), and several 
of the Nebraska Rules of Professional Conduct. A referee was 
appointed, and after holding an evidentiary hearing, the referee 
determined that respondent had violated Neb. Ct. R. of Prof. 
Cond. §§ 3-501.1 (competence); 3-501.3 (diligence); 3-501.4(a) 
and (b) (communications); 3-501.15(a) and (c) (safekeeping 
property); and 3-508.4(a), (c), and (d) (misconduct); and his 
oath of office as an attorney. The referee recommended that 
respondent be suspended for a period of 3 years, followed by 2 
years’ monitored probation.

Respondent initially filed exceptions to the referee’s report 
regarding findings of fact and conclusions of law and the 
recommended discipline; however, in his brief to this court, 
respondent stated that he withdrew his exceptions to the ref-
eree’s findings of fact and conclusions of law and took excep-
tion only to the referee’s recommended discipline. We filed an 
opinion on April 4, 2014, in which we suspended respondent 
for a period of 3 years, followed by 2 years’ monitored proba-
tion upon reinstatement. See State ex rel. Counsel for Dis. v. 
Sundvold, supra.

In the current case, case No. S-14-828, formal charges 
were filed against respondent on September 10, 2014. The 
formal charges consist of two charges against respondent. In 
the two counts, it was alleged that by his conduct, respondent 
had violated his oath of office as an attorney, § 7-104, and 
Neb. Ct. R. of Prof. Cond. §§ 3-501.1 (competence); 3-501.3 
(diligence); 3-501.4(a)(3) (communications); 3-501.5(a) 
(fees); 3-501.15(a), (c), (d); and (e) (safekeeping property); 
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3-501.16(d) (declining or terminating representation); and 
3-508.4(a), (c), and (d) (misconduct).

With respect to count I, the formal charges state that on 
July 5, 2011, an owner of commercial property in Papillion, 
Nebraska, filed suit in the district court for Sarpy County for 
unpaid rent against a company and the company’s owner. On 
August 5, respondent filed an answer on behalf of his client—
the company’s owner. Thereafter, discovery commenced and 
the case progressed toward trial.

On September 18, 2013, the district court scheduled a 
status hearing in the case to be held on December 9. On 
December 6, respondent filed a certificate of readiness for 
trial in which respondent stated that

“the case is ready for trial; that all discovery proceedings 
including depositions and other necessary preparation has 
been completed; that the testimony of all necessary wit-
nesses is as of the date hereof available for trial as certi-
fied hereby; that the trial is estimated to take no less than 
1 day nor more than 2 days.”

On December 19, relying on respondent’s certificate of readi-
ness for trial, the district court issued an order for a pretrial 
conference to be held on April 3, 2014, and set the jury trial 
to be held on April 22 and 23.

Respondent failed to notify his client that the trial was sched-
uled for April 22, 2014. After December 19, 2013, respondent 
failed to contact or subpoena any witnesses for the trial.

On April 2, 2014, respondent directed his paralegal to send 
an e-mail to opposing counsel, which stated: “‘Our client 
contacted us to let us know she is having difficulty mak-
ing arrangement[s] to be in Nebraska on April 22nd.’” The 
formal charges state that this was a false statement and that 
respondent knew it was false when he directed his paralegal 
to make it.

At 3:34 p.m. on April 2, 2014, respondent filed a motion 
to continue the pretrial conference set for April 3 at 11:15 
a.m. and the trial set for April 22. The formal charges state 
that in the motion, respondent falsely stated: “‘The reason 
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for this request is because [his client] has recently moved 
out of state and is having difficulty making arrangements 
to attend the trial.’” Respondent had not informed his client 
that the pretrial conference was scheduled for April 3, nor 
had he informed her that trial was scheduled for April 22. On 
April 3, the district court denied respondent’s motion to con-
tinue the trial.

On April 4, 2014, as stated above, we suspended respond-
ent from the practice of law for a period of 3 years. The 
district court judge became concerned that respondent may 
not have informed his client of his suspension and the need 
to find replacement counsel for the trial scheduled to begin 
April 22. The judge directed his bailiff to contact the client 
to see if she had found replacement counsel. On April 15, the 
judge’s bailiff spoke with the client by telephone. The client 
stated that she was unaware that the trial was scheduled for 
April 22, that respondent had been suspended from the prac-
tice of law on April 4, that a pretrial conference was held on 
April 3, and that the dates for the pretrial conference and the 
trial had been set on December 19, 2013. Upon learning this 
information, the judge filed a grievance against respondent 
with the Counsel for Discipline on April 28, 2014.

In his May 20, 2014, response to the grievance, the formal 
charges state that respondent falsely stated that his paralegal 
had spoken with the client in March and had told the client 
that the case was set for trial in April. The formal charges 
further state that respondent also falsely stated that he had 
attempted to contact opposing counsel to discuss settlement. 
The formal charges state that at no time between December 
19, 2013, and April 3, 2014, did respondent discuss settlement 
with opposing counsel.

The formal charges allege that by his actions with respect 
to count I, respondent violated his oath of office as an attor-
ney and professional conduct rules §§ 3.501.1, 3-501.3, 
3-501.4(a)(3), and 3-508.4(a), (c), and (d).

With respect to count II, the formal charges state that on 
March 12, 2014, an estate-related client hired respondent to 
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assist him in being appointed as personal representative for 
the estate of his brother. Respondent and the estate-related 
client entered into a written fee agreement entitled “‘Flat Fee 
Agreement,’” which required that the estate-related client pay 
$1,500 as a “‘non-refundable flat fee.’” However, the fee 
agreement also stated: “‘Should the matter need to be litigated 
and a lawsuit is filed, the fee agreement will revert to an hourly 
agreement with fees as $175.00 an hour for attorney time and 
$75.00 for paralegal time.’”

The estate-related client paid respondent $1,500 in cash on 
March 12, 2014. Respondent did not deposit any portion of 
the $1,500 into his client trust account.

On March 17, 2014, the estate-related client sent respond-
ent a money order for $500. Respondent did not know why 
the estate-related client had sent this payment, but respondent 
did not contact him to determine the purpose of this payment. 
Respondent deposited the $500 money order into his business 
account and not his client trust account.

On April 14, 2014, as stated above, we suspended respond-
ent from the practice of law for a period of 3 years. Respondent 
did not refund any portion of the $1,500 payment he had 
received from the estate-related client on March 12, nor did 
respondent refund any portion of the $500 he had received on 
or after March 17.

On June 17, 2014, the estate-related client filed a grievance 
against respondent regarding his failure to refund the unearned 
fee payments. A copy of the grievance letter was mailed to 
respondent. On July 1, respondent sent the estate-related client 
a business check in the amount of $500 as a refund of the $500 
payment made on March 17. In respondent’s July 3 reply to the 
estate-related client’s grievance, respondent asserted that the 
$1,500 payment was a nonrefundable fee.

The formal charges allege that by his actions with respect to 
count II, respondent violated his oath of office as an attorney 
and professional conduct rules §§ 3-501.5(a); 3-501.15(a), (c), 
(d), and (e); 3-501.16(d); and 3-508.4(a).
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On April 15, 2015, respondent filed a conditional admission 
pursuant to Neb. Ct. R. § 3-313 of the disciplinary rules, in 
which he conditionally admitted that he violated his oath of 
office as an attorney and certain professional conduct rules. 
In the conditional admission, respondent knowingly does not 
challenge or contest the truth of the matters conditionally 
admitted and waived all proceedings against him in connection 
therewith in exchange for a 6-month suspension to be added to 
his current 3-year suspension followed by 2 years’ monitored 
probation as issued in case No. S-13-002. Upon reinstate-
ment, if accepted, respondent shall be placed on monitored 
probation as set forth in case No. S-13-002, which states that 
“[t]he monitoring shall be by an attorney licensed to practice 
law in the State of Nebraska, who shall be approved by the 
[Counsel for Discipline].” State ex rel. Counsel for Dis. v. 
Sundvold, 287 Neb. 818, 833, 844 N.W.2d 771, 783 (2014). 
Respondent shall submit a monitoring plan as set forth in case 
No. S-13-002, which states:

The monitoring plan shall include, but not be limited to, 
the following: During the first 6 months of the proba-
tion, respondent will meet with and provide the monitor 
a weekly list of cases for which respondent is currently 
responsible, which list shall include the date the attorney-
client relationship began; the general type of case; the 
date of last contact with the client; the last type and date 
of work completed on the file (pleading, correspondence, 
document preparation, discovery, or court hearing); the 
next type of work and date that work should be com-
pleted on the case; any applicable statutes of limitations 
and their dates; and the financial terms of the relation-
ship (hourly, contingency, et cetera). After the first 6 
months through the end of probation, respondent shall 
meet with the monitor on a monthly basis and provide 
the monitor with a list containing the same information 
as set forth above; respondent shall reconcile his trust 
account within 10 days of receipt of the monthly bank 
statement and provide the monitor with a copy within 
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5 days; and respondent shall submit a quarterly compli-
ance report with the Counsel for Discipline, demonstrat-
ing that respondent is adhering to the foregoing terms of 
probation. The quarterly report shall include a certifica-
tion by the monitor that the monitor has reviewed the 
report and that respondent continues to abide by the terms 
of the probation.

Id. at 833-34, 844 N.W.2d at 784.
The proposed conditional admission included a declara-

tion by the Counsel for Discipline stating that respondent’s 
proposed discipline is appropriate and consistent with sanc-
tions imposed in other disciplinary cases with similar acts 
of misconduct.

ANALYSIS
Section 3-313, which is a component of our rules governing 

procedures regarding attorney discipline, provides in perti-
nent part:

(B) At any time after the Clerk has entered a Formal 
Charge against a Respondent on the docket of the Court, 
the Respondent may file with the Clerk a conditional 
admission of the Formal Charge in exchange for a stated 
form of consent judgment of discipline as to all or 
part of the Formal Charge pending against him or her 
as determined to be appropriate by the Counsel for 
Discipline or any member appointed to prosecute on 
behalf of the Counsel for Discipline; such conditional 
admission is subject to approval by the Court. The con-
ditional admission shall include a written statement that 
the Respondent knowingly admits or knowingly does 
not challenge or contest the truth of the matter or mat-
ters conditionally admitted and waives all proceedings 
against him or her in connection therewith. If a tendered 
conditional admission is not finally approved as above 
provided, it may not be used as evidence against the 
Respondent in any way.
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Pursuant to § 3-313, and given the conditional admission, 
we find that respondent knowingly does not challenge or 
contest the matters conditionally admitted. We further deter-
mine that by his conduct, respondent violated conduct rules 
§§ 3-501.3 and 3-501.4(a)(3), to which he admitted, and his 
oath of office as an attorney licensed to practice law in the 
State of Nebraska. Respondent has waived all additional pro-
ceedings against him in connection herewith. Upon due con-
sideration, we approve the conditional admission and enter the 
orders as indicated below.

CONCLUSION
Respondent is suspended from the practice of law for a 

period of 6 months, which suspension shall commence imme-
diately consecutive to respondent’s current 3-year suspension 
as set forth in case No. S-13-002. See State ex rel. Counsel 
for Dis. v. Sundvold, 287 Neb. 818, 844 N.W.2d 771 (2014). 
Should respondent apply for reinstatement, his reinstatement 
shall be conditioned upon respondent’s being on probation 
for a period of 2 years, including monitoring, following rein-
statement, subject to the terms agreed to by respondent in the 
conditional admission, outlined above, and set forth in case 
No. S-13-002, and acceptance of an application for reinstate-
ment is conditioned on the application’s being accompanied 
by a proposed monitored probation plan the terms of which 
are consistent with this opinion. See id. Respondent shall 
comply with Neb. Ct. R. § 3-316, and upon failure to do so, 
he shall be subject to punishment for contempt of this court. 
Respondent is also directed to pay costs and expenses in 
accordance with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 7-114 and 7-115 (Reissue 
2012) and Neb. Ct. R. §§ 3-310(P) (rev. 2014) and 3-323(B) 
of the disciplinary rules within 60 days after the order impos-
ing costs and expenses, if any, is entered by the court.

JuDGmeNt of suspeNsioN.


