
S T A T E  O F  N E B R A S K A  
D e p a r t m e n t  o f  B a n k i n g  & F i n a n c e  

IN THE MATTER OF: ) 
1 FINDINGS OF FACT 

Ace Cash Express, Inc., 1 CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
Building B, ) AND 
3255 Cornhusker Highway, Suite 5,  1 CONSENT AGREEMENT 
Lincoln, Lancaster County, Nebraska 1 

THIS MATTER comes before the Nebraska Departnient of Banking and Finance 

(“DEPARTMENT”), by and through its Director, pursuant to its authority under the Delayed 

Deposit Services Licensing Act, Neb. Rev. Stat. $ 5  45-901 to 45-929 (Reissue 2004; Cum. 

Supp. 2008; Supp. 2009) (“the Act”). Pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. 0 45-920 (Cum. Supp. 

2008), the DEPARTMENT has examined the books, accounts, and records of Ace Cash 

Express, Inc., Building B, 3255 Cornhusker Highway, Suite 5 ,  Lincoln, Lancaster County, 

Nebraska (“ACE”). As a result of such examination, and being duly advised and informed in 

the matter, the Director and ACE enter into the following Findings of Fact, Conclusions of 

Law, and Consent Agreement. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. ACE holds a delayed deposit services business license under the Act. License 

#1980 was originally issued on March 3,2006. The license has been renewed annually 

on May 1‘’ since that time, pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. 0 45-910 (Cum. Supp. 2008). 

2. On November 3,2009, the DEPARTMENT commenced an examination of 

ACE pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. $ 45-920 (Cum. Supp. 2008). This examination 

included an on-site visitation of ACE’S Lincoln, Lancaster County, Nebraska location. 



3. The November 3,2009 Report of Examination (“Report”) was forwarded to 

ACE on December 4,2009. The Report noted a number of violations of the Act. ACE 

submitted a response received by the DEPARTMENT on December 24,2009. 

4. The DEPARTMENT has reviewed the response submitted by ACE and has 

taken it into consideration in determining the appropriate actions to be taken in this matter. 

5 .  References in this Consent Agreement to customers of ACE will be by way of 

initials, in order to protect the privacy of such customers. ACE knows or should know 

the identity of these customers. If ACE is unable to ascertain the identity of these 

customers, the DEPARTMENT will provide a list of these customers upon receipt of a 

written request. 

6. The Report noted twenty-eight (28) instances where ACE f d e d  to maintain 

records of payment history for its customers. 

7. ACE’s failure to maintain customer payment records in twenty-eight (28) 

instances represents twenty-eight (28) separate violations of Neb. Rev. Stat. 9 45-91 5.01(2) 

(Cum. Supp. 2008). 

8. The Report noted eight (8) instances where ACE charged a fee in excess of 

fifteen dollars per one hundred dollars advanced to customers WR(6), SC, and AK. 

9. ACE’s charging a fee greater than fifteen dollars per one hundred dollars 

advanced in eight (8) instances represents eight (8) separate violations of Neb. Rev. Stat. 

5 45-91 8 (Reissue 2004). 

10. ‘The Report noted two (2) instances where ACE held checks longer than 

statutorily allowed for customers DM and AT. 
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1 1. ACE’s holding of checks longer than statutorily allowed in two (2) instances 

represents two (2) separate violations of Neb. Rev. Stat. 8 45-919(1)(c) (Cum. Supp. 

2008). 

12. The Report noted one (1) instance where ACE failed to maintain a Same Day 

Transaction Verification Form (“SDTVF”) for customer DA. 

13. ACE’s failure to maintain a SDTVF in one ( I )  instance represents a violation 

ofNeb. Rev. Stat. 6 45-915.01(2) (Cum. Supp. 2008) and Neb. Rev. Stat. 5 45-919(1)(g) 

(Cum. Supp. 2008). 

14. The Report noted thirteen ( 1  3) instances where ACE failed to obtain 

completed SDTVFs for its customers. 

15. ACE’s failure to obtain completed SDTVFs in thirteen ( I  3) instances 

represents thirteen (13) separate violations of Neb. Rev. Stat. 6 45-91 5.01(2) (Cum. Supp. 

2008) and Neb. Rev. Stat. 5 45-919(1)(g) (Cum. Supp. 2008). 

16. The DEPARTMENT could conclude that the actions of ACE warrant the 

commencement of administrative proceedings to determine whether it should impose an 

administrative fine in an amount up to five thousand dollars per violation, plus 

investigation costs, pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. 5 45-925 (Cum. Supp. 2008). 

I 7. ‘l’he DEPARTMENT incurred a minimum of five hundred dollars ($500.00) 

in investigation costs in this matter 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

1.  Neb. Rev. Stat. 8 45-908 (Reissue 2004) provides that in order to issue a 

delayed deposit services business license, the Director must determine that the character 

and gencral fitness of the applicant and its officers, directors, and shareholders are such 
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as to warrant a belief that the business will be operated honestly, fairly, efficiently, and in 

accordance with the Act. 

2. Neb. Rev. Stat. cj 45-915.01(2) (Cum. Supp. 2008) provides that a licensee shall, 

at a minimum, include in its books and records copies of all application materials relating 

to makers, disclosure agreements, checks, payment receipts, and proofs of compliance 

required by Section 45-919. 

3 .  Neb. Rev. Stat. 6 45-918 (Reissue 2004) provides that no licensee may charge 

a fee in excess of fifteen dollars per one hundred dollars advanced. 

4. Neb. Rev. Stat. 6 45-919(1)(~) (Cum. Supp. 2008) provides that no licensee 

shall hold or agree to hold a check for more than thirty-four days. 

5.  Neb. Rev. Stat. 5 45-919(1)(g) (Cum. Supp. 2008) provides that a licensee shall 

not enter into another delayed deposit transaction with the same maker on the same business 

day as the completion of a delayed deposit transaction unless prior to entering into the 

transaction the maker and the licensee verify on a form prescribed by the DEPARTMEN'I' 

that completion of the prior delayed deposit transaction has occurred. 'The DEPARTMEN'I 

has prescribed the SDTVF for this purpose. 

6. Neb. Rev. Stat. 3 45-925 (Cum. Supp. 2008) provides that if the Director 

finds, after notice and opportunity for hearing, that any person has violated the Act, the 

Director may order such person to pay an administrative fine of not more than tive 

thousand dollars for cach separate violation and the costs of an investigation. 

7. 'I he facts listed in the above Findings of Fact constitute a sufficient basis for 

the Director to have determined that ACE has violated the Act, and that an administrative 

iinc in an amount of not more than five thousand dollars for each separate violation plus 
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costs of investigation should be imposed in accordance with Neb. Rev. Stat. Q 45-925 

(Cum. Supp. 2008). 

8. IJnder the Act’s statutory framework, the Director has the legal and equitable 

authority to fashion significant remedies. 

9. It is in the best interest of ACE and it is in the best interest of the public, for 

ACE and the DEPARTMENT to resolve the issues included herein. 

CONSENT AGREEMENT 

The DEPARTMENT and ACE agree as follows: 

Stipulations: In connection with this Consent Agreement, ACE and the Director 

stipulate to the following: 

1. The DEPARTMENT has jurisdiction as to all matters herein. 

2. This Consent Agreement shall resolve all matters raised by the DEPARTMENT’S 

November 3,2009 examination of ACE’S Lincoln, Lancaster County, Nebraska location. 

Should future circumstances warrant, the facts from this matter may be considered in a future 

administrative action by the DEPARTMENl. 

3. This Consent Agreement shall be in lieu of all other proceedings available to 

the DEPARTMENT, except as speci tically referenced in this Consent Agreement. 

ACk further represents as follows: 

1 .  ACE is aware of its right to a hearing on these matters at which it may be 

represented by counsel, present evidence, and cross-examine witnesses. The right to such 

a hearing, and any related appeal, is irrevocably waived. 

2. ACE is acting free from any duress o r  coercion of any kind or nature. 
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3. This Consent Agreement is executed to avoid further proceedings and 

constitutes an admission of violations of the Act solely for the purpose of this Consent 

Agreement and for no other purpose. 

IT IS THEREFORE AGREED as follows: 

1. Within ten (10) days after the effective date of this Consent Agreement, ACE 

shall pay a fine of one hundred dollars ($100.00) for each of the twenty-eight (28) 

instances it failed to maintain customer payment records in violation of Neb. Rev. Stat. 

5 45-915.01(2) (Cum. Supp. 2008). 

2. Within ten ( 1  0) days after the effective date of this Consent Agreement, ACE 

shall pay a fine of five hundred dollars ($500.00) for each of the eight (8) instances it 

charged a fee in excess of fifteen dollars per one hundred dollars advanced in violation of 

Neb. Rev. Stat. 45-91 8 (Reissue 2004). 

3. Within twenty (20) days after the effective date of this Consent Agreement, 

ACE shall refund the fees collected in violation of Neb. Rev. Stat. 5 45-91 8 (Reissue 

2004) and proof of such refund shall be provided to the DEPARTMENT. 

4. Within ten (10) days after the effective date of this Consent Agreement, ACE 

shall pay a fine of two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) for each of the two (2) instances it 

held checks longer than statutorily allowed in violation ofNeb. Rev. Stat. 5 45-919(1)(c) 

(Cum. Supp. 2008). 

5. Within ten (1 0) days after the effective date of this Consent Agreement, ACE 

shall pay a fine of one hundred dollars ($100.00) for failing to maintain a SDTVF in 

violation of Neb. Rev. Stat. 4 45-919(I)(g) (Cum. Supp. 2008) and Neb. Rev. Stat. 

$ 45-915.01(2) (Cum. Supp. 2008). 
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6. Within ten ( 1  0) days after the effective date of this Consent Agreement, ACE 

shall pay a tine of fifty dollars ($50.00) for each of the thirteen (1 3) instances i t  failed to 

obtain completed SDTVFs in violation ofNeb. Rev. Stat. 5 45-919(1)(g) (Cum. Supp. 

2008) and Neb. Rev. Stat. $ 45-91 5.01 (2) (Cum. Supp. 2008). 

7. Within ten (10) days after the effective date of this Consent Agreement, ACE 

shall pay the DEPARTMENT’S investigation costs in the amount of five hundred dollars 

($500.00). 

8. The total amount of the fine, eight thousand fifty dollars ($8,050.00), plus the 

total amount of investigation costs, five hundred dollars ($500.00), shall be payable in 

one check or money order in the amount of eight thousand five hundred fifty dollars 

($8.550.00) to the DEPARTMENT. 

9. In the event ACE fails to comply with any of the provisions of this Consent 

Agreement, the DEPARTMENT may commence such action regarding ACE as it deems 

necessary and appropriate in the public interest. 

10. If, at any time, the DEPARTMENT determines ACE has committed any other 

violations of the Act, the DEPARTMENT may take any action available to it under the Act. 

1 I .  The effective date of this Consent Agreement will be the date of the Director’s 

signature. *-- DATED this /M day of ,2010. 

Ace Cash Express, Inc. 

By: 
Vice President 

123 1 Greenway Drive, Suite 600 
Irving, Texas 75038 

License # 1 980 7 June 18. 2010 



A 
DATED this 14 dayof 

License ## 1980 

,2010. 31°K 
TEd'NEBRASKA 
ARTMENT OF BANKING AND FINANCE 

By: 
J 1 n unn, Director 

erce Court, Suite 400 

(402) 471-2171 

8 June 18,2010 


