NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission.

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Pete Ricketts, Governor
4/18/2018

TINY TREASURES CERTIFIED AND FIRST CLASS MAIL

OWNED BY SHUNTA PAUL

2450 North 33rd Street

Omabha, NE. 68111

Dear Licensee:

Since you did not appeal the Notice of Disciplinary Action dated April 2, 2018, by or on
April 17, 2018, you are assessed a civil penalty. The amount due is:

(A) $150.00 ($3.00 times license capacity of 50 children for 1 day) for noncompliance
with Records and staff-child ratio regulations on the day of inspection, January 3, 2018,
and

(B) 1950.00 ($3.00 times license capacity of 50 children) from January 3, 2018, to
January 19, 2018, for no proof of insurance.

The above penalties must be received by or on May 18, 2018. Your check or money order
should be payable to the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services and sent to
Chris Kort, Administrative Assistant, Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services,
Division of Public Health, Licensure, PO Box 94986, Lincoln, Nebraska, 68509-4986.

If you have questions, please contact Jo Pfeiffer, Child Care Licensing Supervisor, Children’s
Services Licensing at 402-471-9193

incerel

Becky Wisell, Administrator

Licensure Unit -
301 Centennial Mall South

Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

BWick
Cc: Children’s Services Licensing

Helping People Live Beltar Lives _




NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission.

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Pete Ricketts, Governor

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

STATE OF NEBRASKA
IN THE MATTER OF: )
THE OPERATING CHILD CARE CENTER ) NOTICE OF
TINY TREASURES OWNED BY ) DISCIPLINARY ACTION
SHUNTA PAUL

LICENSED LOCATION: 2450 North 33rd Street, Omaha, NE. 68111

MAILING ADDRESS: PO Box 111000 Omaha, NE 68111

LICENSE NUMBER: CCC108

CAPACITY: 50

AGES: 6 WEEKS TO 13 YEARS

HOURS AND DAYS: 6:00 AM TO 6:00 PM, MONDAY THROUGH SATURDAY
DATE INITIALLY LICENSED: OCTOBER 14, 2003

NOTICE:

Tiny Treasures, owned by Shunta Paul (hereinafter referred to as “Paul’) is notified that the
Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, (hereinafter referred to as
“Department”) is imposing disciplinary action against Paul’'s Operating Child Care Center
License for violation of the following statutes and regulations:

AUTHORITY:

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1919, of the Child Care Licensing Act provides that “the
Department may ... take disciplinary action against a license issued under the Child Care
Licensing Act on any of the following grounds:

(1) Failure to meet or violation of any of the requirements of the Child Care Licensing Act or the
rules and regulations adopted and promulgated under the act; ...

(4) Conduct or practices detrimental to the health or safety of a person served by or employed at
the program;”

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1920, of the Child Care Licensing Act provides that

“...the Department may impose any one or a combination of the following types of disciplinary
action against a license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act: (c) Impose a civil penalty of
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up to five dollars per child, based on the number of children for which the program is authorized
to provide child care on the effective date of the finding of violation, for each day the program is
in violation." ...

391 NAC 3-008.01 Grounds for Denial or Disciplinary Action: “The Department
may deny the issuance of or take disciplinary action against a license on any of the

following grounds:

1. Failure to meet or violation of any of the requirements of the Child Care Licensing Act or
the rules and regulations adopted and promulgated under the Act;

2. Violation of an order of the Department under the Act;..

4. Conduct or practices detrimental to the health or safety of a person served by or
employed at the program;” ...

3-006.03C Reports of Law Enforcement Contact: “The applicant/licensee must complete a
Report of Law Enforcement Contact for him/herself, if an individual or an individual in a
partnership, and must obtain a completed report for each staff member and volunteer age 19 or
older and each household member age 19 or older if the center is located in a private residence.
The report must:

1. Be updated, signed, and dated annually;

2. Be updated any time one of these individuals is arrested, issued a citation other
than a minor traffic violation, or charged with or convicted of any felony, misdemeanor,
or infraction;

3. List all previous and pending criminal charges and arrests, both felony and
misdemeanor, regardless of prosecution;

4. List any record of felony and/or misdemeanor charges and arrests related to crimes
against children;

5. List any record of felony and/or misdemeanor convictions;

6. List any current or past parole or probation status, including diversion or court
supervision; and

7. List details, dates, county, and state of the contact, arrest, charge, conviction, and
disposition, if any.”

391 NAC 3-006.11A Staff: Records for all staff, except substitutes and volunteers, must include:
... “5. A completed Report of Law Enforcement Contact;” ...

391 NAC 3-006.12 Child’s Record: “A Child’s Record must be completed before the child’s
enroliment. The record must be kept current and available for review upon request by the
Department. A Child’s Record form may be used or a form may be created and must contain
the following information for each child: ...

10. Current health status of the child; and

11. List of child’s allergies and intolerance to food, insect bites, or stings, or other factors
that result in a medical reaction, and clear instructions in the event of an exposure to
the factor.”
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391 NAC 3-006.23A Infant Care Rooms: Rooms where infants are receiving care must be
limited to the care of no more than 12 children at any one time. “1. If five or more infants are
receiving care in a room, at least two staff members must be in the room.” ...

3-006.22B Beds, Cribs, and Sleeping Surfaces: “The licensee must ensure that sleeping
surfaces appropriate to the child's age and level of development are available for each child in
care.

1. Acceptable sleeping surfaces for children over 12 months of age are:
a. Beds;
b. Cots;
c. Cribs;
d. Playpens;
e. Sofas;
f. Washable sleeping bags; and
g. Waterproof mats, which must be at least one inch thick and at least 45 inches
long; ...
3. Cribs, playpens, cots, and mats must be separated by at least three feet of space.” ...

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1911.03 Applicant; liability insurance: “..._shall provide
to department written proof of liability insurance coverage of at least one hundred thousand
dollars per occurrence. ..."

FACTS AND FINDINGS:

On January 3, 2018, Dawn Kozak, Child Care Inspection Specialist Nebraska Department of
Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health (hereinafter referred to as “Kozak”),
conducted an unannounced semi-annual and monitoring inspection of Paul. The monitoring
portion of this inspection is the result of probation that became final on July 25, 2017.

Kozak found that an updated report of Law Enforcement Contact was missing for the substitute
van driver Nicki Paul. Kozak found three Children’s Records were incomplete. Kozak also
found five infants in a room with one staff when two staff was required. These noncompliances
are in violation of Paul's current probation. In addition, Kozak also found nap mats to be closer
than three feet as required by regulations.

At the time of the inspection, Paul was not able to provide a valid certificate of Child Care
Liability Insurance. Paul has been unable to provide verification of valid liability insurance for
two consecutive years. Paul informed Kozak the insurance had not been in effect since August
of 2017.
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DISCIPLINARY ACTION IMPOSED:
Based upon the facts presented above, the Department intends to impose the following:
1. Paul is assessed a civil penalty in the amount of:

a) $150.00 ($3.00 times license capacity of 50 children) for noncompliance of Records
and staff-child ratios on the day of the inspection.

b) $1,950.00 ($3.00 X license capacity of 50 children X 13 days-not including Sunday)
for the number of days from the January 3, 2018 inspection to January 19, 2018, when
the Department received documentation of liability insurance.

Said penalties must be paid by May 18, 2018, which is thirty (30) calendar days from the
effective date of this notice. Penalties must be payable to the Nebraska Department of Health
and Human Services, Division of Public Health and sent to Chris Kort, PO Box 94986, Lincoln,
NE 68509-4986.

2. Failure to comply with the terms of this disciplinary action, the applicable Child Care
Regulations, and failure to correct the violations may be grounds for revocation or such other
discipline as the Department may deem appropriate after notice to the licensee and an
opportunity for a hearing.

BE ADVISED:

Pursuant to Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1922, this action becomes final on April 18,
2018, unless the Department receives a written request for a hearing on or before such date.
The license shall continue in effect until the final order of the director if a hearing is requested. If
the director does not receive such request on or before such date, the action of the Department
is final.

If you decide to request a hearing, your written request for hearing must be received by the
Department on or by April 17, 2018. It should be addressed to:

Chris Kort, for DHHS

Children’s Services Licensing — Licensure Unit
Division of Public Health

P.O. Box 94986

Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

If you request a hearing, you will be notified of the time, date, and place of the hearing and other
pertinent information, by separate notice. On the basis of such hearing, the director will affirm,
modify, or rescind the determination of the Department. Be advised that pursuant to Nebraska
Revised Statutes, section 71-1920, upon completion of any hearing held, the director may
impose any or a combination of any of the following: probation, suspension, revocation, civil
penalty, restrictions of new enrollment, restrictions or other limitations on the number of children
or the ages of the children served in the program, or other restrictions or limitations on the type

Helping People Live Baller Lives _




of service provided by the program. On the basis of the hearing, a modification by the director
may include sanctions important to your program, up to and including the loss of your license.

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1911, provides that a person who has had their “license
suspended or revoked other than for nonpayment of fees shall not operate or offer to
operate a program for or provide care to any number of children until the person is
licensed pursuant to this action.”

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1920 of the Child Care Licensing Act, provides that “any
fine imposed and unpaid under the Child Care Licensing Act shall constitute a debt to the State
of Nebraska which may be collected in the manner of a lien foreclosure or sued for and
recovered in any proper form of action in the name of State of Nebraska in the district court of
the county in which the program is located.” In addition, section 71-1920, (2), states that “a
person who has had a license revoked for any cause other than nonpayment of fees shall not be
eligible to reapply for a license for a period of two years.”

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1923 of the Child Care Licensing Act, provides that “a
licensee may voluntarily surrender the license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act at any
time, except that the Department may refuse to accept a voluntary surrender of a license if the
licensee is under investigation or if the Department has initiated disciplinary action against the
licensee.

Dated: W X 2018

Thomas L. Williams, MD

Chief Medical Officer

Director, Division of Public Health

n Services

Becky Wisell, JAdministrator
Licensure Unit

301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

COMES NOW, the undersigned and certifies that on the _aV\_‘Q day of April, 2018, a copy of the
foregoing NOTICE OF DISCIPLINARY ACTION was sent by certified and first class United States mail, sufficient
postage prepaid to Tiny Treasures owned by Shunta Paul, 2450 North 33rd Street, Omaha, NE. 68111 and Tiny
Treasures owned by Shunta Paul, PO Box 111000, Omaha, NE 68111

Administrative Assistant
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NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Pete Ricketts, Governor

August 2, 2017

TINY TREASURES CHILDCARE
Shunta Paul, Owner

PO Box 111000

Omaha, NE 68111

Dear Ms. Paul:

[n accordance with the Notice of Suspension and Disciplinary Action issued on May 25,
2017, by Thomas L. Williams, MD, Chief Medical Officer, Division of Public Health, Department
of Health and Human Services, your original License (o opcrate a Child Care Center in the State of
Nebraska has been placed on Probation, following compliance prior to the suspension period. A
license imprinted with the term “PROBATION™ is enclosed. This status became effective July 25,
2017, and it will remain in effect until July 25, 2018. Upon completion of the Probation, a new
license will be issued to you.

At this time we ask that you submit your current license by return mail, within the next
seven (7) days, to DHHS, Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit. Atn: Rita Krusemark,
301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509-498¢

[l you have any ¢ ll(.‘Sli()HS, hlease contact Jo Pler Hl‘l‘ Child Carce [.i(iCllSillL’ Su )C!'ViSOF\ at

Sincerely.

Hk'k'i\.'\ \v\“l‘('\'H Admimstiaio

Licensure Uinit

301 Centenntal Mall South

[ancoln. NI 68306G-198¢




This license shall be kept available in the establishment and
such proof of credentialing shall be shown upon request.

State of N ebraska

PROB;\TI’()N - Dc]mrtmc,m of Health and Human Services
B R Y =2 B o= Division of Public Health

: SHUNTA PAUL :
IS hercby aulhorlzed in compliance with lawsof lhe State of Nebraska to establish and conduct an
Operating Child Care Center
Iocated at: 2450 NORTH 33rd ST OMAHA NE 68111

A maximum of 50 c,l"nIdren n aqes 6 WKS to 13 YRS may be in attendance at any one time during the
hours of 0000 to 2400 on MTWTHFS.

TINY TREASURES CHILDCARE owned by SHUNTA PAUL is hereby issued License No CCC108i-'
which is
effective on 10/14/2004

Amended: o7/25/2017 ‘
Given under the pame and Seal of the Depart ment - : _
of Health and Human Services Regulation and 0 T
sion of Public Hea
t e ar fun r rne

: SEAL fie
Licensure ol the State of Nebraska al Lineolny on ur
August 3, 2017.




NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission.

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Pete Ricketts, Governor

NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
STATE OF NEBRASKA

IN THE MATTER OF: )

THE OPERATING CHILD CARE CENTER ) NOTICE OF SUSPENSION AND
LICENSE OF TINY TREASURES CHILDCARE ) DISCIPLINARY ACTION
OWNED BY SHUNTA PAUL )

LICENSED LOCATION: 2450 NORTH 33RP ST., OMAHA, NE, 68111
LICENSE NUMBER: CCC108

CAPACITY: 50

AGES: SIX WEEKS TO 13 YEARS

HOURS AND DAYS: 24 HOURS A DAY, MONDAY THROUGH SATURDAY
DATE INITIALLY LICENSED: OCTOBER 15,2003

NOTICE:

Shunta Paul (hereinafter referred to as “Paul™) is notified that the Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Public Health, (hereinafter referred to as “Department”) is suspending and imposing
disciplinary action against Paul’s operating Child Care Center license for violation of the following statutes
and regulations:

AUTHORITY:

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1919, of the Child Care Licensing Act provides that “the
Department may ... take disciplinary action against a license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act on
any of the following grounds:

(1) Failure to meet or violation of any of the requirements of the Child Care Licensing Act or the rules and
regulations adopted and promulgated under the act;”. ..

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1920, of the Child Care Licensing Acl provides that *“...the
Department may impose any one or a combination of the following types of disciplinary action against a
license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act: (a) Issue a probationary license; (b) Suspend or revoke
a provisional, probationary, or operating license;” ...

391 NAC 3-008.01 Grounds for Denial or Disciplinary Action: “The Department may deny the issuance of

or take disciplinary action against a license on any of the following grounds




391 NAC 3-006.01 Licensee Requirements: “The licensee must: 1. Ensure that the center is administered

and managed appropriately;” ...

391 NAC 3-006.02 Director Requirements: ... “The director must: ... 6. Provide orientation for new stafT,

including training on child care center regulations;” ...

391 NAC 3-006.05B Non-Certificated Teachers: “To be employed as a teacher in a licensed child care

center, an individual who is not a certificated teacher must be at least 18 years of age and of good moral
character, and must meet one of the following requirements:

B

Hold a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university in early

childhood education, education or child/youth development;

Hold an associate degree from an accredited college or university in early

childhood education, education or child/youth development;

Have a Child Development Associate Credential; or

Have a high school diploma or GED; and

a. 1500 verified clock hours of experience in organized group activities for
young children as indicated by a positive reference from a former employer
Or supervisor; or

b. Submit a written plan for Department approval to acquire at least three credit
hours or 45 clock hours of training in administration, early childhood
education, education, or child/youth development, in a period not to exceed
six months. The licensee must maintain a copy of the written plan and
Department approval for Department review.”

391 NAC 3-006.10A Orientation: “When new staff or volunteers are employed, those individuals must be

provided with orientation prior to their having direct responsibility for the care of children. The orientation

must include:

1. Job duties and responsibilities;

2. Infection control practices including proper hand washing techniques, personal
hygiene, and disposal of infectious material;

3. Information on abuse, neglect and sexual abuse of children and the state’s reporting
requirements;

4. Child care center regulations;

5. Evacuation plans in the event of fire;

6.  Safety plans in the event of a tornado;

7 Emergency preparedness in the event of a natural or man made disaster; and

8. The center’s method of interacting with children and discipline policies.”

391 NAC 3-0006.11 Employee Records Requirements: “The licensee must ensure the following employee

records are maintained, updated as needed, and made available to the Dcpartment upon request. Records
must be maintained for at least one year after an employee leaves the center.”

391 NAC 3-006.11A Staff: “Records for all staff, except substitutes and volunteers, must include:




Name;

Address and telephone number;

Social Security Number;

Date of hire/termination;

A completed Report of Law Enforcement Contact;

Documentation of a criminal history record check;

A completed Health Information Report;

Documentation of Nebraska registry checks with no adverse findings;

. Documentation that the individual has met the qualifications for the position;
0. Documentation of orientation training and required ongoing training; and

1. Documentation that the individual has read and understands these rcgulations.”

— =0 RN A LN —

391 NAC 3-006.11B Substitutes: “Records for each substitute must include:

Name;

Address and telephone number;

Social Security number;

A completed Report of Law Enforcement Contact;

Documentation of a criminal history record check;

Documentation of Nebraska registry checks with no adverse findings;
Documentation that the individual has met the qualifications for the position; and
Documentation that the individual has read and understands these regulations.”

PN PN

391 NAC 3-006.11C Volunteers: “Records for each volunteer must include:

Name;

Address and telephone number;

Start date;

A completed Report of Law Enforcement Contact;

Documentation of Nebraska registry checks with no adverse findings; and

A written schedule that includes the hours and days of the weck the individual serves
as a volunteer.”

AN AN —

391 NAC 3-006.12 Child’s Record: “A Child’s Record must be completed before the child’s enroliment.
The record must be kept current and available for review upon request by the Department.™

391 NAC 3-006.13 Parent Information Brochure: “At the time of enrollment, the licensee must give the

parent(s) of each enrolled child a Parent Information Brochure provided by the Department. The licensee

must maintain receipts signed and dated by the parent and make the receipts available for review by the
Department.”

391 NAC 3-006.15B Staffing Requirements: ... “2. Each room where children are receiving care must
have a teacher who is involved with the direct care of children.” ...

391 NAC 3-006.15C Staff-to-Child Ratio: “The center must maintain accurate staft and daily attendance
records to verify compliance with staff-to-child ratios. Compliance with staff-to-child ratios is determined
on & center-wide basis. Only staff involved in the direct care of children are counted.”™

OS]



391 NAC 3-006.23A Infant Care Rooms: “Rooms where infants are receiving care must be limited to the
care o no more than 12 children at any one time. 1. If five or more infants are receiving care in a room, at
least two staff members must be in the room.” ...

FACTS:

On March 15, 2017, Dawn Kozak (hereinafter referred to as “Kozak™), Child Care Inspection Specialist,
Children’s Services Licensing, Licensure Unit, Division of Public Health. conducted an unannounced
semiannual inspection of Paul’s program.

At the time of the inspection, there were 28 children present being cared for in five rooms. Those children
included five infants, four toddlers, three 3 year olds, seven 4 and 5 year olds and ten school-age children.
Izach room where children were being cared for is required to have a person who meets teacher
qualifications and have adequate qualified staff to meet staff-to-child ratio.

There were six adults present. Paul was in her office and not providing direct care at the time of the
inspection; therefore, Paul could not be counted in ratio. Corine was the only person at the time of
inspection who met teacher qualifications. Two volunteers, Latisha and Bettie, could not be counted in
ratio. Staff qualifications for Dorsharica and Carolyn were not available at the time of inspection. Since
their qualifications could not be verified, they could not be counted in staff-to child ratio. At least five
qualified staff needed to be present at the time of the inspection. Corine was the only person who could be
counted in staff-to-child ratio, leaving the facility out of compliance with ratio by four staff.

[Latisha, a volunteer, was caring for four toddlers by herself. This room did not have a staff person
qualified as a teacher.

Of the two staff in the infant room, only one person could be counted in ratio. Five infants were in care;
two qualified staff were required to be in the room.

In addition, Kozak noted numerous non-compliances and required that they be corrected immediately, by
March 20, 2017 or by April 15,2017. On April 14, 2017, Paul notified Kozak that she belicved she was
now in compliance and on April 19, 2017, Kozak conducted a follow-up inspection to Paul’s facility and
observed the following:

o The staff orientation program was missing job descriptions and duties and the child abuse/neglect
reporting pohcy.

¢ Betlie, Corine, Dorsharica and Carolyn were missing a signed statement they had read the child care
regulations or been given orientation training.

e T'he Qualification Statement for Corine was not signed or dated by Paul.

e There was no training plan signed by the Department of Education for Carolyn

e Documentation of orientation training for Dorsharica was missing.

« ['mployee Records were incomplete.

o Parents had not signed the Parent Brochures as the receipts were in the children’s files and attached
to the brochures. There were also no receipts for Parent Information Brochures for several children.

e Child’s Records were incomplete for several children,



DISCIPLINARY ACTION IMPOSED:
Based upon the facts presented above, the Department is suspending Paul’s Child Care Center license until:

I. The outstanding non-compliances noted at the inspections conducted on March 15,2017 and

April 19, 2017 have been corrected. Paul must submit written corrections/documentation that she is in
compliance with the Inspection Compliance Review dated March 15, 2017, Purposc of Visit. Unannounced
Semiannual. Such documentation must be acceptable to the Department, may require an on-site inspection
and must be submitted to Dawn Kozak, Child Care Inspection Specialist, at the address listed in #4 or at
such other address as directed, in writing, by the Department.

2. Once Paul has complied with 1., above, the suspension will be lifted and Paul’s Child Carc Center
license will be placed on probation for a period of one year.

Paul will ensure that she will comply with the following terms and conditions:

a. During the first 15 days of the probation period, Paul must submit written plans to the Department for
approval as to how she will:

e [nsure all staff records are complete and meet regulatory requircments,

e Ensure all staff are “qualified” in writing and documentation exists [or the position they are
assuming,

e Ensure there is a teacher in each room, and

e Ensure staff-to-child ratio is met at all times.

These plans must be submitted to the Department in writing. The Department agrees that after reviewing
these written plans, it will either approve or require modifications. [f modifications are required, Paul must
within ten calendar days of notice by the Department resubmit the written plan(s) to the Department with
the required modifications. The Department reserves the right to make minor unilateral modifications to
the written plan.

Once approved, Paul must implement the plans as approved by the Department.

b. Within 45 days of being placed on probation, Paul must retain a Consultant, at Paul’s own expense, for 4
total of 30 hours, weekly hours to be determined by the Consultant. Consultant’s name. address and
identifying information must also be submitted to the Department within ten days after being retained. The
Consultant must be approved by the Department, Child Care Licensing Program, and clear all required
background checks, as well as not have any negative licensing and/or contract history with the Department
prior to Paul employing the Consultant. The total consultation hours (30) must be completed within 120
days from the date of Department approval.

The role of the Consultant will be to assist the program with records management and records requirements
in a child care center. For example: required documents for staff files, ongoing maintenance and update of
staff records. etc.

Paul and all staff must cooperate with the Consultant. Consultation hours will be documented in writing
and be available for Department review.



3. Paul is responsible for paying for all costs associated with compliance.

4. All documentation required must be submitted to Dawn Kozak, Child Care Inspection Specialist,
Children’s Services Licensing, Licensure Unit, Division of Public Health, State Office Building, 1313
Farnam, Third Floor, Omaha, Nebraska, 68102.

5. Compliance will be monitored by Children’s Services Licensing staff and may be monitored by other
Department representatives (i.e., Fire Marshal or designated agent, Environmental Health
Specialist/Scientist or designated agent, Resource Development Worker, Children and Family Services
Specialist/ Worker, etc.). Paul and any employees and/or agents must cooperate with the Department in
these monitoring inspections.

6. A copy of this Notice of Suspension and Disciplinary Action must be posted with the current child care
license so it is clearly visible to parents and agency representatives after the suspension has been
completed.

7. Failure to comply with the terms of this disciplinary action, the applicable Child Care Regulations and
failure to correct the violations will be grounds for revocation or such other discipline as the Department
may deem appropriate after notice to the licensee and an opportunity for a hearing.

8. If Paul discontinues the child care program for any reason, the time Paul is not actively operating a
licensed child care program will not count toward the probation period and any subsequent child care
license issued by the Department indicating Shunta Paul as licensee/director/owner shall be subject to the
terms of this probation including completion of the probation period. Paul must notify the Department, in
writing, within seven (7) working days of any period that it is not actively operating the program. Active
operation is the provision of child care for a minimum of forty (40) hours a week for fifty (50) weeks of a
calendar year.

BE ADVISED:

Pursuant to Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1922, this action becomes final on June 9, 2017, unless
the Department receives a written request for a hearing on or before such date. The license shall continue
in effect until the final order of the director if a hearing is requested. If the director does not receive such
request on or before such date, the action of the Department is final.

[f'you decide to request a hearing, your written request for hearing must be received by the Department on
or by June 9, 2017. It should be addressed to:

Rita Krusemark, for DHHS

Children’s Services Licensing — Licensure Unit
Division of Public Health

P.0O. Box 94986

[Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

[f you request a hearing, you will be notified of the time, date and place of the hearing and other
pertinent information, by separate notice. On the basis of such hearing, the director will affirm,



modify or rescind the determination of the Department. Be advised that pursuant to Nebraska
Revised Statutes, section 71-1920, upon completion of any hearing held, the director may impose any
or a combination of any of the following: probation, suspension, revocation, civil penalty,
restrictions of new enrollment, restrictions or other limitations on the number of children or the ages
of the children served in the program, or other restrictions or limitations on the type of service
provided by the program. On the basis of the hearing, a modification by the director may include
sanctions important to your program, up to and including the loss of your license.

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1911, provides that a person who has had their “license suspended
or revoked other than for nonpayment of fees shall not operate or offer to operate a program for or
provide care to any number of children until the person is licensed pursuant to this action.”
addition, section 71-1920, (2), states that “a person who has had a license revoked for any cause other than
nonpayment of fees shall not be eligible to reapply for a license for a period of two years.”

In

may voluntarily surrender the license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act at any time, except that the
Department may refuse to accept a voluntary surrender of a license if the licensee is under investigation or
if the Department has initiated disciplinary action against the licensee.

Dated: (\’\m,{ % , 2017

Thomas L. Williams, MD

Chief Medical Officer

Director, Division of Public Health
Department of Health and Human Services

Becky Wisell, Administrator -
Licensure Unit

301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

COMES NOW, the undersigned and certifies that on 111\0\{\}) day of May, 2017, a copy of the
foregoing NOTICE OF SUSPENSION AND DISCIPLINARY ACTION was sent by certified and first
class United States mail, sulficient postage prepaid to Shunta Pauk, Tiny Treasures Childcare, PO Box
L1000, Omaha, Nebraska, 68111 and Shunta Paul, Tiny 'I'!;(‘\:n-:l,nut» Childcare, 2450 North 33" St., Omaha,

Nebraska, 68111

— - 7 v |~ )
R K rdseark, Program Specialis

Licensprednit
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DHHS—A Division of Public Health State of Nebraska
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Peto Rickelts, Governor

| IN REEMENT

I, Shunta Paul, Licenses/Director of a Child Care Center, Tiny Treasures, located at 2450 N.
33" Street, Omaha, Nebraska. 68111 voluntarily state and declare:

| have read and understand the Child Care Center Standards (CRED-PB-365).

| agree to comply with each of the Child Care Center Standards as long as | am licensed by the
State of Nebraska to provide child care services.

| understand that this Licensing Agreement is a result of a history of non- compliance related to
the below regulations and an unannounced annual inspection conducted on August 23, 2016 by
Dawn Kozak, Child Care Inspection Specialist, where the following violations were found:

« Infants slesping in cribs that had matiresses and fitted sheets, however, several infants
were also sleeping on top of blankets that were laying on top of the sheet.

Infants were not assigned to caregivers In writing

Infant was in a crib and bottle was propped up in the slats of the crib

Facilities diaper changing policy requires that changing table be sanitized after changing a
diaper, and that was not being done.

Breast milk in a baggie that was partially frozen and partially liquefied was dripping out of
the bag. The bag was outdated (January of 2018.) Staff were unaware of what the
expiration dates were for frozen breast milk.

| understand and agree to comply with the following regulations:

3-006.228 Beds, Cribs, Sleep Surfaces:

The licensee must ensure that sleeping surfaces appropriate to the child's age and level of
development are available for each child in care.

b. Cribs must be equipped with a waterproof crib mattress covered by a fitted sheet. The
mattress pad for a playpen must be specifically designed for playpen use and covered by a
fitted sheet;

¢. Cribs and playpens must contain no soft objects, bumper pads, toys, or loose bedding. If a
blanket is used, it must be secured or tucked under the crib matiress or the pad of the playpen
and reach no higher than the infant’s chest;

3-006.23 Infant/Toddler Care:

If care is provided to infants and/or toddlers, the licensee must ensure that the amotional and
physical needs of infants and toddlers are met consistently and promptly. Staff assigned to
infants must be identified in writing and assigned to the same infants whenever possible.
Center staff must:

Helping People Live Better Lives
An Equal Opportunity Employer



3. Hold infants under six months of age or those not yet able to hold thelr own bottles. Bottles
must not be propped and must be removed from sleeping infants;

3-006.23B Diapering and Toileting:

1. The licensee must ensure that diapering procedures are established and followed by center
staff. The procedures must include:

e. Diaper-changing surfaces are cleaned after each use by sanitizing the surface or changing
the diaper pad or disposable sheeting and are disinfected daily; and

3.006.29A Storage Breast Milk / Formula:

All prepared formula or breast milk must be refrigerated and clearly labeled with the child's
name, date recelved, and date expressed and date frozen if applicable.

1, Unused prepared formula must be discarded as indicated by the label.

2. Unfrozen breast milk must be discarded after 48 hours,

3. Frozen breast milk must be kept in a freezer for no more than three months,

| understand and agree that will this Licensing Agreement will be prominently posted with the
current Child Care Center license so it Is clearly visible to parents and Department
representatives.

In addition, | agree to notify parents of infants enrolled in care and parents of future infant
anrollees by providing the Department a copy cf the Acknowledgement of Licensing Agreement
signed by the parent (s) of these infants in care len days from the signing of this agreement.
Acknowledgments from parents of future enrollees are due to the Department within 15
calendar days from the date of enroliment.

A copy of this Acknowledgement is attached to this Agreement. These Acknowledgements will
be sent to the Department, Attention: Dawn Kozak, Children's Services Licensing, 1313 Famam
3 Fiooff Omaha, NE. 68102,

| understand that Children’s Services Licensing Staff shall conduct announced or unannounced
visits to my program to determine compliance with this agreement.

| agree that this Licensing Agreement will be prominently posted with my Child Care Center
License so that it is clearly visible to parents and agency representatives.

Any violation of this Agreernent may be grounds for further negative action or discipline as the
Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Children's Services
Licensing may deem appropriate.

This Agreement shall be in effect from the signing of this Agreement until February 28, 2017
after which time the Agreement will be reviewed, extended and/or modified, terminated, or
alternative disciplinary action taken by the Department. Should the child care center license be
amended because of a change of address, this Agreement may transfer to the new address if
appropriate to the conditions of the Licensing Agreement,

Helping People Live Better Lives
An Equal Opportunity Employer
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Child Care inspection Specialist Provider/Licensee
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Department of Health & Human Services

DHHS
‘4= Djvision of Public Health State of Nebraska
N £ g R A S

K A Pete Rickalls, Gevemor

Aptil 7, 2016

Shunia Paul CERTIFIED AND FIRST CLARSS
'iny Treasures Childeare

2450 North 33" Streel

Qmaha, Ne 68111

Dear Ms, Paul:

Since you have complied with the Notiee ol Disciplinary Action dated TFebroary 19,
2016, by coming ino compliance with Step Up to Quality as ol April 1, 2016, you have
been assessed a civil pendlty In the amount ol $1.050:00 ($50.00 a day times 21 days
irom March 8. 2016 to April 1, 2016, not counting Sundays) [his penalty must be

reccived by or on May 7, 2016.

Y our check or money order must be payable to the Nebraska Department of Health and
Human Services and sem to Marsha Wandersee, Administrative Assistant, Nebraska
Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public 11ealth, Licensure, PO
Rox 94986, Lincoin, Nebraska, 68509-4986

If you have questions, please contact Diane Kvasnicka, Program Manager, al
402-471.9431,

Sincerely,

1

H’cci\fv Wiselll Administrato: 4
Licensure Unit

301 Centennial Mall South

Lincoln, NE 68505-4986

Ce: Children's Services Licensing
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NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

STATE OF NEBRASKA
IN THE MATTER OF: )
THE OPERATING CHILD CARE CENTER ) NOTICE OF
LICENSE OF TINY TREASURES CHILDCARE ) DISCIPLINARY ACTION
OWNED BY SHUNTA PALL )

LICENSED LOCATION: 2450 NORTH 33"° STREET, OMAHA, NE,, 68111
LICENSE NUMBER: CCC108

CAPACITY: 50

AGES: SIX WEEKS T 13 YEARS

HOURS AND DAYS: 24 HOURS A DAY, MONDAY THROUGI SATURDAY
DATE INITIALLY LICENSED: OCTOBER 14,2003

NOTICE:

Shunta Paa) (hereinafler relerred to as “Paul”) is notiticd that the Department of Health and Human Services,
Division of Public Health, (hereinafier referred te as “Department”) is imposing disciplinary action against
Paul's aperating Child Care Center ticense, Tiny Treasures Childeare, for violation of the following statutes and
regulations:

AUTHORI'TY:

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1919, of the Child Care Licensing Act provides that “the Department
may .. take disciplinary action pgainst a license issued under the Child Care l.icensing Act on any of the
tollewing grounds:

(1) Failure lo meet or violation of any of the requirements ol the Child Care Licensing Act or the rules and
regulutiony adopted tad promulgated under the uct;

(12) Failute 1o comply with the Step Up to Quality Child Care Act,”

Nuebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1957, of the Step Up 1o Quality Child Cure Acl provides that,
“Application to participute in the quality rating and improvement system shall be voluntary Yor applicable child
care and early ehitdhood cducation programs with the following exceptions: ... (2) Beginning July 1,20135, and
not Jater than December 31, 2013, each applicable child care or early childhood education program thal received
over two hundred fifty thousand dollars in chiid care sssistance pursuant (o sectior. 68-1202 for FY2011-12
shall apply to participate in the quality rating and improvement system and shall be assigned a quality scale
rating as provided in sections 71-1956 and 71-1958;” .

sielpng Feojis Live detter Lives
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Nebrasha Revised Stalules, section 71-1920, of the Child Care Licensing Act provides that ™', the Department
may Lnpose any one oy a combination of the following types ot disciplinary action against a license issucd
under the Child Care Lacensing Act: ...{¢) impose a civil penadty of up o {ive dollars per chitsd, based upon the
number of chitdren for which the program is authorized o provide ¢hitd care on the eflective date of the luding
ol vicladon, for vach day \be program isae vielation,” ..

301 NAC 3-008.01 Grounds {or Denid or Disciplinary Action: “The Department may deay the issuance of o1
{ake disciplingry uction against a license on any of the (ollowing grounds:

L. Fuilure to meet or violatiun of any of the tequirerents of the Chiid Care Licensing Act or the rules and
regualanang adopted and promulgated under e Actt ..

FACTS:
Shuma Paul s listed as the director of record for the program and owner.
Paul received nyver $250,000 in ¢hild care assislance pursuant to section 68-1202 tor FY2011-12.

Paul received a certified letter on June 12, 2015 from Nicole Vint, Program Manager for the Child Care
Development Fund dated Tune ), 201 informing Paul that Tiny Treasures Childeore was identified as one of
the prograns required 1o participate in “Step Up 1o Quality™,

Paul received a centitied letter on November 12, 2013 from Nicoile Vial, Program Manager for the Child Care
Developnient Fund dated November 9, 2018 reminding Pact to register inStep Up 1o Qualiey” before
December 31, 20185,

Paul faiied 10 participate in the quality rating and improvement system, Step Up to Quality, between July 1.
200 S and December 31, 2015,

DISCIPLINARY ACTION IMPOSED:
Based vpon the facts presented above, the Department intends to impose the following:

L. Paub s assessed a civil penaity in the amount of $30,00 per duy ($1.00 times license capacity of SO children)
ftom the effective dale of this Notice, Marech &, 2016, and (or each day therealter, including Saturday, that Paul
fails 10 registen 10 participate in Step Up to Quality.

2. Paul will submit documentation of enroliment in Step Up to Quality by submitling such documentation to
Muarsia Wandersee, Children's Services Licensing ~ Licensare Unit, Division of Pablic Health, PO Box 93986,
Lincols, Nebraska, 68509-4986. Once Ms. Wandersee has recelved and verified the required documentation,
Paul will be informed in writing of the lotal of the ¢ivil penally, which will be due 30 calendar days from the
date of the notification to Paul.



Suid penalty wili then be payable to the Nebraska Depaniment of Health and Heman Services, Division of
Public Health. Said penalty is 1o be sent to Marsha Wandersee, Adminiswative Assistunt, Nebraska Depariment
of Nealth and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Licensure, PO Box 949806, Lincoln, Nebraska,
GRSODAOKE,

3 Failure to comply with the terms of the terms of this disciplinary action, the applicable Child Care
Regulations and [ailure fo correct the violations smay be grounds for revoeation ot such cther diseipline as the
Department may deem appropriote aliee notice to the licensee and an opportunity 1ot a hoaring,

BE ADVISED:

Pursuant o Nubraska Revised Statutes, scciion 71-1922, this action becomes final on March 7, 2014, unicss the
Department receives a wrilten request for a hearing on ar betore such date. Tue license shall continue m effect
until the finsl neder of the director if & heasing is requested,  f the direetor does not receive such request on or
befure such date, the action of the Department is {inal,

If you deeide (o request @ hearing, your written request for hearing muse be veeeivea by the Depattment on or by
Maurch 7, 2016, Rshould be addiessed to:

Muarstia Wundersee, for DHES

Childrew’s Services Licensing - Licensure
Division of Public Fealth

PO Bux 94986

Lincoln, NI 68509-4986

If you request 4 hearing, you will be notified of the tine, dute and place of the hearing und other
pertinent infurmation, by separate notice. On the basks of such bearing, the director will affirm, modify
or rescind the determination of the Department, Be adviscd that pursuant to Nebraska Revised Statutes,
section 71-1920, upon completion of uny henring held, ¢he director may impose any or a combination of
any of the following: probation, suspension, revocation, civil penalty, restrictions of new enroliment,
restrictions or ather Vimitations on the number of children or the ages of the children served in the
program, or other restrictions or limitations on the type of service provided by the program, On the
Davis of the hearing, a modifieation by the director may include sanctions intportant to your program, up
to and including the loss of yYour licenye.

Nebmsha Revised Stututes, section 71-192€ of the Child Care Licensing Act, provides thal “any {inc imposcd
ard unpaid under the Child Care Ticensing Act shall constitute a debt o the State of Nebyaska which may be
colfeeted in the manner o a lien foreclosure or sued for and recovered inany proper furm of action in the pame
ol Stite of Nebriska in the district court of the county in which the program is locaed.”

Iha: Nebraska Revised Stattes, section 71-192% of the Child Carce Licensing Act, provides that “a licensce may
voluntarily surrender the license issued under the Child Care [icensing Actat any time, except that the








