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State of NebraSka ex rel. CouNSel for DiSCipliNe  
of the NebraSka Supreme Court, relator,  

v. keviN k. StepheNSoN, reSpoNDeNt.
834 N.W.2d 235

Filed May 31, 2013.    No. S-13-323.

Original action. Judgment of disbarment.

heaviCaN, C.J., Wright, CoNNolly, StephaN, mCCormaCk, 
miller-lermaN, and CaSSel, JJ.

per Curiam.
INTRODUCTION

This case is before the court on the voluntary surrender of 
license filed by respondent, Kevin K. Stephenson, on April 16, 
2013. The court accepts respondent’s voluntary surrender of his 
license and enters an order of disbarment.

STATEMENT OF FACTS
Respondent was admitted to the practice of law in the State 

of Nebraska on October 27, 2006. On February 13, 2013, after 
a 2-day jury trial before the district court for Greeley County, 
Kansas, the jury found respondent guilty of two counts of theft 
arising out of respondent’s representation of an estate. See 
State v. Stephenson, Greeley County District Court, case No. 
2011 CR 28. On May 3, the district court for Greeley County 
filed its journal entry of sentencing, which was modified by its 
nunc pro tunc order filed on May 15. Respondent’s sentence 
began April 30, and he was sentenced to 16 months’ impris-
onment with 4 days’ credit for time served and 24 months’ 
postrelease supervision. Respondent was also ordered to pay 
restitution of $117,408.68 to the estate. After his convic-
tions, respondent self-reported this matter to the Counsel for 
Discipline of the Nebraska Supreme Court.

On April 16, 2013, respondent filed a voluntary surren-
der in which he stated that he is aware that the Counsel for 
Discipline is currently investigating the events surrounding 
his convictions in Kansas. Respondent further stated that 
he does not contest the truth of the suggested allegations 
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being made against him. Respondent further stated that he 
freely, knowingly, and voluntarily waived his right to notice, 
appearance, or hearing prior to the entry of an order of dis-
barment and consented to the entry of an immediate order 
of disbarment.

ANALYSIS
Neb. Ct. R. § 3-315 of the disciplinary rules provides in 

pertinent part:
(A) Once a Grievance, a Complaint, or a Formal 

Charge has been filed, suggested, or indicated against a 
member, the member may voluntarily surrender his or 
her license.

(1) The voluntary surrender of license shall state in 
writing that the member knowingly admits or knowingly 
does not challenge or contest the truth of the suggested 
or indicated Grievance, Complaint, or Formal Charge 
and waives all proceedings against him or her in connec-
tion therewith.

Pursuant to § 3-315 of the disciplinary rules, we find that 
respondent has voluntarily surrendered his license to practice 
law and knowingly does not challenge or contest the truth of 
the suggested allegations made against him. Further, respond-
ent has waived all proceedings against him in connection 
therewith. We further find that respondent has consented to the 
entry of an order of disbarment.

CONCLUSION
Upon due consideration of the court file in this matter, the 

court finds that respondent has stated that he freely, know-
ingly, and voluntarily admits that he does not contest the 
suggested allegations being made against him. The court 
accepts respond ent’s voluntary surrender of his license to 
practice law, finds that respondent should be disbarred, and 
hereby orders him disbarred from the practice of law in the 
State of Nebraska, effective immediately. Respondent shall 
forthwith comply with all terms of Neb. Ct. R. § 3-316 of 
the disci plinary rules, and upon failure to do so, he shall be 
subject to punishment for contempt of this court. Accordingly, 
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respondent is directed to pay costs and expenses in accord-
ance with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 7-114 and 7-115 (Reissue 
2012) and Neb. Ct. R. §§ 3-310(P) and 3-323 of the discipli-
nary rules within 60 days after an order imposing costs and 
expenses, if any, is entered by the court.

JuDgmeNt of DiSbarmeNt.


