NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission.

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Pete Ricketts, Governor

March 12, 2018

PARKVIEW CHRISTIAN SCHOOL
DBA GROWING HEARTS DAYCARE
4400 N 15t St

Lincoln, NE 68521

Dear Licensee:

This letter is to acknowledge receipt, as of March 9, 2018, of check number 32315 for $320.00
which is payment remitted in accordance with the Notice of Disciplinary Action issued on
January 8, 2018, by Thomas L. Williams, MD, Chief Medical Officer, Director, Division of Public
Health, Department of Health and Human Services. Therefore, the total amount of $320.00 has
been paid in full.

Thank you for your remittance.

Sincerely,

ministrator

301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

BW/ck

Cc: Children’s Services Licensing

Helping People Live Bettar Lives —



NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission.

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Pete Ricketts, Governor

January 29, 2018

GROWING HEARTS DAYCARE
Parkview Christian School, Owner
Teri Hromek, Director

4400 N. 1% Street

Lincoln, NE 68521

Dear Ms. Hromek:

In accordance with the Notice of Disciplinary Action issued on January 8, 2018, by
Thomas L. Williams, MD, Chief Medical Officer, Division of Public Health, Department of
Health and Human Services, you’re the original License of Growing Hearts Daycare to operate
as a Child Care Center in the State of Nebraska has been placed on Probation. A license imprinted
with the term “PROBATION” is enclosed. This status became effective January 24, 2018, and it
will remain in effect until January 24, 2019. Upon completion of the Probation, a new license will
be issued to the Center.

In addition, Growing Hearts Daycare is assessed a Civil Penalty in the amount of $320.00,
payable by February 26, 2018.

At this time we ask that you submit the current license of Growing Hearts Daycare by return
mail, within the next seven (7) days, to DHHS, Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit, Attn:
Chris Kort, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509-4986.

If you have any questions, please contact Kathee Sanchez, Child Care Licensing Supervisor,
at (402) 471-9193.

Becky Wisell, Administrator
Licensure Unit

301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

BW/dcp

cc: Children’s Services Licensing




This license shall be kept available in the establishment and
such proof of credentialing shall be shown upon request.
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DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Pete Ricketts, Governor

NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
STATE OF NEBRASKA

IN THE MATTER OF: )

THE OPERATING CHILD CARE CENTER ) NOTICE OF
LICENSE OF PARKVIEW CHRISTIAN SCHOOL ) DISCIPLINARY ACTION
DBA GROWING HEARTS DAYCARE

LICENSED LOCATION: 4400 N 1% St, Lincoln NE 68521

LICENSE NUMBER: CCC7716

CAPACITY: 80

AGES: SIXWEEKS TO 13 YEARS

HOURS AND DAYS: 6:30 A.M. TO 6:00 P.M., MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY
DATE INITIALLY LICENSED: SEPTEMBER 9, 2002

NOTICE:

Parkview Christian School DBA Growing Hearts Daycare (hereinafter referred to as “Licensee’) is
notified that the Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, (hereinafter

referred to as “Department”) is imposing disciplinary action against the Licensee’s operating Child
Care Center license for violation of the following statutes and regulations:

AUTHORITY:

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1919, of the Child Care Licensing Act provides that “the
Department may ... take disciplinary action against a license issued under the Child Care
Licensing Act on any of the following grounds:

(1) Failure to meet or violation of any of the requirements of the Child Care Licensing Act or the
rules and regulations adopted and promulgated under the act;

(4) Conduct or practices detrimental to the health or safety of a person served by or employed at
the program;” ...

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1920, of the Child Care Licensing Act provides that “...the

Department may impose any one or a combination of the following types of disciplinary action

against a license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act. (a) Issue a probationary license; ...(C)

impose a civil penalty of up to five dollars per child, based upon the number of children for which
Holping People Live Batter Lives




the program is authorized to provide child care on the effective date of the finding of violation, for
each day the program is in violation;” ...

391 NAC 3-008.01 Grounds for Denial or Disciplinary Action: “The Department may deny the
issuance of or take disciplinary action against a license on any of the following grounds:

1. Failure to meet or violation of any of the requirements of the Child Care Licensing Act or the
rules and regulations adopted and promulgated under the Act; ...

4. Conduct or practices detrimental to the health or safety of an individual served by or employed
at the program.”; ...

391 NAC 3-006.01 Licensee Reguirements: “The licensee must: ...2. Maintain compliance with all
applicable state statutes and child care center regulations;” ...

391 NAC 3-006.02 Director Requirements: “The director is responsible for managing the day-to
day operations of the child care center.”

391 NAC 3-006.03A Criminal History Record Checks: The applicantlicensee, if an individual or
an individual in a partnership, must complete a pre-employment criminal history record check on
him/herself, on each staff member and volunteer age 19 or older, and on each household member
age 19 or older if the center is located in a private residence. Documentation must be kept and
available for review by the Department.

The check must be conducted through the Nebraska State Patrol or through one or more local law
enforcement agencies, as appropriate to the individual's residence(s). If an individual has lived in
Nebraska less than 12 months, the applicant/licensee must obtain documentation of a criminal
history record check from the previous state(s) of residence.

391 NAC 3-006.03C Reports of Law Enforcement Contact: “The applicant/licensee must complete
a Report of Law Enforcement Contact for him/herself, if an individual or an individual in a
partnership, and must obtain a completed report for each staff member and volunteer age 19 or
older and each household member age 19 or older if the center is located in a private residence.
The report must:

1. Be updated, signed, and dated annually;

2. Be updated any time one of these individuals is arrested, issued a citation
other than a minor traffic violation, or charged with or convicted of any felony,
misdemeanor, or infraction;

3. List all previous and pending criminal charges and arrests, both felony and
misdemeanor, regardless of prosecution;

4. List any record of felony and/or misdemeanor charges and arrests related to

crimes against children;

List any record of felony and/or misdemeanor convictions;

List any current or past parole or probation status, including diversion or

court supervision; and

o o



7. List details, dates, county, and state of the contact, arrest, charge, conviction,
and disposition, if any.”

391 NAC3-006,03F Health Information Report: The applicant, if an individual or an individual in a
partnership, must submit a completed Health Information Report on a form provided by the
Department for him/herself as part of the initial application, All staff who are responsible for the
care and supervision of children for more than 20 hours per week must complete the report within
30 days of hiring. The Health Information Report must be completed annually.

The Health Information Report must include an assessment by a health professional of the
individual and any health conditions that could negatively affect his/her ability to care for children.
If the information indicates that the individual has, or has had, a health condition that could

negatively affect his/her ability to care for children, the Department may request additional
information.

391 NAC3-006.05B Non-Certificated Teachers: “To be employed as a teacher in a licensed child
care center, an individual who is not a certificated teacher must be at least 18 years of age and of
good moral character, and must meet one of the following requirements: ...

4. Have a high school diploma or GED; and

a. 1500 verified clock hours of experience in organized group activities for
young children as indicated by a positive reference from a former
employer or supervisor; or

b. Submit a written plan for Department approval to acquire at least three
credit hours or 45 clock hours of training in administration, early
childhood education, education, or child/youth development, in a period
not to exceed six months. The licensee must maintain a copy of the
written plan and Department approval for Department review.”

391 NAC 3-006. 3-006.11 Employee Records Requirements: The licensee must ensure the
following employee records are maintained, updated as needed, and made available to the

Department upon request. Records must be maintained for at least one year after an employee
leaves the center.

391 NAC 3-008.11A Staff: “Records for all staff, except substitutes and volunteers, must include:

Name;

Address and telephone number;

Social Security Number,

Date of hire/termination;

A completed Report of Law Enforcement Contact;

Documentation of a criminal history record check;

A completed Health Information Report;

Documentation of Nebraska registry checks with no adverse findings;
Documentation that the individual has met the qualifications for the position;
0. Documentation of orientation training and required ongoing training; and
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11. Documentation that the individual has read and understands these
regulations.”

FACTS AND FINDINGS:

On June 23, 2016, Teri Hromek, Director, signed a Licensing Agreement effective from June 23,
2016, through December 23, 2016. In the Agreement, the Director acknowledged her
understanding and agreement to comply with regulations related to Director Requirements,
Criminal History Records Check for staff, and staff qualifications.

On June 21, 2017, Angie Lewis, Child Care Inspection Specialist, Nebraska Department of Health
and Human Services, Division of Public Health (hereinafter referred to as “Lewis”), conducted an
unannounced semi-annual inspection. At the time of the inspection, Lewis noted repeated
violations that were identified in the Licensing Agreement signed on June 23, 2016.

As a result of the repeated violations noted in the June 21, 2017, inspection, the licensee was
offered the option to be placed in Corrective Action Status on July 19, 2017. On August 7, 2017,
the licensee was notified that the Corrective Action plan submitted was accepted and would be
monitored. The Corrective Action Status was to be effective August 7, 2017, and to remain in
effect until February 7, 2018.

On October 26, 2017, Lewis conducted an unannounced semiannual and monitoring inspection.
Lewis noted violations of required staff records including documentation for a staff (De’Andra
Sledge) having a report of Law Enformcement Contact. The terms of the Corrective Action status
had been violated.

On November 13, 2017, Lewis received some required information from the Director for staff
record violations noted at the October 26, 2017, inspection; however, the information was
incomplete, remaining in violation of the Corrective Action status. Information that was not
included was the current criminal history check for Sledge. The licensee failed to complete
accurate staff records check for Sledge. On November 27, 2017, it was found that Sledge had a
criminal history which included a conviction resulting in permanent disqualification of Sledge to
work at the center.

The licensee’s history of violating the terms of the Corrective Action Status and the failure of
conducting the required background checks in a timely manner resulted in a staff person providing
care to children who had a criminal history involving a conviction of a crime that involves moral
turpitude.



DISCIPLINARY ACTION IMPOSED:
Based upon the facts presented above, the Department intends to impose the following:

1. The Licensee's Child Care Center license is placed on probation for a period of one year
effective January 24, 2018. The following conditions apply:

a. The plan submitted as part of the Corrective Action Status effective August 7, 2017
and has previously been approved by the Department, must be implemented and
followed as described for the entire probationary period.

b. The Licensee must provide written documentation for staff qualifications and staff
records for all new employees prior to staff working with children. This information
must be submitted to Angie Lewis, Child Care Inspection Specialist, Children’s
Services Licensing, Licensure Unit, Division of Public Health, Richardson County
Court House, First Floor, 1700 Stone Street, Falls City, NE 68355.

¢c. Compliance will be monitored by Children’s Services Licensing staff and may be
monitored by other Department representatives (i.e., Fire Marshal or designated
agent, Environmental Health Specialist/Scientist or designated agent, Resource
Development Worker, Children and Family Services Specialist/Worker, etc.)

d. The Licensee must submit corrections/documentation to the Department as evidence
that all outstanding non-compliances noted at the inspection conducted on October
26, 2017, have been corrected no later than January 23, 2018.

2 The Licensee is assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $320 ($2.00 times license
capacity of 80 children) for the two days the Corrective Action Status was violated.

Said penalty will be payable to the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Division
of Public Health, Licensure Unit. Said penalty must be sent to Chris Kort, Nebraska Department of
Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit, Children’s Services
Licensing, PO Box 94986, Lincoln, Nebraska, 68509-4986.

3. Failure to comply with the terms of this disciplinary action, the applicable Child Care
Regulations, and failure to correct the violations may be grounds for revocation or such
other discipline as the Department may deem appropriate after notice to the licensee and an
opportunity for a hearing.

4. A copy of this Notice of Disciplinary Action must be posted with the current childcare license
so it is clearly visible to parents and agency representatives.

5. Failure to comply with the terms of this disciplinary action, the applicable Child Care
Regulations and failure to correct the violations will be grounds for revocation or such other
discipline as the Department may deem appropriate after notice to the licensee and an
opportunity for a hearing.



6. Ifthe Licensee discontinues the child care program for any reason, the time the Licensee is
not actively operating a licensed child care program will not count toward the probation
period and any subsequent child care license issued by the Department indicating Parkview
Christian School DBA Growing Hearts Daycare as licensee/director/owner shall be subject
to the terms of this probation including completion of the probationary period. The Licensee
must notify the Department, in writing, within seven (7) working days of any period that it is
not actively operating the program. Active operation is the provision of child care for a
minimum of forty (40) hours week for fifty (50) weeks of a calendar year.

BE ADVISED:

Pursuant to Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1922, this action becomes final on January 23,
2018, unless the Department receives a written request for a hearing on or before such date. The
license shall continue in effect until the final order of the director if a hearing is requested. If the
director does not receive such request on or before such date, the action of the Department is
final.

If you decide to request a hearing, your written request for hearing must be received by the
Department on or by January 23, 2018. It should be addressed to:

Chris Kort for DHHS

Children’s Services Licensing — Licensure Unit
Division of Public Health

P.O. Box 94986

Lincoin, NE 68509-4986

If you request a hearing, you will be notified of the time, date and place of the hearing and
other pertinent information, by separate notice. On the basis of such hearing, the director
will affirm, modify or rescind the determination of the Department. Be advised that
pursuant to Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1920, upon completion of any hearing
held, the director may impose any or a combination of any of the following: probation,
suspension, revocation, civil penalty, restrictions of new enroliment, restrictions or other
limitations on the number of children or the ages of the children served in the program, or
other restrictions or limitations on the type of service provided by the program. On the
basis of the hearing, a modification by the director may include sanctions important to your
program, up to and including the loss of your license.

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1920 of the Child Care Licensing Act, provides that "any
fine imposed and unpaid under the Child Care Licensing Act shall constitute a debt to the State of
Nebraska which may be collected in the manner of a lien foreclosure or sued for and recovered in
any proper form of action in the name of State of Nebraska in the district court of the county in
which the program is located.”




That Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71-1923 of the Child Care Licensing Act, provides that “a
licensee may voluntarily surrender the license issued under the Child Care Licensing Act at any
time, except that the

Department may refuse to accept a voluntary surrender of a license if the licensee is under
investigation or if the Department has initiated disciplinary action against the licensee.

Dated: /(Qﬁ/}d/é&d/lfi f , 2018

Thomas L. Williams, MD

Chief Medical Officer

Director, Division of Public Health
Department of Health and Human Services

Becky Wisell,
Licensure Uni

301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 685094986

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

COMES NOW, the undersigned and certifies that on the _ C/ day of January 2018, a
copy of the foregoing NOTICE OF DISCIPLINARY ACTION was sent by certified and first class

United States mail, sufficient postage prepaid to Parkview Christian School, 4400 North 18 St,
Lincoin NE 68521.

Chris Kort



NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission,.

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Pete Ricketts, Governor

August 15, 2017

GROWING HEARTS DAYCARE
Parkview Christian School, Owner
Teri Hromek, Director

4400 North 1% Street

Lincoln, NE 68521

Dear Ms. Hromek:

In accordance with the letter written by Kathee Sanchez, Child Care Licensing Supervisor,
on August 7, 2017, the original License of Growing Hearts Daycare to operate as a Child Care
Center in the State of Nebraska has been placed on Corrective Action Status. A license imprinted
with the term “Corrective Action Status” is enclosed. This status became effective August 7, 2017,
and it will remain in effect until February 7, 2018. Upon completion of this term, a new license will
be issued to the Center.

At this time we ask that you submit the current license of Growing Hearts Daycare by return
mail, within the next seven (7) days, to DHHS, Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit, Attn:
Rita Krusemark, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509-4986.

[f you have any questions, please contact Kathee Sanchez, Child Care Licensing Supervisor,
at (402) 471-9193.

Becky Wisell, Administrator
[Licensure Unit

501 Centennial Mall South
[incoln, NE 68509-4986

BW/dcp

ce: Children’s Services [icensing




This license shall be kept available in the establishment and
such proof of credentialing shall be shown upon request.

State of N ébraska

Department of Health and Fluman Services
Division of Public Health-— = -

Parkview Christian‘School

s hereby authorlzed in compliance with laws of the State of Nebraska to establish and conduct an=

Operating Child Care Center
located at: 4400 N 1ST ST Lincoln NE 68521

A maximum of 80 children inages 6 WKS to 13 YRS may be in attendance at any one time during the
hours of 0630 to 1800 on MTWTHF.

- GROWING HEARTS DAYCARE is hereby issued License No. CCC7716
whose status is Active-Corrective Action Status effective from 08/07/2017
Amended: 08/07/2017

Given under the name an¢l Seal-of the Department PR =

of Health and Human Services Regulation and SR Ay, Thomas L Williams, MD  Chiel Modical Officor
N 5 & - . Al 7 Yy Clrector, Divislon of Publlc Healt

Licensure of the State of Nebraska at Lincoln on gLff,‘:»l;.'(_.,',lff; Hoslth and Ht::,\dali'g,_v,v.w_;

Augusl 15, 2017,

SiE9ey
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DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Pate Ricketts, Governov

August 7, 2017

Teri Hromek, Director
Growing Hearts Daycare
4400 N 1st Street
Lincoln, NE 68521

Dear Ms. Hromek,

The Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Children’s Services
Licensing received your Plan of Correction. The attached corrective action plan has been
reviewed and approved effective August 7, 2017.

A new license, identified with ‘Corrective Action Status’ will be mailed to your facility. The new
license is to be posted in a prominent location. The license status will be in effect for a period
from the date of approval, August 7, 2017 to February 7, 2018.

Compliance with the terms of the Corrective Action Status will be monitored by announced and
unannounced inspections to your facility by Child Care Licensing staff. Any violation may be
grounds for discipline as the Office of Children’s Services Licensing program may determine
appropriate.

If you have questions regarding this letter, please contact Angie Lewis, Child Care Inspection
Specialist at (402) 245-4439 or me.

|

Kathee Sanchez, Child Care Licensing Supervisor

Children’s Services Licensing

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services - Licensure Unit
P.O. Box 94986

Nebraska State Office Building, First Floor

301 Centennial Mall South

Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

Cc. Angie Lewis, Child Care Inspection Specialist
Rita Krusemark, Program Specialist
Janet Ensz, Resource Development

Hslping People Live Beller Lives




Growing Hearts Correciive Plan
standards of Operation and Care:

| will implement the steps to make sure when the Director is away,
the Assistant knows what to do and can manage the center under any
circumstances.

Director Reguirements

In sure the center is running good and employees are doing their
job and children are safe and well cared for. Director will always make
sure there is always enough staff for the center. Director should not be
counted in center count, only in the event of an emergency. The director
spends more time in the office to keep up on paperwork. The assistant
director needs to know all aspects of the center so the can make sure all
rooms are doing what they should be doing and children are happy and
safe. Teachers will read rules and regulations.

Director will make sure all staff have all paperwork and
gualifications in place before they start working. Paperwork needs to be
updated yearly and the director will make sure all staff are current on
training hours. An employee file with service hours and qualifications will
be made to help the Director keep up on this. Teachers will continually
be trained and up-to-date on new ideas. Rooms will have parents
handouts to keep them informed on news from the center and state.

Children files will be checked weekly to make sure all information Is
up-to-date, Paperwork will be one of my first priorities and making sure
the assistant is doing her job and can run the center at all times and
having enough staff so | can do my job completely and correct.

Teri Hromek
Director



All my employees will have a file that all training is listed on so | can see
how many hours they have and need and have early learning
guidelines.

Staff have a checkdist | cross off when | am doing orientation with them,
Teacher have list of their duties that need to be done. The assistant
director will follow up with this.

My assistant director will check ratios in rooms and every hour. Staff will
count kids every half hour and let the assistant director or the director
know if they are over ratio,

I, Teri, will check all staff files quarterly to see who needs in-service hours
and what training staff need. | along with my 2 sister centers will
schedule trainings for staff.

My assistant director will check child files every week to see if any
paperwork is missing. My assistant will have a checklist to follow to
make sure this is done. Checklist will be gone over and talked about
daily in our huddles.

All staff have sign inf out boards in their rooms. Parents will sign their
children out as they leave. Teachers sign children in. Staff are required to
sign into and out of each room, so we know who was in that room.



Stafi Orientation Checklist ‘EW\Q\O‘W M\C&\\"

____Employee Handbook
____Parent Handbook
__ Tour the Center
____ State Regulations
___ Sign In Sheet
____Cleaning Schedule
___Accident/Incident Reports
__Emergency Procedures
____Discipline Policy
~_ Health Policies
____First Aid Procedures
In-service Hours
_ Breakfast/Lianch/Snack
Lesson Plans

The director has reviewed the information listed concerning procedures and
policies. I have read and understand the information presonted to me,

Empl;yee Signature



Director will be using supplemental training record for
employees that will be at the front of the file showing the
Director what hours employees have, what training that
have, and what needs to be done.



Supplemental Training Record

Safe with You MNours | Date Taken
~_Every 5 years ——— — |
Sudden Infant Death 1 hr.
. Syndrome R
Shaken Baby 1hr.
Syndrome B
Child Abuse Neglect 2 hr.
And Reporting o

Nebraska Early
) Learning Guidelines o
Social and Emotional Development

e ——— et y

" Health and Physical Development

Language and Literacy Development

Mathematics

Science
Creative Arts I
ﬁfSafew Tréiniﬁg Hours :
CPR Zhours
First Aid . 1 hour K '
 Other Specialized Date Taken
Training

Nutrition and Food Safety
Health and Safety

Safe Kids
Buckle up

" Date Taken

Renewal Date

%%@@ C\}“ww'c A\

RéEEwal Date

Renewal Date -
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STAFF RECORDS CHECKLIST

Staff Name R e
Address . -
Telephone Social Security Number

—__Date of Employment Date of Seperation

Repart of Law Enforcement Contact (signed yearly) Date Signed
Criminal History Record Check Completed
Health Information Report Completed (yearly) Date Completed

Nebraska Child Abuse/Neglect / Adult Protective Services Central Registy checks completed, Date
Completed o

_____Suate Patrol Sex Offender Registry check, Date completed
____Statement from director certifying staff qualifications
______Documentation of staff qualifications

Documentatlon of orientation training

In-service Records: Average hours worked:
21~40: 12 hours per ysar required
20 or less : 6 howrs per year required
.Documentation of reading and understanding “Child Carée Center Regulations™

DIRECTOR'S STATEMENT

1 . __._, Director of ___ Cortify that
mests the qualifications for

____underOption ______

e BT =S e it e et e i = e e

In the Child Care Regulation Book, page :

Director's Signature Date
3-006.05 Teacher Qualifications: A teacher must be at least 18 years of age and of good moral character,
and must meet one of the following requirements:
1. Hold a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university in education ar child/youth
development;
2. Hold an associate degree from an accredited college or university o education or child/youth
development,
3. Have a Child Develapment Aszociate Cradential; or
4, Have a high school diploma or GED; and
a. 1500 verified clock hours of ¢xperience in organized group activities for young children as
indicated by a positive reference from a former employer or supervisor; or
b. Submit a written plan for Department approval to acquire at least three credit hours or 45
clock hours of training In administration, education, or child/youth development, in & period
not to exceed six months. The licensee must inaintain a copy of the written plan and
Department approval for Department revisw,




Assistant will check ratio in rooms every hour. Staff will count kids every
half hour and let the assistant director or the director know if they are
over ratio.

Ratio (Teachers {o Children)
Infants: 1:4 or 2.8

Toddlers: 1:6

Preschool (3's): 1:10
Preschool (4-5's): 1:12
School-age: 1:15
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NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Pete Ricketts, Governor

July 19, 2017 Certified Mail and Regular Mail

Teri Hromek, Director
Growing Hearts Daycare
4400 N 18 Street
Lincoln, NE 68521

Dear Ms. Hromek,

Nebraska Revised Statutes, section 71- 1911 (4), of the Child Care Licensing Act provides that the
department may place a license on Corrective Action Status.....A non-disciplinary probationary license
may be issued for the licensee to operate under Corrective Action Status if the department determines
that:

a) The Licensee is unable to comply with all licensure requirements and standards or has had a
history of noncompliance;

b) The effect of noncompliance with any rule or regulation does not present an unreasonable risk
to the health, safety or well-being of children or staff; and

c) The Licensee has a written plan of correction that has been approved by the department.

FACTS:

Child Care Inspection Specialist Angie Lewis received a complaint alleging that staff at Growing
Hearts Daycare emotionally and physically abused children in care. CCIS Lewis and Tessa Harding,
Children and Family Services worker, conducted a complaint investigation at the center on May 10,
2017. Allegations were unable to substantiate for emotional or physical abuse and unable to
substantiate for prohibited forms of discipline Allegations were substantiated for adequate and
appropriate supervision.

Child Care Inspection Specialist Angie Lewis conducted an unannounced semi-annual inspection at
the center on June 21, 2017. The center was not in compliance with regulations pertaining to: Director
Requirements; Report of Law Enforcement Contact (repeat violations — 06-15-16, 04-27-15): Staff
Records (repeat violations - 06-15-16; 11-10-15; 04-27-15; 12-15-14; 04-14-14); Health Information
Report (repeat violations - 06-15-16; 04-27-15. 07-10-14; 12-15-14); Teacher Qualifications (repeat
violations - 06-15-16; 11-10-15; 04-27-15; 12-15-14; 04-14-14); Annual Training; Parent Information
Brochure; Maintenance of Materials, Disaster Preparedness Plan; and Water Supply. Licensing
Agreement pertaining to repeat violations implemented 05-23-16 through 12-23-16.

REGULATORY BASES:

391 NAC 3-006 Standards of Operation and Care: i< provide adequate protection to children

care and to comply with state law. a child care center must meet the foliowing standards




391 NAC 3-006.01 Licensee Requirements: The licensee must:

1 Ensure that the center is administered and managed appropriately,

2. Maintain compliance with all applicable state statutes and child care center regulations:
5. Ensure that the center has sufficient resources to provide a safe, healthy, and nurturing
environment to all children enrolled in the center

391 NAC 3-006.02 Director Reqguirements:

The director is responsible for managing the day-to-day operations of the child care center. The
director must report to the licensee all matters related to the maintenance, operation, and
management of the child care center and be directly responsible to the licensee or to a person
delegated governing authority by the licensee. The director must:

1. Be responsible for the center's compliance with rules and regulations:

5! Assess his/her own ability and the ability of all staff to provide care for children with special
needs while meeting the needs of other children enrolled:;

7. Schedule training and continuing education for all staff and ensure that records are maintained
including the date, topic, and length of time for each training entry;

8. Ensure that center staff identify and review incidents, accidents, complaints, and concerns, and
monitor patterns and trends in overall operation and take action to alieviate problems;

391 NAC 3-006.03C Reports of Law Enforcement Contact: The applicant/licensee must complete a
Report of Law Enforcement Contact for him/herself, if an individual or an individual in a partnership,
and must obtain a completed report for each staff member and volunteer age 19 or older and each
household member age 19 or older if the center is located in a private residence. The report must:

1. Be updated, signed, and dated annually;

2. Be updated any time one of these individuals is arrested, issued a citation other than a minor
traffic violation, or charged with or convicted of any felony, misdemeanor, or infraction:

3. List all previous and pending criminal charges and arrests, both felony and misdemeanor,
regardless of prosecution;

4. List any record of felony and/or misdemeanor charges and arrests related to crimes against
children;

5. List any record of felony and/or misdemeanor convictions;

8. List any current or past parole or probation status, including diversion or court supervision; and

7. List details, dates, county and state of the contact, arrest, charge, conviction, and disposition, if
any.

381 NAC 3-006.03F Health Information Report: The applicant, if an individual or an individual in a
partnership, must submit a completed Health Information Report on a form provided by the
Department for him/herself as part of the initial application All staff who are responsible for the care
and supervision of chiidren for more than 20 hours per week must complete the report within 30 days
of hiring. The Health Information Report must be completed annually.

The Health Information Report must include an assessment by a health professional of the individual
and any health conditions that could negatively affect his/her ability to care for children. If the
information indicates that the individual has, or has had, a health condition that could negatively affect
his/her ability to care for children, the Department may request additional information

381 NAC 3-006.058 Non-Certificated Teachers: To be employed as a teacher in a licensed child

care center, an individual who is not a cerificated teacher must be at least 18

years of age and of good moral character, and must meet orie of the foliowing requirements

1. Hold a bachelor s degree from an accredited coliege or univarsity v early chiidhood education,
education or chiid/youth developmens,




2. Hold an associate degree from an accredited college or university in early childhood education,
education or child/youth development;

3. Have a Child Development Associate Credential; or

4. Have a high school dipiloma or GED; and

a. 1500 verified clock hours of experience in organized group activities for young children as indicated
by a positive reference from a former employer or supervisor; or

b. Submit a written plan for Department approval to acquire at least three credit hours or 45 clock
hours of training in administration, early childhood education, education, or child/youth development,
in a period not to exceed six months. The licensee must maintain a copy of the written plan and
Department approval for Department review.

391 NAC 3-006.10D Annual Training: Each staff member, not inciuding substitutes or volunteers,
who provides direct care to children must obtain a minimum of 12 clock hours of training annually.
Staff who work 20 hours or less each week must obtain six clock hours of training annually.

391 NAC 3-006.11 Employee Records Requirements: The licensee must ensure the following
employee records are maintained, updated as needed, and made available to the Department upon
request. Records must be maintained for at least one year after an employee leaves the center.

391 NAC 3-006.11A Staff: Records for all staff, except substitutes and volunteers, must include:
. Name;

. Address and telephone number;

. Social Security Number;

. Date of hire/termination;

. A completed Report of Law Enforcement Contact;

. Documentation of a criminal history record check;

. A completed Health Information Report;

. Documentation of Nebraska registry checks with no adverse findings;

. Documentation that the individual has met the qualifications for the position;

10. Documentation of orientation training and required ongoing training; and

11. Documentation that the individual has read and understands these regulations.

OCONODWN -

391 NAC 3-005.19 Supervision of Children:

Adequate and appropriate supervision must be provided to children at all times children are in
attendance, including during outdoor play. Uitimate responsibility for supervision rests with the
licensee.

391 NAC 2-002 DEFINITIONS
Adequate and appropriate supervision includes

1 Knowing the whereabouts and being within sight or sound of all children at all times:
2 Being awake, alert, attentive, and responsive to the needs of all children, and
3 Protecting or removing children from harm

Based on the facts presented above and the regulations violated the department is piacing your
operating license on Corrective Action Status for a pernod of six {(B) months

Corrective action status is voluntary and the cecis:on regarding the placement on corrective action
status is not appealabie However you are required to submit a writien Plan of Correction that must
b2 approved by the department The following items reust be included in your written Plan of
Correction

a

i Identfication of 1ssue(s) of concern




2. Provisions for how you will correct and maintain compliance;

3. Specify the written documentation to be provided to the Department;

4. |dentify who is responsible (include position titles) for corrections and maintenance of
compliance; and

5. Timelines.

Please submit your written Plan of Correction to Angie Lewis, Child Care Inspection Specialist,
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Children's Services Licensing,
Richardson County Courthouse 1% Floor, 1700 Stone Street Falls City NE 68355 within ten calendar
days after you receive this letter.

If you do not submit a written plan of correction or the written plan of correction is not approved, the
Department may discipline your license by imposing one or a combination of the following types of
Disciplinary Action:

1. Issue a probationary (disciplinary) license;

2. Suspend or revoke a provisional, probationary, or operating license;

3. Impose a civil penalty of up to five dollars per child, based upon the number of children for
which the program is authorized to provide child care on the effective date of the finding of
violation, for each day the program is in violation;

Establish restrictions on new enrollment in the program,

Establish restrictions or other limitations on the number of children or the age of the children
served in the program; or

6. Establish other restrictions or limitations on the type of service provided by the program.

o s

If you have questions regarding this letter, please contact Angie Lewis, Child Care Inspection
Specialist at 402-245-4439 or me at 402-471-9193.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

athee Sanchez, Child Care Licensing Supervisor

Children's Services Licensing

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services - Licensure Unit
P.O. Box 94986

Nebraska State Office Building, First Floor

301 Centennial Mall South

Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

Cc. Angie Lewis, Child Care Inspection Specialist
Rita Krusemark, Program Specialist
Kay Bourn, Resource Development
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- ' Pete Ricketts, Covernor

June 29, 2017 via e-mail and mall
Parkview Christian School

Growing Hearts

Attn: Ms. Teri Hromek

4401 N 1* Street

Lincoln NE 68521

Dear Ms. Hromek,

This letter is to inform you that the Interim Licensing Agreement you signed on May 10, 2017 has been terminated
effective June 29, 2017. While the OCLS investigation regarding licensing issues is still ongoing | will close this

licensing agreement as | understand Investigations are concluded.

If you have any questions, please contact me at 402-471-9183

Sincerely,

Kathee Sanchez, Child Care Inspection Supervisor
Office Children’s Services Licensing

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services
301 Centennial Mall South

Lincoln NE 68509-4986

Cc: File
Rita Krusemark

Angie Lewis
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