NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission.

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Pete Ricketts, Governor
May 3, 2019
TENDER HEART DAYCARE CERTIFIED AND FIRST CLASS MAIL

OWNED BY THURESA HOAGLAND
223 EAST 14TH, SUITE 10
HASTINGS, NE 68901

Dear Ms. Hoagland:

Since you did not appeal the Notice of Disciplinary Action dated March 29, 2019, by or on
April 15, 2019, you are assessed a civil penalty. The amount due is $417 ($3.00 times license
capacity of 139 children) for one day of non-compliance found on the October 17, 2018,
inspection.

The above penalties must be received by or on May 15, 2019. Your check or money order
should be payable to the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services and sent to
Chris Kort, Administrative Assistant, Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services,
Division of Public Health, Licensure, PO Box 94986, Lincoln, Nebraska, 68509-4986.

If you have questions, please contact Harriet Spelts, Child Care Licensing Supervisor,
Children’s Services Licensing at 308-535-8246.

incerel

Becky Wisell, Administrator
Licensure Unit -
301 Centennial Mall South

Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

BW/ck
Cc: Children’s Services Licensing
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NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission.

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Pete Ricketts, Governor

May 3, 2019

TENDER HEART DAYCARE
Thuresa Hoagland, Owner

223 East 14™ Street, Suite #10
Hastings, NE 68901

Dear Ms. Hoagland:

In accordance with the Notice of Disciplinary Action, 2nd Probation Extension and 2nd Civil
Penalty, issued on March 29, 2019, by Bo Botelho, Interim Director, Division of Public Health,
Department of Health and Human Services, the Probation of your original License to operate a Child
Care Center in the State of Nebraska has been extended to January 12, 2020. This status became
effective January 13, 2018, and it will remain in effect until January 12, 2020. Upon completion of the
Probation, a new license will be issued to you.

If you have any questions, please contact Harriet Spelts, Child Care Licensing Supervisor, at
(308) 535-8246.

Becky Wisell, A
Licensure Unit
301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

BW/dcp

cc: Children’s Services Licensing
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NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission.

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Pete Ricketts, Governor

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
STATE OF NEBRASKA

IN THE MATTER OF: ) NOTICE OF

THE OPERATING CHILD CARE CENTER ) DISCIPLINARY ACTION
LICENSE OF TENDER HEART DAYCARE ) 2" PROBATION EXTENSION
OWNED BY THURESA HOAGLAND ) AND 2" CIVIL PENALTY

LICENSED LOCATION: 223 EAST 14TH, SUITE 10, HASTINGS, NE 68901
LICENSE NUMBER: CCC8902

CAPACITY: 139

AGES: 6 WEEKS TO 13 YEARS

HOURS AND DAYS: 5:30 AM TO 6:00 PM, MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY
DATE INITIALLY LICENSED: FEBRUARY 6, 2007

NOTICE:

Tender Heart Daycare, owned by Thuresa Hoagland (hereinafter referred to as “Tender Heart”),
is notified that the Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health
(hereinafter referred to as “Department”), is imposing disciplinary action against Tender Heart's
Operating Child Care Center License for violation of the following statutes and regulations:

AUTHORITY:

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1919, of the Child Care Licensing Act provides that “the
department may ... take disciplinary action against a license issued under the Child Care
Licensing Act on any of the following grounds:

(1) Failure to meet or violation of any of the requirements of the Child Care Licensing Act or the
rules and regulations adopted and promulgated under the act; ...

(4) Conduct or practices detrimental to the health or safety of a person served by or employed at
the program;”...
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Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1920, of the Child Care Licensing Act provides that “(1)
The Department may impose any one or a combination of the following types of disciplinary
action against a license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act:
(a) Issue a probationary license; ...
(c) Impose a civil penalty of up to five dollars per child, base on the number of children for
which the program is authorized to provide child care on the efective date of the finding of
violation, for each day the program is in violation;”...

391 NAC 3-008.01 Grounds for Denial or Disciplinary Action: “The Department may deny
the issuance of or take disciplinary action against a license on any of the following grounds:

1. Failure to meet or violation of any of the requirements of the Child Care Licensing Act or the
rules and regulations adopted and promulgated under the Act; ...

4. Conduct or practices detrimental to the health or safety of a person served by or employed at
the program;” ...

391 NAC 3-006.15B Staffing Requirements: ...“2. Each room where children are receiving care
must have a teacher who is involved with the direct care of children.”...

391 NAC 3-006.15C Staff-to-Child Ratios: “The center must maintain accurate staff and daily
attendance records to verify compliance with staff-to-child ratios. Compliance with staff-to-child
ratios is determined on a center-wide basis.

Only staff involved in the direct care of children are counted. The appropriate staff-to-child
ratios must be met at all times, as follows.”

Age of Children Number of Children Number of Staff
in Care Required

6 weeks to 18 months 4 1

18 months to 3 years 6 1

3 years 10 1

4 and 5 years 12 1

School-age 15 1

391 NAC 3-006.19 Supervision of Children: “Adequate and appropriate supervision must be
provided to children at all times children are in attendance, including during outdoor play.
Ultimate responsibility for supervision rests with the licensee.”

391 NAC 3-002 DEFINITIONS

“Adequate and appropriate supervision includes:

1. Knowing the whereabouts and being within sight or sound of all children at all times;
2. Being awake, alert, attentive, and responsive to the needs of all children, and

3. Protecting or removing children from harm.”
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FACTS AND FINDINGS:

e On October 17, 2018, Lori Altmaier, Child Care Inspection Specialist, Nebraska
Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health (herein after
referred to as “Altmaier”), conducted a monitoring inspection of Tender Heart. Through
general observation during a walkthrough of the program, she found Tender Heart to be
out of compliance with the terms of the Probation regarding Staff-to-Child ratio.

At the visit, there were 10 infants with 3 teachers, 9 infants and 3 three-year-olds with 2
teachers, 4 infants with one teacher, one room with 6 toddlers with one teacher, a second
room with 6 toddlers with one teacher, and 37 children with 2 staff. The 37 children
included 2 two-year-olds, 10 three-year-olds, and 25 four and five-year-olds. One of the
staff with this group was the cook. There were 10 staff working with children and 12 were
needed to meet staff-to-child ratios. Thuresa Hoagland, director and licensee, was out of
town due to a personal issue. Details of this inspection can be found on an “Inspection
Compliance Review” dated October 17, 2018.

e On November 2, 2018, Altmaier conducted a complaint inspection of Tender Heart.
Through an interview with Director/Licensee Hoagland, Altmaier found Tender Heart to
be out of compliance with the terms of the Probation regarding supervision.

On October 19, 2018, a three-year-old child was found alone in the parking lot of the
daycare. Hoagland stated that the three-year-old outside was her grandson. She was
caring for him and they were getting ready to leave the Center. The child was standing
by the door when the phone rang. Hoagland answered the phone then went into the front
office to write down a child’s schedule. When she turned around her grandson was gone.
She looked in the back rooms and then was notified he was in the parking lot. Details of
this inspection can be found on a “Compliance/Complaint Review” dated November 2,
2018.

e On November 20, 2018, Altmaier conducted a complaint inspection of Tender Heart.
Through general observations and an interview with Director/Licensee Hoagland,
Altmaier found Tender Heart to be out of compliance with the terms of the Probation
regarding supervision and staffing requirements.

On November 5, 2018, Hoagland stated that her own three school age children were
sitting in the front part of the office watching a movie after school and a three-year-old
came and sat with them. Hoagland was working in the back part of the office while the
children were watching the movie for about an hour. Hoagland was not sure which
teacher was in the room when the three-year-old left the room. Hoagland also thought
there was a staff worker in the front part of the office, but this person couldn’t be
identified. Details of this inspection can be found on “Compliance/Complaint Review”
dated November 20, 2018.
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PREVIOUS HISTORY:

Tender Heart has a history of failing to provide adequate and appropriate supervision to children
in care.

e On December 2, 2015, Tender Heart had 2 four-year-old children who fled the center
without permission or supervision. Upon returning from a preschool program, 2 children
went out the back door and ran down the street. They were found by a utility worker who
called 911. The boys were picked up by Hastings Police who returned them to the
center. This incident resulted in Tender Heart being placed on Corrective Action Status
for six months effective January 26, 2016.

e On November 14, 2016, Tender Heart had a toddler that had been left unattended for
approximately six minutes as the toddler left the lunch area without staff noticing. Later in
the same day, a toddler got separated from a group of ten children with two staff when
walking from the gym area back to the center. The center is at one end of a business
building and the gym area is at the other with several businesses between. This incident
resulted in a staff member being fired and Tender Heart was put on a six month probation
effective December 28, 2016.

e On November 28, 2017, Tender Heart toddler staff were combining rooms. One staff
person (Kim) took three of the children into another toddler room and left. The staff
person in that room (Brooklyn), was talking to a parent and was not aware Kim had
brought the three children into the room. Those three toddlers opened a gate, went up a
staircase and got out of the building through a door that had been propped open.

Another staff person (Beatrice) saw the children running by her window and notified Kim
that the toddlers were out of the building. Kim went outside to retrieve the children. By
that time, a person passing by had stopped the children from leaving the premises. Kim
was then able to bring the children back indoors. This event lead to Tender Heart being
placed on probation, scheduled to end on January 13, 2019.

e On May 2, 2018, at 6:10 a.m., Pam Wicht, Child Care Inspection Specialist (herein after
referred to a “Wicht”) observed Tender Heart had 2 infants, 2 toddlers, 14 three-year-
olds, 6 four and five-year-olds, and 11 school age children. There were 2 staff present
working with the children and 4 were needed to meet staff-to-child ratios. Wicht observed
another room where 14 children were in care, including an infant. Rooms where infants
are in care are limited to a total of 12 children. Also, Wicht observed a room where 9
children were sleeping; however, no teacher was present in the room. An additional
room where 12 school age children were receiving care was observed not to have a
teacher present.

On May 3, 2018, Altmaier observed Tender Heart had 4 infants in a room with no
teacher. The teacher had gone to the other infant room to help out because they had 10
infants with 2 teachers. This event lead to a Civil Penalty in the amount of $278.00 and
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extending the Probation scheduled to end on January 13, 2019, to a new end date of July
13, 2019.

DISCIPLINARY ACTION IMPOSED:
Based upon the facts presented above, the Department intends to impose the following:

1. Tender Heart's original probation from the Notice of Discipline signed on December 28, 2017:
e was originally scheduled to end on January 13, 2019;
e was extended by six months to end on July 13, 2019, by Notice of Disciplinary Action
signed on August 30, 2018; and
e is extended for a second time by six months and will now end January 12, 2020.

2. In addition to the original terms and conditions from the December 28, 2017, Notice of
Disciplinary action, with the following terms and conditions are imposed:

A) Tender Heart is not allowed any new enroliments until 6 months after the effective
date of this notice. Tender Heart will submit a current roster of enrolled children to
Altmaier. If there are no violations related to staffing and/or supervision, the
enrollment restriction will be lifted after 6 months.

B) Tender Hear must have one additional staff person above the Staff-Child Ratio
requirement during all operating hours. [f there are no violations related to staffing
and/or supervision, the additional staff person requirement will be lifted after 6
months.

All documentation required must be submitted to NE Department of Health and Human
Services, Attn: Lori Altmaier, Child Care Inspection Specialist, Children’s Services Licensing,
4011 7th Avenue, Suite A, Kearney, NE 68845, or at such other address as directed in writing
by the Department.

3. Tender Heart is assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $ 417.00 ($3.00 times license
capacity of 139 children) for one day of non-compliance found on the October 17, 2018,
inspection.

4. Compliance will be monitored by Children’s Services Licensing staff and may be monitored
by other Department representatives (i.e. Fire Marshal or designated agent, Environmental
Health Specialist/Scientist or designated agent, Resource Development Worker, Children and
Family Services Specialist/Worker, etc.). The Licensee and any employees and/or agents must
cooperate with the Department in these monitoring inspections.

5. A copy of this Notice of Disciplinary Action must be posted with the current childcare license
so it is clearly visible to parents and agency representatives.

6. Failure to comply with the terms of this disciplinary action, the applicable Child Care Center
Regulations, and failure to correct the violations will be grounds for revocation or such other
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discipline as the Department may deem appropriate after notice to the licensee and an
opportunity for a hearing.

7. If Tender Heart discontinues the child care program for any reason, the time the Licensee is
not actively operating a licensed child care program will not count toward the probation period
and any subsequent child care license issued by the Department indicating Tender Heart as
licensee/director/owner shall be subject to the terms of this probation including completion of the
probation period. The Licensee must notify the Department, in writing, within seven (7) working
days of any period that it is not actively operating the program. Active operation is the provision
of childcare for a minimum of forty (40) hours a week for fifty (50) weeks of a calendar year.

BE ADVISED:

Pursuant to Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1922, this action becomes final on April 15,
2019, unless the Department receives a written request for a hearing on or before such date.
The license shall continue in effect until the final order of the director if a hearing is requested.
If the director does not receive such request on or before such date, the action of the
Department is final.

If you decide to request a hearing, your written request for hearing must be received by the
Department on or by April 15, 2019. It should be addressed to:

Chris Kort, for DHHS

Children’s Services Licensing — Licensure Unit
Division of Public Health

P.O. Box 94986

Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

If you request a hearing, you will be notified of the time, date and place of the hearing and other
pertinent information, by separate notice. On the basis of such hearing, the director will affirm,
modify or rescind the determination of the Department. Be advised that pursuant to Nebraska
Revised Statutes, section 71-1920, upon completion of any hearing held, the director may
impose any or a combination of any of the following: probation, suspension, revocation, civil
penalty, restrictions of new enroliment, restrictions or other limitations on the number of children
or the ages of the children served in the program, or other restrictions or limitations on the type
of service provided by the program. On the basis of the hearing, a modification by the director
may include sanctions important to your program, up to and including the loss of your license.

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1911, provides that a person who has had their “license
suspended or revoked other than for nonpayment of fees shall not operate or offer to
operate a program for or provide care to any number of children until the person is
licensed pursuant to this action.”
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Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1920 of the Child Care Licensing Act, provides that “any
fine imposed and unpaid under the Child Care Licensing Act shall constitute a debt to the State
of Nebraska which may be collected in the manner of a lien foreclosure or sued for and
recovered in any proper form of action in the name of State of Nebraska in the district court of
the county in which the program is located.” In addition, section 71-1920, (2), states that “a
person who has had a license revoked for any cause other than nonpayment of fees shall not be
eligible to reapply for a license for a period of two years.”

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1923 of the Child Care Licensing Act, provides that “a
licensee may voluntarily surrender the license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act at any
time, except that the Department may refuse to accept a voluntary surrender of a license if the
licensee is under investigation or if the Department has initiated disciplinary action against the
licensee.

Dated: W\MU& % 12019

Bo Botelho, Interim Director
Division of Public Health

an Services

Becky Wisell, Administrato
Licensure Unit

301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

COMES NOW, the undersigned and certifies that on the 2q%day of March, 2019, a
copy of the foregoing NOTICE OF DISCIPLINARY ACTION was sent by certified and first class
United States mail, sufficient postage prepaid to TENDER HEART DAYCARE, 223 EAST 14TH,

SUITE 10, HASTINGS, NE 68901.

Chris Kort
Administrative Assistant
Licensure Unit
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NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission.

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Pete Ricketts, Governor

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

STATE OF NEBRASKA
IN THE MATTER OF: )
THE OPERATING CHILD CARE CENTER ) NOTICE OF
LICENSE OF TENDER HEART DAYCARE ) DISCIPLINARY ACTION
OWNED BY THURESA HOAGLAND ) CIVIL PENALTY

LICENSED LOCATION: 223 EAST 14TH SUITE 10, HASTINGS, NE 68901
LICENSE NUMBER: CCC8902

CAPACITY: 139

AGES: 6 WEEKS TO 13 YEARS

HOURS AND DAYS: 5:30 AM TO 6:00 PM, MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY
DATE INITIALLY LICENSED: FEBRUARY 6, 2007

NOTICE:

Tender Heart Daycare, owned by Thuresa Hoagland (hereinafter referred to as “Tender Heart”)
is notified that the Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health,
(hereinafter referred to as “Department”) is imposing disciplinary action against Tender Heart's
Operating Child Care Center License for violation of the following statutes and regulations:

AUTHORITY:

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1919, of the Child Care Licensing Act provides that “the
Department may ... take disciplinary action against a license issued under the Child Care
Licensing Act on any of the following grounds:

(1) Failure to meet or violation of any of the requirements of the Child Care Licensing Act or the
rules and regulations adopted and promulgated under the act; ...

(4) Conduct or practices detrimental to the health or safety of a person served by or employed at
the program;”
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Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1920, of the Child Care Licensing Act provides that
“...the Department may impose any one or a combination of the following types of disciplinary
action against a license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act: (¢) Impose a civil penalty of
up to five dollars per child, based on the number of children for which the program is authorized
to provide child care on the effective date of the finding of violation, for each day the program is
in violation." ...

391 NAC 3-008.01Grounds for Denial or Disciplinary Action: “The Department may deny
the issuance of or take disciplinary action against a license on any of the following grounds:

1. Failure to meet or violation of any of the requirements of the Child Care Licensing Act or the
rules and regulations adopted and promulgated under the Act; ...

4. Conduct or practices detrimental to the health or safety of a person served by or employed at
the program;” ...

391 NAC 3-006.15.B Staffing Reqguirements:

“2. Each room where children are receiving care must have a teacher who is involved
with the direct care of children.

3. During naptime, at least one teacher must be in the room where children are
napping, as long as the staff-to-child ratio is maintained center-wide.”

391 NAC 3-006.15C _Staff-to-Child Ratios: “The center must maintain accurate staff and daily
attendance records to verify compliance with staff-to-child ratios. Compliance with staff-to-child
ratios is determined on a center-wide basis.

Only staff involved in the direct care of children are counted. The appropriate staff-to-child
ratios must be met at all times, as follows.”

Age of Children Number of Children | Number of Staff
in Care Required

6 weeks to 18 months 4 1

18 months to 3 years 6 1

3 years 10 1

4 and 5 years 12 1

School-age 15 1

FACTS AND FINDINGS:

On May 2, 2018, Pam Wicht, Child Care Inspection Specialist, Nebraska Department of Health
and Human Services, Division of Public Health (hereinafter referred to as “Wicht”), and May 3,
2018, Lori Altmaier Child Care Inspection Specialist, Nebraska Department of Health and
Human Services, Division of Public Health (hereinafter referred to as “Altmaier”), conducted
unannounced complaint inspections of Tender Heart.
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On May 2, 2018, at 6:10 a.m. Wicht observed 2 infants, 2 toddlers, 14 3 year-olds, 6 4 and 5
year-olds, and 11 school age children. There were 2 staff present working with children and 4
were needed to meet staff-to-child ratios.

Wicht observed another room where 14 children were in care, including an infant. Rooms where
infants are in care are limited to a total of 12 children. Also, Wicht observed a room where 9
children were sleeping; however, no teacher was present in the room. An additional room
where 12 school age children were receiving care was observed not to have a teacher present.

On May 3, 2018, Altmaier returned to the center and observed 4 infants in a room with no
teacher. The teacher had gone to the other infant room to help out because they had 10 infants
with 2 teachers.

PREVIOUS HISTORY:
Tender Heart has a history of failing to adhere to regulations as described below.

1.) On December 2, 2015, 2 4 year-old children fled the center without permission or
supervision. Upon returning from a preschool program, 2 children went out the back door and
ran down the street. They were found by a utility worker who called 911. The boys were picked
up by Hastings Police who returned them to the center. This incident resulted in Tender Heart
being placed on Corrective Action Status for 6 months effective January 26, 2016.

2.) On November 14, 2016, a toddler had been left unattended for approximately 6 minutes as
the toddler left the lunch area without staff noticing. Later in the same day, a toddler got
separated from a group of 10 children with 2 staff when walking from the gym area back to the
center. The center is at one end of a business building and the gym area is at the other with
several businesses between. This incident resulted in a staff member being fired and Tender
Heart was put on a 6 month probation effective December 28, 2016.

3.) On December 4, 2017, Altmaier conducted an unannounced complaint inspection of Tender
Heart. During the interview with Altmaier, Hoagland stated that on November 28, 2017, the
toddler staff were combining rooms. 1 staff person (Kim) took 3 of the children into another
toddler room and left. The staff person in that room (Brooklyn), was talking to a parent and was
not aware Kim had brought the 3 children into the room.

Those 3 toddlers opened a gate, went up a stair case and got out of the building through a door
that had been propped open. Another staff person (Beatrice) saw the children running by her
window and notified Kim the toddlers were out of the building. Kim went outside to retrieve the
children. By that time, a person passing by had stopped the children from leaving the premises.
Kim was then able to bring the children back indoors. This event lead to Tender Heart being
placed on their current active probation scheduled to end on January 13, 2019.
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DISCIPLINARY ACTION IMPOSED:
Based upon the facts presented above, the Department intends to impose the following:

1. Tender Heart is assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $139.00 per day ($1.00 times
license capacity of 139 children) for each day of noncompliance. Tender Heart was found to be
out of compliance on May 2, 2018, and May 3, 2018, for a total civil penalty owed of $278.00.

Said penalty is payable to the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Division of
Public Health. Said penalty is to be sent to Chris Kort, PO Box 94986, Lincoln, NE 68509-4986.
by or on September 28, 2018.

2. Failure to comply with the terms of this disciplinary action, the applicable Child Care
Regulations, and failure to correct the violations may be grounds for revocation or such other
discipline as the Department may deem appropriate after notice to the licensee and an opportunity
for a hearing.

3. If Tender Heart discontinues the child care program for any reason, the time the Adventure is
not actively operating a licensed child care program will not count toward the probation period
and any subsequent child care license issued by the Department indicating Adventure as
licensee/director/owner shall be subject to the terms of this probation including completion of the
probation period. Adventure must notify the Department, in writing, within seven 7 working days
of any period that it is not actively operating the program. Active operation is the provision of
childcare for a minimum of 40 hours a week for 50 weeks of a calendar year.

4. Tender Heart’s original probation from the Notice of Discipline signed on December 28, 2018,
which was scheduled to end on January 13, 2019, will be extended an additional 6 months and
will now end on July 13, 2019.

BE ADVISED:

Pursuant to Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1922, this action becomes final on
September 13, 2018, unless the Department receives a written request for a hearing on or
before such date. The license shall continue in effect until the final order of the director if a
hearing is requested. If the director does not receive such request on or before such date, the
action of the Department is final.

If you decide to request a hearing, your written request for hearing must be received by the
Department on or by September 13, 2018. It should be addressed to:

Chris Kort, for DHHS

Children’s Services Licensing — Licensure Unit
Division of Public Health

P.O. Box 94986

Lincoln, NE 68509-4986
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If you request a hearing, you will be notified of the time, date, and place of the hearing and other
pertinent information, by separate notice. On the basis of such hearing, the director will affirm,
modify, or rescind the determination of the Department. Be advised that pursuant to Nebraska
Revised Statutes, section 71-1920, upon completion of any hearing held, the director may
impose any or a combination of any of the following: probation, suspension, revocation, civil
penalty, restrictions of new enroliment, restrictions or other limitations on the number of children
or the ages of the children served in the program, or other restrictions or limitations on the type
of service provided by the program. On the basis of the hearing, a modification by the director
may include sanctions important to your program, up to and including the loss of your license.

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1911, provides that a person who has had their “license
suspended or revoked other than for nonpayment of fees shall not operate or offer to
operate a program for or provide care to any number of children until the person is
licensed pursuant to this action.”

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1920 of the Child Care Licensing Act, provides that “any
fine imposed and unpaid under the Child Care Licensing Act shall constitute a debt to the State
of Nebraska which may be collected in the manner of a lien foreclosure or sued for and
recovered in any proper form of action in the name of State of Nebraska in the district court of
the county in which the program is located.” In addition, section 71-1920, (2), states that “a
person who has had a license revoked for any cause other than nonpayment of fees shall not be
eligible to reapply for a license for a period of two years.”

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1923 of the Child Care Licensing Act, provides that “a
licensee may voluntarily surrender the license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act at any
time, except that the Department may refuse to accept a voluntary surrender of a license if the
licensee is under investigation or if the Department has initiated disciplinary action against the
licensee.

Dated: W 30 2018

Courtney N. Phillips, PhD
Chief Executive Officer
Department of Health and Human Services

Becky Wisell
Licensure Unit

301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

1
COMES NOW, the undersigned and certifies that on the i day of August, 2018, a
copy of the foregoing NOTICE OF DISCIPLINARY ACTION was sent by certified and first class
United States mail, sufficient postage prepaid to TENDER HEART DAYCARE 223 EAST 14TH
SUITE 10, HASTINGS, NE 68901.

Chris Kort
Administrative Assistant
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NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission.

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Pete Ricketts, Governor

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

STATE OF NEBRASKA
IN THE MATTER OF: )
THE OPERATING CHILD CARE CENTER ) NOTICE OF
LICENSE OF TENDER HEART DAYCARE ) DISCIPLINARY ACTION
OWNED BY THURESA HOAGLAND )

LICENSED LOCATION: 223 EAST 14TH SUITE 10, HASTINGS, NE 68901
LICENSE NUMBER: CCC8902

CAPACITY: 139

AGES: 6 WEEKS TO 13 YEARS

HOURS AND DAYS: 5:30 AM TO 6:00 PM, MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY
DATE INITIALLY LICENSED: FEBRUARY 6, 2007

NOTICE:

Tender Heart Daycare, owned by Thuresa Hoagland (hereinafter referred to as “Tender Heart™)
is notified that the Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health,
(hereinafter referred to as “Department”) is imposing disciplinary action against Tender Heart’s
Operating Child Care Center License for violation of the following statutes and regulations:

AUTHORITY:
Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1919, of the Child Care Licensing Act provides that “the

Department may ... take disciplinary action against a license issued under the Child Care
Licensing Act on any of the following grounds:
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(1) Failure to meet or violation of any of the requirements of the Child Care Licensing Act or the
rules and regulations adopted and promulgated under the act; ...

(4) Conduct or practices detrimental to the health or safety of a person served by or employed at
the program;”

Nebraska Revised Statutes. section 71-1920, of the Child Care Licensing Act provides that
“,..the Department may impose any one or a combination of the following types of disciplinary
action against a license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act: (a) Issue a probationary
license." ...

391 NAC 3-008.01Grounds for Denial or Disciplinary Action: “The Department may deny
the issuance of or take disciplinary action against a license on any of the following grounds:

1. Failure to meet or violation of any of the requirements of the Child Care Licensing Act or the
rules and regulations adopted and promulgated under the Act; ...

4. Conduct or practices detrimental to the health or safety of a person served by or employed at
the program;” ...

391 NAC 3-006.19 Supervision of Children: “Adequate and appropriate supervision must be
provided to children at all times children are in attendance, including during outdoor play.
Ultimate responsibility for supervision rests with the licensee.”

391 NAC 3-002 DEFINITIONS

Adequate and appropriate supervision includes:

1. Knowing the whereabouts and being within sight or sound of all children at all times;
2. Being awake, alert, attentive, and responsive to the needs of all children, and

3. Protecting or removing children from harm.

FACTS AND FINDINGS:

On December 4, 2017, Lori Altmaier Child Care Inspection Specialist, Nebraska Department of
Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health (hereinafter referred to as “Altmaier™),
conducted an unannounced complaint inspection of Tender Heart.

During the interview with Altmaier, Hoagland stated that on November 28, 2017, the toddler
staff were combining rooms. One staff person (Kim) took three of the children into another
toddler room and left. The staff person in that room (Brooklyn), was talking to a parent and was
not aware Kim had brought the three children into the room. Those three toddlers opened a gate,
went up a stair case and got out of the building through a door that had been propped open.
Another staff person (Beatrice) saw the children running by her window and notified Kim the
toddlers were out of the building. Kim went outside to retrieve the children. By that time, a



person passing by had stopped the children from leaving the premises. Kim was then able to
bring the children back indoors.

PREVIOUS HISTORY:

Tender Heart has a history of failing to provide adequate and appropriate supervision to children
in care.

On November 14, 2016, a toddler had been left unattended for approximately six minutes as the
toddler left the lunch area without staff noticing. Later in the same day, a toddler got separated
from a group of ten children with two staff when walking from the gym area back to the center.
The center is at one end of a business building and the gym area is at the other with several
business between. This incident resulted in a staff member being fired and Tender Heart was put
on a six month probation effective December 28, 2016.

On December 2, 2015 two four year old children fled the center without permission or
supervision. Upon returning from a preschool program, two children went out the back door and
ran down the street. They were found by a utility worker who called 911. The boys were picked
up by Hastings Police who returned them to the center. This incident resulted in Tender Heart
being placed on Corrective Action Status for six months effective January 26, 2016.

DISCIPLINARY ACTION IMPOSED:

Based upon the facts presented above, the Department intends to impose the following:

1. Tender Heart’s Operating Child Care Center license is placed on probation for a period of one
year from the effective date of January 13, 2018. The following terms and conditions will apply:

a. By January 29, 2018, Tender Heart’s director must submit to the Department a written
plan on holding monthly meetings to review supervision issues. The plan must be
approved by the Department.

b. By January 29, 2018, Tender Heart’s director must submit to the Department an
updated written policy regarding supervision. The policy must specifically address how
supervision will be handled during transition times and what changes will be made to
ensure children are always adequately and appropriately supervised.

c. By March 29, 2018, all staff who have not had supervision training must successfully
complete two hours of face-to-face training relating to Adequate and Appropriate
Supervision of children.



This training must be approved by the Early Childhood Training Center as well as the
Department of Health and Human Services, as meeting the requirements for acceptable
training for child care program staff.

Prior to participating in any training, Tender Heart will submit in writing the following to
the Department, in order for the Department to determine if the training meets the
requirements for which it is intended: training curriculum, date and time of training,
name of the training, presenter/instructor’s name, and the number of hours. This training
will not count toward the required 12 hours of annual training.

Upon receipt of the above information, the Department will either approve or require
additional information in writing from the Licensee within ten working days of the
receipt of the letter requesting approval of the training. If additional information is
required, Tender Heart must reply with the required information within ten calendar days
of notice by the Department.

Tender Heart must submit verification of attendance and successful completion within
fifteen calendar days after completion of the approved training.

d. Tender Heart is responsible for paying for all costs associated with compliance.

All documentation required must be submitted to Department, Attn: Lori Altmaier, Child Care
Inspection Specialist, Children’s Services Licensing, 4011 7th Avenue, Suite A, Kearney, NE
68845, or at such other address as directed in writing, by the Department.

2. Compliance will be monitored by Children’s Services Licensing staff and may be monitored
by other Department representatives (i.e., Fire Marshal or designated agent, Environmental
Health Specialist/Scientist or designated agent, Resource Development Worker, Children and
Family Services Specialist/Worker, etc.). The Licensee and any employees and/or agents must
cooperate with the Department in these monitoring inspections.

3. A copy of this Notice of Disciplinary Action must be posted with the current child care
license so it is clearly visible to parents and agency representatives.

4. Failure to comply with the terms of this disciplinary action, the applicable Child Care Center
Regulations, and failure to correct the violations will be grounds for revocation or such other
discipline as the Department may deem appropriate after notice to the licensee and an
opportunity for a hearing.

5. If Tender Heart discontinues the child care program for any reason, the time the Licensee is
not actively operating a licensed child care program will not count toward the probation period
and any subsequent child care license issued by the Department indicating Tender Heart as
licensee/director/owner shall be subject to the terms of this probation including completion of the
probation period. The Licensee must notify the Department, in writing, within seven (7)
working days of any period that it is not actively operating the program. Active operation is the



provision of childcare for a minimum of forty (40) hours a week for fifty (50) weeks of a
calendar year.

BE ADVISED:

Pursuant to Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1922, this action becomes final on January 12,
2018 unless the Department receives a written request for a hearing on or before such date. The
license shall continue in effect until the final order of the director if a hearing is requested. If
the director does not receive such request on or before such date, the action of the Department is
final.

If you decide to request a hearing, your written request for hearing must be received by the
Department on or by January 12, 2018. It should be addressed to:

Chris Kort, for DHHS

Children’s Services Licensing — Licensure Unit
Division of Public Health

P.O. Box 94986

Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

If you request a hearing, you will be notified of the time, date and place of the hearing and
other pertinent information, by separate notice. On the basis of such hearing, the director
will affirm, modify or rescind the determination of the Department. Be advised that
pursuant to Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1920, upon completion of any hearing
held, the director may impose any or a combination of any of the following: probation,
suspension, revocation, civil penalty, restrictions of new enrollment, restrictions or other
limitations on the number of children or the ages of the children served in the program, or
other restrictions or limitations on the type of service provided by the program. On the
basis of the hearing, a modification by the director may include sanctions important to
your program, up to and including the loss of your license.

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1911, provides that a person who has had their “license
suspended or revoked other than for nonpayment of fees shall not operate or offer to
operate a program for or provide care to any number of children until the person is
licensed pursuant to this action.”

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1920 of the Child Care Licensing Act, provides that “any
fine imposed and unpaid under the Child Care Licensing Act shall constitute a debt to the State
of Nebraska which may be collected in the manner of a lien foreclosure or sued for and
recovered in any proper form of action in the name of State of Nebraska in the district court of
the county in which the program is located.” In addition, section 71-1920, (2), states that “a
person who has had a license revoked for any cause other than nonpayment of fees shall not be
eligible to reapply for a license for a period of two years.”




Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1923 of the Child Care Licensing Act, provides that “a
licensee may voluntarily surrender the license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act at any
time, except that the Department may refuse to accept a voluntary surrender of a license if the
licensee is under investigation or if the Department has initiated disciplinary action against the
licensee.

Dated: \)(\Q)M&N 2/% ,2017

Thomas L. Williams, MD
Chief Medical Officer
Director, Division of Public Health

Becky Wisell, Administrator
Licensure Unit

301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

COMES NOW, the undersigned and certifies that on the ﬁ day of December,
2017, a copy of the foregoing NOTICE OF DISCIPLINARY ACTION was sent by certified and
first class United States mail, sufficient postage prepaid to LICENSE OF TENDER HEART
DAYCARE 223 EAST 14TH SUITE 10, HASTINGS, NE 68901.

Chris Kort
Administrative Assistant




NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission.

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Pete Ricketts, Governor

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

STATE OF NEBRASKA
IN THE MATTER OF: )
THE OPERATING CHILD CARE CENTER ) NOTICE OF
LICENSE OF TENDER HEART DAYCARE ) DISCIPLINARY ACTION
OWNED BY THURESA HOAGLAND )

LICENSED LOCATION: 223 EAST 14TH SUITE 10, HASTINGS, NE 68901
LICENSE NUMBER: CCC8902

CAPACITY: 139

AGES: 6 WEEKS TO 13 YEARS

HOURS AND DAYS: 5:30 AM TO 6:00 PM, MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY
DATE INITIALLY LICENSED: FEBRUARY 6, 2007

NOTICE:

Tender Heart Daycare, owned by Thuresa Hoagland (hereinafter referred to as “Tender Heart™)
is notified that the Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health,
(hereinafter referred to as “Department”) is imposing disciplinary action against Tender Heart’s
Operating Child Care Center License for violation of the following statutes and regulations:

AUTHORITY:
Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1919, of the Child Care Licensing Act provides that “the

Department may ... take disciplinary action against a license issued under the Child Care
Licensing Act on any of the following grounds:

Helping People Live Better Lives _



(1) Failure to meet or violation of any of the requirements of the Child Care Licensing Act or the
rules and regulations adopted and promulgated under the act; ...

(4) Conduct or practices detrimental to the health or safety of a person served by or employed at
the program;”

Nebraska Revised Statutes. section 71-1920, of the Child Care Licensing Act provides that
“,..the Department may impose any one or a combination of the following types of disciplinary
action against a license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act: (a) Issue a probationary
license." ...

391 NAC 3-008.01Grounds for Denial or Disciplinary Action: “The Department may deny
the issuance of or take disciplinary action against a license on any of the following grounds:

1. Failure to meet or violation of any of the requirements of the Child Care Licensing Act or the
rules and regulations adopted and promulgated under the Act; ...

4. Conduct or practices detrimental to the health or safety of a person served by or employed at
the program;” ...

391 NAC 3-006.19 Supervision of Children: “Adequate and appropriate supervision must be
provided to children at all times children are in attendance, including during outdoor play.
Ultimate responsibility for supervision rests with the licensee.”

391 NAC 3-002 DEFINITIONS

Adequate and appropriate supervision includes:

1. Knowing the whereabouts and being within sight or sound of all children at all times;
2. Being awake, alert, attentive, and responsive to the needs of all children, and

3. Protecting or removing children from harm.

FACTS AND FINDINGS:

On December 4, 2017, Lori Altmaier Child Care Inspection Specialist, Nebraska Department of
Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health (hereinafter referred to as “Altmaier™),
conducted an unannounced complaint inspection of Tender Heart.

During the interview with Altmaier, Hoagland stated that on November 28, 2017, the toddler
staff were combining rooms. One staff person (Kim) took three of the children into another
toddler room and left. The staff person in that room (Brooklyn), was talking to a parent and was
not aware Kim had brought the three children into the room. Those three toddlers opened a gate,
went up a stair case and got out of the building through a door that had been propped open.
Another staff person (Beatrice) saw the children running by her window and notified Kim the
toddlers were out of the building. Kim went outside to retrieve the children. By that time, a



person passing by had stopped the children from leaving the premises. Kim was then able to
bring the children back indoors.

PREVIOUS HISTORY:

Tender Heart has a history of failing to provide adequate and appropriate supervision to children
in care.

On November 14, 2016, a toddler had been left unattended for approximately six minutes as the
toddler left the lunch area without staff noticing. Later in the same day, a toddler got separated
from a group of ten children with two staff when walking from the gym area back to the center.
The center is at one end of a business building and the gym area is at the other with several
business between. This incident resulted in a staff member being fired and Tender Heart was put
on a six month probation effective December 28, 2016.

On December 2, 2015 two four year old children fled the center without permission or
supervision. Upon returning from a preschool program, two children went out the back door and
ran down the street. They were found by a utility worker who called 911. The boys were picked
up by Hastings Police who returned them to the center. This incident resulted in Tender Heart
being placed on Corrective Action Status for six months effective January 26, 2016.

DISCIPLINARY ACTION IMPOSED:

Based upon the facts presented above, the Department intends to impose the following:

1. Tender Heart’s Operating Child Care Center license is placed on probation for a period of one
year from the effective date of January 13, 2018. The following terms and conditions will apply:

a. By January 29, 2018, Tender Heart’s director must submit to the Department a written
plan on holding monthly meetings to review supervision issues. The plan must be
approved by the Department.

b. By January 29, 2018, Tender Heart’s director must submit to the Department an
updated written policy regarding supervision. The policy must specifically address how
supervision will be handled during transition times and what changes will be made to
ensure children are always adequately and appropriately supervised.

c. By March 29, 2018, all staff who have not had supervision training must successfully
complete two hours of face-to-face training relating to Adequate and Appropriate
Supervision of children.



This training must be approved by the Early Childhood Training Center as well as the
Department of Health and Human Services, as meeting the requirements for acceptable
training for child care program staff.

Prior to participating in any training, Tender Heart will submit in writing the following to
the Department, in order for the Department to determine if the training meets the
requirements for which it is intended: training curriculum, date and time of training,
name of the training, presenter/instructor’s name, and the number of hours. This training
will not count toward the required 12 hours of annual training.

Upon receipt of the above information, the Department will either approve or require
additional information in writing from the Licensee within ten working days of the
receipt of the letter requesting approval of the training. If additional information is
required, Tender Heart must reply with the required information within ten calendar days
of notice by the Department.

Tender Heart must submit verification of attendance and successful completion within
fifteen calendar days after completion of the approved training.

d. Tender Heart is responsible for paying for all costs associated with compliance.

All documentation required must be submitted to Department, Attn: Lori Altmaier, Child Care
Inspection Specialist, Children’s Services Licensing, 4011 7th Avenue, Suite A, Kearney, NE
68845, or at such other address as directed in writing, by the Department.

2. Compliance will be monitored by Children’s Services Licensing staff and may be monitored
by other Department representatives (i.e., Fire Marshal or designated agent, Environmental
Health Specialist/Scientist or designated agent, Resource Development Worker, Children and
Family Services Specialist/Worker, etc.). The Licensee and any employees and/or agents must
cooperate with the Department in these monitoring inspections.

3. A copy of this Notice of Disciplinary Action must be posted with the current child care
license so it is clearly visible to parents and agency representatives.

4. Failure to comply with the terms of this disciplinary action, the applicable Child Care Center
Regulations, and failure to correct the violations will be grounds for revocation or such other
discipline as the Department may deem appropriate after notice to the licensee and an
opportunity for a hearing.

5. If Tender Heart discontinues the child care program for any reason, the time the Licensee is
not actively operating a licensed child care program will not count toward the probation period
and any subsequent child care license issued by the Department indicating Tender Heart as
licensee/director/owner shall be subject to the terms of this probation including completion of the
probation period. The Licensee must notify the Department, in writing, within seven (7)
working days of any period that it is not actively operating the program. Active operation is the



provision of childcare for a minimum of forty (40) hours a week for fifty (50) weeks of a
calendar year.

BE ADVISED:

Pursuant to Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1922, this action becomes final on January 12,
2018 unless the Department receives a written request for a hearing on or before such date. The
license shall continue in effect until the final order of the director if a hearing is requested. If
the director does not receive such request on or before such date, the action of the Department is
final.

If you decide to request a hearing, your written request for hearing must be received by the
Department on or by January 12, 2018. It should be addressed to:

Chris Kort, for DHHS

Children’s Services Licensing — Licensure Unit
Division of Public Health

P.O. Box 94986

Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

If you request a hearing, you will be notified of the time, date and place of the hearing and
other pertinent information, by separate notice. On the basis of such hearing, the director
will affirm, modify or rescind the determination of the Department. Be advised that
pursuant to Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1920, upon completion of any hearing
held, the director may impose any or a combination of any of the following: probation,
suspension, revocation, civil penalty, restrictions of new enrollment, restrictions or other
limitations on the number of children or the ages of the children served in the program, or
other restrictions or limitations on the type of service provided by the program. On the
basis of the hearing, a modification by the director may include sanctions important to
your program, up to and including the loss of your license.

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1911, provides that a person who has had their “license
suspended or revoked other than for nonpayment of fees shall not operate or offer to
operate a program for or provide care to any number of children until the person is
licensed pursuant to this action.”

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1920 of the Child Care Licensing Act, provides that “any
fine imposed and unpaid under the Child Care Licensing Act shall constitute a debt to the State
of Nebraska which may be collected in the manner of a lien foreclosure or sued for and
recovered in any proper form of action in the name of State of Nebraska in the district court of
the county in which the program is located.” In addition, section 71-1920, (2), states that “a
person who has had a license revoked for any cause other than nonpayment of fees shall not be
eligible to reapply for a license for a period of two years.”




Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1923 of the Child Care Licensing Act, provides that “a
licensee may voluntarily surrender the license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act at any
time, except that the Department may refuse to accept a voluntary surrender of a license if the
licensee is under investigation or if the Department has initiated disciplinary action against the
licensee.

Dated: DNUM&N 2/% L2017

—

Thomas L. Williams, MD

Chief Medical Officer

Director, Division of Public Health
Department of Health and Human Services

Becky Wisell, Administrator
Licensure Unit

301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

COMES NOW, the undersigned and certifies that on the & day of December,
2017, a copy of the foregoing NOTICE OF DISCIPLINARY ACTION was sent by certified and
first class United States mail, sufficient postage prepaid to LICENSE OF TENDER HEART
DAYCARE 223 EAST 14TH SUITE 10, HASTINGS, NE 68901.

Chris K()}l
Administrative Assistant




NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission.

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Pete Ricketts, Governor

January 3, 2017

TENDER HEART DAYCARE
Thuresa Hoagland, Licensee
223 East 14™ Street, Suite #10
Hastings, NE 68901

Dear Ms. Hoagland:

In accordance with the Notice of Disciplinary Action issued on December 9, 2016, by
Thomas L. Williams, Chief Medical Officer and Director, Division of Public Health, Department
of Health and Human Services, your original License to operate a Child Care Center in the State
of Nebraska has been placed on Probation. A license imprinted with the term “PROBATION”
is enclosed. This status became effective December 28, 2016, and it will remain in effect until
June 28, 2017. Upon completion of the Probation, a new license will be issued to you.

At this time we ask that you submit your current license by return mail, within the next
seven (7) days, to DHHS, Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit, Attn: Marsha Wandersee,
301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509-4986.

If you have any questions, please contact Harriet Spelts, Child Care Licensing
Supervisor, at (308) 535-3335.

Licensure Unit
301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

BW/dcp

cc: Children’s Services Licensing




This license shall be kept available in the establishment and
such proof of credentialing shall be shown upon request.
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Department of Health & Human Services

PEI_J H SJ Division of Public Health o s

R A § K A Pete Ricketts, Governor

NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

STATE OF NEBRASKA
IN THE MATTER OF: )
THE OPERATING CHILD CARE CENTER ) NOTICE OF
LICENSE OF THURESA HOAGLAND D/B/A ) DISCIPLINARY ACTION
TENDER HEART DAYCARE )

LICENSED LOCATION: 223 EAST 14™, SUITE 10, HASTINGS, NE, 68901
LICENSE NUMBER: CCC8902

CAPACITY: 139

AGES: 6 WEEKS TO 13 YEARS

HOURS AND DAYS: 5:30 A.M. TO 6:00 P.M., MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY
DATE INITIALLY LICENSED: FEBRUARY 6, 2007

NOTICE:

Thuresa Hoagland (hereinafter referred to as “Hoagland”) is hereby notified that the Department of Health
and Human Services, Division of Public Health, (hereinafter referred to as “Department”) intends to
impose disciplinary action against Hoagland’s operating Child Care Center license, Tender Heart Daycare
(hereinafter referred to as “Tender Heart”), for violation of the following statutes and regulations:

AUTHORITY:

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1919, of the Child Care Licensing Act provides that “the
Department may ... take disciplinary action against a license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act
on any of the following grounds:

(1) Failure to meet or violation of any of the requirements of the Child Care Licensing Act or the rules
and regulations adopted and promulgated under the act; ...

(4) Conduct or practices detrimental to the health or safety of a person served by or employed at the
program; ...

Nebraska Revised Statutes. section 71-1920, of the Child Care Licensing Act provides that “...the
Department may impose any one or a combination of the following types of disciplinary action against a
license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act: (a) Issue a probationary license;”...

391 NAC 3-008.01 Grounds for Denial or Disciplinary Action; “The Department may deny the issuance
of or take disciplinary action against a license on any of the following grounds:

Helping People Live Better Lives
An Equal Opportunily Employer



1. Failure to meet or violation of any of the requirements of the Child Care Licensing Act or the rules and
regulations adopted and promulgated under the Act; ...

4, Conduct or practices detrimental to the health or safety of an individual served by or employed at the
program;” ...

391 NAC 3-002 DEFINITIONS “Adequate and appropriate supervision includes: 1. Knowing the
whereabouts and being within sight or sound of all children at all times; 2 Being awake, alert, attentive,
and responsive to the needs of all children, and 3. Protecting or removing children from harm.”

391 NAC 3-006.19 Supervision of Children: “Adequate and appropriate supervision must be provided to
children at all times children are in attendance, including during outdoor play. Ultimate responsibility for
supervision rests with the licensee.”

FACTS:
Hoagland is listed as the licensee and director of record of Tender Heart.

On November 14, 2016, Lori Altmaier (hereinafter referred to as “Altmaier”), Child Care Inspection
Specialist, Children’s Services Licensing, Licensure, Division of Public Health, spoke with Hoagland
after Hoagland had reported that an 18 month old was left unsupervised. The incident occurred on
November 11, 2016.

Hoagland reported that ten toddlers were returning from the gym with two teachers. One teacher, Hilary,
was in front of the line and one was in back. The teacher at the back of the line, Vanessa, did not see the
18 month old toddler turn a corner instead of going straight to the center. There are several businesses in
the building where the center is located. The center is located at one end of the building and the gym is
located at the other. The group proceeded down the hallway without the toddler and then went into the
classroom in the child care portion of the building. Hilary noticed the toddler was missing and asked
Vanessa where the toddler was. Vanessa stated she did not know. As Hilary was going to look for the
toddler, she met a man who was bringing the toddler to the center.

Earlier in the day, a toddler had left the lunchroom without Vanessa’s knowledge. The toddler was gone
and unattended for six minutes. Vanessa’s employment was terminated immediately after the latest
incident.

A review of Hoagland’s licensing file shows that Hoagland’s license was recently on Corrective Action
Status from January 26, 2016 to July 26, 2016 for violating supervision.

DISCIPLINARY ACTION IMPOSED:
Based upon the facts set out above, the Department intends to impose the following:

1. Hoagland’s Child Care Center license is placed on Probation for a period of six months effective
December 28, 2016.



a. By March 28, 2017, the Hoagland must ensure that all existing staff, including the director, who have
the responsibility of caring for children will register/enroll, attend and successfully complete a minimum
of two hours of face-to-face training related to adequate and appropriate supervision.

This training must be approved by the Early Childhood Training Center as well as the Department of

Health and Human Services, as meeting the requirements for acceptable training for child care program
staff.

Prior to staff participating in any training, the Hoagland will submit in writing the following to the
Department, in order for the Department to determine if the training meets the requirements for which it is
intended: names of staff attending, training curriculum, date and time of training, name of the training,
presenter/instructor’s name, and the number of hours. This training will not count toward the required 12
hours of annual training.

Upon receipt of the above information, the Department will either approve or require additional
information in writing from the Licensee within ten working days of the receipt of the letter requesting
approval of the training. If additional information is required, Hoagland must reply with the required
information within ten calendar days of notice by the Department.

Hoagland must submit verification of attendance and successful completion by all staff, including the
director, who have the responsibility of caring for children within fifteen calendar days after completion
of the approved training.

Hoagland must ensure that any new staff responsible for the care of children must complete two hours of
face-to-face training related to adequate and appropriate supervision, within sixty days of hiring. Training
documentation must be kept on the center premises and available for review by the Department upon
request.

b. By December 28, 2016, Hoagland will review and revise its written policies and procedures related to
the provision of adequate and appropriate supervision to children at all times the children are in
attendance both inside and outside and to and from the gym area. The written policies and procedures
should incorporate, but are not limited to: the use of checklists; staffing charts; frequent monitoring;
accountability; training of staff who count in the staff-to-child ratio; how current and future staff will be
made aware of current changes in policies and procedures; and other detailed procedures to insure proper
and adequate supervision of children at all times.

c. By December 28, 2016, Hoagland will submit a detailed plan as to how she will be involved in the
monitoring and compliance with policies and procedures regarding adequate and appropriate supervision,
including regular staff meetings, overview of staff, etc.

d. By December 28, 2016, Hoagland will ensure that one additional staff person is present when taking
children to and from the gym area and to and from the outdoor area. At least two staff shall provide
written verification of the number of children by initialing a checklist. These checklists must be
maintained on the center premises for at least six months and available for review by the Department
upon request. Prior to taking children to and from the gym area and to and from the outdoor area,
children must be assigned to specific staff who will then be accountable for these children.



e. Hoagland is responsible for paying for all costs associated with compliance.

f. All documentation required must be submitted to Lori Altmaier, Child Care Inspection Specialist,
Children’s Services Licensing, Licensure Unit, Division of Public Health, 4011 7% Avenue, Suite A,
Kearney, Nebraska, 68845, or at such other address as directed, in writing, by the Department.

2. Compliance will be monitored by Children’s Services Licensing staff and may be monitored by other
Department representatives (i.e., Fire Marshal or designated agent, Environmental Health
Specialist/Scientist or designated agent, Resource Development Worker, Children and Family Services
Specialist/Worker, etc.). Hoagland and any employees and/or agents must cooperate with the
Department in these monitoring inspections.

3. A copy of this Notice of Disciplinary Action must be posted with the current child care license so it is
clearly visible to parents and agency representatives.

4. Failure to comply with the terms of this disciplinary action, the applicable Child Care Regulations and
failure to correct the violations will be grounds for revocation or such other discipline as the Department
may deem appropriate after notice to the licensee and an opportunity for a hearing.

5. If Hoagland discontinues the child care program for any reason, the time Hoagland is not actively
operating a licensed child care program will not count toward the probation period and any subsequent
child care license issued by the Department indicating Hoagland as licensee/director/owner shall be
subject to the terms of this probation including completion of the probation period. Hoagland must notify
the Department, in writing, within seven (7) working days of any period that it is not actively operating
the program. Active operation is the provision of child care for a minimum of forty (40) hours a week for
fifty (50) weeks of a calendar year.

BE ADVISED:

Pursuant to Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1922, this action becomes final on December 27, 2016,
unless the Department receives a written request for a hearing on or before such date. The license shall
continue in effect until the final order of the director if a hearing is requested. If the director does not
receive such request on or before such date, the action of the Department is final.

If you decide to request a hearing, your written request for hearing must be received by the Department no
later than December 27, 2016. It should be addressed to:

Marsha Wandersee, for DHHS
Children’s Services Licensing
Licensure — Division of Public Health
P.O. Box 94986

Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

If you request a hearing, you will be notified of the time, date and place of the hearing and other
pertinent information, by separate notice. On the basis of such hearing, the director will affirm,



modify or rescind the determination of the Department. Be advised that pursuant to Nebraska
Revised Statutes, section 71-1920, upon completion of any hearing held, the director may impose
any or a combination of any of the following: probation, suspension, revocation, civil penalty,
restrictions of new enrollment, restrictions or other limitations on the number of children or the
ages of the children served in the program, or other restrictions or limitations on the type of service
provided by the program. On the basis of the hearing, a modification by the director may include
sanctions important to your program, up to and including the loss of your license,

That Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1923 of the Child Care Licensing Act, provides “a licensee
may voluntarily surrender the license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act at any time, except that
the Department may refuse to accept a voluntary surrender of a license if the licensee is under
investigation or if the Department has initiated disciplinary action against the licensee.

Dated: ({"(\ Q:L’;{{!{L_A_‘.&t 7_ 2016

Thomas L. Williams, MD

Chief Medical Officer

Director, Division of Public Health
Department of Health and Human Services

Becky Wisell@iminislratm’
Licensure Unil

301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

COMES NOW, the undersigned and certifies that on the Q day of December, 2016, a
copy of the foregoing NOTICE OF DISCIPLINARY ACTION was scnt by cerlified and first class
United States mail, sufficient postage prepaid to Thuresa Hoagland, Tender Heart Daycare, 223 East 14,
Suite 10, Hastings, Nebraska, 68901.

Marsha Wandersge
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Pete Ricketts, Govemnor

February 9, 2016

TENDER HEART DAYCARE
Thuresa Hoagland, Licensee/Director
223 East 14" Street, Suite #10
Hastings, NE 68901

Dear Ms Hoagland:

In accordance with the letter written to you by Harriet Spelts, Child Care Licensing
Supervisor, on January 27, 2016, your original License to operate a Child Care Center in the
State of Nebraska has been placed on Corrective Action Status. A license imprinted with the
term “Corrective Action Status” is enclosed. This status became effective January 26, 2016,
and it will remain in effect until July 26, 2016. Upon completion of this term, a new license
will be issued to you.

At this time we ask that you submit your current license by retum mail, within the next
seven (7) days, to DHHS, Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit, Attn: Marsha Wandersee,
301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509-4986.

If you have any questions, please contact Harriet Spelts, Child Care Licensing
Supervisor, at (308) 535-8246.

Sincerely.

Becky Wisell,"Administrator
Licensure Unit

301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

BW/dcp

cc: Children's Services Licensing

Helping Peopie Live Beller Lives
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This license shall be kept avaiiabie In the establishment and
such proof of credentialing shall be shown upon request.

‘% State of Nebraska © #1755

, Department ol Health and Human Services
- Y Diyision of Public Healtl

- Sy

=2

THERESA HOAGLAND

- Is hereby atithorized in gompliance with: [aws of the Statd of Nebraska to establish and conduclan ‘

Operating Child Care Center
located,at. 1223 E 14TH ST. Hastings NE 68301,
A ‘maximum of 139 childrenii age§'6 WKS to13 YRS may be in al"(endancé'a( any one time during the
hours of 0530 to 1800 on MTWTHF.

TENDER HEART DAYCARE i hefeby issued License No. CCC8902 ¢
whose stalus is Active-Corractive Action Status effective from 01/26/2016
Amended: 01/26/2016

Given under the name dod Senlof the Departiment . _
of Health and Human Services Regulation and AR AN D,

t : N o R T CoutttiEy N PHllips, MIPA
Licensure ofthe State of Nebraska at Lincolwon . /2 7Y e
March 22010, ' :

.....

Daparhpont of Hasith and Fluman: Sotvitos
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Fete Ricketts, Sovernyr

January 27, 2016
RTIFI

Thuresa Hoagland, Licensee/ Directos
Tender Heart Daycare

223 E 14™ Sie 10

Hastings, NE 68901

Dear Ms. Hoagland:

I have received and reviewed the Corrective Action Plan and the additional information requested by the
Department of Health and Human Services. You have addressed all the items listed in your Corrective Action
Status Notice, Your plan is approved.

Your plan stated you will:

1. Use a rope with loops that are placed around the children's wrists with the van driver holding onto the
end of the rope until all children are in the facility,

2. Install a buzzer on your back door that will sound if it is opened.

3. Contact Law Enforcement immediately if it is discovered that 4 child is missing from the building. Then

parenis will be contacted.
4. Require all staff to attend and complete a 2 hour supervision training on February 11, 2016.

You are required (o follow the plan you submitted as outlined above.

Your Corrective Action Status is in effect from January 26, 2016 io July 26, 2016, at which time your corrective
action status will end. A new license indicaling “Corrective Action Stawus™ will be mailed to you. Please post

the license in a prominent place upon its arrival.

You are subject to monitoring visits by Children’s Services Licensing staff to determine compliance with this
plan.

If at any time subsequent to your placement on Corrective Action Status, should Children’s Services Licensing
receive substantiated concerns or complaints relating to the care, well-being or risk to children in care,
Children’s Services Licensing/Licensure Unit will initiate further negative action against your Family Child

Care Home 1 license,

I you have any questions, please contact Lori Altmaier, Child Care Inspection Speciafist at 308-865-5625 or
myself, Hairiet Spelts, at 308-535-8246,






Altmaler, Lori

from:

Sent: Tuesday, January 05, 2016 6:21 PM
To: Altmaier, Lori

Subject: Compliance

Qur correction plans:
Due to our two children escaping from our facility we have put into place our correction plan.

1. When unloading from the Vans our children now have to use a rope with loops over thelr hands attached
to
the teacher and other children being transported.

2. We now have a buzzer on our back door where the exited. 1t would have 2 lock but due to the fact that its
a fire

exit, we are not allowed to lock it. Our buzzer sound box is located in the office so that we are sure to hear it
and check

to see who is coming and going

3, Training is being scheduled on safety of our children as soon as Jo Braun with Head Start returns to work
after her
surgery. Sometime after January 11th, we will have all our staff attend a safety protocol training,

4, Our facility is also looking into putting security cameras to allow us sight access to the exits.

1 am doing everything | possibly can to ensure the safety of our children. In my 38 + years of doing childcare |
have never

had anything like this happen. One of the children who escaped was my own, He wanted togoto McDonalds
to have a

burger. Knowing that Is the exit we use when we leave the facility after work, he thought it was ok he got out
that exit.

After many explanations, he now knows that he may not leave the facility without an adult. The other parent
has also

done the same with the other child who left the building.

If there is more that we need to accomplish Please inform me.

Thank You;
Thuresa Hoagland, Director

Tender Heart Daycare
223 E 14th, Ste 10
Hastings, Ne 68901
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Lorl Altmaier, Child Care Inspection Speciallst
RE: Correction plan for Tender Heart Deycare

Each van driver Is responsible for loading and unloading the children being transported, as the chikiren
are belng unloaded we now have a rope with loops that s placed around their wrists with the Van driver
holding one end untl they are In the facility, Once (n the facility they are ascorted to thelr coat hook and
then taken to the lunchroom or to their classroom.

After 8 Quick assessment to determine that a child Is missing first call is made to 911 second call Is made
to the parent.

Tralning Is scheduled for February 11,2016....6:15 pm here at our facllity.. Prasenter wiill be Jo Braun

Thuresa Hoagland, Licensee/Director
Tender Heart Daycare

223 E 14%, Ste 10

Hastings, NE 68901

402-462-5102
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Division of Public Health S HNTINTA)

Pela Reketls, Govonor

DHHS 4

December (8, 2015

CERTIFIED MAIL

Thuresa Hoagland, Licensee/ Director
Tender Heart Daycare

223 £ 14", Ste 10

Hastings, NE 68901

Dear Ms, Hoagland

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71- 1911 (4), of the Child Care Licensing Act and Regulations Governing Licensure
of Child Care Centers, Title 391, Chapter 3, Page 11, 3-003.05B Corrective Action Status provides that the Department
may place a provisional or operaling ficense on corrective action status.

On December 2, 2015, Thuresa Hoagland, Licensee/ Director, made a self-report to the Department of Health and
Human Services Division of Public Health, Children’s Services Licensing that two four year old children (led
the Center and left the premises at approximately 11:23 a.m. without staff supervision or permission. It was
reported that this incident occurred as four children arrived back at the Center from preschool and were hanging
up their coats. Two of the children went out a back door and ran down the street, When the bus driver realized
they were missing, she went out the back door and Ms. Tloagland went out the front door to 100k [or the
children. They were caught by a Hastings Utility worker who called 911. A Hastings Police Department officer
picked up the two boys. Ms. Hoagland also called 911 and the Officer brought the boys back to the Center.

REGULATORY BASIS:

391 NAC 3-006,01, #2 Licensee Qualilications and Requiremeits: The Child Care Center licensee must be in compliange
with all regulations whencver any children are in enre,

39 NAC 2-006.01, #5 Licensee Qualificutions and Requirements; The Child Care Center licensee must ensure that the
center has sufficient resources to provide a safe, healthy, and nurturing environment to all children enrolled in the center,

391 NAC 3-006.19 Supervision of Children: Adequate and appropriate supervision must be provided to children at al)
times children are in attendance, including during ontdoor play. Ultimate responsibility for supervision rests with the
licensce.




DETERMINING CORRECTIVE ACTION STATUS:

A non-disciplinary probationary license may be issucd for the licensee to operate under corrective action status if the
department determines that:

{a) The licensee s unable to comply with all licensure requirements and standaeds or has had a history of
noncomplianee;

(b) The effect of noncompliances wilh any rule oy regulation does not present an unreasonable risk to the health,
safety or well-being of children or staff;

and

{¢) The licensve has a wrilten plan of correction that has been approved by the Department.

Based on the facts presented above and the regulations violated, tie Deparimeat is placing your operating license on
Corrective Action Status for a period of six months.

CORRECTIVE ACITION STATUS: PLAN OF CORRECTION:

Corrective action status is voluntary and the decision regarding plucement on coriective action status is not appealable.
However, you are reguived to submit a written plan of correction that mus( be approved by the Depariment,

The following items must be included in your written Plan of Corccction:

1. Wentify the issues or concern;

2. ldentify who is vesponsible for corrections and maintenance of compliance;

3. Describe how you will ensure that chikiren in your care will not {eave the premises without staff knowledge and
how appropriate supervision is maintained at all times,

4. Describe any changes you have made to the facility to ensure this type of incident does not happen again;

5. Describe any changes in palicies/ procedures you have done to ensure this type of lucident does nol happen again,

6. Describe procedures staff will take if it is determined a child is missing:

7. Ensure that all stafT aftend a 2 hour eaining on providing adequate and appropriate supervision approved by the

Department within the next 60 days,

Please submit your written Corrective Action Plan to Lori Altimaier, Child Care Inspection Specialist, Nebraska
Department of Health and TTuman Services, Office of Children’s Scrvices Licensing, 4011 7" Ave, Ste A,
Kcarney, Ni, 68845, within ten ealendar davs alter you receive this letter,

FAILURE TO SUBMIT CORRECTIVE ACTION PLAN:

If you do not submit a written plan of correction, or the written plan of correction is not approved, the Department may
discipline your license by imposing onc or a combination of the following types of disciplinary action:

(a) Issue a probationary (disciplinary) ticense,

{b) Suspend or 1evake a provisional, probationary, or operating license;

{¢) Impose a ¢ivil penalty of up to five dollars per child, based vpon the number of children for which the program is
authorized 1o provide child care on the effective dale of the tinding of violation, for each day the program is in
violation;

@) Establish restrictions on new enrallment in the program;

(¢) Establish restrictions or other limitations on the number of children or the age of the children served in the
program; or

(fy Dstablish other restrictions or limitations on the type of service provided by the program.






LICENSING AGREEMENT

|, Theresa Hoagiand, Diractor/Licensac of Tender Heart Daycare, 223 £ 14" St, Haatings, NE
68901, hereby voluntarily slate and declare,

{ have tead and undarstand the Child Cars Canter Standards. (CRED-PB-365, Rev. $/98;

| agres 1o comply with each of the Chid Care Center Standards as long as Tender Hean Daycare
Canler Is icansed by the State of Nenrasks 16 provide child care services,

| undarstand that this Agreement 1s based on a complaint visit conducted on July 18, 2012

391 NAC B-002 Staff Qualiticationy which stale. * . Center stat, whether pald or volunteer, shalt
nol engaga in of have @ hisfory of Uehaviors injunous 1o ot which may enganger the health o
morals of tha children In care * (Standard #13, page 6)

361 NAG 8005 Teacher/Agsistant Teaches Quallfications which states: “The Teacher/Assistant
Teacher must have reached the age of majorily”. (Standard #18, page 7)

391 NAC 8-008 Staffing which states ‘Each room where children are receiving care must include
a Teachorsassistant teacher, (Standard #32, page 8)

391 NAG B-012 Discipline, which states: *Staff shall nol discipline children- {b} By lorcad napping.”
(Standard # 44, page 10)

1 agree and understand ihat

s Each room must have a qualified staff perscn (somaona whe is at least 19 yeare of age
and meets leacher/assistant teacher quelificalions) present where children are receiving
care

« 5iaff shall nol be sllowed 1o use any torm of physical diseipline or physical cestralnt under
any circumnstances with cnildren in cara

o Al staff curranty employed at Tender Hearl Daycare (which includes the director,
assistantico-dimcior, tepcher, assistan! teacher, substitules, volunieers of vahicle
drivers) will 3! the program’s expense, registerfenroll, attend and successiully compiele &
mimmum of 2 hours in 8 face-lo-1ace raining In the arca of appropnate ways lo doal with
difficult ehlidren,

o Hoagland must priorto Hosgland and the stalf patticipating in any training, submit n
writing & plan within 15 days of the signing of Ihis agreament detalling how the lraining
meets the requiramants for which [LIs Intended, plan must include: numes of Tender
Hearl stofi aftending, training currculum. date and ime of training, name of the raining.
presenter/instructor’s nama, and the numbaer of hours, This tralning wil not count toward
the requirad 12 hours of In-service lraining. Hosgland shall submit the plen to Pam
Wichl Child gara Inspection Specialist, Childron’s Servicas Licensing, Division of Public
Heallh. Licensure, PO Box 2440, Grand Island, NE 68802, Upcen recaipt of the sbove

Gaase Ise s Orrzi
208 Nonen P Sravnr, P Box 240, Guans Biann N 68802
Priont (308) 3826120 - Towy, Fret ($00) &92.7922 .+ Fax {30%) 3856112
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