NEBRASKA-

Good Life. Great Mission.

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Pete Ricketts, Governor

September 27, 2018

JR. ALPHABET ACADEMY
BJM Kids, INC., Owner
Bradley D. Metzler, Licensee
8001 Keystone Drive

Omaha, NE 68134

Dear Mr. Metzler:

In accordance with the Notice of Disciplinary Action issued on September 4, 2018, by
Courtney N. Phillips, PhD, Chief Executive Officer, Department of Health and Human Services,
the original License of Jr. Alphabet Academy to operate as a Child Care Center in the State of
Nebraska has been placed on Probation. A license imprinted with the term “PROBATION” is
enclosed. This status became effective September 20, 2018, and it will remain in effect until
September 20, 2019. Upon completion of the Probation, a new license will be issued to the
Center.

Additionally, a Civil Penalty was assessed in the amount of $160.00. The Civil Penalty
payment was received on September 20, 2018.

At this time we ask that you submit your current license by return mail, within the next
seven (7) days, to DHHS, Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit, Attn: Chris Kort, 301
Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509-4986.

If you have any questions, please contact Jo Pfeiffer, Child Care Licensing Supervisor,
at (402) 595-3335.

Becky Wisell,”Administrator
Licensure Unit

301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

BW/dcp

cc: Children’s Services Licensing
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This license shall be kept available in the establishment and
such proof of credentialing shall be shown upon request.
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NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission.

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Pete Ricketts, Governor

September 26, 2017

Jr. Alphabet Academy CERTIFIED AND FIRST CLASS MAIL
o/b BJM Kids Inc.

8001 Keystone Drive

Omaha, NE 68134

Dear Licensee:

Since you did not appeal the Notice of Disciplinary Action dated September 8, 2017 by or on
September 25, 2017, you are being assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $96.00 ($3.00 times
license capacity of 32 children for one day of non-compliances, July 27, 2017). This penalty must
be received by or on October 26, 2017.

Your check or money order should be payable to the Nebraska Department of Health and Human
Services and sent to Rita Krusemark, Program Specialist, Nebraska Department of Health and
Human Services, Division of Public Health, Licensure, PO Box 94986, Lincoln, Nebraska, 68509-
4986.

If you have questions, please contact Jo Pfeiffer, Child Care Licensing Supervisor, Children’s
Services Licensing at 402-595-3335.

ecky , Adminisirator
Licensure Unit
301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

BW/rk
Cc: Children’s Services Licensing




NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission,

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Pete Ricketts, Covernot

NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
STATE OF NEBRASKA

Owned by BJM KIDS INC

IN THE MATTER OF: )

THE OPERATING CHILD CARE CENTER ) NOTICE OF

LICENSE OF JR. ALPHABET ACADEMY ) DISCIPLINARY ACTION
)

LICENSED LOCATION: 8001 Keystone Dr., Omaha, NE 68134

LICENSE NUMBER: CC(C9%434

CAPACITY: 32

AGES: 6 WEEKS TO 18 MONTHS

HOURS AND DAYS: 6:00 A.M. TO 6:00 P.M., MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY
DATE INITIALLY LICENSED: February 17,2014

NOTICE:

Jr. Alphabet Academy owned by BIM Kids Inc (hereinafter referred to as “Jr. Alphabet Academy”) is
hereby notified that the Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health,
(hereinafter referred to as “Department”) intends to impose disciplinary action against Jr. Alphabet
Academy’s Child Care Center license for violation of the following statutes and regulations:

AUTHORITY:

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1919, of the Child Care Licensing Act provides that “the
Department may ... take disciplinary action against a license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act
on any of the following grounds:

(1) Failure to meet or violation of any of the requirements of the Child Care Licensing Act or the rules
and regulations adopted and promulgated under the act; ...

Nebraska Revised Statutes. section 71-1920, of the Child Care Licensing Act provides that “...the

Department may impose any one or a combination of the following types of disciplinary action against a
license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act: ...(c) impose a civil penalty of up to five dollars per




child, based upon the number of children for which the program is authorized to provide child care on the
effective date of the finding of violation, for cach day the program is in violation;” ...

of or take disciplinary action against a license on any of the following grounds:

1. Failure to meet or violation of any of the requirements of the Child Care Licensing Act or the rules and
regulations adopted and promulgated under the Act; ...

391 NAC 3-006.02 Director Requirements: The director is responsible for managing the day-to-day
operations of the child care center. The director must report to the licensee all matters related to the
maintenance, operation, and management of the child care center and be directly responsible to the
licensee or to a person delegated governing authority by the licensee.

391 NAC 3-006.03A Criminal History Record Checks: The applicant/licensee, if an individual or an
individual in a partnership, must complete a pre-employment criminal history record check on
him/herself, on each staff member and volunteer age 19 or older, and on each household member age 19
or older if the center is located in a private residence. Documentation must be kept and available for

review by the Department.

391 NAC 3-006.05B Non-Certificated Teachers: To be employed as a teacher in a licensed child care

center, an individual who is not a certificated teacher must be at least 18 years of age and of good moral
character, and must meet one of the following requirements:

4, Have a high school diploma or GED; and
a. 1500 verified clock hours of experience in organized group activities for young children as
indicated by a positive reference from a former employer or supervisor; or
b. Submit a written plan for Department approval to acquire at least three credit hours or 45
clock hours of training in administration, early childhood education, education, or
child/youth development, in a period not to exceed six months. The licensee must
maintain a copy of the written plan and Department approval for Department review.

391 NAC 3-006.10A Orientation: When new staff or volunteers are employed, those individuals must be
provided with orientation prior to their having direct responsibility for the care of children.....




391 NAC 3-006.11A Staff: Records for all staff, except substitutes and volunteers, must include: .....

4. Date of hire/termination;

5. A completed Report of Law Enforcement Contact;

6. Documentation of a criminal history record check;

8. Documentation of Nebraska registry checks with no adverse findings;

9. Documentation that the individual has met the qualifications for the position;
10. Documentation of orientation training and required ongoing training; and

11. Documentation that the individual has read and understands these regulations.

391 NAC 3-006.23 Infant/Toddler Care: If care is provided to infants and/or toddlers, the licensee must
ensure that the emotional and physical needs of infants and toddlers are met consistently and promptly.
Staff assigned to infants must be identified in writing and assigned to the same infants whenever possible.
Center staff must:

3. Hold infants under six months of age or those not yet able to hold their own bottles. Bottles must not be
propped and must be removed from sleeping infants.

FACTS:
Jr. Alphabet Academy was on a Disciplinary Probation from January 23, 2017 through July 23, 2017.

On July 27, 2017, Dawn Kozak (hereinafter referred to “Kozak™), Child Care Inspection Specialist,
Children’s Services Licensing, Licensure Unit, Division of Public Health, conducted an unannounced
semiannual inspection of Jr. Alphabet Academy. At that time, Kozak observed the following violations:
e There were three staff present at the time of Kozak’s inspection: Delea Hite; Bailey Hite; and
Kayly Stednitz. .

o Bailee Hite’s employee file was missing the following information: hire date; staff
qualification documents; sex offender registry check; criminal history record check;
documentation of completing orientation; documentation that she had read the regulations;
documentation of receiving the Center Policies and Procedures; written documentation by
the Director that Hite can give medication.

o Kayly Stednitz’s employee file was missing the following information: hire date;
documentation of either 1500 hours of experience or a plan to obtain 45 hours of training;
documentation of completing orientation; documentation that she had read the regulations;
documentation of receiving the Center Policies and Procedures; written documentation by
the Director that Stednitz can give medication.

e Kozak observed an infant sleeping in a crib with a bottle in her hand. Kozak also observed the
assignment of caregivers was from the day before and had not been updated.

These violations were the same as some of those for which the facility was placed on Probation from
January 23, 2017 through July 23, 2017.



On August 30, 2017, Jo Pfeiffer, Child Care Licensing Supervisor, sent Jr. Alphabet Academy a letter
requiring verification of compliance with regulations by September 27, 2017.  As of September 5, 2017,
all corrections have been made and Jr. Alphabet Academy is in compliance.

DISCIPLINARY ACTION IMPOSED:
Based upon the facts set out above, the Department intends to impose the following:

1. Jr. Alphabet Academy is assessed a Civil Penalty in the amount of $96.00 ($3.00 times license
capacity of 32 children for one day of non-compliances, July 27, 2017).

Said penalty in the amount of $96.00 must be paid on or by October 26, 2017 which is thirty (30) days
from the effective date of this notice, September 26, 2017 and must be payable to the Nebraska
Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health. Said penalty is to be sent to Rita
Krusemark, Program Specialist, Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public
Health, Licensure, PO Box 94986, Lincoln, Nebraska, 68509-4986.

2. Failure to comply with the terms of this disciplinary action, the applicable Child Care Regulations,
and failure to pay the civil penalty may be grounds for revocation or such other discipline as the
Department may deem appropriate after notice to the licensee and an opportunity for a hearing.

BE ADVISED:

Pursuant to Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1922, this action becomes final on September 25,
2017, unless the Department receives a written request for a hearing on or before such date. The license
shall continue in effect until the final order of the director if a hearing is requested. If the director does
not receive such request on or before such date, the action of the Department is final.

If you decide to request a hearing, your written request for hearing must be received by the Department no
later than September 25, 2017. It should be addressed to:

Rita Krusemark, for DHHS

Children’s Services Licensing

Licensure Unit — Division of Public Health
P.O. Box 94986

Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

If you request a hearing, you will be notified of the time, date and place of the hearing and other
pertinent information, by separate notice. On the basis of such hearing, the director will affirm,
modify or rescind the determination of the Department. Be advised that pursuant to Nebraska
Revised Statutes, section 71-1920, upon completion of any hearing held, the director may impose
any or a combination of any of the following: probation, suspension, revocation, civil penalty,
restrictions of new enrollment, restrictions or other limitations on the number of children or the
ages of the children served in the program, or other restrictions or limitations on the type of service




provided by the program. On the basis of the hearing, a modification by the director may include
sanctions important to your program, up to and including the loss of your license.

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1920 of the Child Care Licensing Act, provides that “any fine
imposed and unpaid under the Child Care Licensing Act shall constitute a debt to the State of Nebraska
which may be collected in the manner of a lien foreclosure or sued for and recover ed in any proper form
of action in the name of State of Nebraska in the district court of the county in which the program is
located.”

That Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1923 of the Child Care Licensing Act, provides “a licensee
may voluntarily surrender the license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act at any time, except that
the Department may refuse to accept a voluntary surrender of a license if the licensee is under
investigation or if the Department has initiated disciplinary action against the licensee.”

Dated: szvdm £ 2017

Thomas L. Williams, MD

Chief Medical Officer

Director, Division of Public Health
Department of Health and Human Services

Becky Wisell (Administrator
Licensure Unit

301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

COMES NOW, the undersigned and certifies that on the ‘z day of September, 2017, a copy
of the foregoing NOTICE OF DISCIPLINARY ACTION was sent by certified and first class United
States mail, sufficient postage prepaid 1o JR. / =T ACADEMY. owned by BIM KIDS INC, 8001
Keystone Dr, Omaha, NE 68134,

Rita KrySemark, Program Specialist



NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission.

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Pote Ricketts, Governor

January 24, 2017

Jr. Alphabet Academy owned by
BMJ Kids, INC.

8001 Keystone Dr.

Omaha, NE 58134

RE: Licensed Location: 2851 Capehart RD. STE. J
Bellevue, NE 68123
Atten: Brad Metzler SENT CERTIFIED and Regular Mail

Re: Disciplinary Actlon —Plans of correction- Time Sensitive
Dear Mr. Metzler:

As a result of your withdrawal far request for hearing regarding the Disciplinary Action dated
November18, 2016, the Department has reviewed the documentation received by our office on
December 6, 2016.

The Department requires additional items lo satisfy the conditions of the discipline. Please
submit the following documents within 10 days from the date of this letter.

[ A complete and current list of all staff currently providing care at Jr. Alphabel Academy
Ll Provide gualification statements for all stafi EXCEPT: Bri C., Shelbie E., and Chloe W.,
and Kim A., (These have previously been raceived and are acceptable.)

il Gorrect the qualificalion statements for: Faith L-hire date, Destiny H-statement needs to
reflect {eacher status and date she was approved as a gualified teacher, Taylor M-a stalement
showing her as a teacher (rermove support staff designation) and have Kim sign the statement at
the bottom

1 Provide the Department with a plan that explains how the Department will know thal the
Licensee is performing the Corrective Plan tasks , as spelled oul in the plan. For example:
Licensee will keep 8 log of dates he dropped in and what was observed, dates files wera
reviewed, and maintain (his written verification on the child care premises for Department
review, etc.

Healping People Live Beller Lives



Please submit these documents with 10 days of the date of this letter and once approved by the
Department you Will receive a letter acknowledging compliance with the disciplinary order.

Thank you for your attention to this matter, and | look forward to hearing back from you.
Jo Pléj 'r; il P}Qp Lice'nsing Supervisor
Childrep's Sewicps Licensing

59

Phone: 402-596-3336 Email; Jo.pfeiffer@nebraska.gov

Cc: Dawn Kozak, CCIS
Marsha Wandersee, Administrative Assistant l

Holping Povpla Liva Bolter Lives



NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission.

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Pete Ricketts, Governor

January 24, 2017

JR. ALPHABET ACADEMY
Bradley Metzler, Licensee
2851 Capehart Road, Suite J
Bellevue, NE 68134

Dear Mr. Metzler:

In accordance with the Order of Dismissal for withdrawal of the Request for a Hearing
dated January 23, 2017, regarding the Notice of Disciplinary Action, your original License to
operate a Child Care Center in the State of Nebraska has been placed on Probation. A license
imprinted with the term “PROBATION” is enclosed. This status became effective January 23,
2017, and it will remain in effect until July 23, 2017. Upon completion of the Probation, a new
license will be issued to you.

At this time we ask that you submit your current license by return mail, within the next
seven (7) days, to DHHS, Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit, Attn: Marsha Wandersee,
301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509-4986.

If you have any questions, please contact Jo Pfeiffer, Child Care Licensing Supervisor,
at (402) 595-3335.

Becky Wisell, Administrator
Licensure Unit

301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

BW/dcp

cc: Children’s Services Licensing
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This license shall be kept available in the establishment and
i such proof of credentialing shall be shown upon request.
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‘ 01/23/2017
STATE OF NEBRASKA

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES L
DHHS Hearing Office
IN THE MATTER OF )
THE REQUEST FOR HEARING BY ) 162104 CCC
)
JR ALPHABET ACADEMY ) ORDER OF DISMISSAL

This matter came on for consideration of the Appellant's withdrawal of the request for
hearing on the record. The Hearing Officer, being fully advised, finds that this matter should be
DISMISSED,

IT 1S SO ORDERED.

DATED thlis 23rd day of January, 2017.

susan Strohn
Hearing Officer

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
The undersigned hereby certifies that a true and correct copy of the foregoing document was sent

by certified United States Mall, postage prepaid, return receipt requested, and/or electronically to
the following:

BRAD METZLER

BJM KIDS INC

2851 CAPEHART RD STE J
BELLEVUE NE 68123

on January 23, 2017.

CJ ROBERTS
DHHS ATTORNEY
CHRISTOPHER.ROBERTS@NEBRASKA.GOV

DHHS Hearing Office ~
P.O. Box 85026

Lincoln, NE 88500-5026

P. (402) 471-4731 F. (402) 742-2374
dhhs.hearingofiice@nebraska.gov

7002 2410 0000 B5kk 9479




Depariment of Health & Human seivass

NDE‘_H'i t-ts% Division of Public Health

NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
STATE OF NEBRASKA

State of Nebraska
Pete Rickells, Governor

IN THE MATTER OF: )
THE OPERATING CHILD CARE CENTER ) NOTICE OF
)

LICENSE OF JR. ALPHABET ACADEMY DISCIPLINARY ACTION
OWNED BY BJM KIDS, INC. )

LICENSED LOCATION: 2851 CAPEHART RD., STE. J, BELLEVUE, NE, 68123
LICENSE NUMBER: CCC9%434

CAPACITY: 32

AGES: SIX WEEKS TO 18 MONTHS

HOURS AND DAYS: 6:00 AM. TO 6:00 P.M,, MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY
DATE INITIALLY LICENSED: FEBRUARY 17,2014

NOTICE:

RJM Kids, Inc. (horeinafter referred to as “Licensec”) is notified that the Department of Health and
Human Services, Division of Public Health, (hereinafler referred to as “Department”) is imposing

disciplinary action against the Licensee's Child Care Center license known as Jr. Alphabet Academy for
violation of the following statutes and regulations:

AUTHORITY:

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1919, of the Child Care Licensing Act provides that “the

Department may ... take disciplinary action against a license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act
on any of the following grounds;

(1) Failure to meet or violation of any of the requirements of the Child Care Licensing Act or the rules
and regulations adopted and promulgated under the act;

(4) Conduct or practices detrimental to the health or safaty of a person served by or employed at the
program;” ...

Nebraskn Revised Statutes, section 711920, of the Child Care Licensing Act provides that *, ..the
Department may impose any one or a combination of the following lypes of disciplinary action againsi a
license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act: (a) Issuc n probationary license;™ ..

101 NAC 300801 Cirvnneds T Dentalon Disciplivary Acuon: “The Department may deny the issuance
of or take disciplinary action against a license on any of the following grounds:
Helping People Live Battar Livas

An Equal Opportunily Employer



| Failute to meet or violation of any of the requirements of the Child Care Licensing Act or the rules and
regulations adopted and promul gated under the Act;

4, Conduct or praclices detrimental to the health or safety of an individual served by or employed at the
progeam;” ...

391 NAC 3-006.02 Dircetor Requirgments: “The director is responsible for managing the day-lo-day

operations of the child care center. ... The dircctor must: ... 13. Ensure that staff-to~-child ratios are met
at all times; ...

301 NAC 3-000,03A Cringipml History. Reeord Checks: “The appl icant/licensee, if an individual or an
individual in a partnership, raust complete a pre-cmployment eriminal history record check on
him/herself, on each staff member and volunteer nge 19 or older, and on cueh houseliold member age 19
or older if the caitter is located in a private residence, Documentation must be kepl and available for
review by the Departiment,

The check must be conducted through the Nebraska State Patrol or through one or more local law
enforcement agencies, as appropriate to the individual’s residence(s). If an individual has lived in
Nebraska less than 12 months, the applicant/licensee must obtain documeniation of a eriminal history
record check from the previous state(s) of residence.”

191 NAL 1-006.0818 Registry Cheeks: “The applicant/licensee, if an individual or an individual in a
partnership, stafl, volunteers, and household members il the center is Jocated in & private residence, must
nat be listed as a perpetentor of abuse or neglect on the Nebruska:

1. Child abuse/neglect central register, if the individual is age 13 or older;

2, Adult protective servioes (APS) central registry if the individual is age 18 or
older; or

3. State Patrol sex offender vegistry.

The individual must provide enough information for an accurate check of the registries and must
authorize the releuse of registry information. The Department will conduct the ¢hild and adult registry
checks and provide the results to the applicant/licensee.

The applicant/licensee must conducl (he State Patral sex offender registry cheek, All registry checks must

be completed before the individual assumes responsibility for the care and supervision of children.”

W1 NAL I OAC gzl bass Didoreanen ¢ andiels “The applicant/licensee must complete &
Report of Law Enforgement Contact for bim/herself, if an individual or an individual in a partnership, and
must obtain & completed report for each staff member and volunteer age 19 or older and each household
member age 19 or older if the center is located in a private residence, The report must:



~ —
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391 NAC 3-006,058

Be updated, signed, and dated annually;

I3e updated any time oue of these individuals is arrested, issued a citation other
than a minor traftic violation, or charged with or convicted of any felony,
misdemeanor, or infraction,

1.ist all previous and pending criminal charges and arrests, both felony and
misdemeanor, regardless of prosecution;

List any record of felony and/or misdemeanor charges and anests related to
crimes against children;

List any record of felony and/or misdemeanor convictions;

List any current or past parole or probation status. including diversion or court
supervision; and

List details, dates, county and state of the contact, arrest, charge, conviction, and
disposition, it any,”

Non-Certilicated ‘Teachers: “To be employed as a leacher in a licensed child vare

center, an individual who s not u certificated teacher must be at least 18 years of age and of good moral
character, and must meet one of the following requirements:

ik

2,

3.

4.

Hold a bachclor’s degree from an accredited college or university in early

childhood education, education or child/youth develapiment;

T1old an associate degree from an accredited college or univetsity in carly

childhood education, education or child/youth development;

Have a Child Development Associate Credential; or

Have a high school diploms or GED; and

4 1500 verified clock hours of experience in organized group activities for
young children as indicated by a positive reference from 4 former emplayer
or supervisor; ot

b, Submit a wrilten plan for Department approval to acquire at least three
credit hours or 45 clock houes of training in administration, eardy childhood
education, education, or child/youth development, in a period not (o exceed
six months. The licensee must maintain a copy of the writien plan and
Department approval for Department review.”

391 NAC 3-006.10A Orieptation: “When new stafl or volunicers are employed, those individuals must
be provided with oricntation prior 1o their having divecl responsibility for the care of children, The
orientation must include:

£
2%

L

o N O >

Job duties and responsibilities;

Infection control practices including proper hand washing techniques, persondl
hygiene, and disposal of infectious material;

Information on abuse, neglect and sexual abuse ot children and the state’s
reporting requirements;

Child care center regulations,

Evacuation plans in the event of fire;

Safety plans in the event of a tomadn;

Emergency preparcdness in the event of a natural or man made djsaster; and
The center's method of interacting with children and discipline policies.”



391 NAC 006,11 Fanployee Revords Reguirements; ““The licensee must ensure the following employee
records are maintained, updated as needed, and made available to the Department upon request. Records
must be maintained for at least one year after an employee leaves the center.”

391 NAC 3-006.1 1A Staff; “Records for all staff, except substitutes and volunteers, must include:

Name;

Address and telephone number;

Social Security Number;

Date of hire/lermination;

A completed Report of Law Enforcement Contact;

Documentation of a criminal history record check;

A completed Health Information Report;

Documentation of Nebraska registry checks with no adverse findings;

. Documentation that the individual has met the qualifications for the position;
10. Documentation of orientalion training and required ongoing training; and

11.  Documentation that the individual has read and understands these regulations.”

WO AW =

391 NAC 3-006. 1518 Stalting Requivements; ... “2, Each room where children are receiving care must
have a teacher who is invelved with the direct care of children.” ..

391 NAC 3-006.15C Stalt-(o-Child Ratio: “The center must maintain accurate statf and daily attendance
records to verify compliance with staff-to-child ratios, Compliance with staff-to-child ratios is
determined on a center-wide basis,

Only staff involved in (he direct cace of children are counted, The appropriate staff-(o-child ratias must
be met at all times, as follows,

Age of Children Number of Children Number of Staff Required
| inCare

6 weeks to |8 months 4 1 B

18 months to 3 years 6 !

3 years 10 !

4 and 5 years 12 !

School-aye 15 |

W1 MAL 3-006.16A Motilcadion o e “The licensce/director must notify parcots of all enrolled
children of any case of any reportable communicable discase on the same day the licensee 1s informed of
or observes the illness, unless otherwise directed by (he health authority. The health authotity is the local
healll departinent for (he area. Proper notification includes: 1. Notification 1o pareats ofchildren n
atlendance: 2. Natification to parents of earolled children who are not in stiendance on that day; and 3,
Posting natice of the outbreak in a conspicuous place,”

91 NAC 3-006.19 Supervision of Childan “Adequate and appropriate supervision must be provided (o
children at all times children are in atendance, including during ouidoor play. Ullimate responsibility for
supervision rests with the licensee.”

D



191 NAC 3-006.2213 Beds, Cribe i Sleeping Surlices: “The licensee must ensure thal sleeping
surlaces approprigle 1o the child's age and level of development are available for each child in care. ... 2.
The only acceptable sleeping surfaces for children age 12 months and under are cribs and playpens.
When used, cribs and pleypens must meet the following standards: .. .c. Cribs and playpens must contain
no solt objects, bumper pads, toys, or Joose bedding. 1f a blanket is used, it must be secured or tucked
under the crib mattress or the pad of the playpen and reach no higher than the infant's chest; and 4. Cribs,
playpens, cots, and mats must be disinfeeted daily or marked for individual usc and disinfected weekly or
more often when needed.”

391 NAC 3-006.23 nfant/ Foddler Care: “If care is provided to infants and/or toddlers, the licensee must
ensure that the emotional and physical needs of infants and toddlers are met consislently and promptly.
Staff assigned to infants must be identified in weiting and assigned to the same infants whenever possible.
Center staff must: 1. Investigate the cries of infants immediately; 2. Hold, lalk to, and engage in play
activities with cach child every day; 3. Hold infants under six montha of uge or those not yet able to hold
their own bottlcs. Bottles must not be propped and must be removed from sleeping infants;” ...

391 NALU 3006, 23A Intian Care Rooms: “Rooms where infants are receiving care must be limited (o the
care of no more than 12 children at any one time, 1, It five or more infants ale receiving care in a room,
at Jeast two staff members must be in the room. 2. If nine or more infants are receiving care in a room, al

least three staff members must be in the room,” ...

391 NAC 3-006,2318 Digpering i Toileting: “1. The licensee must ensure that diapering procedures are
established and followed by center stafl, The procedures must inchude: ... ¢. Diaper-changing surfaces
are cleaned nfter each use by sanitizing the surface or changing the diaper pad or disposable sheeting and
are disinfected daily; and f. Proper hand washing is done affer cach diaper change.”

FACTS:

Kimberly Arellano (hereinafter referred (o as “Arellano”) is listed as the director of record of this facility.
Bradley Metzler (heteinafter referred to as "Motzler”) is listed as Licensee of the program and resident
of lhe corporation.

On August 24, 2016 at 11:30 a.m,, Dawn Kozak (hereinafter veferred to as “Kozak™), conducted a
complaint investigation to Jr. Alphabel Academy after receiving complaints that the prograra wis caring
for too many infants.  Upon arival, Kozak gounted 26 infants in care. There were six staff present.
Kozak observed a chaotic atmosphere that included numerous infants erying and gtalY failing 10 provide
basic care.

There are four infant rooms in this program. Kozak observed nine infanls with two stalf (three stalt were
reguired) in one room and obseryed another room where one siedT person was caring for five infanis (two
stulwere required). ‘The program did not have the uppropriate nunther of stalf in cach infant room.
Kozak dsked the program o call Metzler and ask him o come 1o the progeam due 1o the urgeney of the
non-complianes with siaff-to-child ratio and the chaolic environment, Metzler was called ntaround noon:
however, hecatse he was io a meeting outside of the child cave, did not arrive at the program until around
3:00 poi. Kozak insteaeted Arcilano, prior to M etzlér arriving, to begin reduuing the number ol infants in
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care to ensure stuff-to-child ratio was achieved, as well as to create an environment where slafl were able
to meel the immediate physical and emotional necds of the infants in care,

Parents were conlacted over several hours to pick up children; however, the program remained out of ratio
until 4:30 p.m.,

Attendance records showed that:

e On August 22, 2016 at 8:00 a.m., therc were 16 infants signed into the program with two staff
clocked in. Regulations require al least four staff present, At 9:00 a.m. on this same date, there
were 24 infants signed in with 4 staif clocked in. Regolations require at Jeast six staff present in
order to mect staff-ta-child ratio.

s At 9:30 am. on August 23, 2016, there were 26 infants signed in with five staff clocked in.
Regulations require at least seven staff present in order to meet staff-to-child ratio.

o A(9:00 on August 24, 2016, there were 24 infants signed in with 4 staff clocked in. Regulations
require at least tive statf present in order to meet staff-to-child ratio.

Kozak also observed the following:

o Staff person, Destiny, changed five infants in succession, but did not sanitize the changing pad or
wash her hands in between diaper changes.

Infant was sleeping in a crib with a bottle.

Infants in all four rooms were crying in cribs, on the floor, in bouncy seats al the table and on
mats. Staff did not investigate the cries immediately. Infants (hat were not erying received little
ot o attention and were not held due 1o staff auempling ta tend to those that were crying.

Infant was sleeping in a bouncy seat,

Only six pack-n-plays were in a room where nine infants were present.

Three infants were sleeping in pack-n-plays with unsecured blankets.

Two different infants were placed one atter another ina pack-n-play that had not been cleaned or
disinfecied.

e One infant was sleeping on the floor.

« Staif person, Destiny, left six infants alone in a foom ta ge irito another room.

o Infant hiad pink-eye but no notice was posted or parent notification given.

On August 24, 2016, it was daetermined that of the six staff on site, only two staff met ieacher
gualifications and one mel support staf¥ qualifications. Kozak reviewed the files of the six staff that were
providing care on August 24, 2016. Arcllano end Chloe Walker were the only gualified teachers present
on August 24, 2016, The other four staff that were working with infants that day, Destiny Hatficld, Jessa
Fiscus, Faith Leeds, and Holly LeBlane, were not qualificd, did not have the apgropriate background
checks conducted or erientation training. Hatfield stated she began caring for infants on August 24, 2016;
while Jessa Fiscus and Faith Leeds stated they had each provided care for two or three days.



DISCIPLINARY ACTION IMPOSED:
Bascd upon the facts set out above, the Department intends to impose the following:

1. The Licensee’s Child Cate Center license is placed on probation for a period of slx months effective
December 6, 2016, The following terms and conditions will apply:

a. Tnfunts must be assigned to a specific staff in each room. Staff assigned to infants must be identitied in
weiting and assigned (o the same infants whenever possible, If assigned staff are not available, an
alternative plan must be available. Staff assigniments must be posted.

b. By December 6, 2016, the Licensee will submit & written plan ensuring how ratio will be maintained in
each infant room; cspecially during diapering and hand washing times.

The Department agrees that afler reviewing this written plan, it will either approve or require
modifications. 1f modifications are required, the Licensee must, within len calendar days cf notice by the
Department, resubmit the written plan to the Departiment with the required modifications. The
Department reserves the right to make minor unilateral modifications te Uie written plan, Onee approved,
thie Licensee agrees to implement the plan as approved by the Department.

¢. By Decerber 6, 2016, the Licensee will submit & written plan idemifying how the program will ensure
that all staff employed meet that qualifications for the positions they are assuming and that a person who
meels teacher qualifications is in cach room of the child cure as required by regulations.

The Department agrees that after reviewing this written plan, it will either apprave or require
modifications, [fmodifications are required, the Licensee must, within ten culendar days of notice by the
Depurtment, resubmit the waitten plan Lo the Department with the required modifications. The
Department reserves the right to make minor unilateral modifications 10 the written plan. Onee approved,
lhe Licensee aprees to implement the plan a5 approved by the Department.

d. By December 6, 2016, the [icensee must submiil a list of all current staff employed along with
documentation that all staff employed meet the qualifications for the positions they are ussuming.

¢, By December 6, 2016, the Licensee will submit plan as 10 how the Licensee and Divector of Jr.
Alphybet Academy will work in conjunction to ensure that there is au adequale nutber of qualified staff
for the number of infants in care. This plan should also include specific actions to be taken by the
Licensee and Director if proper staff is not available for the number of infants in care.

The Department agrees thal efter reviewing this written plan, it will cither approve or require
modifications. 1fmodifications are required, the Licensee must, within ten calendar days of notice by the
Department, resubmit he written plan to the Department with (he required modifications, The
Depirtment reserves the right to make minor unilateral waodifications to the written plan, Once approved,
the Licensee agrees to implement the plan as approved by the Depariment.

£ By December 6, 2016, the Licensee will establish andfor amend their current “Safe Sleep™ Policies tnd
Procedures to address propér sleeping surfaces and il fieding Stalt who have the responsibility for
caring for children will be wamed in these Policies and Procedures 15 days alter Department approval



Documentation of staff being trained will be maintained on the center premises and available for review
upon request by Department staff.

The Department agrees that after reviewing this “Safe Sleep” Policy and Procedure, it will either approve
or require modifications. [Fmodifications are required, the Licensee must, within ten calendat days of
notice by the Department, resubmit the written Policy and Procedure to the Department with the required
modifications. The Department reserves the right 10 make minor unilateral modifications to the written
Policy and Procedure. Once approved, the Licensee agrees to implement the Policy and Procedure as
approved by the Departiment,

g. By December 6, 2016, the Licensee will submit 4 wrilten “Monitoring Plan” thal includes verification
by the Director that the “Safe Sleep" Policies and Pracedures will be followed by all staff whe have the
responsibility for caring for children.

The Department agrees that after reviewing this written plan, it will either approve or require
modifications. 1f modifications are required, the Licensee must, within ten calendar days of notice by the
Department, resubmit the written plan to the Department with the required modifications. The
Department regerves the right to make minor unilateral modifications to the written plag. Once approved,
the Licensee agrees to implement the plan as approved by the Depaimenl.

b, By December 6, 2016, the Licensee will establish andfor amend if neceysary their current policy on
how they will follow 391 NAC 1-006,1 0A Noti ligatian 10 Pruents as it relates to notifying parents of all

children of any case of any reportable communicable disease, Parents of all enrolled children must be

provided a copy of this policy, and written verification of parent’s receipt shall be maintained for
Deparinent review upon request. This policy must also be maintained on the premises and available for
review upon Department request,

2. The Licensce is responsible for paying for all costs associated with compliance.

3. All documentation required must be submitted to Department, Atln: Dawn Kozak, Child Care
Inspection Specialist, Children's Services Licensing, Licensure, Division of Public Health, State Office
Building, 1313 Farnamn, Third Floor, Omaha, Nebraska, 68102, or at such other address as directed in
writing, by the Department.

4. Compliance will be monitored by Children’s Services |icensing staff and may be monitored by other
Department representatives (i.e., Fire Marshal or designated agent, Environmental Health
Specialist/Scientist or designated agent, Resource Development Worker, Children and Family Services
SpecialistWorker, ete.). The Licensee and any employees and/or agents must cooperate with the
Department in these monitoring inspections.

5. A copy of this Notice of Disciplinary Action must be posted with the current child care license so it is
clearly visible to parents and agency represennatives.

6. Failure 1o comply with the terms of this disciplinary action, the applicable Child Care Regulations and
fuilure to correct the violgtions will be grounds for revoealion or such other discipline as the Department
may deern approptiate after notice Lo the licensee and an opportunity for 4 hearing.



7. 1fthe Licensee discontinues the child care program for any reason, the time the Licensee is not actively
operating & licensed child care program will not count toward the probation period and any subsequent
child care license issued by (he Department indicating BJIM Kids, Inc. and/or Jr. Alphabet Academy as
licensee/director/owner shall be subject to the terms of this probation including completion of the
probation period, The Licensee must notify the Departiment, in writing, within seven (7) working days of
any period that it is not actively operating the program. Aclive operation is the provision of child care for
a minimum of forty (40) hours a week for fifty (50) weeks ot a calendar year.

BE ADVISED:

Pursuant to Nebraska Revised Siatuiey, section 71-1922, this action becomes final on December 5, 2016,
unless the Department receives a wrilten request for a hearing on or before such date, The license shall
continue in effect until the final order of the director if a hearing is requested, If the director does not
receive such request on or before such date, the action of the Department is final.

If you decide to request a hearing, your written request for hearing must be received by the Department on
or by December 5, 2016. It should be addressed to:

Marsha Wandersee, for DHHS

Children’s Services Licensing ~ Licensure
Division of Public Health

P.O. Box 94986

Lincoln, NE 68509-4986G

If you request a hearing, you will be notified of the time, date and place of the hearing and other
pertinent information, by scparate notice, On the basis of such hearing, the director will affirm,
modify or rescind the determination of the Department, Be advised that pursuant to Nebruska
Itevised Statutes, section 71-1920, upon completion of any hearing held, the director may impose
any or a combination of any of the following: probation, suspension, revocation, civil penalty,
restrictions of new enrollment, restrictions or other limitations on the number of children or the
ages of the children served in the program, or other restrictions or limitations on the type of service
provided by the program. On the basis of the hearing, a modification by the director may include
sanctions important to your program, up to and including the loss of your license.

‘Thal Nebraska Revised Statuies, section 71-1923 of the Child Care Licensing Act, provides that “a
licensee may voluntarily surrender the license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act at any time,








