NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION
CHECKLIST HELP GUIDE: APPLICATION FOR REAL ESTATE LICENSE

Close This Window

Print This Checklist

 
When additional information is submitted separately, you will need to indicate,
if applicable, the application question you are referencing,
as well as your name, address and telephone number.

Criminal Background Check

The Nebraska Real Estate License Act requires all applicants for original licensure as a real estate salesperson or broker to undergo a criminal background check utilizing fingerprints. This includes both resident and nonresident applicants.

In order to meet this requirement, two fingerprint cards are enclosed in the application packet. If you have obtained the application packet information from our website, please call our office to obtain the required fingerprint cards.

Please follow the recommended procedures attached to the fingerprint cards to submit both completed cards to the Nebraska State Patrol. After the recommended wait period please contact our office at (402) 471-2004 periodically. Upon confirmation that we have received your report, submit your application promptly.

Your application will not be accepted until your criminal background report has been completed. Criminal background reports expire after 90 days from the date completed by the Nebraska State Patrol.

 

Fees (Credit Card Information)

Fees are non-refundable. Visa, Discover or MasterCard will be accepted, debit cards will NOT be accepted.

It should be noted that the original application form, application fees and unused, or unforfeited, examination fees are valid for only one year from the date of receipt in our office. Therefore, after having an application on file for more than one year, an applicant must complete another application in full, including a criminal backgroung check, and pay another application fee. If the applicant is unsure of the amount of time that it has been on file, please contact the Real Estate Commission Office at (402) 471-2004 to find out the exact items needed.

Within this timeframe the examination fee is valid until an examination is taken, or until the examination fee is forfeited because the applicant canceled an examination appointment, arrived more than 15 minutes late for an examination appointment, or failed to appear for an examination appointment.

 

Identification Photograph

Each application for a broker or salesperson original license must include a photograph which meets the following criteria: a passport-type, head-and-shoulders photo of the applicant only, at least 2"x2" in size, which was taken within the last year. Snapshots are acceptable if they meet these criteria.

The identification photograph may be submitted separately as an attachment via email to realestate.commission@nebraska.gov in the following formats: Word, JPEG or PDF. It may also be mailed separately, personally delivered or submitted by upload with this online application. If you wish to upload the identification photograph, be sure to have the file ready in the following formats only: JPEG only and two (2) megabytes or smaller. Identification photographs cannot be faxed to our office.

 

Educational Background

Applicants must be at least 19 years of age to be issued a Nebraska real estate license. Nebraska statutes require all applicants to be high school graduates or hold a certificate of equivalency.

If an applicant has received a G.E.D. (General Equivalency Diploma) a copy of the diploma must be submitted separately as an attachment via email to realestate.commission@nebraska.gov in the following formats: Word, JPEG or PDF. It may also be mailed separately, personally delivered or submitted by upload with this online application. If you wish to upload your G.E.D. diploma, be sure to have the file ready in the following formats only: Word, JPEG, or PDF, and two (2) megabytes or smaller.

Applicants with foreign high school educations must meet the same academic requirements as applicants who have received their high school education in the United States. Documentation indicating that the foreign high school degree is at least the equivalent of a high school degree granted in the United States must be submitted as part of the application and can be determined by one of the following documents:
  • A transcript from a United States college that indicates that the individual's high school education was sufficient to allow the individual to be admitted into a post-secondary education program.
  • OR

  • Document-by-Document Evaluation Report verifying the equivalence of the foreign high school education.
  • The Document Evaluation should be conducted through an education credential evaluation service that holds membership in the National Association of Credential Evaluation Services (NACES). Information about NACES and a contact list of its member credentialing services can be found on the Internet at: www.naces.org or may be obtained by contacting NACES at:
    NACES C/O International Education Research Foundation, Inc.
    P.O. Box 3665
    Culver City, CA 90231-3665
    Phone: (310) 258-9451 ext. 140
    Fax: (310) 342-7086

    We suggest that this documentation be obtained early in the application process or prior to the application being submitted.

The documentation of foreign high school equivalency may be mailed separately as an attachment via email to realestate.commission@nebraska.gov in the following formats: Word, JPEG or PDF. It may also be mailed separately, personally delivered or submitted by upload with this online application If you wish to upload your documentation of foreign high school equivalency, be sure to have the file ready in the following formats only: Word, JPEG, or PDF, and two (2) megabytes or smaller.

 

Pre-License Education

(Not needed for Applications based on Licensure Recognition)

Each applicant for a salesperson's license who wishes to take the examination must furnish evidence that s/he has completed two Commission-approved courses in real estate subjects composed of not less than thirty class hours of study each, or completed equivalent distance education courses approved by the Commission.

Each applicant for a broker's license who wishes to take the examination must either a) have first served actively for two years as a licensed salesperson or broker, and furnished evidence of completion of two Commission-approved courses in real estate subjects composed of not less than thirty class hours each, in addition to the hours required to take the salesperson examination; or b) furnish a transcript that s/he has passed course(s) of at least eighteen credit hours (6 courses) in Commission-approved courses in real estate subjects at an accredited university or college, or completed six courses in real estate subjects composed of not less than thirty clock-hours each in Commission-approved courses, or complete equivalent distance education courses approved by the Commission.

Proof of such completion must be submitted to the Commission via e-mail, fax, mail, or personal delivery. This proof can be in the form of transcripts or certificates of completion.

  • Course completion certificates may be mailed separately as an attachment via email to realestate.commission@nebraska.gov in the following formats: Word, JPEG or PDF. It may also be mailed separately, personally delivered or submitted by upload with this online application If you wish to upload your course completion certificates, be sure to have the file ready in the following formats: Word, JPEG, or PDF, and two (2) megabytes or smaller. You may also create zip files for your uploads, please review the Zip File Guide.
  • For persons taking courses at colleges or universities, course completion must be in the form of official transcripts mailed directly form the college or university to the Commission office.

 

General Information

It is recommended that you review the paper application form before proceeding to complete the online application. At the top of each online page, the corresponding paper application question will be listed for your reference.

You will be required to list your prior residences and employment history for past three years.

You will be required to list any real estate or other licenses that have been applied for or been issued.

You will be required to list all lawsuit and criminal offense information.

Broker applicants will be required to list their real estate history information, including terms of employment, estimated weekly hours, number of listings and number of sales.

You will be required to list your high school and statutory education information.

Please note: Additional space is provided to list the full details requested in certain questions throughout the application. There is a 2000 character limit for these additional information boxes. If you need to submit additional information beyond what these boxes allow, please submit the information via e-mail, fax, mail or personal delivery.

 

NonResident Licensure, Additional Items Required

    Those individuals completing an application based on License Recognition will also need to submit additional information and forms to have their license issued.
  1. Submit the original Certification of Licensure History, issued by the resident jurisdiction real estate regulatory body, which indicates the applicantís license is current and in good standing. These documents must not be more than 30 days old at the time the Nebraska license will be issued. A faxed copy of the Certification is NOT acceptable, therefore, the original Certification will have to be personally delivered or mailed separately to our office.
  2. Complete and submit the Affidavit regarding being bound by the Nebraska Real Estate License Act and Rules and Regulations with the application. This form may be submitted separately as an attachment via e-mail to realestate.commission@nebraska.gov in the following formats only: Word, JPEG, or PDF and two (2) megabytes or smaller. It may also be personally delivered, mailed or faxed to our office at (402) 471-4492.
  3. Complete and submit the enclosed Acknowledgment of Personal Jurisdiction Form (not necessary for those persons moving to Nebraska) with the application. This form may be submitted separately as an attachment via e-mail to realestate.commission@nebraska.gov in the following formats only; Word, JPEG or PDF and two (2) megabytes or smaller. It may also be personally delivered, mailed or faxed to our office at (402) 471-4492.
  4. The issuance form or letter from their Nebraska-licensed, nonresident employing broker indicating the brokerís willingness to employ and supervise the salesperson or associate broker. The issuance form may be submitted separately as an attachment via e-mail to realestate.commission@nebraska.gov in the following formats only: Word, JPEG, or PDF and two (2) megabytes or smaller. It may also be personally delivered, mailed, or faxed to our office at (402) 471-4492.
  5. The issuance form or signed statement from the applicant agreeing to be employed by the Nebraska-licensed, nonresident employing broker. This form may be submitted separately as an attachment via e-mail to realestate.commission@nebraska.gov in the following formats only: Word, JPEG, or PDF and two (2) megabytes or smaller. It may also be personally delivered, mailed, or faxed to our office at (402) 471-4492.
  6. Complete the three clock-hour class approved by the Commission specific to the Nebraska Real Estate License Act and Nebraska Revised Statutes sections 76-2401 to 76-2430. Submit course completion certificate prior to license issuance. In order to avail yourself of this education please refer to the course list provided in this packet or on our website at http://www.nrec.ne.gov/licensing-forms/coursereq.html
  7. Submit proof or cause to have proof submitted of Errors and Omissions Insurance Coverage. (See the Errors and Omissions Insurance Fact Sheet, the Certification of Equivalent Coverage Form, and the Enrollment Form and brochure concerning the State-offered plan. Errors and Omission forms and premiums must be submitted directly to the insurer).
  8. NonResident Self-Employed Brokers must do business in the same name and under the same arrangements they use in their resident real estate regulatory jurisdiction. A checklist for the specific forms needed based on the manner of business can be found on our website at www.nrec.ne.gov/licensing-forms/nonresappinstructs.html. These forms may be submitted separately as an attachment via e-mail to realestate.commission@nebraska.gov in the following formats only: Word, JPEG, or PDF and two (2) megabytes or smaller. It may also be personally delivered, mailed, or faxed to our office at (402) 471-4492.
  9. All NonResident Self-Employed Brokers, regardless of the manner of business, must open and maintain a Real Estate Trust Account(s) in an authorized financial institution located in Nebraska in the same name as the applicant does business in the resident jurisdiction. The Trust Account Consent to Examine Form must be completed for each account. This form may be submitted separately as an attachment via e-mail to realestate.commission@nebraska.gov in the following formats only: Word, JPEG, or PDF and two (2) megabytes or smaller. It may also be personally delivered, mailed, or faxed to our office at (402) 471-4492.
 
 

Close This Window

Print This Checklist